Crash Team Racing: Nitro-Fueled Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Start your engines with the original game modes, characters, tracks, power-ups, weapons and controls. Power slide to glory in additional karts and tracks from beyond the original game. Race online with friends and Crash the competition with online leader boards.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Crash Team Racing: Nitro Fueled - Dominating Win In Tiger Temple | E3 2019
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 21, 2019
    95
    Crash Team Racing Nitro-Fueled is a must have for those who play looking for fun. Flawless mechanics, a lot of options and of course the nostalgia factor.
  2. Jun 21, 2019
    90
    Perhaps even more so than Nintendo title, it perfectly embodies the formula "easy to play, hard to master", being at once easy to take in hand and immediately fun, but also technical and hyper nervous.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 8, 2019
    90
    An absolutely beautiful recreation of a magnificently designed racer. [Issue#180, p.81]
  4. Jul 1, 2019
    85
    Crash Team Racing Nitro-Fueled is a successful remake of the first CTR, adding contents from its sequels but keeping the highly satisfying gameplay of the first game, coupled with a great graphical boost. It lacks some of the features modern kart racers introduced and 30 fps feels a bit low on modern consoles, but it's still a must buy for lovers of this genre and nostalgics of the late 90s game.
  5. Jul 7, 2019
    80
    It’s safe to say that anyone who has nostalgia for Spyro or Crash will likely have a great time with Crash Team Racing Nitro-Fueled, and while the difficulty will be polarizing, the game is stuffed with content, and since it’s available at a budget price, picking it up is a no-brainer.
  6. Jun 24, 2019
    80
    Those who enjoyed the original back on the original PlayStation, or newcomers to the series looking for a new karting title shouldn’t pass on Nitro-Fueled. It might not be perfect, but it’s certainly got enough going for it to make a solid challenge for Mario’s crown as the king of kart racers.
  7. Jun 25, 2019
    70
    Crash Team Racing: Nitro-Fueled feels a bit too derivative, obviously borrowing ideas from competitors. But it’s also the most distinctly challenging of the bunch, almost working best as a single-player endeavor rather than a fun, multiplayer party game. It’s hard to tell if there’s room for that, as Activision itself seemed to struggle with how to sell this one. Crash Bandicoot fans will certainly be happy, and are likely already on board. Those looking for a challenge will have a good time chasing trophies. Casual/Party players who like kart games probably will want to stick with Sonic and Mario.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 20 out of 35
  1. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    It's so much fun, I love it. Beautiful to look at and the gameplay is so addictive that I literally had trouble driving my real car today as IIt's so much fun, I love it. Beautiful to look at and the gameplay is so addictive that I literally had trouble driving my real car today as I felt like power sliding through intersections. (Don't do that - drive responsibly!!!) Playing this game just makes me feel good even though I still really suck at it. The characters are hilarious. I never played the original games but all the maps are included so there's a ton of new environments to look at and tracks to master. Plus the other game modes could be a lot of fun with friends, like battle modes and capture the flag and whatnot. I'm really glad I bought it. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2019
    10
    This is a beyond perfect remaster of the kart racing game I have always regarded to be the best ever made. It's taken me back to my teenageThis is a beyond perfect remaster of the kart racing game I have always regarded to be the best ever made. It's taken me back to my teenage years, this reboot has everything that made the original incredible and more! The customisation options for characters and karts are great, the rebooted graphics are amazing, even on the switch which has less powerful hardware, they've optimised it really well and it looks great still and you just lose a little definition as it runs in 720p resolution instead of the big console versions who are running at 1080 (both versions run at 30fps). The game features a few nods to the classic CTR game such as legacy soundtrack and authentic loading screen times (30secs to load a race for big console version, 45secs on switch). But don't let that get you down, This is a triumph, I urge everyone who has ever loved kart racers to give this a go, and the Mario kart fans especially have to give this a chance because it is in many ways superior, and rewards good players for usr of skill, and punishes you less with random crate power ups, and the speed of races increases as you get better at the game and chaining turbos and learning the tracks, etc - thankyou everyone who worked on this game! It is amazing!

    TLDR:
    -loading times
    +best kart racing experience of all time
    Collapse
  3. Jun 21, 2019
    10
    Perfetto in tutto!! Un ramake di CTR di qualità eccezionale con contenuti extra dei sui successori
  4. Jul 30, 2019
    1
    FIX DATA CORRUPTION! THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE NOW, YOUR GAME NEEDS FIXING. unbelievable.
  5. Aug 3, 2019
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!! This "game" is full of glitches like data corruption, lobbies crashing when hosts leave, tracksDO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!! This "game" is full of glitches like data corruption, lobbies crashing when hosts leave, tracks that don't work right, placement of racers getting jumbled after a race, etc. The whole point of the game is to win races to get coins to buy new racers, carts, and cosmetics. However, the coin payout is atrocious and gives you barely anything, so the game becomes a boring, grindy slog to play through. You're also required to play online if you actually want to earn any too. Of course, instead of actually fixing the game, Activision decided it would be a good idea to add in greedy, predatory microtransactions after they said they wouldn't and the game somehow got good reviews despite being a broken mess. Total waste of $40!!! Save yourself the trouble and money, and go buy a better game!!! Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2019
    0
    They’ve added in microtransactions after promising not to. Thanks for that ActiS H I Tion, you’ve outdone yourselves.
  7. Aug 2, 2019
    0
    MTX grind fest game, latest from Activision, It's amazing how they keep doing this.

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.