Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 15, 2015
    100
    It’s just a great game tying to be even better. In some cases it works, in other cases it doesn’t. But, ultimately, if the idea of playing a superior version of one of the best games of all time appeals to you (and why wouldn’t it?) then this is a more than worthy excuse for a double-dip.
  2. 100
    So good that it almost seems deceitful: like a CG trailer of what the highest level of fun might look like. After 17 years, it's incredible that the series still has such power to astound and excite.
  3. Dec 2, 2014
    100
    It doesn't matter if it's your first time visiting Los Santos or if you're thinking of booking a return flight, we give GTA V our highest recommendation. This is simply a marvelous game.
  4. Dec 1, 2014
    100
    One of gaming’s best and not to be missed.
  5. Nov 25, 2014
    100
    GTA V is back in Full HD, with higher detail, better textures, breathtaking lighting effects, impressive draw distance, a whole new first person view mode and 30 player multiplayer battles.
  6. Nov 22, 2014
    100
    I’m glad to have had a reason to revisit it, and am happy to find it even more impressive than it was before.
  7. Nov 18, 2014
    100
    Over one year on and Grand Theft Auto V is still a stunning, unmatched achievement. An open-world that's still utterly absorbing, characters that you'll still want to spend time with and enough new stuff to drag you back for more, all conspire to make GTA V on new-gen entirely indispensable. Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in.
  8. CD-Action
    Feb 7, 2015
    95
    Rockstar did not have to try hard – GTA V would sell on new consoles even it was the same game as before. It’s hard to underestimate both their ambition and effort to make their latest offering something more than a simple reissue. The new first person view really changes the gameplay and alone is worth your money. [01/2015, p.36]
  9. Jan 13, 2015
    95
    The real draw to return to fold, or jump in for the first time if you missed out on GTA V over the course of the last year, lies in the updated graphical prowess current-gen systems hold. Most significantly, the draw distance in this updated version is absolutely outstanding.
  10. Nov 21, 2014
    95
    Grand Theft Auto 5 on the new platforms is a great comeback for the already impressive game. The first-person view mode, the enhanced visuals, and the many different smaller alterations transform the game into an even better experience. However, lingering problems with the gameplay and a few visual issues keep it from achieving perfection.
  11. Nov 21, 2014
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is certainly more than worth your time, but the question is, do you want to spend another 30-50 hours in Los Santos, if you already made the trip last year? For me it is a resounding yes, as the new additions really drew me back into the world, and I had forgotten how much fun I had just exploring, planning heists and even hopping online with friends to cause havoc.
  12. Nov 17, 2014
    95
    Rockstar shows all its mastery and care for detail even in a "porting" operation, delivering us a visually stunning and richer GTA experience and successfully introducing the new first-person camera, something we loved and would like to see in any Rockstar game from now on.
  13. Dec 8, 2014
    90
    Exceptional game that looks phenomenal,especially from a new point of view. But do not expect a new experience-that comes only when you are a newcomer to the game.
  14. Nov 21, 2014
    90
    This is more than a “definitive edition”. With all additions and improved visuals that didn’t leave a stone unturned even frequent visitors of past-gens Los Santos will find something that will make their return trip worthwhile. And if you didn’t play it yet: Welcome to open-world heaven.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1675 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    Great Game. The best GTA now enhanced by the Xbox One is a delight to play. Given that the Original GTAV was close to a 10/10 imo, thisGreat Game. The best GTA now enhanced by the Xbox One is a delight to play. Given that the Original GTAV was close to a 10/10 imo, this version just finalises any doubts in my mind.

    I am very surprised that upon playing 6+ Hours of the game already the framerate was indeed very smooth. Great job by Rockstar, their game developers obviously know how to code video games before release unlike cough cough UBIFAIL.

    Coming from playing ACU last week to this was a real pleasure and I’m glad some game developers still know how to optimize video games.

    Thanks for a great game Rockstar.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2015
    3
    Beautiful graphics and a wonderful engine and open world.
    But what about the story, game play and characters.
    Its so outdated and boring.
    Beautiful graphics and a wonderful engine and open world.
    But what about the story, game play and characters.
    Its so outdated and boring.
    It's so stereotype I'm falling asleep.
    What happened to the ladies in the first GTA for example?

    Please use your great game and engine and make something exciting and new!
    Please!
    It's like nintendo all over. Just the same game over and over.
    So dissapointed.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2015
    3
    What the heck is wrong with GTA V? It has the longest load times ever. EVER. EVER. EVER. The campaign takes 4-6 minutes to load. Maybe longer.What the heck is wrong with GTA V? It has the longest load times ever. EVER. EVER. EVER. The campaign takes 4-6 minutes to load. Maybe longer. I stopped checking my watch. But I guess Rockstar felt that wasn’t long enough. The online component is worse. The load times are nearly long enough for me to have a pizza delivered to my home. But wait, it’s worse than that. The game constantly disconnects from the servers. So now I gotta either wait another lunar month for the GTA V online to load, or throw it out the window. I chose the latter.

    The load times between individual online missions are so long, that the first time I played, I thought my Xbox froze. It’s frustrating. It’s garbage. It’s an absolute joke. And I don’t understand this because Max Payne 3 is pretty darn good.

    I’ll be the first to say that GTA V’s load times make it one of the worst gaming experiences of recent memory. I don’t plan on providing a full review, because I don’t want to spend 20 minutes of every hour waiting for crap to load. But my first impression of the game is this: It’s overrated and boring. I enjoyed GTA back in the PS2 days.

    Foremost, the controls are confusing. Sometimes players have to press “X” to open a door. Other times they have to press left on the D-pad. Huh? This explains the need for constant on screen prompts. For the longest time I couldn’t remember how to sit on a couch. Sounds funny but this shouldn’t happen to gamers. GTA V needs better controls. It needs predictable, consistent controls. As they are now the controls suck.

    Navigating the map is cumbersome. To access the map, I have to open the menus, then select the map so I can view it. Putting extra steps between players and the map is a bad idea.
    Aiming is terrible. Even during its early missions, GTA’s flawed gun mechanics were already pissing me off. Shooting while driving is a disaster. Players must use 5 buttons simultaneously to control their cars and shoot. It’s a complete spectacle that I don’t have the patience to endure.

    GTA V’s driving experience is merely average. All engines sound anemic. Cars handle OK. For a series entitled Grand Theft Auto, I expected the “Auto” part to rock. But it doesn’t. I can name plenty of other games that rival and even surpass GTA V in that department.

    All its problems point to fundamental quality oversights. A series this old shouldn’t suffer from freshman flaws. At its core, GTA V is an average game. Sure, GTA’s world has gotten bigger. But the controls suck. Driving is mediocre. Gunplay is just plain awful. And the multiplayer is broken. Rockstar’s developers have been handed too much credit. But gamers eagerly lap it up so they can live out their law breaking, sex-crazed, gun totting, raunchy fantasies. It’s that simple. Who cares if nothing else works so long as horny gamers can experience horribly animated prostitutes laughably simulating fellatio.

    Having not played a GTA game in nearly a decade, I can unreservedly say that I’m not impressed. Despite all the crap kicked at Watch Dogs, it’s a superior game. Watch dogs has better mechanics. Better visuals. Better story. Heck, even the driving is better. There is constantly stuff to do and NPC’s are definitely more lifelike. I’ll pass on GTA V. I’d rather play Watch Dogs, Saints Row, Just Cause 2, or the exquisite Forza 4.

    GTA V is the culmination of franchise fatigue, wrong priorities, and horrible optimization. The high marks are not merited. It just shows that critics and gamers alike will always have their favorite games and challengers will be criticized for the very flaws that are ignored in those favorites.
    Full Review »