Twentieth Century Fox | Release Date: September 20, 2019
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 481 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
257
Mixed:
117
Negative:
107
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
WagyuMeatloafOct 4, 2019
I'm torn on this one because I love me a space adventure and the visuals and atmosphere are amazing but I just couldn't shake the feeling of mehness when I left the theater. It's not bad but a few things drag it down for me. First, the actionI'm torn on this one because I love me a space adventure and the visuals and atmosphere are amazing but I just couldn't shake the feeling of mehness when I left the theater. It's not bad but a few things drag it down for me. First, the action scenes felt out of place and were unnecessary diversions that didn't affect the storyline so it was like they were just checking off a box which contributes to a bit of an identity crisis of what kind of film it wants to be. Second, the narration was totally unnecessary and felt distracting. Finally, the plot was very straightforward and obvious. It failed to trigger my inquisitive mind which is a necessity for a slow-burn kind of movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
TheodorKingOct 5, 2019
This movie is really pretty. The cinematography is top-notch. Set designs, visual effects, art direction. All of the technical aspects are great. Also, Brad Pit is also really pretty. Good acting on his part. Even though there wasn't a lot toThis movie is really pretty. The cinematography is top-notch. Set designs, visual effects, art direction. All of the technical aspects are great. Also, Brad Pit is also really pretty. Good acting on his part. Even though there wasn't a lot to act. The music is fine. But, that's it for the pluses. Overall, this is a two-hour road trip in space. The problem is, there are no roads in space, only darkness. So it's not even a road trip, it's a two-hour airplane travel. The script is as simple as a short comic at the end of a newspaper. Some storylines in the scrip just don't make any sense. Whole characters and scenes could have been gone without any consequences to the plot. The movie could be literally 30 minutes. It felt like 3 hours, even though, it's only 2. Your brain has nothing to do there. Mine tried. But the fact is, the movie is basically telling you everything. And it doesn't talk much. I don't understand why this was two-hour movie. It would have been a great short film. But instead, it's more of a good planetary exhibition rather than a good movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
kpb1973Oct 7, 2019
One of the most thematically and emotionally confused films i've seen in many years.

The point of the movie is seemingly to explore father-son dynamics, the burden of isolation, how the near-space of our minds might just be more important
One of the most thematically and emotionally confused films i've seen in many years.

The point of the movie is seemingly to explore father-son dynamics, the burden of isolation, how the near-space of our minds might just be more important than the deep-space of our ambitions - plus a multitude of other worthy subjects in between.

To do this, the film-makers have assembled a stellar cast, tremendous visual effects and exceptional set design.

With such an armoury at their disposal, how could Grey, Pitt and co fail?

Well...chuck in some psychopathic space monkeys, illogical interplanetary journeys, loaded-for-bear lunar pirate carjackers, countless instances of laughably improbable (and I mean utterly ridiculous) science and you're halfway to Oblivion. No pun intended.

At regular intervals come scenes that are so far-fetched that they ask less of a "willing suspension of disbelief" and promise more of an "insult to your intelligence". The metal panel through the rings of Neptune was extraordinary in this regards, but it is just one of MANY that punctured any bond I had with the underlying themes the film is trying to explore.

Additionally, Pitt's transformation from sociopath to social worker is practically instantaneous and therefore unconvincing (although the moments of high emotion that he does show are well delivered) and Lee's character is even more unlikeable. The fact there is no opportunity for them to bond, bounce off and understand each other leaves an emotional void even greater than some of the plot mechanics.

In trying to weave high art themes with low brow science, there whole film just feels disconnected - from its component parts, from its lofty intentions and indeed from many of its audience.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
hnestlyontheslyOct 7, 2019
Doing this review in October, two weekends late, but there’s really not much to say about this one. I’m generally pretty opposed to the genre of true-to-life, near-future space movies with a few exceptions, like Moon (2009) and ContactDoing this review in October, two weekends late, but there’s really not much to say about this one. I’m generally pretty opposed to the genre of true-to-life, near-future space movies with a few exceptions, like Moon (2009) and Contact (1997). For the most part, they feel a little smug and self-serious like First Man and Gravity. “But what about The Martian???” everyone responds. “It was such a feel-good movie! It was so scientifically ACCURATE,” to which I say, I watch YouTube videos on picture frame hanging for scientific accuracy, I go to see movies for original storytelling. Interstellar and Arrival felt like hypebeasty films that never really delivered on their promises. Space movies feel like an excuse to use a lot of CGI and green screens, off-set by a tremendous amount of time in tiny, windowless compartments, and mildly gross shots of people squirting food directly in front of their mouths and then slurping it slowly into their food holes. If there isn’t a fear for space food consumption yet I’m coining it now: cosmophagyphobia.

These vanity projects are so common nowadays that Mekado Murphy from the NYT has a short article outlining the phenomenon of movie stars receiving their own Space Movies as a kind of rite of passage as they hit stardom. Which is all just to say, I know this is a me thing not a movie thing, but I still think the “serious science” genre of space movies has a lot to learn from their goofy younger sci-fi siblings. Also, I blame Tom Hanks for all of this **** **** One spot of joy and light in this movie’s otherwise bleak and craven existence is the fact that Polygon did a fabulous write up of this film in which they summarized the trailer as such, “Brad Astra is Sad Astra because of his Dad Astra”–that recommendation comes care of Friend from work, and I think says everything you need to know about the movie. The thing that really pissed me off every time I saw this goddamn trailer at the movie theater was how **** quickly it appears that things go to **** in this goddamn movie. You see Brad Pitt fighting in a MOONCHASE of all things, because NASA can’t have it’s act together for the 48 hours it takes for him to leave Earth’s orbit, apparently. The fact that **** goes down so quickly really made me feel like the story was putting unnecessary restraints on itself. No one is going to be able to find, neutralize, and resolve an anti-matter death ray on Saturn if they’re having trouble with their very first way station...

All that said, this movie was disappointing in so many ways. Anyone who went expecting that Ruth Negga and Liv Tyler were going to have speaking lines was sorely disappointed. Despite being what I think amounted to “Mayor of Mars,” Negga has effectively no control over any of the operations of her base, not even of the tiny little transmission room they use to let teens play their loud rock music on Mars. Also, the circumstances of her birth and her relationship to the search for extra-terrestial life mission that Sad Pitt’s father was a part of is still really murky to me. Was she conceived before the astronauts went into space and born on Mars? Or was the trip so long that the astronauts had sex in space and then gave birth… on Mars? I’m so confused by this plot point. Although the discovery at the end of this movie is quite nice, it runs into the Mowgli problem, AKA “Traveling at the Speed of Plot,” where a character can run on foot through a burning **** forest in five minutes where it takes him half of his childhood to make it there the first time. So too with Brad Astra. When I asked, “How long DOES it take to get to Saturn?” Friend responds sagely, “It depends how fast you’re going,” which is both wise and infuriating.

My major takeaway is that this movie makes Sandra Bullock look like an **** Everything that she does by the skin of her teeth and only after minutes of calculations and preparation, Brad can do in his sleep. He’s an astronaut and Mars’s most stealthy climber and a skilled nuclear technician and a feelsy ex-husband. Dad mentioned similar things when we checked notes, but he was less bothered by the Moon. He also mentioned the weirdness of not having sent a drone or probe or something to have stopped the anti-matter death ray, so at least we’re on the same page there.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
treestandSep 22, 2019
Ad Astra is a beautiful film. The wide panning shots are some of the most amazing and immersive space moments I've seen on the big screen, and if you plan on seeing this film, see it on as big a screen as you can. That being said, it doesn'tAd Astra is a beautiful film. The wide panning shots are some of the most amazing and immersive space moments I've seen on the big screen, and if you plan on seeing this film, see it on as big a screen as you can. That being said, it doesn't tread in waters any different than Gravity of Interstellar or Space Odyssey, but wears their influence on its sleeve in a way that is reminiscent of feeling awe in the presence of a great replica of an even more awe inspiring original artwork. BUT, sadly, beyond the visuals, and maybe the sound, the film falls rather flat from beginning to end. Brad Pitt's character is a caricature of a 50s/60s era action hero. A no nonsense militant man who never loses his cool except for when he is faced with his daddy issues. And boy does this film dunk your head in his daddy issues, over and over and over again. I picked up on the fact that this character had father issues, and that his father was a perceived hero and potential villain VERY early in the film as this is clearly and plainly spelled out to the audience. Despite this the film decides to forgo any relevant character building in order to reinsert a reminder of said daddy issues every ten to fifteen minutes, and if it's not Brad Pitt staring out into the abyss whispering 'father...' to his distant lost daddy/cosmic creator then some other character is introduced only to mention his father in some capacity and then exiting stage left as quickly as they arrived. It gets real old, and real perplexing, and feels a lot like getting hit over the head with a daddy/god mallet over and over again to the point of seeming comedic or cartoonish instead of deep and meaningful. Then there is the problem with this film's attempt at being deep and meaningful. It really tries to be deep and meaningful but never seems to inundate you but up to the ankle. Moments of 'Look inflation in the future, an expensive blanket', or 'Look, capitalism on the moon' come across as intriguing but are rushed out of frame as quickly as they are shoved into your face (much like every jarring cameo) making room for more daddy issues, and reminders that Brad Pitt is very cool and collected, until he is not. Then there is the over the top/possibly inspired by Herge's 'Tin Tin goes to the moon' action sequences that are so at odds with the tone of the majority of the film that it continuously felt like I was shifting between two movies. Ten minutes of attempted deep/atmospheric/slow brooding character stagnation then ten minutes of chaotic 'armageddon' level action sequences (with monkeys) where everything that could go wrong does go wrong like clockwork, but somehow our hero never makes a wrong choice, and if he does, it gets him where he is headed even faster than otherwise. This film is a fever dream of someone coming to terms with the absence of their father, and it is a mess. A pretty mess filled to the brim with miscalculations, wtf were they thinking moments, and a great sense that whoever wrote the script did absolutely no research into how physics works in space. It's more Star Wars space fantasy than scifi, but without any of the fun, and a lead up to a climax and revelation that seems so silly and contrived it makes you wonder how this film got so many great actors to do so little for such a long slog of time. It is pretty though, I'll give it that. See it with your dad? Or don't. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
6
tarekaliSep 24, 2019
As the critics say, this is a story about a son living in the long shadow of a heroic father, trying to reconcile fact over fiction. The adage 'Never meet your heroes' is certainly affirmed. However, in substance, this is a cautionary tale ofAs the critics say, this is a story about a son living in the long shadow of a heroic father, trying to reconcile fact over fiction. The adage 'Never meet your heroes' is certainly affirmed. However, in substance, this is a cautionary tale of human space exploration and the accompanying stupidity, madness, greed, and pride that follow such grandiose ambitions. I am certainly even more convinced humankind should focus on saving our existing spaceship, Earth, before we try to walk the stars. Some of the science also tends to stretch physics, where energy levels of phenomena defy logic. Visually mesmerizing, the film absolutely warrants an Imax viewing - the images of serene blue Neptune, in particular, haunt me. Like 'Last Jedi' I greatly deviate from the critics' consensus score on this much less beloved property. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
Camuser59Sep 21, 2019
I really wanted to like this movie but in the end it just felt cold and sterile kind of like space I guess. The visuals are cool and the cast is great so you might want to see it just for that. If I was trying to be funny you could say thatI really wanted to like this movie but in the end it just felt cold and sterile kind of like space I guess. The visuals are cool and the cast is great so you might want to see it just for that. If I was trying to be funny you could say that in space no one can hear you yawn. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
6
TheVeganSep 23, 2019
I saw the excellent reviews and had hoped for something more entertaining. The cinematography was very good. The story I suppose was good as well but I was never really drawn into it. I found it interesting to a degree but I found it slowI saw the excellent reviews and had hoped for something more entertaining. The cinematography was very good. The story I suppose was good as well but I was never really drawn into it. I found it interesting to a degree but I found it slow moving which can be fine but I like to be moved in some way and this just didn't do it for me. You may love it because it is well written and acted but not something I would recommend. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
5
cylackSep 20, 2019
Saw this in iMax. Am a James Gray fan, and really like Lost City of Z so was expecting big things out of this movie. Left the theater bored and saying "that's it?" to myself. Beautifully shot, some really amazing visuals, great acting by BradSaw this in iMax. Am a James Gray fan, and really like Lost City of Z so was expecting big things out of this movie. Left the theater bored and saying "that's it?" to myself. Beautifully shot, some really amazing visuals, great acting by Brad Pitt, but the movie was boring! Think of it as "Apocalpyse Now" set in space, but not nearly as adventurous or exciting. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Sep 20, 2019
The premise alone was enough to intrigue me on this one, and I normally find myself pretty fascinated with space exploration films. So I was pretty interested to check this out. And while I can say that it's most definitely visuallyThe premise alone was enough to intrigue me on this one, and I normally find myself pretty fascinated with space exploration films. So I was pretty interested to check this out. And while I can say that it's most definitely visually breathtaking, in addition to feeling like it borrows some pages from previous superior space films (Interstellar, Gravity, The Martian, etc.), I found it to be a bit underwhelming and a little too ponderous and heavy in terms of story and pacing. The film seemed a little sluggish to me and took sometimes random, sometimes slow aim at what direction it wanted to go in. One more positive I can say, however, is that Brad Pitt gives a very confident performance that manages to make the film only slightly more compelling than it could've been, but just barely enough to keep my interest going till the end. Overall, Pitt's in top form here, and it's got some neat visuals and kind of a cool and epic score to go along with it, but it just felt lacking and uninspired to me storywise, as well as content to take it's time to a fault. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
6
ReallyRealSep 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie seems like it was written by two different teams. The first half is great- extremely entertaining, and very well shot. The action sequence on the moon were very well done. Then, as soon as they leave the moon en route to Mars, it becomes a boring, pretenious, tedious movie, with extraordinarily little payoff. Most of the things that happen are absolutely pointless. And the ending....

Brad Pitt was excellent however.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
4
tenoutoftenSep 30, 2019
I'm genuinely baffled by how it is possible for some viewers to be moved by this appalling piece of garbage calling itself a movie. It's random shots stitched together with virtually no plot. Ludicrous.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
4
AllseerSep 22, 2019
Acting: 7/10 alright acting from a fairly impressive cast, but what they were delivering was fairly cringe-y or dull at times.
Plot: 2/10 vapid space tropes that lead nowhere. Plot-holes that are laughably confusing and inexcusable. Random
Acting: 7/10 alright acting from a fairly impressive cast, but what they were delivering was fairly cringe-y or dull at times.
Plot: 2/10 vapid space tropes that lead nowhere. Plot-holes that are laughably confusing and inexcusable. Random made up unscientific garbage sprinkled everywhere. And lastly, random sequences that could easily have been built up to something else, but completely ignored.
Visuals: 5/10 a few interesting scenes, edits, and vfx moments, ultimately nothing all too impressive or deserving lavish. Direction: 5/10 while the direction was cohesive (for the most part), the story left much to be desired.

Conclusion: Extremely unimaginative derivative plot with very familiar space tropes that seem to drag on endlessly in a meandering slow paced space spectacle (without the spectacle). The complete lack of intrigue and story depth was astonishing in juxtaposition to the major critical praise this movie is receiving. Shallow characters following monotonic plot devices that don't drive home any sort of cohesive themes other than that space is dangerous and people go crazy in solitude (which have been explored in basically EVERY space movie ever made). Left the movie theatre having wondered if i even watched a movie, or a poor collage of scenic space shots and advertisements for another greater sci fi movie with better writing. There was hardly a journey, hardly a destination, and the melancholy undertones were all too familiar the entire course of the movie.
Shorter conclusion: Imagine Apollo 13, interstellar, and gravity all had a lovechild that came out neither as interesting, nor paced as well as either of them individually. As if all those movies had their souls torn out, and fused into a travesty of unoriginal writing and story telling.
Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
6
ohnomrbillSep 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 2001 meets Gravity meets Blade runner meets 2010. starts out great and interesting but halfway through starts to fall apart a bit. when he causes the death of those innocent people who were travelling to Neptune and he ends up doing what they were going to do anyway ??? WTF? seems to have gotten away with it and not held accountable for those deaths. great special effects. i just wish they would stop using very familiar actors over and over again. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
DubeauSep 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ad Astra was fairly good but not excellent. I found the story derivative of Sunshine, yet with less effects and quality. The acting was just ok. I didn't think the emotions were correctly transmitted by the movie and the dialogues. The effects were fine but since Gravity and Interstellar, it was lacking some degree of realism in terms of lighting, clarity and camera works. The motivation of the father and why he couldn't fix a problem, and cut communications, makes absolutely no sens. It's a big plot hole for me. I really like the moon sections the best. I give 60%. It's a well done movie but the story wasn't that solid or logical. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
mrniceguy33Sep 24, 2019
despite the good acting from the cast the storyline doesn't hold up very well the plot is full of plot holes and for the direction the movie is an eye blessing masterpiece with the beautiful shots and the vfx scenes
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
dude100Sep 24, 2019
I'm a die-hard science fiction fan and I would say this movie is good, but not great. The best scene in the movie is the moon buggy battle which lasts around 10 minutes. Other than that the movie is a bit flat. Red box this.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
Exist_To_ResistSep 30, 2019
A sociopaths emcell journeys throughout our galaxy to find his sociopath father. This movie lacks acting, or perhaps this is on purpose. Either way a monotone mediocre acting by Brad Pitt. The movie feels empty, and that's how I and my walletA sociopaths emcell journeys throughout our galaxy to find his sociopath father. This movie lacks acting, or perhaps this is on purpose. Either way a monotone mediocre acting by Brad Pitt. The movie feels empty, and that's how I and my wallet felt after watching this piece of trash. Emo enyone? Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
MarkHReviewsSep 28, 2019
Co-Writer/Director James Gray (“The Immigrant,” “The Lost City of Z”) clearly had lofty ambitions for “Ad Astra.” Some of his accomplishments are, wait for it, “stellar.” But other key elements of this film simply fail to take off.

Joseph
Co-Writer/Director James Gray (“The Immigrant,” “The Lost City of Z”) clearly had lofty ambitions for “Ad Astra.” Some of his accomplishments are, wait for it, “stellar.” But other key elements of this film simply fail to take off.

Joseph Conrad’s “Heart of Darkness” is clearly the inspiration for this story (which creates inevitable comparisons to “Apocalypse Now,” a film that also drew upon Conrad’s novella). This film is set in the “near future.” To stop a series of crippling power surges caused by anti-matter experiments, Roy McBride (Brad Pitt) is sent by Space Comm (a weaponized NASA) to Neptune, the probable source of the problem. One complicating factor is that Neptune is the location of The Lima Project, which was manned by Clifford McBride (Tommy Lee Jones), Roy’s father, who is presumed dead. Will Roy find his father? If so, will he destroy his father’s work to stop the power surges? Or, as with “Apocalypse Now,” is there a risk he will become his father? Potentially, there’s plenty to think about.

Director Gray’s image of our dystopian future is interesting and thought-provoking, but it’s his visuals that are truly breath-taking. From the opening shot of Roy working on the International Space Antenna, the imagery is both memorable and mesmerizing. There are also some wonderfully snarky speculations about what the future may hold – Roy has to “fly commercial” to the moon, where a spacesuit-clad flight attendant sells him a blanket and pillow pack for $125 (some of Gray’s speculations are clearly months, rather than years, in the future).

With appearances by Tommy Lee Jones, Donald Sutherland, Liv Tyler and even Natasha Lyonne (“Russian Doll”) in a tiny cameo (really?!), there is plenty of star power to summon. But this film definitely is Pitt’s extraterrestrial vehicle. His layered portrayal of an externally calm but internally seething Roy, when contrasted with his straightforward role in “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” offers further evidence that Pitt is one of the most accomplished actors of this generation.

So long as Gray adheres to the themes from “Heart of Darkness” – concerns about civilization, the risks of imperialism and exploitation – and even some less traditional topics (such as toxic masculinity), the plot is outstanding. Where “Ad Astra” veers badly off course is in its meditation on fathers and sons. This story line, while critical, is completely under-developed, apparently confusing Pitt’s voiceovers with legitimate plot development. As a result, the viewer regularly suffers vertigo – one moment experiencing a riveting space shoot-out with amazing special effects and dazzling cinematography, the next suffering through an interminable interlude of Roy brooding manfully about his own brooding. It’s admirable to shoot for the stars. Unfortunately, “Ad Astra” just misses.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Ricard0Sep 28, 2019
Película algo lenta, con una muy buena ambientación y potencial, pero con una historia demasiado sensilla y esenas algo forzadas. Además el mensaje final de la película no creo que sea del agrado de los amantes de la exploración espacial.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTSep 29, 2019
Admirably realistic physics in space sabotaged by enormous lapses in logic, time and distance. Too bad because elements are beautiful and it's technically well made in trying to walk the line between "2001" and more commercial scienceAdmirably realistic physics in space sabotaged by enormous lapses in logic, time and distance. Too bad because elements are beautiful and it's technically well made in trying to walk the line between "2001" and more commercial science fiction but ultimately shows the filmmakers to be too immature to fully realize their ambitious subject with the star not discerning enough on the script level. It works hard to deliver emotion but instead drags. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JalemanyOct 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wanting to be big, it feels small. Maybe the father-son cliché does not reach enough depth, maybe the space stories and the threat for Earth are too secondary, maybe it's waaaaay toooo sloooow. Also, the Moon and Mars stories seem to take place on some seedy outskirts, with no control, authority of technological advancements ... really, driving little cars and surrounded by thieves ?!! Disappointing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MaximumDOct 7, 2019
Wow, I was really jacked to see this movie. Everyone's saying it's like next best SciFi flick. I got burned again by the critics. Acting and cinematography were very well done, but beyond that, what a snooze-fest. Nothing interesting happensWow, I was really jacked to see this movie. Everyone's saying it's like next best SciFi flick. I got burned again by the critics. Acting and cinematography were very well done, but beyond that, what a snooze-fest. Nothing interesting happens in this movie. I appreciate that it is trying to be grounded in reality but then it goes and throws that out the window with unbelievable physics in some sequences. I don't want to spoil anything, but this movie is basically 2 hours of waiting for something to happen. I wouldn't even call this SciFi. It's more like a family drama. Completely disappointed. If you are expecting something along the lines of 2001, Interstellar,etc., sorry but prepare to be bored to death. Even the Martian, which is a comparable movie to this, was leaps and bounds ahead. If you like nice space visuals, it might be worth it to see unless you have an awesome HD TV at home. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
BikerjamesOct 7, 2019
I don't mind the slow pacing - but the movie really pushes the limits of believability in many scenes. I actually chuckled at the ridiculousness of certain scenes, especially when he used a shield through a rock field which not only did notI don't mind the slow pacing - but the movie really pushes the limits of believability in many scenes. I actually chuckled at the ridiculousness of certain scenes, especially when he used a shield through a rock field which not only did not push him backwards but didn't change his course, and he somehow projected the trajectory back to his craft perfectly from a spinning turbine. WOW. Although Brad Pitt is fine in the roll, I didn't feel a connection to him, and didn't feel the connection between him and his father either. The overall look of the film is excellent and its saving grace. I'm still not sure what was causing the electrical surges that was taking place throughout the universe, but some of the dialogue was muddied here and there and difficult to decipher. People sitting around me were complaining about the slow pacing when the film ended. The film reminded me of a space version of Apocalypse Now, where the destination is a mad man and the journey getting there is treacherous and death. Ad Astra is not at the level of that masterpiece of course, but maybe worth seeing for the overall visual look. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
wollam11Sep 20, 2019
Relate to the vast emptiness of space with vast stretches of boredom. Pretty pictures though.
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
4
SSRSep 20, 2019
Can't agree with average critical opinion on this. Couldn't have cared less about the characters. Story was a mess, or more so a mess of editing. Exposition so heavily laboured I was eye rolling (yes Brad, we know your dad is difficult!). TooCan't agree with average critical opinion on this. Couldn't have cared less about the characters. Story was a mess, or more so a mess of editing. Exposition so heavily laboured I was eye rolling (yes Brad, we know your dad is difficult!). Too long, or at least a lack of content. And I'm not put off by slow films; I like Solaris (both versions), Stalker, Blade Runner etc. Production was great, and a couple of nice set pieces, that's the best I can say. Expand
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
4
Brent_MarchantSep 20, 2019
This amalgamation of half-baked, underdeveloped, disjointed scientific and philosophical notions translates into a film whose narrative has more plot holes than a wheel of Swiss cheese. The lackluster, deadpan dramatic performance of BradThis amalgamation of half-baked, underdeveloped, disjointed scientific and philosophical notions translates into a film whose narrative has more plot holes than a wheel of Swiss cheese. The lackluster, deadpan dramatic performance of Brad Pitt (who really should stick to comedy), combined with sluggish pacing, underwhelming special effects and a poorly written, poorly executed script, leave viewers wanting for much more than what this package delivers. What's worse, though, is that there were ample opportunities to salvage this story and to take it in surprising, refreshing and enlightening directions that would have made for a much, much better picture. Pay no heed to the critics on this one; all hype aside, it's a major disappointment and far from the epic masterpiece status that has been so undeservedly lavished upon it. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
5
MetaflixSep 21, 2019
"Below the surface, there was nothing."

This quote from the movie pretty much sums it all up. To say that 'Ad Astra' failed to meet our astronomically high expectations would be a cosmically vast understatement. We'll get to that in a
"Below the surface, there was nothing."

This quote from the movie pretty much sums it all up. To say that 'Ad Astra' failed to meet our astronomically high expectations would be a cosmically vast understatement. We'll get to that in a minute, but first we need to address the issue of the human buffalo sitting to our right who at first served as an annoyance, but as the movie painfully played on, became a welcomed distraction.

We've never seen a fellow patron shamelessly double-fisting popcorn into their mouth before, much less grunting it all down like some wild bison inhaling a pile of feed out on the plains. His form was both well-practiced and impressive.

In addition to the popcorn, he also ordered a personal thin crust sausage pizza. When it arrived, he whispered something to the runner. Much to our surprise, it was a request for a salt shaker. Because everyone knows that if there's one thing a sausage pizza doesn't have enough of, it's salt!

The application of the salt was quite liberal, of course. Not just a sprinkling over the entirety of the pie before eating it, mind you, but applying it to each individual slice before they were to be consumed for that extra bit o' salty goodness. And if you think we're exaggerating how much salt this human-bovine hybrid consumed, after the pizza was eaten, he literally swirled his index finger through the greasy salt streaks that remained on the tray and licked it. Mmm-tastes like an early onset heart attack!

Now back to the actual film review. Let's put it this way: you know there's a massive problem with the film when serious action sequences are drawing laughter from the audience. We couldn't laugh. We were too offended by the ridiculousness of it all.

To put it plainly, 'Ad Astra' has some of the most absurdly unrealistic scenes of any space movie we've seen. If you know anything about physics, botany, nutrition, astronomy, or just about any other branch of science, 'Ad Astra' will make your brain hurt.

Add to this the fact that the plot, production design, and cinematography are all quite horrid, and we've got ourselves a classic Razzie situation on our hands, people. Oh, and just one more thing: several media outlets have labelled the film "one of the best space movies in years." Saying as much is a gross injustice to last years criminally underrated 'First Man' and anyone who echoes this sentiment should be banished to the dark side of the moon (where apparently there are space pirates with Star Wars blasters roaming around)!
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
4
johndoe2014Sep 28, 2019
There are dumb movies for smart people (i.e., raising arizona, borat, marx bros, etc) and then there are movies like this that seem smart, but only if you are not smart enough to recognize that almost nothing in it makes any sense -There are dumb movies for smart people (i.e., raising arizona, borat, marx bros, etc) and then there are movies like this that seem smart, but only if you are not smart enough to recognize that almost nothing in it makes any sense - scientifically, practically, emotionally, or on any other level. It is a visually beautiful film, Pitt does a fine job or acting, the concept is fine, but the space experience is silly, and the relationships are just plot driven. We really learn nothing about anyone in the story including Pitt, except that he thinks he should trust people more and wishes he could - not exactly profound ground there. What I would guess is that the writers were smart enough to know that what they were writing was dumbed-down, and the science was not even close to anything that would not inspire a real astronaut to laugh out loud at most of it, but they figured the average movie goer would not notice and would love - macho man goes to neptune. But it is an expensive missed opportunity to make a great movie just to make money. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
4
CaspROct 3, 2019
This Movie, while visually stunning, had almost no character development, left me wanting more in everything from a deeper story line to an actual purpose to the movie. The ending of the movie was nothing more than anticlimactic let down, notThis Movie, while visually stunning, had almost no character development, left me wanting more in everything from a deeper story line to an actual purpose to the movie. The ending of the movie was nothing more than anticlimactic let down, not that there really was any climax to the movie. i went in having zero expectations and was horribly let down. such big names tragically under utilized. All Negatives aside, the visuals and score in this movie were phenomenal. The realism of this sci fi movie was believable, left me excited and wanting more. I think this movie had a lot of potential but wasn't able to deliver a complete product. Every character interaction was extremely surface level and almost seemed completely irrelevant. there seemed to be this urgency to jump around from situation, to interaction, as if they were in a rush to jam this 12 hour movie into the allotted time yet there was no payoff. I would recommend this as a lazy rainy Sunday watch, if theres NOTHING else to peak your interest. wouldn't spend money on it. Catch it on TV. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
MovieDoctorOct 5, 2019
Very slow moving. Not enough substance to keep the movie goer interested. I was waiting for it to end. Too bad, it had enough to work with but it just fell way to short.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
AnonymousPalSep 20, 2019
It's like the enthralling Interstellar and touching Tree of Life had a boring, ugly space baby. The most realistic part of the movie is an Applebee's on the moon. Not Brad Pitt's fault but definitely not his finest.
6 of 20 users found this helpful614
All this user's reviews
4
dobbins47Sep 20, 2019
Largely boring punctuated by mostly ludicrous adventures. I usually like character studies and relationship movies, but in this case, I never cared about the major characters.
6 of 20 users found this helpful614
All this user's reviews
5
RPPJrSep 20, 2019
If you liked Arrival and Interstellar you’ll like Ad Astra. For me, all those films failed on a plot and character level because they were so focused on trying to “say something”. Theme needs to be felt organically by the audience via aIf you liked Arrival and Interstellar you’ll like Ad Astra. For me, all those films failed on a plot and character level because they were so focused on trying to “say something”. Theme needs to be felt organically by the audience via a character’s actions and the plot. When filmmakers hit us over the head with it by putting it in dialogue and voice over, it bores the audience. Except for critics who mistake that kind of movie making for deep art. There are a couple of touching moments and a couple of thrilling ones, but they are two few and far between. Expand
6 of 22 users found this helpful616
All this user's reviews
6
AnastasyahSep 20, 2019
Boring
But Brad makes this film much better. Without him, it would be really a **** story.
5 of 19 users found this helpful514
All this user's reviews
5
CMCSep 22, 2019
Hollywood film, superficial character development, unnecessary occasional conflict to keep things going, derivative art direction, 3dCG props, no cleverNESS or originalITY, predictable bankable stock Hollywood actors, ridiculous events, andHollywood film, superficial character development, unnecessary occasional conflict to keep things going, derivative art direction, 3dCG props, no cleverNESS or originalITY, predictable bankable stock Hollywood actors, ridiculous events, and possibly the most trite and stupid ending and resolution to the main character's conflict and the movie, a real groaner. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
6
duckhostSep 28, 2019
It's impossible to watch this movie and not compare with Interstellar and Ad Astra aims for a very minimalistic approach and it does that well. My biggest problem with this movie is the pacing, it's really really bad and for a movie that onlyIt's impossible to watch this movie and not compare with Interstellar and Ad Astra aims for a very minimalistic approach and it does that well. My biggest problem with this movie is the pacing, it's really really bad and for a movie that only lasts 2 hours it shouldn't be, some scenes just go for too long and there isn't much to keep the viewer interested in the movie, I like long movies (one of my favorite movie off all time is 3h30 minutes long) but Ad Astra just doesn't stick the landing, this is a personal story told in a very personal way but the movie can't see the potential storytelling wise that this had. Some secondary characters do get introduced but they don't show up for more than five minutes and even the world of Ad Astra gets shorthanded, I wanted to see more of the moon pirates, more of the martian world but nope back to Brad Pitt trying to find his dad. The score suits the movie very well especially the more action-oriented ones and they even make the silence of space feel more natural, words can't describe but you will feel it when you watch it, it just suits the theme very well but I don't come even close to Interstellar level IMO. In conclusion, the Aquiles heel of this movie for me is without a doubt the pacing, Interstellar is almost 3 hours long and has far better pacing than this movie, the acting is very good, the cinematography is breathtaking, the dialogue is well written and on all the technical levels the movie is very good but the pacing doesn't help. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
Mafia1Sep 28, 2019
This was a disappointing movie. It is shot well. The visuals are great. But overall a kind of too introspective. Boring and a poor plot.
The Plot is pointless. Feel like all the money was wasted because you have the amazing tech in the
This was a disappointing movie. It is shot well. The visuals are great. But overall a kind of too introspective. Boring and a poor plot.
The Plot is pointless. Feel like all the money was wasted because you have the amazing tech in the background of the POOR plot.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
frenesiSep 29, 2019
muy desilusionado con esta peli es aburrida,lenta y mal guión pero bonitos efectos especiales
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
dmarkwindOct 1, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slow, dragging, and more than a little depressing. The effects are good and Brad Pitt does a great job playing an emotionally compromised astronaut who turns out to be bad luck to a lot of the folks he comes in contact with. The psychological check-ins his character has to regularly endure make you wonder if he’s just playing the game or what his real motives might be, while at the same time giving hints of a fascist government pulling the strings from back home. It does show us a few things no space movie I’ve seen has shown us before, including: a person parachuting down from an low-orbit antenna station, a high-speed moon buggy chase, a unique fight scene in space, an astronaut swimming underwater in his space suit, and the first space surfing I’ve seen since Dark Star. Overall, not a favorite or something I’ll need to see again. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
caveatscotiOct 1, 2019
Heart of Darkness in space, which could have been great , but... Beautiful cinematography, Brad Pitt at his best and some tense action scenes early on- these are the good. The bad: the third act is a tedious go-nowhere slog (literally),Heart of Darkness in space, which could have been great , but... Beautiful cinematography, Brad Pitt at his best and some tense action scenes early on- these are the good. The bad: the third act is a tedious go-nowhere slog (literally), there’s jump-scare reveal scene so dumb it seems to have teleported in from another movie, and the science is bad. Baaaaad. Gravity works and then it doesn’t, sometimes in the same scene; space is vast but then conveniently small when the plot requires it; and gunfights inside a spacecraft? No. Just no. And the over-arching theme ends up being: ‘human achievement is hard and turns you into an empty misanthrope- stay home and make babies, you’re better off.’ The horror. The. Horror. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
MargateBuffSep 22, 2019
What a bore. I'll see anything with Brad Pitt in it, and Tommy Lee Jones is always interesting. Not in this film, though. The material is not up to their talents. Lee is a flatulent, philosophizing, mad scientist, and Pitt somehow manages toWhat a bore. I'll see anything with Brad Pitt in it, and Tommy Lee Jones is always interesting. Not in this film, though. The material is not up to their talents. Lee is a flatulent, philosophizing, mad scientist, and Pitt somehow manages to underplay the role of a cool and collected astronaut whose heartbeat never exceeds 80.

The look of the film is stunning, and there are some imaginative takes on gravity, including one scene where Pitt plummets on a planet where there is more gravity than on Earth. But the story is weak, and efforts to perk it up with a chase scene and vary mishaps en route to Neptune only serve to remind you of how little else is going on.
Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
4
Juan92acgSep 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mas lenta que el caballo del malo..... es un remaster de marco buscando a su madre Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
5
MrsAquinoSep 25, 2019
Although Brad Pitt is a handsome man and the cinematography is beautiful this film is emotionless and anti-climactic. Many movie goers were loud about how terrible this movie was as they were leaving the theater. Save your money and wait forAlthough Brad Pitt is a handsome man and the cinematography is beautiful this film is emotionless and anti-climactic. Many movie goers were loud about how terrible this movie was as they were leaving the theater. Save your money and wait for it to be on Netflix. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
GrassmannSep 28, 2019
Slow, nonsense, not original at all. Gets a 6 for the descent visual effects.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
catlinhSep 28, 2019
"Ad Astra" follows a story of a determined astronaut(Brad Pitt)who sets on a secret mission to locate his supposedly dead father and to find the source that is putting Earth in critical danger. This film is extremely slow-paced(and"Ad Astra" follows a story of a determined astronaut(Brad Pitt)who sets on a secret mission to locate his supposedly dead father and to find the source that is putting Earth in critical danger. This film is extremely slow-paced(and predictable)considering that it is only 2 hours(like any other movie). "Ad Astra" is monotonous throughout, with a very unnecessary, imbecile plot that makes no sense, which will put you to sleep for almost half of the movie. However, prominent themes of a meaningful relationship between a father and son is truly heartwarming to watch and the theme of sacrificing your life for your career is also shown. The special effects crew is someone I would like to applaud to. I appreciate that they were able to successfully create a space-like environment in a movie theater, although, it was excruciatingly lagging. They could have cut out many parts of simple (silent) sequences or transitions which were at least 5 minutes or longer, that could have been much shorter. James Gray, with "Ad Astra" has tried too hard to make this a meaningful, original movie. With monologues that were sappy and not so bittersweet as it should have been. This film has many characters that serve almost no impact on or a crucial role in the film, which I am not a fan of. In conclusion, PLEASE do NOT waste a movie ticket or your money to watch "Ad Astra" if you are not into space-related films. More importantly, PLEASE do NOT bring your kids or friends who are 17 or under as they will get bored and most likely doze off. As a teenager watching "Ad Astra", felt like years. I got bored very easily and fell asleep like the majority of the audience. If I was awake, I would see people walk out disappointed. However, some people(mainly adults) would most likely appreciate its' interesting aspects and uniqueness. Overall, "Ad Astra" is a film not worthy to watch as it will most likely to come out on streaming services or sites that you can watch without wasting money or a movie ticket. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
steve-wOct 1, 2019
I left 60mins in…………says it all! Just too pretentious, slow and in truth boring for my taste. A save the world movie in slow motion
In its favour! Brad Pitt tries
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerrySep 25, 2019
Brad Pitt spends much of this movie alone, which is made more tedious by the constant inner monologue narrating his personal struggle. The premise has promise: He's sent into space to determine what happened to his father's daringBrad Pitt spends much of this movie alone, which is made more tedious by the constant inner monologue narrating his personal struggle. The premise has promise: He's sent into space to determine what happened to his father's daring exploration, which now seems to be causing unexplained power surges on Earth. There's plenty of outer space special effects, but nothing visually impressive. Worse is that the mystery is a misnomer. Nothing is solved or revealed (except his damn emotions). Even with the slow pacing, we keep hoping for some sci-fi excitement that never materializes. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
5
vtvyperSep 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don Director, "Wow, this movie really drags!". "It's okay boss" replies Earl Editor, "We'll just add a gratuitous moon combat scene." "Great call, Earl...but it's still boring as hell." "Oh, face chewing monkeys!" Exclaims a jubilant Earl, "I know, it doesn't really advance the plot line but it'll be a real 'pick me up' to keep the audience from nodding off!" "Good, good but we need to stagger to the ending with a monotonous drone so we can get huge props from our peers about how deep and existential we are." "DONE, man is this going to be huge, AD disASTRA is going to win big!" Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
5
DrStrangeLUgSep 27, 2019
This is son finds his father movie with a SciFi window dressing. It's trying to be like "The Martian", "Interstellar" or event "Moon" but doesnt manage it.

It's also too long - a lot of the movie is taken up with travel time or waiting time
This is son finds his father movie with a SciFi window dressing. It's trying to be like "The Martian", "Interstellar" or event "Moon" but doesnt manage it.

It's also too long - a lot of the movie is taken up with travel time or waiting time that doesnt advance the plot. It needed either more story or a shorter duration.

I really got the feeling that the script needed another one or two iterations.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
Gnova67Sep 23, 2019
It' Apocalypse Now except without a great director, Marlon Brando, or anything to make you care about any of the characters.
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
4
SergiopSep 28, 2019
There not much story and the picture is bad. I do not understand why Brad Pitt got involved in such a bad movie
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
4
tp122Sep 27, 2019
Some good moments, beautiful photography, but ultimately disappointing. Some ridiculous plot holes and long, dull, sleep-inducing stretches. Pitt is solid, but the character is uninteresting. I sat in the theater wishing I had a 'fastSome good moments, beautiful photography, but ultimately disappointing. Some ridiculous plot holes and long, dull, sleep-inducing stretches. Pitt is solid, but the character is uninteresting. I sat in the theater wishing I had a 'fast forward' button. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
4
dbwingcoOct 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not that great. Pitt's performance is fine but soulless. The cinematography is the highlight of the film which isn't a bad thing. The film didn't break any new ground on father/son relationships or relationships in general and it really didn't answer or even ask questions about extraterrestrial life. Would be careful recommending this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
reflexreactionOct 11, 2019
Yet again the critics prove they’re out of touch with the rest of us. Did I really just watch the same film as them? Boring, slow and terribly written. Not worth the time (and I LOVE sci-fi!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
HarmiclirOct 12, 2019
The movie looks good. The acting is fine. But the plot is obvious and dull. Pitts voice over is done in hushed, reverent tones that amplify the slow running of the thing in the first half and the almost complete cessation of movement inThe movie looks good. The acting is fine. But the plot is obvious and dull. Pitts voice over is done in hushed, reverent tones that amplify the slow running of the thing in the first half and the almost complete cessation of movement in the second half.

For the first time in years, I closed my eyes for the last 20 minutes and kinda sorta listened and had no difficulty following any of it. If you're half-sleeping through a movie.....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DarthNihilusOct 14, 2019
I love a good space movie as much as the next person and I'm also a Brad Pitt fan so when this movie was announced it seemed like a no brainer that it would be good. Unfortunately that was not the case. The slow pacing of the film makesI love a good space movie as much as the next person and I'm also a Brad Pitt fan so when this movie was announced it seemed like a no brainer that it would be good. Unfortunately that was not the case. The slow pacing of the film makes boredom set in very quickly. Also the confused tone of the film is another hard pill to swallow. Throughout the entire movie I had the feeling of anticipation. I was waiting for something interesting to happen to take the movie to the next step and validate my expectations but that never happened. The film seems like it wants to convey a messag but isn't quite sure what it should say. By the end of the film, you get the sense that this movie was completely unneccessary Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
moviecritic68Oct 17, 2019
I'm guilty of not heeding the reviews of fellow critics I have followed in the past. I actually dozed off twice in my seat. Not one of Pitt's & Jones's better roles. Good enough to stay out of the red but a bitter disappointment to someoneI'm guilty of not heeding the reviews of fellow critics I have followed in the past. I actually dozed off twice in my seat. Not one of Pitt's & Jones's better roles. Good enough to stay out of the red but a bitter disappointment to someone who loves science fiction & space films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews