Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jun 16, 2016
    70
    For its budget price the Dead Island: Definitive Collection offers two solid open world experiences that have never looked or played better on console as well as a retro-styled novelty that can be enjoyed in short bursts. It’s just a shame that the changes made to both Dead Island and Riptide are only visual, as both have gameplay aspects that could do with a little more polish.
  2. Jun 10, 2016
    70
    Dead Island Definitive Collection is a fine collection of three games. With updates graphics and some new extras, the games are better then ever.
  3. Jun 7, 2016
    70
    Dead Island Definitive Edition puts a facelift on an old favorite. While it holds up fairly well, Dead Island is definitely starting to show its age. If you're an old fan, or you've never checked it out before it's a fun game until it becomes repetitive.
  4. Jun 1, 2016
    70
    With the Dead Island Definitive Edition, Dead Island and Dead Island Riptide have never looked so good. The use of Dying Light's graphics engine means almost every setting looks better and more realistic than it did at the start of the decade, but it unfortunately doesn’t run any better now than it did then.
  5. 70
    Dead Island Definitive Collection is one of the better value remastered bundles currently available, serving up one genuinely good game, one relatively crap sequel, and a reasonably enjoyable bonus game in Retro Revenge. For the cash, you could certainly do a lot worse, and few other games do zombie slaughter quite so well.
  6. May 31, 2016
    65
    The specific value of Dead Island and its sequel is still there and they're still enjoyable games, but we can argue about the need of an adaptation.
  7. Jun 22, 2016
    60
    Two ho-hum games that are aging quickly despite their youth, and a new retro title that adds very little to the equation.
  8. Jun 9, 2016
    60
    I loved Dead Island when it came out, but I wonder who this collection is for. The games included are not that old, and with Techland’s newest entry leaps and bounds above what these games did, it is hard to go back. Still for $40 for the pair one cannot argue the amount of value packed into this package.
  9. Jun 1, 2016
    50
    Even at a budget price, players new to the franchise can safely avoid the set as there's much better gameplay to be found elsewhere, such as in the likes of the Metro: Last Light or even Techland's own Dying Light, both of which outshine Dead Island and Dead Island: Riptide in almost every area.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 16 out of 40
  1. May 31, 2016
    5
    I played Dead Island back in 2011, when it originally came out, and only made it through a third of the game. I can't remember why I lostI played Dead Island back in 2011, when it originally came out, and only made it through a third of the game. I can't remember why I lost interest, but I was excited to try it again after falling in love with Dying Light in 2015. I have only played about an hour so far, but I'm very disappointed that a remastered game from 5 years ago can have screen tearing as bad as this does. I definitely won't be purchasing Dead Island 2 on day 1 if this is the quality of product that they find acceptable. Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2016
    0
    There is a download code for Riptide? really? Also why release this when superior verison of this (ahem Dying Light) is out and you can getThere is a download code for Riptide? really? Also why release this when superior verison of this (ahem Dying Light) is out and you can get the complete ed of that and have a blast. Full Review »
  3. Jun 2, 2016
    10
    Excellent definitive edition, Techland have done a great job at bring the beloved franchise back to it former glory. Dead Island 2's arrivalExcellent definitive edition, Techland have done a great job at bring the beloved franchise back to it former glory. Dead Island 2's arrival later this year has me excited. Full Review »