Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 27, 2022
    100
    RimWorld has become a lauded classic on PC, and with the Xbox port, Double Eleven delivers a master class in how to bring games designed for mouse and keyboard intuitively to console. RimWorld is an utterly brutal survival sim where cutesy simplistic graphics belies endless depth, and you get procedural drama on a scale I have never before experienced in video game form. This game is a masterpiece, and RimWorld for Xbox faithfully shepherds the budding franchise to a brand new audience.
  2. Aug 10, 2022
    90
    RimWorld is a difficult game starting out. Your community will either die from starvation or will be killed by enemy factions or wildlife. That’s normal. It will take an hour at most to get a grasp on what needs to be done and figure out how the controls on the console work. Once everything becomes a fluid motion you’ll feel satisfaction from having your community thriving and surviving. RimWorld Console Edition has a big learning curve and will need players invested if anything is expected to come out of it. Give it the love it needs and players will have a surprisingly enjoyable experience.
  3. Aug 8, 2022
    90
    You’ll have a lot of fun playing RimWorld Console Edition and it’s a game that you’ll find yourself constantly heading back to. The PC version is bound to remain superior thanks to the fans that have built up so much content for it, but we should be thankful that we can now boot up RimWorld on our consoles.
  4. Aug 4, 2022
    89
    RimWorld is not for the faint of heart, in its content or gameplay. It has a massive learning curve and may be one of the most difficult games to learn for new players like myself. As I started this review, I talked about my fairly negative experience at the beginning, but now I can’t stop playing it. The characters are all different; They live, they die, you learn and start again. It’s punishing, it’s brutal, but also complex and addictive. I’ve completely changed my mind about RimWorld over the past two weeks and I am so happy I stuck with it.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 8, 2022
    Even if RimWorld is not presently the best CMS game on console, it is not far from it. With its unfettered freedom, infinite replayability and constantly evolving story, it is a time-consuming title intertwining rich content with a well-designed gameplay. The port is quite brilliant and offers us all the features available on PC without the slightest compromise, except maybe for a handling that is a little complex to grasp at first.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 31, 2022
    10
    This game is truly far superior than Call of Duty, and trust me when I say this as I'm a big Call of Duty fan, I mean Funko pops levels ofThis game is truly far superior than Call of Duty, and trust me when I say this as I'm a big Call of Duty fan, I mean Funko pops levels of being into it, people even tried to do an intervention (as if I need one lol). My first RimWorld run? I've named all the characters after character from Call of Duty and let them do several warcrimes on PS4! That's how good RimWorld gets. Anytime I look into what languages this console version supports I think of that line from the airport mission in Modern Warfare 2, but hopefully they'll add support for more languages in the future, the work they've done so far is impressive and deserves merit.

    I would still say RimWorld is like, "Better than Call of Duty/10"

    P.S. I do NOT have an unhealthy obession with Call of Duty, it is merely part of my well detailed mental process to review stuff. How was the new Avengers? "Kinda like Call of Duty sometimes/10". It is... it's a thing. trust me. What do you think of vegetarian diets? "It could be improved if it included more Call of Duty"/10, it's an extremely practical mental scheme, and anyway, giving numbers to evaluate the indescribable piece of art that is RimWorld Console Edition, as if writing only "10/10" could explain how good this game is, is ludicrous too. You should definitely play RimWorld. It's a great game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2022
    10
    RimWorld 's PC UI:
    _ヽ
      \\    \( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)     ⌒ヽ    /   へ\    /  / \\    レ ノ   ヽ_つ   / /   / /|  ( (ヽ  | |、\  | 丿 \ ⌒)  | |  ) /
    RimWorld 's PC UI:
    _ヽ
      \\
       \( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
        ⌒ヽ
       /   へ\
       /  / \\
       レ ノ   ヽ_つ
      / /
      / /|
     ( (ヽ
     | |、\
     | 丿 \ ⌒)
     | |  ) /
    `ノ )  Lノ
    (_/

    RimWorld's Console Edition UI :

    /フフ         ム`ヽ
    / ノ) ) ヽ
    / |  ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ノ⌒(ゝ._,ノ
    / ノ⌒7⌒ヽーく  \ /
    丶_ ノ 。   ノ、 。|/
       `ヽ `ー-'_人`ーノ
        丶  ̄ _人'彡ノ..

    Before going forward with this review, I find it important to state this: I don't have a criminal record, I promise.

    As I hovered on the PS5 version of this game, I looked at its details with the simple press of a button. A clean interface popped-up and said:

    RimWorld Console Edition (masterful: your colonists will feel happy about it).

    As I closed the menu, I smiled, knowing that indeed, it is true.

    "I can now indulge in slavery, organ harvesting, and making my colonists survive a pack of mad squirrels, while one of my colonists is throwing a tantrum 'cause they didn't eat on a table -the goddamn bourgeois, I swear, people these days? Cut me some slack, uuuggghh, what are we even dealing with? The complaining lad used to be an abrasive street urchin who grew up in some **** urbworld and became a salesman with an eating disorder before crashing on a planet in the middle of nowhere- well, I digress. See, I was getting riled up about this colonist acting like they've got standards like "Not eating on the floor, sleep in a proper building, clean the room" when they're eating UNCOOKED human flesh!
    (I didn't mean to end up in this scenario btw, I can explain), but the thing is, if you're doing the cannibal thing you can still cook your meals you know, there's a kitchen and a butchering table somewhere, good heavens! And then I'm realizing I didn't allow human flesh to be cut in the butchering table, and once I allowed it I could definitely have cooked human flesh if I ever ended up spending a harsh winter with a cannibal fighting side by side against an army of mad squirrels, I mean I don't wanna get political and I'm not saying cannibalism is ok but I'm willing to accept anyone who's willing to put their weight around to get things done, and uh, a pod crashed with some milk inside. ...Noice."

    That's what I think as I look at it all from a 4K monitor while eating my mom's spaghetti. This Joyce-like drivel is what one hectic minute of RimWorld can drive your mind to.

    The people behind this version have seriously done an amazing job and I hope they'll do some future GDC talk about the stunt they have pulled, 'cause I'd love to see the incredible team behind this get more recognition and get more games like this on Playstation, Xbox, and ...Nintendo Switch, maybe? I know, RimWorld for Switch isn''t out yet, but come on, it must happen, right? Pretty please with cherry on top? I'll even buy Tynan's book if it will help making it happen. And please get a Star Fox or Metroid themed mod on your way there heheh

    Speaking of the real sauce though, this is not the Steam Deck version, this is an actual new thing built from the ground up that allows you to play RimWorld on your telly. It works, and it is crazy. Honestly, the effort behind feels insane. It's not just a shallow port with a few cheap mouse bindings. I hope this will increase the game's popularity to a point where they'll add console exclusive mod support, it would be really cool to have actually licensed content coming from other franchises like Capcom did on Monster Hunter with The Witcher, Final Fantasy XV or Horizon Zero Dawn, etc. I mean you've got some stuff done for Bethesda and Microsoft, right? But even if all of this was off the table, I'd still have only one request for Double Eleven (and for once, it's not Rust community servers): bring Ideology in, it's a good DLC and people would love it.

    P.S: Also Amazing Cultivation Simulator aka Chinese RimWorld, bring that baby on consoles pls
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 18, 2022
    9
    Rimworld is a niche game at its core, there’s a lot of people who get turned off by top down map like games but for those willing to giveRimworld is a niche game at its core, there’s a lot of people who get turned off by top down map like games but for those willing to give rimworld a chance will find that it is truly a game like no other out there right now.

    One thing to know about this game if your going blind is you will die, how often depends on how fresh to the game you are. Rimworld has a steep learning curve to start but if you stick it out it will reward you with one of the most fun games out there to play.

    You start with practically nothing but some food and starting building materials depending on your selected scenario. You choose your own colonists to use randomly adding a mild annoyance to any start as you’ll find yourself endlessly rerolling your colonists to get the desired stats and traits but this also has the added effect of giving each colonist a personal connection due to the 40 minutes you just spent picking your starting guys out.

    The game is a true port with only a few features missing which I’m being told are on the way at some point. There are few bugs and the ones that are there are easily dodged if your aware of them.

    Give this game your time and you will be rewarded with a personal sandbox of your dreams where the possibilities are nearly endless.
    Full Review »