Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 1, 2019
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 256 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
149
Mixed:
72
Negative:
35
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ProteusAug 2, 2019
Likable actors. Check. Fun dialogue. Check. Dumb stunts. Check. Cars hooked to a helicopter trying to bring is down but the helicopter keeps climbing so more cars hook onto the existing cars. Check. What were you expecting? Good movie. Check.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
cag345Sep 9, 2019
I can not say much about this movie but it is unnecessary, boring and stupid.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
ColginatorAug 4, 2019
Hobbs & Shaw had some of the most notoriously troublesome pre-production drama in recent years. The film began largely due to an on-set dispute which arose between Vin Diesel and Dwayne Johnson during filming The Fate of the Furious, withHobbs & Shaw had some of the most notoriously troublesome pre-production drama in recent years. The film began largely due to an on-set dispute which arose between Vin Diesel and Dwayne Johnson during filming The Fate of the Furious, with Diesel and Johnson refusing to film scenes together, Diesel using his position as producer to cancel some of Johnson’s scenes and Johnson creating a long post on Instagram detailing his frictions with his co-stars on set. With this tension making production difficult and Johnson’s chemistry with Statham being a notable highlight during filming, studio execs just decided to go ahead and separate them by giving Johnson his own spin off. It’s like when two children are bickering over the same toy so their parents just decide to buy a new toy and let them play separately. Though with each new F&F film, it’s strange to think back to 18 years ago when this franchise was just a loose retelling of Point Break following an investigation into some street racers. Now these movies have gotten so big that they’re dealing with a virus which threatens the lives of millions and a genetically enhanced supervillain leading an army of terrorists trying to release the virus on to the world. With Shaw’s sister in possession of the virus and on the run from the terrorists, Hobbs and Shaw team up to save the world with their seemingly superhuman abilities and constant banter. It’s a ridiculous plot, filled with ridiculous action and ridiculous dialogue. But fortunately the cast knows how ridiculous everything is and are able to thrive in it. Johnson and Statham’s chemistry is definitely the main glue which holds the film together and most of the films best moments is just the pair trading insults. They’re both able to let their personalities shine through their performances and deliver on the over the top action sequences which play to their strengths, with Statham precisely striking enemies down whilst Johnson smashes through bad guys like a raging Hulk. They’re also both willing to share the screen without hogging the spotlight leading to a fun team dynamic. Vanessa Kirby is also a great addition, with the film never reverting to her being a damsel in distress and letting her hold her own with the rest of the team. Plus Idris Elba seems to be having the time of his life playing a villain so over the top that he literally introduces himself at the start of the film as being the bad guy.

Beyond the characters, this film has everything that fans have enjoyed about the recent Fast & Furious films. Funny action one-liners like Elba calling himself “black superman” or Johnson saying he’s about to open “an ice cold can of whoop ass”. Action sequences which sees characters perform superhuman feats like Johnson go full Captain America and holding back a helicopter with his bare hands. And the mixture of sprawling settings across the globe and high tech gadgets that give the impression F&F is trying to become an adrenaline filled version of Jame Bond. But the film still has the same drawbacks of the other F&F films too. Whilst Johnson and Statham are great at sharing the screen, they also have contracts that have been drafted so that they can never be the definitive loser of a fight. This causes a lot of the action to be too one sided with sequences lose any potential tension. I wouldn’t be too surprised to learn that the main reason they made Elba a superhuman was just so they would have someone they could both fight against without harming their onscreen reputations. Also as entertaining as these fight sequences can get, they do often go on too long which makes the film feel bloated. Plus whilst there are a few cool long take sequences from Statham who has been performing great action choreography since his days in the Transporter series, a lot of sequences here suffer from the same problem of a lot of modern action movies with the action being obscured by too many fast cuts and too few wide shots. Though when it comes down to it, Hobbs and Shaw is in many ways the ideal spin off. It has everything which people enjoy about the F&F franchise, whilst still being independent by setting up it’s own story separate to the main franchise. And with several surprise cameos clearly setting up a new crew for future films, it’s likely we actually will get 2 Hobbs 2 Shawious sometime soon.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Aug 3, 2019
Look, man. We're nine movies deep in this franchise and, somehow, they've managed to keep getting my lowly, apparently-crocodile-brained ass in the seat to watch. For me, I think it really all comes down to the set piece design, and withLook, man. We're nine movies deep in this franchise and, somehow, they've managed to keep getting my lowly, apparently-crocodile-brained ass in the seat to watch. For me, I think it really all comes down to the set piece design, and with "Hobbs & Shaw" you're given nothing different. This is a series of films that steers hard into the skid (forgive me) of ridiculousness, and when you have motorcycles flying through double decker buses, a flat-bed truck trying desperately to outrun a collapsing smokestack, and a helicopter playing tug-of-war with a series of roadsters fashioned with tow, you're holding up your end of the bargain. No, this doesn't change the action movie game in any of the ways that really count. No, the character and narrative elements aren't at optimal levels of intrigue. But did this really have anything else riding on it other than being a solid, turn-your-brain-off time at the movie theater? Also no. And in that, I'd say it's mostly a success. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
JamesIrish68Aug 5, 2019
I've avoided F&Fs like the plague as I can't bear Vin Diesel in any shape or form. But I really like Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham so I went along to check it out. I wasn't disappointed. The Rock is just naturally likeable in everything heI've avoided F&Fs like the plague as I can't bear Vin Diesel in any shape or form. But I really like Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham so I went along to check it out. I wasn't disappointed. The Rock is just naturally likeable in everything he does and Jason is an excellent counterpart. Superbly produced high octane fun with outstanding action stunts and locations. Loved it Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
darkbloodshed13Aug 7, 2019
Fast and the Furious presents: Hobbs and Shaw is a film directed by David Leitch and is about Luke Hobbs played by the Rock being forced to team up with the man he hates the most, Deckard Shaw played by Jason Statham, in order to save theFast and the Furious presents: Hobbs and Shaw is a film directed by David Leitch and is about Luke Hobbs played by the Rock being forced to team up with the man he hates the most, Deckard Shaw played by Jason Statham, in order to save the world and Shaw's sister. This film is exactly what we have come to expect from the Fast and the Furious franchise, mindless action with over the top characters and and a plot with several implausibilities. Meaning this film could either be wicked fun or simply horrible, thankfully this follows the way of the former not the latter. The characters all written and portrayed well and the action is well paced add that to your standard Fast and the Furious message of family and togetherness and could have a really great film. However, this film does have it's fair share of problems. First being that it feels 30 minutes to long. The second problem is they don't give a good explanation for why they don't call the rest of the Fast and the Furious characters for help. I get not having them because you want to start a new series of films staring Hobbs and Shaw but you still need to give us a narrative reason why they aren't there. Lastly though the action was well paced it wasn't shot all that well and it relied on to much slow motion. Yet those problems don't stop me from having a good time with the film. In conclusion if your looking for a good mindless action film to pass the time than this is the film for you. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JPKAug 5, 2019
Very Fun
Hobbs & Shaw Is fun, dumb, hilarious, well acted, and overall satisfying.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
saltydog99Aug 6, 2019
Hobbs and Shaw is the perfect blend of action, comedy, and pure fun at the movies. The story is ridiculous, and the film get ridiculous at times, but it never sacrifices good acting and directing to make things fun. Hobbs and Shaw works soHobbs and Shaw is the perfect blend of action, comedy, and pure fun at the movies. The story is ridiculous, and the film get ridiculous at times, but it never sacrifices good acting and directing to make things fun. Hobbs and Shaw works so well for that reason, it is a technically well made film and still gives you the audience a fun bombastic ride. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
EtainMukanAug 3, 2019
It was much, much better than I expected. The chemistry between Johnson & Statham was on point and their back and forth dialogue was absolutely hilarious. Throw in Vanessa Kirby and it was a perfect trifecta! Idris Elba was perfect as "BlackIt was much, much better than I expected. The chemistry between Johnson & Statham was on point and their back and forth dialogue was absolutely hilarious. Throw in Vanessa Kirby and it was a perfect trifecta! Idris Elba was perfect as "Black Superman" and his interactions with the other three leads was gold. I'd also be remiss if I didn't mention at least two actor cameos, which were brilliant and unexpected. I won't mention who they are because I think they're uncredited, but one is a CIA agent and the other an air marshal. Both were so funny in their roles and every time they appeared the audience just loved it.

The action scenes, continuing in the tradition of the Fast & Furious films to keep upping the stakes were sometime over-the-top, but they were so much fun to watch. The tech was also a bit too sci-fi to be believable, but actually worked quite well in the context of the plot. This movie had everything you could want from a mindless (not a bad thing!) summer popcorn flick - action, comedy, drama, & sci-fi.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
bear24Aug 3, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. loved it, enjoy Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
fsdgfdSep 2, 2019
The best thing about the movie was the popcorn.....
No plot, dumb dialogue and script, and scrappy action scenes. Even for an "action" film the movie had maybe 30 min of actual action, the rest was the actors talking to another about "stuff".
The best thing about the movie was the popcorn.....
No plot, dumb dialogue and script, and scrappy action scenes. Even for an "action" film the movie had maybe 30 min of actual action, the rest was the actors talking to another about "stuff". The action was just CGI and loads of explosions, so if you like that stuff go to this movie, But if you enjoy an actual action movie with cool stunts, actual plot and good characters stick to Mission Impossible.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryAug 6, 2019
There's yet another lethal virus threatening the world and it's chief guardian is a slightly cyber villain played by Idris Elba. To save the day, Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham are forced to team up, despite their bad blood in earlier FastThere's yet another lethal virus threatening the world and it's chief guardian is a slightly cyber villain played by Idris Elba. To save the day, Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham are forced to team up, despite their bad blood in earlier Fast and Furious sequels. The contemptuous banter between them is one of the movie's most enjoyable aspects. Actually, Ryan Reynolds and Kevin Hart (uncredited cameos) provide some of the funniest moments. Then there's the action. There's plenty of it, but it's more about fights than physics-defying stunts, although there are a few of those. Many of these moments land (literally) and some don't, but there's still sufficient energy and sass to make it fun. NOTE: Stay thru ALL of the credits for 3 extra comedy bits. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Qgal5kapSep 22, 2019
Unrealistic, unfunny, terrible CG, total disregard for the laws of nature... I sure as hell hope this at least manages to satisfy the kids watching it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
MattBrady99Aug 4, 2019
'Hobbs & Shaw' is literally 2 hours of people dissing each other and it isn't just from Dwayne and Statham.

It's a dumb movie, but at this point we should just expect that with these movies. Judging it on a entertainment standpoint, it
'Hobbs & Shaw' is literally 2 hours of people dissing each other and it isn't just from Dwayne and Statham.

It's a dumb movie, but at this point we should just expect that with these movies. Judging it on a entertainment standpoint, it succeeds on that. I was never bored watching it, which is the best compliment I can give.

Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham both have such great chemistry and comedic timing, the movie wouldn't stand without them, of course.

I liked Idris Elba as the main baddie who has a past vendetta to crack. While not one of his best performance, yet still manages to bring a physical presence to the screen. Vanessa Kirby was a standout as she's fully aware how ridiculous it all is, but plays along anyway.

There's a few surprises along the way that actually caught me off guard.

However, judging this as a movie - there's less positives to say. The dialogue is awful, action scenes happen for the shake of it, and the movie is a little too long. And since everybody in this universe is immortal despite the fights, free falls and explosions - Dwayne and Statham are unhurt, which deflates any sense of danger. Also the trash talking between the two gets stale really quick.

Overall rating: See it if you know what you are getting into.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic68Aug 7, 2019
You know going in this is all about violent action & not a movie of distinguished acting. The duo play their roles in an entertaining fashion and interact well together. No chance of being an Oscar nominated film but the stunts were awesomeYou know going in this is all about violent action & not a movie of distinguished acting. The duo play their roles in an entertaining fashion and interact well together. No chance of being an Oscar nominated film but the stunts were awesome and the film overall seem to please the audience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
qAug 23, 2019
I have yet to see a movie--including Moana--involving Dwayne Johnson that was worth the price of admission. "Hobbs and Shaw" was no exception. It was ridiculously violent and loaded with gratuitous and unrealistic action scenes. The finalI have yet to see a movie--including Moana--involving Dwayne Johnson that was worth the price of admission. "Hobbs and Shaw" was no exception. It was ridiculously violent and loaded with gratuitous and unrealistic action scenes. The final showdown, fought with prehistoric weapons in the homeland of Johnson's character, was downright asinine. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KristiancraKAug 8, 2019
Peliculon a pesar de que no sea de la linea principal de la saga Fast and Furious
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Aug 4, 2019
This is one of my favorite movies of 2019, one of my favorite action movies, and one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects and action sequences were excellent and awesome. The fighting choreography was terrific. The chemistryThis is one of my favorite movies of 2019, one of my favorite action movies, and one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects and action sequences were excellent and awesome. The fighting choreography was terrific. The chemistry and charisma between Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, and Vanessa Kirby was superb and hilarious. The acting from Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Idris Elba, Vanessa Kirby, Helen Mirren, Cliff Curtis, Ryan Reynolds, and Kevin Hart was hilarious and stupendous. The writing and screenplay were excellent and hilarious. The score was also great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ABRAug 3, 2019
Probably the best Fast & Furious movie. Probably the best action movie this year. Enjoyed it much more than JW3.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GLADIADORAug 4, 2019
Velozes e furiosos: hobbs e shaw e um belissimo filme de acao e que tambem e muito engracado, mas acho o filme um pouco longo de demais, fora isso o filme e diversao pura
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
bataguilaAug 4, 2019
Mucha acción, entretenida, agil, buenos chistes, y no esta tan exagerada. Sin Diesel es mejor
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MarkHReviewsSep 5, 2019
“Hobbs and Shaw” is a searing, soul-crushing examination of the existential angst and inner conflict that all humans face when confronting the nothingness of their very brief existence. Okay, maybe not. But if you’re looking for an“Hobbs and Shaw” is a searing, soul-crushing examination of the existential angst and inner conflict that all humans face when confronting the nothingness of their very brief existence. Okay, maybe not. But if you’re looking for an action-infused, light-hearted, self-deprecating piece of summer fluff, you probably will leave with a smile on your face. In the storyline for “Hobbs and Shaw,” all that hangs in the balance is the future of human existence. When an MI6 agent who turns out to be Jason Statham’s sister steals a toxin that could liquefy the internal organs of everyone on the planet, the stakes could not be higher. Fortunately, Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson) and Shaw (Jason Statham) are willing to team up long enough to take on the evil Eteon (Enron, Exxon?) and its half-human/half-machine henchman Brixton (Idris Elba). How could it all possibly end?

In this case, it’s fun just to go along for the ride. Statham, particularly, seems totally willing to parody the brooding macho man of his earlier roles (“The Transporter,” “Crank,” “The Mechanic”) with the rest of us in on the joke. While some of the banter between Statham and Johnson is horribly clichéd and it’s unclear whether the few “serious” moments are meant to be taken seriously, the action – fight scenes, car chases, truck chases, helicopter chases, motorcycle chases, you get the idea – is well worth the price of admission.

The cast is consistently excellent. Vanessa Kirby (Princess Margaret in “The Crown”), clearly thrilled to become an action heroine, brings to her role a sly, measured delivery the keeps the stilted script from imploding under its own weight (or lack thereof). Brief cameos by Helen Mirren (as Statham’s mother), Kevin Hart (as an emotionally needy air marshal), Eddie Marsan (“Ray Donovan”), Ryan Reynolds (“Deadpool”) and even Rob Delaney (“Catastrophe”) just add to the fun. In the steady hand of Director David Leitch (“John Wick,” “Atomic Blonde,” “Deadpool 2”), these components are mixed into a combustible brew of congenial chaos.

The action is continuous and well-orchestrated, supported by a pounding soundtrack that includes a closing track by DJ Idris Elba.

If you decide to see this movie, don’t bring a thesaurus or plan to spend a lot of time discussing the symbolism embedded in a multi-layered plot. Come for the explosions, not the exposition.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
signum88Sep 30, 2019
A completely ridiculous live action Looney Tunes movie, I honestly don't understand where the 6/10s are coming from.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
thatdannerAug 7, 2019
This might just be the best of the Fast and Furious films (which is not saying a lot). However, this one manages to blend humour, action and heart in a way that none of its predecessors could. Fun cameos from Kevin Hart and Ryan ReynoldsThis might just be the best of the Fast and Furious films (which is not saying a lot). However, this one manages to blend humour, action and heart in a way that none of its predecessors could. Fun cameos from Kevin Hart and Ryan Reynolds provide some funny moments, but most importantly the chemistry between the two leads (technically three) is very enjoyable. It really looks like the actors are having fun, not just for the movie. The dialogue between the leads is laugh out loud funny at times. The action of the movie is also very outlandish, but it's part of the fun. It's hard to take the movie seriously, but the heart is definitely there. I feel like a better villain than Idris Elba could've been chosen. Elba does great in his role but he's just too likable to be a villain, I never feel truly scared or on edge. Also, the movie is plain predictable, from the start. Aside from its flaws, the movie was very well done and I hope they put the Fast and Furious series to rest and begin making more Hobbs and Shaw. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ZACHSP8Aug 16, 2019
The whole film is made just to make the Dwayne Johnson look good, it ruined the whole film for me, which was a shame as I was looking forward to it.

A film with Elba and Statham in, what could go wrong, oh yeah Johnson
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
1098imAug 8, 2019
I'm not the biggest fan of " the fast and furious " series, Why bother watch the movie when the trailer gives everything away
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Thenightwing35Aug 6, 2019
Extremely ridiculous and absurd, this film is somehow still entertaining. The Rock and Statham's banter carry the film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FlixReviewsAug 4, 2019
While it isn't technically a part of the Fast and Furious series, this spin-off still carries most of the fun shown in the last two installments and more. The chemistry between Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham is next level, and every actionWhile it isn't technically a part of the Fast and Furious series, this spin-off still carries most of the fun shown in the last two installments and more. The chemistry between Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham is next level, and every action sequence has its own unique feel to it. David Leitch, director of Deadpool, knocks it out of the park with another fun installment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Boni_Chodes69Aug 3, 2019
I’d give this movie a carcrash/10 if I could. Idris is great as always and easily the best part is Jason and Dwayne’s interactions. The action is great as well, but the stunt choreography is a bit lacking due to it mainly being jump-twist andI’d give this movie a carcrash/10 if I could. Idris is great as always and easily the best part is Jason and Dwayne’s interactions. The action is great as well, but the stunt choreography is a bit lacking due to it mainly being jump-twist and punch the bad guy. The car damage was also great. The actress who played Statham’s sister kinda sucked, but(in my opinion) the fast and furious series has never been good at writing a female character beyond “look, I’m hot and a woman, therefore I matter” or “Girl power”. I am not Uwe Boll in case you think I am That unmarried sex symbol is too hunky to be me. Remember, ladies who are reading this, he is single and sexy. Just go to Uwebollraw.com Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KingIjazMaliK96Aug 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You Will Enjoy Every Second of This Movie Hobbs & Shaw 2 Bad Guys in Bad Situation Trying to Save The World From Virus Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ItstheyakdudeAug 4, 2019
Even though it was a bit long, I enjoyed every single second of it. Encore please!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ZihanAug 6, 2019
Such an amazing movieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Oxxxymiron_1703Aug 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my favorite 2019 movies, one of my favorite action movies and one of my favorite movies of all time. The visuals and action sequences were superb and amazing. The combat choreography was amazing. The chemistry and charisma between Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, and Vanessa Kirby was excellent and fun. And as I said before, you will get a lot of car related actions and actions. Also, there are important messages for everyone in this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
JSparoAug 27, 2019
Everything depends of your tastes.
I personally didn't appreciate this movie as I couldn't get along with the huge incoherences that have been necessary to write such a poor scenario.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Aug 2, 2019
I had a good time with this spin-off of the successful Fast and the Furious franchise.

Unlike the main series, this movie isn't so much about fast cars than it is a action/spy film. (There are a few car chase scenes in this, and they are
I had a good time with this spin-off of the successful Fast and the Furious franchise.

Unlike the main series, this movie isn't so much about fast cars than it is a action/spy film. (There are a few car chase scenes in this, and they are pretty top notch). This is also the first film to feature sci-fi elements which is a far leap if you consider that the original F&F was fairly grounded. Still, considering how increasingly fantastic the movies have gotten over the years, I feel perfectly prepared for this happening.

The purpose of this movie was purely to entertain, and it succeeded. Whole thing looks great. Fights are well choreographed. Doesn't hurt that director David Leitch has a long history as a stunt coordinator. There are some fairly inventive action moments. The film maintains the franchise's history of great scenery. This is definitely the funniest film in the franchise.

Admittedly, the plot and the emotional beats are rather lightweight, even by Fast & the Furious standards. (There's usually a scene or two based on the characters' relationships that really hit home.) Think Roger Moore era James Bond. Don't get me wrong, there is nothing about the story that really drops the ball, and the film builds upon the lead characters by shedding light on the leads. It's just that the plot points feel perfunctory.

They do lean into the constant bickering between Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson) and Shaw (Jason Statham) perhaps a little too much, but the two actors manage to make it work. It helps that the back-and-forth is broad and childish enough that you can't helped but be amused rather than feeling it all was too petty.

The entire cast in this is pretty darn good. Vanessa Kirby as Shaw's sister Hattie commands the screen as much as the leads. Idris Elba manages to make what could've been a pretty paper-thin villain with a couple of pretty cheesy lines work. Though it's basically a cameo, Helen Mirren makes her scenes as Shaw and Hattie's mother count.

Okay, this isn't the greatest action movie ever made. The plot is just kind of there. Yeet the film is still pretty darn fun and testosterone packed. In the series, I'd rank this below F&F 5-7 and above the rest.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
SelvaganapathyAug 13, 2019
This is not even a Fast and Furious film. It tries to be a action infused fast paced crime-detective movie and pathetically fails at it. Better avoid watching this. Only good part in this movie is where Ryan comes, I had expected him to haveThis is not even a Fast and Furious film. It tries to be a action infused fast paced crime-detective movie and pathetically fails at it. Better avoid watching this. Only good part in this movie is where Ryan comes, I had expected him to have a more on-screen time. But he's just there, had about a 2-3 minutes of on-screen time. This movie is all about how Hobbs and Shaw bicker about like a old married couple while being chased by a "AI" assisted black guy. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
CharlAug 7, 2019
This movie should have been released in the children's comedy science fiction section
It was embarrassingly bad.Sorry Vin
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Jacob251025Aug 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love FF Franchise and love Jason Statham so I went to see this movie and I was so disappointed. Not worth the money, it was all about the two trying to outdo each other. No real plot. Just a stupid story line to mask the two out doing each other. Still will see Jason Statham’s movies, but can’t wait for to spend my money on a real movie FAST AND THE FURIOUS 9! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingAug 2, 2019
“Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw” is a self-aware, hilarious, and over-the-top action extravaganza which evolves the franchise to even crazier territory. Suspend your disbelief, prepare your popcorn and coke, and sit back and relax for“Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw” is a self-aware, hilarious, and over-the-top action extravaganza which evolves the franchise to even crazier territory. Suspend your disbelief, prepare your popcorn and coke, and sit back and relax for 2 hours of compelling nonsense. And stay back till the very end to watch the post-credit scenes. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
zouz123Aug 3, 2019
The chemistry between Hobbs & Shaw is nice and all, but the movie is a bit childish for my taste, and the jokes are really silly.I wanted to leave for a smoke several times. And this is not a Fast & Furious movie, it's a more a sci-fi actionThe chemistry between Hobbs & Shaw is nice and all, but the movie is a bit childish for my taste, and the jokes are really silly.I wanted to leave for a smoke several times. And this is not a Fast & Furious movie, it's a more a sci-fi action movie with meh action scenes and a terrible story. Very disappointed! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Aug 4, 2019
When Fast and Furious started things were about cars. The next two sequels changed the mold but cars remained the strong element.
After the fourth film all that was forgotten and Brian O'Conner, Dominic Toretto and all their gang went from
When Fast and Furious started things were about cars. The next two sequels changed the mold but cars remained the strong element.
After the fourth film all that was forgotten and Brian O'Conner, Dominic Toretto and all their gang went from being mechanics and thieves to being super special agents.

Ok I understand, this is a business and people enjoy it and for those reasons the whole franchise changed and because of it this spin-off was born from the characters of Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham who became quite popular within the franchise.

This film doesn't fool you and tells you frontally: This is a full in your face action story and even gets into the field of science fiction.
You certainly know what this films is offering and yet despite all the grandiloquence of its staging, it never ceases to be an empty show.

Even when the film should not give you rest from all the action chaos, it does so with many interludes that deal with a disastrous comedy.
I say it sincerely, the chemistry between Johnson and Statham may be quite good in the action terrain but their comic timing is appalling. The dialogues and the jokes burn for how pathetic they are. Childish as ****
Ryan Reynolds and Kevin Hart have small interventions and they without much effort are much funnier.
Vanessa Kirby does enough with what the story allows her.

The script sucks, understand that from the first minute.
The story is as thin as its own conflict and the little that advances its ''mysterious narrative'' with the villain behind the curtain is only to immediately sell you a sequel that will undoubtedly exist.

Hobbs & Shaw has quite good action sequences and in that they work quite well, that's where the film excels. Even considering the great implausibility of the majority of those scenes, they don't stop being entertaining but that doesn't compensate for a whole film and never will do, although obviously everything will continue to depend on your own tastes and expectations.

If you want to turn off your brain for two hours and enjoy entertainment that demands nothing, you have an option here.

Yet, Idris Elba deserved better.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
antoniointiniAug 4, 2019
It's a Marvel's Iron Man C-rate movie wich barely has supercars in it. Then they put a "Fast and Furious" label in it, so unaware people like me spend their money in tickets for a poor movie. It is definitely not a FF movie. Not even theIt's a Marvel's Iron Man C-rate movie wich barely has supercars in it. Then they put a "Fast and Furious" label in it, so unaware people like me spend their money in tickets for a poor movie. It is definitely not a FF movie. Not even the humor attempt is well succeded.Save your money. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
ValBalAug 4, 2019
And I thought my jokes were bad. This is a film that a 12 year old kid would love: forgettable cgi action, predictable plot, overacting and the most idiotic dialogues I've seen in years.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
LajaleaaAug 6, 2019
"We'll decide what's impossible."-
.
( 20/100 ) . "Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw" es una grosería cinematográfica y una absurdez inaceptable. La historia pretende sostenerse con una ideología ilógica, nada ética e incoherente; por lo
"We'll decide what's impossible."-
.
( 20/100 )
.
"Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw" es una grosería cinematográfica y una absurdez inaceptable. La historia pretende sostenerse con una ideología ilógica, nada ética e incoherente; por lo tanto la "gran" voluntad del villano, interpretado por Idris Elba, simplemente provoca vergüenza. El guión, al contrario de otras películas de Fast And Furious y cualquier película de acción, construye su épica con frases ofensivas entre Hobbs y Shaw que se extienden eternamente. En ese aspecto, la actuación de Dwayne Johnson y Jason Statham no solo es mala, sino que, gracias a la misma dirección, es tan melodramática y deficiente que da lástima. Con toda seguridad digo que ni Vanessa Kirby, Helen Mirren o Eiza Gonzales (especialmente Eiza) tuvieron una participación relevante o digna de ser vista en todo el film. Los efectos especiales. Por Dios. Siempre pensé que el punto de la saga es crear una acción espectacular que empuje los limites de la realidad en el concepto de F&F (Furious 7 podría ser un buen ejemplo), sin embargo, la película es un ejercicio retrograda en la que las coreografías de pelea se interrumpen por la misma edición y los efectos especiales están tan lejos de ser realistas o dentro de las leyes de la lógica física, que provoca molestia. Este sutil Transformers se escuda detrás de valores culturales como la familia que "se tiene, se recupera y se gana" solo para eliminar cualquier gota de empatía, sensibilidad o sensatez. "Hobbs And Shaw" más que una película, es un montón de niños meándose dinero encima después de vender chicles masticados a sus padres ricos quienes, con indiferencia, les dan el dinero para que los dejen de molestar. Lo peor es que esta plaga promete un futuro, que es lo que más me ofende, pero ahora que sé que tan fútil puede ser la industria del cine, aspiro a actuar en contra de un consumo de entretenimiento ínfimo. Por favor no la vean.
-
"Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw" is a cinematography vulgarity and an unacceptable absurdity. The story pretends to sustain itself with an illogic, non-ethic and incoherent ideology; therefore, the "great" willingness of the villain, played by Idris Elba, simply provokes shame. The scrip, on the contrary of other Fast & Furious and any other action movie, builds it's epic throughout offensive dialogue between Hobbs and Shaw which extends eternally. In that aspect, the acting of Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham is not just bad, but thanks to the direction itself, it is so melodramatic and deficient that it gives pity. With all the security in me, I state that not even Vanessa Kirby, Helen Mirren or Eiza Gonzales (specially Eiza), had relevant or worthy of seeing participation in the hole film. The special effects. My God. I always thought that the point being of the saga was to create a spectacular action that pushes the boundaries of the realness in the concept of F&F (Furious 7 could be a good example), but the movie is a retrograde exercise in which the fight choreographies are interrupted by the edition itself and special effects are way far from being realistic or accord to the physical logic that is annoying. This subtle Transformers shields itself behind the cultural value of family that "you have, you recover, and you win" just to delete any drop of empathy, sensitivity or sanity. "Hobbs & Shaw" more than a movie, is a bunch of kids pissing themselves money after selling chewed gum to their rich parents who, with indifference, give them the money to stop bothering them. The worst thing is that this plague promises a future, which is what offends me the most, but now that I know how futile the cinematic industry can be, I aspire to act against the consumerism of empty entertainment. Please don't watch it.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Bitash123Aug 6, 2019
This movie is Michael Bay meets fast and the furious on steroids...Lotta car chase scenes, things blowing and constant fight scenes where leading actors are always the heros. And to pick Eliza Gonzales as a Russian billionaire character WhenThis movie is Michael Bay meets fast and the furious on steroids...Lotta car chase scenes, things blowing and constant fight scenes where leading actors are always the heros. And to pick Eliza Gonzales as a Russian billionaire character When we have so many authentic Russian models/actors just ruined the scene, and of ours she has always be the bad ass sexy lingerie wearing character, so over done. Leading actors, did a great job. Non sense unrealistic action scenes, cheesy lines and Predictable childlike plot. The CG is pretty good but the story line and dialog is so bad. Perfect for may be 26 and under. I suffered through the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
thegldtAug 7, 2019
The final act of this movie (set in Ukraine) is not the final act. There’s a fourth act that takes place in Samoa. And on that island, they do the final battle using spears, and then another final battle versus a helicopter, and finally oneThe final act of this movie (set in Ukraine) is not the final act. There’s a fourth act that takes place in Samoa. And on that island, they do the final battle using spears, and then another final battle versus a helicopter, and finally one more final battle using fists during a dramatic storm.

‪In summary — like the Fast & Furious franchise — this movie does NOT know when to end.‬

‪While it has funny and surprising cameos, decent fight choreography and chase sequences, the movie also has a ridiculous transforming bike, un-killable characters, and the blandest zero-stakes end-of-the-world sci-fi plot you can imagine. As a whole, Hobbs & Shaw is a movie that does not deserve its excruciating 2:20 runtime... and your money.‬
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
LamontRaymondAug 1, 2019
The movie is worth seeing for 3 things only: the great chemistry between the two leads (and the super-fun dialog they read); Vanessa Kirby, who is amazing in her part - have we seen her before? ; and 2 extremely funny cameos by actors whoThe movie is worth seeing for 3 things only: the great chemistry between the two leads (and the super-fun dialog they read); Vanessa Kirby, who is amazing in her part - have we seen her before? ; and 2 extremely funny cameos by actors who cannot be named lest I spoil the movie. Idris Elba is essentially wasted - he's robotic and boring. The action sequences are decent, but largely ridiculous. So if you're up for the leads, you won't have a bad time. Just don't expect a great story like the one in Fast 5. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
ItsmeyousifAug 3, 2019
It’s just another movie where the Rock feeding his ego as the alpha male, that’s pretty much it. I thought the last fast & furious had a ridicules plot, but this one is on another level. I can turn my brain off about all crazy action scenes,It’s just another movie where the Rock feeding his ego as the alpha male, that’s pretty much it. I thought the last fast & furious had a ridicules plot, but this one is on another level. I can turn my brain off about all crazy action scenes, explosions and all the unrealistic things happened, that’s fine it’s a movie, BUT FITTING THREE PEOPLE IN THAT MCLAREN IS JUST STUPID. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
TheREVIEWER17Aug 2, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent! Pure action but a bit over the top. However, It still deserves a 10. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Moviereviewer15Aug 1, 2019
My Review for #FastAndFurious Presents: #HobbsAndShaw:

A fun action-packed on-the-Edge of your seat thrill ride with great cinematography, a hell of a lot of choreography in the action, great chemistry by The Rock, Jason Statham and Vanessa
My Review for #FastAndFurious Presents: #HobbsAndShaw:

A fun action-packed on-the-Edge of your seat thrill ride with great cinematography, a hell of a lot of choreography in the action, great chemistry by The Rock, Jason Statham and Vanessa Kirby and a great expansion of the Fast and Furious franchise with this very first spinoff. You’ll see unexpected celebrity cameos. You’ll visit a lot of locations on the globe-trotting adventure of our three main heroes. And, like I said earlier, you’re gonna get a lot of car action and action-related action. Plus, there are important messages for everyone in this movie.

Only downside are we don’t get any lines from Roman Reigns and not enough screen time for Eiza Gonzalez, though I’m hopeful we see more of her in more potential side films in the F&F franchise, assuming this one does well.

I’d say this is the second-best film in the Fast and Furious franchise, underneath Furious 7. Go see it. It’s worth your time and see it in IMAX or Dolby. Final rating: 10/10. 5 stars: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.

P.S. Don’t leave the theater until all the credits are finished. There are three post credits scenes to stay for.
Expand
4 of 16 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews
10
RachelbenjamimAug 2, 2019
Great movie one the best I'm ready next one soon yall ready next one cause
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
joyalAug 2, 2019
Hobbs & Shaw Movie is Explosive entertainment!! It is Fun time! A lot of actions and thrills!!!

Both Jason Statham & Dwayne rocked ; crazy chemistry between them!Vanessa Kirby did well too!! Background score is electrifying!!! Good spinoff
Hobbs & Shaw Movie is Explosive entertainment!! It is Fun time! A lot of actions and thrills!!!

Both Jason Statham & Dwayne rocked ; crazy chemistry between them!Vanessa Kirby did well too!!

Background score is electrifying!!!

Good spinoff to the fastandfurious franchise !!

If you are looking for good action movie entertainment;

Hobbs and Shaw will deliver it with ease !!
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleAug 1, 2019
It's a lot of fun, but what a missed opportunity to truly take advantage of Idris, making him one of the great bad guys in action movie history.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
Fortysixter_UKAug 14, 2019
Great fun, very funny, fabulous action, terrific cast. If you like a good, witty action movie, then this is for you. A proper man's movie. As a friend of mine said after seeing it, "it just makes you want to go to the gym for a workout afterwards".!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
amheretojudgeAug 2, 2019
It is satisfyingly funny, for they are technically making fun of the actors and not the characters, the film itself and not the situation.

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw Leitch and his unflinching promise to the world on breaking
It is satisfyingly funny, for they are technically making fun of the actors and not the characters, the film itself and not the situation.

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw

Leitch and his unflinching promise to the world on breaking down the middle ground between a B grade premise to good filmmaking has left me amazed and happy. And challenging himself, he isn't just diving in on an outdated formula but also on the most frowned upon franchise and to add more troubles, a spin-off. But by now, we should face the facts and acknowledge that he had not just been winging on his luck up till now. The director David Leitch is famous for his signature over-the-top procedure on... basically everything. But is he really stretching things though? I mean we've encountered some pretty obnoxious overflowing embroidery before too, but none of it felt so coherent. None of it made sense. Yes, he is really going over-the-top, the only difference is that he accepts his near madness of spiced up screen with genuinity and frivolity.

Plus, he calculates the characteristics of the characters in numbers. Something that might sound like a head turning idea, but when he jumbles those same things onto the screen, it works. Against all odds, all accusations and flaws, it works. And this is the note where the film leaves me on. Is that it worked. I bought it. All of it. I shouldn't be surprised considering that the franchise, despite it's ups and downs, has managed to stay toe to toe with the political correctness- one of the few films in recent years, that gets the message passed on with a nuanced and effective expression- and expectations of its fandom.

And yet with the same characters, same concept, same world and the same structure of the script, Hobbs And Shaw is unlike the root of the franchise. As in, for a franchise that has evidently and proudly worked so hard on the choreography of the antics- which often is a big stunt or a change in location- Hobbs And Shaw perpetually rejects to nod on those hyped up moments. To be fair, there is tons of pressure to let an entire quarter of a film hinge upon one moment.

And it is also not that they don't try, but knowing that they end up coming with often derivative set pieces, they are leaving the answers blank on the sheet. And as a result the surprise catches you where the film should have actually failed. Justifying the title of the film, they have worked properly on the lead equation of the film. After a thorough homework on what made their relationship so special in The Fate Of The Furious, the makers have given enough reason for the fans to discuss their fights, their stunts, their bickering, their trash talks, their empty threats, and their unsung boyish comfort level that they share.

This film, in fact, the franchise has proved again and again, bringing a new dimension on filmmaking, how and what sort of potential information should they pass on. If a film is art, and commercial film serving the audience that very art wrapped with attractive blingy wallpaper, it is not only safe but smart to know then, what audience really wants; Bravo!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
mvrtsAug 5, 2019
Very very bland movie, cast could have done a lot more than what was given to them, it's like brain numbing action we've seen over and over and over again. A lot of "wow that's **** moments
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DerekReideSep 8, 2019
Severely entertaining! Just like what most people have said, a throw your brain out the window type movie. The conundrums faced are more than fictional and the stunts are just as stupid as the physics in 'Star Wars: The Last Jedi'. But that'sSeverely entertaining! Just like what most people have said, a throw your brain out the window type movie. The conundrums faced are more than fictional and the stunts are just as stupid as the physics in 'Star Wars: The Last Jedi'. But that's a good thing being that this is a 'Fast and the Furious' spinoff. The characters are all likable with great chemistry between all of them and the film is absolutely hilarious! There are many scenes in this film that leave you crying of laughter, period. The surprise cameos are great details and they also up the hilarity of the film, with both roles having amazingly funny moments. Complaints? An underused villain and some areas in the middle act of the film do get pretty slow. Overall, it's a great Summer blockbuster and is surely a fun time in the theater. P.S., stay for the five end credit scenes! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
moviewatcherclbAug 7, 2019
Not a very good movie at all. Yes everyone knows it's ridiculous going into it. But it's way too ridiculous. And it hurts the Fast and Furious franchise. My wife thought she was going to love it... It's her kind of movie... even she hated it.Not a very good movie at all. Yes everyone knows it's ridiculous going into it. But it's way too ridiculous. And it hurts the Fast and Furious franchise. My wife thought she was going to love it... It's her kind of movie... even she hated it. https://youtu.be/Y2kjB5lzTlc Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tolunayd22Aug 2, 2019
Keyifli bir aksiyon filmi. Dahası yok! Düşmanın amacı basit olmuş. Hobbs ve Shaw'un sahnelerini güzeldi. Kurgu bazı yerlerde çok kötüydü. Besteleri neden bu kadar kötü olmuş anlayamadım! Şarkı parçaları olmasa filme lezzet katacak bir müzikKeyifli bir aksiyon filmi. Dahası yok! Düşmanın amacı basit olmuş. Hobbs ve Shaw'un sahnelerini güzeldi. Kurgu bazı yerlerde çok kötüydü. Besteleri neden bu kadar kötü olmuş anlayamadım! Şarkı parçaları olmasa filme lezzet katacak bir müzik yok! Süresinden dolayı sıkılabilirim sanmıştım fakat gayet eğlenceliydi. Mantık aramıyorum ve sadece eğlenmek istiyorum derseniz sizin için güzel bir tercih olacaktır. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
John_ReeseAug 10, 2019
Turn off your brain and enjoy! For sure there isn´t much physics in this film but it never was supposed to.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Nu04Aug 10, 2019
Love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
UltimateLuigi26Aug 14, 2019
Good ......................................................................................good....................................,,,,,,...............
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Bullseye6532Aug 27, 2019
Not special. OK Average. 7 Adding this sentence to add characters. And another sentence.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JoeCoolSep 24, 2019
I absolutely loved this action-packed and humorous movie up until they got to Samoa. If it had continued in the same way as the first two thirds of the movie, then it would have been an 8/10 at the very least. It was just way too far outI absolutely loved this action-packed and humorous movie up until they got to Samoa. If it had continued in the same way as the first two thirds of the movie, then it would have been an 8/10 at the very least. It was just way too far out there and I just disconnected for the last act. Decent acting, entertaining up to a point, just the ending should have been done in the same way as the rest of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NikolayGAug 4, 2019
The trailers for this movie suggest a balance between humor and action that is not present in the movie. I expected this film to be along the lines of the movie, "Knight and Day" with Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz with respect to the mix ofThe trailers for this movie suggest a balance between humor and action that is not present in the movie. I expected this film to be along the lines of the movie, "Knight and Day" with Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz with respect to the mix of action and humor, but this movie is actually lots and lots of action just as in any straight forward action flick, with tiny bits of humor here and there. You could literally remove all humor and still have a full length movie. It is that incidental. The result is that much of the humor seems out of place because between humorous moments you forget it's not just a straight forward action flick. Also, the movie opens with a pretty extensive and brutal scene introducing the bad guy, which also seems out of place in a movie that attempts to ride this particular line between action and humor. I know the bad guy isn't supposed to be part of the humor, but there is still a limit to how brutal a movie like this should get in any scene or else it feels schizophrenic. Unless it's shooting for black humor like the Coen Brothers, which it most certainly isn't. In fact, it has a very strong, unmistakably Disney-esque message at the end, about the power of love etc. So bottom line, it was OK but I think they need some serious reshoots to rebalance.

Also, one more point from a strictly action perspective. I saw the opening to one of the Fast & Furious movies. It's the only other Fast & Furious bit I've ever watched. I don't remember which one it was but the scene was with the good guys racing down a road in the Dominican Republic and some kind of truck threatening them. It was a brilliant action bit. Nothing in Hobbs & Shaw comes close to that Fast & Furious scene, despite all the over-the-top stuff with a helicopter linked to trucks and so on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
silencerNov 6, 2019
Solid summer blockbuster.
Not as over the top of FF series thank goodness Nice soundtrack too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksNov 10, 2019
This is epitome of frenemy bromancery action films. The script is so-so, the action is good but the overall product brings nothing new or fresh. A positive is seeing The Rock's Samoan culture brought to the forefront of this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Aug 3, 2019
I knew this was going to be a stupid fun movie to turn my brain off to, and that's exactly what it was! This is the first spinoff film from the 'Fast and Furious' franchise, and like I said, it's pretty much what you'd expect from these kindsI knew this was going to be a stupid fun movie to turn my brain off to, and that's exactly what it was! This is the first spinoff film from the 'Fast and Furious' franchise, and like I said, it's pretty much what you'd expect from these kinds of mindless action films. Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham are pretty darn funny together, and there's even a couple surprise cameos. But overall, just go in with no big expectations other than dumb mindless explosions and action and lots of back and forth banter between its two leads, and you'll have fun and get your money's worth probably. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HealingToolboxAug 27, 2019
8.5? Phenomenal cinematic aptitude, script and tonal control arranged by David Leitsch. This is the best retro-1990s blockbuster in years. Far ahead of any of the Fast & Furious entries, for me. As user reviewer, Proteus, comments, this8.5? Phenomenal cinematic aptitude, script and tonal control arranged by David Leitsch. This is the best retro-1990s blockbuster in years. Far ahead of any of the Fast & Furious entries, for me. As user reviewer, Proteus, comments, this is an unnecessary movie. The look and feel here remind me viscerally of Cameron's and Schwarzenegger's 1994 film True Lies. This is True Lies #2 in terms of look and feel.

Very few minor elements of Hobbs & Shaw reflect the zeitgeist of 2019. They are:
- respect shown to women,
- respect shown to Idris Elba and Kevin Hart as black men, - honoring of Samoan culture - and the way the main macho male keeps telling characters, "I love you," in a sincere male way, not as a running gag. For those interested, in the Cards of Destiny, both Johnson and Schwarzenegger (Jack of Hearts birthday) have strong heart suit potentials.

Jason Stratham has no heartfelt brief to live up to but seems to enjoy endorsing true human values if a script calls for it. Neither asked nor addressed here is how would an action blockbuster express human values more reflective of our current zeitgeist? The Bond franchise has been ignoring this question for decades now. Of recent movies, only Wonder Woman and Alita: Battle Angel feel reflective of our time and place to me.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
scb47Aug 19, 2019
One of the best things about Hobbs & Shaw is that it doesn't really seem like a "Fast & Furious" film. There are fast vehicles driven furiously, yes, but there is more humor and better acting than what I've seen in the other movies. AOne of the best things about Hobbs & Shaw is that it doesn't really seem like a "Fast & Furious" film. There are fast vehicles driven furiously, yes, but there is more humor and better acting than what I've seen in the other movies. A scaled-down cast also helps, plus the delightful addition of Vanessa Kirby in a strong action role. It feels like Johnson and Statham put their own marks on this film, and it is better because of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BitashNov 6, 2019
I knew what I was getting myself into when I found out it was fast and furious spin off. It’s great for my 15 year old nephew who enjoys bang bang, dumb dialog and explosions. It didn’t do much for me. I love Dwayne Johnson, good on screenI knew what I was getting myself into when I found out it was fast and furious spin off. It’s great for my 15 year old nephew who enjoys bang bang, dumb dialog and explosions. It didn’t do much for me. I love Dwayne Johnson, good on screen chemistry with Jason.S but the dialog was bad and script was predictable. Humor was childish but I guess it’s supposed to be? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Creeper3455Aug 10, 2019
Thanks for ending Summer with a whimper. This is SO MUCH what we wanted in Europe instead of a Quentin Tarantino movie…

Before we start,I need to point out that Yes,I enjoyed this movie. It'll be important to the (kinda) negative review that
Thanks for ending Summer with a whimper. This is SO MUCH what we wanted in Europe instead of a Quentin Tarantino movie…

Before we start,I need to point out that Yes,I enjoyed this movie. It'll be important to the (kinda) negative review that will come up now.
Well...I guess we made it. We made it to the point to where Universal Pictures became so braindead in ideas that they're selling to you Dwayne Johnson's sexy eyebrow as a joke. This is how cartoonish and over-the-top Hobbs & Shaw will get,aside the inane action sequences that are just as much a selling point as the trailers made it to be. Maybe a little too good for this one…
It is a David Leitch movie alright from the looks of it,whether it's the aesthetic,the stylish music,right down to camera movements. While The Rock and Jason Statham deliver some great chemistry (amidst a repetitive story structure),the main entree here is Iris Elba as the main villain,Brixton,who's seriously an evil "Invincible Iron Man". Yeah,he calls himself Black Superman,but come on. When he has techno eyes,a Terminator body,and he can call his robotic motorcycle (when the movie gets digital),should you even call it that? Elba chews scenery in this as if he's trying to make a literal performance off of it,even when it's this ridiculous monologue about Evolution or whenever he gets pissed off like an iguana.
As said,(most of) the Action didn't make me crazy excited as I expected,but it was enjoyablnonetheless,and I kinda love how some of it was shot. You have 5 Cars strapped onto a Helicopter. Better follow it for 5 seconds instead of cutting multiple times to different shots.
There was a really cute scene towards the end where Dwayne Johnson makes a monologue and they throw out a " Humans will always be better than machines" message,which I liked.
The cameos were great,but either they were used to stop the movie for 5 minutes or to make Deadpool talk about Game Of Thrones. *sigh*
But the fun doesn't stop there.
As of the traditional Universal stamp,there's not one,not two,but three (THREE) end credit sequences to tell ya "OY! Did ya like the movie? Great. We're now making a sequel to it!" (Universal will never stop making these nonsensical attempts,will they…)
Either the Action or the Cameos are too good in this movie that,at some point,I expected a better story than what we've got,which is still pretty fine.
And I seriously hate how they started the Samoa action scene. Can you even make heads or tails about what's going on there?
Not only that,but the whole Editing process in this is so Justice League bad,even a 12 year old will be like "Why is The Rock talking in 2 different shots?"
And,as eversione mentioned,it's TOO LONG,and you can tell. You can either cut a huge subplot or a Cameo,and the movie still makes so much sense.
But ECKH,it was fine,I think. This was definitely a Universal movie and a David Leith movie,but for what it was,I still had a blast at it,and I'm sure you'll have a better time at it than I did. No,this doesn't kill my love for Leitch,but I'm probably going to be super dodgy for his next project,which is going to Netflix,and I'll assure you H&S will get infinitely better once the Netflix movie comes out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DominArsenOct 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Without the Toreto family! Would be an essay for a passage of this license in cinematographic universe? The answer is yes ! The next answer and it's not over. It's not as good as the 2015 Fast and Furious, but the variation of style is pleasant! This one is more brawl (a little disappointing from this point of view). When the rest is very car! The actors really play well especially Shaw! [spoiler] Obbs has the right to a family friendly past, but I find it amazing .. [/ spoiler]

Sans la famille Toreto ! Serait un essai pour un passage de cette licence en univers cinématographique ? La réponse est oui ! La prochaine réponse et que ce n'est pas fini. Ce n'est pas aussi bien que le Fast and Furious de 2015, mais la variation de style est plaisante ! Celui-ci est plus bagarre (un peu décevante de ce point de vue). Quand au reste c'est très voiture ! Les acteurs jouent réellement bien surtout Shaw! [spoiler] Obbs a le droit à un passé familial sympathique, mais je trouve un peux étonnant.. [/spoiler]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyMackAug 9, 2019
The best worst movie you will see this year.
Loads of action, some funny banter, Ryan Reynolds makes an awesome cameo and steals the show for me. However the final third feels like a Rock vanity project, it should not have gone to Samoa,
The best worst movie you will see this year.
Loads of action, some funny banter, Ryan Reynolds makes an awesome cameo and steals the show for me. However the final third feels like a Rock vanity project, it should not have gone to Samoa, this is where I ended up giving the screen the finger and shouting oh F#ck off. What could have been great is just average because of the final section. Enjoyable enough and worth a watch for sure.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MallRat15Aug 13, 2019
A pretty fun movie, better then most of the movies in the F and F franchise. Good chemistry between the leads and a great supporting cast. Not too much over the top action but still enough to keep you interested. Gets a bit long at times andA pretty fun movie, better then most of the movies in the F and F franchise. Good chemistry between the leads and a great supporting cast. Not too much over the top action but still enough to keep you interested. Gets a bit long at times and drags on a bit near the end but still a fun time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ali_khunaiziOct 28, 2019
it makes it easy to watch the movie if you considered it some cartoonish film or low sci-fi movie, I'm totally surprised how all these top actors agreed to work in such **** low script, the movie was beneath them all, I guess the salariesit makes it easy to watch the movie if you considered it some cartoonish film or low sci-fi movie, I'm totally surprised how all these top actors agreed to work in such **** low script, the movie was beneath them all, I guess the salaries were too much to refuse.

yes it was nothing to do with fast and furious heritage, just like all of the last 5 movies, it's a mish-mash of low budget old rubbish type of action mixed with some sci-fi, I didn't look into the director but it doesn't matter who he's really are, with that movie, i advice hem to find good teacher or something.

I don't recommend it to anyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
shadowfreak99Aug 13, 2019
It's fast and it's furious but disastrously deviative when it comes to this point, from street racing movie becomes an international "tactical" counter-terrorist movie. Hobbs and Shaw ain't really Fast & Furious presented one and it shouldIt's fast and it's furious but disastrously deviative when it comes to this point, from street racing movie becomes an international "tactical" counter-terrorist movie. Hobbs and Shaw ain't really Fast & Furious presented one and it should be; Based on characters from Fast & Furious. Then when it comes to the characters Hobbs and Shaw themselves, they are more humorous and naive than the original character from Fast & Furious series. Despite those, the movie still strongly grasp with humor and intensive action scenes with a little hint of easter eggs, well who cares it is related to the original series or not when it comes to worth-watching, promisingly satisfied Hobbs and Shaw duo spin-off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imtheonlytyeAug 21, 2019
As apart of the franchise, bad. As an action movie, great and very enjoyable. Dwayne and Jason click and work very well together. The chemistry is amazing; they feed off of each other's energy. I definitely recommend. Fast & Furious though,As apart of the franchise, bad. As an action movie, great and very enjoyable. Dwayne and Jason click and work very well together. The chemistry is amazing; they feed off of each other's energy. I definitely recommend. Fast & Furious though, is just going downhill. It's not even about cars anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
zNeverSleepingSep 25, 2019
Mais um Velozes e Furiosos. Só que mais viajado ainda...

De forma geral, gostei do filme. Me senti entretido na maior parte dele, mas acredito que poderia ser bem melhor. Primeiro, a "química" entre os dois personagens até que flui bem.
Mais um Velozes e Furiosos. Só que mais viajado ainda...

De forma geral, gostei do filme. Me senti entretido na maior parte dele, mas acredito que poderia ser bem melhor.

Primeiro, a "química" entre os dois personagens até que flui bem. Digamos que fica "fácil" com dois atores carismáticos como Dwayne Johnson e Jason Statham [Vale tambem mencionar atuação de Idris Elba, que faz o que pode no seu papel]. Porém, tanto essa química quanto o resto do filme seguem uma fórmula na qual estamos habituados. Eles fazem sim de forma satisfatória para o público geral, mas quem é mais atento tende a se decepcionar.

As lutas, um dos momentos de ápice - ou assim deveria ser - do filme, se mostram desgastantes; não acrescentam nada de novo. Sem uma dinâmica que faz diferenciar-se de outros filmes de ação. A OST também segue a mesma linha. Não é marcante, e sua presença faz parte da receita do bolo. Por outro lado, aqui há uma evolução natural quanto aos efeitos especiais. O filme tem um aspecto técnico basicamente impecável. A cena de luta na chuva só tem um mero destaque por conta dos efeitos muito bem aplicados, aparentando ser completamente orgânico. E quanto a história de "salve o mundo do vilão", e no ápice da sua hipocrisia, "acredite no coração". Oh my... Isso foi muito deprimente. Enfim, devido a proposta, o filme deveria ter mais confiança para arriscar, porém cai na receita blockbuster de Hollywood, sendo mais um filme pra lucrar, ao invés de inovar - ou ao menos tentar.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Mauro_LanariSep 26, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
Buddy movie with a lot of popcorn action, but we're still a long way (maybe intentionally) from the Cameron's apocalyptic epic with Schwarzy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Ghazman2019Aug 12, 2019
Hobbs and Shaw is a fun, funny, buddy cop movie. Its not as good the BIG Fast and Furious movies but I'm really happy that it exist. This movie looks like its setting up Fast and Furious 9 so its nice to have a small-ish movie before we getHobbs and Shaw is a fun, funny, buddy cop movie. Its not as good the BIG Fast and Furious movies but I'm really happy that it exist. This movie looks like its setting up Fast and Furious 9 so its nice to have a small-ish movie before we get the big team up movie with Fast and Furious 9 and 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jswha_89Sep 5, 2019
Well directed, good editing and acting.
Dwayne johnson and Jason statham have good on screen chemistry not just the acting but the action scenes too. Great CGI, nice scenery and humour to the film. Simple story.
And back story to hobbs and
Well directed, good editing and acting.
Dwayne johnson and Jason statham have good on screen chemistry not just the acting but the action scenes too. Great CGI, nice scenery and humour to the film. Simple story.
And back story to hobbs and Shaw. Overall a good solid action film.

Grab some popcorn and put your feet up and enjoy.

Would highly recommend.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mishaelAug 2, 2019
watched it again was realy dope I hope we get more this I'm tired old fast movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FartGGAug 4, 2019
Хороший экшн, очень весело смотреть, персонажи весёлые, шутки смешные, хоть и не все. Но сюжет... Плох, очень плох. Ну и как всегда в Форсаже, физики никто не придерживается и экшн сцены такие, будто я смотрю супергеройский фильм. ГлавныйХороший экшн, очень весело смотреть, персонажи весёлые, шутки смешные, хоть и не все. Но сюжет... Плох, очень плох. Ну и как всегда в Форсаже, физики никто не придерживается и экшн сцены такие, будто я смотрю супергеройский фильм. Главный злодей тупой, не раскрытый, на протяжении фильма очень сильно раздражал. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SwapniAug 5, 2019
Superb movie with nice message given to all must watch this movie with family .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
joje08285Aug 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First half : Awesome !! What a great action movie !!
Second half : What is going on thie movie ? Suddenly hand fighting without probability (on maui island...haha...with secret brother...who have secret world No. 1 mechanical skill...haha)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gnd46gndAug 8, 2019
A tribute to many past adventure movies, including Bond, Transporter, etc. Look for the references
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tameerahAug 9, 2019
i just watch it , it is far better then fast and the furious . it was very good i love it .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Austinhenryo895Aug 9, 2019
Good movie I enjoy it it was funny and a lot of action hope they make another movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KidcritixAug 16, 2019
It’s OK. The thing that bums me out is that they show 3/4ths Of the movie in the trailer And they show the best action. But you can’t blame the filmmakers for that because if I haven’t seen the trailer for this movie it would’ve been aIt’s OK. The thing that bums me out is that they show 3/4ths Of the movie in the trailer And they show the best action. But you can’t blame the filmmakers for that because if I haven’t seen the trailer for this movie it would’ve been a super fun ride Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mikayla95Aug 18, 2019
Great movie, lots of action and humour with some of the industries best action and comedy stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dmitriy_BurakovAug 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Those one-liners full of pathos and shots with the zooms to the face - it's all genius. This movie does not pretend to be serious. But it pretends for the glorious sequel. It's just perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheGreatestNameAug 24, 2019
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BaconBoy85Sep 4, 2019
Hobbs and Shaw starring Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham is okay. The actors bring decent work and the script is alright. The story is forgettable and in a year I won't remember it but, the action scenes are great. Flawless choreographyHobbs and Shaw starring Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham is okay. The actors bring decent work and the script is alright. The story is forgettable and in a year I won't remember it but, the action scenes are great. Flawless choreography and tool use. Many of the in action commentary is hilarious. I would recommend Hobbs and Shaw for ages 11-14 because of the mindless action that age enjoys. As a movie it is alright, but as a buddy cop movie, it isn't very good. Both of them are no-nonsense men who can kick ass. Where in a usual buddy cop movie the personalities are dueling. I would give Hobbs and Shaw a B-. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Roy_MSep 6, 2019
As you could probably tell from the trailer, Hobbs and Shaw is not a deep movie (in anyway).
But despite its unbelievable stunts, Hobbs and Shaw is still a decent action film. One that could have been better if it had a solid story. PS Wait
As you could probably tell from the trailer, Hobbs and Shaw is not a deep movie (in anyway).
But despite its unbelievable stunts, Hobbs and Shaw is still a decent action film. One that could have been better if it had a solid story. PS Wait for both post-credit scenes, you won’t regret it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
iamironman56Sep 10, 2019
It was fun but for the frist time in these movies i missed the crew. I think that fast and furious follows a formula in my opinion a good one. This movie for some reason to me felt like a shell of that formula. I think if they went for theIt was fun but for the frist time in these movies i missed the crew. I think that fast and furious follows a formula in my opinion a good one. This movie for some reason to me felt like a shell of that formula. I think if they went for the orginaly planned smaller route this would have been way better but that dosn't attract china box office. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Kevin3Sep 12, 2019
Hobbs & shaw es lo mismo que rápidos y furiosos pero con más comedia y más aburrida
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GALACTICFUTOct 17, 2019
La película es buena, pero se debió mejorar aspectos de rodaje, creo que faltó integrar más personajes y mejorar la calidad de la historia
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MoldmanOct 7, 2019
Форсаж только в название фильма а так фильм как будто 2 ребёнка мерется на словах. Тут больше фантастике чем в фильмах Marvel или DC
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hnestlyontheslyOct 7, 2019
This was my first time seeing a Fast and Furious movie since the franchise started in 2001. I saw it with Friend for her birthday, because she loves Jason Statham and no one else in her life has low enough standards to see it with her besidesThis was my first time seeing a Fast and Furious movie since the franchise started in 2001. I saw it with Friend for her birthday, because she loves Jason Statham and no one else in her life has low enough standards to see it with her besides me.

I’m not sure exactly what I was expecting. I guess the easy thing to say is that Hobbs and Shaw is not exclusively about fast and furious car races, but based on my knowledge of the F&F franchise from the trailers I have seen, mostly the people involved in these movies drive bigger things like submarines and maybe airplanes. There are some references to gay subtext and family history, Hobbs’s ne’er-do-well father and Shaw’s ne’er-do-well brother, that feel like they might be important elements of earlier films, but I feel like all of their motivations are really ancillary to the ultimate goal which is blow up things and then drive through the fire. It’s hard to know who to drool at more, Vanessa Kirby or Idris Elba, but I can’t help but think that if these action movies had been created in the late 2010s rather than the early 2000s that Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham would be the lead roles not Vin Diesel and Michelle Rodriguez, something Filmhaus references in its podcast.

I don’t have a lot to go on in terms of how this compares to any of the other movies, but I have to assume that all of these scenes are callbacks to earlier movies where the gang goes to Kauai/Samoa to fight villains whose woke guns require fingerprints to work, or where Helen Mirren wears amazing prison outfits and steals the whole **** show, or where Ryan Reynolds plays Deadpool and steals the show, but again I can’t verify any of these facts on account of I’m not willing to sit through any other car chase movies. I want five to eighteen more years of Hobbs and Shaw sequels though.

I just assume all F&F films warrant hour-long podcast reviews and if anyone tells me otherwise I will be **** livid.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews