User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 91
  2. Negative: 68 out of 91
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2018
    3
    Microtransaction game with some basketball simulator built-in.

    Don't support these kind of games! Let them die.
  2. Sep 18, 2018
    0
    This is by far the most disgusting display of greed I've ever seen from a game company. You literally either need to spend $120+ to be competitive in MyCareer, or be forced into spending 100+ hours painstakingly grinding away by doing the exact same thing over and over in games and practices in order to try to gain badges. It's purposefully unfun in order to try to force you to spend moneyThis is by far the most disgusting display of greed I've ever seen from a game company. You literally either need to spend $120+ to be competitive in MyCareer, or be forced into spending 100+ hours painstakingly grinding away by doing the exact same thing over and over in games and practices in order to try to gain badges. It's purposefully unfun in order to try to force you to spend money on virtual currency. You're urged to purchase things with real money at every corner, and you pretty much have to in order to be competitive unless you have 40 hours a week to play the game. Do not support this greedy company, it's absolutely NOT okay to utilize a freemium business model on a $60 game. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2018
    0
    En el videojuego de 2K19 se observa lo mismo que en el del año pasado. Todo se logra con microtransacciones a pesar de que se paga como un triple A. En vez de vender el producto con todo incluido te obligan a pagar para no tener que jugar por horas, que a la larga se hacen semanas. Aun con la edición de aniversario lo que te venden no es la experiencia de juego, sino la emoción de comprarEn el videojuego de 2K19 se observa lo mismo que en el del año pasado. Todo se logra con microtransacciones a pesar de que se paga como un triple A. En vez de vender el producto con todo incluido te obligan a pagar para no tener que jugar por horas, que a la larga se hacen semanas. Aun con la edición de aniversario lo que te venden no es la experiencia de juego, sino la emoción de comprar por partes todo el contenido. Incluso, uno de los productores del equipo de desarrollo dice que la gran mayoría de jugadores de videojuegos no tienen paciencia para jugar y por eso ponen las microtransacciones. Sin embargo, en Steam para PC el NBA 2k18 tiene una clasificación de mayormente negativos.

    In English
    In the video game of 2K19 the same thing is observed as in the one of last year. Everything is achieved with microtransactions despite being paid as a triple A. Instead of selling the product with all-inclusive you are forced to pay for not having to play for hours, which eventually become weeks. Even with the anniversary edition, what they sell to you is not the gaming experience, but the excitement of buying all the content in parts. Even one of the producers of the development team says that the vast majority of video game players have no patience to play and that is why they put microtransactions. However, in Steam for PC the NBA 2k18 has a rating of mostly negative.
    Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2018
    0
    Stop buying 2k games. They're the same thing every year and clearly don't care about customer feedback.
  5. Sep 21, 2018
    3
    I was very disappointed with the NBA 2K19, for me it was money thrown away. The gameplay got worse, the players seem locked, there is no power or infiltration. Career mode is unbearable: Chinese League? Oh really? I thought we bought the game to play NBA. For years to 2K put Euroleague in the game and never a career mode put us to play in Europe, but to attract Chinese money is worthI was very disappointed with the NBA 2K19, for me it was money thrown away. The gameplay got worse, the players seem locked, there is no power or infiltration. Career mode is unbearable: Chinese League? Oh really? I thought we bought the game to play NBA. For years to 2K put Euroleague in the game and never a career mode put us to play in Europe, but to attract Chinese money is worth everything is not it? Start with 60 of overall to be forced to buy coins for microtransactions? Man, I hated this game! Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2018
    3
    The community's rating of 3 out of 10 is dead on. 2K is on par with FIFA/Madden, in terms of its over reliance on micro transactions, it is still egregious as hell, and incredibly anti-consumer. This is not a review bomb, this is me being deeply disappointed by 2k as they have not learned their lesson from 2K18... you charged players for a damn haircut... Anyways...

    MyCareer, the main
    The community's rating of 3 out of 10 is dead on. 2K is on par with FIFA/Madden, in terms of its over reliance on micro transactions, it is still egregious as hell, and incredibly anti-consumer. This is not a review bomb, this is me being deeply disappointed by 2k as they have not learned their lesson from 2K18... you charged players for a damn haircut... Anyways...

    MyCareer, the main reason I buy this game, is as "grindy" as it was last year. The amount of VC you earn after games and from endorsements and such have been slightly raised, but not nearly enough for people to enjoy the game without using a credit card. My own personal example should show how bad it is... I have played MyCareer for nearly 40 hours with my point guard, and without spending VC on anything but my attributes, I have been able to reach 74 Overall... I have gone up 14 points in 40 hours, with that math and ignoring increased cost for attributes as you level, it would take me another 71 hours to reach 99 overall... or I could just bring up the credit card and buy my way to 89 right now for $70 CAD.

    The sad thing is, the gameplay with a player with an overall between 60 - 75 is absolutely brutal. The game is relentless and pretty much forced me to play on Pro with 5 minute quarters when I really do not like to, but it is the "quickest" and easiest way to garner VC. This becomes even worse when the same silly collision animation exists where you will slightly brush an opponent and lose the ball for a turnover and an inevitable fast break bucket for the opponent... This should have been fixed, but I guess not... Alongside this, the grading system in game is the most punishing version I have ever seen in 2k yet, and drops your grade a hell of a lot more than it will raise it through silly things like "bad call for pass" and "hold ball too long" when I'm the point guard...

    The point is, 2K19 goes out of its way to choke out and throttle how much VC you can earn at every chance they get, and still charge way too much for clothing and gear compared to your payout per game. I DO NOT WANT TO USE A DAMN CREDIT CARD, and seeing how your MyCareer player is used for most of the online modes, this causes a clear disadvantage and an evil "Pay to Win" system and 2K should be ashamed, but it is probably hard to be when you count all the external revenue from credit cards and the forced product placement that is shoved in your face, every chance they get.

    MyTeam has some new modes that I actually like, including the unlimited mode, and the triple threat mode (3 on 3). The unlimited mode is a tournament style play-through where you can earn high level cards by going through 12 games undefeated and reminds me of the old road to playoffs mode from 2k13 that rewarded you with legends, and the triple threat mode is a fun 3 on 3 mode that let's you setup your 3 favourite players and scrim against other players to unlock rewards...

    Although, those rewards and the rewards from locker codes are all just chances, as you have to go through an incredibly stupid plinko ball drop game that is based on luck to get the reward you want... They get accused of promoting gambling and then implement a system that makes the game look like an online casino... Nice one 2K!

    Also, keep in mind that, while I do like these modes, they are also pay to win as you can simply buy VC and get better players than those who do not use credit cards again... Seeing a theme yet? I also have to mention that this business of having a difficulty multiplier of 0.75 to lower your earned MT on Pro difficulty is incredibly nefarious. Stop throttling and lowering MT and VC payouts and lower your damn prices... They did that, but ever so damn slightly, oh and hey, haircuts are free... Wow, thanks!

    The good news is short and simple, the gameplay seems a bit more realistic (pro or con, depends on the player), MyTeam has some new and better modes, and the dancers have better looking face models... That's about it.

    This game is a disgrace, it really is, it is not as bad as 2K18, but it sure could give it a run, this is also the first 2K game where I absolutely despise the soundtrack, I do not like a single song on it, but that's my opinion. This will actually be the last year I buy 2K, I love having a basketball & football (soccer) sim, but not at the expense of my credit card bill. Just another L for honest gamers...

    + New MyTeam modes
    + Dancer face models look better (IMO)
    + MyCareer story is not as dreadful as last years

    - Egregious micro-transactions
    - Nefarious pay-to-win scheme
    - Throttling of VC & MT is unforgivable
    - MyCareer is too much of a grind
    - Soundtrack is awful (IMO)
    - Graphics haven't changed since 2K14
    - Gameplay mechanics are still broken

    Overall, 2K19 is a gigantic disappointment, and it's getting more difficult to convince friends to buy this drivel. This is a solid 30 for me. RIP.
    Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2018
    0
    Broke. I was going to post more but someone spammed the x button and stole it from me.
  8. Sep 18, 2018
    1
    The common theme in these reviews are microtransactions and that is the central reason why this game is horrible. In order to have a below average player to use in the Park, you'd need to spend upwards of 40 hours or spend an additional $40.

    On top of the pay-to-win nature of 2K19, the matchmaking system remains as broken as ever. You will disconnect from games and sit around and wait
    The common theme in these reviews are microtransactions and that is the central reason why this game is horrible. In order to have a below average player to use in the Park, you'd need to spend upwards of 40 hours or spend an additional $40.

    On top of the pay-to-win nature of 2K19, the matchmaking system remains as broken as ever. You will disconnect from games and sit around and wait for up to 15 minutes just to get matched with a team. Today, there is no excuse for not implementing an instant matchmaking online experience. Why overcomplicate the quickest and most efficient way in order to people to have an online game experience?

    The archetypes are unbalanced (passing and sharpshooting are near-useless builds), the game spends too much time on cut scenes that less than 10% of the audience will ever watch, and 2K19 remains the same bundled mess of cash-grabbing garbage. Please reconsider buying this game if you are the fence. It is a shame because the basketball simulator aspect has so much potential and always has. Until 2K makes several significant changes to better the online MyPark experience, it should be a game you avoid at all costs.
    Expand
  9. Sep 12, 2018
    0
    Another grindy microtransaction-filled **** like 2k18. 2K continues to be greedy scumbags.
  10. Sep 12, 2018
    5
    As a basketball game it is very good. But I'm giving it a 5 because 2K games is once again shamelessly attempting to milk more money out of the same customers that shelled out $60-$100 for the game. I refuse to pay for microtransactions because it is against the principles of charging me full price for a game and then try to charge me more once I try to play 2 of the more important modes.As a basketball game it is very good. But I'm giving it a 5 because 2K games is once again shamelessly attempting to milk more money out of the same customers that shelled out $60-$100 for the game. I refuse to pay for microtransactions because it is against the principles of charging me full price for a game and then try to charge me more once I try to play 2 of the more important modes. The worse part is that without paying real cash, it feels like an impossibly long grind, maybe worse than last year. I barely make any progress in the MyPlayer mode. If you make any small mistakes your Teammate Grade takes huge losses during games. It's very disappointing because 2K games used to be the anti-EA. More friendly to their users and now it seems they have gotten worse than EA. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2018
    6
    NBA 2k19 is one of the most engaging and fun sports games I've ever played. However, it is bogged down by an ever increasing reliance on micotransactions that, while improved from NBA 2k18, still act in an aggressive attack against their customers.

    The game is visually stunning. The core gameplay mechanics are near perfect and the changes they made to steals (most especially) were
    NBA 2k19 is one of the most engaging and fun sports games I've ever played. However, it is bogged down by an ever increasing reliance on micotransactions that, while improved from NBA 2k18, still act in an aggressive attack against their customers.

    The game is visually stunning. The core gameplay mechanics are near perfect and the changes they made to steals (most especially) were duly noted and much appreciated. While 2K is pretending to bring new additions to the game, they are only half advanced as they pretend to be. Many features are simply a return from NBA 2k17 or earlier, and had been deleted, removed, or dramatically changed for the worse. For example, skipping cut scenes, the traditional MyGM mode, and free haircuts for your MyPLayer, all returned this year, but it begs us asking the question, why did 2K remove these features in the first place.

    While 2k touts that they are making VC easier to earn this year, they can only claim this due to a deceptive change to the game. Yes, you earn more VC by having difficulty multipliers and the overall per-game VC cap has been raised, but the amount of VC you need in order to level up your character has been permanently increased. For example, last year I spent $10 buying 35k worth of VC which was enough to get my MyPlayer to a healthy 71 before beginning the game mode. That same 35k worth of VC can only get a MyPlayer up to a 67 or 68 now. You'll need 200k VC, or $50 worth, in order to go from a 60 to 85 -- a truly daunting task for an adult like myself who works 40 hours a week and has a family. The MyCareer path could have easily been called 'Return to the Grind.'

    Once you get passed the VC issues, the game is amazing. The new MyCareer story mode is amazing. It was the first time since they introduced the storytelling with 2K14, that I actually wanted to watch every cut scene. They hired a great writing staff and a number of A list actors to partake in the experience, and it was amazing. I felt myself attached to my character because 2K delivered a powerful story about BASKETBALL life, rather than creating some phony and pathetic storyline and then wrapping basketball around it.

    My only other critique is that the teammate grading system is terrible. They tweaked it so that you are punished incredibly hard for minor infractions while not rewarding positive play. An assist gets you plus 20% while leaving your coverage of a player on defense, mixed with him scoring, can net you a full letter grade penalty. They also are reckless with how often they cite you for someone scoring on your character, even if you were playing solid Defense (this is basketball, your opponent will inevitably score some of the time). My last game I had 27points, 11 Assists, 6 rebounds, and 2 steals, with 2 turn overs, only to have a teammate grade of C+. This definitely needs an update.

    Overall, NBA 2K is a phenomenal game that's incredibly fun to play but is hindered by it's desire to take the money of its most devoted fans.
    Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2018
    9
    There is a huge amount of content for you to sink your teeth into and I have no doubt that fans of the series will be satisfied for many months. The new additions and upgrades in the many modes breath new life into the series and each upgrade is a very worthy addition. The gameplay has always been fun this time around it feels more realistic and the shooting and defending elements haveThere is a huge amount of content for you to sink your teeth into and I have no doubt that fans of the series will be satisfied for many months. The new additions and upgrades in the many modes breath new life into the series and each upgrade is a very worthy addition. The gameplay has always been fun this time around it feels more realistic and the shooting and defending elements have definitely been improved. Once again the presentation side of the game is absolutely fantastic and both the visuals and sound design create an experience that will keep you coming back for more. The A.I has also seen improvements this time around and it provides you with a much more realistic experience especially when it comes to defence. I was a little disappointed to see that there were no women basketball players included in the MyCareer mode. Earning Virtual Currency (VC) is still very grindy and getting the best equipment can often take a very long time. Does NBA 2K19 do enough to get a recommendation from me? All in all at the moment it’s a great time to be a fan of basketball game’s because the rivalry between NBA Live 19 and NBA 2K19 is better than ever which means that us as the consumers get to enjoy what improvements and upgrades have been implemented. NBA 2K19 has a number of extra additions and improvements this time around and probably my most favourite improvement is the more realistic shooting and defending elements. The AI also feels more realistic as well and when you combine this with the other realistic improvements it does make playing a game very immersive. This immersiveness doesn’t dwindle either which is a good thing because in terms of content there’s a huge amount for you to get to grips and I don’t think you’ll be getting bored anytime soon, I know I definitely won’t. The different content then means grinding for Virtual Currency is bearable but I do still think it takes too long to obtain the good equipment. This however is only a minor gripe and on the whole the game doesn’t suffer with many problems at all and when it’s all said and done NBA 2K19 is another fantastic addition to the series. Expand
  13. Sep 11, 2018
    10
    wonderful game man, love them nba games. looks good, love it, plays nice, LEBRON! meganig
  14. Sep 12, 2018
    10
    The people who are giving this game anything less than a 7 are trolls. The game is deservingly a 9 on the low end of the spectrum. It's easily one of the best sports games of our generation.
  15. Jan 4, 2019
    0
    This game is pretty trash. At least the MyCareer mode.
    The story is incredibly short. Then you just do the same things over and over again.
    They make it nearly impossible to get the in game currency, unless you spend real money on it. If you don't want to spend money on it, be ready to spend countless hours grinding for those precious vc. Your player is absolutely garbage at the start
    This game is pretty trash. At least the MyCareer mode.
    The story is incredibly short. Then you just do the same things over and over again.
    They make it nearly impossible to get the in game currency, unless you spend real money on it.
    If you don't want to spend money on it, be ready to spend countless hours grinding for those precious vc. Your player is absolutely garbage at the start too, so don't think you can drain shots from 3 land without spending those VC points. To counter this, people used to be able to adjust the difficulty settings. They have disabled that as well. Pro is the easiest setting. No more rookie for beginners or people just looking for a casual experience. Also, the team rating is broken still, but thats no change from every other year.
    Expand
  16. Oct 14, 2018
    4
    When at this not competitive online game will be balance like at Starcraft 1-2 ? When they realise, that balance manager, who can hear users and can play online too - is MUST NESSESARRY ?? Before patch 4 this game has some troubles, but they was not so much impactful, like after patch 4, when balance again become bad ! All stupid dudes got atvantage again.
    Some historic troubles of 2K NBA
    When at this not competitive online game will be balance like at Starcraft 1-2 ? When they realise, that balance manager, who can hear users and can play online too - is MUST NESSESARRY ?? Before patch 4 this game has some troubles, but they was not so much impactful, like after patch 4, when balance again become bad ! All stupid dudes got atvantage again.
    Some historic troubles of 2K NBA Series:
    1. OP Offencsive rebounds - 2 years in a row ! Why? For noobs, who must shot again and again?
    2. Goal or foul at paint. This "insane" feature relised at 2k16 and now actual again, after patch 4.
    3. Greed. Last realistic cards at MyTeam whas at 2K16, then ..... We neeed more your money.

    This game will be trash, before they hire balance manager, who must be EXPERT at online game!!
    Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    This is the worst sports game I have ever played....period..I thought ea games were horrible until i saw this monstrosity. the controls are awful, gameplay is clunky slow and awkward, there is no defensive system in place me guy refused to acknowledge the person right in front of him that I'm trying to guard. I got this game for free and I want a refund, I didn't even get far enough toThis is the worst sports game I have ever played....period..I thought ea games were horrible until i saw this monstrosity. the controls are awful, gameplay is clunky slow and awkward, there is no defensive system in place me guy refused to acknowledge the person right in front of him that I'm trying to guard. I got this game for free and I want a refund, I didn't even get far enough to get upset at the microtransactions because the gameplay was so unbelievably horrible, spend your money on a knife to stab yourself in the kidney every so often...you will get more joy from that than this abortion of a game... Expand
  18. ldv
    Nov 28, 2018
    8
    This game is way better than 2k18. Not as good as 2k15, 2k16 and 2k17. i got next.
  19. Feb 25, 2019
    8
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
  20. Feb 28, 2019
    9
    One of the best NBA2K ever made. But Microtransaction simply ruind the MyTeam and MyCarrer.
  21. Apr 5, 2019
    0
    worst sports game ever played, constantly getting shoved and pushed around as if there is no rules in basketball, i wouldn't even recommend this to a friend if it was on sale for a dollar, biggest waste of time ever created, and money.
  22. May 29, 2019
    8
    NBA 2K19 is a very fun game for basketball fans. A fun game with simple to learn contols.
  23. Jun 17, 2019
    1
    Pray you never have to email support. You will get up to 3 generic responses and then just be ignored. Unless you spend an extra 50$ on VC or around 100 hours playing your guy is garbage
  24. Jun 19, 2019
    0
    It is sad to see that Microtransactions have killed off my favorite franchise, but here we are. This is pathetic and I pray the bill gets passed soon. Greedy company.
  25. Jul 12, 2019
    1
    Another insanely stupid game that is designed to allow anyone to win, regardless of how better you are than the other person. It’s a game of complete randomness that you have no control over.
  26. Jul 14, 2019
    0
    Yoo this game is a piece of crap. The gameplay is horrible, and I am getting so sick and tired of those in-game animations. FIX IT PLEASE!!!
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 12, 2018
    75
    For every step in the right direction, NBA2K19’s price tag keeps it from being a truly outstanding installment in the 2K series.
  2. Oct 1, 2018
    82
    With the pressure from NBA Live mounting, Visual Concepts outdid themselves on the court, while the cinematic part of the career mode is the best in years. Unfortunately the impact of microtransactions on the career and development of the player is still felt - although the grind to get virtual currency in-game has been reduced.
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    91
    With a renewed My Team, a smarter AI and displaying realism in every detail, NBA 2K19 is pure basketball.