Focus Features | Release Date: May 20, 2022
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 22 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
3
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
FXOMay 23, 2022
Delicious fun, delightfully entertaining and touchingly poignant with a slight nod to "Singin' in the Rain" sans the music.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
BigEggsKitchenMay 22, 2022
Better than it’s predecessor in every single way. Incredibly charming and never boring. One of those movies that helps you escape to a better place
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
AugureJun 10, 2022
As shallow and annoyingly nepotic as the first one, but worse that the first one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
wadisplaceMay 24, 2022
A very well-made movie. I did not watch Downton Abbey on PBS, so I was sort of Lost as far as the characters were concerned.
But the plot went smooth. It's a very funny, emotional, and at times, sad movie.
I did enjoy it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
PanchogulJun 11, 2022
No entiendo el alboroto con estas películas, son de lo mas aburrido que puede haber en el cine, tanto esta como su predecesora son el remedio perfecto para el insomnio.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
HannibalBMay 22, 2022
Watching this was an intensely boring and disappointing experience. It reminded me of an episode of The Love Boat, all these people coupling based on mere fiat and not a hint of real connection, everything being absurdly convenient, banalWatching this was an intensely boring and disappointing experience. It reminded me of an episode of The Love Boat, all these people coupling based on mere fiat and not a hint of real connection, everything being absurdly convenient, banal dialog, and everything contributing to a stultifying atmosphere without the slightest semblance of substance. The characters exist only to further the lame plot. And then there is the plague of our era, the forced emotions that come and go like foetid whiffs from a sewage lagoon. I was especially disgusted by Lord Grantham's nauseating breakdown and by the flippant final words of a certain venerable and salty elder. Yet another disgraceful and lazy money-grab capitalizing on a once-great show. Let shame and opprobrium be heaped upon everyone who took part in this travesty and let the creators soak for several eons in an infernal pond somewhere for this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MetacriticOnurJul 22, 2022
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
saulutreraMay 20, 2022
Downton Abbey: A New Era (2022, Simon Curtis) is everything we fans of the extraordinary ITV series love. It's made to entertain, to make you fall in love, to make you cry a river, but most of all to admire a line up of actresses and actorsDownton Abbey: A New Era (2022, Simon Curtis) is everything we fans of the extraordinary ITV series love. It's made to entertain, to make you fall in love, to make you cry a river, but most of all to admire a line up of actresses and actors who are stunning on screen. John Lunn's best work for this universe. Simply exquisite. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJun 5, 2022
Writer Julian Fellowes continues the saga of his beloved upper-crust family and their downstairs staff. Of course, time has ushered more changes. First, Maggie Smith's character inherits a villa, so some of the family members travel to theWriter Julian Fellowes continues the saga of his beloved upper-crust family and their downstairs staff. Of course, time has ushered more changes. First, Maggie Smith's character inherits a villa, so some of the family members travel to the South of France to meet the current owners. While they're gone, a production company moves into Downton to shoot a movie. Both of these primary plots play out with slightly absurd developments and every remaining character ends up in a promising relationship. The snappy snobbish attitude prevails, but there are also encounters that tie up loose ends with earnest dialogue. Of course, the costumes and locations are lovely and the cast is back in full gracious force. Anyone into the series will want to follow the saga's continuation for one last taste of this elegant estate and it's inhabitants. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
daiveenavaMay 29, 2022
Somehow a better continuation from the series than the first film (specially in some character resolution and better new characters), yet sometimes it feels like rushed in the editing and some characters appear in scene just for the need toSomehow a better continuation from the series than the first film (specially in some character resolution and better new characters), yet sometimes it feels like rushed in the editing and some characters appear in scene just for the need to make presence in the whole movie ark (or in this case, movie arks), signing that it might have worked better as six-ish episode mini series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SerengetiMay 30, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a sheer delight in every way! I loved almost every minute and couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. The movie gives us two venues to enjoy the family and their servants: a gorgeous villa in the South of France and Downton Abbey, where Hollywood has come a callin’ with all the glitz, glamor and gaga that goes along with it. A movie is being filmed at Downton, and it is lends a totally delightful layer to the movie. I loved it. Meanwhile, in France, there are tensions at the villa as the family living there has to get used to the idea that they must give it up. If I have one quibble with this wonderful movie, it is the way it ends. I felt it was unnecessary, contrived and just plain awful. But, the rest of it is just fabulous. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Mauro_LanariAug 12, 2022
(Mauro Lanari)
"Hollywood is the ultimate dream factory. And I need dreams as much as the next man": a feel-good period movie that evokes cloying memories of Ivory's cinema would be a dream? "The point is individual Crawleys come and go, but
(Mauro Lanari)
"Hollywood is the ultimate dream factory. And I need dreams as much as the next man": a feel-good period movie that evokes cloying memories of Ivory's cinema would be a dream? "The point is individual Crawleys come and go, but the family lives on": once the matron dies, a newborn girl is born in the eternal cycle of life: apotheosis.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Stream2BigScreeJun 8, 2022
Well, Streamers, we're a couple weeks late on the new Downton Abbey sequel, which is cleverly titled, Downton Abbey: A New Era. A new era, you say? We shall see about that. When we get these sequels of popular television series, we reallyWell, Streamers, we're a couple weeks late on the new Downton Abbey sequel, which is cleverly titled, Downton Abbey: A New Era. A new era, you say? We shall see about that. When we get these sequels of popular television series, we really want what you love from the series, but also something to justify the price of theater admission. Otherwise, these sequels could just be a TV movie, right? As a Downton Abbey fan, I'm predisposed to enjoy returning to the 1920s English countryside, but is there anything here for the uninitiated? Here's how the new era at the Abbey shakes up.

Do you really need a synopsis? It's more Downton Abbey, for goodness sake. You have tea. You have scandal. You have upstairs and downstairs light drama. There are some quips thrown about, and, of course, the threat of the outside world comes to Downton as well. In particular, the Dowager Countess has inherited, unexpectedly, a French villa from a past acquaintance. Part of the Crawley family heads to the south of France to check out the new vacation spot. The remaining Crawley bunch stay at Downton because a film crew is coming to make a motion picture. Hijinks ensue.

All of the favorites from the series are back, except for Lady Mary's husband. I guess Matthew Goode was busy on some other project to return to Downton. Nevertheless, it seems the family keeps growing in to the late 1920s. The promise of a bright future also always reminds the Crawley family of the impending end of an era. It is a welcome treat to return to the Downton Abbey Universe (DAU...work with me here) as it keeps expanding. The best part is that it feels so familiar. The production values and costumes look great on film. Julian Fellowes has a great grasp of these character and the light tone that has carried throughout the series. Sure, there's drama and scandal, but it all very measured and easy. The general low stakes makes Downton Abbey a fun watch.

The only real issue is that there is such a sprawling cast that the movie can only do so much in 2 hours. The plot splits the cast into two groups, which makes it more manageable, but some characters still get the short end of the stick. As a fan, I could spend more than 2 hours with this series. I'd like for this to have been a 3-hour limited series. That could have been cool. While a non-fan can enjoy this film, I suspect that the size of the cast and brisk pace of the movie may make it difficult to digest without a little background. Nevertheless, there is always something going on, it is edited very well, and the charm and wit will suck you in no matter what.

Ultimately, Downton Abbey: A New Era does everything its fans want it to do. It has that same light energy that was present throughout the tv series and the first film. The Crawley family continues to grow and move through society with aplomb. Charm, wit and a lot of heart abound. Fans have been served well by this sequel. Yes, everyone else can enjoy this sequel, but it clearly has more depth for those predisposed to the DAU. Fans get your big box of popcorn and enjoy, if you haven't already. Everyone else grab a bowl and enjoy a matinee, if you choose.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Pixel_65Jul 30, 2022
Downton Abbey: A New Era is cinematic escapism at its finest and perhaps that’s all it should be
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alicjooooJun 6, 2022
The movie is good and refreshing. I have never seen the tv series before but the plot is easy to understand and the characters are very likable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews