| Release Date: August 4, 2017
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
8
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LamontRaymondAug 6, 2017
Wow, what a stunner! Something about this movie brought me back to Linklater's "Suburbia" or Coppola's "Lost in Translation". I know we've seen Richardson in "Edge of Seventeen", but it feels like she's been shot out of a cannon with thisWow, what a stunner! Something about this movie brought me back to Linklater's "Suburbia" or Coppola's "Lost in Translation". I know we've seen Richardson in "Edge of Seventeen", but it feels like she's been shot out of a cannon with this film. Looking forward to seeing how her career progresses. And Cho is solid, as usual. He's come a long way since the Harold & Kumar flicks. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MarcDoyleAug 6, 2017
Simply an incredibly moving film. (How is it, by the way, that I saw the two best movies of the year on a Saturday in August??) The visuals are incredible, but the lives of the lead characters are so deftly drawn, and their relationship isSimply an incredibly moving film. (How is it, by the way, that I saw the two best movies of the year on a Saturday in August??) The visuals are incredible, but the lives of the lead characters are so deftly drawn, and their relationship is so tangible. Was happy to see Michelle Forbes and Parker Posey (along with Culkin) play some impactful supporting roles. And I just loved the writing - excellent use of the uroboros. Haven't walked out of a theater with that kind of a feeling in quite some time. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
FedorkoNov 14, 2017
This is a tricky movie to grade, but it is certainly well done. The stakes of the film seem constantly low, but it's because the film itself takes on the pace of the place. The characters, who were acted very well, are in a place of wanderingThis is a tricky movie to grade, but it is certainly well done. The stakes of the film seem constantly low, but it's because the film itself takes on the pace of the place. The characters, who were acted very well, are in a place of wandering and self-discovery, which perpetuates the slow-going film. The slow pace made me feel less for the characters. I understand why the movie is important now, but isn't making a choice and doing it even more important? I didn't think the film thought so. The script and acting was great, but I wonder if the direction could have been more precise. If you are an indie theatergoer, I'd recommend the film. This is one that just didn't resonate with me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
BHBarryAug 9, 2017
“Columbus” is a film written and directed by its one named creator, Ogonada. This is his directorial debut and unfortunately for him and his audience, is a totally non-auspicious entry into the theatrical genre. Aided and abetted in this“Columbus” is a film written and directed by its one named creator, Ogonada. This is his directorial debut and unfortunately for him and his audience, is a totally non-auspicious entry into the theatrical genre. Aided and abetted in this visual felony are actors John Cho and Haley Lu Richardson, with minimal participation by Parker Posey and Rory Culkin. The film takes place in Columbus, Indiana where many architectural feats have been accomplished and this serves as the basis for the common interest and attempted chemistry between its two co-stars. Although what well may have started out to be an effort to intellectualize and compare the world of architecture and life, the film fails miserably in that regard and becomes one of the most boring and tedious “entertainment” experiences this viewer can remember. As one member of the audience correctly put it: “It was like watching grass grow”. Mr. Cho manifests almost no emotion or credibility in the role he portrays in stark contrast to the performance of Ms. Richardson who is a delight to watch. Unfortunately, seeing her in the film is like listening to a fine singer performing a bad song. This is not a good film and one that I sincerely urge the potential viewer to avoid unless, of course, insomnia compels one to go to the theater for his or her much needed sleep. I give the film a 2.0 rating and that is solely due to the efforts of Ms. Richardson who hopefully will find better vehicles to expose her obvious talent. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantSep 10, 2017
A nearly perfect film in virtually every regard, this quiet, cerebral meditation about life, loving, healing, forgiveness, personal growth and human relations gives viewers much to think about, especially when faced with hard choices. SetA nearly perfect film in virtually every regard, this quiet, cerebral meditation about life, loving, healing, forgiveness, personal growth and human relations gives viewers much to think about, especially when faced with hard choices. Set against the beautiful backdrop of architectural mecca Columbus, Indiana, the film's exquisite, Kubrick-esque cinematography, ethereal, haunting score, and deft use of sound provide elegant wrapping for this sometimes-humorous, sometimes-heartbreaking, frequently mesmerizing tale. Don't expect much action from this one; in fact, don't be surprised if you often find yourself wondering where the story is going, given its often-cryptic dialogue. But sit back, let the film wash over you and take it all in -- you'll likely be very pleasantly surprised, especially by the award-worthy performance of John Cho, who demonstrates talents not seen in any of his previous roles. An absolute gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
isjoaoJan 15, 2018
I have no comments to make about this movie, I just want to use the 75 character minimum limit for reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AclarityAug 27, 2017
A poignant, tender story about all kinds of loss and the gaps between us. Beautifully filmed in Columbus, Indiana. Loved Haley Lu Richardson's performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews