Saban Films | Release Date: March 29, 2019
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 21 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
8
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
SturmhardtApr 7, 2019
Such a boring movie. Incredibly little happens here. Even the end is anticlimactic.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Apr 23, 2019
Surprising for quality rather than innovation. Olivia Wilde delivers the best performance of her career in this small but rough film.

The film undoubtedly has problems and most of all because of its desperate attempt not to look like a film
Surprising for quality rather than innovation. Olivia Wilde delivers the best performance of her career in this small but rough film.

The film undoubtedly has problems and most of all because of its desperate attempt not to look like a film of the genre in which the storry obviously develops, but let's say that it's an aspect that can be ignored considering the direction that manages to sustain the narrative in general.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
RONSAIDITApr 4, 2019
an interesting film a bit slow in places but overall a very good film, Olivia Wilde play's a good roll in this movie and is very watchable. film photography is great to look at also. well worth a look at.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
HotelCentralDec 4, 2019
A convincing job by Olivia Wilde, but I'm not sure what this film is trying to be. I get the feeling that somewhere there's someone waiting to explain, in detail, that this is how victims of domestic violence and violent trauma evolve, atA convincing job by Olivia Wilde, but I'm not sure what this film is trying to be. I get the feeling that somewhere there's someone waiting to explain, in detail, that this is how victims of domestic violence and violent trauma evolve, at least some of the time. And if this film were presented as a dramatization, then fine. As a film, though, it's slow. And just when we get to the scene where the final confrontation should occur our heroine Sadie hesitates, because, one might guess, she really just needs to be beaten one last time before she can pull the metaphorical trigger and deliver vigilante justice to her abuser.

So then another 15, 20 minutes and when the moment for justice arrives we're deprived of seeing exactly how Sadie overcomes the disadvantages of size and weight, and having a broken arm, to get her abuser into a position where she can, well . . . do what she needs to do.

And, ok, fine. The film doesn't want to indulge in gratuitous violence. But, you know, a film is a film and it needs to entertain and that's where this film falls short.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
RalfbergsAug 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the movie talks about serious things that should be talked about and are quite important and makes you think, the story itself and how it is portrayed is really quite boring. I mean most of the movie is just showing characters doing with just quiet background sounds, like in silence. And it is quite predictable what will happen at the end - that she will take revenge and also quite easy to guess that she is helping others because of being hurt before. I mean I did not expect action movie really, it is more drama, but still, you can watch it lets say if you have subtitles with 4x speed and wont miss anything. Or just fast forwarding through also doubt would miss much. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Flynn0rJun 1, 2019
Very emotional movie. Excellent performance from Olivia Wilde. It got under my skin.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
BroyaxDec 6, 2020
Un film issu du mouvement « me too » dans lequel une ex-femme battue s’en va aider d’autres femmes battues en corrigeant sévèrement les maris indélicats et mal élevés : une justicière féministe en somme !

L’idée et les intentions sont
Un film issu du mouvement « me too » dans lequel une ex-femme battue s’en va aider d’autres femmes battues en corrigeant sévèrement les maris indélicats et mal élevés : une justicière féministe en somme !

L’idée et les intentions sont louables et Olivia Wilde porte brillamment l’étendard et le rôle alors que son personnage n’en a d’ailleurs pas encore fini avec son ex-mari violent et taré, lequel ne perd rien pour attendre… bien au contraire.

Hélas, le film est très lent et décousu et ressemble davantage à un documentaire mal fichu qu’à un vrai film, fût-il de vengeances féminines… avec tous les poncifs que cela peut comporter, bien entendu. En vérité, le scénario est ici inexistant ou réduit à sa plus simple expression et d’autres films relevant du même thème sont infiniment plus intéressants que ce machin-là, poussif et lourdingue.

De fait, le film porte bien mal son nom, car le niveau de vigilance du spectateur est au plus bas… du début à la fin.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Mauro_LanariNov 29, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
Violence against women and minors dealt with under the law of retaliation, yet two wrongs don't make a right. Olivia Wilde becomes the Charles Bronson of private justice: when feminism takes the worst of masculinity (like in
(Mauro Lanari)
Violence against women and minors dealt with under the law of retaliation, yet two wrongs don't make a right. Olivia Wilde becomes the Charles Bronson of private justice: when feminism takes the worst of masculinity (like in "G.I. Jane," Ridley Scott 1997). In addition, filicide is always the responsibility of both parents.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews