User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 378 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 378
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2020
    7
    Solid combat in this title is tainted by questionable mechanics and needless platforming sequences. You can have fun with this game but you'll have a lot of heartache with it too. No where the game that DOOM 2016 was.
  2. Apr 3, 2020
    5
    Doom 2016 was nearly perfect, and it's sequel is unfortunately decided not to follow in it's footsteps. The campaign works primary as a an advertisement for it's lackluster multiplayer. The game play promises more than the last game, but actively tries to ground the player and prevent them from using any of the new mechanics. Enemies are overpowered and tend to crowd the player (againDoom 2016 was nearly perfect, and it's sequel is unfortunately decided not to follow in it's footsteps. The campaign works primary as a an advertisement for it's lackluster multiplayer. The game play promises more than the last game, but actively tries to ground the player and prevent them from using any of the new mechanics. Enemies are overpowered and tend to crowd the player (again restricting the "advanced" movement system) and unlike 2016, the player has to scramble for ammo and health instead of having fun killing demons.
    Don't waste your time if you loved the 2016 Doom.
    Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2020
    7
    To be fair, the game is not bad. It just does not feel right. It's nothing like Doom 2016. Remapping all the keys was stupid. Why would the Dev decide to change the basic function keys from one Title to the next? keep it simple. there is nothing simple about how many things you have going on, grenade, freeze, flame, hook shot, blood punch, double jump, dash, and some more piled on top ofTo be fair, the game is not bad. It just does not feel right. It's nothing like Doom 2016. Remapping all the keys was stupid. Why would the Dev decide to change the basic function keys from one Title to the next? keep it simple. there is nothing simple about how many things you have going on, grenade, freeze, flame, hook shot, blood punch, double jump, dash, and some more piled on top of standard movement and weapons??? It feels over saturated, both in combat and color. I love cartoons and anime, but this is supposed to have a dark and gloomy feel.I am getting used to not getting my expectations high. Seems like all the studios that made games when i was a kid, stopped giving a **** about their die hard fans. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2020
    6
    Well, been gaming a very long time now, I guess it’s time to grow up and move on. Doom 2016 was a masterpiece, it brought me a lot of joy to play through the first time and again last month in preparation for Eternals release. I needed this game, things are tough for everyone right now and this was a little light along the way until I could see the light at the end of the tunnel.Well, been gaming a very long time now, I guess it’s time to grow up and move on. Doom 2016 was a masterpiece, it brought me a lot of joy to play through the first time and again last month in preparation for Eternals release. I needed this game, things are tough for everyone right now and this was a little light along the way until I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. They managed to take the few things I didn’t like about Doom 2016 and ramp them up to the max. This mechanic of using a particular weapon to get a certain item type in a fight takes away about 3/4 of any strategy from a shooter. Melee attack? Nope, not anymore it just pushes them. Critical attack so you could just polish them off immediately? Nope they flash every time to give you the opportunity to get health so you get to pop them again. Oh and let’s lower the ammo counts so you HAVE to use these REVOLUTIONARY mechanics. And get ready to do some spinning!! Cuz our frenetic next generation game is gonna HABITUALLY spawn enemies behind you. The graphics are good, the music is AMAZING. You get to see Doom guys face, and thats...just...whatever. In 2016 I’d gather my ammo make my plan, try to gather what armor I could, then open up the gore nest and get to work. Now it’s just spin around go through each weapons paltry amount of ammo, chainsaw, ammo, rinse and repeat. And the whole world loves it. Guess it’s time for Grandpa to take a nap, this game makes me tired, sure wish I’d have bought 60 dollars worth of toilet paper instead of this. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2020
    6
    The game is gorgeous. The sound/music is fine enough. The gameplay is where things start to fall apart. The combat feels tedious. The platforming is passable most of the time, but there are some poorly telegraphed spots that were somewhat annoying. I will likely never play this game again, which is a shame because I have played through the 2016 Doom MANY times over the years. ThisThe game is gorgeous. The sound/music is fine enough. The gameplay is where things start to fall apart. The combat feels tedious. The platforming is passable most of the time, but there are some poorly telegraphed spots that were somewhat annoying. I will likely never play this game again, which is a shame because I have played through the 2016 Doom MANY times over the years. This follow-up feels nothing like its predecessor. A step backwards for this franchise. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2020
    7
    Overall its pretty good i think.. The difficulty is a bit odd..ultra violence or "hard" sits between hard and nightmare on doom 2016.. its pretty overwhelming, i die way more than in doom 2016 which can be a good or bad thing depending on how you look at it.. ill probably play through once on normal then again on hard.. i dont mind platforming etc.. it can just get a bit overwhelming onOverall its pretty good i think.. The difficulty is a bit odd..ultra violence or "hard" sits between hard and nightmare on doom 2016.. its pretty overwhelming, i die way more than in doom 2016 which can be a good or bad thing depending on how you look at it.. ill probably play through once on normal then again on hard.. i dont mind platforming etc.. it can just get a bit overwhelming on harder difficulty

    one thing is clear too.. this game basically has ripped a TON from prince of persia if you have ever played anything of that series.. environment, platforms, etc.. some of it could be straight out of those games.. sometimes to such an extent it almost seems copy/paste.. like a game like the two thrones..

    Multiplayer: 0/10.. total trash.. something obviously made in some corporate echo chamber to be "innovative".. not even worth the time.. doesnt even feel like multiplayer.. most of the time youre just fighting against random AI.. they said they wanted to make sure it still felt "like doom" but really it still just feels "like single player".. there is zero sense of failure or accomplishment on a person to person basis when you win or lose.. its almost random.. its basically their "invasion mode" but in a small arena.. most of what youre fighting is just single player AI

    Its a good game but doom 2016 was better in every way.. and here youre missing a ton of features, snapmap, real multiplayer, everything totally gone
    Expand
  7. gyk
    Mar 26, 2020
    5
    In DOOM 2016, the story felt much better and the game felt more serious. Here they have simplified it for some reason. Even after looking at the selection of a new weapon, before you took it by actually lifting it from the body or picking it up from the floor. This gave realism, immersion. And now some ridiculous weighing icons in the air. This kills the whole atmosphere of the dive. AndIn DOOM 2016, the story felt much better and the game felt more serious. Here they have simplified it for some reason. Even after looking at the selection of a new weapon, before you took it by actually lifting it from the body or picking it up from the floor. This gave realism, immersion. And now some ridiculous weighing icons in the air. This kills the whole atmosphere of the dive. And there are a lot of little things like that. DOOM 2016 was head and shoulders above DOOM ETERNAL. All the good stuff was just flushed down the toilet. Yes, it's good. Killing demons is fun and the new mechanics are good. But the presentation of the story and simplification kill the whole atmosphere. Expand
  8. Mar 21, 2020
    6
    Doom 2016 was one of my favorite games, i'd easily rate it a 9 or 10; i'll probably actually do that when I finish this one. Now where were we. Doom Eternal pros: Awesome music, good story. Doom Eternal cons: Annoying platforming, slow paced combat (the ammo stores are too low at least on Ultra Voilence+. You'll find yourself in an intense fight, kicking ass, really feeling like the doomDoom 2016 was one of my favorite games, i'd easily rate it a 9 or 10; i'll probably actually do that when I finish this one. Now where were we. Doom Eternal pros: Awesome music, good story. Doom Eternal cons: Annoying platforming, slow paced combat (the ammo stores are too low at least on Ultra Voilence+. You'll find yourself in an intense fight, kicking ass, really feeling like the doom slayer only to have to hop skip and jump outa there with your tail between your legs looking for a zombie to chainsaw for bullets. I'm no expert developer but I figure this can be easily remedied by increasing the slayer's ammo stock.) Doom eternal petty thoughts: When you glory kill a Cacodemon you'll rip out it's eyeball like taffy and get this annoying thwooooop sound. Okay, I get the mentality behind that one. Developer 1: "I bet it would be funny if we interrupted the badass metal with a few cartoon sound effects". Developer 2: "Oh that is so funny! You're so quirky and original". Another petty complaint would be the colorful bullets. I've never before wanted to eat ammunition (besides of course in middle school). Now, if you loved Doom 2016 just buy the game, I know your not gonna listen to me and I hope you as a consumer don't. I don't wanna some how hurt ID and all it's employees. I just want ID to make Doom Eternal into the masterpiece we all know it can be. That's all I have to say about that. Expand
  9. Mar 22, 2020
    5
    I was realy looking forwards to playing Doom Eternal and it was a let down for me. As a huge fan of the original and Doom 2016 how could this game go wrong. Well for starters the retarded jumping areas is just stupid, in the lava area i got stuck in mobs while jumping on platforms. Why was that necessary Doom is a fast paced shooter not a super mario shooter/. And some genius from IdI was realy looking forwards to playing Doom Eternal and it was a let down for me. As a huge fan of the original and Doom 2016 how could this game go wrong. Well for starters the retarded jumping areas is just stupid, in the lava area i got stuck in mobs while jumping on platforms. Why was that necessary Doom is a fast paced shooter not a super mario shooter/. And some genius from Id software thought it could be a good idea to implant wolfenstein youngblood bullet sponge on some enemy, and with the low ammo count you are contant relying on the chainsaw to get ammo. Items is a bit cartoonish texture and lazy work special secrets question mark. I thing Doom Eternal should have been more delayd some things is just unpolish. The few thing i like from this game was the design of mobs to weapons and some of the maps. Rage 2 was more fun gunplay then Doom Eternal is. They shold have stick to Doom 2016 playgame. Expand
  10. Mar 26, 2020
    5
    This is a platformer with FPS elements, not the other way around.

    Make no mistake, the majority of the time you spend in Doom Eternal will be spent jumping, grappling, air-dashing, and hazard-evading. The shooting sections are sparse by comparison, and over very quickly once they start. Previous Doom games didn't have all these jump puzzles. This game is more like Prince of Persia than
    This is a platformer with FPS elements, not the other way around.

    Make no mistake, the majority of the time you spend in Doom Eternal will be spent jumping, grappling, air-dashing, and hazard-evading. The shooting sections are sparse by comparison, and over very quickly once they start. Previous Doom games didn't have all these jump puzzles. This game is more like Prince of Persia than Doom.

    Do yourself a favor and rent this one before you buy it.
    Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2020
    7
    It's alright, but i can't really warm up to it.

    It's very, very arcady. Some people might like that tho. The world design is great but neither the character nor items or consumables seem to fit in. Pickups are either super-bright, colored like candy or bob up and down while violently flashing. It might not sound severe but it is really irritating. Like... the chainsaw you rip out of a
    It's alright, but i can't really warm up to it.

    It's very, very arcady. Some people might like that tho. The world design is great but neither the character nor items or consumables seem to fit in. Pickups are either super-bright, colored like candy or bob up and down while violently flashing. It might not sound severe but it is really irritating. Like... the chainsaw you rip out of a guys body in Doom 2016, or the rifle you tear from a dead soldies arms. In Doom 2020 they just hover on the ground in the dedicated weapon room at some point in the level, flashing wildly.

    This diconnect carries over into the sound design and animations. For one it's really strong and snappy but now and then you have this comical sounds - like when some headshots or ripping out a cacodemons eye will make an audible 'pop' sound that could come straight out of a kids tv show. It might sound super-petty but imagine listening to a metal opera and every now and then the lead goes 'hyuck-hyuck' like Goofy.

    Gameplay wise it's good with even more emphasis on movement and a lot more enemies to fight and manage. The pistole is now gone which ... i can understand, but the replacement is that you now always have 1 fuel for the chainsaw with which to kill lesser enemies. The resulting candy explosion is your main way of regenerating ammo. And that's something that does not work for me. When i fight a big demon it's just tideous to turn around and look for one of the endlessly spawning minor zombies so i can get some ammo back. By now every now and then when it happens i roll my eyes with a sigh.

    Doomguy itself started bulking and went from just an angry guy who had enough of this **** to stereotypic antihero with a heart of gold, that constantly gets told by everyone how awesome they are. They really go out of the way with pampering the player. Not my favorite design choice.

    All that said, it's still a good shooter. It's still an id shooter and they managed to get some fun new gameplay mechanics that act as modifiers on the existing combat. If everything of my complaints sounded like minor issues, you might want to give it a try.
    Expand
  12. Mar 22, 2020
    6
    I hate to admit it but I’m going to be 100% honest. I beat the campaign, went back and got all the collectibles and after all that I selected the multiplayer mode (didn’t know there was no PVP) and I was crushed. On top of that just from the main menu I could tell this game had no snap maps which makes me very sad because Doom 2016’s snap maps was incredible and reminder me Halo Forge. ButI hate to admit it but I’m going to be 100% honest. I beat the campaign, went back and got all the collectibles and after all that I selected the multiplayer mode (didn’t know there was no PVP) and I was crushed. On top of that just from the main menu I could tell this game had no snap maps which makes me very sad because Doom 2016’s snap maps was incredible and reminder me Halo Forge. But I understand budget cuts here and there. The campaign is a little bit of an improvement over the 2016, but at the end of the day there’s too much little tiny cut scenes here and there. Too much dialogue and reading trickled in. In Doom 2016 you punched a monitor because it talked too much. That is Doom Slayer to me and I don’t know what this game is trying to do but it’s changed and not in a good way. There’s a major personality shift here in Doom Slayer, in Doom 2016 they never once told me Doom Slyer is bad ass, but in this game they are constantly telling me, hey look how bad ass he is, but I really just I don’t know, it’s missing something. The battle mode multiplayer honestly just sucks the demons are severely under powered I have never won a game with them and I’ve never lost a game as the Slayer. But at the end of the day there’s too much little tiny cut scenes here and there and dialogue and reading doom 2016 was incredible and I don’t know what this game is trying to do but it’s changed and not in a good way the battle mode multiplayer honestly just sucks the demons are severely under powered (after 10 games online) I have never won a game with them and I’ve never lost a game as the slayer they put all their money into the campaign and it is pretty good I’ll be honest but that story is whack I don’t know if it’s a $60 game because I’ve pretty much done everything all I could do after about 20 hours here. Expand
  13. Mar 23, 2020
    5
    Level design is abysmally claustrophobic and it forces you to try and parkour in these confined spaces, there is a new dash feature which I love but it has a cooldown which is dumb because it is the only thing preventing you from being ripped apart by demons. And because of this you will get trapped between a demon and a hard place or another demon and die helplessly for more than youLevel design is abysmally claustrophobic and it forces you to try and parkour in these confined spaces, there is a new dash feature which I love but it has a cooldown which is dumb because it is the only thing preventing you from being ripped apart by demons. And because of this you will get trapped between a demon and a hard place or another demon and die helplessly for more than you would like. And if you think that was where the problems ended you are so very wrong. ALL DEMONS RUSH YOU AND WILL VERY RARELY MISS THEIR SHOTS, so you will never have full health and always be on the run, never having time to strategize or just waiting to die so you can try and make a perfect run in order to pass one part of a level. In fact because of this doing glory kills which made doom 2016 so great is as pointless and detrimental as they are in duke nukem because not only do you lose all the health you gained but you will die immediately after the fact because of the body blocking and high accuracy the demons have at their disposal now. The rocket launcher is back for some reason despite being the worst gun in DOOM 2016 aside from the pistol and does self-damage for some reason again, which screws you over a lot considering the body blocking demons. Also, there is a weak point system in the game that was executed terribly. You would think the developers of this game would take pointers from something like the dead space franchise since the developers for that title perfected limb cutting mechanics. BUT YOU WOULD BE WRONG, only the HEAVY CANNON WITH THE SCOPE ATTACHEMENT RELIABLY CRIPPLES DEMONS, unlike dead space where every gun offered a tactical advantage. Which btw if you do not cripple demons you will die easily and immediately because they will overwhelm you with their multiple guns CONSTANTLY firing on you with no reload animations to give you a breather, let alone their larger hitboxes from said multiple guns makes it easier for them to body block you. This new weak point system makes all other guns (aside from the heavy cannon) pointless and useless except for when you run out of ammo for your heavy cannon, forcing you to have to play a specific way despite the developers praising themselves for their "diversity of combat" in DOOM eternal. Also you have to move slow and stand still most of the time to pick enemies apart with the heavy cannon which will kill you super quick because as I mentioned before YOU HAVE TO KEEP MOVING CAUSE YOU HAVE NO HEALTH AND DEMONS CONSTATLY BODY BLOCK YOU IF YOU DO NOT. There are loads of puzzles which get frustrating and old super-fast because unlike Metroid the only way to backtrack in doom IS TO RESTART THE WHOLE MISSION. Which would not be so bad if it was only collectables you lose from these puzzles on no, these bright individuals decided in a doom game that what players really wanted was too play cranium puzzles in order to get essential upgrades you need for your weapons and armor so you do not die easily and more pathetically then you already do. Which would not be so bad if there was not a useless interactive environment system that did not add insult onto injury. It tries to encourage you to kill enemies with it, but it kills you more instead. This system lacks any proper mechanics like in the game Bullstorm unless you get upgrades later to make it mediocre at best. Oh, and best part is there is a “lives” system like for arcade games, I guess the developers somewhat realized how terrible their design choices for combat where, so they implemented a token system to balance it out (which btw is not a bad idea for ultra-nightmare or arcade mode even if combat mechanics where not terrible). So, if you were looking for immersion in this game you will not find it. I have not even finished the campaign yet because of how unfun and frustrating it is, I tried to play multiplayer but that was even more of a train wreck. “BATTLEMODE” as they call it is just team deathmatch despite the developers claiming it is not. Their adorable little twist is that it is a 1 vs 2 team deathmatch where a human character with unique powers fights two player-controlled monsters with unique powers who can summon minions and debuff you, this goes on for three or so rounds and you unlock new powers for each round after the first. This is clearly a totally original system and never has anything similar or exactly the same ever been done before in any other game such as: dying light, evolve, left 4 dead 1/2, aliens vs predator (the 2010 game), battle born, overwatch, every single moba every, and more. This multiplayer idea is not only completely unoriginal, but it is incredibly unbalanced to the point where the only people who will get enjoyment out of it are masochists playing as the human and sadists playing as the demons. Then again if this was no accident considering bdsm is viewed by certain people of faith to be evil/satanic than this is an incredible design that is very lore friendly. Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2020
    5
    A lot of positives, a lot of negatives.

    While it has great visuals and fluid frame rates, this is a departure from 2016 DOOM. First and foremost there is more platforming in this than I can ever remember in any installment of Doom. It is not enjoyable either. More tedious than anything else. Then there is the utter nullification of melee in the game which is an absolute turn off.
    A lot of positives, a lot of negatives.

    While it has great visuals and fluid frame rates, this is a departure from 2016 DOOM.

    First and foremost there is more platforming in this than I can ever remember in any installment of Doom. It is not enjoyable either. More tedious than anything else.

    Then there is the utter nullification of melee in the game which is an absolute turn off. I get that its a shooter but it is taking a tried and true tool out of your tool box without good reason to do so.

    On the upside, between that and the excessive platforming it does make it a little bit more like the whole run and gun doom of old.

    The visuals are also astoundingly good, as is the sound.

    Writing, not so much. But seriously who is playing Doom for the story?

    The level design is probably about the weakest element and that again centers around the focus on platforming instead of working out better laid out and interesting combat areas to work through.

    I personally feel it is inferior to 2016 DOOM, but Doom eternal does do a lot well and it definitely will have a receptive audience for it. For my 2cp its only a bout a 5, but that is not by any means a failing grade for it. Its a solid, middle of the road game. It will appeal to its most die hard fans and non diehard fans can get into it. Its well made, just lacking the something intangible. Sort of like trying to scratch a dark souls itch with a game like The Surge. Its just not going to cut it.

    While still a good game, unless you HAVE to have it now, its definitely one worth waiting till Black Friday to see it drop down to about 30-35$ imho.
    Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2020
    7
    Juego correcto, sin más. Ni TOP 3 de mis DOOM favoritos...
    Casualizado a más no poder (ya el menú no auguraba nada bueno): zonas de saltitos por todos lados, ridículo límite de munición hasta bastante avanzado el juego, dobles saltos, impulsos, hachas, espadas... En fin, se llama DOOM como se podría llamar de cualquier otra forma.
    La historia: vale más no tener nada antes que tener esto.
    Juego correcto, sin más. Ni TOP 3 de mis DOOM favoritos...
    Casualizado a más no poder (ya el menú no auguraba nada bueno): zonas de saltitos por todos lados, ridículo límite de munición hasta bastante avanzado el juego, dobles saltos, impulsos, hachas, espadas... En fin, se llama DOOM como se podría llamar de cualquier otra forma.
    La historia: vale más no tener nada antes que tener esto. Como reinterpretación del DOOM 2 no llega ni a la suela de este.
    Otra franquicia más prostituida al servicio de casuals y forniteros.
    En fin, siempre nos quedarán los clásicos y el Brutal DOOM.
    Expand
  16. Mar 24, 2020
    7
    I have gotten all the achievements but the battlemode achievements for this game and have played through multiple times now and as someone who dose not like arcade shooters it was pretty good, not great but good it’s a hell of a lot more fun once you beat the game and unlock cheats. The game would be a 8 but I encountered a lot of bugs in my time playing nothing super game breaking butI have gotten all the achievements but the battlemode achievements for this game and have played through multiple times now and as someone who dose not like arcade shooters it was pretty good, not great but good it’s a hell of a lot more fun once you beat the game and unlock cheats. The game would be a 8 but I encountered a lot of bugs in my time playing nothing super game breaking but still annoying and every play session it seemed like I was encountering new bugs wether it be demons falling through floors or doom guy being pushed through walls even a hard crash, so I had to take points off for that but once those bugs are resolved it’s a 8. shoved through a wall and even a hard crash Expand
  17. Mar 31, 2020
    7
    A good game, a somewhat disappointing sequel. Mechanics and controls hold up very well, shooting is precise and fast paced and the action is on point. The jumping around from planet to planet is a bit odd for a Doom title, plus the platforming really sours the game. Overall I enjoyed my time with this game. I can see myself returning to it in the future.
  18. Apr 8, 2020
    7
    +Fantastic UHD HDR presentation on x one x
    +Some of the best fps gameplay out there
    +Some great digital art /cutscenes -Odd 'story' choices become more distracting than entertaining -Way too feature heavy gameplay IMO (I never used freeze grenades) -Some terrible fps platforming gameplay sections -Pacing issues make the game feel overly long in places Inside Doom Eternal is
    +Fantastic UHD HDR presentation on x one x
    +Some of the best fps gameplay out there
    +Some great digital art /cutscenes
    -Odd 'story' choices become more distracting than entertaining
    -Way too feature heavy gameplay IMO (I never used freeze grenades)
    -Some terrible fps platforming gameplay sections
    -Pacing issues make the game feel overly long in places

    Inside Doom Eternal is possibly the best FPS of all time, sadly ID software took that game and slapped a bunch of unnecessary jank onto this perfect game and marred it in the process. Even this doesnt stop the fun you will have playing through this game and most of the time you will have a beaming smile on your face as you rip and tear through the levels. If you even slightly a fan of Doom 2016 or single player fps then this is well worth checking out!
    Expand
  19. Apr 5, 2020
    6
    Overall enjoyable with several questionable design decisions from the devs. If you played Doom 2016, you already know the strengths. A fast pace, unapologetically hyperviolent , power shooter. Since there's already a litany of praise, I want to take some time to focus on the flaws with this sequel.

    1) There's a very clear 'right way' to play this game. Unlike Doom 2016, the developers
    Overall enjoyable with several questionable design decisions from the devs. If you played Doom 2016, you already know the strengths. A fast pace, unapologetically hyperviolent , power shooter. Since there's already a litany of praise, I want to take some time to focus on the flaws with this sequel.

    1) There's a very clear 'right way' to play this game. Unlike Doom 2016, the developers all but force you to play Doom Eternal their way to have fun. If you don't routinely and proactively use the Chainsaw to get ammo, you'll consistently run of ammo leading to frustration. If you don't use the flame belch feature for armor routinely, you'll die quickly to heavy and super heavy enemies. If you don't exploit and memorize enemy weak point with certain weapons, enemies feel very bullet spongy and your guns feel weak. After you've mastered the 'dev approved way' to play the game, it's really fun, but it is a frustrating, miserable chore up until that point. This makes me caution casual shooter fans against purchasing this title.

    2) There's a ton of tutorials. After watching several developer commentaries on Doom 2016, I thought the devs understood how important it was to maintain a consistent, engaging pace and gameplay not bogged down by tutorials especially in the beginning. Apparently, I was wrong. By default, Doom Eternal provides you with a tutorial with your first encounter with every new gun, enemy, and ability. This leads to a pace consistently brought to a halt by menus. Since the devs have created a 'right way' to play this game, you need these tutorials to enjoy the game, but it really harms the feeling and pace when a new super demon burst onto the scene for the first time, and you're greeted with a mandatory tutorial telling you exactly how to defeat said enemy. Can't help but think of how other titles like Dead Space use a weak point focused combat without relying on tutorials.

    3) The narrative is again hidden behind codex entries. If you're interested in who the heck are the Sentiels or King Novik or the downfall of earth or the Makyrs, it's all in the codex in the menus

    4) The multiplayer, Battlemode, is a disaster. With assymmetrical multiplayer shooters, the main challenge is balancing the different classes for the devs. In this respect, Doom Eternal's multiplayer may be one of the most poorly balanced assymetrical multiplayer games I've ever experienced...certainly from a AAA studio. There a 2 demons vs 1 slayer which already provides a numerical advantage. The demons can spawn other demons consistently furthering this advantage. The demons have no ammo limitations just timers for abilities. The demons often have mobility advantages/can fly. To win, the slayer must not only kill both demons, but also do so within 20 SECONDS of each other...or the 2nd player controlled demon respawns with half health. Due to these truly awful design decisions from the multiplayer lead devs, the difficulty between playing as a slayer and demon is not even close. The lead designer on the multiplayer is borderline incompetent. Do not waste any of your time on this mode.
    Expand
  20. Mar 28, 2020
    5
    Наличие бензопилы и добивающих ударов ломает всю динамику. Зрелищные добивания уже через 30 минут надоедают и начинают только раздражать. В итоге игра в которой главная фишка - мясная механика, нифига не мясная, а душная
  21. Apr 3, 2020
    7
    I still see little colored lights and monsters coming back and attacking everywhere. The game is a cane, it has the spirit of the games of the 90s. It is a pleasure to see how there are still companies that think of us.
  22. Apr 6, 2020
    6
    You know the games missed a beat when your mrs is watching and says “isnt doom meant to be darker than this?”..... said whilst i am leaping around ledges like a rabbit on magic mushrooms.

    It is a great shooter. It sounds amazing as always. The progression system for both your character and the guns are surprisingly on point. Story is weak, but its not what doom fans are here for. We want
    You know the games missed a beat when your mrs is watching and says “isnt doom meant to be darker than this?”..... said whilst i am leaping around ledges like a rabbit on magic mushrooms.

    It is a great shooter.
    It sounds amazing as always.
    The progression system for both your character and the guns are surprisingly on point.

    Story is weak, but its not what doom fans are here for. We want gore, rage, darkness, fury and pure adrenaline. I am delighted to say that you do get all of that ........ but ....... in bursts......

    Unfortunately this addition to the series introduces platforming, scaling of walls and portals which do nothing but slow down all the things that make the game enjoyable.
    By the end of the game you are sick to death of stumbling across yet another jumpy puzzle that feels desperately out of place in this iconic all action series.

    It agonises me to agree with the wife (when it comes to computer games - good save) but i just feel it could have been a bit darker too. Its more of a nit picky criticism but this sequel felt more cartoony than previous versions.

    All in all a good game but you cant help but feel it could have been so much better without the unnecessary platforming just comes across as a bad call that the developers persisted with.

    Dont believe the hype from some reviewers giving this a 10/10 and branding it the best shooter of our generation, along with many other nonsense statements. Its not.
    This is a good shooter that leaves a bad taste in your mouth because it could have been much better. Its a must play/buy. But a 7/10
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 80
    An absolutely spectacular game, and one of the early highlight games of 2020. Doom Eternal will make you think as you kill, pushing your mind to its limits. That’s not a bad thing. It’s the perfect trip to hell.
  2. Apr 2, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal is an outstanding entry in the series marredby a few setbacks. There is a ton of content including one of the best shooter campaigns I have played this generation. The push and pull method of the combat is addictive to master and a blast to play. Everything looks and sounds fantastic and this is a game that makes me smile as a fan since the beginning. While the generation may be coming to an end, Doom Eternal is one of the games that will send it off with a bang.
  3. Mar 27, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal does everything better comparing to its adequate and robust predecessor. There is not a more violent, fast paced, gory and challenging FPS in the market today. Choose your weapons carefully and dive in.