Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 16 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Cheat Code Central
    40
    The sad part is that there are just too many problems that were not fixed before the release. The main thing is the controls of the game itself... It's a game with some cool gimmicks that try to hide a poorly made game.
  2. Xbox Nation Magazine
    30
    The camera alone is enough to condemn Drake to the eigth circle of gaming hell. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.90]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    30
    Even at $20 it's worse than dull - it's unoriginal. When the loading screen is prettier than anything in the game, then you know you've got problems. [Jan 2004, p.70]
  4. Literally, the story, gameplay, graphics, sound, and ever other element that could ever be in a game, are terrible.
  5. 29
    It would be nice to see somebody develop a game with a character that can fire two weapons independently but then again maybe there's a reason why nobody's done it yet. Drake tried, but like we said nobody has done it yet.
  6. Just not fun to play. The disc and box are not even worth its weight in dog feces, which actually incurs negative value as you actually have to pay someone to pick up animal droppings.
  7. There are so many bad aspects found in Drake that it is difficult to present them all in one review. The broken gameplay mechanics, uninspired level design, and horrible production values makes Drake one of the worst games on the Xbox to date.
  8. Controls are ridiculously touchy and unrefined.
  9. 20
    It takes about five minutes with the game to realize it's a nightmare for everyone else, with ugly visuals, sloppy controls, a horrible camera and some of the most foolish storytelling we've seen. This one's a mess, folks.
  10. 20
    A steaming pile of unplayable cel shading.
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    17
    It'd be a bit better with a saner control scheme, but as it is, Drake is an exercise in frustration and repeated death. [Jan 2004, p.148]
  12. Just an absolutely broken mess of a game...One of the most atrociously unplayable games to come along in quite some time.
  13. Just close your eyes and focus on the most wretched, mangled mess of ugliness that your brain can conceive and you've pretty much nailed Drake on the head. [Jan 2004, p.151]
  14. The worst game I've ever played. Ever. It's worse than "Aquaman," people. It's so bad, in fact, that I briefly considered driving my car off a cliff on the way home one day, just so I wouldn't have to play it anymore.
  15. In fact, the only way to have fun with this game is to play it for an hour, then put it back in its case and use it as ammunition for skeet shooting.
  16. Computer Games Magazine
    0
    Aiming at enemies is nearly impossible. [Apr 2004, p.7]

Awards & Rankings

14
#14 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
7
#7 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 41
  2. Negative: 35 out of 41
  1. paulB
    Jan 23, 2010
    1
    I give this game a one just because how enjoyable it was to shut it off. Also it makes for a solid coaster for a cool beverage
  2. Jul 17, 2016
    0
    The camera is so off is the main problem. The graphics look washed out and the story is terrible and complex. The controls are VERY mediocreThe camera is so off is the main problem. The graphics look washed out and the story is terrible and complex. The controls are VERY mediocre and it lacks in gameplay so much. Stay away from this game. Full Review »
  3. Jan 7, 2015
    5
    I'm not a troll, I'm being honest with what I'm about to say.

    I played the game for at least two hours or so and for some reason, other
    I'm not a troll, I'm being honest with what I'm about to say.

    I played the game for at least two hours or so and for some reason, other than the bad camera and occasionally messed-up A.I., but other than that, I just can't find any other problems with the game. I never got stuck in a glitch, the voice acting is actually not too bad, and the fact that Drake (the main character) moves fast is something that I've actually found as a cool feature to the game.

    I'll say it again: I'm NOT a troll, and what I just said is NOT a joke. What you just read was all true, no lies.
    Full Review »