Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Feb 23, 2019
    92
    DIRT Rally 2.0 is the definite rally simulator. Codemasters refine the already great formula, giving us an indispensable piece of work if you're a fan of racing games.
  2. Mar 19, 2019
    90
    A worthy sequel to the DiRT Rally franchise, that updates, upgrades and uplifts most aspects of the original. Still a few little niggles that could be better, but hopefully the paid content strategy can be converted into ongoing support and updates for the title.
  3. Mar 1, 2019
    90
    DiRT Rally 2.0 is a game you’ll love. It has everything we adored in the original and only expands on that further with incredibly enjoyable racing, a steep learning curve and plenty of great sounding rally machines to take to the track in.
  4. Feb 20, 2019
    90
    Even though DiRT Rally 2.0 has such a realism on the surface and under the hood, it still goes with the video gaming first. Tuning the car has a clear cause and effect relationship, as one can expect from a game, and career races have five restarts to resort to in a case of complete disaster. Indeed, DiRT Rally 2.0 might be closest thing to driving a real rally car, but at the same time it’s not like driving a real rally car, no matter how brutally authentic it can at times feel. After all, you don’t need a driver’s license (or a death wish, judging by some of the tracks!) to be able to play and appreciate it and the game is fully content with that.
  5. Feb 18, 2019
    87
    DiRT Rally 2.0 is the new master of rally simulation, despite its unimpressive career mode and the low number and variety of rally locations.
  6. Mar 12, 2019
    85
    Dirt Rally 2.0 is an excellent and demanding driving game that strives for authenticity through abundant detail. A lack of primers may make newcomers hesitant, but it doesn’t take long to get up to speed. At times it can take a lot of patience, with yourself more than anything, but it’s an exhilarating ride through and through.
  7. Mar 10, 2019
    85
    DiRT Rally 2.0 is definitely the best rally sim around, with great gameplay, awesome graphics and and a satisfying and involving challenge level. Its only shortcoming is having too few contents in some areas, but it's a must buy for any lover of the genre.
  8. Feb 21, 2019
    85
    DiRT Rally 2.0 brings some great and challenging driving feelings in spite of a too clasic career mode and a graphics engine that sometimes feels a bit old.
  9. Feb 19, 2019
    85
    Dirt Rally 2.0 is as tricky to tame as its predecessor but doing so is as satisfying as ever.
  10. Feb 18, 2019
    85
    DiRT Rally 2.0’s relentless difficulty truly knows no bounds, making it an experience that’s clearly been designed exclusively for rally sim enthusiasts. The game packs a respectable variation of tracks, vehicles, and modes, with a plethora of customization options present to aid you in finding comfortable handling. Despite its few technical issues, it doesn’t get much better than this. It’s tense, it’s engaging, and it’s constantly exciting.
  11. Feb 24, 2019
    82
    Codemasters has managed to fix in DiRT Rally 2.0 some errors that its first game accused. The title is positioned as one of the best exponents of its genre, thanks to a demanding gameplay, but accessible to the newest. It would be a round product if its technical section had not been so neglected, because today something else is required.
  12. Feb 25, 2019
    81
    Visually, Dirt Rally 2.0 is stunning in most areas. The cars have excellent weight and feel, and while the feature set isn't stacked, including a limited online multiplayer suite, the cupboard isn't bare. Dirt Rally 2.0 is for hardcore fans of rally racing who demand the most authentic experience from a video game that dares to emulate their sport.
  13. Mar 26, 2019
    80
    DiRT Rally 2.0 nails everything it sets out to do. Players need to know going in though that this is a brutal game, unforgiving at times. Even with the easy option this is still no pushover. I had to earn every victory I achieved and that is certainly a turn-off for players looking for an arcade-like experience. Codemasters continues their trend of excellence and maintain their spot at the upper echelon of racing game design.
  14. Mar 6, 2019
    80
    Make no mistake Dirt Rally 2.0 is a hardcore rally simulator, and as such, may not appeal to all racing fans. Most racing games I usually drive without any assists (well, not the original Project Cars), but for some of the cars (looking at you Porsche) throughout their Rally events, I found it necessary to dial the stability and traction control to max in order to simply finish, never mind placing first. Thankfully the Rallycross events, while fairly long due to the extensive qualifying rounds, offer an almost separate game to those of us who prefer to fling their rally-spec cars around a tight track, lap after lap after lap.
  15. Feb 21, 2019
    80
    Another dose of rallying heaven and hell, DiRT Rally 2.0 is hard-as-nails, uncompromising and bloody brilliant.
  16. Feb 21, 2019
    80
    DiRT Rally 2.0 is a simulator designed for the most hardcore off-road racing fans, and offers one of the most challenging rallying experiences I’ve ever played. Casual racing fans may shy away at this title, but if you want pure, uncut racing simulation straight into your veins, this is the game for you.
  17. Feb 21, 2019
    80
    I’m quite torn by DiRT Rally 2.0. Its improved visuals and handling undoubtedly make it a better game to play than DiRT Rally, but in terms of content, it leaves me wanting. Sequels like this are meant to be bigger and better, but DiRT Rally 2.0 feels about the same size but better, and with less track variety as standard. Regardless, for devout rally fans it’s still pretty much essential.
  18. Feb 18, 2019
    75
    If the initial DiRT Rally was a no-nonsense rally racer, then consider DiRT Rally 2.0 very much a continuation of the same thing.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 21, 2019
    A worthy follow-up to a modern classic, Dirt Rally 2.0 offers marked improvements and a driving experience like no other. [Eurogamer Essential]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. Feb 26, 2019
    8
    Dirt Rally 2.0 is the newest installment to the series does not disappoint. Bragging more realistic tire wear and physics along with life likeDirt Rally 2.0 is the newest installment to the series does not disappoint. Bragging more realistic tire wear and physics along with life like handling, you can really feel your choices matter more than ever before. Presentation wise the game was pleasing on the eye and very smooth, each stage feeling unique and authentic while delivering their own challenges. The sounds of the engines are pleasing and seem to have improved over the last installment. The navigator (Co Driver) seemed to enjoy yelling out his instructions and delivered them flawlessly, alas my execution of them not so much. As we've come to expect there is plenty of content to shake your racing wheel at, both online and offline. Feeling nostalgic? Try getting to grips with some old school cars and work your way up from the 60s to modern day, maybe you just want a bit of a mess around, then pick your own custom tournament with a good selection of customization options so you don't need to play the same one twice. Though you competitive natured lot out there, you've not been forgotten, get stuck in to the daily / weekly challenges and see how you stack up or rev your engine in the online modes! All in all, I may not be a huge rally fan but I had plenty of fun racing around, spinning out and rolling my cars, I even won a race or 2 once I got in the zone. What's been delivered has been spot on and gets a solid GO! from me. So with this being said it easily earns a recommendation from me. Fans of the series a definite purchase, new comers come join the fun. Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2019
    10
    Great sequel to Dirt Rally. I've been having a blast learning the tracks and vehicles.
  3. Feb 26, 2019
    10
    Great game. Better than Dirt Rally in every way. There are some issues with Racenet and the ffb is a little light but I have confidence thatGreat game. Better than Dirt Rally in every way. There are some issues with Racenet and the ffb is a little light but I have confidence that Codies will sort it all out. Full Review »