User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2473 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2019
    8
    Titanfall's gameplay holds up as one of the best found in the FPS genre within the last decade, with plenty of inspiration and creativity thrown into the mix. Respawn are clearly very talented game developers and know what it takes to make a game actually fun, however the game is held back by its lack of variety and customisation.
  2. Mar 7, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it came really close to my first 10 ever however. I feel the multiplayer is great there is a lot of maps and even offline multiplayer one of my favorite Games of all time on the xbox one . Rarely ever Lag or Experience a Frame Drop . Great Guns , Great Abilities and even Easy to take down titans as well . Kills are not hard and there is even bots. To make a better time in multiplayer .Its multiplayer gets a 9 however This Game is by one of the companies who developed cod so its not cod with robots any dumbass who may have said that is stupid and two-faced the game is a great time killer and very much an original concept being developed by Activision who if youre stupid made Call Of Duty Black Ops III , Call of Duty Infinite warfare and Call of Duty advanced warfare so it is an original idea and should not be discreidted by stupid haters because they did not research Activision and the developers Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2019
    5
    Solo en linea no hay mucho que esperar es entretenido obviamente pero al jugar muchas horas se vuelve repetitivo
  4. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    Um dos melhores fps da atual geração. E uma dos melhores multiplayers. Diversão na certa.
  5. May 25, 2018
    9
    great game and one of my favorites when I played on my xbox one. Great FPS and not a big fan of FPS games.
  6. Jan 19, 2018
    10
    Шикарная первая часть, сетевая игра ощущается не просто как рандомная бессмысленная битва а как часть некоего события, отрывок истории, что гораздо атмосферней и предает некой логичности и смысла всему действию.
  7. Oct 25, 2017
    9
    this game is good even if it really lake a solo compaigne but still its multiplayer is really quick and awessome i spent more than 1k hours on it thinjk that it was one of the best 2014 games
  8. Jun 19, 2017
    5
    What a massive disappointment this one was.. No campaign and barely anything in the multiplayer bring this one down big time. Whats there is good and fun, but that doesn't last too long.
  9. Apr 18, 2017
    7
    Developed by the ex-Infinity Ward developers who crafted some of the best Call of Duty titles, Titanfall had the potential to put it's foot down and establish a new genre that could outdo the major FPS franchises that roam the industry today. But it failed to do that. Don't get me wrong, I think this game was solidly crafted, the gun-play is fast, smooth, and responsive. The parkourDeveloped by the ex-Infinity Ward developers who crafted some of the best Call of Duty titles, Titanfall had the potential to put it's foot down and establish a new genre that could outdo the major FPS franchises that roam the industry today. But it failed to do that. Don't get me wrong, I think this game was solidly crafted, the gun-play is fast, smooth, and responsive. The parkour mechanics are great, and fun to maneuver with. The Titans are a blast to control, and the game is balanced, like a good shooter SHOULD be. But.... The campaign is lackluster, quite bad frankly, and there are barely any game-modes to choose from. Titanfall has good potential, but didn't quite make the leap it needed to put a new, challenging franchise on the map. Expand
  10. Apr 9, 2017
    4
    C'est des gars qui se cassent de leur Call of Duty annuel, sans doute très probablement parce qu'ils voulaient plus de fric. Ils montent leur start-up et bricolent vite fait mal fait un mod de Call of Duty moderne warfère (ouaah des robots bah dis donc !... tu t'es foulé, toi !) mais le plus dur reste à faire : trouver un titre ! un titre qui en jette, qui fait mystérieux, avec "fall"C'est des gars qui se cassent de leur Call of Duty annuel, sans doute très probablement parce qu'ils voulaient plus de fric. Ils montent leur start-up et bricolent vite fait mal fait un mod de Call of Duty moderne warfère (ouaah des robots bah dis donc !... tu t'es foulé, toi !) mais le plus dur reste à faire : trouver un titre ! un titre qui en jette, qui fait mystérieux, avec "fall" dedans, ça fait bien. Et voilà...

    Sur Xbox One, pour te dire à quel point c'est bâclé ce truc, c'est en 792p (LOL) et ça ne tient même pas les 60 im/s, sans qu'il y ait des ralentissements (ça reste assez rare quand même) ou sans que la synchro verticale se barre en RTT. Et le jeu n'est pas bien beau avec ça... bah ouais : un vieux moteur Source à deux balles..

    Le bon point, c'est que ça se joue comme un COD et que le multi est bien nerveux avec en prime des bots qui remplacent des joueurs humains (6 contre 6 seulement...) : dans le bordel ambiant, on ne les remarque pas trop et ils filent des frags gratuits (moins de stress donc quand un tricheur vient de te vaporiser la gueule 5 fois de suite). Par ailleurs, étant jeu 100% multi, la campagne de merde des COD a disparu, ce qui n'est pas plus mal.

    Un peu léger donc tout cela mais c'est toujours mieux qu'un Diablol.
    Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2017
    9
    Great game with a bunch of fun multiplayer modes! I was addicted the first time I played this! The game is so fun, and the titans really enhance the experience, in a positive way for me. You can obviously customize your loadout, and there are 3 different titans to choose from, each with different strengths and weaknesses. Overall, I highly recommend this game.
  12. Mar 8, 2017
    10
    This is the best online multiplayer FPS I've ever played and personally am not bothered by the lack of a campaign. The Online maps are EXTREMELY well designed, the experience when you first play feels surreal with the giant titans roaming the maps. I love just about everything about this game, and with the addition of a ranking system, I feel the game has a competitive edge over other moreThis is the best online multiplayer FPS I've ever played and personally am not bothered by the lack of a campaign. The Online maps are EXTREMELY well designed, the experience when you first play feels surreal with the giant titans roaming the maps. I love just about everything about this game, and with the addition of a ranking system, I feel the game has a competitive edge over other more casual FPS titles. Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2017
    8
    The game is pretty fun to play with friends online. Not quite the best multiplayer experience out there but still worth a look, especially with how cheap you can now get the complete game for.
  14. Feb 20, 2017
    9
    One of my favourite game. It would be better with more weapon but it's still very funny. Wall run is awesome as the fights between titans but I think the game has been over hyped.
  15. Oct 29, 2016
    5
    In a word: Meh

    Played a grand total of maybe 5 hours over the span of a week and really just wasn't feeling it.

    Not terrible, but nothing to write home about either.
  16. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    Better on PC, but this game was the best new IP this generation. it is a shame how respawn ruined this franchise with it's awful sequel spinoff. Do not buy Titanfall 2. Instead support this game and show the AAA industry that we won't take their crap anymore.
  17. Sep 8, 2016
    8
    This is a great game that is unique in its own way. The wall running and double jumping makes travel so much easier and brings out the acrobatic skills in a player. This game brings out different ways to wipe out the enemy whether it's shooting, smashing, or vaporizing the enemy. The multi-player is great, but the fact that there is no story mode is a bummer. The variety of maps bring outThis is a great game that is unique in its own way. The wall running and double jumping makes travel so much easier and brings out the acrobatic skills in a player. This game brings out different ways to wipe out the enemy whether it's shooting, smashing, or vaporizing the enemy. The multi-player is great, but the fact that there is no story mode is a bummer. The variety of maps bring out the best of players and tests their skills pushing their talents to the limit. There could be more options for weapons for both pilots and titans but the fast-paced action is something that doesn't get old. Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2016
    9
    I have never played a shooting game like this one. I'm disappointed because it doesn't get the recognition it deserves, if you aren't a COD fanboy then you will enjoy this game, I enjoy a variety of shooters and this one really reminds me of Halo but with its own twist of Titans. I really hope this game will rise to the likes of COD or Halo, I noticed the game was always priced cheap in myI have never played a shooting game like this one. I'm disappointed because it doesn't get the recognition it deserves, if you aren't a COD fanboy then you will enjoy this game, I enjoy a variety of shooters and this one really reminds me of Halo but with its own twist of Titans. I really hope this game will rise to the likes of COD or Halo, I noticed the game was always priced cheap in my area, and when I finally bought it for 5 dollars (yes 5 dollars and sealed) I realized that my expectations were so low because of its price. If you enjoy Halo you will definitely enjoy this, or well at least I do. I will definitely purchase the second game when it comes out in a few months and I'm hoping that in the future there will be visual character customization like in Halo Reach. My only complaint is the HUD is either LARGE or small, no in between, other than though you should really consider this game and don't be fooled by the company or anything at all. Just give it some thought when you play and compare it to the likeness of other shooters. Expand
  19. Aug 16, 2016
    5
    Titanfall is a multiplayer first-person shooter video game developed by Respawn Entertainment and published by Electronic Arts.

    + Fun Multiplayer
    - Campaign
    - Few Modes
  20. May 20, 2016
    9
    I found this game at GameStop for under $10, and Titanfall is worth the price. While the game takes place in a futuristic setting, it is not ruined by gimmicks and unfair advantages (unlike Black Ops 3.) As a shooter, it is fun and satisfying, but the mech battles are the best part of the game. You can pilot your titan, make your titan follow and defend you, or ride on other people'sI found this game at GameStop for under $10, and Titanfall is worth the price. While the game takes place in a futuristic setting, it is not ruined by gimmicks and unfair advantages (unlike Black Ops 3.) As a shooter, it is fun and satisfying, but the mech battles are the best part of the game. You can pilot your titan, make your titan follow and defend you, or ride on other people's titans. There are plenty of modes to choose from, but my favorites are Attrition (team deathmatch) and capture the flag. The game has two problems though. The first is that in every match, along with the human players there are AI players, which are very easy to kill and are kind of annoying. I would prefer an entirely human lobby. Second, there is no free for all mode. That is a disappointment, but for $8, Titanfall is absolutely worth it. Expand
  21. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    Varied weapons, different style of movement, fun modes, customized Titans, and sadly no offline mode. It's a great multiplayer game, with tons of interesting ideas to bring to the table, but it severely lacks in the offline department
  22. Apr 15, 2016
    5
    Titanfall is a multiplayer first-person shooter video game developed by Respawn Entertainment and published by Electronic Arts.

    + Fun Multiplayer
    - Campaign
    - Few Modes
  23. Apr 12, 2016
    7
    You may call this cod with titan robots in it, but it is a totally different game. Its got great new gameplay with you running on walls, pretty cool. The multiplayer has new modes that cod doesn't, plus when you take control of a titan, it feels massively great.
  24. Apr 12, 2016
    7
    Buen juego, pero le falta mucha profundidad, primero, por no contar con un modo historia decente. Y segundo por lo limitado de la oferta si no nos suscribimos al pase de temporada. Eso sí... Titanfall 2 lo puede petar.
  25. Apr 12, 2016
    6
    Mi opinion personal, los juegos de este tipo deberian traer su campaña, ya que si no eres del tipo multiplayer te aburres en un dos por tres. Tiene buenas mecanicas de combate pero el juego al final queda bien corto.
  26. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    Just awesome!.........................................................................................................................................
  27. Feb 29, 2016
    9
    As an off shoot from COD, thos is a far, far better game than it. The wall runs take skill, and reward you with good map positioning, the maps are large enough hat surprising someone is always an option. The titans dont add much, but, a little bit of newb slaying is hardly ever a bad thing. Really, shows all the recent COD installments to be the joke that they are, this is a far better game
  28. Feb 22, 2016
    10
    After the disappointing Battlefield 4 and Call of Duty: Ghosts, the Xbox One finally has a top shooter, which listens to the name of Titanfall. Respawn hit it out of the park with this fantastic multiplayer experience. It looks and plays great, its levels are varied and challenging, and the use of the titans is hugely entertaining. If you own an Xbox One or high end PC, you should own this game.
  29. Feb 21, 2016
    6
    Although this game (much like other multiplayer focused games) is lacking in content,the game play is what saves this game and it's easily my favorite FPS of 2014 but that's not saying much but I am very excited for the sequel coming out 2017. Check it out if you have some spare cash.
  30. Jan 28, 2016
    5
    Titanfall was an alright game. Just alright. It was a multiplayer game (with free DLC mind you) that didn't try to be anything it wasn't. Giant mechs fighting. It was a blast to play with friends, online alone gets pretty boring. I wasn't hyped so much for this game so I felt none of the initial disappointment, but I definitely see what people are talking about. It's a multiplayer game,Titanfall was an alright game. Just alright. It was a multiplayer game (with free DLC mind you) that didn't try to be anything it wasn't. Giant mechs fighting. It was a blast to play with friends, online alone gets pretty boring. I wasn't hyped so much for this game so I felt none of the initial disappointment, but I definitely see what people are talking about. It's a multiplayer game, with a confusing campaign layout, generic multiplayer and guns, and just a lingering feeling that something was missing the whole time. Expand
  31. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    I picked this game up on the Xbox One Store when it was on sale for $5, and oh my god, I was completely blown away. Titanfall mixes infantry and mech-armor combat so well, it is incredible. Parkour is a great addition and the campaign is great, too, it's an interesting idea for a campaign. Reminds me of Battlefront 2's campaign. This game is what every FPS should be: easy to learn, hard toI picked this game up on the Xbox One Store when it was on sale for $5, and oh my god, I was completely blown away. Titanfall mixes infantry and mech-armor combat so well, it is incredible. Parkour is a great addition and the campaign is great, too, it's an interesting idea for a campaign. Reminds me of Battlefront 2's campaign. This game is what every FPS should be: easy to learn, hard to master. I am looking forward to Titanfall 2, as the Titanfall IP is a great one. I hope every future FPS follows Titanfall's idea of being an easy to get into, but hard to master first-person shooter, and instead of not adding a campaign, at least add a campaign like Titanfall's. Expand
  32. Dec 24, 2015
    9
    Titanfall is/was great. I really enjoyed it and put countless hours into the game, even before the expansion content came out. In fact, I really wish I hadn't stopped playing it when I did, and I often think about sticking it back in to play some more but there are just too many new games stacked on top of it at this point. Regardless, 9 out of 10 is an easy assessment to make (and fromTitanfall is/was great. I really enjoyed it and put countless hours into the game, even before the expansion content came out. In fact, I really wish I hadn't stopped playing it when I did, and I often think about sticking it back in to play some more but there are just too many new games stacked on top of it at this point. Regardless, 9 out of 10 is an easy assessment to make (and from what I've heard, since I stopped playing they added a lot of content that probably would bump it up to a 10 if I played it). I'm looking forward to a Titanfall 2. Expand
  33. Dec 10, 2015
    9
    This is an updated review written well and truly after the game release, for starters I want to say that this is the most well balanced and enjoyable online multiplayer shooter I have ever played, there were a number of ways and tactics to employ throughout this game and one of the best aspects was that it obliterated camping, this is a game where to be any good you need to be able toThis is an updated review written well and truly after the game release, for starters I want to say that this is the most well balanced and enjoyable online multiplayer shooter I have ever played, there were a number of ways and tactics to employ throughout this game and one of the best aspects was that it obliterated camping, this is a game where to be any good you need to be able to play. Despite my praise the problem here is that it is only multiplayer only and with the player base having moved on to new things there is only one game mode still accessible and the people who still player generally fall into two categories new and testing it out or veterans who will leave you endlessly frustrated. The game is so cheap now that it may be worthwhile picking up and giving a run but the level of enjoyment is no longer there with the limitations of a shifting multiplayer market. Expand
  34. Dec 9, 2015
    10
    10 out of 10. Why? Because Titanfall feels exactly like everything Activition wanted to do with their games and never did because they were stuck on too much realism worries and arcade fire fights on endless mp battles... Titanfall is like no other fps where you jump, and use your tons of perks to customize your game and is so light as it is heavy to play while your running, destroying,10 out of 10. Why? Because Titanfall feels exactly like everything Activition wanted to do with their games and never did because they were stuck on too much realism worries and arcade fire fights on endless mp battles... Titanfall is like no other fps where you jump, and use your tons of perks to customize your game and is so light as it is heavy to play while your running, destroying, flying around through wall jumps and of course, the robbots! Its is for sure the best fps for this generation so far considering its only multiplayer. Expand
  35. Nov 24, 2015
    9
    This Game is fun in all senses, there is a lot of options for weapons, parkour and Titans, and no game ever as made me so happy to hear the words "Pilot, prepare for Titanfall"
  36. Nov 18, 2015
    9
    This game is amazing. It incorporates great mechanics that have not been used in many games. It really has its own feel apart from any other shooter. The lack of some content such as guns is the only downfall to this game. There are a ton of different maps plus the three maps packs that were released add nine more to the already expansive locations. This is one of the few games I haveThis game is amazing. It incorporates great mechanics that have not been used in many games. It really has its own feel apart from any other shooter. The lack of some content such as guns is the only downfall to this game. There are a ton of different maps plus the three maps packs that were released add nine more to the already expansive locations. This is one of the few games I have played constantly and have not gotten bored. It is an amazing game and it's sequel will be just as good if not better. Expand
  37. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    I have gotten far more than my moneys worth. I love the various ways to kill people, bots and titans. No mater what the game mode, the dynamic battle always requires strategy. The free dlc is the icing on the cake.
  38. Aug 6, 2015
    7
    Your first few steps in Titanfall are going to be amazing. The sheer amount of activity in the background, the context driven narrative, the theater of it all combines with the smooth player movement to give it a really good first look. But after several games, it wears a bit thin. It's still a lot of fun, still very novel and innovative. But for a game that hitched its wagon toYour first few steps in Titanfall are going to be amazing. The sheer amount of activity in the background, the context driven narrative, the theater of it all combines with the smooth player movement to give it a really good first look. But after several games, it wears a bit thin. It's still a lot of fun, still very novel and innovative. But for a game that hitched its wagon to multiplayer and refused to give us single-player, they make a lot of simple mistakes.

    It borrows from the Battlefield format with the hardpoints and vehicular combat, but when each map only has 3 hardpoints in a triangular or linear alignment, your tactical/teamwork approaches are very limited. And it's very easy for a highly skilled player to easily fend off attackers all day. Similar to battlefield, the AI grunts are unbelievably slow and stupid. The map is simply crawling with grunts/specters/militia and they never pose a threat to pilots, I can't remember the last time one of them killed me. And it's really a lost opportunity. I would have much preferred a combat system where AI troops move around the map in force and players are forced to use ambushes, long range strikes, or other clever tactics to take out the AI. Then the PvP moments could be much more visceral traditional multiplayer. But alas, players simply mow down the AI bots by the dozen and in the attrition matchups I can spend the entire match just killing bots and ignoring players with the players only offer 4 points and the bots offer 1, and a bot is more than four times easier to kill than a player. Everything from the bots' oohing and ahhing about you as a pilot, to their pitiful combat skills, to their warnings about a pilot in the area just seem like it's there to boost your ego without adding to the gameplay. The inability to issue commands or interact with the bots at all is also a big let down, and taking the time to hack/convert an enemy bot takes five times as long as it would take to just kill it. It would be great to have bot squads or general orders to order. If you have two hardpoints, maybe the bots shouldn't be rushing in to die at the third hardpoint.

    As fun as it is to double jump and wall-run around the map, I don't know that it makes for good gameplay. Sniping is almost impossible and is never worth the time. You'll waste 3 minutes getting to your sniper nest, waiting for someone to show up, and then you'll probably miss, meanwhile each of the guys on the ground have gotten 10 more bot kills on the scoreboard.

    Attrition mode is boring mode, and as soon as attrition mode comes on the voice chatter goes silent. There's no strategy in a mass deathmatch. Unfortunately that's how a lot of the game modes feel. Last titan standing, marked for death, etc. all lack any viable team strategy. It's really just best to gang up in a group and unleash a lot of firepower on the target. Players can hack turrets for their side, but these provide only a slight advantage and are far too few to really swing any mission. There's ample room to add more interesting interactive elements like capturing a mortar battery, hacking a system that interferes with the enemy bots, disabling enemy comms, etc.

    Having only three titan classes in a game called "Titanfall" is a bit disappointing. Sure they have customizable weapons and secondary abilities, but they just aren't different enough to make a big difference in the game. I would loved to have seen more variety, including artillery titans, smaller exoskeletons that augment the infantry combat, or even flying titans that would change the dimensions of the battlefield.

    Finally, the maps just don't feel that different. The views are amazing and I love the campaign voiceovers. But in the end the maps play second-fiddle to whatever the objective is. And unlike Battlefield 1942 where one might have to assault a beach leading to a village next to an airfield, the maps just look shiny and devoid of real content. Atmospheric conditions are few and far between, with just a camera shake momentarily when a cannon fires somewhere. And the campaign characters are always referencing infiltration teams or boarding crews, but we as the player are always just stuck on the battlefield when such special ops moments would really offer a solid change of pace.

    Titanfall is a fun game, and it looks amazing. I like having an integrated campaign, but it's too short and doesn't have the replayability of Enemy Territory or Battlefield. It also defaults too readily to the heroic good guys and the evil bad guys. The Aussie IMC commander slaughters civilians while the militia commander sacrifices himself for the good of the cause. I would have liked to see them muddy the waters a bit more on that one. All in all, worth the money, but less than it might have been.
    Expand
  39. Aug 2, 2015
    0
    The game is jumpy. so much when watching the other player who kill you, you see they never hit you. That’s if you even hear rounds impacting around you. Fun level. negative 10.
  40. Jul 8, 2015
    7
    Most people, thought this game would have a campaign but they thought wrong. And thats probably why they rated this game really low. But lets face it, its an online game (kinda like Destiny, it will have no campaign or it will have a **** campaign).

    Respawn recently made a smart move and made the game's DLC free and the Season Pass for free. With this move, trying to improve sales and
    Most people, thought this game would have a campaign but they thought wrong. And thats probably why they rated this game really low. But lets face it, its an online game (kinda like Destiny, it will have no campaign or it will have a **** campaign).

    Respawn recently made a smart move and made the game's DLC free and the Season Pass for free. With this move, trying to improve sales and continue to have players play the game and probably it did. People thought that this game was going to compete with Call of Duty but all the little kids. They love Call of Duty and wont change their habits. I liked this game for about 4 days, after that game felt boring and felt like another shooter. The Titans where a cool addition to the game and added another challenging aspect to the game. But after having Titans, wall jumps, wall rides, and double jumps in this game. I feel like every game even Call of Duty now are trying to implement these features/things to there games now and now they are becoming Titanfall clones.
    Expand
  41. Jun 22, 2015
    8
    Unfortunately, this has been getting a bad wrap. On the contrary however, the gameplay and classes are much to be desired in such a game. from vaporizing pilots with your titan's fist to hacking into enemy units, Titanfall has changed the playing field for many FPS games coming out in 2015.
  42. Jun 9, 2015
    10
    This game is one of the freshest and BEST multiplayer FPS experiences I EVER had.

    It took me back to playing Halo the first time and my first foray into Modern Warfare 2.

    It's fast, FUN, and involves BIG ASS ROBOTS!! How can you go wrong. (No single player hurts tho)
  43. May 13, 2015
    7
    small maps gimicky jumping and wall running game modes are poor player count is tiny overall a very average game ..............................................
  44. May 11, 2015
    10
    Awesome it's awesome, you get all dlcs for free now and it's just perfect, sure you'll jump off and on due to its repetiveness but it's still a awesome game
  45. May 4, 2015
    8
    Titanfall is a great shooter.

    PROS
    -Outstanding graphics
    -Fun combat
    -Great multiplayer

    CONS
    -Not enough weapons
    -Horrible story .
  46. Apr 17, 2015
    9
    This game is hands down the best FPS I've ever played. It puts every COD to open shame. From wall running, double jumping, to Titan fights and various load outs this game will leave you very satisfied.

    The ONLY reason it does not get a 10 is because it has a very poorly executed campaign mode (various multiplayer modes with a boring dialogue) and only has one (extremely fun) co-op mode.
    This game is hands down the best FPS I've ever played. It puts every COD to open shame. From wall running, double jumping, to Titan fights and various load outs this game will leave you very satisfied.

    The ONLY reason it does not get a 10 is because it has a very poorly executed campaign mode (various multiplayer modes with a boring dialogue) and only has one (extremely fun) co-op mode. If it had more co-op modes or an actual single/co-op player campaign it would easily be a 10.
    Expand
  47. Apr 9, 2015
    6
    Titanfall comes close to being a great game. The pliability is remarkably fluid and the graphics are quiet decent. It lacks a destructible environment and while there is potential in how the game fells. The gap in content is undeniable. Without a solid single player mode the the game is left with to the weak, uninteresting melees within the mostly unoccupied maps/modes. ThereTitanfall comes close to being a great game. The pliability is remarkably fluid and the graphics are quiet decent. It lacks a destructible environment and while there is potential in how the game fells. The gap in content is undeniable. Without a solid single player mode the the game is left with to the weak, uninteresting melees within the mostly unoccupied maps/modes. There simply is not enough content here to keep any gamer occupied for very long. Titanfall is a good idea that just did not get well developed. Expand
  48. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    This game is the most fun I have had in a first person shooter EVER!!!! It is fast paced, easy to learn, but hard to master. The population has recently had a resurgence with some sales and free dlc so now you have no reason to not check it out
  49. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    This is has been my favourite game on xbox one. Most fun and most balanced shooter ever. The parkour is amazing and steals the show from the titans. Can't wait for the next one. If respawn ups the graphics and gives us more to unlock this game will be epic.
  50. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    The game is excellent, the criticism this game has been given is just pitiful. This is the best shooter I have played since the Call of duty 4 and bad company 2 days, it feels fresh and despite what some idiotic people are saying it is innovative. The parkour and the map design fit each other so well that it is a joy to manoeuvre around each map you play. The shooting mechanics are fastThe game is excellent, the criticism this game has been given is just pitiful. This is the best shooter I have played since the Call of duty 4 and bad company 2 days, it feels fresh and despite what some idiotic people are saying it is innovative. The parkour and the map design fit each other so well that it is a joy to manoeuvre around each map you play. The shooting mechanics are fast and responsive just what you want from a fast paced shooter. "The Titans" as their called are an innovative and entertaining way to keep the genre fresh and break up some of the normal shooting elements, Titan battles are very strategic it isn't just about firing every little bit of ammo you have because there are various defence mechanisms that each Titan has to avoid as much damage as possible. I am ok with the amount of modes available because I only play about 4 that are available anyway because some modes I feel have just been thrown in their for added value and are not suited to the overall gameplay. My gripes with the game are the lack of maps and customisation available for each pilot, they have released more maps in the form of dlc which is disappointing but developers have been doing this for years and it shouldn't be frowned upon just because EA are doing it. I think there is enough content here to satisfy you, it has kept me busy for a few months and that is more than enough for me. I always find myself going back to it because I honesly feel like no other shooter has had anything as innovative and interesting like titanfall has for a long time. Expand
  51. Apr 1, 2015
    9
    Really fun shooter and all DLC maps now free. I bought this on release and am still coming back to it. This is one of the few games I will not trade in. One of my favourites on X1 for sure.
  52. Mar 26, 2015
    8
    I was sceptical of this game - especially given the hype surrounding it. After seeing some reviews it made it seem as if this game was a rush-job cashing in on the "CoD developer" hype. Whilst I can agree with the criticisms levelled at it, I cannot ignore the sublime gameplay Titanfall offers. Yes, it is multiplayer only (and no, you can't have bots). Yes, the campaign is completelyI was sceptical of this game - especially given the hype surrounding it. After seeing some reviews it made it seem as if this game was a rush-job cashing in on the "CoD developer" hype. Whilst I can agree with the criticisms levelled at it, I cannot ignore the sublime gameplay Titanfall offers. Yes, it is multiplayer only (and no, you can't have bots). Yes, the campaign is completely pointless. By that I mean there is no explanation of the story that's interesting or deep enough to care, and since it's a multiplayer-only game, you will join campaign levels in an arbitrary order and have no clue as to which side is which in terms of the story. Really, it's pretending to have a campaign but it doesn't. But then again, why would anyone buy a multiplayer-only shooter for the "campaign"? The gameplay is not different to the rest of the game, so nothing added other than pointless dialogue.

    Onto the gameplay then. What strikes me about it at first is the pacing. Inheriting from Call of Duty's legendary controls for which all console shooters aspire to be (in terms of fluency, intuitiveness and smoothness and ease of use), the game feels incredibly agile. The parkour mechanics are, without joke, the best I've ever come across. Wallrunning can go on for very long and speeds up movement, you can chain wallruns infinitely, you can double-jump, and wallrunning resets your double jump. So really it's (one of) the fastest moving FPS around. It's not just CoD with wallrunning - it feels even better than that. The titans also feel fairly agile and control intuitively. At first I disliked the idea of titans but they really make the game what it is. They're not overpowered, they're not easy to take out and you almost have to purposely stand in front of them to be killed by them as a pilot. AI controlled "auto-titans" can be useful for defending but obviously not as good as being piloted. The titans don't feel like tanks on legs - that's for sure. They have a unique presence but they don't feel overpowered or out of place.

    Given that the season pass is now free, I found that the quantity and quality of maps is amazing. The maps are really well-designed and each one feels different. They are well-suited to objective play and accommodate Titans and the parkour mechanics. Speaking of which, there is a decent selection of game modes - TDM, Domination, Last Titan Standing, CTF, Marked for Death and some other variants on these. This is a game where every game mode is exciting and fun to play. The combination of map design, Titans, controls and pacing make these really intense and action-packed.

    Then there is create-a-class. This is where you can tell it was made by same developers as Call of Duty 4. There aren't a bajillion weapons with hundreds of attachments or skins. No, a small selection of weapons (which are actually different), only a few attachments (which are unlocked by doing challenges), 5 custom slots and 2 custom slots for each game mode. You can customise both Titans and Pilots, but it's not a mess like modern CoD - you pick the ordnance (grenade), tactical ability (e.g. cloak or temporary speed boost), perk 1, perk 2, primary weapon, secondary weapon. There are only 3 secondary weapons - all of which are pistol for different ranges. That's it - no attachments, no SMGs as secondary or anything like that. Simple, easy, balanced. No weapon feels useless, underpowered or overpowered. The smart pistol received a lot of complaints but they are misguided - it is by far the least effective weapon in the game unless you are very stealthy. It has short range and takes a relatively long time to lock on. Overall there is good variety in create-a-class but not overly cluttered. The anti-titan weapons and the Titan create-a-class are particularly commendable for their variety.

    One of the things that makes Titanfall so action-packed is the minions. These are AI-controlled solider which are weak and dumb but there are quite a lot of them for both teams and they spawn infinitely. The make the maps feel more alive like a battlefield and provide easy kills and actually help you do objectives. They typically battle amongst themselves but their presence adds to the action. Even if you don't see many human players you will see plenty of minions so no shortage of action. This leads to another thing about Titanfall - it is never frustrating. No matter how bad you do, you never feel angry.

    To conclude, Titanfall is absolutely an epic shooter. Questions will inevitably arise as to whether a triple-A title can get by on multiplayer alone, but to be honest, I don't think it's a problem. Despite Call of Duty 4's incredible single player, it received little attention from players - most of whom probably never even touched the campaign! Titanfall is overall a very original shooter. It is fair, fun and by far the best-looking Source engine game to date. I have very little to complain about on this title.
    Expand
  53. Mar 25, 2015
    5
    I wanted to like this game, and I did....for 5 days but then after that it went downhill.Don't purchase this until the price has lowered to atleast 20$
  54. Mar 25, 2015
    9
    I first bought this on PC and thought it looked great, but I was consumed with BF4 on the PC at the time. I didn't buy this on the Xbox One until a year after it came out. The deluxe edition - comes with all of the DLC - went on sale on Games with Gold for just over $13! I picked it up because I wanted to compare it to the PC edition..

    There are plenty of maps and quite a few game
    I first bought this on PC and thought it looked great, but I was consumed with BF4 on the PC at the time. I didn't buy this on the Xbox One until a year after it came out. The deluxe edition - comes with all of the DLC - went on sale on Games with Gold for just over $13! I picked it up because I wanted to compare it to the PC edition..

    There are plenty of maps and quite a few game modes are available. I primarily play a mode called variety pack by which the game modes rotate through all of the maps. For the most part, the maps are not made for campers so you have to watch in many directions no matter where you are on the map (it's best to just keep moving; stick and move).

    Though the frame rate and resolution are lower than on the PC, the graphical details on the Xbox One edition are comparable to a high-end PC setup. The surround sound on my surround sound setup is pretty amazing.

    The game is just plain fun. Even noobs can contribute to their team's cause by going after the AI enemies. There is an auto-aiming smart pistol many will complain about, but I think it is a good equalizer for new players as it allows fast lock-ons to AI, but slow lock-ons to other players. When going head to head with another player of any skill, the smart pistol will more than not lose to a player using a manual-aim weapon as the lock-on is that slow with other players when using the smart pistol (unless the other player is completely unaware of the the one with the smart pistol).

    I've found the matchmaking in this game to be quite good by which if one team dominates in a particular round, the next round will see a good shuffling of the players.

    From a first-person shooter standpoint, I've found nothing better on any console and I've owned them all at some point. The mechanics are great. The variety of ways to eliminate an enemy are comparable to most shooters. Hopping into a titan and wreaking havoc over the map is pretty cool. The visual and sound effects are great.

    While the PC version is in fact visually better, it's much harder to find matches online due to lack of interest on that platform. It's also nice to kick back in a recliner as opposed to a computer chair knowing you'll find any type of match virtually any time of day on the Xbox One. This is hands down the best first-person shooter game I've played on a next-gen console.
    Expand
  55. Mar 20, 2015
    8
    Game is a fun, blast to play. Fanboys will make people go and rate it 10 or 0 depending on who their corporate lover is. The game has such a great speed to it and balance as well. I personally am better at fighting titans as a runner then in my own Titan. And that's all good. Find what works for you and assist your team. It is a fun game to play.
  56. Mar 18, 2015
    7
    Amazingly fast. Fun and clever. Full of interesting ideas that bring live to genre that was starting to feel like all the same. Graphically is awesome in 360, but not so impressive for a Xbox One game. Not really well optimized if you think in the resolution, but the main problem of this games is that it felt short. There are lots of games types as a multiplayer, but... still... I reallyAmazingly fast. Fun and clever. Full of interesting ideas that bring live to genre that was starting to feel like all the same. Graphically is awesome in 360, but not so impressive for a Xbox One game. Not really well optimized if you think in the resolution, but the main problem of this games is that it felt short. There are lots of games types as a multiplayer, but... still... I really like and I will go back time after time, but is basically just a quick game for a short amount of time. Expand
  57. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    This game is over a year old now, but it is still enjoyable.

    What Titanfall has to offer IS 10 OUT OF 10 MATERIAL, but there ISN'T ENOUGH MATERIAL TO GET 10 OUT OF 10. Everything in the game can be unlocked within a couple of days to a couple of weeks. That is where everyone was hating on this game. There are under ten guns, and only 3 types of titans, IF THIS GAME HAD TRIPLE THAT IT
    This game is over a year old now, but it is still enjoyable.

    What Titanfall has to offer IS 10 OUT OF 10 MATERIAL, but there ISN'T ENOUGH MATERIAL TO GET 10 OUT OF 10.

    Everything in the game can be unlocked within a couple of days to a couple of weeks. That is where everyone was hating on this game. There are under ten guns, and only 3 types of titans, IF THIS GAME HAD TRIPLE THAT IT WOULD BE ONE OF THE BEST FIRST PERSON SHOOTERS EVER CREATED (in my opinion).

    Personal opinion: short review for a short game, the campaign was just multiplayer with a bit happening in the background, and general content, well... there isn't much. BUT WHAT THIS GAME HAS IS SO ENJOYABLE AND FUN, THERE JUST NEEDS TO BE MORE OF IT.

    9 out of 10
    Expand
  58. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    While there is not much to do in terms campaign and game types. Titanfall makes up for it with incredibly fun gameplay. It feels like a much refined Call of Duty.
  59. Feb 27, 2015
    9
    I really like this game. The controls are absolutely spot on and the game play is fast paced and balanced. There is alot of negative knocks on this game but the only thing that brought it down for me was lack of maps and a single player campaign.

    I love Respawn and Call of Duty 4 was my favorite Shooter both online and Campaign. So I had high hopes when they left and start Respawn.
    I really like this game. The controls are absolutely spot on and the game play is fast paced and balanced. There is alot of negative knocks on this game but the only thing that brought it down for me was lack of maps and a single player campaign.

    I love Respawn and Call of Duty 4 was my favorite Shooter both online and Campaign. So I had high hopes when they left and start Respawn.

    This would be a 10 if it had more maps and a single player story mode.
    Expand
  60. Feb 21, 2015
    9
    This game has excellent balance,action,parkour and map design.It does what you need in a game,have insane action.I usually suck at FPS games except Halo:Reach but this is accessible for anyone.
  61. Feb 16, 2015
    6
    This game is Online Versus Only.
    Not worth buying until price reach 29.99 USD.
    Only good part is New Gameplay unlike Most Shooters nowdays.
    Season Pass DLCs are worth since Filesize is 600MB-Upwards not Pay to unlock key.
  62. Feb 12, 2015
    6
    I thought Titanfall was a well crafted game, but it still had it's flaws. The pilot gameplay was great, I had a great time traversing the maps. The titan combat on the other hand got old quick. And I got a bit upset to see a lack of story mode, the game needed one.
  63. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    Titanfall is a stunning game that revolutionizes the first person shooter. It's so addictive and fun to play, and is a must own for all Xbox One owners.
  64. Feb 2, 2015
    10
    This is a great game and I don't get why people hate it, for example it's something new and It's a lot of fun. Some people say that they couldn't find any servers, maybe they have horrible internet or maybe the devs are trying to fix other things.
  65. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    Great fun, I don't quite understand the negativity around it. I have never really played FPS games online before but Titanfall has made me a convert. I paid only £10 with the season pass, it's a no brainer!
  66. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    This game is solid, not the best but solid. Just because its not a 10 doesn't mean its not worth your time. At launch I would appose buying this game due their not being much to do. There is only multiplayer, now it claims to have a story but its not. The game is so average it bothers me. It tries to hard to connect with the call of duty audience. I mean it is different in its own way butThis game is solid, not the best but solid. Just because its not a 10 doesn't mean its not worth your time. At launch I would appose buying this game due their not being much to do. There is only multiplayer, now it claims to have a story but its not. The game is so average it bothers me. It tries to hard to connect with the call of duty audience. I mean it is different in its own way but it still has that run and gun feel. Personally I can bare that but not for 60 dollars. I picked up the game about a month ago. It was brand new and was around 30 dollars. Which i feel is a fair price. Ok enough about how it feels lets jump into the gameplay. It plays flawlessly, runs at 60 fps barely any glitches if none at all and the servers are fast and efficient. So what they set out to do they did great. The titan fighting feels really cool and something different. The guns feel the same I pretty much used one gun through out the 10 hours I played and it wasnt the smart pistol. But like I only put in 10 hours which for a shooter is pretty normal now a days and I love FPS's I just think they get boring. But I digress, the game is solid if you have an xbox one id highly recommend it. Expand
  67. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    Worth it's weight in gold, just by virtue of a.) it's superior performance and graphics, b.) tight, balanced competitive gameplay, c.) plenty of unlockable weapons and loadouts, d.) exemplary set of maps to play on, e.) parkour gunplay and mechanized warfare, and f.) seat of your pants gameplay with a pace that keeps your adrenaline flowing.

    No other FPS on the market touches it. The
    Worth it's weight in gold, just by virtue of a.) it's superior performance and graphics, b.) tight, balanced competitive gameplay, c.) plenty of unlockable weapons and loadouts, d.) exemplary set of maps to play on, e.) parkour gunplay and mechanized warfare, and f.) seat of your pants gameplay with a pace that keeps your adrenaline flowing.

    No other FPS on the market touches it. The ones who are scoring it lower than an 8 are trying to sell an agenda.
    Expand
  68. Jan 20, 2015
    7
    The multiplayer is pretty fun. Running on walls and boost jumping feels really smooth and fast. The titans are great too. However there are not that many weapons and there should be more titan customization. Also in last titan standing, which is a great idea, it was a questionable idea to allow pilots to leave their titans, even when destroyed, and just go jump on top of another titan. YouThe multiplayer is pretty fun. Running on walls and boost jumping feels really smooth and fast. The titans are great too. However there are not that many weapons and there should be more titan customization. Also in last titan standing, which is a great idea, it was a questionable idea to allow pilots to leave their titans, even when destroyed, and just go jump on top of another titan. You should have to stay in the titan until the end. So the Multiplayers fun but there is no campaign, so there really isn't much extra and can get boring quickly. Still a solid game though. Expand
  69. Jan 14, 2015
    7
    Titanfall is a game I wanted to love. And I did. Titanfall stands out among increasingly bland shooters, and even competes with other genres. The game is extremely smooth and plays very well on the Xbox one. A campaign mode could have been nice, and would have added to the game's variety. The multiplayer-only shooter is fun but gets boring, as team based multiplayer is the only thing toTitanfall is a game I wanted to love. And I did. Titanfall stands out among increasingly bland shooters, and even competes with other genres. The game is extremely smooth and plays very well on the Xbox one. A campaign mode could have been nice, and would have added to the game's variety. The multiplayer-only shooter is fun but gets boring, as team based multiplayer is the only thing to do. That is, until co-op was added in a defense mode. This works well and a fresh change of pace. Overall, Titanfall is exciting while it lasts but doesn't hold up in the long run. Expand
  70. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    It's an 8.7, just about, and because it's an online game.
    Titanfall is really fun, it gives you a lot to play with, many different ways to win/triumph and losing is dominated by the feeling of enjoyment borne from running and jumping.
    It steals good COD ideas such as ranking/improvements for playing, has something called burn cards which improve your character for one 'life', focuses
    It's an 8.7, just about, and because it's an online game.
    Titanfall is really fun, it gives you a lot to play with, many different ways to win/triumph and losing is dominated by the feeling of enjoyment borne from running and jumping.

    It steals good COD ideas such as ranking/improvements for playing, has something called burn cards which improve your character for one 'life', focuses on playing for progression, for example there's a black market for burn cards, it lets you play with friends for fun and allows every type of player to improve without always being at the mercy of the better gamer.
    It's an FPS with a rocket up its behind, no bad thing. It always delivers a frantic, fast paced experience if you want it, or you can sit back and play out the field, picking off campers as they find high spots.
    It also has computer AI in game which at first feels wrong but as you play it you realise their addition cements over the cracks of not enough players, larger maps, frantic gameplay and the better player.
    You even get a chance to play on for a minute or two after your team loses/wins, an interesting concept indeed,

    If you stick with it for a bit you will find enjoyment and come back for more, it can be picked up and played when you have a spare 10 minutes or you can play how you like and concentrate on that with ease.
    I can't fault it too much as an online game, it does exactly what it should but it's not for everyone because of its online need. It needs to be cheaper to be fully appreciated, it's not going to be worth more than £20, and that's generous, but if you grab it for under £15 you can be sure that it's going to please on some level.

    An FPS with a dash of parkour, a smidgen of boss beating and tactical variation; if you want to play a game and have a bit of a riot you're not going to be disappointed.
    Apparently buying maps can limit your chance of finding a game so keep that in mind, or research it further, but if you find a copy for less than £15 it's worth your time and effort, if people keep playing it it'll be a game worth visiting for a year or two to come.
    Expand
  71. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Finally a game that goes amazingly well and it's not a CoD. In fact I was a lil bit bored of playing CoD Always the same...

    First of all, the graphics of this game are not the ugly, they are functional. Textures are ugly in some parts and nice in others, so call it an even.

    Gameplay is outstanding, the coolest thing is that the map is huge, and instead of playing 6x6, bots are added to make you feel in a war. Much better than CoD ghost, where the maps are huge and also empty.

    It's funnier than any other shooter.

    Worth every penny.
    Expand
  72. Dec 26, 2014
    9
    I don't understand the hate this game is getting. If you're looking for a great multiplayer experience with fresh new ideas and great mechanics, this game is for you. Yes, it's lacking in content a bit and there really isn't much of a campaign, but since when are first person shooters about the campaign? The graphics and gameplay are fantastic and the chaotic nature of the game givesI don't understand the hate this game is getting. If you're looking for a great multiplayer experience with fresh new ideas and great mechanics, this game is for you. Yes, it's lacking in content a bit and there really isn't much of a campaign, but since when are first person shooters about the campaign? The graphics and gameplay are fantastic and the chaotic nature of the game gives players some very memorable moments. I'd say Titanfall is far better than the last few Call of Duty games Expand
  73. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    The diversity of play styles is refreshing and amazing. I like most what's included in this game with a few minor detractions: Burn cards (temporary boosts) are a nice touch, but more automatic management of them would be nice (like auto-sell the ones I don't find useful, and preferences to auto fill open slots based on the match type). The Campaign mode is stupid but thankfully brief.The diversity of play styles is refreshing and amazing. I like most what's included in this game with a few minor detractions: Burn cards (temporary boosts) are a nice touch, but more automatic management of them would be nice (like auto-sell the ones I don't find useful, and preferences to auto fill open slots based on the match type). The Campaign mode is stupid but thankfully brief. Firing from the back of friendly titians is nearly impossible on anything other than a Styder. Jumping onto an enemy titan from the 120 degrees while they're walking toward you nearly always results in your death for some reason. Titans can't jump . . . but they use jump jets to rocket across the ground at high speed... The bullets from the long bow (small sniper rifle) travel faster than the bullets from the Kraber-AP (high powered sniper rifle)... wut? Those are my major objections, and they are slight. Expand
  74. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    Innovative and extremely fun but lacks any real customization. I am going to overlook the fact that the campaign of this game really is just the same as any other multiplayer match but with a short cinematic in between being this game was advertised as 'online required'. This game brings a lot of great things to the table like the ability to play as on-ground pilots with parkour styleInnovative and extremely fun but lacks any real customization. I am going to overlook the fact that the campaign of this game really is just the same as any other multiplayer match but with a short cinematic in between being this game was advertised as 'online required'. This game brings a lot of great things to the table like the ability to play as on-ground pilots with parkour style movement or as giant controllable mechs, and there is no point that you are in either that you feel like either isn't a threat to bringing you down. The pilots have a fair amount of weapons to chose from, including ones specifically designed to bring down a titan from a distance. The titans do feel like they lack as far as available weapons. Both titans and on-ground pilots do have some cool abilities to make different styles of game play better. For what it is this game is nearly perfect in my mind, but it's the lack customization that brings it down a bit for me. The only way to alter the appearance of you pilot is really only based on what weapon class that pilot is holding, and the titans really don't really have any kind of visual customization at all. They give you a hint that emblems earned (for meeting certain milestones, just like the Call of Duty games) that you have selected will be seen by other players on your titan, but really it just shows up on your gamer card. In all; the game play is amazing and fun but the lack of customization does leave just that small bit more to be desired. Expand
  75. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    If this game had cost 20% less at start, it would have been a very good game. This way, it's 'just' good. The lack of single player mode is kinda new and something most people didn't respond to too well. Yes, it's a bit light on content, overall. The multiplayer campaign is over pretty quickly, leaving no impressions whatsoever regarding the story. There basically is none. Graphics areIf this game had cost 20% less at start, it would have been a very good game. This way, it's 'just' good. The lack of single player mode is kinda new and something most people didn't respond to too well. Yes, it's a bit light on content, overall. The multiplayer campaign is over pretty quickly, leaving no impressions whatsoever regarding the story. There basically is none. Graphics are slightly outdated (even on release), but that had to do with the not-so-fresh engine they used and it's not exactly ugly, either. Just some noticeable tearing here and there, but nothing too distracting. Apart from these things, Titanfall is quite a good game. I never liked shooters that much, but this game was and is a lot of fun. I think the controls are nearly perfect, shooting, running, jumping, jet-packing, all the movements feel very balanced and are just a ton of fun. If you liked Quake or any other twitch-shooter, you'll probably like this. If you're more, say, Halo-oriented as far as gameplay and speed goes, you might find Titanfall to be somewhat chaotic. I needed a while to get accustomed to the game's speed but now I feel other shooters to be much too slow and clunky. Mastering the controls is the greatest element of fun in Titanfall. Having a great run of shooting, jumping and wall-running while ordering your titan to drop and then dropping into it seamlessly just feels great. Camping is not an option in this game, which again shows off the good balancing. I still play this and am very much looking forward to the next iteration. This game is cheap on the used game market right now (also cheap on the digital download market), so just try it out. I hope the next one comes for all platforms, so no bad blood between the PC/PS4/XBone users will be found. Expand
  76. Dec 3, 2014
    8
    Its a fun game, with really fast and nice controls, and good sound and environment. Thumbs down: graphics are last gen. There is almost no campaign mode.
  77. Nov 29, 2014
    8
    The Titanfall I think is a very fast-paced and exciting multiplayer game. Many game modes, weapons and maps on the game. The graphics are very nice. Once or twice had to be a bit erratic. If you had a good campaign in it, you deserve smoothly, the 9 points. However, so only worth 8 points.
  78. Nov 29, 2014
    9
    The Titanfall I think is a very fast-paced and exciting multiplayer game. Many game modes, weapons and maps on the game. The graphics are very nice. Once or twice had to be a bit erratic. If you had a good campaign in it, you deserve smoothly, the 9 points. However, so only worth 7 points.
  79. Nov 24, 2014
    5
    Unfortunately, I would have to consider Titanfall to be one of my disappointments for 2014. Too much hype and not enough delivery. I played it for several hours, but it now collects dust on my living room shelf. Whilst the combat is good, fluid and strong, it's the only thing going for it. No story, no adventure, no reason to continue playing. I need more then a fast-paced multiplayerUnfortunately, I would have to consider Titanfall to be one of my disappointments for 2014. Too much hype and not enough delivery. I played it for several hours, but it now collects dust on my living room shelf. Whilst the combat is good, fluid and strong, it's the only thing going for it. No story, no adventure, no reason to continue playing. I need more then a fast-paced multiplayer arena to draw me back, and sadly this is all Titanfall can offer. Expand
  80. Nov 12, 2014
    6
    This game delivers some nice moments, gunning down other players and racing to get your titan in so you can start crushing your enemies beneath your iron boot. The wall free running mechanic blends well with the gunplay, though it can sometimes be rather awkward.

    Unfortunately, it has problems. There is no dedicated single player campaign and some tosser decided that when you die,
    This game delivers some nice moments, gunning down other players and racing to get your titan in so you can start crushing your enemies beneath your iron boot. The wall free running mechanic blends well with the gunplay, though it can sometimes be rather awkward.

    Unfortunately, it has problems.

    There is no dedicated single player campaign and some tosser decided that when you die, story related dialogue should stop. Thus, you may never even hear the entire story. Likewise, you can't choose to play one faction, so it's possible to do 50 campaign missions like I did and only experience one side of the story.
    The gameplay will hook you for a while, but like many other FPS games your interest will burn out after a few days. There is too little variation and the gameplay isn't good enough to keep you playing

    Overall, this game is slightly above average, but that's all. If a sequel can put a hammer to the right places, this could be a good game. It feels almost as if there could have been more but they were rushed. It's a shame.
    Expand
  81. Nov 11, 2014
    7
    I was a little disapointed with this to be honest, I would be more of a single player gamer but I knew this was solely multi. I did think that I could go through the campaign from the start and was annoyed that it is not the case. On the good side, it is fast paced action and the mechs do make you feel very powerful but at the end of the day this is just COD with mechs.
  82. Oct 29, 2014
    8
    Starting with good the gameplay is astounding. The games free running pilots and the Titans go insanely well together. To get the most out of this game, be creative with the free running. Don't just run somewhere on the ground, get the most out this game by wall running from building to building, climbing rooftops, just be creative with what the game gives you and if you aren't wow'd atStarting with good the gameplay is astounding. The games free running pilots and the Titans go insanely well together. To get the most out of this game, be creative with the free running. Don't just run somewhere on the ground, get the most out this game by wall running from building to building, climbing rooftops, just be creative with what the game gives you and if you aren't wow'd at first I don't know what to say. The game for me was a dopamine rush. It gets fast paced and exciting like no other game I have played. Now for the downfall. The gameplay is one of the best ive ever seen, however it drys out on you after a while. Every game can dry out on you after a while but Titanfall felt like it dried, not quick, but moderately. I think this is partly due to the lack of content in this game. It gives you only one game mode to play and that is online against other players. I mean wheres the single player campaign, the co-op, not too mention the multiplayer campaign is not captivating or worth paying attention to. They have introduced this revolutionary gameplay yet it lacks content and its hard to justify the price tag on this game. My final thoughts. Titanfall definitely has a revolutionary gameplay and gamers that are wiling to be creative with the gameplay will thrive in this game. However, its lacking content in a single player campaign, co-op, etc.

    They have released a survival mode update for Titanfall and it is decent. Going back to my thoughts earlier in this review, this survival mode should of been here since day one.
    Expand
  83. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    The best multiplayer game so far on next gen, better the destiny.
    Graphic is not that good but when you enter a Titan, nothing else matters.
    Really looking forward to the sequel
  84. Oct 16, 2014
    7
    Ok, so when the game first turned up in the post, it went straight into the console to install and when it was ready I knew what to expect from the Beta. I always start in campaign mode to get a better feel for the game and collect experience for when I am ready for multiplayer. This game felt different, but not in a game way. The campaign and multiplayer games were the same. At first IOk, so when the game first turned up in the post, it went straight into the console to install and when it was ready I knew what to expect from the Beta. I always start in campaign mode to get a better feel for the game and collect experience for when I am ready for multiplayer. This game felt different, but not in a game way. The campaign and multiplayer games were the same. At first I didn't mind, the graphics and gameplay alone was enough to keep me satisfied and enjoy this action packed game. After time, it got a little boring. There aren't enough options for Titans and the levels are limited. But I did enjoy it, I did like the addition of the Titans and I think we can agree there was no better feeling than taking on of those bad boys down with just little old you. Expand
  85. Oct 15, 2014
    6
    What Titanfall offers is GREAT, the problem is that is offers WAY TOO LITTLE.

    This review is based on the original release, before all he DLC. On that basis, this game is NOT worth the admissions price. Is really not. The mechs and combats feel great, but the limited game modes and maps are almost insulting. I was aware the game lacked single player, and I was ok with that until I saw
    What Titanfall offers is GREAT, the problem is that is offers WAY TOO LITTLE.

    This review is based on the original release, before all he DLC. On that basis, this game is NOT worth the admissions price. Is really not. The mechs and combats feel great, but the limited game modes and maps are almost insulting. I was aware the game lacked single player, and I was ok with that until I saw how little the game actually included.

    Bottom line for me is the following: Titanfall is one of the few games that I feel would make a better "Free-to-play", like TF2 by allowing us to buy stuff to customize our avatars. But for 60 bucks to play, is not worth it.
    Expand
  86. Oct 13, 2014
    0
    repetitive gameplay system, the campaign is outrage to the gamers, the graphics are ugly, the call of duty's spirit is there and makes wrong, no offline gaming, just like a botzone or something more
  87. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    Titanfall is a very fast paced fps and concentrates on delivering the best multiplayer experience possible. It's very balanced - for everything that seems very powerful, there's always something to counter it.
  88. Oct 12, 2014
    1
    Wow this gets boring really really fast. I quite like the multiplayer games, but this one really just feels like a crappy version of COD. It's not much better than the Mech games of the early 90's.
  89. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    Titan fall is pretty good.
    The game runs and controls perfectly well and the titans are very fun to use. The game blend together the fast, free running skills of the pilot with the heavy, tank like powers of the titan.
    This is the definite go to game for any FPS fun, it is so different yet so familiar to the average FPS. Every online match feels different an they are filled with epic
    Titan fall is pretty good.
    The game runs and controls perfectly well and the titans are very fun to use. The game blend together the fast, free running skills of the pilot with the heavy, tank like powers of the titan.
    This is the definite go to game for any FPS fun, it is so different yet so familiar to the average FPS. Every online match feels different an they are filled with epic moments, in each match there are real players to fight plus titans but there are also other infantry like grunts and spectres to make the map feel like a warzone. The free running mechanic works extremely well and adds a whole new angle to attack and be attacked from, this keeps you on your toes. The titans also change how the game is played, they are stronger and can take more damage but are slow, this gives the pilot a chance to escape or fight back.

