Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Aug 27, 2019
    90
    Not only one of the best racing games of the generation but for once one that feels genuinely different to any of its major rivals – unless you count spiritual predecessor FlatOut.
  2. Aug 23, 2019
    90
    It’s fun playing games like Forza Motorsport and Horizon, but Wreckfest offers something that they just can’t: carnage. And that’s enough to make it a must-have.
  3. Aug 23, 2019
    90
    Wreckfest is the long-overdue return of serious, high-quality destruction racing. Fierce, frantic fun.
  4. Aug 23, 2019
    90
    Wreckfest is a game you need to be playing. It’s hectic, it’s engaging and it’s complete carnage.
  5. Sep 16, 2019
    85
    Wreckfest is the epitome of white knuckle driving, as you’ll clench when you can see an oncoming hit about to happen, or laugh uncontrollably once you completely destroy someone and send them flying off the track. Wreckfest is chaotic and frantic fun at its core, and even though it has its issues, it’s a complete blast to play and enjoy.
  6. Sep 15, 2019
    85
    A really nice, fun and accurate game that mixes racing and destruction simulator, just like the old FlatOut did years before. Still, there is some improvements to make on the AI and Online side.
  7. Sep 13, 2019
    85
    By reminding us the glory days of the Destruction Derby franchise combined with the great gameplay of their own FlatOut series, Bugbear gave us a sorely missed and absolutely fun arcade racing experience.
  8. Aug 29, 2019
    85
    The video game market is filled with racing simulations, and it’s nice to see oddities like Wreckfest that deliver the exact opposite. Why race a clean path when you can race dirty? If that proposition sounds fun to you, you can’t go wrong with this aggressive racing experience.
  9. Aug 26, 2019
    85
    While not a fan of the racing genre in general, I do have my moments when I would like to just smash into someone else’s car (in a totally victim-free virtual environment, of course), and Wreckfest hits the spot perfectly. By comparison with what other games attempted in the past, I have to say that it is a true masterpiece and has pretty much taken the crown as the best title in a rather unexplored game sub-genre. So, gear up, tune up your car, rev your engines and try to make it to the finish line with a number of wheels that is higher than 1!
  10. Aug 29, 2019
    82
    Wreckfest is an absolute blast. The physics, the crazy trials, and that Destruction Derby feeling make it a must-have for those who ever enjoyed Psygnosis’ franchise or, more recently, the Flatout series.
  11. Aug 23, 2019
    81
    Despite a few odd technical issues, Wreckfest is really rather fun to play. The sheer carnage on display as you smash and crash with your fellow racers is quite the sight, especially in the destruction derby style modes. Those looking for a racer with a little extra edge will no doubt find it here.
  12. Sep 9, 2019
    80
    Overall, Wreckfest is a very fun game, and it is very simple to pick up the controller and just play.
  13. Sep 6, 2019
    80
    Wreckfest is the spiritual successor of FlatOut and Destruction Derby and offers a fun, hectic, solid experience. Now on consoles, too.
  14. Aug 26, 2019
    80
    The core gameplay is almost as good as it was on PC and deserves to be played, but a few issues hold it back a little.
  15. Aug 25, 2019
    80
    Bugbears latest release might not be flawless, but it's certainly a unique entry in racing genre. Surely some issues like not so good music, long loading times and weak user interface are somehow annoying, but when compared to positives, you will not mind them. Wreckfest might not offer the same amount of humor that we saw in the earlier Flatout games, but it has a lot to say, especially when it comes to online gaming.
  16. Aug 23, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Aug 23, 2019
    80
    Bugbear have once again proven they’re the rulers of destructive driving games with arguably their best effort yet, stripping away the unnecessary parts of their previous series and focusing on what works.
  18. Aug 26, 2019
    76
    Wreckfest brings back its FlatOut roots with an heavy and destructive racer, but leaving behind some good features like the destruction-fueled Nitro system. Despite this, it's a racer every FlaToud, Burnout or arcade racer lover should consider buying.
  19. Aug 25, 2019
    75
    Wreckfest is an excellent racing game that captures the spirit of demolition derbies and provides several hilarious, engaging events, although it suffers from other less intriguing races besides fun-killing loading screens.
  20. Sep 3, 2019
    70
    The driving arcade games lovers will find in Wreckfest a fine and very attractive title.
  21. Aug 26, 2019
    70
    Wreckfest is at its best when you don't take it too seriously. It features a great handling model that's sufficiently deep and rewarding to master. The wild and dirty races tend to be quite enjoyable too. Of course, the chaos can sometimes become frustrating. There are few things worse than getting knocked off the track at the last possible moment. It's even more agonizing when it's not entirely your fault. Those who persevere, despite the occasional bout of unfairness, will get a lot of mileage out of this.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 47
  2. Negative: 15 out of 47
  1. Aug 26, 2019
    9
    WRECKFEST....... It does exactly what the title says. BugBear have developed a truly awesome game here. From the moment you press start, theWRECKFEST....... It does exactly what the title says. BugBear have developed a truly awesome game here. From the moment you press start, the music begins, the funky music beats get you in the mood for what’s about to come. I press career to get started, there’s five championships with plenty of content to keep you going. First race, I'm on a lawnmower. I fail miserably but keep re-trying as its so addictive. Theres plenty of cars to purchase in game and just enough mods to enhance your vehicle. The controls are smooth, theres plenty of options to make sure you have an individual settings control. Whether your a beginner in this kind of game or a pro there is plenty of enjoyment on offer for everyone. After career, you also have multiplayer so you can face off your creations with other racers from around the world. Theres also a custom races mode too. Lots of DLC in the pipeline also so make sure to pick up the season pass for this one. This game is so much fun, I recommend it 100% without concern, and if it weren't for the lack of being able to invite my friends to an online session... I would have give then game a 10/10. I've waited so long for this game and it's everything I had hoped it would be and there's more to come. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Every play games like Forza and find yourself rear-ending the hell out of the car in front of you because it's so much easier and more funEvery play games like Forza and find yourself rear-ending the hell out of the car in front of you because it's so much easier and more fun then using your brakes in the turns? Boy do I have a game for you!

    Wreckfest is absolutely brilliant, a definite 10 stars in my book. It's a genuinely fun game with replay value, this isn't something you're going to play for an hour then never touch again. It has great steering "feel" and smashing (see what I did there) physics, but at the end of the day there is a real racing feel and you have to actually try to win and use more strategy then just running people off the road. The vehicle selection is great! You can race ratty old muscle cars, lawnmowers, RVs, you name it. In a world where $59.99 seems to be the industry standard price to buy a game, Wreckfest is $39.99 which is a super cool move by the developer. You're getting a lot of game for $40, trust me. As someone who owns a full library of $500+ worth of popular racing games, I'm finding myself over and over again reaching for my $39 copy of Wreckfest. Seriously, pull the trigger and buy a copy, you won't regret it! Wreckfest delivers a lot of smiles per gallon!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2019
    1
    Game crashes and doesn’t run on Xbox, I’ve swapped out for another disc and same thing. Known issue but bugbear won’t release ANY info on fix.Game crashes and doesn’t run on Xbox, I’ve swapped out for another disc and same thing. Known issue but bugbear won’t release ANY info on fix. I’ve lost all faith in them. Full Review »