Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: February 16, 2018
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3413 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,984
Mixed:
679
Negative:
750
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
EstheteMar 19, 2019
Over the years, people have asked Marvel to continue the Blade trilogy with Wesley Snipes, and instead it people received a highly overrated nonsense.
38 of 45 users found this helpful387
All this user's reviews
3
maxsnow99Feb 19, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Black panther was not a good movie. it was at best a sub par superhero movie. the movie had some quality effects and acting, but that's about it. in terms of writing and story this film fell very short. I would first like to point out the biggest problem I have with this movie, simply from a storytelling perspective. when engaged in ritualistic combat with this movie's primary antagonist the main character loses all his mystic powers to even the playing field. he then loses, badly. now losing to the main villain the first time is a common plot point, but normally the main character loses due to a lack of planning, foul play, or a need to train and gain some new perspective to defeat the antagonist(luke returning to Dagobah, Batman climbing out of the pit bane was born in, etc). here black panther, whose sole merit is his training and good heart, loses. he has lost all my at this point. The only thing i've been told is his strong suit, honorable combat, he has just lost at, but I am somehow supposed to believe he is the one meant to fix everything. Take iron mans suit away, he's still a genius, take caps shield away he's a super soldier with a heart of gold, take black panthers panther powers and pajamas away, and he's apparently worthless. but there is still some chance to redeem himself. he could learn something new despite the fact that he has trained for ritual combat his whole life. maybe it's some emotional revelation. he does gain some tension with his father but even in his visit back to the spirit world he doesn't really confront him, he just mentioned it and says he has unfinished business. this new emotional conflict wasn't present during the original fight with the villain so how its resolution would help him is beyond me. he then wins the last fight for no reason other than it was the end of the movie. he tried using some weird tactic with the train, but if you cut out every scene of them dodging a train the movie would have been exactly the same. on that same topic if you cut out every scene with the man from the CIA the movie would have been the same. this movie is full of filler like this that doesn't really move the plot. the fact that people are praising this movie so much confuses me. it is not new or fresh, it is a heap of rehashed plots, themes, and tropes. To top it off the beginning and end of the movie are exactly the same. What I mean by this is that nothing has changed. If you just show the first couple minutes and the last couple minutes nothing seems to be different. Black panther becomes king and stays king and everything is the same.in almost any good movie something has to be different at the end, the plot had to change something, look at almost any of the most famous classics and the ending has something different, even the big lebowski had change at the end.there is some minor difference at the end, they are trying to do more with the outside world, but this is cut short at the end of the movie so we really don't know where that goes. And the whole theme about helping other countries didn't really have anything to do with the main conflict of birthrights.

I am honestly baffled that this movie has received such shining reviews. It is nothing special. It was no better than any other superhero movie. I'm not saying a superhero movie cannot be amazing. The dark knight was an amazing piece of cinema, but this movie had no substance, nothing new or interesting, no characters that weren't generic (scientist sibling, honorable warrior man, angry young antagonist who was wronged). There are some other specific issues I have with the movie’s plot but I'll leave it at that. This movie was bland, just like the vibranium pajama wearing hero it was made for.
Expand
92 of 123 users found this helpful9231
All this user's reviews
2
MMurphyFeb 20, 2018
Meh. It was okay, but way way WAY overhyped. The action scenes were poorly animated, and the character motivations weren't plausible.
43 of 60 users found this helpful4317
All this user's reviews
4
TheocratesFeb 17, 2018
This film, at it’s foundation, is deeply flawed. Awkward dialogue from most characters excluding the lead. The action is unoriginal and hard to become invested in. CGI is below usual Marvel films and story is horribly paced.
82 of 116 users found this helpful8234
All this user's reviews
6
mroz22Feb 19, 2018
Plainly... Underwhelming. I typically get all fanboy over any/all Marvel films. And this one, based on the character, the dynamics socially and MCU related, the trailer and the early buzz, I went into this with too much expectation. If BlackPlainly... Underwhelming. I typically get all fanboy over any/all Marvel films. And this one, based on the character, the dynamics socially and MCU related, the trailer and the early buzz, I went into this with too much expectation. If Black panther came in under the radar, maybe it gets bumped to a 7. But the landscape has been set before this and it should have known better!

Boring film overall. Lazy script. Too long a run time. Below par CGI. Uneventful fight scenes. It's not the worst Marvel MCU film to date, but it's down in the bottom 5 for me. I compare what we should have gotten out of this movie to what Dr Strange brought to the MCU. -Introduce a secondary character (to the public not Marvel fans). -Introduce a gift to the MCU that hasn't been explained in prior films (Mystic arts / Vibranium technology). -Give us a villain with a twisted perspective on the respective gift (using mystic arts for immortality/vibranium tech to lift up a culture from oppression). -Build on the MCU to get us excited for what's to come. I left Dr Strange with such joy and thrill from the ride. I left Black Panther bored and thinking, what a waste of 3 hours. I could have gotten to the same place in 1.5 hours and with far less resistance if presented to the audience in a much more fun way.

Shame... Moving on to Infinity War.
Expand
35 of 51 users found this helpful3516
All this user's reviews
2
iiRazorFeb 19, 2018
This was one of the worst films I've watched in quite some time. The fact that it received a score higher than a 6 by critics is just unfortunate. Look at the user score compared to the critic score and tell me this movie was not over hyped garbage.
63 of 95 users found this helpful6332
All this user's reviews
6
QuietlionmusicFeb 18, 2018
Without giving anything away I would say there are entertaining action sequences, a look into a futuristic Africa which is cool, but the movie lacks a massive amount of character development. You don't feel invested in the protagonist at all-Without giving anything away I would say there are entertaining action sequences, a look into a futuristic Africa which is cool, but the movie lacks a massive amount of character development. You don't feel invested in the protagonist at all- even by the end of the movie. I swear Disney pays off reviewers because I expected a movie closer to a 90% based on the reviews I read. It was entertaining visually and a nice escape but overall nothing really stuck with me. Expand
61 of 93 users found this helpful6132
All this user's reviews
5
SergeantSozFeb 17, 2018
I knew going into this movie it was going to be another over-hyped Marvel flick. I also knew, hollywood critics would give it the Get Out treatment. Movies that portray women and blacks in a positive roll will automatically get perfectI knew going into this movie it was going to be another over-hyped Marvel flick. I also knew, hollywood critics would give it the Get Out treatment. Movies that portray women and blacks in a positive roll will automatically get perfect scores. Regarding Marvel movies, seriously almost all of them are overrated. Knowing nothing about the Black Panther comics, the film doesn't introduce the characters to someone who doesn't know who they are. I was lost the first half of the movie. On top of that, it just didn't make sense. How does vibranium, a metal, create all the tech advancements in Wakanda? The suit I get. Hard metal = bulletproof. But Marvel treats it like its the cure all - medical remedies, magnetic railways and future tech. Thats just lazy. If anything Wakanda could trade it and make a fortune on it boosting their economy and creating their futuristic metropolis. But thats not the case. Its kept a secret, which brings me to the message of the movie - Wakanda hiding while blacks across the world suffer. That is true, they are kinda bad for not helping their neighbors when they were being put in bondage. I won't spoil the story but its kinda like the Lion King. The visuals in this movie are pretty cool and the acting is good but the fights were just meh. I actually was bored most of the time. Just wasn't my cup of tea. Im not giving it a zero because thats just ridiculous. But for me it barely held my attention so 5 it is. Expand
46 of 71 users found this helpful4625
All this user's reviews
5
JexterFeb 17, 2018
None of the film critics can be trusted anymore. They seem to be only good for virtue signaling and SJW pandering these days. It is clearly a trend now. This is not a 10/10 film by any objective measure regardless of your subjective views.

I
None of the film critics can be trusted anymore. They seem to be only good for virtue signaling and SJW pandering these days. It is clearly a trend now. This is not a 10/10 film by any objective measure regardless of your subjective views.

I have to say that this was by far the most boring MCU film to date. I was not expecting much when I went to theater, but the film still managed to disappoint me. This is not to say that you cannot be entertained by it, but the perceived greatness relies heavily on the type lens you have. This film, like all other MCU films, got nothing to do with reality, it is a fantasy movie. The setting is somewhat interesting, but even as a fantasy, it forces suspension of disbelief. We know from history that an isolationist state like depicted in the film would not be able to exist. It would stagnate and most likely fall to tyranny at some point. This is conveniently explained away with magic (Vibranium), which makes it slightly more palatable. The film also introduces host of new characters to MCU, which are a mixed bag at best. Some of them are quite cringe worthy, some are not believable, while others do indeed put a solid performance and have development during the film. The plot is probably the strong point of the film. Some will not like it, as it is quite different from other MCU films. However, I did enjoy the plot more than the other parts of the film.

Aesthetically the film was pleasing. However, the over reliance on CGI is noticeable and poorly done at times. The film also lacks action scenes and the few that we have are not very well done. The combination of color, CGI and editing makes some of the scenes look very cartoonish and hard to follow.

I would still recommend the film. Lower your expectation and don't believe the professional film critics. They seems to be outright lying or pandering to perceived audience. It is pathetic.
Expand
113 of 175 users found this helpful11362
All this user's reviews
3
lordx51Feb 18, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh man was this movie bad and I love Marvel movies and I enjoy Black Panther the character. The actors for the most part were great. The writing was awful, story has nothing to do with the Marvel timeline besides showing of Wakanda. Cringe dialogue, totally predictable slow moving plot and lots of stuff that doesn't make sense. A hidden city the size of Atlanta in Africa, where no one reveals its secrets? Millions of people living in perfect Utopia in a modern society and the tech or secrets never get out(besides one person) for 100's of years? The action is so bad - ignores physics so many times. Turning a speeding car by reaching down from the roof and digging claws into the pavement lol? Throwing spears from the top of a speeding car, through the car in front of you to spike it, by a lady with no super strength? Falling from 200 feet to the pavement with just a Panther suit and no injuries(even the War Machine was almost Paralyzed when he fell). Just so much bad with this movie. Expand
56 of 87 users found this helpful5631
All this user's reviews
5
RastrellyFeb 18, 2018
A mediocre movie made by people thinking they are fimimg a breakthrough epic for ages. Generally speaking, there is nothing to like about this movie, and nothing to hate. It's just here, and it could not be here, and nothing would change.
16 of 25 users found this helpful169
All this user's reviews
6
mactexFeb 17, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was very excited to see the movie, but it just doesnt hold up to the promising character from Civil war, I really liked the actors and casting but so few of the characters get fleshed out. It really is a big step back for marvel and feels more like a later Sony Spiderman or Xmen movie-actually A LOT like an Xmen movie with the political tone of the movie. I thought the Jabari tribe and the early scenes with Killmonger and Klaw were great, the ridiculous rhinos at the end and the vibranium mountain trains were terrible, but the movies biggest flaw was the lack of acknowledgement of the Avengers, as if Killmonger's plan wouldn't be stopped by the other Avengers. Its OK not great. Expand
31 of 49 users found this helpful3118
All this user's reviews
3
Lonejumper23Feb 19, 2018
This was the Lion King story with adults. That is it and enjoy but it is nothing special.
24 of 38 users found this helpful2414
All this user's reviews
5
BradleyJordanFeb 16, 2018
I can't believe I relied on the professional reviews on Metacritic again and got burnt. The new Star Wars was a dud and this wasn't much better. I think it is great to have a black superhero but the acting and the storyline was weak. II can't believe I relied on the professional reviews on Metacritic again and got burnt. The new Star Wars was a dud and this wasn't much better. I think it is great to have a black superhero but the acting and the storyline was weak. I paid top dollar to see it on opening week and I'm starting to feel played. Why won't Metacritic let users score earlier??? Is Metacritic getting a kick backs for allowing marginal movies to get bigger opening week profits??? Expand
85 of 137 users found this helpful8552
All this user's reviews
0
LaSh4wn328Feb 18, 2018
As a black viewer I don't appreciate the way Disney tried to **** African culture and sell me an escapist fantasy about finding some magic rock that solves all of Africa's problems. It is also pandering in the extreme for a bunch of whiteAs a black viewer I don't appreciate the way Disney tried to **** African culture and sell me an escapist fantasy about finding some magic rock that solves all of Africa's problems. It is also pandering in the extreme for a bunch of white critics to nod there heads and babble about what an Big Important Movie this is for being about super-powered Africans. News flash, not all black people believe in weird magic animal spirits or think people should have bones in their noses and wear animal skins! Frankly I found this movie very problematic and a prime example of using propaganda to make money instead of telling a good story. Expand
94 of 153 users found this helpful9459
All this user's reviews
3
RaymoifulFeb 16, 2018
Disappointment. Maybe because of high expectations, but still. I liked the costumes, colors, soundtrack was good too, but thats all. Visually the movie was good, except the CGI fest at the end. The story not so much tho. My suspicion thatDisappointment. Maybe because of high expectations, but still. I liked the costumes, colors, soundtrack was good too, but thats all. Visually the movie was good, except the CGI fest at the end. The story not so much tho. My suspicion that Boseman may not have enough on screen charisma to lead a solo MCU movie was confirmed. Expand
77 of 126 users found this helpful7749
All this user's reviews
5
Rebecca31Feb 16, 2018
Did not meet expectations but it’s entertaining. Remember the five minute intro we got to Black Panther in Civil War? Well forget that because this is the Black Panther movie we deserve. Early reactions have been the most positive for aDid not meet expectations but it’s entertaining. Remember the five minute intro we got to Black Panther in Civil War? Well forget that because this is the Black Panther movie we deserve. Early reactions have been the most positive for a superhero movie in years and as it stands it’s currently the most positively reviewed superhero movie of all time. How’s that for high expectations. So I must admit I’m a little disappointed, for me it has been overhyped to unrealistic expectations. Not as good as I was hoping for and still one of the better solo Marvel movies but I wasn’t blown away at any point.

T’Challa aka the Black Panther aka the new King of Wakanda played by Chadwick Boseman returns home to his technologically advanced African nation that’s hidden from the rest of the world. Because the rest of the world cannot know about the vibranium and all the futuristic machines and weapons they possess because that could cause war and Wakanda are a peaceful nation who don’t want to wage war on the rest of the world even though with all their superpowered vibranium weapons they’d win easily. Anyway enter Andy Serkis and Michael B. Jordan. Also starring Lupita Nyong’o, Daniel Kaluuya, Martin Freeman, Danai Gurira and Angela Bassett. The cast are absolutely perfect, my only criticism is I needed more of Andy Serkis, his manic performance was great and he seemed underused. Lupita Nyong’o and Danai Gurira give standout performances and add that extra wow factor to the action sequences. It’s got the story even though it reminded me of The Lion King / Shakespeare on more than one occasion. Even when everything else around it is a bit over powering the story-line is solid and doesn’t become an over the top mess as is the downfall of recent superhero films. It also has a great villain, with clear motives and nothing ridiculous about him. Honestly I was very concerned when the film first started because I found the opening scene to be one of the most underwhelming scenes to start a superhero movie. That aside, the rest of the film makes up for it. The action sequences are terrific and thoroughly enjoyable even if the film itself didn’t really blow me away. Maybe it came down to all the hype or maybe it was the ridiculous CGI armoured rhinos. It’s not brilliant, I liked it but more importantly you’ll be entertained. Visually stunning and the soundtrack was excellent. Black Panther is a prime example of a good stand alone superhero movie and it’s recommended for all you superhero fans out there.
Expand
62 of 103 users found this helpful6241
All this user's reviews
0
MetachevitaFeb 20, 2018
I regret paying to see this movie. All the hype is completely nonsense. The storyline is weak, the acting is over the top, the music score is at times inappropriate and most of the time annoying, the cinematography b-rated, the dialogue aI regret paying to see this movie. All the hype is completely nonsense. The storyline is weak, the acting is over the top, the music score is at times inappropriate and most of the time annoying, the cinematography b-rated, the dialogue a bore, and the editing blasse! The best things about this movie are the costumes and the scenes when the defeated king begs for help from another tribe. The trailer for the movie was uninspiring and lacked to convey a cohesive storyline. I didn't plan on seeing this at the theater, but all the hype and rave reviews made me doubt my initial instincts. Were the positive reviews due to the movie portraying a black superhero and an advanced intelligent African race? Did everyone lower their standards in the name of diversity, equity and inclusion?

The Black Panther character wasn't likeable in the Avengers movie, and he was not likeable in this one either. Maybe it has everything to do with the actor and not the character?!?!
Expand
29 of 49 users found this helpful2920
All this user's reviews
6
orthorimFeb 17, 2018
Postitive: Interesting storyline, great landscapes, cool tech, cool costumes, Wakanda. Negative: Slow pace, predictable fight scenes, too serious, main character has no personality & pretty much every other character in the movie is morePostitive: Interesting storyline, great landscapes, cool tech, cool costumes, Wakanda. Negative: Slow pace, predictable fight scenes, too serious, main character has no personality & pretty much every other character in the movie is more interesting than him. Superhero movie missing a superhero. This had endless potential but the storytelling is just lacking. I had really high expectations so I was somewhat disappointed. However - I would go watch it anyway as I love all Marvel movies. Expand
29 of 49 users found this helpful2920
All this user's reviews
5
iuismywifeFeb 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great, fun characters. Wonderful world brought to life. Action was incredibly underwhelming and CGI was somehow god-awful. The very first action scene as a confusing blur. The final action set piece had incredibly distracting CGI. The final fight between the two looked like gummy bears dueling. Expand
55 of 93 users found this helpful5538
All this user's reviews
5
JNOTRFeb 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film presents a very solid 1st hour with many action scenes, a great presentation to the characters and the culture and a great villain, and I do not mean Killmonger (Michael B. Jordan) but Klaue (Andy Serkis) who should have been the main villain in this movie and leave the character of Jordan for the sequel. Since Klaue seemed like a villain that should be explored more and the performance of Andy Serkis is phenomenal, I did not like that they killed him so fast. And I think that there is the main problem of the film, the 2nd hour of film, after the death of Klaue, the film falls, it becomes long, boring and predictable, and has moments (in my opinion) a little ridiculous.
Even so, the soundtrack (which I liked the inclusion of modern rap songs and traditional African music), the CGI and the cinematography are excellent.
Expand
65 of 110 users found this helpful6545
All this user's reviews
5
Humble_BragFeb 17, 2018
This movie had a lot of potential given the material and setting, but the villain was still someone who wants to take over the world, and there were still tons of cheesy dialogue and corny jokes.
33 of 56 users found this helpful3323
All this user's reviews
4
GreatMartinFeb 16, 2018
After recently seeing “Logan”, “Wonder Woman” and “The Ant-Man” I thought I should rethink the sci-fi movie genre after years of avoiding them and then today I did just that by going to see “Black Panther” and realized that I had been rightAfter recently seeing “Logan”, “Wonder Woman” and “The Ant-Man” I thought I should rethink the sci-fi movie genre after years of avoiding them and then today I did just that by going to see “Black Panther” and realized that I had been right from the beginning.

The movie, from opening to closing, is special effects whether between the actors or in the background or car chases, battle sequences, even in hand to hand combats. Talking about things like fights and car chases, why have one of each when you can have two? Also, let’s have two villains instead of one plus instead of an all-white cast with one, maybe two faces of color, here we have an all-black cast with two white faces.

As with other sci-fi movies this runs around 20 minutes too long but this, in a way, distinguishes itself by having 2or 3 more storylines, even going for Shakespearean plots here and there of kings and queens, family treachery and rivalry. All in all, at certain times it gets convoluted and you just have to shake your head and skip on to the next special effect.

Chadwick Boseman does a fine job as the Black Panther but Winston Duke who challenges Boseman and is another Black Panther at times, except for the shifting color of his costume, makes a good rival. The two scene stealers are Andy Serkis as an over the top villain and Letitia Wright as Boseman’s sister who can cracks jokes that are hilarious, that make you laugh out loud and can walk into any James Bond film as Q and steal that movie from Bond.

Also in the cast are Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Daniel Kaluuyya, Lupita Nyong’o and Sterling K. Brown. It was directed by Ryan Coogler, who also wrote the screenplay with Joe Robert Cole, with a lo0t of help- from the editors Michael P. Shawver and Debbie Berman.

Along with Letitia Wright the musical score by Ludwig Goransson are the two outstanding features of the movie.

“Black Panther” will obviously appeal to the millions of sci-fi fans and Marvel comic followers and by the same token not appeal to the rest, like me!
Expand
60 of 102 users found this helpful6042
All this user's reviews
5
RichmanFeb 16, 2018
I Left work early to see the it opening day and was a bit disappointed. I was hopping for something great like last years Logan or Wonder Woman. Instead I watch some long drawn out boring movie. Honestly, I could not stay tuned to the movie.I Left work early to see the it opening day and was a bit disappointed. I was hopping for something great like last years Logan or Wonder Woman. Instead I watch some long drawn out boring movie. Honestly, I could not stay tuned to the movie. I am sure it will make money but believe this is no Logan or other great SH type movie that we all hope it would be. It just goes to show you that you can not trust what the critic are saying in their reviews. Expand
60 of 102 users found this helpful6042
All this user's reviews
6
mrdr4gonFeb 16, 2018
More culturally important than it is good, Black Panther basically just amounts to being another decent Marvel film - though one with a great cast and music. Being a bit light on action and a bit heavy on primitive politics (the mostMore culturally important than it is good, Black Panther basically just amounts to being another decent Marvel film - though one with a great cast and music. Being a bit light on action and a bit heavy on primitive politics (the most scientifically advanced country on earth decides their ruler via combat, REALLY?) really hurts the film, as do some strange logical inconsistencies, but overall the film is OK. Expand
67 of 115 users found this helpful6748
All this user's reviews
6
areyoumartinFeb 16, 2018
Beautiful CG and pictures. Interesting characters, but quite a guessable plot and too common in Superhero film. Also the fight scenes are quite boring.
56 of 97 users found this helpful5641
All this user's reviews
1
gtmantisFeb 18, 2018
I would skip it its quite an awful film! Boring and not very entertaining!!
48 of 84 users found this helpful4836
All this user's reviews
5
TheHouseWinsFeb 16, 2018
The fatigue finally hit. It is Marvel, you get what you would expect, and not much more.

And maybe i fell for the hype, but i kind of expected this movie to purge the world of racism once and for all, that sadly didn't happen.
69 of 122 users found this helpful6953
All this user's reviews
5
akenaton1984Feb 17, 2018
La parte técnica es hermosa, llena de colores vivos para África y tonalidades oscuras y grises para el resto del mundo. Las actuaciones están bien, no ganarían un óscar; pero son aceptables. Por lo demás, no hay mucho que comentar, puesLa parte técnica es hermosa, llena de colores vivos para África y tonalidades oscuras y grises para el resto del mundo. Las actuaciones están bien, no ganarían un óscar; pero son aceptables. Por lo demás, no hay mucho que comentar, pues "Pantera Negra" no innova en nada, muestra una historia que ya hemos visto hasta el cansancio; aunque esta vez ocurre en Wakanda. Expand
26 of 46 users found this helpful2620
All this user's reviews
0
DefinitelyMaybFeb 20, 2018
Mediocre film with terrible pacing and worse CGI in marvel's history. The main villain is a racist serial killer who wants to kill all white people which is incredibly racist. The term "colonizer" gets put up a lot despite the film narrativeMediocre film with terrible pacing and worse CGI in marvel's history. The main villain is a racist serial killer who wants to kill all white people which is incredibly racist. The term "colonizer" gets put up a lot despite the film narrative having nothing to do with colonization. Its a delusional fantasy told to please a certain narrative. Film is also super cliche and has some awful action scene. Female characters are good but that because the two male leads are awful. Expand
24 of 44 users found this helpful2420
All this user's reviews
2
GarvielLokenFeb 17, 2018
This was honestly the most boring Marvel movie i've ever seen. I was close to falling asleep several times. The CGI looks very bad and dated, especially during the end action scenes. Remind me of watching a video game cutscene. The hardThis was honestly the most boring Marvel movie i've ever seen. I was close to falling asleep several times. The CGI looks very bad and dated, especially during the end action scenes. Remind me of watching a video game cutscene. The hard african accent made my head hurt after an hour, so get ready for that too. What else.... well, the soundtrack was well done. I dont understand the 100/100 critic reviews... seems like an incredibly overhyped movie, just like Dunkirk. Expand
58 of 107 users found this helpful5849
All this user's reviews
6
WiscoJoeFeb 16, 2018
For a few exhilarating moments in Black Panther, the Marvel Cinematic Universe comes tantalizing close to achieving the "cinematic" feel that the franchise has studiously avoided for almost a decade. That Ryan Coogler shows a glimpse of whatFor a few exhilarating moments in Black Panther, the Marvel Cinematic Universe comes tantalizing close to achieving the "cinematic" feel that the franchise has studiously avoided for almost a decade. That Ryan Coogler shows a glimpse of what could be possible with these movies just heightens the feeling of disappointment that comes from watching great potential squandered by obsequious mediocrity. Watching the movie is like watching a great artist coloring inside the lines, doing his best to push the boundaries without being able to do anything too risky or original in deference to the mandated design he's working within. With Creed, Coogler proved that he could breathe life and a fresh perspective into stagnant intellectual property, working his magic within the confines of studio product. With Black Panther, the MCU proves just how resistant it is to the intelligence and artistry of a filmmaker like Coogler. Coogler at least manages to maintain much of the film's dignity and strong sense of purpose, largely avoiding the self-reflexive slapstick and one-liners that have rendered lesser Marvel fare into patronizing pantomimes. At its best, the movie slows down enough to focus on its characters and themes, with the good, but uneven, cast doing its best to imbue personalities into thinly-written ciphers that are never allowed a full range of emotion beyond "good," "petulant," and "dignified." At its most crowd pleasing, the film pays homage to James Bond and Star Wars/Star Trek, influences that are not far from the actual comic book source material. At its worst, the movie goes out of its way to deflate any sense of suspense, tension, escalation, or subtext to the point where the plot becomes repetitive and predictable, marginalizing the promising story and trivializing what should be an epic conflict with emotional stakes. The distinctive production design, eclectic score and better-than-average cinematography goes a long way to building an enticing new world, but as the film barrels on through its checklist of studio demands, it all starts to seem like nothing more than a theme-park trinket given a fresh coat of paint and passed off as a priceless artifact. As one of the many exposition-heavy characters states in the film’s typically banal dialogue, "It's not magic. It's technology." A decade into the MCU, this now seems like a corporate mission statement, as the potential magic inherent in cinema is relentlessly drowned out by the whirring of studio machinery. Ultimately, Black Panther is an exercise in compromise representing a huge step back for Ryan Coogler but a small step forward for Disney/Marvel. If you liked the 15 or so Marvel movies that preceded this one or don't expect much from the genre except for fun-for-the-whole family spectacle, you'll probably like Black Panther. If you feel the franchise has been hit-or-miss or has lost its luster through sheer force of repetition, there's nothing here that will likely change your mind. If anything, watching Coogler strain against franchise formula will serve as a reminder of the inherent flaws in this seemingly foolproof design. Expand
52 of 96 users found this helpful5244
All this user's reviews
4
ReinhartFeb 19, 2018
Not good.
Ok, to be honest, is not a bad movie, but... i don't know is just is not good enought.
The history is so plain, and the character's background... so simple
26 of 48 users found this helpful2622
All this user's reviews
1
yosa1Feb 17, 2018
Well, this movie is a mixed bag for me; on one hand it was decent and told a compelling story, on the other it is a slog and has some elements that grate. Black Panther is a hero in a comic series, seen in a few films before this dedicatedWell, this movie is a mixed bag for me; on one hand it was decent and told a compelling story, on the other it is a slog and has some elements that grate. Black Panther is a hero in a comic series, seen in a few films before this dedicated film. Movie involves a disgruntled citizen who wants to over through the king. A personal pet peeve is trial by combat, it was stupid to portray an advanced culture and a primitive practice; this is also a major plot point in the movie; did the writers get there jobs by trial of combat, it seems so. The action scenes were contrived, the scenes jumped around a bit, the music was all of dumb, the story was watchable but not "Gladiator", level. If you like comic hero movie its worth a watch, if you are ify, I recommend Dr Strange as a better entry into the genre, it is a far better film, otherwise, this will disappoint at best. Expand
53 of 98 users found this helpful5345
All this user's reviews
0
chikiponmexFeb 17, 2018
have to say that I really like scenery in this movie unfortunately the story line, characters and actors all failed to deliver. I almost fell asleep, something that has hasn't happened to me since watching The Postman as a child. Don't expecthave to say that I really like scenery in this movie unfortunately the story line, characters and actors all failed to deliver. I almost fell asleep, something that has hasn't happened to me since watching The Postman as a child. Don't expect the typical Marvel adaptation, this movie takes itself very seriously and that's one of its biggest drawbacks, it's simply not fun or entertaining, the plot is very predictable, the acting feels forced and character development is lacking. I think my low rating has to do with my initial expectations, it was nothing like I imagined. The only pros is Chadwick Boseman, he's just a great actor that did his best. Expand
61 of 113 users found this helpful6152
All this user's reviews
0
Trey333Feb 17, 2018
Critics seemed to really love this movie. They set expectations way too high. It was kind of boring and the special effects weren't that great. I wish I had of rented this one or waited for it to hit netflix.
57 of 106 users found this helpful5749
All this user's reviews
0
SlipperySnakeFeb 18, 2018
Movie has a decent start. I found myself liking the characters(and for once in a Marvel movie they had a soundtrack and good costume design)..but they had no idea what to do with this movie. After first 'act' movie devolves into typicalMovie has a decent start. I found myself liking the characters(and for once in a Marvel movie they had a soundtrack and good costume design)..but they had no idea what to do with this movie. After first 'act' movie devolves into typical Marvel formula. Coogler ran out of money and time. It's badly paced. Movie feels both too long and too short. Really drags in the second act by act three there are so many plot threads to wrap up that everything is done in a hurry(and is utterly predictable because of this-things have to happen because the movie is almost over!).

Production values, sound, cgi effects take a nosedive after a promising start. Coogler reuses sets. Movie ultimately is dull and the world feels small.
Expand
57 of 106 users found this helpful5749
All this user's reviews
0
The_AverageJoeFeb 18, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really wanted to like Black Panther. I mean it's a marvel movie it has to be awesome! Right?!?

The intro starts out good, but the movie slows to a crawl story wise and between the laughable acting and horrible group choreography, I was left nodding off for the better part of the first half of the movie. Things finally pick by the time the movie hits the Korea sequence but the budget must have run out for the CGI as the last half of the movie looks worse than many Playstation 2 cut scenes and the laughter and chatter throughout the theatre about said CGI confirmed that it wasn't just me. Kill Monger was way over acted and everyone else other than Klaue literally seemed there just for a paycheck or fresh out of acting school.

To sum up Black Panther in one word though... It would be "Boring".
Expand
48 of 90 users found this helpful4842
All this user's reviews
4
AxeTFeb 18, 2018
Not only should you not believe the oh so typical but in this case much amplified over-hype (via affirmative action agenda) for this run of the mill Marvel latest, but probably not waste your time bothering to sit through it. Yes it cleverlyNot only should you not believe the oh so typical but in this case much amplified over-hype (via affirmative action agenda) for this run of the mill Marvel latest, but probably not waste your time bothering to sit through it. Yes it cleverly devises an elaborately imagined world set in Africa (apparently just as the original comic book source material conceived in the 1960's) and the big showcase cast is exciting and good, but no it is NOT this great unlike anything you've seen before breakthrough for the genre (besides certain race prominence) nor some unusually for the genre pronounced message movie since every superhero flick for decades has always made some kind of overt save the world through peace and tolerance statement (foolish idiot critics, you've got to be kidding if you are that outright socially biased and forgetful of all that came before?!); while this particular film IS right in step with the by the numbers overly formulaic Marvel output in recent years yet has some surprisingly poor visual effects (what you get when you hire an inexperienced director for this realm in favor of diversity quota) and hard to understand silly jokey dialogue that all drags on and on in an expectedly over-the-top overlong bore. Expand
24 of 46 users found this helpful2422
All this user's reviews
6
hellpittFeb 16, 2018
its an ok movie, filler while we get infinity wars... a little political for my taste but now what some people where pushing for... CGI was not that good guys, border bad.... acting was first class.
50 of 96 users found this helpful5046
All this user's reviews
3
JamesStealFeb 16, 2018
Not impressed. CGI was laughable and acting was pretty bad. I feel as if super hero/comic book movies are saturating the market and I can't believe people keep wasting their money on them. Same **** different cape. We will never get to seeNot impressed. CGI was laughable and acting was pretty bad. I feel as if super hero/comic book movies are saturating the market and I can't believe people keep wasting their money on them. Same **** different cape. We will never get to see movies like Fight Club or Se7en in theaters again because of safe generic trash from motion picture studios. Expand
79 of 152 users found this helpful7973
All this user's reviews
1
jlittle1404Feb 17, 2018
This was just another regular marvel movie! I’m giving it a 3 because of all the hype around it and because it’s marvel people will love it. What’s sad is I’m a marvel fan. I wanted this to do well (and I’m sure it will) but there is way toThis was just another regular marvel movie! I’m giving it a 3 because of all the hype around it and because it’s marvel people will love it. What’s sad is I’m a marvel fan. I wanted this to do well (and I’m sure it will) but there is way to much political envolvment in this. Plus, marvel still sticks to its same storyline. I hate doing this but I give it a 3 and that’s just because I know it will do well at the box office no matter what. Marvel can do no wrong! Can’t wait for infinity war. God bless! Expand
70 of 135 users found this helpful7065
All this user's reviews
3
SavageYetiFeb 16, 2018
this was terrible in every way, i was bored from beginning to end, the acting was terrible, the cgi was hit and miss, the action was boring and lackluster, and the so called comedy didn't make me so much as chuckle and i am a very easy personthis was terrible in every way, i was bored from beginning to end, the acting was terrible, the cgi was hit and miss, the action was boring and lackluster, and the so called comedy didn't make me so much as chuckle and i am a very easy person to make laugh. i ignored the hype and was guessing that this was going to be at least a good enjoyable film but what i got was one of if not the worst mcu movies to date, i would never recommend this movie to anyone ever. Expand
80 of 155 users found this helpful8075
All this user's reviews
9
littlelambFeb 19, 2018
What I love about this movie, as opposed to other Marvel films, is that you can tell there was a lot of thought and heart that went into this story. It wasn't a superhero film that was made for the sake of money. The problem with a lot ofWhat I love about this movie, as opposed to other Marvel films, is that you can tell there was a lot of thought and heart that went into this story. It wasn't a superhero film that was made for the sake of money. The problem with a lot of these Marvel movies is that they did so well with the Avengers that they just stopped caring about making subsequent films that actually had any real substance. I'm talking about films like Thor: The Dark World, Spiderman Homecoming, Captain America Civil War, Iron Man 2 & 3. They were nice to watch, but I couldn't be bothered to sit through them again. They were made to hype you up for the Avenger films and clean your pockets if I'm being honest. Black Panther, on the other hand, was very different from any Marvel film. Its nice to see a film that has a little culture in it. Its not just another superhero film with a bland cast and predictable plot lines. I loved the dynamic between the characters, I loved that the villain wasn't bad for the sake of being evil, and yeah, the film might have been influenced by the Lion King in some respect but who cares, who doesn't love the Lion King? The acting was amazing--the casting was perfect. I loved that the film wasn't afraid to go into some very real and dark subjects. I just hope that Marvel will see the importance of this film and continue to make heroes that showcase different communities. Expand
16 of 31 users found this helpful1615
All this user's reviews
0
DavidDrugnarFeb 23, 2018
A horrible movie in absolutely every regard. From sub-par acting to an extremely lacking movie plot, this is a must skip movie. If you have to see it, wait until it's on DVD at your local Walmart for 99cents.
17 of 33 users found this helpful1716
All this user's reviews
3
ButterflyEffexFeb 17, 2018
Just average superhero movie, average acting, average CGI. Brought down by the hype and divisiveness. "Diverse cast" of just one group is not diverse at all.
70 of 136 users found this helpful7066
All this user's reviews
2
ZDZFeb 16, 2018
I have no idea what's up with all these 9 and 10 star reviews stating that anyone who doesn't like this movie is "racist". Frankly I find it offense, as I did not enjoy this movie and I am certainly not a racist. The movie is extremelyI have no idea what's up with all these 9 and 10 star reviews stating that anyone who doesn't like this movie is "racist". Frankly I find it offense, as I did not enjoy this movie and I am certainly not a racist. The movie is extremely immature, features very bad acting, and Wakanda is a xenophobic fascist place I just cannot root for. In my opinion Black Panther is one of the worst super "hero" (Black Panther isn't very heroic) movies in recent memory. I am giving it a 2 because there are some neat visuals. Expand
90 of 175 users found this helpful9085
All this user's reviews
0
theirrelephantsFeb 19, 2018
Oh look, another hero movie I can't tell apart from every other hero movie!
38 of 74 users found this helpful3836
All this user's reviews
0
ClutcherFeb 18, 2018
All I can say is don't bother or wait for rental or streaming if you insist on seeing this turd as it is yet another in the long line of films in Disney's crusade to reduce every beloved fictional character to an agenda-driven caricature. InAll I can say is don't bother or wait for rental or streaming if you insist on seeing this turd as it is yet another in the long line of films in Disney's crusade to reduce every beloved fictional character to an agenda-driven caricature. In case you didn't know it: Disney did not create the Black Panther, nope, they bought him (comparison to historical evils is intentional) and milked him for all he's worth. To make matters worse, if you are old enough to remember, the character was created in precisely the opposite spirit of this trite, overly-politicized nonsense. There are some decent performances, but otherwise this film is devoid of any merit whatsoever, even within the context of the MCU. Save your money and your time or get some of the old comics, they have fun and heart, two things Disney abandoned long ago in their endless quest for the maximum profit possible. Expand
43 of 84 users found this helpful4341
All this user's reviews
0
boredboredboredFeb 17, 2018
An absolute snore-fest. I actually fell asleep during one of it's piss-poorly choreographed fight scene.s Furthermore, the entire plot and characterization the same style-over-substance, nuance-less crap that's being shoveled out to betterAn absolute snore-fest. I actually fell asleep during one of it's piss-poorly choreographed fight scene.s Furthermore, the entire plot and characterization the same style-over-substance, nuance-less crap that's being shoveled out to better translate between cultures. Not sure what I mean? Think Transformers. Garish, dumbed-down crap to appeal to lowest common denominator and earn the maximum profit. Avoid. Expand
78 of 153 users found this helpful7875
All this user's reviews
0
BellaSwan1992Feb 16, 2018
My boyfriend dragged me to see this last night... it was really boring and seemed to have a huge chip on its shoulder. The action scenes were blurry and hard to follow too. I can enjoy a good action movie now and then but this one sucked!!!
91 of 179 users found this helpful9188
All this user's reviews
1
TheTigOlBittiesFeb 16, 2018
I fell for the hype yet again. Awful effects, terrible acting and really bizarre back story. Save your money. This is formulaic nonsense coupled with Disney's b.s. hype machine yet again.

I really should have learned my lesson with Star
I fell for the hype yet again. Awful effects, terrible acting and really bizarre back story. Save your money. This is formulaic nonsense coupled with Disney's b.s. hype machine yet again.

I really should have learned my lesson with Star Wars but Disney practices witchcraft.
Expand
103 of 203 users found this helpful103100
All this user's reviews
0
GuapoGrandeFeb 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Leaving aside the normal 3-act superhero melodrama, which is extremely boring and nothing you haven't seen before, I have to say this movie has some really bizarre wish-fulfillment politics in it. I'm surprised that black viewers aren't more offended by the rather cynical and pandering themes here, and the way it erases the very real difficulties Africa is struggling with in favor of fantasy escapism. It's doubly obnoxious that this is being done as a cash grab by the Disney corporation, but that's Hollywood for you. Expand
78 of 154 users found this helpful7876
All this user's reviews
0
becruxFeb 17, 2018
Do not trust critics! All positive? Not one negative review? This is not one of the best movies of all time! I've got to give it to Disney, they are on top of their game when it comes to propaganda. If people keep spending their money atDo not trust critics! All positive? Not one negative review? This is not one of the best movies of all time! I've got to give it to Disney, they are on top of their game when it comes to propaganda. If people keep spending their money at these formulaic,shat-out, over-hyped movies, they will keep making them! Start reading user reviews, after the movie comes out, and only vaguely watch the professional reviewers, as they obviously make their money from big corporations like Disney. Expand
51 of 101 users found this helpful5150
All this user's reviews
0
MehektetFeb 17, 2018
Boring all the way through, way too much politics involved. Just not impressive at all. Seems Marvel is falling into the damn snowflake category now. I pray for Infinity War.
51 of 101 users found this helpful5150
All this user's reviews
0
ragesteelFeb 16, 2018
Created a MetaCritic account just to leave my first review to warn others of this movie.
1. Horrible acting
2. SOOO boring 3. CGI is not great 4. Action scenes are blurry/confusing 5. Plot/story is dull - how many "fight to be king" scenes do
Created a MetaCritic account just to leave my first review to warn others of this movie.
1. Horrible acting
2. SOOO boring
3. CGI is not great
4. Action scenes are blurry/confusing
5. Plot/story is dull - how many "fight to be king" scenes do we need???
6. completely overratted and what makes this more insultaing is all the "professional" reviewers giving this trash a perfect 10...(I wonder why???)

Wait until redbox if you really want to watch this dull movie- I left pissed because I was so bored. There's nothing special here - it's really a bad filler superhero movie
Expand
76 of 152 users found this helpful7676
All this user's reviews
0
Batman69Feb 16, 2018
This movie is sooooo generic. I don't get how people honestly don't realise how bad this is!
71 of 142 users found this helpful7171
All this user's reviews
1
NeelyryFeb 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good CGI but no story. 2 hours 15 minutes of your dad killed my dad I want revenge. It was hard for me to get into the zone of the fantasy as well when people dressed up like aborigine tribesman, people wearing loin clothes and plates in their ears and mouths, are standing next to space ships. I understand the need to maintain your culture and heritage but the overkill effect made it hard for me to get sucked in. Imagine all the astronauts on the international space station dressed like Neanderthals and then try to get in a serious groove. Expand
66 of 132 users found this helpful6666
All this user's reviews
0
MahbubAli92Feb 18, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. - The first structural problem with the story is that the first half up until Killmonger (LOL @ that name) shows up is a pointless head fake. We don't care about "Ulysses Klaw" or what he did 30 years before the movie starts, so hunting him and his 5lb slab of MacGuffinite isn't an interesting or constructive motivation. Its only purpose is to set up the Shocking Twist where Killmonger emerges as the real villain with a totally separate villain agenda of his own, at which point the real movie begins. Not an effective use of runtime.

- The second problem is that Chadwick Boseman (LOL at this name too, also I'm 99% sure this guy is just a palette swap of Chiwetel Ejiofor) doesn't really have a character arc or any internal conflict. On this front the movie compares unfavorably to the somewhat similar Thor, which was still pretty meh but at least forced its title character to grow and develop. The decision Boseman makes at the end of the movie to open Wakanda up to the world is arbitrary, and his very sensible initial reasons for refusing to do so are never addressed.

- The thing that jumped out at me most about the aesthetics is the way they deliberately avoided making the Wakandans sophisticated and civilized in any way other than their technology. Other than the sci-fantasy trappings they are 100% face-painted, ritual-scarified, garishly-dressed, bone-in-nose, ancestor-worshiping, ape-hooting (yes, Man-Ape is in the movie, though they never call him by that name) savages straight out of the opening of Zulu. It's very cargo cult, and leads to bizarre moments like the ending battle where some people are fighting with high-tech pulse rifles and fighter drones while others do melee combat with ordinary spears and yet others fight with RHINO CAVALRY. Ultimately though none of the Wakandan technology is any more impressive than the SHIELD helicarrier or the stuff Tony Stark has been building in his garage for the last 10 years.

- There's lots of blurry, weightless, underwhelming CGI, especially in the big final setpiece. Some of the Black Panther stuff didn't look much better than the original Tobey Maguire Spider-Man movie.

- Marvel heroes vary a lot in how powerful they are portrayed, and in this case the guy is just good at gymnastics and kang fu and has a bulletproof suit. Makes for stale fight scenes, especially since for 2 of them he doesn't even have his suit or powers available. Say what you will about Ant-Man and Dr Strange, they at least had visually interesting and creative action.

- "Killmonger" is one of the better villains the MCU has had (a low bar), mostly because he's just about the only guy in the movie with a personality. Still, Michael B. Jordan has yet to top the naturalism of his performance as a low-level drug dealer in season 1 of The Wire. In case you were curious his big villainous plot is to usurp the throne of Wakanda and distribute its technology to black folk around the world so they can use it to kill whitey (after he seizes power the rest of the noble, enlightened Wakandans just shrug and go along with his plan, because the script requires it). I can just about guarantee there are SJW types writing articles right now arguing that he is the true hero of the movie.

- There are snarky little digs at whites sprinkled throughout, but less than I expected. The main thing that sticks in my mind is the smugness that gets directed at whites who ignorantly mistake Wakandans for typical Africans and not SECRET CYBER-KANGZ. They also take a limp little shot at Trump in the final UN speech where a character talks about needing to "build bridges, not barriers".

- Final thought: the metaphysics of the Marvel universe are really screwed up at this point. Advanced galaxy-spanning alien civilizations are real, Norse gods are real (though they're technically just more aliens), ancient African animistic voodoo spirits are real, Eastern hippie stoner magic is real, superhuman AI is real, hyper-powerful reality-warping space gems are real, secret 80-year-old Nazi conspiracies are real, and of course Kangz are real as real can be, bigot. They've long since given up pretending any of this hangs together coherently. Compared to the painstaking way Nolan managed the setting of the Dark Knight movies or Snyder handled the Man of Steel movies, it really makes the unwieldy, spackled-over nature of the MCU stand out.
Expand
32 of 64 users found this helpful3232
All this user's reviews
3
flea8thFeb 19, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was not the worst in the MCU, but it was not great, low on action, which is disappointing because the main action sequence was awesome. Story line was good, but made the movie way to long. Hollywood needs to stay out of politics and make good art, this movie was almost ruined because of politics and the far left making this out to be some kind of revolution, when it was a about a comic book character and a MADE UP African nation. Coogler needs to stick with dramas like Apollo and away from these type action films, the cgi was almost as bad as Superman's non mustache and not far from Ang's Hulk. Not a bad film, better than Iron Man 3, level with the Thor 1 and 2, I'd put it around number 8. Would have been in my top 3 if it were a Netflix series instead of a box office movie Expand
18 of 36 users found this helpful1818
All this user's reviews
2
kamgeforceFeb 16, 2018
You´d think LOTR movies got a sequel judging by the hype and praise this movie was getting by paid and cherry picked reviewers pre release. Well, it really isnt. Its another Marvel flick only this time, with less of everything that makesYou´d think LOTR movies got a sequel judging by the hype and praise this movie was getting by paid and cherry picked reviewers pre release. Well, it really isnt. Its another Marvel flick only this time, with less of everything that makes marvel movies fun. Much more politics, much less action. I really dont go to see mindless comic book blockbusters to listen to political ambitions of fictional ethno-state. If I decide to see the movie instead of waiting for 20 minute action youtube cut, I expect to see the damn action. The visuals are nice, the production is high, but who gives a **** honestly, thats a marvel standard nowadays, the movie isnt gonna get a plus points for that. It would be a 5 if they kept it in the standard marvel proportions but like I said the lack of the action and too much bad dialogue makes this a bad marvel flick and a horrible movie in general. Positive note at the end, the score wasnt bad. Expand
72 of 145 users found this helpful7273
All this user's reviews
4
MarioLFeb 16, 2018
Seriously, this movie is boring, slow paced, very naive (story) and cheap made - I really struggled to find any positive side to it and barely had any fun watching it. One of the worst of the MCU.
70 of 141 users found this helpful7071
All this user's reviews
3
mylovingangelsFeb 17, 2018
I saw the movie and believed that it would be a good movie but it wasn't all that great. Of course in the end it is always about the white and black community with nothing in between in the United States. Racism exists in every country,I saw the movie and believed that it would be a good movie but it wasn't all that great. Of course in the end it is always about the white and black community with nothing in between in the United States. Racism exists in every country, color, up, down, and sideways. The black community is not the only community to suffer racism. White communities, Asian communities, etc. In spite the fact that in this county that we still base everything on ethnicity is horrifying. I DO NOT consider myself Chinese-American only American. It is very sad to see this kind of movie and not feel connected at all to the characters. There is no inclusion or connection. It is about us versus them as per usual. Didn't exactly help there was media about how people are supporting children in poor black communities to see the movie. What about everyone else who may not be able to see the movie who are in a low income area. I didn't realize being poor was only limited to the black community. The only thing good to come out of this movie as the badass women who did a great job of being badass women. I clearly felt that women did not need to be protected or taken care of but it would be nice to have a partner in life not a requirement. Expand
43 of 87 users found this helpful4344
All this user's reviews
0
JennyKat570Feb 16, 2018
It was just really bland and same-y like every other cape movie these days, and frankly the "secret high-tech Africa" angle was condescending and kind of exploitative. It's pretty disturbing to think that a lot of people seem to think WakandaIt was just really bland and same-y like every other cape movie these days, and frankly the "secret high-tech Africa" angle was condescending and kind of exploitative. It's pretty disturbing to think that a lot of people seem to think Wakanda really exists (movie was actually shot in South Korea). Expand
72 of 147 users found this helpful7275
All this user's reviews
4
antspai420Feb 18, 2018
Start and ending are boring and generic although picks up well in the middle, cgi is fairly dated and the pacing makes this movie feel too long. Wouldn't recommend to anyone but for 3.50 it was OK, I'm sure Disney & Marvel will mage their money back.
24 of 49 users found this helpful2425
All this user's reviews
0
UdwinFeb 16, 2018
Bad acting, bad story, all in all **** movie. Can't understand the hype! There is nothing good about the movie.
70 of 143 users found this helpful7073
All this user's reviews
0
harryharri1976Feb 16, 2018
Sadly Black Panther sucks hard. The superhero genre is dead. Plus, Blade was the first black superhero, so this actually has nothing special going for it at all.
69 of 141 users found this helpful6972
All this user's reviews
3
Dwayne6575Feb 16, 2018
I was not very impressed with this movie, especially after all the hoopla surrounding it. There just isn't much too like. BORING
102 of 209 users found this helpful102107
All this user's reviews
0
JakeGFeb 16, 2018
I went to see this last night. Boring predictable storytelling. And it's filled with terrible CGI. There are some amazing actors in this film and they are all wasted. I wish I could have those hours of my life back. It amazes me how reviewsI went to see this last night. Boring predictable storytelling. And it's filled with terrible CGI. There are some amazing actors in this film and they are all wasted. I wish I could have those hours of my life back. It amazes me how reviews like mine are being blocked in favor of reviews from people who say in their reviews that they haven't actually watched the movie. At least metacritic allows honest reviews even if other sites don't. Expand
80 of 164 users found this helpful8084
All this user's reviews
0
jx819Feb 17, 2018
what are the critics thinking? where can i get what they are smoking.

another formulaic Marvel snorefest. can't wait for the MCU to end.
60 of 123 users found this helpful6063
All this user's reviews
0
MovieKnightFeb 16, 2018
Another overhyped and overrated Marvel flick. The same tired formula that Marvel has been recycling in the last 10 years. The plot is predictable and the action sequences are unengaging. What a disappointment.
60 of 123 users found this helpful6063
All this user's reviews
0
HipstersBaneFeb 17, 2018
If this movie wasn't so hyped then I would have given it a better score, it was boring. None of characters have any character arches, and it was really just not interesting.
Paddington 2 has more pathos on it, and it is a cgi bear.
56 of 115 users found this helpful5659
All this user's reviews
0
flowerpowerFeb 16, 2018
Went into this movie thinking it would be the movie of the century, with all the hype around it, media telling me I had to enjoy it, etc... but I did not find a single redeeming quality. Boring, predictable and just fell flat.
73 of 150 users found this helpful7377
All this user's reviews
0
Piggy69Feb 16, 2018
This is so awful. Are thses bought reviews? This wasn't even as good as bvs.
71 of 146 users found this helpful7175
All this user's reviews
1
parnsoFeb 16, 2018
Cast was great but sadly the movie was a desaster and didn't know what to do with the cast. CGI was very cheap looking and there was no feel for the world, the movie did much better when is was outside of Wakanda. First time I heard of aCast was great but sadly the movie was a desaster and didn't know what to do with the cast. CGI was very cheap looking and there was no feel for the world, the movie did much better when is was outside of Wakanda. First time I heard of a Black Panther movie I hoped for a face crushing action movie, but it fell very short on that. The worst of the Marvel movies and very forgettable. Expand
70 of 144 users found this helpful7074
All this user's reviews
1
SuperMax156Feb 16, 2018
Another day, another super hero movie. Seems like Hollywood has no idea how to do anything original anymore. These are just films for overgrown 12 year olds. I guess if we are weighing it against other superhero movies then it was ok. TotallyAnother day, another super hero movie. Seems like Hollywood has no idea how to do anything original anymore. These are just films for overgrown 12 year olds. I guess if we are weighing it against other superhero movies then it was ok. Totally overhyped. Maybe wait until it appears on a free streaming site, personally hate to think I am giving any money to Hollywood these days. Expand
68 of 140 users found this helpful6872
All this user's reviews
0
markusjohnsonFeb 17, 2018
This movie sucks. Marvel needs to learn how to tell a story instead of presenting an identity politic view point. Put me in a fantasy world and tell me a tale that I can get into. Its not like you don't have 40+ years of material to pullThis movie sucks. Marvel needs to learn how to tell a story instead of presenting an identity politic view point. Put me in a fantasy world and tell me a tale that I can get into. Its not like you don't have 40+ years of material to pull from. Here is an idea, use the same directors so all of your movies have the same feel, uh, like we are in the same universe? Expand
68 of 140 users found this helpful6872
All this user's reviews
1
EazydzzzFeb 16, 2018
Seriously not a good movie, it's the same tired formula but with extra poor acting and a just plain boring story. The special effects look like something from 20 years ago. I am very disappointed because I was really looking forward to this movie.
82 of 169 users found this helpful8287
All this user's reviews
0
alo007aloFeb 17, 2018
OK movie is made for kids. I must say J. R. R. Tolkien's fictional world of Middle-earth, Mordor is more believable that a Wakanda and both are fairy tales. Marvel with this movie go full Democratic-party.
48 of 99 users found this helpful4851
All this user's reviews
0
willburstyle06Feb 16, 2018
Takes waaay too long to get going and the dialogue and acting is pretty bad.CGI in the fighting scenes is as bad as wonder womens
90 of 186 users found this helpful9096
All this user's reviews
0
thedaarkbattyFeb 16, 2018
Marvel movies are the highest budget movies on the planet. You'd assume that they have CGI and action scenes down to a science at this point. Nope, the effects in this movie look worse that the Matrix. Every time somebody is fighting anotherMarvel movies are the highest budget movies on the planet. You'd assume that they have CGI and action scenes down to a science at this point. Nope, the effects in this movie look worse that the Matrix. Every time somebody is fighting another person in this movie it looks like a cheap video game, it completely ruins the experience. Expand
71 of 147 users found this helpful7176
All this user's reviews
0
BanzyFeb 19, 2018
The whole experience was boring from start to finish, poor fighting scenes, zero character development and even a perceived need to NOT talk about the main character, the only way that i could summarized it would be "I'm the Black Panther, iThe whole experience was boring from start to finish, poor fighting scenes, zero character development and even a perceived need to NOT talk about the main character, the only way that i could summarized it would be "I'm the Black Panther, i fight people and i am good or at least better than everybody else".
Besides the eventual giggle or two, it was a waste of time, i'm assuming that people that are giving this movie a positive rate are basing it on the trailer
Expand
28 of 58 users found this helpful2830
All this user's reviews
0
MadremiaFeb 19, 2018
I really had high expectations going in, maybe too high, but at some point I thought the Black Panther was in the Fast and the Furious and then some typical heist movie. OK, I'm being harsh and I didn't hate it, just didn't like it, kindaI really had high expectations going in, maybe too high, but at some point I thought the Black Panther was in the Fast and the Furious and then some typical heist movie. OK, I'm being harsh and I didn't hate it, just didn't like it, kinda blah. And all the talk about Marvels first black superhero, but as far as movies go lets not forget Blade. I have seen Blade a few times, and I think I like it better, a little bloody, but I liked Snipes in that role, he nailed it. You know what, maybe I'm just suddenly tired of these current Hollywood blockbusters. Expand
26 of 54 users found this helpful2628
All this user's reviews
4
MahwashAjazFeb 17, 2018
Expected a lot from the film, was disappointed. Danai Gurira and Daniel Kaluuya stole the scenes. The film rightly boasts of stunning effects and breathtaking imagination but it misses out on complex nuances for the modern world, how fightingExpected a lot from the film, was disappointed. Danai Gurira and Daniel Kaluuya stole the scenes. The film rightly boasts of stunning effects and breathtaking imagination but it misses out on complex nuances for the modern world, how fighting to death for a throne is inherently regressive; glorifying monarchy and war should hardly be the biggest selling point of a culture. The storytelling isn't compelling enough even though the visuals are. The good news about Black Panther is that it is a huge cultural and political moment for the United States. The bad news is that it could have been written a little bit better and had more to offer in the plot and pace. Expand
25 of 52 users found this helpful2527
All this user's reviews
0
Hype2xFeb 16, 2018
After believing the Critical Scores, i thought we'd be in for a treat. But no, the movie crushed any expectations i had for it. What was this ? The same way Moonlight received 99 score here, Black Panther is being raved here for untrueAfter believing the Critical Scores, i thought we'd be in for a treat. But no, the movie crushed any expectations i had for it. What was this ? The same way Moonlight received 99 score here, Black Panther is being raved here for untrue reasons & Hype the Black cast to clouds. Predictable story and Boring.
Bring on Infinity War!
Expand
73 of 152 users found this helpful7379
All this user's reviews
0
WeWusKangsssssFeb 16, 2018
This is so boring I couldn't even sit through the entire film. I'd rather watch a show on the CW!!! (Ok maybe not that bad. But still awful!)
72 of 150 users found this helpful7278
All this user's reviews
2
storm_of_swordsFeb 16, 2018
The story was boring, the attempts at humor were not funny, and the thing about it that I hated the most was it's crappy CGI.

This is another crappy movie that the professional critics are rating far higher than it deserves. They recently
The story was boring, the attempts at humor were not funny, and the thing about it that I hated the most was it's crappy CGI.

This is another crappy movie that the professional critics are rating far higher than it deserves. They recently did the same thing with The Last Jedi and now this. I'm beginning to think that Disney is paying off the critics to give their movies excellent reviews.
Expand
60 of 126 users found this helpful6066
All this user's reviews
1
wakeboardjakeFeb 16, 2018
The cast was amazing. The acting was not. The colors and cinematography was amazing. The story line was not. If I'm writing a very honest review that critiques this movie solely on quality of production, acting, story line, and sound, then IThe cast was amazing. The acting was not. The colors and cinematography was amazing. The story line was not. If I'm writing a very honest review that critiques this movie solely on quality of production, acting, story line, and sound, then I have to say it was bitterly disappointing. The story moves at the pace of a turtle. The story line? Incredibly predictable. The villain? Just some angry cousin that had horrendous reasoning behind his choices. Where were the awesome beats? The sounds in that first trailer were UNREAL. Not here. Marvel... you could've done so much better with this. Expand
59 of 124 users found this helpful5965
All this user's reviews
3
ThemBakerBoysFeb 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Picture an imagined realm of magic and majesty, a prince who is to inherit the throne, a flawed Father/King who is revealed to have have wronged a family member who becomes the central opponent. This is not Asgard, the prince is not Thor, the King is not Odin and the wronged family member is not Loki. Aside from a retread origin story, I also had issues with the tempo of the film. There are long spots where the plot drags and the dialogue seems to repeat itself and declare the obvious. Anyone paying attention would be able to keep up with the fairly simple premise and yet we keep getting exposition like the director doesn't trust the viewers to follow along. But my biggest complaint is the Disney Parks & Resorts TM version of Africa that we are presented with. This fictional Wakanda may as well be Austria with snow capped mountains. Animal Kingdom, Fort Wilderness, and Epcot must have been inspirations for the visual design and while it is gorgeous at times, it is not at all authentic. This is the Africa that many of us WISH was real; an Africa of wealth and technology, not war lords, slavery, disease and famine. The movie suggests that if Africa only had a natural resource like oil, over the centuries it would have had a different trajectory and would stand shoulder to shoulder with first world countries. This grossly simplifies and extremely complicated region of the world. I know missionaries and peace corps personnel who have described in detail the challenges that Africa faces and they are not something you can just throw money at for mosquito netting.
Black Panther offers an amazing vision of an advanced city and culture where tech and magic coexist and the people of different tribes live in peace and harmony, (until they don't).
This is the Disney view of Africa, it is shiny and clean and hopeful and a lie that has nothing at all to do with the documentary on rhino, lion and elephant poaching on Netflix I watched a few nights before.
Expand
66 of 139 users found this helpful6673
All this user's reviews
2
MovieGuru69Feb 17, 2018
This movie gets a capital "B" for Boring. To much standing around and talking in the back story and not nearly enough action for a Super Hero movie. Spend your dollars and rent Logan instead. It's far superior in acting, the screenplay, andThis movie gets a capital "B" for Boring. To much standing around and talking in the back story and not nearly enough action for a Super Hero movie. Spend your dollars and rent Logan instead. It's far superior in acting, the screenplay, and the directing. Expand
41 of 87 users found this helpful4146
All this user's reviews
8
TheBatsFeb 16, 2018
This is a refreshing take on Marvel movies. I appreciate the effort taken on this movie and hope Marvel makes some serious movies like this in the future.
97 of 206 users found this helpful97109
All this user's reviews
0
ElrikkFeb 17, 2018
This movie had potential but got bogged down in a political message instead of making a good movie.
45 of 96 users found this helpful4551
All this user's reviews
0
KamenRiderDarkFeb 16, 2018
If I were able to post a one or two word review, it would either be agenda or uncanny valley. Everything I feared this film would do, it did. Indeed in a couple of places it even referred to the (*spoilers*?) the slave trade! Seriously? InIf I were able to post a one or two word review, it would either be agenda or uncanny valley. Everything I feared this film would do, it did. Indeed in a couple of places it even referred to the (*spoilers*?) the slave trade! Seriously? In the 21st century you are going to refer at least twice in the same film to the slave trade - which BTW if you follow the film's premise would NOT have affected Wakanda as they were cut off from the rest of the world!

The main character of the film is T'Chala - a character so depressingly dour and serious, he could be a candidate for depression. You have his younger sister - who is CLEARLY being geared up as effectively riri from the comics - she WILL be the replacement for Tony Stark! To best describe her, she is a light hearted Q from thee James Bond films - I liked her, she was fun, lively, bright, as a character a real find.

Andy Serkis was excellent, but far too underused - Michael B Jordan's "big bad"? I understand the anger, I don't get his ultimate goal - makes NO sense. The female bodyguards were the nearest thing to Mary sues in the movie. Really - beating up men TWICE their size with the SAME military background?

I MUST discuss the CGI. This is a MASSIVE problem.Sure Wakanda looks spectacular, but so did Asgard. It's the motion of the main characters that is the problem. It seems that whilst they can get stationary objects (buildings etc) virtually spot on now, the same can NOT be said for dynamic ones. If you have watched any of the trailers, you'll know what I mean when you see Black Panther do his somersault The dynamic CGI characters look crystal clear, whilst the real life objects have a faint blur to them. You can just see where the live action starts and the CGI ends. If the cars were CGI as well you wouldn't notice the difference so much, but it IS there, and because it seems 90% of this film is CGI, in the end it becomes very annoying.

as for the claim that this is unlike any other Marvel film - I beg to differ - unless you refer to how insular the whole film is, as it is based almost entirely in Wakanda. Which could be acceptable, until you realise most of the action took place outside of wakanda - in the remaining 5-10% of the film!

Winter Soldier was CONSIDERABLY better than this. Guardians was better and more fun! Avengers had greater scope.Ragnarok was funnier.

I know EXACTLY who this film was geared for, and it was NOT for your typical Marvel comic book movie fan. it had good points, The tech wiz sis has major potential, Wakanda looked spectacular (if you ignore the poor water animations (the ripples in the water looked cut and paste, watch MOANA for how water can be animated!) The soundtrack bore no relation to the action (action scenes sounded the same as the quiet moments!). But the worst "crime" was the agenda it pushed. There is NO Excuse for this, as they PROVED they can have strong storyline in Winter soldier.

So if you want a film with a dour dreary lead character, lots of uncanny valley moments, and LOTS AND LOTS OF POLITICAL GRANDSTANDING with no payoff, then this is the film for you!

Just remember The Godfather / Goodfellas / Star Wars / Schindler's List all barely broke 90%, yet THIS is supposed to be 100%! If you don't think the ratings for this are agenda driven, I've got a bridge to sell you!

I do NOT want a Black Panther 2 - I think the days of single super hero movies are done
Expand
64 of 137 users found this helpful6473
All this user's reviews
8
ViniciusBritoFeb 16, 2018
A much more mature movie from Marvel, very political, with social criticism that really makes you think, think in diversity and how it's important for the people to learn and to grow. A movie that isn't one-dimensional, you can understand andA much more mature movie from Marvel, very political, with social criticism that really makes you think, think in diversity and how it's important for the people to learn and to grow. A movie that isn't one-dimensional, you can understand and maybe agree with attitudes from the villains or maybe don't agree with the hero, that's rare in super heroes movies. We have a bunch of tribes, with a development in some of them, they are well introduced and explained, with many different costumes, costumes that are simply great and beautiful. The soundtrack is awesome, with some hard beat that literally puts you on the edge of your seat pumping you up in some moments, in others making you feel the atmosphere of the place better. Visually it's really impressive, in some moments you can see Lion King surroundings and combining with the song it's just phenomenal. The bigger problem here is the CGI in some moments, mostly at the action scenes, you can see 2 digital beans fighting or animals that is easily noticeable fake, and it's ugly. About the actors and actresses, they are all formidable, the job that they did is memorable, they nailed. Every character has a purpose and the story flows, no unnecessary scenes on it. Expand
79 of 170 users found this helpful7991
All this user's reviews
0
Jamal5243Feb 16, 2018
Boring. Bad acting. Poor cgi. Somehow cheesier than most comic book movies. Over-hyped fail of a film.
78 of 168 users found this helpful7890
All this user's reviews
2
ThedripFeb 16, 2018
Another run of the mill super hero movie that brings nothing new to the table, accept this time around the acting is astoundingly bad. The cgi is awful, and overall the movie is a snooze fest. Don't buy into the hype, Black Panther is onAnother run of the mill super hero movie that brings nothing new to the table, accept this time around the acting is astoundingly bad. The cgi is awful, and overall the movie is a snooze fest. Don't buy into the hype, Black Panther is on the lower end of the spectrum as far as super hero movies go, and that's pretty low. Expand
81 of 176 users found this helpful8195
All this user's reviews
9
MattyiceFeb 17, 2018
Black Panther is up there as one of the MCU's best movies. The acting from everybody is fantastic, especially the two main leads, in Chadwick Boseman and Michael B. Jordan. Unlike many MCU movies, the stakes feel high in spite of the groundedBlack Panther is up there as one of the MCU's best movies. The acting from everybody is fantastic, especially the two main leads, in Chadwick Boseman and Michael B. Jordan. Unlike many MCU movies, the stakes feel high in spite of the grounded approach to storytelling, the film is shot and composed really well, the art design is fantastic, and, for the first time in seemingly forever, the villains (both Killmonger and Ulysses Klaue) are great. The plot doesn't break any new ground necessarily and the CG is mediocre when used, but the themes exposed through this plot and the practical elements/effects make up for these shortcomings for the most part. In the end, Black Panther lives up to a lot of the hype and truly differentiates itself from its MCU counterparts in many great ways. This truly is up there with Iron Man, Avengers, and Guardians of the Galaxy as one of the best movies the MCU has offered. Expand
44 of 98 users found this helpful4454
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffFeb 16, 2018
I'm not going to praise 'Black Panther' for its diverse cast and social relevance (since that's not how movies should be reviewed), I'm giving it high praise because it was very well directed, solidly acted, strongly structured andI'm not going to praise 'Black Panther' for its diverse cast and social relevance (since that's not how movies should be reviewed), I'm giving it high praise because it was very well directed, solidly acted, strongly structured and entertaining. This is how any comic book movie should be made, in fact, it's how most good or great comic book movies like; 'Spider-Man 2' (2004), 'The Dark Knight' (2008), 'Captain America: The Winter Soldier' (2014) and 'Logan' (2017) were made. Under the direction of Ryan Coogler ('Fruitvale Station' and 'Creed'), this movie draws on deep themes, is filled with emotion, and has some of the most well-developed characters in the Marvel Universe. This movie depends more on substance than it does on style. The movie takes place not long after the events of 'Captain America: Civil War' (2016) and we see T'Challa (Chadwick Boseman) preparing to return to his home, Wakanda, after the civilians mourn the death of their former King, T'Chaka (John Kani), it is now T'Challa's place to take the throne and be the rightful king. We get a very well detailed glimpse into the somewhat advanced world of Wakanda and the culture. Despite it being a fictional location, Coogler, along with his usual collaborators of production designers and cinematographers, make Wakanda feel real. You feel like this is an actual location filled with people who have a belief system. Our main villain is Eric Killmonger (Michael B. Jordan) who has an agenda against Wakanda, and what they do with the rarest metal on earth, the vibranium (same metal used for Black Panther's costume and Captain America's Shield). He gets help from Klaue (Andy Serkis) to steal an artifact and travel to Wakanda and take what he thinks was stolen from him. 'Black Panther' is one of Marvel's best films alongside; 'Iron Man' (2008), 'The Avengers' (2012), 'Captain America: The Winter Soldier' (2014) and 'Captain America: Civil War' (2016). Ryan Coogler does an impressive job to develop the Black Panther's story well and show his arc and what he learns. Boseman once again, proves he is this character, and shares some terrific chemistry with Lupita Nyong'o and Letitla Wright who play his love interest and sister respectively. Also, a lot of the supporting cast do a fantastic job at contributing to the movie. Not one of them feel as if they were wasted. Some of the final battle scenes do suffer from an overabundance of CGI which does make the film - or those scenes in particular - feel incomplete and animated. But, the engaging story and emotionally investing characters are enough to make this worth the Marvel formula. Also, thankfully, the humor is kept extremely minimal. It's not one-joke-a-minute like 'Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2' (2017), where when a dramatic moment happens, it's cut off by comedy. Here, Ryan Coogler allows all of the emotional and deep moments to sink in and stick with you. Also, Killmonger is one of the best MCU villains since Obidiah Stane and Loki, simply because he has an agenda, and there is a good amount of screen-time devoted to developing his character and his reasons for what he does. Coogler has made one of the most interesting entries in the MCU, and right now, 'Avengers: Infinity War' (2018) is even more exciting than ever. Expand
48 of 107 users found this helpful4859
All this user's reviews
0
trash-heapFeb 17, 2018
Utter trash. This movie was hyped up to be the best super hero movie since The Dark Knight. Michael B. Jordan's character was said to rival Heath Ledger's joker. Okay. I really hoped the movie would be great and offer something different -Utter trash. This movie was hyped up to be the best super hero movie since The Dark Knight. Michael B. Jordan's character was said to rival Heath Ledger's joker. Okay. I really hoped the movie would be great and offer something different - especially since Black Panther was always a huge favorite of mine and I thought had some of the most creative writing and setting vs. the generic "Gotham" location. Instead we got a boring movie that is clearly only being hyped up because of the current political situation in the USA. The movie was bland, the fight scenes were boring. The acting was nothing special though Michael B. Jordan was clearly the standout - but to compare him to Heath Ledger is laughable at best. Honestly, I would have fell asleep if it wasn't for the constant clapping and cheering from my fellow millenials. For scenes we've seen before and a story we've seen before. But sure.

I wish we got a real Black Panther movie that was really something different. Not this watered down, cliche-driven movie we got.

To those giving this high praise because we "finally" got a black superhero movie (as if that makes a movie better), I'd just say that Spawn and Blade did it already. And they did it better.
Expand
30 of 67 users found this helpful3037
All this user's reviews
10
dangersFeb 16, 2018
There are no words to describe how much I loved this movie. Turns out the combination of the mastermind Kevin Feige with the talented writer/director Ryan Coogler has resulted in not just yet another widely entertaining addition to the MCU,There are no words to describe how much I loved this movie. Turns out the combination of the mastermind Kevin Feige with the talented writer/director Ryan Coogler has resulted in not just yet another widely entertaining addition to the MCU, but probably the best one yet. It has the same amount of depth as some of the franchise's best (Winter Soldier and Civil War), while the way the action sequences are shot and edited is absolutely sensetional. The cast is perfect and the visuals are simply beautiful - as is the soundtrack. This is a quite marvelous movie that will just raise your hype for "Infinity War" and what's about to come. Expand
167 of 374 users found this helpful167207
All this user's reviews