Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Feb 27, 2019
    70
    An arcade throwback that should please gamers of a certain vintage.
  2. Jan 14, 2019
    70
    Battle Princess Madelyn is a fast paced game where you must pay attention and read every single story line and character blurb you are given. If you don't read it all, you may miss out on critical information that will help you progress in the story. Based on both story mode and arcade mode in Battle Princess Madelyn, I would play it again, however I would stick with arcade mode. I must continue collecting coins and battling skeletons, see you later!
  3. Dec 17, 2018
    70
    This is a great action platformer. Although it has some design issues, GnG fans can’t miss this beautiful tribute.
  4. Dec 14, 2018
    70
    For gamers who still enjoy the retro allure of games like Ghouls ‘n Ghosts, there’s a lot to like as you explore the swamps, caves and forests to attempt to unearth all the secrets.
  5. Jan 4, 2019
    65
    A good game that will please retro lovers but one that offers too few new things to a genre that is getting saturated.
  6. Dec 20, 2018
    60
    Battle Princess Madelyn is at times an unnecessarily frustrating game that pulls heavily from '80s games like Castlevania and Ghosts 'n Ghouls. Still, there's a certain old school charm to the game that makes it a rewarding experience, especially after the early stages of the game.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    Battle Princess Madelyn is a 2D platformer set in the vein of the classics of such fare as Ghouls 'n Ghosts and Ghosts 'n Goblins. BattleBattle Princess Madelyn is a 2D platformer set in the vein of the classics of such fare as Ghouls 'n Ghosts and Ghosts 'n Goblins. Battle Princess Madelyn follows the story of a young knight Madelyn, and her ghost dog Fritzy, who has special abilities to help her solve puzzles and attack enemies. The game also features NPCs, side-quests, and an MetroidVania style map where stages can be revisited The presentation side of the game is simply stunning and without a doubt both the visuals and sound design need to be experienced by all. I thoroughly enjoyed the game as it delivers all the things you hope for in a game like this. This game is one of the best offerings in the genre in quite some time. Fighting and defeating the variety of enemies feels rewarding and the HUGE boss fights were very impressive to say the least, and what I have come to expect in an experience in this genre. There’s a lovely retro style vibe included in the platforming elements and I’m pleased to say that the platforming is spot-on; tight and responsive, with both fun and challenging moments included. I truly enjoyed the classic feel and challenge the game presented. This is a must purchase for any fan of the classics we remember, or even if you haven't played the classics but love the platforming elements, and I will go out on a limb and say I enjoyed this game every bit as much as Castlevania Symphony Of The night. Why are you still reading this and not playing? A massive two thumbs up from a classic gamer at heart! Full Review »
  2. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    I originally backed Battle Princess Madelyn on Kickstarter and have followed the progress closely ever since and have been so excited toI originally backed Battle Princess Madelyn on Kickstarter and have followed the progress closely ever since and have been so excited to finally steer Madelyn on her journey of revenge! The game doesn't disappoint, and where there have been small technical issues, the team at Causal Bit Games have patched and released hot fixes at an incredibly fast pace. Kudos to them for this.

    It's everything we were promised. Fast paced action, incredible soundtrack, lovely pixel art and two modes to play; Arcade for those new and wanting to jump right in experience what the game offers or Story mode which is more challenging and requires some thought as well as dedication.

    Great work CBG! :)
    Full Review »