    Even though there are a lot of good things about titanfall , there are some problems. The game comes with a terrible online campaign, the story is completely pointless and it seem that this feature was a last minute addition. There are very little maps compared to other games but all of the maps feel and look differently, at launch there were only around four game modes but that has been fixed at the current time with over double that. There are also only around 10 primary weapons to choose from which really limits what you can use, the game adds features called burn card that give you a specific perk for the life that you activate it on but I found most of them to be useless due to the small amount of time you have to use them.
    Over all the game is great, the gameplay is the best of any FPS to date but the main reason for the game getting a low score is all of the small problems that are found plus the fact that this game cost the same as all the other new games but contains considerably less content, I only hope that this isn't the beginning of games costing more but containing less.
    Over all, its a great game that works well but its problems and content means that it should only be picked up at a lower price or borrowed from a friend.
    Expand
  90. Oct 11, 2014
    8
    Titanfall's biggest problem is a lack of content. The gameplay is excellent, its meat and bones and although several new maps have been added via season pass it is still somewhat light. More customization has also been added along with new modes and it seems Respawn are very much listening to their player base. Its a good start for a new studio.
  91. Oct 5, 2014
    3
    Disappointing game. Lacks true single player campaign. The visuals are good and the game actions are fluid enough. The one true downfall (pun intended) is repetition. And the creators try to mask this with the illusion of a pre-mission story. If you like that kind of stuff, then this might be worth it for you. Not for me.
  92. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    Seriously, how on earth does this game have an average user score of 6.2!?!? Madness. I am going to assume that it is down to some really, really sad and bitter PS4 fanboys, bored due to the fact that their shiny new console has no worthwhile exclusives of its own (okay, I'm now sounding like an Xbone fanboy...).

    Anyway, this game is just so much fun. Sure, as the reviews state, it's
    Seriously, how on earth does this game have an average user score of 6.2!?!? Madness. I am going to assume that it is down to some really, really sad and bitter PS4 fanboys, bored due to the fact that their shiny new console has no worthwhile exclusives of its own (okay, I'm now sounding like an Xbone fanboy...).

    Anyway, this game is just so much fun. Sure, as the reviews state, it's more evolutionary than revolutionary, but, honestly, how many (good) games really are revolutionary? Exactly. This game was never going to get 10/10 review scores, because it hasn't got a single player campaign and the 'story' elements are hilariously tacked on. That said, the presentation and polish on this game are absolutely second-to-none and the brief story elements prior to campaign matches kind of make you wish that the story wasn't so half baked.

    That aside, what an incredible new IP this is from the guys at Respawn Games; the first of this generation. The core gameplay is seriously good fun and the challenges and regenation requirements are genius; the latter encouraging you to try out various different weapons and gameplay styles which really teach you everything their is about the game and, by the end, makes you into a much better all-round player.

    Overall, this is one of the best multiplayer games of all time, for me. It's funny that I timed my purchase of an Xbox One for Destiny, but it's Titanfall which has got me gripped.

    Can't wait for the next in the series. I really hope they implement a Battlefield: Bad Company-style Conquest mode, to create a multi-teired version of attrition whereby you move onto new areas of maps and have a specific goal to work towards. That would be perfection.

    My head tells me I should give this a very strong 9/10 but my heart insists on giving it a 10.
    Expand
  93. Sep 25, 2014
    3
    Call Of Duty in space that uses every cookie cutter video game design short cut in the book. It doesn't have an original idea in it's tiny blonde head. No single player campaign, poor network code. Some very nice art and design that give it street cred, otherwise nothing to see here ...unless you actually do want Call Of Duty in space.
  94. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    This game's biggest strength is also its biggest flaw = it at 1st seems like call of duty with mechs and at 1st glance it's a fair description,but titanfall hides layers of depth that u don't expect from cod titles - but all things hidden need to be found and a lot of gamers wont stick with it long enough.I think if u really want to be fair to this game,u have to prestige at least onceThis game's biggest strength is also its biggest flaw = it at 1st seems like call of duty with mechs and at 1st glance it's a fair description,but titanfall hides layers of depth that u don't expect from cod titles - but all things hidden need to be found and a lot of gamers wont stick with it long enough.I think if u really want to be fair to this game,u have to prestige at least once before reviewing (I have proven this with friends on my list who made reviews and after being shown videos of my gameplay went from average scores to titanfall addicts) this game eventually reveals a massive amount of time put into balancing and tactics -and with the burn cards it makes this all very simple to experience and learn all the different tactics from just combining new weapons with new skills versus other player's combinations.And this isn't just a case of playing loadout against loadout,its how u use it as a player in VERY fast,full of action gameplay.And then there's the visuals -this game looks amazing!Even after the release of destiny,titanfall looks faster in motion,the whole thing is an adrenaline ride -to those who just went a few rounds and thought they've seen all titanfall has to offer I say "go back" -go back and give it a little more time,this isn't shallow,it isn't cod,it's a really good game and its cod-like similarities are all the good things,like its speed and controls.I have to give this game a 10,as the only game to give me an adrenaline rush like this since ps3's online wipeout races,or maybe the online killer instinct on xbox1,titanfall deserves to be remembered. Expand
  95. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    I'll admit I was one of the haters on this game. But when I actually picked it up, I felt as though I've been missing out for the last 6 months. This is probably the best FPS ever. At least since COD 4. I only wish for a single player campaign though. But the way it's done is interesting at best, and credit is due for at least trying something new.
  96. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    First multiplayer game I loved to death since Halo 2 in 2004-2006. Learn how to run the parkour routes (youtube it) and you'll be wrecking people so bad that they turn off the game, go on the internet, and tell people how this game sucks.
  97. Sep 11, 2014
    4
    Horribly boring game. There are about 10 maps and all of the gameplay is against other run and gunners online. No strategy whatsoever - just kill, die, respawn, wait till end of mission, repeat. I beat the game in an hour (i.e. all of the levels) and I could only replay each one a few times before I wanted to return the game. Story? What story? I'm told to go in that direction andHorribly boring game. There are about 10 maps and all of the gameplay is against other run and gunners online. No strategy whatsoever - just kill, die, respawn, wait till end of mission, repeat. I beat the game in an hour (i.e. all of the levels) and I could only replay each one a few times before I wanted to return the game. Story? What story? I'm told to go in that direction and kill as much as I can before I die - got it. Laughable how anyone could enjoy this for more than 10 hours. Anyone who does is mindless. Expand
  98. Sep 10, 2014
    7
    For a day one release? It's great.

    It's refreshing to see mechs come stomping back onto our screens, a shooter which encourages players to win the match rather than care about their K/D. Even when you're not in a mech the on foot combat can still prove to be great fun, the wall running and double jumping providing much needed balance when facing 20ft tall robots. It has it's flaws
    For a day one release? It's great.

    It's refreshing to see mechs come stomping back onto our screens, a shooter which encourages players to win the match rather than care about their K/D.

    Even when you're not in a mech the on foot combat can still prove to be great fun, the wall running and double jumping providing much needed balance when facing 20ft tall robots.

    It has it's flaws no doubt, limited amount of weapons/customization options, annoying random server disconnects and no single player campaign. It's a multiplayer package plain and simple, the gore included in this is often overlooked too, shooting someone with an arc cannon (a big titan weapons which fires a concentrated bolt of electricity) just to see their body exploding into a fantastic red mist, yes, delicious.

    Unfortunately it just lacks replayability, whether or not that is down to the absence of enough quick sc0p3z to fill a youtube montage or the single player campaign, it just feels like it cannot keep your eyes glued to the screen for more than a couple of hours.
    Expand
  99. Sep 10, 2014
    3
    I buying game, not gord, it very disappointment.
    Graphics: Gord gord
    Gameplay: Not gord
    Innovate: Not gord
    I playing on box-X, but I don't having one long thumb and short thumb, very uncomfor-tayble for mee.
    Mutheryuckar dooooooon't buy it.
  100. Sep 10, 2014
    3
    the number of players in comparison to the number of AI is too little. and the titans are the worst part of the game. I don't use them as you get less kills in them than you do with as a pilot. and they interfere with your game play as a pilot. the first minute before the titans come along is the only kind of fun minute of the game. and i mean only kind of and tehre is only one gun thatthe number of players in comparison to the number of AI is too little. and the titans are the worst part of the game. I don't use them as you get less kills in them than you do with as a pilot. and they interfere with your game play as a pilot. the first minute before the titans come along is the only kind of fun minute of the game. and i mean only kind of and tehre is only one gun that 90% of people use. no customisation Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    85
    Aside from a few minor quibbles (I can jump across streets and hop over entire buildings, but a knee-high window ledge is insanely finicky to get past?) Titanfall is undoubtedly a great game which does an exceptional job of breathing new life into an increasingly-stale genre.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    An intensely fun multiplayer game that is accessible and fun for everyone. Not perfect, but that's what sequels are for.
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 7, 2014
    89
    A spectacular and superbly crafted, if traditional, shooter. [May 2014, p.71]