Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 17, 2016
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 785 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
597
Mixed:
126
Negative:
62
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
UNARMED_JORDJul 25, 2016
Finding Dory is not just a good sequel, its a great one with more emotional depth and memorable characters finding dory is one of 2016s best films and another great animation from pixar
15 of 15 users found this helpful150
All this user's reviews
10
RFlaxyAug 4, 2016
Ellen delivers a much more entertaining view to dory on this amazing adventure in finding dory. The experience through out the movie is spectacular and i believe Finding dory is one of the only sequels that are amazing
15 of 15 users found this helpful150
All this user's reviews
8
Muskrat147Jul 11, 2016
Many sequels can't quite live up to their predecessor(s). However, the exact opposite is the case for Finding Dory. Boasting amazing performances from Ellen DeGeneres' Dory and Ed O'Neill's crowd-favorite Hank, as well as beautiful visuals,Many sequels can't quite live up to their predecessor(s). However, the exact opposite is the case for Finding Dory. Boasting amazing performances from Ellen DeGeneres' Dory and Ed O'Neill's crowd-favorite Hank, as well as beautiful visuals, Finding Dory is a well-rounded, and above all funny, family adventure. Expand
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
dangersAug 8, 2016
Finding Dory is the rare sequel that is able to match it's predecessor. It succeeds where most sequels fail. And if that predecessor is Finding Nemo - one of the best movies of the genre - you can understand the power and heart this movie has.
29 of 35 users found this helpful296
All this user's reviews
10
SeanVincentJun 17, 2016
This sequel might not be as great as the original but that doesn't mean the film is bad but instead its another Pixar movie that deserve the praise.Finding Dory is a amusing,touching,moving and a intriguing film that delivers an amazingThis sequel might not be as great as the original but that doesn't mean the film is bad but instead its another Pixar movie that deserve the praise.Finding Dory is a amusing,touching,moving and a intriguing film that delivers an amazing animation that Pixar is known for and a significant continuation of it's predecessor.The voice works here are appreciable and the characters are just lovable and entertaining.This sequel will feel identical from it's predecessor but some of it are new additions that were worthy enough to make this film great and a touching moments that made people weep.

Finding Dory is another example that there is more ideas in a franchise if the people making it has effort and passion to do it.Finding Dory might have some identical story and a some emotional scenes that didn't intrigue audiences but overall the film is near to the "one of the best animated films" very very very,very far from the worst .
Expand
37 of 49 users found this helpful3712
All this user's reviews
6
masamunerikuJun 17, 2016
Finding Dory has its amusing and funny moments however the overarching story fails to deliver - especially for a pixar movie.

The biggest issue that I have with this movie is that it is almost solely fueled by 'deus ex machina' moments. It
Finding Dory has its amusing and funny moments however the overarching story fails to deliver - especially for a pixar movie.

The biggest issue that I have with this movie is that it is almost solely fueled by 'deus ex machina' moments. It prioritizes luck over problem-solving which ends up as weak storytelling. Also the appearance of Marlin and Nemo felt unnecessary as they only minimally contribute to the progression of the story while taking quite a bit of screen time.

Overall a passable movie but without the depth that I expect from pixar.
Expand
15 of 28 users found this helpful1513
All this user's reviews
8
SilcaJul 20, 2016
Finding Dory is not one of Pixar's best, but is really far from being bad. The movie presents an interesting premise, revealing the background of Dory, one of Pixar's most beloved characters. Unfortunately, this journey does not take place inFinding Dory is not one of Pixar's best, but is really far from being bad. The movie presents an interesting premise, revealing the background of Dory, one of Pixar's most beloved characters. Unfortunately, this journey does not take place in the ocean, which really bothers me. Instead, it takes place mainly on a marine life institute. However, something made it all worth it: the new characters. They're just so charismatic that I can't help but love them. All of them. The structure of the plot may not be as great as it was in Finding Nemo, but Finding Dory has enough to keep you entertained through all of it. Expand
12 of 12 users found this helpful120
All this user's reviews
10
SerraiosNov 11, 2017
Since 1995, when "Toy Story" was released, Pixar has managed to reinvent the animation genre by becoming the first studio to release full-length computer animated films. They didn't just change the animation technique. They added much depthSince 1995, when "Toy Story" was released, Pixar has managed to reinvent the animation genre by becoming the first studio to release full-length computer animated films. They didn't just change the animation technique. They added much depth to animated stories and made these films enjoyable for the entire family. While the studio has been facing a decline in quality as of late, "Finding Dory" is an exception of that and manages to meet the early standards of Pixar movies.

Taking place just months after "Finding Nemo" ended, Dory remembers her long lost family and tries not only to find her parents, but also to remember how exactly she was lost. That leads her and her friends, Marlin and Nemo, to California. There they will have to face many challenges and meet new friends in the Marine Life Institute, as Dory is trying to remember.

"Finding Nemo" set the bar high, so it was difficult for this sequel to meet expectations, even after coming 13 years later. "Finding Dory" could have gone wrong in many ways, such as by focusing on Dory, a character with short-term memory loss and a comic relief, which most audiences can't relate too. But people who don't suffer from disabilities can relate to Marlin and Nemo, as they struggle to help their friend. The movie is heartfelt, complex, funny, cute, deep and teaches a very important lesson. It's also stunning. A great time for all families and for fans of the original and an impressive feat in the history of sequels.
Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
9
PeterAlexanderJun 28, 2016
With considerable risk, Finding Dory mixes a tale of the past with a new story that delivers on many levels. Whilst Finding Dory plays on nostalgia to a large extent, it is also a fresh new film with fantastic new ideas in each scene.With considerable risk, Finding Dory mixes a tale of the past with a new story that delivers on many levels. Whilst Finding Dory plays on nostalgia to a large extent, it is also a fresh new film with fantastic new ideas in each scene. Hilariously funny, exciting, sad and meaningful, Finding Dory is a worthy sequel to one of the best animated films of all time. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
yasminetaylorxNov 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think finding dory is a great film I went to watch it in the cinema with my auntie and my cousin, it was a really good film and it made me cry I cant say the reason or I would be spoiling the film for anyone who hasn't yet seen it. its a great family film and would recommend it to everyone Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
LeZeeNov 23, 2016
Before Nemo, a long ago another child got lost in the open ocean...

Whoa! 200 million dollar film, 1 billion box office collections worldwide. The 27th film to do that so and the 5th animation film. This sequel was made after 13 years,
Before Nemo, a long ago another child got lost in the open ocean...

Whoa! 200 million dollar film, 1 billion box office collections worldwide. The 27th film to do that so and the 5th animation film. This sequel was made after 13 years, surely a long gab, but 'Finding Nemo' was one of my favourite animations, tell me who does not love it those who love animation. Nevertheless, I liked the idea of having a sequel, but I scared it would go to flop terribly. Now, after watching this, I totally stunned. This is not a greatest animation ever made, but the way the screenplay handled, along with other stuffs, this makes one of the best among its kind.

Firstly, when I heard the sequel's title, it made me laugh. Like, whaaaat? Once again the story is going to repeat. I did not think it would bring a big change. Actually, it was a different tale, especially I was not expecting it to be emotional. Tell me how many tearjerker-animation you have seen. Once again the Disney-Pixar jointly did it. I think appreciation must go to the director who also made the original film. Great casting too, I mean the voice- over artists.

We know that Dory is severely suffering from the short term remembory (memory) loss. Now this tale is going to reveal her backstory. From her childhood to till she meets Marlin and then Nemo, there was a series of forgotten events. She slowly regains some of those memories and begins her quest to find out more. This is where she gets lost, but the title defines that she was lost before and now looking a way to get back where she really belongs.

For me, after 'Frozen', this film is what emotionally got me. The value of having family and friends beautifully disclosed. It might be an animation, but still a meaningful story from many perspectives. Lots of new characters were introduced and those were really cool ones. I expect theirs short animations to make its way about their origins, particularly Hank the octopus and his story about how he lost one of his tentacles.

The Oscars is the quarter of a year away, but releasing nominees would come weeks ahead. So it's about time to learn where this one fit in. But I'm anticipating close contest between this, 'Zootopia' and 'Red Turtle'. Coming back to the review, this is a good watch, for everybody, so I highly recommend it. I hope there will be a third film, but like I had felt before this, I desire it and then I'm not sure it would extend its legacy to further. So fingers crossed!

9/10
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
43in2014Aug 2, 2016
Background: I have seen Finding Nemo, but only on TV. Loved it.

Pros: It looks good. Cons: (1) The film failed to step away from its predecessor and the other Pixar films and do something really different. Considering the numerous
Background: I have seen Finding Nemo, but only on TV. Loved it.

Pros: It looks good.

Cons:
(1) The film failed to step away from its predecessor and the other Pixar films and do something really different. Considering the numerous in-built messages of the preceding Pixar films, this film does not seem to have a profound message of its own. Was there a need to make a sequel to Finding Nemo? Could it have been written better?

(2) Many of the stunts in the film did not seem plausible. They seemed to be set-up to convince the younger audiences only.

Who would think the film is great? All childen.
Who would think the film is only so-so? All adults
Who would think the film is lousy? No one.

Rating: 4/5 (no half scores). It's worth it to watch it in the cinemas.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
juliankennedy23Feb 18, 2017
Seriously has there been a bad Pixar film? Some might not to be to all tastes (I am not the world’s biggest Toy Story fan for example but I admire the quality of the films.) For those rooting for this to be the time that Pixar goes to theSeriously has there been a bad Pixar film? Some might not to be to all tastes (I am not the world’s biggest Toy Story fan for example but I admire the quality of the films.) For those rooting for this to be the time that Pixar goes to the well too often prepare to be disappointed. This is actually a decent film. Good characters check. Easter eggs check. Nice visuals check. Is it all that memorable? No. It will keep the kids entertained and adults will not suffer. While that may not be the measure of a great Pixar film it certainly is a measure of a good kids film Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
badgerryan19May 19, 2017
Great voice acting, fantastic CGI, which we have come accustom to with Disney/Pixar. It was absolutely hilarious and of course the heart warming parts that Disney is so good at. I was also surprised that it wasn't just a rehash of the firstGreat voice acting, fantastic CGI, which we have come accustom to with Disney/Pixar. It was absolutely hilarious and of course the heart warming parts that Disney is so good at. I was also surprised that it wasn't just a rehash of the first film. I also loved the intro scene with the little bird. It was pretty awesome. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
andre27Dec 27, 2016
Um filme engraçado, sem duvida as crianças vão gostar. Explora o mundo da fantasia ao maximo e diverte. Para alem disso é engraçado e explora varias coisas da vida dos peixes
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Tony1984Jan 21, 2018
A recycle of Finding Nemo, but hey, what's wrong with that? It has all the usual Pixar magic and is beautiful to watch. We are so spoiled with animation that we sometimes fail to appreciate how amazing it is. It has a nice family message andA recycle of Finding Nemo, but hey, what's wrong with that? It has all the usual Pixar magic and is beautiful to watch. We are so spoiled with animation that we sometimes fail to appreciate how amazing it is. It has a nice family message and Hank the Octopus is a tremendous curmudgeon with a heart of gold under it all ( Or should that be 3 hearts?). Kids will love it, and adults too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Striking4gold4Sep 17, 2016
Wow...is this film amazing. Completely blows The Good Dinosaur out of the water as Finding Dory...throws us back in. Come on, I HAD to. This movie left my tear ducts dry heaving by the 4 minute mark. The new characters weren't just "oh heyWow...is this film amazing. Completely blows The Good Dinosaur out of the water as Finding Dory...throws us back in. Come on, I HAD to. This movie left my tear ducts dry heaving by the 4 minute mark. The new characters weren't just "oh hey we're new, g'bye" like other Pixar sequels. This time most of the new characters played a part in the story! And it's an astounding cast, astounding visuals (I haven't even scratched the surface with Piper), and astounding...well, everything. I recommend 101%. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AfNinoAug 24, 2016
Though this film doesn't dazzle like Finding Nemo did (which in my opinion is the best Pixar film), it's still a great film filled with emotion and alot more humor than the 1st film. I didn't think it would hit the feels like Nemo did,Though this film doesn't dazzle like Finding Nemo did (which in my opinion is the best Pixar film), it's still a great film filled with emotion and alot more humor than the 1st film. I didn't think it would hit the feels like Nemo did, especially when the plot is very similar, but it did and I would say it hit deeper than the 1st film did. Dory's sense of hopelessness at times with their memory loss did make me tear up. In the 1st film her memory loss made Dory like the comic relief of the film, here we actually get to see all the trouble and emotions of living with it. The animation of the film is top tier aswell. Thomas Newman's score hits a perfect 10 also. For those who were huge fans of Finding Nemo as a kid, this is a certain must-watch. A satisfying sequel to the movie which was a huge part of my childhood. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JyroJyroSep 6, 2017
Dory is an heartfelt & enjoyable sequel with some wonderful voice acting (especially from DeGeneres). The somewhat thin plot is well written as to last almost 2 hours, but you can't shake the feeling that they were capitalising on theDory is an heartfelt & enjoyable sequel with some wonderful voice acting (especially from DeGeneres). The somewhat thin plot is well written as to last almost 2 hours, but you can't shake the feeling that they were capitalising on the popularity of the first film for this to be such a financial success. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jackdevil2004Oct 2, 2016
this is one of the best ivies I've ever seen so far, the voice acting is fantastic, the new characters are awesome, Hank is a very good character and he deserves it's own zone inside my review, the story is better then the first movie one'sthis is one of the best ivies I've ever seen so far, the voice acting is fantastic, the new characters are awesome, Hank is a very good character and he deserves it's own zone inside my review, the story is better then the first movie one's but the scenes in this movie may not be look as mighty as the finding nemo one's (and a great thing about the first movie was the scenes the best for its time). anyway this movie is always unexpected and it shows that the guys at the pixar don't joke with this stuff.
P.s. this movie confirms me again, I grown up watching Pixar movies, that John Lasseter is not a man, he's a god
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
alexkyrgOct 15, 2016
I have to say, I was a bit torn about watching this film, or not. I don't like sequels, except in very rare occasions. I thought it would never live up to my fav "Nemo" since I consider it to be one of the best of its kind. I was planning toI have to say, I was a bit torn about watching this film, or not. I don't like sequels, except in very rare occasions. I thought it would never live up to my fav "Nemo" since I consider it to be one of the best of its kind. I was planning to watch it, eventually, on DVD when a friend insisted we went to a cinema near us.
I was caught by surprise, I was sucked in the story, I was laughing like a kid. Its freshness, tenderness, adventure took me to a place in my heart I will never forget. And imagine, all theatre was full of noisy 3-5 year-olds that I generally don't appreciate. It was like I had earplugs! A perfect 10, thank you Pixar,Disney for the dream!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Movielover2400Nov 6, 2016
Was very well done the and was a great movie date for my bf and I. Th only down side of the movie is the plot was given away and it was hyped up too much too early.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JPKMar 9, 2018
Doesn't Disappoint
After How Bad Cars 2 Was, I Was Very Worried That This Would Be Bad, But The Trailers Looked Great, Then I Saw It, IT'S FANTASTIC!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RhubarbWireJan 4, 2018
7.8 out of ten too much water 7.8 out of ten too much water 7.8 out of ten too much water 7.8 out of ten too much water 7.8 out of ten too much water 7.8 out of ten too much water
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PCDarkraiJun 25, 2016
The first was better (A 9.5), however, Dory is still quite good. My exact word after getting out were, “Better than Batman V Superman.” I wasn’t lying.
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
8
bigjon1958Jun 27, 2016
I am rating this movie from the perspective that its primary goal is to target the under 13 crowd. Great script for a 'cartoon' movie and great humor. The movie flowed well and not only satisfied the under 13 crowd, but was a hit withI am rating this movie from the perspective that its primary goal is to target the under 13 crowd. Great script for a 'cartoon' movie and great humor. The movie flowed well and not only satisfied the under 13 crowd, but was a hit with everyone. We watched this movie at a packed outdoor theater with more than half the audience watching outside their vehicles. When the movie ended, there was a loud applause of satisfaction with the movie. If you have kids - ours are 9 and 10 - they'll love the movie. And that was the main goal for this movie - to make kids laugh and I sure heard a lot of them laughing through-out the movie. Adults, don't try to over analyze the movie - it's a kids movie! Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentJun 23, 2016
A bit disappointing to be honest. It didn't have that emotional "mmph" that the first one had. I loved the Pixar short that came before the film, I thought it was really cute.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
7
fungusgnatAug 2, 2016
This sequel (or prequel?) to "Finding Nemo" is even more wondrously imagined and animated, and there’s enough intelligent convo and laugh lines to keep adults entertained. If anything, Stanton & pals have taken the drama to a new level—well,This sequel (or prequel?) to "Finding Nemo" is even more wondrously imagined and animated, and there’s enough intelligent convo and laugh lines to keep adults entertained. If anything, Stanton & pals have taken the drama to a new level—well, the movie is still about a lost child, but Dory seems more pointed in its portrayal of juvenile angst. In fact, parents should give some thought to whether their youngsters who are old enough to understand the plot are also old enough not to worry about it. But we adults (most of us) can take the poignancy and near-desperation that colors some scenes, and will appreciate the search for a resolution—to help Dory find ways around short-term “remembery” loss and, more generally, to cope with fear. (In theaters, the movie is preceded by the short “Plover,” which has been highly praised for its animation but which I found rather flat, especially compared with Disney/Pixar’s previous “opening acts.”) Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
TheCheese45Jul 18, 2016
Sure, it may not be as good as Finding Nemo, but nonetheless the movie offers incredible animation and a awesome set of characters. While some moments felt too similar to the first movie, it's new plot line had me smiling.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoAug 2, 2016
Though not quite as good as its predecessor, Finding Dory is still a funny, moving and beautifully animated follow-up with characteristically hilarious work from Ellen DeGeneres as the title character. Like the best Pixar movies, it managesThough not quite as good as its predecessor, Finding Dory is still a funny, moving and beautifully animated follow-up with characteristically hilarious work from Ellen DeGeneres as the title character. Like the best Pixar movies, it manages to be hilarious and poignant at the same time. There are some great new additions to the cast, particularly Ed O' Neil. The animation, as one would expect from a Pixar film, was stunning. On the whole, Finding Dory is a hugely satisfying sequel that kids and adults should enjoy. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
8
ULTRA_MARIO_10Jun 24, 2016
Finally, after 13 years the movie is out but does it live up to the original movie?

Animation-9.1/10 Once again, it's the great animation of Pixar movies. Story-8.6/10 The concept and idea of Dory finding here parents using all she
Finally, after 13 years the movie is out but does it live up to the original movie?

Animation-9.1/10
Once again, it's the great animation of Pixar movies.

Story-8.6/10
The concept and idea of Dory finding here parents using all she can remember is just great but the execution was a little bit flawed.

Comedy-7.9/10
There is some very good comedy over there but I feel like more jokes could have been added.

Characters-8.8/10
I like Destiny and Hank, they're really memorable(especially Hank) but more character development could have been added to Hank and bailey isn't that memorable.

Innovation-7.2/10
It has some pretty good innovation.

Verdict:While this move doesn't live up to the original, it's still a great movie and I give this movie an

8.3/10(Great)
Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
7
RobBob99Jun 21, 2016
Pixar managed to do what Universal Pictures failed to do last year, take a supporting character and successfully transition them into the leading role. The best way to describe Finding Dory is cute. It has good laughs throughout and a slew ofPixar managed to do what Universal Pictures failed to do last year, take a supporting character and successfully transition them into the leading role. The best way to describe Finding Dory is cute. It has good laughs throughout and a slew of great new characters, especially Hank the Octopus who is one of the best Pixar characters in recent memory. I did find that it does tend to follow the Pixar formula a little too closely and doesn't try anything really new. Is this better than Finding Nemo? Of course it's not, but does it need to be? No it doesn't. While it isn't great Pixar, it is good Pixar. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJun 21, 2016
The original had Marlin (Albert Brooks) "Finding Nemo," with Dory (Ellen DeGeneres) as a hilarious sidekick. When you try to make a sidekick the star, their casual presence doesn't always work as the focus. Dory, who has only short termThe original had Marlin (Albert Brooks) "Finding Nemo," with Dory (Ellen DeGeneres) as a hilarious sidekick. When you try to make a sidekick the star, their casual presence doesn't always work as the focus. Dory, who has only short term memory, decides to go in search of her parents. This takes her on adventures all over an aquatic theme park, but the sequel is darker, literally and thematically. Where the first featured colorful, delightful animation, this one often takes place in murky, gloomy environments. Dory's search leads to continuous self-doubt and hesitation. The movie runs too long, partially because the story takes too many twists and turns (ebbs and flows?). DeGeneres' flippant way with a punch line still lands the laffs and there are the requisite new wacky characters. Although less delightful than the original, it still has moments of entertaining fun. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for an extended gag. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinJun 21, 2016
I found one scene in “Finding Dory” to be absolutely ridiculous and while shaking my head I heard my brain saying, “What can be more ridiculous than an 80 year old man having a ball watching a cartoon about talking fish and enjoying himself,I found one scene in “Finding Dory” to be absolutely ridiculous and while shaking my head I heard my brain saying, “What can be more ridiculous than an 80 year old man having a ball watching a cartoon about talking fish and enjoying himself, probably more than the kids in the audience?”

I don’t know which was more fun recognizing old friends like Dory, the blue tang fish who has no short term memory, or Nemo and Marlin, the clown fish or meeting new friends like a very near sighted shark, a very strange octopus who can somewhat drive a truck and a beluga fish who can see outside of his surroundings.

You are very quickly drawn into the picture as we meet Dory and her old and new friends. You not only are in their world but you believe the world exists no matter what situations they get into and out of, in the strangest ways!

We are brought up to snuff regarding “Finding Nemo” and quickly get into Dory looking for her parents. “Finding Dory” is a little heavier and sadder than the first movie. Though Dory’s movie is only about 3 minutes longer than Nemo’s because of its heavier scenes about friends and family it seems a lot longer. A lot more characters are introduced, some quickly who come and go, others become an important part of the picture.

From the opening vignette, before the titles, up to the funny ‘bits’, mainly by Hank the octopus, under the closing credits, “Finding Dory” is a good film for the kids and the adults. Of the many films I have seen this year so far I would rate “Finding Dory” in the top 5.

Yes Ellen DeGeneres is back as Dory and Albert Brooks is Nemo’s father, while Nemo is now voiced by Hayden Rolance along with Diane Keaton and Eugene Levy as Dory’s parents, Ty Burrell as Bailey the Beluga whale, Kaitlin Olson as Destiny the near sighted shark among many others but don’t waste time trying to figure out who is what creature as it will only drive you crazy!

I do expect a feature like “Finding Destiny and Bailey” in 2-3 years!!

By the way we adults outnumbered the kids at the matinee which might say something---or not!
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jun 25, 2016
What starts out as a somewhat bumpy trip down memory lane quickly escalates into an all-out frenzy of warmth, rib-splitting humor, and visual grandeur. Director Andrew Stanton not only proves that he is still capable of great filmmaking, butWhat starts out as a somewhat bumpy trip down memory lane quickly escalates into an all-out frenzy of warmth, rib-splitting humor, and visual grandeur. Director Andrew Stanton not only proves that he is still capable of great filmmaking, but that worthwhile stories can still be found within this aquatic world we all fell in love with back in 2003. A sequel/spinoff that actually has a point/contains the same soul of its predecessor? I'll take it. This movie won me over. Big time. With its absolutely stunning setting, adorably hilarious characters, and truly enthralling final act, I can say that "Finding Dory" made me feel 100% like a kid again. Easily my favorite Pixar movie to come out since "The Incredibles." Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodJul 9, 2016
So why this isn't necessarily the BEST Pixar film, I gotta give it credit for opening kids up to such a serious topic such as mental health.

Dory has short term memory loss. What was once a funny little gimmick for Finding Nemo is
So why this isn't necessarily the BEST Pixar film, I gotta give it credit for opening kids up to such a serious topic such as mental health.

Dory has short term memory loss.

What was once a funny little gimmick for Finding Nemo is explored and opened up and is shown as something a lot more devastating and serious. Dory's memory loss is absolutely devastating. It stops her from achieving tasks and stops her from living a normal life. The way the film portrays how awful and how mental illness really effects everybody and how it destroys and tears people apart, yet also brings them together.

This films was absolutely beautiful. I loved every moment. Its so cute and adorable but has soooo much heart and soul. I honestly started crying at one scene in the film. Being someone that actually struggles with mental illness it just brought a tear to my eye seeing a light film explore such a topic in such a positive and light hearted way that doesn't hide how frustrating and awful such a thing is.

absolutely loved it.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
JonZsuJun 17, 2016
Surprisingly entertaining, hilarious and heart-warming. Visually stunning, the story is not as flawless and original as the studio's highest standards, but Finding Dory is a movie that's honest and excellent enough, who deserves applause andSurprisingly entertaining, hilarious and heart-warming. Visually stunning, the story is not as flawless and original as the studio's highest standards, but Finding Dory is a movie that's honest and excellent enough, who deserves applause and respect from Pixar fans and even haters alike. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
fond_of_filmJun 23, 2016
I concede that this film may not be technically as brilliant as its predecessor. Regardless, it is beautiful, heartfelt, and deeply enjoyable. With a wealth of wonderfully-crafted characters, stunning visuals, gobs of laughs, and plenty ofI concede that this film may not be technically as brilliant as its predecessor. Regardless, it is beautiful, heartfelt, and deeply enjoyable. With a wealth of wonderfully-crafted characters, stunning visuals, gobs of laughs, and plenty of heart-warming adorableness, there is almost nothing in this film that I would change. With Inside Out and now Finding Dory, I can confidently say that Pixar has one again found its mojo. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingJun 26, 2016
Finding Dory is emotional, funny and poignant but in comparison to its classic predecessor, lacks the storytelling skill and groundbreaking visuals that could have elevated it into the high bar that Pixar usually sets.
13 of 19 users found this helpful136
All this user's reviews
10
JurassicParkFanJun 17, 2016
So far... so great! Finding Dory is a great continuation of the original Finding Nemo witch I loved and still love it! The Characters, Animation, Story, Humor, everything about this movie worked for me!
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
JohnKristoferJun 17, 2016
Absolutely an amazing animated film which also a great sequel.Finding Dory Delivers a fun,enjoyable,thought-provoking themes that certainly made the film good with amazing voice cast and a fantastic animation made it one of Pixar's Best effort.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyJul 23, 2016
Finding Dory isn't as great as Finding Nemo, but it still manages to be amazing. Pixar was able to find a new and emotional story to tell for Dory that is both touching and thrilling at the same time. The new cast of characters are just asFinding Dory isn't as great as Finding Nemo, but it still manages to be amazing. Pixar was able to find a new and emotional story to tell for Dory that is both touching and thrilling at the same time. The new cast of characters are just as good as the old, especially Hank. The CGI is spectacular once again, as well as the writing, the voice acting, the comedy, and the music. Definitely a must 'sea' for all, after the original of course. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 19, 2016
While not quite as good as the original, Finding Dory is still yet another wonderful addition to Pixar's filmography. With fantastic voice performances yet again from Ellen Degeneres and Albert Brooks, as well as great turns here from EdWhile not quite as good as the original, Finding Dory is still yet another wonderful addition to Pixar's filmography. With fantastic voice performances yet again from Ellen Degeneres and Albert Brooks, as well as great turns here from Ed O'Neill, Idris Elba, and Dominic West, Finding Dory is a film packed to the brim with childlike wonder and emotion. A beautifully universal tale of the connection between family members and between you and your friends, Finding Dory is a heartfelt and moving animated tale of Dory trying to find her parents after having a memory of them. While the film can be kind of silly at times, it is obviously an animated film about fish talking, so I cannot really complain too much. That said, it is moving and really funny at times, especially when the sea lions are on the screen. Overall, Finding Dory is a fantastic film from the minds at Pixar and a worthy sequel to the nearly perfect original. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
TheKavehJJun 22, 2016
I was expecting Finding Dory to be awful, but it was actually pretty good. The storyline was creative, and the film was touching. Very well written, and not just a delight for the kids, but the adults too!
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
8
MattyiceJun 17, 2016
While Finding Dory does not come close to being better than Finding Nemo (one of my favorite animated movies ever) and the first half/third feels a bit too familiar, the rest of the film is great and definitely a step in the right directionWhile Finding Dory does not come close to being better than Finding Nemo (one of my favorite animated movies ever) and the first half/third feels a bit too familiar, the rest of the film is great and definitely a step in the right direction for Pixar, which has come off one of its best movies and one of its worst movies in the past year. All of the characters, old and especially new, are fantastic, the feels and themes are there, and, more importantly, the film is engaging and fun. Probably just in the dead middle of Pixar's 17 films, but still a great movie that I'd strongly suggest to anyone, especially if they have seen Finding Nemo or are generally a fan of Pixar. Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
9
NickLikesMoviesJun 17, 2016
Finding Dory is a wonderfully heartwarming, visually breathtaking, incredible film. It isn't as perfect as the first but it didn't need to be. It did what a good sequel's job is to do: it furthered along a story in a structurally familiar butFinding Dory is a wonderfully heartwarming, visually breathtaking, incredible film. It isn't as perfect as the first but it didn't need to be. It did what a good sequel's job is to do: it furthered along a story in a structurally familiar but also wildly original and different way. The film exceeds mostly due to it's overwhelmingly likable and hilarious characters. Every character, new and old, have their shining moments. Not just one moment. Multiple moments. From Dory to Nemo to Hank to Destiny to Becky to Gerald, they all are extremely memorable and help further the plot in their own, unique ways. And are truly the reason the film works so beautifully well.

Finding Dory packs so much emotion in it's heartbreaking/heartwarming flashback scenes that are definitely the highlights of the film. I cried within the first five minutes and that's what I've come to expect with Pixar films. The film within the Pixar universe isn't one of the very best, just due to lack of originality. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing in this case. If this was the first in the series it would be groundbreaking, like the first Finding Nemo is.

I loved Finding Dory with every inch of my body. It does everything it needed to do and actually exceeding my expectations more than I ever could have imagined. It even features positive messages of teaching children with disabilities and animal captivity. Finding Dory is a wonderful, emmersive, lovable film that I don't see anyone disliking. I cannot wait to see it again!
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
harlan10Jun 17, 2016
Finding dory is a very good movie. Ellen is very good as dory and thought it does not live up to the high standers set by finding nemo it is still an enjoyably experience.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
6
PopcornandaCokeJun 18, 2016
Another review said it best and I will confirm those comments. This movie is decent and kids will enjoy it, but it is a recycle of the original and has the feel and story-quality of a sequel better released directly to DVD. Finding Dory isAnother review said it best and I will confirm those comments. This movie is decent and kids will enjoy it, but it is a recycle of the original and has the feel and story-quality of a sequel better released directly to DVD. Finding Dory is full of color and cuteness but overwhelmed with far-fetched scenarios that fell hollow and contrived to me. I was not terribly impressed and remember thinking after seeing Finding Nemo that it was a movie better left without a sequel. Disney might have done better with a sequel with a little more of a statement about the condition of our oceans and a thicker plot. Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
3
ClatJun 20, 2016
Finding Dory was a huge disappointment. I went to see it today not expecting much, but hoping for just a little Pixar magic. Unfortunately what I got was a big cliched cash in, full of obvious humor, obnoxiously over the top cutesy charactersFinding Dory was a huge disappointment. I went to see it today not expecting much, but hoping for just a little Pixar magic. Unfortunately what I got was a big cliched cash in, full of obvious humor, obnoxiously over the top cutesy characters and a slapdash plot. I found all the characters to be mildly irritating and they had none of the charm they possessed in Finding Nemo.
It was such a half arsed, predictable story! It lacks every ounce of depth Nemo had. I know it's a kid's film (and I'm sure your kid is gonna like it) but that's what I used to love about Pixar! It was for everyone even us twenty somethings!
It's such an obvious money grab and it makes me really sad that Pixar is sinking to that. I've got a bad feeling about The Incredibles 2 and Toy Story 4.
There is one saving grace however!!! The short at the start was absolutely fantastic! It's by far the best Pixar short I would say and worth the price of my movie ticket even if the film itself isn't.
Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesJun 20, 2016
As sequels go, Finding Dory is an unqualified Pixar success. Colorful, funny, and moving with outstanding animation and 3D, there are no boring moments. It's a little more "frantic" than the original Nemo, and since the storyline is similarAs sequels go, Finding Dory is an unqualified Pixar success. Colorful, funny, and moving with outstanding animation and 3D, there are no boring moments. It's a little more "frantic" than the original Nemo, and since the storyline is similar some of the freshness of the original is gone. In the original Nemo had to find a way out of one aquarium. In this one, fish are constantly hopping from container to container to container even moving from building to building making the story seem less believable. The rescue scene of the Van on the freeway is way over the top and felt like a Looney Tunes cartoon rather than Pixar. The animated short "Piper" they show at the beginning, however, is outstanding and probably my favorite short they have done so far. Incredible animation, maybe the best I've ever seen. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewsByChrisJul 2, 2016
Finding Dory is set 1 year after the events of Finding Nemo, and our familiar fish faces Nemo (Hayden Rolence), father Marlin (Albert Brooks), and Dory (Ellen DeGeneres)- the blue tang with short-term memory loss- have settled into normalFinding Dory is set 1 year after the events of Finding Nemo, and our familiar fish faces Nemo (Hayden Rolence), father Marlin (Albert Brooks), and Dory (Ellen DeGeneres)- the blue tang with short-term memory loss- have settled into normal life at the reef. Dory's memory is infuriating everyone, including herself- and she's struggling to find a role in sea life. But one day, she regains some memories of her family and is determined to find them. But she knows she can't do it alone. Accompanied by Nemo and-reluctantly- Marlin, she must once again make her way across the ocean navigated only by sporadic memories of her childhood to find her parents. But it won't be easy. Along the way she encounters old friends, new creatures, and no shortage of obstacles between her and being reunited with her family. But is this journey futile, or just too impossible?

13 years. 13 years we have been waiting for this movie. And may I just applaud Pixar on such a smart way of making money. Now you've got all the people who were kids when they saw Nemo, all the parents who saw it with them, all the current kids who can see this one, and all the current parents, plus all the others who are just interested in the movie. That's a lot more of an audience than you would normally get for the average children's film. Pixar have released amazing films that are fantastic in giving you the feels and providing quality animated movies. They have received an impressive 30 nominations and 11 wins at the Academy Awards, but they haven't faired so well in two out of three sequels they've made. This combination of reputations gave me both excitement and weariness going into this movie. The trailers didn't look so good as well. The verdict?...SUCCESS!! Thank God! Pixar is back on track!

This film was the definition of 'a rollercoaster of emotions'. Fear, sadness, desperation, admiration, happiness, laughter, ecstasy, hysteria, and tears (of both happiness and sadness) could be seen by the people sitting next to me in the theatre. That is what I believe composes a quality film. The plot was well-designed and crafted- even if in their journey they go around in circles a little bit- and wastes no time getting underway in the beginning. There is a bit of back and forth between flashbacks and reality, which got annoying after a while, and those emotions I was talking about before were not sustained consistently throughout the movie. They existed in small pockets, especially so nearer to the climax(es) of this movie. This could easily be a source of boredom. And then there's Dory herself. You either love her or hate her. When the movie started, Dory was doing her whole 'sorry, I forgot' routine every 5 seconds and I groaned thinking; 'is this really going to be the whole movie?' but luckily it's not, but it's definitely there. Just enough so that you accept that its a character trait, not an annoyance. And one last thing about plot conveniences, HOW DOES NOBODY SEE THIS OCTOPUS CLEARLY MOVING INFRONT OF YOU??? (more of him in a second...)

The cast has a lot of familiar faces- especially if you've seen Modern Family- including old faces Ellen DeGeneres, Albert Brooks, Hayden Rolence, Andrew Stanton and Bob Peterson among others meeting new faces Ed O'Neil, Ty Burrell, Diane Keaton, Eugene Levy, Sloane Murray, Idris Elba, and Dominic West. All the voicing was excellent, with DeGeneres demonstrating more of an emotional range. We got to see some solid character development from all our characters, but I would've liked to see some more depth from Hank the octopus- who was one of my favourite new additions- as cruel as he is stealthy- able to hide in plain sight and pull off some daring escapes without being seen due to his dexterity and ability to camouflage, however, I loved all the new additions!!

Themes include family, belonging, uniqueness, friendship, and loyalty. As usual, there's plenty of morals here for the kids to live by. The animation was up to its great standard, and the cinematography was fantastic, along with Stanton and McLane's directing. In terms of engagement, my attention was lost sometimes, but most of the time, I was thoroughly engaged by the storyline, characters, blending of genres and spectacular animation. The ending, however, I felt was a little too long. Poignant, but tedious. No cliches here either, another unique Pixar film. The tone was simultaneously emotional yet lighthearted due to the way the proceedings occur. I expect some Oscar nominations from this movie.

You should probably watch Finding Nemo to get some context of the characters, but it isn't a necessity. They make some references to the original which is good for nostalgic purposes. To improve, sustain the emotive scenes and engaging qualities over the entire film for better engagement, and the running time probably could've been cut down.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
BetterBroBureauJun 18, 2016
"Finding Dory" had a lot to live up to, as "Finding Nemo" is considered by many to be one of the best Pixar films. "Nemo" had it all. Amazing story, characters, lessons, and visuals. While Dory doesn’t hit all the marks as well, it’s solid"Finding Dory" had a lot to live up to, as "Finding Nemo" is considered by many to be one of the best Pixar films. "Nemo" had it all. Amazing story, characters, lessons, and visuals. While Dory doesn’t hit all the marks as well, it’s solid entertainment.

The Breakdown:

Story: 3/5
Strengths:
The set pieces and obstacles are the protagonist instead of having an actual villain.
Great humor throughout.
Some creative ties into the first film.

Weaknesses:
The illusion of realism is broken in the third act with far fetched antics that are tough to swallow even with talking fish.
Lacks some of the strong lessons and heart that Find Nemo had. (Though Piper, the animated short before the film, makes up for this.)

Characters: 4.5/5

Strengths:
Hank the Octopus played by Ed O’Neill steals every scene he’s in.
Pixar does it again by working in the animals habits and mannerisms into every character in the film.
You look forward to every character to show back up as the story progresses.

Weaknesses:
A funny gag from the original with Dory “speaking whale” is over used and looses its humor and charm.

Visuals: 5/5

Strengths:
Pixar animation continues to advance, and every shot in the entire film is beautifully done.
The animated short Piper before the film has some of the most realistic textures and environmental elements I’ve ever seen in computer graphics.

Weaknesses:
None

Bottom Line: 4/5

The story is very straightforward and is missing the depth of the first film. However the fantastic cast of characters and how well they tie to their real world animal counterparts is extremely well done. Pixar’s beautiful animation continues to impress and really brings the characters and environments to life. It’s a solid entertainment for kids and adults, and highly recommend a theatrical viewing.

Stay in your seats as there is a fantastic post credit scene!
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
5
Ryan_ParkinsonJun 18, 2016
This film is going to make a lot of nostalgic fans and new audiences very happy. It's animation and voicework is top shelf and its charm is undeniable, but it's story feels poorly paced and forced. The exposition is unbelievably dense; neverThis film is going to make a lot of nostalgic fans and new audiences very happy. It's animation and voicework is top shelf and its charm is undeniable, but it's story feels poorly paced and forced. The exposition is unbelievably dense; never has a Pixar film had so many characters spend so much time talking about what they're thinking or how they feel. Dory is tiresome whenever she's centre stage and the lack of adult wit makes it not feel to dissimilar to an Ice Age outing.

By all means see it and enjoy it, but this is far from Pixar at their best.
Expand
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
10
godzillabotsJun 21, 2016
Am i the only one to say in this review that we're growing up so fast and that we have to wait 13 years to have a sequel of Finding Nemo? No? Good, cause this movie was WORTH IT!! The new characters are amazing, especially Destiny the WhaleAm i the only one to say in this review that we're growing up so fast and that we have to wait 13 years to have a sequel of Finding Nemo? No? Good, cause this movie was WORTH IT!! The new characters are amazing, especially Destiny the Whale Shark. And the story is very heart warming. It's glad to return to the ocean. =) Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
7
dannytran555Jun 17, 2016
Good sequel for iconic Pixar's animation. i really enjoy the movie although movie kind rush . There a lot of great new character in movie i believe young and adult will love them.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
8
LordMudBloodJun 19, 2016
Finding Dory creatively melds in well with its predecessor's story. The story's name and the beginning of the film surprise us with the truth that Dory had all along been lost even when searching for Nemo. Although the movie falls short inFinding Dory creatively melds in well with its predecessor's story. The story's name and the beginning of the film surprise us with the truth that Dory had all along been lost even when searching for Nemo. Although the movie falls short in awe dropping scenes with interesting environments and the sense of truly being lost that the first had brought onto our consciousness, it still cleverly slips in the double meaning of the title. Finding Dory is a great adventure for those interested in a funny and enjoyable, yet purely warming tale wrapped in family love under the cold sea. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
8
JoeWilliamsJun 17, 2016
Finding Dory is a Pixar sequel that stands out from the rest of Pixar Sequels (excluding Toy Story Sequels).A great animation,story and an deep emotional character developments.You will never get bored with this film,it'sFinding Dory is a Pixar sequel that stands out from the rest of Pixar Sequels (excluding Toy Story Sequels).A great animation,story and an deep emotional character developments.You will never get bored with this film,it's enjoyable,dun,entertaining and intriguing piece of animation. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
seraphinaaJun 25, 2016
Truly A-Dory-Able. Finding Dory is a heartwarming movie. Not only is it exciting to see the old characters after thirteen years, but it is also filled with new unforgettable characters. Definitely a must watch for everyone.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
6
mepittsJun 19, 2016
Loved "Finding Nemo" and the Dory character as portrayed by Ellen DeGeneres, and the animation and the "Piper" short before this movie are all wonderful, but found the movie long, repetitive, a little irritating and disappointing: The DoryLoved "Finding Nemo" and the Dory character as portrayed by Ellen DeGeneres, and the animation and the "Piper" short before this movie are all wonderful, but found the movie long, repetitive, a little irritating and disappointing: The Dory character was good as a side-kick in the original story, but putting that character in a starring role without really strong writing to support her was a mistake. OK--we get it. She has short-term memory issues. But we got it in Finding Nemo and we got it in the first 10 minutes of Finding Dory. The writing was not strong enough or clever enough to sustain a movie this long. And, short-term memory issues aside, the message is affirming to Dory but disconcerting as a "life lesson": as long as you're lucky, being headstrong and impulsive will save the day! Pixar no doubt has other great movies in the pipeline, but for now, Finding Dory is a faint shadow of great Pixar movies like The Incredibles, Ratatouille, the Toy Story trilogy and Finding Nemo. Not recommended. Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
3
danfiscusJun 28, 2016
I felt nothing as I watched this film. There was no good story, the payoff was minimal, the whole thing was the definition of cheap money-grabbing sequel. There were more plotholes in this film than holes in a slice of swiss cheese. Don'tI felt nothing as I watched this film. There was no good story, the payoff was minimal, the whole thing was the definition of cheap money-grabbing sequel. There were more plotholes in this film than holes in a slice of swiss cheese. Don't bother watching, our whole family found it boring. Even the kids. Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
3
natalieHJun 19, 2016
I have to say I was really disappointed, although it was visually stunning (and what pixar movie isn't these days). The whole film was just a nostalgia fest, there was no set story line and things just happened to move the plot along, thereI have to say I was really disappointed, although it was visually stunning (and what pixar movie isn't these days). The whole film was just a nostalgia fest, there was no set story line and things just happened to move the plot along, there was so little emotional investment and it all went by so quickly without any real meaning. This was such a disappointment to finding nemo. Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
3
TleJun 25, 2016
Way too long. Ready to leave after first hour. Not nearly as good as finding Nemo. Should have been released on dvd only. Ellen degeneres can't hold a candle to Robin Williams.
10 of 19 users found this helpful109
All this user's reviews
2
RickyReviewsJun 26, 2016
A generally boring movie with some funny moments. I know, I know, it is a kids movie and I should not be trashing it, but come on, the original was far more superior to this one. Even though the animation is a tad bit better here, the storyA generally boring movie with some funny moments. I know, I know, it is a kids movie and I should not be trashing it, but come on, the original was far more superior to this one. Even though the animation is a tad bit better here, the story is bad, and...yeah, you get my point. Expand
11 of 21 users found this helpful1110
All this user's reviews
10
Daniel_AhabJun 17, 2016
There are terrific Pixar sequels ("Toy Story 2" and "3") and OK Pixar sequels ("Cars 2," "Monsters University"). "Finding Dory" is one of the terrific ones, if not quite up to the "Toy Story" standard.
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
6
McgillacuddyJun 30, 2016
Finding Dory was an okay movie. The story itself wasn't significant enough for it to be superb, and this is surprisingly something coming from the near-flawless company Pixar. Many of the jokes and gags were well-executed, but the main plotFinding Dory was an okay movie. The story itself wasn't significant enough for it to be superb, and this is surprisingly something coming from the near-flawless company Pixar. Many of the jokes and gags were well-executed, but the main plot and character development were the downers. It's not the high quality of Toy Story 2, nor is it the low quality of Cars 2. It's more the quality of... Brave. Frankly, I never thought Finding Nemo really needed a sequel. It was fine the way it was. Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
5
samichsupernovaJun 26, 2016
I'm puzzled at all the love for this because I was extremely disappointed. The story, script, characterizations, everything was just slipshod and lacking in the quality we all expect from Pixar. That it was directed by Andrew Stanton makes noI'm puzzled at all the love for this because I was extremely disappointed. The story, script, characterizations, everything was just slipshod and lacking in the quality we all expect from Pixar. That it was directed by Andrew Stanton makes no sense to me, because normally his films have a polished look and feel to them, and with the exception of maybe one or two revelatory moments, that is simply not the case here. This is his weakest cinematic effort thus far, and I blame Pixar's storyboard-by-committee approach 100%. Whereas one of Finding Nemo's strengths was in its realism (remember how tough it was for those fish to find a way out of that fish tank??), in this film the characters become involved in ridiculous set-pieces where the audience is asked to suspend a HUGE amount of disbelief in order to accept what's happening on-screen. Without spoiling anything I will say that there were far too many scenes where I was asked to turn my brain off, or was straight-up reminded that I was watching a kids' movie that can pick and choose whenever it wants to be taken seriously, rather than something that actually makes an effort at immersing the audience, or at least attempting to immerse the audience, in a semi-believable universe.

Also, the writing is weak. The story takes some very predictable turns towards the end, the dialogue is nothing special, and very few characters from the original film return. Marlin and Nemo have hardly anything to do and the film IMO places way too much emphasis on Dory, with maybe one too many unneeded flashbacks, and going so far as to spend far too much screen time milking the character's journey for emotion. Of course it's going to be a tough emotional journey getting one's memories back, but that doesn't mean the writing and plot have to progress at such a slow pace. Also, Ellen DeGeneres gives her heart and soul into the performance, but Dory as written is really not all that compelling. There was clearly a missed opportunity here for real character development.

The single best part of the movie is Hank the octopus, hands-down. He's not only the coolest character in both these films, he's one of the more memorable Pixar characters in the last decade. Sadly, the film is not about Hank and he is only a supporting character. The sea lions were great as well. "Gerald!"

I woke up the next day wondering what went wrong, and why this film seems to be so critic-proof when there are so many issues with it. Sure, there are some decent emotional scenes and two or three laugh-out-loud moments (including one gag that nearly had me rolling on the floor), but for the most part this film is boring, sloppy, predictable, and utterly lacking in the wonder, world-building, and emotion of the original, much superior Finding Nemo. O Pixar, how the mighty have fallen...
Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
6
TheWaffleJun 21, 2016
Safe and somewhat stale. They missed a big opportunity to address climate change, with just a couple throwaway lines "people have no respect for sea life", and instead went for a meek and predictable sequel storyline. This one fails to raiseSafe and somewhat stale. They missed a big opportunity to address climate change, with just a couple throwaway lines "people have no respect for sea life", and instead went for a meek and predictable sequel storyline. This one fails to raise the stakes or build in the way that Toy Story's sequels did, it's just Finding Nemo re-written with Dory as the star. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
8
FonkeOct 4, 2017
As a fan of the original I needed to watch this sequel. It's not as good as it's predecessor, but contains the same sense of humor. It's definitely worth a watch if you liked the first movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
nozamanJun 22, 2016
Even with lowered expectations, this was disappointing. As long as the film stays in the sea, it is a cute if, erm, shallow adventure/roots story. But when it gets into the human world, which is most of the time, it runs into trouble. GoodEven with lowered expectations, this was disappointing. As long as the film stays in the sea, it is a cute if, erm, shallow adventure/roots story. But when it gets into the human world, which is most of the time, it runs into trouble. Good storytelling must seem true to its world; the world of the characters in Finding Nemo was totally "believable" and true. But the way these character act out of water does not seem "real" or true at all-- it seems like screenwriters struggling to fill time and buy laughs. Too many bad memory jokes. Too many "No way that could happen" moments-- even in a story with talking fish. Should have been released without the Pixar name, as was Planes. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
3
paws17Aug 2, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very disappointing sequel which deserves hardly any of the effusive praise it's getting from the usual suspects in the paid press. Over-long, boringly repetitive in places, mawkish and topped off with a completely OTT finale involving an octopus driving a lorry - yes, you heard that correctly - which completely undermines the "reality" that the technical team have striven to achieve in terms of the visual presentation of the undersea world. By the way, when I go to see a cartoon, I expect my eyes to be assaulted by ultra-bright visuals, not dulled into somnolence by a murky, moss-green, kelp-strewn soup in which it becomes quite hard to make out what's going on in some scenes. Save your money and buy the DVD for a present for someone less discerning than yourself and wait for them to lend it to you to watch. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
6
gkbos1Jun 20, 2016
It was enjoyable...I just thought it didn't have a light heart-ed feeling. The comedy was mixed with sadness. Some parts felt rushed. The journey the characters go through almost seemed pointless. Many supporting characters were neededIt was enjoyable...I just thought it didn't have a light heart-ed feeling. The comedy was mixed with sadness. Some parts felt rushed. The journey the characters go through almost seemed pointless. Many supporting characters were needed to make the story somewhat flow. There were some enjoyable parts but I won't be watching this one again on dvd/rent. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
4
kuehnauJun 19, 2016
While the animation and artwork is always top notch, Finding Dory is mediocre at best. The movie doesn't have the same heart or soul Finding Nemo had. The writing feels half hearted and the movie never really grabs your attention enough toWhile the animation and artwork is always top notch, Finding Dory is mediocre at best. The movie doesn't have the same heart or soul Finding Nemo had. The writing feels half hearted and the movie never really grabs your attention enough to actually make you care. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
6
Antgiog1202Jun 22, 2016
Finding Dory was just an excuse to get people's money into the theaters. It's not as enjoyable as it's predecessor, Finding Nemo, but it will satisfy fans by bringing back some nostalgia. The film itself offers us substandard jokes,Finding Dory was just an excuse to get people's money into the theaters. It's not as enjoyable as it's predecessor, Finding Nemo, but it will satisfy fans by bringing back some nostalgia. The film itself offers us substandard jokes, ineffective emotional sequences and just a indistinguishable plot that we've already seen before -- and that's surprising coming from Pixar. It did have some acknowledgeable moments that were quite fun to experience -- but only a few.

Rating: 6/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
RyuzakiJun 21, 2016
Story line is slow to build up, very bland. Tries to live up too its original "Finding Nemo" but fails too horribly. Few funny moments but that's it don't waste your time on this one watch finding Nemo instead
14 of 32 users found this helpful1418
All this user's reviews
6
avan1976Jun 28, 2016
Amazing visuals. Entertaining enough for small minds, but it lacks the heart of Finding Nemo. Often feels like a confected series of scenes rather than a cohesive story. A few touching moments though.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
5
Dodringo64Jun 22, 2016
This movie is good. I'll say that right now, but it falls short, quite a bit. The story is so lacking and such a disappointment. It honestly felt like a total rehash of the original 'Finding Nemo' which I love. The fact that Nemo and MarlinThis movie is good. I'll say that right now, but it falls short, quite a bit. The story is so lacking and such a disappointment. It honestly felt like a total rehash of the original 'Finding Nemo' which I love. The fact that Nemo and Marlin are in the movie at all are completely unnecessary and have no purpose in the film and take away from what character development we could have with other characters.

'Finding Nemo' was just one of those films that did not need a sequel and the most interesting thing about this movie was seeing Ellen DeGeneres reprise the role of Dory once again. Sorry, Finding Dory, you just didn't have what I wanted in the sequel to 'Finding Nemo'.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
twall3Jun 20, 2016
I was only moderately a fan of Finding Nemo but I do love fish and the ocean. I was very pleasantly surprised to find Finding Dory very likable, well-done and many times made me laugh. Touching moments as well (daughter asked, "Dad are youI was only moderately a fan of Finding Nemo but I do love fish and the ocean. I was very pleasantly surprised to find Finding Dory very likable, well-done and many times made me laugh. Touching moments as well (daughter asked, "Dad are you crying?" as I wiped my eyes in a few scenes). New characters are very likable, dialogue and storyline were clever (especially ending). If you liked Nemo, you will likely enjoy Dory, too. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
ALFTannerJul 2, 2016
This had to be one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. Both my wife and I fell asleep. There was almost no humor. It was just a ridiculous "adventure" (if you could call it that), and it seemed to go on and on.

My nap was the best
This had to be one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. Both my wife and I fell asleep. There was almost no humor. It was just a ridiculous "adventure" (if you could call it that), and it seemed to go on and on.

My nap was the best part of the movie. While I was awake, I had to suffer though the annoying voice of Ellen DeGeneres. The Dory character was okay in the first movie as a secondary character, but they should have never made a movie around this obnoxious character.

The only good think I can say is that my 6 year old thought it was okay.
Expand
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
10
TommasoJun 17, 2016
I have no words. Incredible!! I've just watched and I have to say that i didn't expect a Finding Nemo sequel before this but I'm happy Finding Dory exists.
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
10
HectorInTheMornJun 17, 2016
Greatest Pixar Movie ever made in my opinion! There is not a single dull moment through out this entire movie! every thing from the plot, to the characters, to the humor, to the animation, you will absolutely be pleased! It is a movie thatGreatest Pixar Movie ever made in my opinion! There is not a single dull moment through out this entire movie! every thing from the plot, to the characters, to the humor, to the animation, you will absolutely be pleased! It is a movie that not only kids can watch, but adults can too. 10/10! Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
10
EpicLadySpongeJun 17, 2016
Okay sure, it's not as great as Nemo, but once you look at it more, it perfectly becomes its thing. Finding Dory might not be better, but for every movie release being released this year, I guess Finding Dory could win "Best Animated Film ofOkay sure, it's not as great as Nemo, but once you look at it more, it perfectly becomes its thing. Finding Dory might not be better, but for every movie release being released this year, I guess Finding Dory could win "Best Animated Film of the Year." No give for a positive? Then you don't have any clever mind what's going ahead of Finding Dory and please, don't hesitate to give it a positive as of this took people 13 years for a sequel. As said, I didn't even knew this could aim easily for a 10, especially if it's scored positively by critics alike. This is a must-see movie of 2016 especially for Nemo fans. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
6
cmkarthikJul 14, 2016
I'm a bit disappointed with Finding Dory because Pixar movies have set an unusually high standard of how animated movies should be - entertaining to kids and yet, appealing to adults. Although I don't know whether it was entertaining to theI'm a bit disappointed with Finding Dory because Pixar movies have set an unusually high standard of how animated movies should be - entertaining to kids and yet, appealing to adults. Although I don't know whether it was entertaining to the kids, I am pretty sure that it wouldn't have been appealing to the kids. There was a nice little character development in the first movie which is sorely missing. All the action are too fast and mighty improbable even for an animated adventure movie. I'm a big fan of DeGeneres and always fancied a sequel with a more prominent role to her, but this movie falls way short. Should have just left it at the first movie. This sequel was needless and is too lifeless. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
6
GamecubeLoverAug 6, 2016
Its okay but this just made me disappointed since I wanted to see this movie cause finding nemo was better. This one is just unoriginal and bland for the most part.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
Lal62944Jun 30, 2016
Boring, goes on to long, nothing like the original Finding Nemo, not very imaginative. Storyline was terrible, didn't keep the kids attention during the movie much less mine.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
1
TakestwototangoAug 25, 2016
Sorry Dory! But you didn't impress me at all! Lackluster film all around that doesn't deserve the money and praise it's gained. Finding Nemo this film is not!
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
anonymouseyAug 15, 2016
I am always nervous about sequels, but this one did not disappoint. Was it perfect? NO, Was is better than the original? Well, I don't think so. But was it funny and sad and heartfelt and just a great overall movie? HECK YES. No spoilers,I am always nervous about sequels, but this one did not disappoint. Was it perfect? NO, Was is better than the original? Well, I don't think so. But was it funny and sad and heartfelt and just a great overall movie? HECK YES. No spoilers, but the "chase" scene at the end was kinda silly, even for this type of movie, but that was not weird enough for me to lower its score. It is a must see. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
Lennon-SJun 17, 2016
I seriously have to wonder how many reviewers here actually seen the movie they are reviewing. Per the norm the animation is lovely but people need to face facts. This isn't and I repeat is not quality story telling! And frankly Dory simplyI seriously have to wonder how many reviewers here actually seen the movie they are reviewing. Per the norm the animation is lovely but people need to face facts. This isn't and I repeat is not quality story telling! And frankly Dory simply can't hold a candle to Zootopia in story, characters, and world building. Expand
13 of 40 users found this helpful1327
All this user's reviews
0
BrandonKAug 25, 2016
Shameless money grab cleverly covered in a cloak of nostalgia! If you seen this and really believe it's worthy of any kind of acclaim I'd suggest you have the doctor check your head! This is NOT Nemo and it is NOT good!
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
6
cadoverJun 28, 2016
It's a cute movie, and it tries really, really hard to be just that. Better than The Good Dinosaur (not saying much) but nowhere near as good as Finding Nemo, if you want eye candy for your 1-4yr old then this movie is perfect. If you wereIt's a cute movie, and it tries really, really hard to be just that. Better than The Good Dinosaur (not saying much) but nowhere near as good as Finding Nemo, if you want eye candy for your 1-4yr old then this movie is perfect. If you were looking for something intelligent with a good storyline, you're better off re-watching Finding Nemo.
Expect tons of baby talk, baby googly eyes, squealingly exciting things that happen for no reason at all, problems that get solved instantly like magic, cheap laughs...you get the point - it's a movie for babies, nothing more. Put this movie up against Wall-E, and you're left wondering WHAT HAPPENED TO PIXAR???
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
6
AndrewG1999Jun 20, 2016
Finding Dory was a fun experience for me. The main idea for the motto "Just keep swimming" is becoming more comprehensible as it tells us that it represents hope, perseverance, and determination. As quoted from the Bible Roman 5:3-4, “AndFinding Dory was a fun experience for me. The main idea for the motto "Just keep swimming" is becoming more comprehensible as it tells us that it represents hope, perseverance, and determination. As quoted from the Bible Roman 5:3-4, “And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope.” It is a great comparison to a quote we'll never forget. Finding Dory was a magical, enjoyable, and entertaining movie, but it lacked some key elements that it's predecessor possessed. It wasn't as charming or emotional as I thought it was going to be. I thought that Dory's oblivious behavior kind of took away the emotional point of the movie. But it was nice to see Marlin and Nemo reunite as a family and not trying to look for each other. What I did like the most about Finding Dory was that it was not just about Dory finding her parents; no it was about Dory finding who she was and if she had a purpose in life. Finding Dory deserves a 6/10 rating from me. :) Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
4
AxeTJul 8, 2016
"Finding Nemo" along with "Ratatouille" and "Toy Story 3" are my three favorite Pixar movies (all 10's) out of so many good ones. That brilliant hit trend started to turn south in my eyes starting about 4-5 years ago. This latest is finely"Finding Nemo" along with "Ratatouille" and "Toy Story 3" are my three favorite Pixar movies (all 10's) out of so many good ones. That brilliant hit trend started to turn south in my eyes starting about 4-5 years ago. This latest is finely animated of course and the detail like always is pretty amazing. However the story is a flat out bore top to bottom! Talk about retread. It's an uninspired sequel.
At the same time I can understand the problem for Pixar now. The novelty of 3D computer animation has worn off and since they make all family fare, just how many cute coming of age tales can you spin and keep it fresh, much less going to the vault for obvious money maker sequels whether they warrant making because they have actual new stories to tell? Don't think having a deep sea fish story wind up in a car chase on land is the real answer. Sure it's fun and just fine for most young children, but can adults say in truth they were entertained by this? That it is original and clever like so many of Pixar's past efforts have been? Hardly.

However, the pre-feature short "Piper" is a wonderful piece of state-of-the-art animation with a simple minimal little nature story told succinctly and briefly that is impossible not to be impressed by. Made me wonder if they actually photographically shot the sand granules or they were 100% digitally conjured? If so the animated look here has reached yet another new threshold.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerDec 8, 2016
I, like many, was apprehensive about the idea of a sequel to the Pixar masterpiece Finding Nemo. It didn't really seem like there was room for a sequel in the universe, and with the exception of their Toy Story series Pixar has left meI, like many, was apprehensive about the idea of a sequel to the Pixar masterpiece Finding Nemo. It didn't really seem like there was room for a sequel in the universe, and with the exception of their Toy Story series Pixar has left me disappointed with it's sequels. However, while Finding Dory is definitely not as good as it's predecessor, it is a welcome return to the aquatic side of Pixar movies.

First off it's a stunning reminder of how perfect the original is in terms of animation, characters, and casting. Dory and the gang are just how you remember them and the voice acting is still some of the most incredible I have ever experienced. The cast adds nuance and life to these characters using only their voices. The animation is nothing short of gorgeous. Things like returning characters and references serve as humorous and appreciated throwbacks to the original.

All that said, this isn't one of those sequels that reuses plot elements and jokes from the first movie to get by. It stands on it's own as an incredible animated movie. One with it's own adventure, new characters, and plenty of original humor and heart.

Just like the best of Pixar's work, Finding Dory is emotional and heartwarming. The character of Dory is front and center with a stunning core performance from Ellen DeGeneres that quite frankly deserves every voice acting award out there. Now the plot itself does get a little absurd. Characters bounce around through situations that often defy logic. Honestly, I'm okay with that. Because at the end of the day it's still entertaining and you can feel it in your heart. You can also feel it in your funny bone, because it's absolutely hilarious. Simply put, Finding Dory is another masterpiece from Pixar. No, it's not as good as Finding Nemo, but honestly that kind of lighting doesn't strike twice. Instead it's a very respectable follow up that will enchant families and viewers of all ages. And at the end of the day, it still blows away just about everything else out there.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LaKillingFrenzyJun 18, 2016
The sequel is as good if not better than the original movie. It has all the elements of the last one and more. It has that great humor and has the perfect balance of nostalgia. It has a great plot and is full of twists and great newThe sequel is as good if not better than the original movie. It has all the elements of the last one and more. It has that great humor and has the perfect balance of nostalgia. It has a great plot and is full of twists and great new characters. I recommend this movie to anyone who watched the original and anyone else. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
5
LuccaSSCAug 15, 2017
This movie isn't the worst Pixar movie only because Cars 2 exists. It is disappointing, predictable and just not funny at all. It's something I would expect from BlueSky or Illumination, but not from the studio behind such classics as ToyThis movie isn't the worst Pixar movie only because Cars 2 exists. It is disappointing, predictable and just not funny at all. It's something I would expect from BlueSky or Illumination, but not from the studio behind such classics as Toy Story, Ratatouille and Up. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJun 23, 2016
'Finding Dory' might not succeed Nemo, but it sure is a close one. It’s a fast paced family flick with, as always, a lot of focus on family, friendship and love. The humor is as expected very clever and so are the swimming characters — just'Finding Dory' might not succeed Nemo, but it sure is a close one. It’s a fast paced family flick with, as always, a lot of focus on family, friendship and love. The humor is as expected very clever and so are the swimming characters — just the chemistry and the continuing development of these individuals is a wonderful experience on the big screen. There might be some slow and (very) convenient moments yes — but boy it’s good.

Personal rating: 74/100
Critical rating: 85/100
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJun 28, 2016
Finding Dory is a less funny sequel to Finding Nemo, however still brings lots of heart and warmth. I unfortunately saw it in a theatre pact with kids whose parents could not get off their cell phones. My main critique is to a viewingFinding Dory is a less funny sequel to Finding Nemo, however still brings lots of heart and warmth. I unfortunately saw it in a theatre pact with kids whose parents could not get off their cell phones. My main critique is to a viewing audience, if you are there just for your kids than think maybe others are there to enjoy the movie, not watch you text. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
bfoore90Jun 23, 2016
While it wasn't as good as the Finding Nemo obviously, I still really really enjoyed Finding Dory. I really felt did a great job of great continuation of Finding Nemo, which really worked for me because Finding Nemo is probably one of myWhile it wasn't as good as the Finding Nemo obviously, I still really really enjoyed Finding Dory. I really felt did a great job of great continuation of Finding Nemo, which really worked for me because Finding Nemo is probably one of my favorite Pixar movies ever. Dory was also very amusing and touching in many ways as it feels almost identical in alot of ways to Finding Nemo while at the same time, doing its own thing as a sequel. The movie is also beautiful to look at with amazing sets and animations throughout. Overall, I really liked Finding Dory, it was a great passionate effort of following up Finding Nemo Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantJun 18, 2016
A knock-out sequel to a knock-out original (you can't get much better than that). A fun, touching, playful romp featuring lovable familiar characters and endearing new ones, along with impressive, inventive animation and affectingA knock-out sequel to a knock-out original (you can't get much better than that). A fun, touching, playful romp featuring lovable familiar characters and endearing new ones, along with impressive, inventive animation and affecting vocalizations. Although a tad long toward the end and in need of a few more genuine belly laughs throughout, Disney/Pixar has nevertheless knocked it out of the aquarium with this one. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
michael1208Jun 20, 2016
Pixar has once again strengthened its brand on delivering quality animation, though lack of highly original featured in Inside Out but definitely not repeating the sequel misfire just as the Cars franchise. The plot itself seems a bitPixar has once again strengthened its brand on delivering quality animation, though lack of highly original featured in Inside Out but definitely not repeating the sequel misfire just as the Cars franchise. The plot itself seems a bit generic, familiar and sort of predictable but the combination of both positive and negative core values about determination, love, family, friendship, memories, sadness, lost and regret have contributed to several thought provoking moments. It is a bright, clever and simple thanks to the adorable main character, Dory and introduction of new characters full with heart; audiences might have mix feelings of sweetness, inspiring and sadness throughout the adventure of this little blue creature under the sea with spectacular and colorful visual treats. It might not match the classiness of Nemo and full of kids imagination especially at the final act, it still works well for family goers and delivers the messages which the film intends to. Just like what Dory says "The best things happen by chance, because that's life"; the best animation happens by teamwork, because that's real effort. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
tjman09Jun 21, 2016
Finding Dory, the long awaited sequel to Finding Nemo is here and while it’s nowhere near as good as the original it’s a pretty solid follow up. It should be stated that a solid follow up by Pixar is still a great film, as they’ve shown thatFinding Dory, the long awaited sequel to Finding Nemo is here and while it’s nowhere near as good as the original it’s a pretty solid follow up. It should be stated that a solid follow up by Pixar is still a great film, as they’ve shown that they have making amazing films down to a science. Finding Dory is funny, beautifully animated, and often touching. It should be stated up front, that Finding Nemo is a nearly flawless film, and that when comparing them, Finding Dory doesn’t quite live up, but on it’s own merit it is still a great film.
One major reason that Finding Dory is so good is that it’s hilarious, and not just a few moments of humor, but hilarious throughout the entire film. Much like Finding Nemo the film gives voices to animals we see and throws their own wit into what those characters would say and do, much like the crabs and seagulls from the first film. It isn’t as consistently hilarious as Finding Nemo and never reaches the same range of pure hilarity and heart stopping moments, but it does have quite a few of both. Above the humor of the film another major element that worked so well for the film is the animation which is gorgeous.
This is true for both the film and it’s short, both were gorgeously animated, so much so that it’s becoming more and more realistic. Animating people still seems to be a work in progress, and we may never get that right, but when it comes to animals, Pixar seems to have a firm grip on making them look flawless. The only problem I have with this film is the story, which is okay, but coming from such a talented studio that consistently focuses on story, the story had some liberties and plot holes that aren’t common from Pixar. That is the major area where Finding Nemo was so great and Finding Dory fell a little flat.
However, Pixar’s greatest strength over the years has been it’s ability to make mass amounts of people feel something watching their films. This is an amazing accomplishment, because some people are easily invested in a film and get immersed easily, while some find it very hard to get immersed in films, but Pixar seems to know how to make everybody feel something watching their films. There are multiple moments in this film that do that, and convey as with many other Pixar greats an amazing amount of emotional depth. I typically say if a film can make somebody have a visceral reaction then it’s a great film, I wouldn’t say this film does that but it comes very close, which is impressive in it’s own right.
For those who loved Finding Nemo I wholeheartedly believe you’ll love this film to, but restating the obvious don’t expect it to match Finding Nemo. This film is hilarious, beautifully animated, touching, well paced, and features great voice acting. The film isn’t as good as Finding Nemo, as it’s story isn’t quite as good and frankly was probably never going to be as good. That being said for all who love Pixar films, families especially, this is a great film to go see.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews