Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 12, 2018
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 300 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
244
Mixed:
32
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ProteusOct 14, 2018
Not a crowd pleaser, not a deep psychological story, not a thriller, not an effective drama. What is this movie? I see why the audience reactions are tepid. It seems like something big, something dramatic should be happening....so where isNot a crowd pleaser, not a deep psychological story, not a thriller, not an effective drama. What is this movie? I see why the audience reactions are tepid. It seems like something big, something dramatic should be happening....so where is it?
The director never delivers.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MattyiceOct 15, 2018
First Man's themes (similar to Chazelle's other movies), cinematography, sound design, score, and climax are major accomplishments and deserve awards recognition. However, the ability to like this movie is almost completely reliant on theFirst Man's themes (similar to Chazelle's other movies), cinematography, sound design, score, and climax are major accomplishments and deserve awards recognition. However, the ability to like this movie is almost completely reliant on the viewer's attention spans, because this movie is a slow burner at many points and Gosling's acting, while great, can be a bit wooden based on Neil's bland personality in real life. I personally liked this movie a lot, but understand how others can find it boring considering an adventure about Apollo 11 and space travel should be exhilarating. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
netflicOct 15, 2018
This is a biopic about the first man on the Moon, Neil Armstrong.
Space exploration is inherently a very dangerous business, especially human exploration, because, as we know, space is deadly. 
There are so many things that can (and often do)
This is a biopic about the first man on the Moon, Neil Armstrong.
Space exploration is inherently a very dangerous business, especially human exploration, because, as we know, space is deadly. 
There are so many things that can (and often do) go wrong, with catastrophic consequences.
But human curiosity and drive for  knowledge push the mankind forward.
The more difficult an obstacle is, the more vigorous person it takes to beat it and prevail.
Authors of the movie tried to show how many losses Neil had to endure in his family life and due to the nature of this business. To do that, they used something like time-lapse technique, compressing 8 years of his life that led to the Apollo 11 mission to the Moon into two-hour-plus movie frame. I would not call execution of this time-lapse perfect.
But cinematography is amazing and two leads' performances are stellar.
Presence effect was such that I felt like I was inside the spaceship.
If you do not have motion sickness, go see it in a theater. It requires a huge screen.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
nj06Oct 29, 2018
The movie is slow and introverted, exactly like its subject. At times, it is a bit boring, but for me, the last 30 minutes were worth any pain and boredom. The music is gorgeous and that whole part is at the same time triumphant andThe movie is slow and introverted, exactly like its subject. At times, it is a bit boring, but for me, the last 30 minutes were worth any pain and boredom. The music is gorgeous and that whole part is at the same time triumphant and heartbreaking. Those scenes were good enough for me to elevate the whole movie to a superb level. Pure perfection in my opinion. I was particularly moved by the scene when as the whole world is celebrating, Neal Armstrong is reminiscing about his daughter and throwing her bracelet into a moon canyon. I loved the main character and the way Ryan Gosling captured him. I felt enormous empathy for him, I also loved his quiet heroism (such stark contrast with blowhardery of what we see these days on TV and in movies), his broken soul, and his steadfast consistency. I will definitely see this movie again. It very much brought back my childhood fascination with the space, moon, Apollo program, etc (more than any other movie about that era, and I have seen them all). This is a smart and subdued movie, that beautifully encapsulated the colossal challenge and achievement of going to the moon and getting back for the first time. I LOVED IT!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
olivermetaOct 12, 2018
The scenes in space are very exhilarating. The movie feels very authentic and true to the real obstacles, and realistic technology. There could have been more done to bring the true scale of the exhibition in the public eye, which was onlyThe scenes in space are very exhilarating. The movie feels very authentic and true to the real obstacles, and realistic technology. There could have been more done to bring the true scale of the exhibition in the public eye, which was only done later in the film after the success or failures of the mission. It felt also true to the astronauts isolated to the public eye, and I believe it was heavily focused on providing their vantage point from start to finish. I would give this movie an 8.5/10. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticOct 12, 2018
From its performances to its technical achievements, First Man is a masterpiece. Damien Chazelle is putting himself in the conversation for one of the best young film makers of our time. Every shot is perfect with specific lighting choicesFrom its performances to its technical achievements, First Man is a masterpiece. Damien Chazelle is putting himself in the conversation for one of the best young film makers of our time. Every shot is perfect with specific lighting choices that added to the impact of certain scenes. It's not easy to get me emotionally invested within the first 20 minutes but the way Gosling portrays Neil Armstrong really got me early and often and Claire Foy is just as good if not better. I can't sing this films praises high enough it's a must see. Overall a 10 an A+(currently my favorite film of 2018). Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
7
mikeydodoOct 13, 2018
This is a good movie. It's more historical in nature than exciting. It does have some exciting moments, but there's only so many times and ways you can tell the story of going to the moon. Gosling was good, Claire Foy was great. It was tooThis is a good movie. It's more historical in nature than exciting. It does have some exciting moments, but there's only so many times and ways you can tell the story of going to the moon. Gosling was good, Claire Foy was great. It was too long for me. It would have worked better at 2hr or 1hr 45 rather than 2hrs 15. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
katezoeOct 15, 2018
Wonderful movie on the space program like we have never seen. Incredible performance by Ryan Gosling. Not your typical Hollywood movie. Understated, thoughtful and moving experience.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MetaflixOct 15, 2018
Damien Chazelle's perfect record remains intact. His third feature film, 'First Man,' is an extraordinary achievement in filmmaking and immediately becomes a front-runner for best movie of the year.

The technical aspects of the film are
Damien Chazelle's perfect record remains intact. His third feature film, 'First Man,' is an extraordinary achievement in filmmaking and immediately becomes a front-runner for best movie of the year.

The technical aspects of the film are flawless. Everything from the writing to the cinematography to the sound design and score are as compelling as they are precise. Yet it's the pacing and emotion of the film--which are directly a result of Chazelle's exceptional directing--that complete the package, making 'First Man' his most audaciously planned and executed project to date.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SeussMyTubOct 21, 2018
The space sequences are great, but the rest of the movie is pretty much underwhelming. Delves too deeply into Armstrong's family life, yet there is little to show for it. Gosling also portrays him like a robot- the real Armstrong was justThe space sequences are great, but the rest of the movie is pretty much underwhelming. Delves too deeply into Armstrong's family life, yet there is little to show for it. Gosling also portrays him like a robot- the real Armstrong was just modest, not uncaring. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JackusBlackusOct 26, 2018
Don't go into this movie thinking it is "The Right Stuff". This is a very personal story of the space program from the perspectives of Neil Armstrong and his wife, Janet. While other accounts focus on the spectacle and heroics of the GeminiDon't go into this movie thinking it is "The Right Stuff". This is a very personal story of the space program from the perspectives of Neil Armstrong and his wife, Janet. While other accounts focus on the spectacle and heroics of the Gemini and Apollo programs, this one focuses on the people and their experiences. I think it gives new insight into what it must have been like to be an astronaut.

As a side note, the sound is incredible -- I expect it to win some awards.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
hof1991Oct 15, 2018
An excellent character study and look at the price paid by our heroes. Suspenseful (though everyone knows the end). Not for those who want lots of flagwaving or robots.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondOct 12, 2018
I would give First Man a 9 out of 10 (an outstanding film, better than most of the other films released in 2018), only if we can agree that The Right Stuff should be about 15. It's beautifully shot and an extremely intense first-personI would give First Man a 9 out of 10 (an outstanding film, better than most of the other films released in 2018), only if we can agree that The Right Stuff should be about 15. It's beautifully shot and an extremely intense first-person account. Claire Foy is incredible. It simply lacked much of the excitement that films like The Right Stuff had locked down. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
SupersanderoOct 13, 2018
This is what I go to the movies for. Seeing this in IMAX was one of the best film experiences I've had in my life. I loved basically everything about this film. The performances, the score, the editing, the cinematography, the sound... IThis is what I go to the movies for. Seeing this in IMAX was one of the best film experiences I've had in my life. I loved basically everything about this film. The performances, the score, the editing, the cinematography, the sound... I could gush about this film for hours.

The opening sequence was incredibly intense and absolutely set the mood for the rest of the film. And the takeoff sequence was one of the most breathtaking scenes I've seen in a while. Almost every shot was beautiful.

Very rarely am I so immersed in a movie. Damien Chazelle actually managed to teleport me to the Moon.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Oct 13, 2018
This is without a doubt one of the best movies of the year. You're given an intensely personal story from the get-go, delivered with an impeccable eye for imagery and a collection of some of the finest acting I've seen all year. Oh, also itThis is without a doubt one of the best movies of the year. You're given an intensely personal story from the get-go, delivered with an impeccable eye for imagery and a collection of some of the finest acting I've seen all year. Oh, also it just so happens to be portraying what many would argue is one of humanity's most pivotal moments. That's no small feat, and director Damien Chazelle handles the challenge in stride, serving up a cinematic docudrama that I'll not soon forget. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
AlfatriMuhOct 13, 2018
The Good:
1. Original score, i would watch the film once again for the music alone.
2. Technical aspects (such camera movement and visual effect), using first person view was a good choice for such 'thrilling-biographical' movie like this,
The Good:
1. Original score, i would watch the film once again for the music alone.
2. Technical aspects (such camera movement and visual effect), using first person view was a good choice for such 'thrilling-biographical' movie like this, it's too shaky for me though.
3. Tense build-up, second half of the film was the best.

Moderate:
1. Acting, nothing so special about the acting from both leading cast, but still a solid performance.
2. Story-telling/plot, the film was very long, but there's no much dialog, also the timeline moving way too fast compared with its slow-pace.

The Bad: Overlong and Slow-paced (especially first half through). I think 120-125 minutes was enough for this.

Conclusion: Easily becoming my top 3 Space-Drama film, alongside Interstellar and Gravity. 86/100
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Oct 12, 2018
This was definitely the intriguing, awe-inspiring crowd pleaser I was hoping it'd be! Ryan Gosling fulfilled the role of Neil Armstrong quite well and tackled his larger than life story wonderfully! And despite knowing a lot about how thisThis was definitely the intriguing, awe-inspiring crowd pleaser I was hoping it'd be! Ryan Gosling fulfilled the role of Neil Armstrong quite well and tackled his larger than life story wonderfully! And despite knowing a lot about how this great historical event went down prior to seeing this, there were still plenty of tense moments accompanied by a great film score and tight editing throughout that managed to make it thoroughly compelling to watch! Overall, yes it may be pretty standard in terms of biopics, but it doesn't get much more inspiring (or patriotic for that matter) than this! Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
chariot123Oct 13, 2018
This movie had me glued to the screen the whole time, anyone who hasn't seen this should watch it immediately, I wish I could turn around and go back in and watching again, Gosling was the perfect cast for this. Brilliant movie.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
ricksmits777Oct 13, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyable. Fully deserves to join "The Right Stuff" and "Apollo 13" in an epic telling of a subject that so many of us find irresistible and magic. One little whinge. Chazelle's use of the shaky camera is a little overdone.Thoroughly enjoyable. Fully deserves to join "The Right Stuff" and "Apollo 13" in an epic telling of a subject that so many of us find irresistible and magic. One little whinge. Chazelle's use of the shaky camera is a little overdone. Perfect for adding to the trepidation of mechanical failure, but too much when two wives are sharing their grief and concerns. Wonderful performances all-round. A must watch on as big a screen as you can find. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffOct 14, 2018
There is another user reviewer on this site who I respect named 'BrianMcCritic' who, in his review said that director Damien Chazelle is "one of the best young filmmakers of our time", I have to second that. 'First Man' is, in a word, aThere is another user reviewer on this site who I respect named 'BrianMcCritic' who, in his review said that director Damien Chazelle is "one of the best young filmmakers of our time", I have to second that. 'First Man' is, in a word, a masterpiece. A well made character study about an everyday man who makes the risky decision to fly to the moon and make history. We see Neil Armstrong (Ryan Gosling) living a somewhat quiet life, dealing with the loss of his daughter and trying to reason with his wife, Janet (a superb Claire Foy) and the rest of his kids. He goes through many tough training techniques and tries to properly assess himself if he is going to fly a great distance into space and away from the earth. There are so many effective uses of point-of-view shots throughout when Armstrong is flying many distances and even when things get out of control, director Chazelle wants you - the audience member - to feel the uneasy tension, there is a fantastic sequence in the middle of the film when Armstrong and another astronaut find themselves in a malfunctioning situation, and you will feel a little spent from the extended amount of time we are seeing them try to get out of the dangerous task. Obviously, you know what our main character achieves towards the end of his story, he does land on the moon, Chazelle cleverly makes this moment slow, building up the tension and leaving room for all the emotions to sink in. It's quiet, no music and very little dialogue. You feel as if you are there with Armstrong experiencing history. No other words can be used to describe this fantastic scene, you just have to see it for yourself. As I said above, this is a character study movie about Armstrong himself, and the decision he makes and his family's reaction to it. Don't go in thinking it's going to be some "Star Trek" style space adventure. It's about a man... "The First Man" so we say, his story involves everything we need to know about him here. It's a fascinating piece of filmmaking and storytelling, and one of the best movies of the year. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
johnem95Oct 12, 2018
"First Man" is a personal look at one of American culture's humblest heroes, with space sequences so overwhelming, they'll single-handedly make you respect Neil all the more.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
moviecritic68Oct 18, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Learned unknown facts about the personal life of Neil Armstrong. Sound track was awesome. As usual disregard the non-deserving negative ratings.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Captain105Oct 15, 2018
First Man is like a unrefined piece of art. With music perfectly coordinated with the shots. But being unrefined has its problems as much as it has its advantages. Sometimes the realism gets out of control and after multiple incidents ofFirst Man is like a unrefined piece of art. With music perfectly coordinated with the shots. But being unrefined has its problems as much as it has its advantages. Sometimes the realism gets out of control and after multiple incidents of being shaken around you want to have a big reveal when they land on the moon. The movie is lacking the wonder and power of space. It show’s us the realism of the difficulties to get there.
It puts other space travel films to shame.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
rescaOct 12, 2018
For this short amount of time, so much story is told. Truly a masterpiece. This is not what we want, but what we need to see.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
9
AaronRadcliffOct 14, 2018
Thanks to an all-star cast in front of the camera and another Best Director-worthy outing by Damien Chazelle, First Man just might be the best space movie we've had.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
Amir84dorriOct 13, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film can remember again ''gravity''.ryan gosling into this movie best show of himself.This film new experience for director of la la land. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
9
ViniciusBritoOct 20, 2018
During the Cold War, there was the called "Space Race", wich was a race for technological and a symbolic superiority over the Soviet Union, and this race about technology was pretty much all about reaching the space, they started withDuring the Cold War, there was the called "Space Race", wich was a race for technological and a symbolic superiority over the Soviet Union, and this race about technology was pretty much all about reaching the space, they started with satellites and probes, once that the USSR were in front during the beginning of the race, the USA decided to do something very daring, wich is send the man to the Moon for the first time, and one of the astronauts that did it, is the leading character in this movie, wich is Neil Armstrong. Neil Armstrong had a lot of troubles during his paternity and passing through several traumas, and in his professional he was always the most possible hardworking guy, so as the whole NASA, the failures and achieves that happened before the tough round trip to the Moon. Directed by Damien Chazelle and Written by Josh Singer.
While people are telling stories in movies or books, about things that actually happened, mostly of it will surely be true and have a lot of documented materials in it, but still there is a small margin for fiction as well, because you can't tell everything that happened during the course of the events, so in this, they do have friends and family of the true characters and by that they can take the most realistic and possible reaction in the script, i think that they were very successfulyy in this aspect. The story is told in a very calm way, telling a few details with it's time, this is more than anything, a story about the carreer and personal life of Neil Armstrong, seeing this, they did a good job in showing Neil traumas and difficulties inside his family because of what had happened to his daughter, they could show me in the story how much did he was concerned with her, i believed in what i was seeing, and i was caring about all of that, inside of his house and in his personal life, i completely bought every thing that was going on, the up and downs that was very well positioned and justified. During his job in NASA, i think that they did showed very well how hard that was, how many time did it tooked and how many failures they did had before achieving the goal, even that the story is a bit slow, i think that it was very according. They did good in showing how the people were seeing all of that effort, how some of them did not liked how the money was being spent. The interaction between the characters is also worthy to be mentioned here, Neil personality is very intro, while his friends and family was the contrary, so they had a contrast of personalities that gave to the movie another layer. The movie can make me have thoughts, this is surely a story about overcoming as well, how many wrong things have happened to the good emerge, "we have to fail here, to not fail up there", that is just wonderful.
The acting was very nice, Ryan Gosling could offer some very strong moments that could really reach me, moments of anghuis and helplessness, in a way that he couldn't really get anyone, in other moments his smile were so sincere that he did also convinced me of that, or even in other that his eyes got full dark, then i could see how angry or confuse he was, i just think that there are some moments that i couldn't feel much himself, like, when he finally arrives to the moon, he could, just maybe, have had more expressions, but in overall he was really good. Claire Foy did a very good job, mainly in the able of caring to the others, to her husband and primarily to his children, i truly believed in her words, or when she got mad or frustated. Corey Stoll was a bit of a counterpoint, he was very extrovert, so he did nice.
The cinematography of the movie is great, first the camera being positioned in first person during some sequences, that is fantastic because we can go to what the character is seing and possibly feeling in the best possible way, that helped me to immerse in the movie during the most inconvenient moments. Another great thing about it, was in other times, not necessary being in first person, but letting the camera in the capsula where the astronauts were, so we didn't saw the whole rocket, we saw how they were, how suddently everything starts to swing and shake in a tremendous speed and very claustrophobic, they were very happy in this choice, it's great to see at their point. There also camera situations where you see the Earth from the space, The Moon from Earth and the Earth froom Moon, all of them are just deliciously splendid.
The soundtrack is another phenomenal part in here, it not just illustrates the scene, but in some it makes it seems like an full art, when they mix the soundtrack and the cinematography it becomes an art of the most high level, it got beautiful, the sounds are a very classic rythim that worked out a lot in every single moment, it helped to got me hyped, in other moments to get me thoughtful, and in others just the lack of music was also a great moment to implicit something, something that don't needed any sound or track.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Popcorn55Oct 14, 2018
Good opening with the X-15 -- first time we've seen anything about the legendary X-15 in a major movie in decades. Still the most radical aircraft that ever flew: its story deserves a whole movie of its own. But I digress. This film is aGood opening with the X-15 -- first time we've seen anything about the legendary X-15 in a major movie in decades. Still the most radical aircraft that ever flew: its story deserves a whole movie of its own. But I digress. This film is a pretty good treatment of the historical events, but it has a kind of matter-of-fact tone to it, a strange lack of drama or suspense. It does successfully evoke the respect and wonder we associated with those events at the time, but has three specific flaws: First,the music, which never really connects, and is most often an intrusive, distracting background; the greatest moments of the film are when the music stops in favor of respectful silence.

Second, the sound effects: the sound director seems to have thrown together random chaotic stacks of software sound effects for the rocket-flight scenes -- as if they didn't know exactly what to do, so piled as many canned booms, shrieks, wind rushes, and howls as possible on top of each other hoping it would all somehow add up to awesome -- but it doesn't. It sounds fake... off key. Like the sound guys never listened to an actual rocket launch, even on film, or youtube? Do your research guys, work a little harder.

Third, all the flight scenes recycle this same, lame sequence of shots over and over: 1. shaky vibrating shot out the window (we can't see a thing); 2. shaky close-up of Neil's eyes, staring straight ahead; 3. shaky vibrating shot of the control panel (we can't see a thing). REPEAT three or four times. WTF? First it's an instant cliche. Second we can't see anything -- it's an undecipherable visual mishmash (which would be OK once or twice to convey the confusion the pilot has to deal with -- but we GOT it already the first time, jeez).

Meanwhile, there's a lot of cutting to family life back home, and this stuff is pretty slow and excessive. Lot of shots of the couple staring at each other wistfully in silence. But what exactly is being communicated? Between them, or to us? We end up not even knowing what is going on. There's no takeaway. The screenwriter needed to step it up here, and write some actual dialogue forcrissakes.

I hope this film doesn't win any serious awards, because it doesn't really deserve them. Yes, worth the ticket price, for sure, but if you want a truly inspiring historical space flight epic done right, rent "The Right Stuff", a far better film that audiences cheered in the 80s.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
auburnnOct 22, 2018
Maybe not my type... This movie is super slow and dry that I almost fell asleep. And I don't like the dichotomy between family responsibility and patriotism. Although I do find the way Chazelle portrays the state politics dynamics to beMaybe not my type... This movie is super slow and dry that I almost fell asleep. And I don't like the dichotomy between family responsibility and patriotism. Although I do find the way Chazelle portrays the state politics dynamics to be compelling and sardonic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DayveOct 13, 2018
I want to preface this review with the fact that I am NOT a Gosling fan. I think he is horrible, pretty much in every movie I have seen him in, this one included. Overall the movie was ok, interesting but Gosling just puts a damper on theI want to preface this review with the fact that I am NOT a Gosling fan. I think he is horrible, pretty much in every movie I have seen him in, this one included. Overall the movie was ok, interesting but Gosling just puts a damper on the movie for me. Some of the scenery was interesting, and I did not know about all the primer missions. Good movie, could have been way better with a different cast. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
7
manijoyiaOct 15, 2018
very nice movie if u want watch it free so please visit on, https://filmy1.video/watch-first-man-2018-online-free-movie-3825.html
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
jacks109Oct 20, 2018
Damian Chazelle is an amazing story teller and this time his story just so happens to be about one of the most incredible journeys in history. I'm not sure why he always chooses Ryan Gosling for his films, he seems to always have the sameDamian Chazelle is an amazing story teller and this time his story just so happens to be about one of the most incredible journeys in history. I'm not sure why he always chooses Ryan Gosling for his films, he seems to always have the same expression on his face regardless of the emotion, but for a character who historically has been classified as "hard to read" it could have been a worse fit. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SoxmanOct 21, 2018
First Man was pretty great. Damien Chazelle changes things up in this movie. The movie is about Neil Armstrong and it's done perfectly. The presentation is great, the cinematography is awesome and the special effects are great. The movie isFirst Man was pretty great. Damien Chazelle changes things up in this movie. The movie is about Neil Armstrong and it's done perfectly. The presentation is great, the cinematography is awesome and the special effects are great. The movie is very grounded in its presentation which works really well and doesn’t make this movie very cheesy and corny. All the performances were great, even the child actors(although they didn’t speak much). The soundtrack is the weakest part of the film. It is not bad and it has a nice main theme but its still a little unimpressive. This movie on a technical level, barring the music was awesome. I loved it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryOct 16, 2018
The opening sequence is an extended jet flight (with complications) from the cockpit POV. This sets up the perilous, sometimes inept situations in NASA's early space program…not all high tech and easy success. Ryan Gosling plays NeilThe opening sequence is an extended jet flight (with complications) from the cockpit POV. This sets up the perilous, sometimes inept situations in NASA's early space program…not all high tech and easy success. Ryan Gosling plays Neil Armstrong in this intimate look at the man, who was somewhat closed off (as was his wife, played by Claire Foy). Watching his career progress to the first moon landing is fascinating, but the noisy, claustrophobic, frantic missions go on too long and becomes more frustrating than tense. Director Damien Chazelle has instilled this version of space travel with his own closeup-crammed, warts-and-all portrait that's absolutely absorbing, but lite on emotional heft and profound impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LoudSpeakerOct 28, 2018
The performance of Ryan Gosling and Claire Foy are outstanding. No doubts about that! But, in my opinion, the script could be better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alienchaosOct 29, 2018
The fact that they landed on the moon isn't the real story. It's how they got there. The scenes involving space flight literally put you right in them to experience them full force. It's definitely a movie where if you can get immersed in theThe fact that they landed on the moon isn't the real story. It's how they got there. The scenes involving space flight literally put you right in them to experience them full force. It's definitely a movie where if you can get immersed in the story, then you will find it insanely fantastic. But, if you aren't immersed, you probably will find it a bit boring and slow. However, the back story is essential to understanding the man who is so revered but poorly known outside of his family. This movie is a strong effort to explain his motivations and get away from the all-american hero image that is perpetrated still today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Nov 9, 2018
“We choose to go to the Moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard”.

‘First Man’ is a lift off folks. A beautiful, yet melancholic look on a man’s journey to the moon. Focusing on grief
“We choose to go to the Moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard”.

‘First Man’ is a lift off folks. A beautiful, yet melancholic look on a man’s journey to the moon. Focusing on grief and loss that can poison anyone's thoughts. At the end, you get the sad realization it was a suicide mission, not a heroic one. Making you think twice of wanting to be an astronaut.

Also, the stupid controversy surrounding the American flag is one of the most pointless up cries ever. Anywhere...

Ryan Gosling is great as Neil Armstrong. Now some people have criticized his performance as being “dull” or “stilted”. While not the most exciting or colorful performance of the year, but the same can be said about Armstrong as a person. Gosling performance as a calculated man who is somewhat cold to his family over a personal tragedy - it is more depressing when reflecting back. It makes it more powerful. I got more out of it than some people.

Claire Foy is also great - the relationship between her and Gosling is very believable. You really do feel her concerns, but frustration which was brilliantly represented, especially during the emotional scenes. However, I wish they wrote something better for Foy than play “the wife” at home.

Damien Chazelle, my main man. Back once again to blow my socks off. A complete departure compared to his previous films ‘Whiplash’ and ‘La La Land’, in terms of film making and themes. Visually striking with a 60’s-like archive look which fits the time period. The way Chazelles films space shuttles leaving earth’s atmosphere is terrifying, because it’s all from Neil’s point of view. One minute it’s blue sky, then pitch black. I think any movie that can me feel motion sickness is an achievement in my books. Plus the cinematography being shot on Techniscope cameras gives an organic and raw look. The close ups and tight spaces - it’s a claustrophobic nightmare.

The moon landing sequence is absolutely breathing and some of the best film making in the entire movie. It also contains one of the saddest scenes I've seen in awhile, which got my eyes leaking. I swear, if that didn’t happen and was made up for the movie, then I won’t be happy. Still, makes me wonder if Chazelle and Kubrick faked the moon landing together.

The sound design is incredible and adds to the fear of space travel. Whenever they leave earth’s orbit during the testing scenes with the shuttle rattling and the sound of mental weakening - you literally keep expecting the shuttle to fall into pieces at any moment. Along with thundering engines from the rockets; it increase the tension of each test.

For issues: The movie is too long with the run time hurting the flow. I wasn’t bored or anything, just some scenes felt slow and worn out. Judging from the trailers, I guess there’s a longer cut, because of the scenes that are not in the movie.

The score could’ve been more memorable, in my opinion. I honestly don’t remember it, which is a shame as space films usually have great scores. Again, not bad, just decent.

Overall rating: Not the best Chazelle movie compared to his other work, but still a compelling character study on burying grief, while lost in the stars. Drifting away into that good night. Karen Armstrong, the star child.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
twall3Oct 21, 2018
For a man who had little to say, we learn a lot about him from those few words and from what he doesn't say. It seems his quiet intelligence is the temperament that was needed to push through the training exercises, qrieve the losses and makeFor a man who had little to say, we learn a lot about him from those few words and from what he doesn't say. It seems his quiet intelligence is the temperament that was needed to push through the training exercises, qrieve the losses and make the successful moon landing. Inspiring and at times intense. A little surprising how little is shown of the return trip, but I'm guessing director and editor had their reasons. Excellent film making and story telling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WWEJoker2013Oct 20, 2018
This movie has its flaws, like a really slow first act. But the performances by its main actors plus a really amazing final act make this one of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rebecca31Oct 20, 2018
Based on the book by James R. Hansen, First Man tells the story of NASA's mission to land on the moon, and the life of astronaut Neil Armstrong. 

It was interesting to see how Damien Chazelle would take on the moon landing with his last two
Based on the book by James R. Hansen, First Man tells the story of NASA's mission to land on the moon, and the life of astronaut Neil Armstrong. 

It was interesting to see how Damien Chazelle would take on the moon landing with his last two films being heavily music based. First Man shows us just how good of a story-teller he is. I normally like my space movies with a few aliens thrown in but I was fully invested in this story. I also wouldn't exactly know many details about the moon landing which may have helped keep me interested. Gosling seemed like a good choice for Neil Armstrong although I found his performance very cold and distant the emotion comes from the rest of the cast, particularly Claire Foy as Janet Armstrong. The attention to detail for the space crafts allows you to become fully immersed. Creating the sensation of claustrophobia, you really feel like you're in the space craft next to the astronauts. Justin Hurwitz has composed yet another beautiful score, not that I wouldn't have expected less, his use of Lunar Rhapsody throughout the film will give you the chills. It's gripping, emotional and highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PanchogulNov 28, 2018
Visualmente atractiva y buena historia, pero terriblemente lenta y la actuación del protagonista es apática a mas no poder, al tipo durante toda la película parece importarle un carajo el mundo entero y pareciera estar trabajando de mala ganaVisualmente atractiva y buena historia, pero terriblemente lenta y la actuación del protagonista es apática a mas no poder, al tipo durante toda la película parece importarle un carajo el mundo entero y pareciera estar trabajando de mala gana con Foy ya que parecen cualquier cosa menos un matrimonio. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
IzagoOct 22, 2018
A fotografia do filme, efeitos sonoros o ranger do metal é incrível, trilha sonora muito boa com várias músicas de dar um up em cada cena, a atuação de Ryan foi boa, e a de Claire foi na mesma pegada com cenas de maior impressão, mas o filmeA fotografia do filme, efeitos sonoros o ranger do metal é incrível, trilha sonora muito boa com várias músicas de dar um up em cada cena, a atuação de Ryan foi boa, e a de Claire foi na mesma pegada com cenas de maior impressão, mas o filme é igual um foguete começa de baixo até subir a lua, começa bem normal e vai melhorando bem lentamente. Muito bom o filme e não é o melhor de Damien. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Nov 18, 2018
Narrated with the epoc charactheristics, follows in compelling way how was the daring space travel that could hardly be. Gosling is remarkable as Armstrong; the sequences are realistic, makes the idea you are in the spaceship. A shall to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Creeper3455Nov 2, 2018
“Our movie about Neil Armstrong isn't doing well at the Box Office? Fine,we'll take it from here with Michael Myers” -Some random imbecile at Universal Pictures AKA that one dude who won't know how enthralling First Man is.
But in all
“Our movie about Neil Armstrong isn't doing well at the Box Office? Fine,we'll take it from here with Michael Myers” -Some random imbecile at Universal Pictures AKA that one dude who won't know how enthralling First Man is.
But in all seriousness,First Man is destined to have a huge impact on everyone's minds. Also WARNING,I guess: This will be another bias on how IMAX is still the best place to watch a movie...Even if everyone should expect that from now.
So,to start things off,don't worry. for a movie that narrates the events between 1961 and 1969,it doesn't jump from year to year. You'll experience huge time jumps,while at the same time exploring how many tears and oil splatter it took to make this big leap (no pun intended),alongside Ryan Gosling playing Neil Armstrong amsterfully and a Claire Foy who feels pretty stale in emotions throughout,carrying the “seriously worried” look every 24/7.
Also,just like A Quiet Place,sometimes the Sound Effects help carrying the story. Whether it's a BEEP or the sound of an alarm,it still pulls you through. Speaking of sound,man. With every missile engine going and the sound STRONGLY fading away after the moon landing,things won't get any louder than that… Until the next Godzilla movie comes out.
If there’s a thing I can praise the most alongside the story is the Production Design. Nothing great on it,but there always was that feeling of pure classic reality through the movie,followed by grainy 35mm footage that feels like it came out 1 or 2 years after the Moon Landing actually happened….Until the IMAX Footage kicks in,in that case...Well,it’s great as always,but that’s to be expected from IMAX…
For issues and headaches,there was an overuse of Shaky Cam throughout the movie...Not all of it,as the IMAX Sequences were slow and perfectly normal.
And the score by Justin Hurwitz is weird at times. Had Thomas Newman been the composer,I could see his direction,instead of “Oh,I’ll try my best to make that campy 70s space movie feeling with the music”.
But in that case...Hell,this must be tough… This may be the second shortest review I’ve ever done (Revenge is still on top) since everything about it felt great...And seeing it with a friend in IMAX was enthralling. SPOILERS: He loved the hell out of it,and I’m glad he did. Everyone needs to discover these new ways of immersing you into the movie… They’re really worth the $20 or 30. Oh shoot,the movie. First Man is an amazing albeit tension-filled time at the movies,with Ryan Gosling’s calmest role since...Ever?
And hey,for a director who’s all about music...This was a pivotal change of pace!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Nov 15, 2018
Damien Chazelle's most recent film left me with many mixed feelings especially because the film had made me believe that it would be a spectacular epic, but First Man is not one.

Chazelle has everything, the protagonist, a strong and solid
Damien Chazelle's most recent film left me with many mixed feelings especially because the film had made me believe that it would be a spectacular epic, but First Man is not one.

Chazelle has everything, the protagonist, a strong and solid supporting cast. An impressive story and better yet; is a real one.
His growth as a filmmaker is incredibly evident, regardless of his achievements with La La Land. Ironically First Man is his best film as a director but not his best film as a whole.

And why do I say this? Because everything feels in its place and yet First Man is a film incapable of provoking emotion. Although we are shown the whole journey of Neil Armstrong in NASA until he reaches the moon and evidently the narrative is built for that climax moment in the story but honestly the film never manages to provide a memorable cataclysmic moment and feels cold and sterile, which evidently ends the journey with its simple ending.

I'm not disappointed but I'm not impressed either. It's a film that deserves your full attention but its excellent quality didn't leave me satisfied.

And before I forget it, go get the musical score because Justin Hurwitz did an amazing job.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
whoischarlotteOct 23, 2018
Honestly, one of the best films I’ve ever watched. It was captivating and it was m but kept it real and authentic though the movie. Ryan Gosling’s performance was perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
amheretojudgeOct 16, 2018
it shows numbers and facts..

First Man Chazelle's biopic walk on Neil Armstrong is for every man himself, losing itself in its spatial bubble, it is free from and as Foy once quotes, "..out of this world.." This sci-fi venture stands alone
it shows numbers and facts..

First Man

Chazelle's biopic walk on Neil Armstrong is for every man himself, losing itself in its spatial bubble, it is free from and as Foy once quotes, "..out of this world.." This sci-fi venture stands alone on depicting the actual vulnerability that one feels in such circumstances. Chazelle wanted to capture that exogenous experience on screen, and he does with such bravura and honesty that for the most part of it, it works like a horror. This horrifying feeling is something that Cuaron captured in "Gravity" few years back, but in here Chazelle's job is comparatively harder since the plot track doesn't demand it. And hence, he literally directs his guns to the mechanics of it, where nuts and bolts squeaking and weak metals that won't be able to save them from nature's strength, easily gives you the chills. It also portrays how mankind is and has always been ahead of its time where the theory outweighs the potential of the practicality. Through smaller technology, less accurate numbers, communication gap, narrow minded ideologies surrounding the society and the uncertainty of any piece of the knowledge, Chazelle keeps reminding you how painful was it to take such bold decisions with clock ticking behind them like a time bomb. He glorifies this entire journey through these moments and not its final steps. Singer's adaptation of the novel and Chazelle's execution of that adaptive and layered narration has certainly come with expectations, which is clearly surpassed in here. Ticking for more than two hours, the storytelling is thoroughly busy and competent with entire tale told with Gosling's perspective; it was a smart move to keep a pov shot in order to give the audience the experience of the thrills and horror by putting them in his shoes or even suit. The background score is mellow and beautiful and the sound effects are sharp and jaggerdly on mark from the spark that ignites a fire to a regulator being operated. Gosling has never been this good. He is just good. Within first few minutes, he melts you down and not with the pathos circumstances that he goes through, but the caring and responsible nature he has. He looks at his kids and there is a sense of awe in the air for his commitment and humbleness. Foy on the other hand, oozes power through her ashes, she mourns by getting back what's rightfully hers. She is a match to Gosling's reserved performance. Despite of all the polished finesse, the ruggedness is what stays with you and Chazelle encourages it, he repetitively shows the failures by obviously following the track but also reminiscing about the lost. And since he is aware of keeping these things on tightropes, the message never grows manipulative, it shows numbers and facts. Its structure is unlike any of the other biographies, it has only one act, that it tries to build up through its cunning conversations and layered dialogues. As much as Chazelle's accuracy and passion is plausible, First Man is Gosling's tale that he tells through his eyes under a space suit and inside that suit lies the reason why cinema exists.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GrantD243Oct 22, 2018
First Man follows NASA's pursuit to put a man on the moon, with Neil Armstrong (Ryan Gosling) being the main focus. It spans several years (1961-1969) and gives an in-depth look at Neil's life before and during his quest to reach the moon.First Man follows NASA's pursuit to put a man on the moon, with Neil Armstrong (Ryan Gosling) being the main focus. It spans several years (1961-1969) and gives an in-depth look at Neil's life before and during his quest to reach the moon. First Man marks yet another success for director Damien Chazelle, who has yet to disappoint me with a film of his. This film is beautifully shot, perfectly paced, and it has the emotional punch that I hope for from a period piece like this. Despite the long runtime (almost 2.5 hours), it doesn't feel like a drag in the slightest. I was locked in from the first scene to the last, and after I got out of the movie theater I already wanted to see it again. Ryan Gosling at least deserves an Oscar nomination for his portrayal of Neil Armstrong. From what I've gathered from interviews with Armstrong's sons, while Ryan's portrayal was rather stoic (as many of Ryan's roles are) he was pretty much on point with how he played Neil. Ryan is also able to convey so much while saying so little. He may not say much at all during the more emotional scenes, but in some ways that makes them even more impactful. We don't always need sobs and choked up ramblings to feel something from a scene. Claire Foy and Jason Clarke are also solid in their roles. The special effects are fantastic and there are some mesmerizing scenes in here that I look forward to seeing again. Screenwriter Josh Singer also has once again proven that he's a force to be reckoned with when it comes to period piece films, as he's three-for-three in my book (Spotlight, The Post, and First Man). Overall, I think this is one of the best films of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Taylord99Nov 2, 2018
Just over a week ago, I got to see First Man, which is directed by Damien Chazelle. He is known for directing La La Land and Whiplash, two films that I loved. Unlike his previous films, First Man is not about music and is about real events,Just over a week ago, I got to see First Man, which is directed by Damien Chazelle. He is known for directing La La Land and Whiplash, two films that I loved. Unlike his previous films, First Man is not about music and is about real events, specifically Neill Armstrong’s trials to become the first man to walk on the moon. The film focuses mainly on his family life and how he balances that with being an astronaut. This film surprised me as there were many details about Neill Armstrong that I never knew about before and apparently this film is very accurate as well. First of all, the acting in this film is top notch. Ryan Gosling gives a very grounded performance as Neill Armstrong and continues to convince me every year that he is a fantastic actor. I saw his incredible acting ability in Blade Runner 2049, The Nice Guys, and La La Land over the past two years. He made me feel attached to Neill Armstrong and made me sympathize and root for him throughout the movie. Claire Foy is also fantastic as Janet Armstrong and gives a very emotional and grounded performance. Like Gosling, she is convincing in every scene she is in. The supporting cast does a great job as well. The special effects and sound design are also extremely praise-worthy. There hasn’t been any other spaceflight movie quite like this one before. You hear every creak and every rattle in the spacecrafts and it feels very claustrophobic and sometimes even scary. This movie really captures the claustrophobia and fear that the astronauts surely experience during spaceflight, especially during this time period, I’m sure. In the 60s, spacecrafts were basically metal cans that were shot up into space and were not made for comfortability, only for function, so it would make sense that they wouldn’t be the quietest or safest things out there. The exterior space shots also look extremely realistic, especially the moon landing scene, which absolutely blew me away. The musical score is also done well by Justin Hurwitz, who also composed La La Land. On all levels, this film is masterful. It takes you on a soaring journey with a perfect balance of drama and suspense. I was glued to the screen from start to finish. The ending will surely dazzle you and may even make you shed a tear. Damien Chazelle proves that he is a very versatile director considering that he can direct movies with completely different themes, such as music and space, and do them both extremely well. I can’t wait to see what Damien Chazelle and Ryan Gosling due next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FisherPlaceOct 26, 2018
First Man was great, it felt like you were Neil Amstrong and talked about his secret life. The music was excellent and the visuals were terrific. Except I wished they would put more time into Apollo 11, it felt short and its one of the mostFirst Man was great, it felt like you were Neil Amstrong and talked about his secret life. The music was excellent and the visuals were terrific. Except I wished they would put more time into Apollo 11, it felt short and its one of the most important part of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Davidsco27Oct 25, 2018
This was an EXCELLENT film. Disclaimer: Not everyone will feel this way about the movie. This isn't a "Hollywood" movie about Neil Armstrong. This isn't Apollo 13, or even The Right Stuff. The director chose to make a film that puts theThis was an EXCELLENT film. Disclaimer: Not everyone will feel this way about the movie. This isn't a "Hollywood" movie about Neil Armstrong. This isn't Apollo 13, or even The Right Stuff. The director chose to make a film that puts the viewer there, watching the story and events unfold as they were. The cinematographer did a wonderful job of recreating the authentic look and feel of the 60's. Much of the film was shot almost "home movie" style adding to the experience. If you grew up in the time period, you will really appreciate this. If you were fascinated by the early space program, you will like this. If not, maybe not so much, as it's a little technical and plodding. Again, this is a film about the story and events, and about the man. You are watching the events happen. That being said, it did give some nice insight into Armstrong, and his family life, and some events that helped shape the man. STELLAR cast, interesting music choices, not just a bunch of period songs thrown in to sell a soundtrack. Gosling deserves recognition for his performance. He embodied the man for this movie. My recommendation, if you enjoy good cinema, see it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AryanYOct 20, 2018
This movie isn't for everyone. It's slow, boring and sluggish at certain parts of the film, but it's still an amazing movie with beautiful cinematography and it's bolstered by Claire Foy's performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
movieducationOct 24, 2018
Chazelle operates heavy machinery by playing russian roulette with space in FIRST MAN, but the most enticing part is not the sphere, it's the turmoil, the beauty of the ones who are left behind, and Armstrong with all gravity pressing on him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LajaleaaNov 9, 2018
"I'm down."

( 80/100 ) De uno de los directores más prometedores del cine de Hollywood actual; una de las personalidades más enfocadas, apasionadas y dinámicas que han surgido en la historia del séptimo arte y de la mente de una de las
"I'm down."

( 80/100 )

De uno de los directores más prometedores del cine de Hollywood actual; una de las personalidades más enfocadas, apasionadas y dinámicas que han surgido en la historia del séptimo arte y de la mente de una de las visiones más audaces y amplias que han ganado fama. Damien Chazelle nos presenta el cuarto film de su carrera artística y profesional después de las inmediatamente aclamadas Whiplash y La La Land quienes le dieron presencia al director no solo en los Academy Awards sino en el corazón de los músicos empedernidos y la juventud inspirada.
Chazelle, es muy joven y no es muy difícil caer en el hecho de que su cine irradia esa energía. La juventud actual puede encariñarse fácilmente, no solo con las narrativas que procrea Chazelle, sino con su técnica también, pues ha mostrado ser un chico inteligente que sabe y se responsabiliza por la estética, el estilo y el desarrollo de sus audiovisuales. Lo hemos visto en la intensidad de Whiplash y en la sensibilidad de La La Land y éste año ha decidido mostrarnos su lado más personal e intimo. First Man es una historia escrita por Josh Singer basada en el libro de James R. Hansen llamado "First Man: The Life of Neil A. Armstrong" publicado en el 2005. First Man es el lado más adulto y maduro de Chazelle y en su intento de expresar eso atinó y falló en varios aspectos. El libro en el que está basada ésta #película es una biografía y no estoy seguro de como surgió el material correcto para crear una narrativa novelista, pero si algo es evidente es que gracias a los diálogos y testimonios que se presentan en el libro se construyeron a los personajes y las situaciones. Recuerdo que cuando salí de la sala escuché varios comentarios sobre lo "aburrida" o "lenta" que fue, pero yo no la denominaría de esa forma, en lo que sí estoy de acuerdo es que una experiencia pesada. La película retrata únicamente la vida personal, el semblante y el perfil de Neil Armstrong, no toma en cuenta las influencias y el contexto que lo formó y convirtió en la persona rígida, seca y vacía que se muestra y, por lo tanto, en toda ella, el público carga con una historia sobre un hombre pesado de tratar y enormemente sensible. Las reacciones que Ryan Gosling le da a su personaje son las correctas y son coherentes con la narrativa y con el contexto real, sin embargo el problema está en el desapego que le tiene a su propia vida y, por lo tanto, el público no logra empatizar totalmente con Armstrong. Por otro lado tenemos a Claire Foy, quien es la alternativa a Armstrong y quien debería ser el lado humano, apegado a la vida y preocupado por la personalidad central en su vida y en la narrativa. Foy interpreta su papel con puntualidad y hay momentos en los que ambos logran una intensidad correcta en la pantalla, pero fuera de ese par de escenas no se le da a Foy el enfoque suficiente para qué el público sea partidario de su postura.
Por lo tanto, técnicamente Chazelle opta por enfocarse en la vida y vista de Armstrong de la forma más literal en la que se le ocurrió: con Close Ups. El 80% de la película está filmada con Close Ups y eso apoya la pesades en la narrativa visual. Ya estemos en una habitación, en un campo abierto o dentro de la nave, Chazelle nos encierra en el rostro de Gosling para que no nos perdamos ni un solo momento de sus reacciones ante cualquier situación. El otro 20% de la práctica técnica se hace con Establishing Shots y una mínima cantidad de Medium Shots o Shots cuya composición implique más de un plano visual. No hay momentos en los que haya una liberación o descanso visual y por lo tanto la película nos satura con detalles y expresiones. Sin embargo no puedo decir que no hay una buena composición en esos detalles, en la imagen o en cualquier toma. La fotografía siempre está bien cuidada y la técnica de la cámara también se permite lucir recalcando el estilo y firma del director. Aunque no es espectacular, sí hay dinamismo, pero lo que más decora la narrativa es la música, compuesta por Justin Hurwitz, con quien Chazelle ha trabajado en todas sus películas. Hurwitz logra equilibrar el peso dramático de la historia con un tono sensible pero inocente, casi infantil, que nos permite ver a Armstrong como un adulto pero escucharlo como un niño, espantando por la inmensidad del mundo y lo pequeño de su existencia.
Concluí que ésta no es una mala película. El chico está sumergido en su propia cultura y no tiene miedo de honrarla, ya sea a través de la música o de los héroes de su historia, él es capaz de generar presencia en la voz de las sociedades, ya sea con gestos de admiración o con debates. Lo que es indudable es que su dirección no lo ha defraudado, pues cada historia que cuenta está cuidada en todos los aspectos necesarios para colocarse por arriba del promedio de la calidad artística que se presenta en esa temporada y First Man no es la excepción.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ItsJustArcherNov 2, 2018
First Man proves that Damien Chazelle can direct a damn good movie whether it's a musical or not. Although I have a few issues with the film, the overall experience I got from the film was just breathtaking and out of this world... literally!First Man proves that Damien Chazelle can direct a damn good movie whether it's a musical or not. Although I have a few issues with the film, the overall experience I got from the film was just breathtaking and out of this world... literally! This is definitely a great film to watch in theaters.

Like I said, I have a few issues with the film. For one, the cinematography, although it's mostly great. Sometimes I just can't focus too much on the screen because of some shaky cam shots. I admire the fact that most of the film's shots are close-up shots of the characters' faces, the similar way The Safdie Brothers' Good Time was shot. Because that way, we get to see the characters' emotion fully expressed in the scenes, although admittedly, this distracted me a bit because I feel like I wanted to see more of the characters' environment. Another problem is that the ending felt anticlimactic. It was subtle, yes, but it made me wanting more, in a bad way because of how much I was invested with the story that I wanted to see what happens afterwards.

Other than that, this movie was pretty great! The '60s atmosphere of the film felt real because most of the film (correct me if I'm wrong) is shot on film, which gives the grainy-ish texture of the cinematography on screen. The atmosphere and tone of the film was consistent. The scenes that take place on NASA and on the moon were intense. The Gemini 8 sequence is one of the most breathtaking and intense moments I have ever seen in a long time and it gave me chills and goosebumps for a while. And the music, although I thought it could've been better, really fits with the scenes that play the score. Ryan Gosling does a great job, as always. All the actors did a great job. And the script was well written. And I had a blast with this film. Go see this film!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dennis_gtNov 26, 2018
I would have liked a little more space & action. I don't know if the director didn't have the budget, didn't have the skill, or just didn't want to undermine the character portrait. But most of the intense scenes are just shots of GoslingI would have liked a little more space & action. I don't know if the director didn't have the budget, didn't have the skill, or just didn't want to undermine the character portrait. But most of the intense scenes are just shots of Gosling sitting in a plane or space craft and looking stressed. I feel like there was room for a little more bombast. But maybe I'm wrong.

Still, this movie was really good and very well-written. I'm not in love with any of the performances or the direction, but they're also good. The director made a choice and stuck with it. But the film itself is a very affecting portrait of a man that most of us know very little about who did extraordinary things while risking his life for reasons that are a little unclear, considering he had a family who probably cared about his safety.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FeudDec 5, 2018
Very beautiful and unique way of telling this story. Eventhough it is pretty slow at times, it was always well acted and well shot. Ryan Gosling is perfect for a role like this where he can play someone who is very reserved.
The moon sequence
Very beautiful and unique way of telling this story. Eventhough it is pretty slow at times, it was always well acted and well shot. Ryan Gosling is perfect for a role like this where he can play someone who is very reserved.
The moon sequence was amazing and every scene in an aircraft was nerve wracking.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NorthlinDec 7, 2018
Incredibly emotional and well made film. Left me weeping in tears and until now, still a heartache for Neil. Ryan Gosling plays better than ever, and the moon landing sequence is just too goddamn satisfying to watch. Huge love to it, probablyIncredibly emotional and well made film. Left me weeping in tears and until now, still a heartache for Neil. Ryan Gosling plays better than ever, and the moon landing sequence is just too goddamn satisfying to watch. Huge love to it, probably one of the best films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews