Orion Pictures Corporation | Release Date: February 17, 1989
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 180 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
148
Mixed:
24
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SDKMar 24, 2007
Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure is the Zen of the 20th century.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarioPlayerDec 7, 2012
All my smarticles disappeared after watching this movie. It's so strange, yet there's something about it that makes it charming, funny, and just a great comedy. It's also mind-numbingly dumb, but what else can you expect from an '80s movieAll my smarticles disappeared after watching this movie. It's so strange, yet there's something about it that makes it charming, funny, and just a great comedy. It's also mind-numbingly dumb, but what else can you expect from an '80s movie about two surfer-dude high school students traveling through time to pick up famous figures in history for a report? Exactly. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
sammieteeOct 14, 2013
Excellent! Nothing can describe it better. A solid 80's classic that really is excellent. It's not the best movie obviously but it's perfect in what it does, and is not for the critical or humorless.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
genericusenameAug 11, 2013
It's just a really good movie. Plot-wise it was nothing special, but rarely is a movie so enjoyable. It's a stupid movie, but I can't help to love it. Very funny and an overall good time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
umbershapAug 19, 2018
Worst movie I ever watch to this date. Acting was so bad specially Keanu Reaves.
I really don't understand what is funny about mocking with great historical figures.
Genghis Khan cleaning toilet. Are you kidding me?
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelR.Oct 24, 2007
freaking awesome.The people that give this movie negative reviews are 30-60 year olds that don't like movies us young adults watch.they grew up in a different generation what they find funny is not funny to me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZackBJul 14, 2008
Absolutely a film that just makes you feel good. It really does have something for children and adults and it's been my favorite film since the 3rd grade. I still remember the day I finally got the 69 joke. What really makes this film Absolutely a film that just makes you feel good. It really does have something for children and adults and it's been my favorite film since the 3rd grade. I still remember the day I finally got the 69 joke. What really makes this film work is the endearing innocence of the title characters. Even in comedies it's rare to find characters who blindly accept others as they are and want nothing more than everyone to just have a good time. Furthermore, in my opinion, it genuinely boasts many clever jokes throughout. It's certainly not the greatest movie ever made, but for just being a good time, it's a 10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Tss5078Oct 6, 2014
Since the very beginnings of film, "buddy" comedies have always been very popular. From Laurel & Hardy and Abbott & Costello to Cheech & Chong and Harold & Kumar, audiences love to see what kind of trouble these guys can get into. After 25Since the very beginnings of film, "buddy" comedies have always been very popular. From Laurel & Hardy and Abbott & Costello to Cheech & Chong and Harold & Kumar, audiences love to see what kind of trouble these guys can get into. After 25 years and with talks of a second sequel on the way, I finally decided to see what Bill & Ted were all about. I was always scared off by the PG rating, I mean George Carlin in a PG rated film, come on! The first part of the film was pretty much what I expected it to be, as the two failing history dudes, fly around the world looking for historical figures. Things turn from ordinary to extraordinary when the group finally returns to 1989 and decide to go the mall of all places. This is where the film really finds itself and becomes more than just your typical buddy story. The interactions with people and the reactions on both sides are absolutely priceless and is what changed my opinion of this film. Keanu Reeves stars in one of his earliest roles, and manages to show that at some point in his life, he did have a personality and could tell a joke. His partner Alex Winter didn't really do much before or since, and while he wasn't great, he did have chemistry with Reeves, which always helps a movie progress. Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure wasn't so excellent, but it was different and manages to hold your attention. I still think this film would have been much better if it were R rated and a lot more edgy, but for what it was, it wasn't bad at all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TTWRApr 23, 2013
Good movie, love the Doctor Who reference. The cast is not an overload of special people, it's just two best friends who travel in time to find famous figures in history for a history report. I mean, what do you expect from an 80s movie likeGood movie, love the Doctor Who reference. The cast is not an overload of special people, it's just two best friends who travel in time to find famous figures in history for a history report. I mean, what do you expect from an 80s movie like this? Most of these movies from the 80s and 90s are underrated because people judge them fom their standpoint today, not like how it would've been back then. when we listen to old Jazz, do we ever criticize it like it just started this year, no. And we shouldn't judge these movies like that either. I think like I was in the 80s at that point, and that's why I think it's a really good movie. 8/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
svperstar6Feb 11, 2016
This movie is not a masterpiece nor it's a milestone, so i can see why critics didn't give it high scores but don't make the meta score fools you, this movie is far from being below average as you can see in user scores. There are two aspectsThis movie is not a masterpiece nor it's a milestone, so i can see why critics didn't give it high scores but don't make the meta score fools you, this movie is far from being below average as you can see in user scores. There are two aspects bring this movie upfront. First, it is a must-see for anyone who grew up in late 80 's and early 90 's and for people who wants to get a grip of that time. Second, it's fun. Pure fun. I think it's hard to get bored from this movie, it is simply an enjoyable ride through time. So watch this movie, be excellent to each other and party on dude! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsApr 5, 2019
One of the best buddy comedies of all time, Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure is a wholesome and hilarious romp through time. Anyone who loves the 1980s or that grew up in the 80s or 90s will find a lot of nostalgia when watching this movie,One of the best buddy comedies of all time, Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure is a wholesome and hilarious romp through time. Anyone who loves the 1980s or that grew up in the 80s or 90s will find a lot of nostalgia when watching this movie, and the humor is good enough that even kids from today or older audiences will appreciate it too. The script is hilarious and brilliant, the acting is divine, and the action and cinematography is bodacious. My only advice to you is to watch this movie, and be excellent to each other! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TheMovieSceneJun 18, 2016
Keanu Reeves (Ted) and Alex Winter (Bill) play San Dimas ‘dudes’ so close they seem wired together.

Preoccupied with plans for ‘a most triumphant video’ to launch their two-man rock band, The Wyld Stallyns, they’re suddenly, as Bill put
Keanu Reeves (Ted) and Alex Winter (Bill) play San Dimas ‘dudes’ so close they seem wired together.

Preoccupied with plans for ‘a most triumphant video’ to launch their two-man rock band, The Wyld Stallyns, they’re suddenly, as Bill put it, ‘in danger of flunking most heinously’ out of history.

George Carlin appears as a cosmic benefactor who offers them a chance to travel back through history and gather up the speakers they need for an awesome presentation.

Through brief, perilous stops here and there, they end up jamming Napoleon, Billy The Kid, Sigmund Freud, Socrates, Joan of Arc, Genghis Khan, Abraham Lincoln and Mozart into their time-traveling phone booth.

Each encounter is so brief and utterly cliched that history has little chance to contribute anything to this pic’s two dimensions.

Reeves, with his beguilingly blank face and loose-limbed, happy-go-lucky physical vocabulary, and Winter, with his golden curls, gleefully good vibes and ‘bodacious’ vocabulary, propel this adventure as long as they can.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SomePersonaFeb 8, 2017
A mixed adventure. The obvious problem with the movie today is that it is very dated from the visual effects to the almost-nineties music (this is 1989). It's still funny, though, and Reeves and Winter are great in it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EricPAug 23, 2005
One of my favourite films of all time, not just because it's sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, but because it's also capable of making you smile when you do finally get one of the many hidden jokes. It might seem all dumb comedy, and One of my favourite films of all time, not just because it's sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, but because it's also capable of making you smile when you do finally get one of the many hidden jokes. It might seem all dumb comedy, and indeed it's played that way, but the script's not always as dumb as the characters. Whilst they might be playing dumb, Reeves and especially Alex Winter actually manage to pull off pretty impressive feats of comic timing, without which the film would indeed have fallen very flat. If after all that, it's still not to your taste, bogus! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Feb 15, 2007
A damning indictment of many movie critics who are supposed to be able to evaluate films on criteria and presentation, not preferences for the types of characters portrayed. Even though the premise of this comedy is silly, it's a fully A damning indictment of many movie critics who are supposed to be able to evaluate films on criteria and presentation, not preferences for the types of characters portrayed. Even though the premise of this comedy is silly, it's a fully formed presentation with something for everyone. It properly observes that rock music has evolved to where it has the potential for transcendence, with it's modified cover of U2's finest guitar work. It also makes historical figures interesting to high-schoolers, no mean feat. This film is exemplary in its plot and character development, providing just enough information to make us comfortable with its absurd time-travel premise, and builds to it's climax, as the boys attempt to salvage their GPA, which is stunningly inspirational and life-affirming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
imthenoobSep 2, 2020
Reeves and Winter have great chemistry that really elevates the movie, Carlin is fantastic as always despite his small role. It's comedic at times but doesn't really do much to take advantage of the premise (which really kind of a knock-offReeves and Winter have great chemistry that really elevates the movie, Carlin is fantastic as always despite his small role. It's comedic at times but doesn't really do much to take advantage of the premise (which really kind of a knock-off of Doctor Who/Back To The Future). It's a decent movie, I could totally get why it has a cult following but I don't think it's as good as they make it out to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisMay 8, 2022
No matter how silly this movie can become, it is still a hilarious and engaging comedy, and an utter delight from start to finish. The screenplay was intelligent, original, uproariously funny and witty. I also loved the film's plot, aboutNo matter how silly this movie can become, it is still a hilarious and engaging comedy, and an utter delight from start to finish. The screenplay was intelligent, original, uproariously funny and witty. I also loved the film's plot, about Bill and Ted going back in time to make sure they don't fail their history exam. I will admit I don't care for Keanu Reeves that much, but as Bill and Ted he and Alex Winter turned in honest, appealing and likable performances. The soundtrack is hip and cool too. The film is full of wonderful characters and scenes, the Tudor scene was indeed fun, but any scene with Napolean and Beethoven are guaranteed to end you up in hysterics. The adventure is fast-paced, imaginative and never has an unengaging moment. All in all, a hugely enjoyable film. 10/10 Bethany Cox Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
slider1983Sep 15, 2020
Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure shows that positivity, hope and being nice to one another can bring people together regardless of who they are and where they come from. There simply aren’t enough films like this in the world. It’s aBill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure shows that positivity, hope and being nice to one another can bring people together regardless of who they are and where they come from. There simply aren’t enough films like this in the world. It’s a terrific, good spirited movie because not only does it offer a simple basic history lesson but above all teaches kindness towards others while being so damned funny. Excellent Adventure is a wacky adventure through time that’s not to be missed. Excellent dudes! (air guitars). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OniaminkaAug 28, 2020
Once again the critics are wrong. A complete fastastic movie! Great casting - especially the daughters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Gamzguy17Aug 21, 2021
So dude like, like, I just had a fun time hanging around with Bill and Ted man! We went on a semi-excellent adventure where we saw these famous people who have contributed to history in some way, shape, or form, and like, oh man this was theSo dude like, like, I just had a fun time hanging around with Bill and Ted man! We went on a semi-excellent adventure where we saw these famous people who have contributed to history in some way, shape, or form, and like, oh man this was the tight part, we brought them all back to 1988 and got them to adapt to the pop culture mannerisms of this time! Oh ha ha ha, it makes no lick of sense, but I gotta dig those guitar licks whenever we air guitar at something that was truly 'Excellent!' Doodle-doodle doo! *plays air guitar* The less said the better because on the surface, Bill and Ted are a couple of numskulls, but they are numskulls who sure know how to have a fun party man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews