Paramount Pictures | Release Date: August 9, 2019
3.8
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 28 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
8
Mixed:
5
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
Compi24Aug 13, 2019
A live-action interpretation that's as truly confusing as it is confused itself, "Dora And The Lost City Of Gold" neither establishes a consistent world, nor effectively communicates a true vision for what it's supposed to be, how everythingA live-action interpretation that's as truly confusing as it is confused itself, "Dora And The Lost City Of Gold" neither establishes a consistent world, nor effectively communicates a true vision for what it's supposed to be, how everything within it is supposed to be treated, or why it's all supposed to be funny. Seriously, what is going on here? Why is Dora so drastically different from everyone else, including her parents, who are two seemingly normal human beings? Why would you even bother entertaining the notion that all of the television adventures we've seen over the years are fantasies, when you have an actual, anthropomorphic Swiper The Fox existing in what we're supposed to believe is "the real world?" Why does everyone view Dora with such disdain and derision but treat the talking fox and blue and yellow monkey as just naturally occurring elements in existence itself? What is going on? They're clearly trying at some sort of parodic treatment of the material, yes, but they're also implementing some elements of the show unironically, ultimately making it feel like a soulless hodgepodge of ideas you've seen done better and more consistently in movies like "The Brady Bunch Movie" and "Christopher Robin," two very different movies with very distinct rules in play for their respective worlds. This movie wants to do all of the above and it's simply asinine. One of the more excruciating testaments to the power of having a singular vision in the writer's room. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesAug 10, 2019
My favorite type of kids film. Just like “Kicking and Screaming” or “The Boss Baby”’there are some dark, mature or well-written jokes that in no way belong in a PG flick, and I laughed more here than many recent films. It actually paysMy favorite type of kids film. Just like “Kicking and Screaming” or “The Boss Baby”’there are some dark, mature or well-written jokes that in no way belong in a PG flick, and I laughed more here than many recent films. It actually pays tribute to the animated series (which I watched as a kid) in very clever ways (think “Sponge Out of Water”) and anyone downvoting on here saying otherwise hasn’t actually seen the film. I don’t know, I enjoyed it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
fsdgfdAug 19, 2019
If you want to go see a movie you can make fun of with your friends, Dora and the lost city of gold is where it's at. This movie is so messy that it's laughable! Who honestly thought that portraying Dora as a teenager would be a good idea? ItIf you want to go see a movie you can make fun of with your friends, Dora and the lost city of gold is where it's at. This movie is so messy that it's laughable! Who honestly thought that portraying Dora as a teenager would be a good idea? It has a dumb script, scenes that don't make sense and cheap humor mainly aimed towards little kids..... honestly, very boring and not something I would spend 1.5 hours on. But again if there's nothing else to watch and you just want to make fun of it, it has a lot of material to choose from Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Bigheadjacky012Aug 13, 2019
Was expecting to be bad but was better than anticipated. It closely resembles the cartoon characters and it keeps new viewers attracted to the scenes while not forgetting about its loyal fan base.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JPKAug 9, 2019
Weird
This film is definitely something, The thought of a Dora movie is laughably bad, The film itself is mediocre, But it is still a pretty weird film.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Moviereviewer15Aug 9, 2019
My thoughts on #DoraAndTheLostCityOfGold:

A fun, charming, dorky but sweet-sentimental live-action adaptation with a spot-on performance of Isabela Moner as Dora The Explorer as she goes on a journey to discover her place in the real world
My thoughts on #DoraAndTheLostCityOfGold:

A fun, charming, dorky but sweet-sentimental live-action adaptation with a spot-on performance of Isabela Moner as Dora The Explorer as she goes on a journey to discover her place in the real world and show it’s always cool to be yourself. Eugenio Derbez’s role is not something u would expect, so, no spoilers about that. Also, expect some cute callbacks to the original “Dora The Explorer” cartoon in the opening scene and during an important scene in the movie. Also, while we don’t hear much from Danny Trejo as Boots The Monkey, I will say that Benicio Del Toro as Swiper the Fox was genius casting and I really enjoyed his performance, especially when he utters the famous phrase “oh man”.

Overall, a charming fun surprise in the end of the summer that you should all check out. I’m gonna give this a 10/10. 5 out of 5 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
LaroTayoGamingAug 10, 2019
It just straight up from CollegeHumour's idea! And where's the nostalgic songs, and all of that stuff. It's just basically a Lara Croft riftoff.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
AvengerDragon56Aug 9, 2019
How does this have a 77% on Rotten Tomatoes?! I'm sorry, but this was stupid.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
spiegelAug 13, 2019
I liked the movie, a mix of action and aventures, better than expected i think
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Hugi09Aug 9, 2019
C’est quoi cette merde?!!?????!?? 0/10!!!! C’est nulllllllllll!! Catastrophe !!!
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
MarshallCavalliAug 16, 2019
This is an average kids movie. That's about it. There isn't much I can say that could convince you to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews