Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: April 7, 2006
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 67 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
23
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
CherylC.May 14, 2006
Life in L.A. could be life on another planet. Or maybe just a depressing depiction of life in America today. Unappealing and a waste of wonderful talent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CraigA.Jun 2, 2006
Enjoyable, funny, but doesn't really seem to go beyond inspiring a feeling of "yeah, I know somebody like that...".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelL.Aug 29, 2006
Not everyone's cup of tea, no doubt, but I loved it. Excellent, thoroughly drawn characters and witty, 100% realistic dialog. These are people we all know--if we're over 40. I think the detractors from this film are gen X-ers; and Not everyone's cup of tea, no doubt, but I loved it. Excellent, thoroughly drawn characters and witty, 100% realistic dialog. These are people we all know--if we're over 40. I think the detractors from this film are gen X-ers; and I understand why. They haven't dealt with working so hard to achieve their goals...and succeeding. When the goal is reached, a confused emptiness can result. That's what makes this film so haunting. We step into 4 typical lives, and step out 90 minutes later. Like life, there are no answers, no resolutions. A great cast, particularly Frances McDormand and Catherine Keener, make this film highly watchable, and bring their complex characters to life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulaL.Apr 23, 2006
I thought this story took a wonderful look at the friendships between each of the characters. By far this is Nicole Holofcener's best film yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CatherineB.Apr 9, 2006
I ran off to a matinee based on the LA Times review, and what a disappointment. That critic must be on the payroll or something to compare Holofcener to Jane Austen. Austen's work is piercing, deeply observant, funny and literate. This I ran off to a matinee based on the LA Times review, and what a disappointment. That critic must be on the payroll or something to compare Holofcener to Jane Austen. Austen's work is piercing, deeply observant, funny and literate. This work had a few apt perceptions, and that was it. The women were completely unlikeable, I had no idea why they were friends and didn't care about any of them. Does this sound like Jane Austen? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobertB.May 11, 2006
This movie was absolutely awful. I'm mystified why it received some positive reviews. I know not every movie has a positive resolution or has to say something, but what this movie implies is a load of crap. Truly nonsensical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BayC.May 31, 2006
This is really a terrible film. All the women look haggard from being 2 skinny (esp. Joan Cusak). Except for Frances Mc's hubby, no one is the least bit likeable. Lots of middle-class angst. Jennifer A is so the same as Friends/office This is really a terrible film. All the women look haggard from being 2 skinny (esp. Joan Cusak). Except for Frances Mc's hubby, no one is the least bit likeable. Lots of middle-class angst. Jennifer A is so the same as Friends/office space/good girl. I vote this group the one I would least like to share a table at a fundraiser with. Yuk-o Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomM.May 8, 2006
The worst film of the year. Characters that are boring, dialogue that is boring. What can I say, it is boring. Thank the movie gods that it was only 88 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BJD.Sep 24, 2006
Extremely Boring! The story never came together, it was looking into the lives of four people, but so what? The ending is horrible because it doesn't really end, you are still left wondering about the lives of four people. What a waste Extremely Boring! The story never came together, it was looking into the lives of four people, but so what? The ending is horrible because it doesn't really end, you are still left wondering about the lives of four people. What a waste of talent, and my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarylS.Sep 3, 2006
Yep it's not all nicely resolved at the end. I wanted to know more. And I fugre that, if I'm left feeling that way at the end of a movie, then it hasn't been at all bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RoyS.Dec 15, 2006
A boring waste of actors' talent and viewers' time. The film is dismal and incoherent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayS.Apr 15, 2006
Disappointing. Of the 4 main couples or 8 people, 6 are unlikable. Do you want to spend 90 minutes with 6 annoying people?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JMApr 22, 2006
The most over-praised movie I've seen in a long time. Clearly intended to be an incisive look at relationships and the strains that develop along financial faultlines, this plays out like some sort of actors' workshop where The most over-praised movie I've seen in a long time. Clearly intended to be an incisive look at relationships and the strains that develop along financial faultlines, this plays out like some sort of actors' workshop where everyone is given a problem or secret and then improvise arguments or vaguely elliptical conversations. How odd that this dour exercise iis being marketed as a light comedy! (The scene being shown on the talk shows -- Aniston in a french-maid outfit apparently flirting with a client -- is not what it appears to be and, even then, seems to have been flown in from another movie.) I'm also stunned at the number of critics who call these characters "likable"; I can't recall a less-ingratiating ensemble. The fact that the actors inhabiting these characters are uniformly excellent doesn't mitigate the underlying falseness at the story's core. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlessandraS.Apr 23, 2006
Although the film's personalities were complex and had real depth, Friends With Money simply felt like a exerpt from a larger story. The ending was bizarre and unsettling. However, the movie does leave you with a feeling that these Although the film's personalities were complex and had real depth, Friends With Money simply felt like a exerpt from a larger story. The ending was bizarre and unsettling. However, the movie does leave you with a feeling that these characters will continue on to live interesting yet seemingly "normal" lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeG.Apr 24, 2006
Combine 90 minutes of no plot and no character development, add a bunch of characters that are not interesting in the least, and throw in dialogue that, while perhaps realistic, lacks wit or cleverness, and you have this film - a movie Combine 90 minutes of no plot and no character development, add a bunch of characters that are not interesting in the least, and throw in dialogue that, while perhaps realistic, lacks wit or cleverness, and you have this film - a movie that's almost unwatchable. Speaking of watch, I found myself looking at mine often during this pedantic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachaelM.Apr 28, 2006
Upon leaving the theater I probably would have rated this movie a 7. Films such as this one often suffer from having characters who appear soulless, joyless, and basically incapable of letting a little brightness into their interactions with Upon leaving the theater I probably would have rated this movie a 7. Films such as this one often suffer from having characters who appear soulless, joyless, and basically incapable of letting a little brightness into their interactions with others. I suppose some filmakers begin the creative process with the idea that perkiness and optimism are uncool and belong nowhere in a film aiming to push the hip-o-meter to its limits. I found that this movie, however, had a time-release charm which needed about 24 hours to reach perfection. In the hands of other actresses these characters may have been intollerably void of spark, but these ladies know what they're doing and leave enough humanity in their roles to make their struggles with ennui worth watching. The male supporting cast is excellent. Their characters develop slowly and richly; perhaps even more so than their female counterparts. Those who are frustrated with slice-of-life type pictures that don't focus on one major conflict (that will, of course, become neatly resovled by the end of the film) may want to steer clear of this one. Don't watch this one expecting to be spoon-fed a happily (or even sadly)-ever-after resolution. If you can appreciate a film which realistically portrays the delicate intricacy of human relationships, you should enjoy Friends with Money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TracyR.Apr 29, 2006
I really wanted to like it, and there were a few apt observations here and there, but nowhere near enough given the potential. [***SPOILERS***] No credible backstory (why are these women friends, where did they all come from, what is theI really wanted to like it, and there were a few apt observations here and there, but nowhere near enough given the potential. [***SPOILERS***] No credible backstory (why are these women friends, where did they all come from, what is the history of these relationships?). What the heck did happen to Olivia? Why can't she teach somewhere where the kids aren't so obnoxious? In stead of filling out ANY of these questions : the movie resorts to gimmicks that are supposed to be worth a thousand words, but aren't (Keener bumping into things, McDormand and her hair, Cusack and the husband buying two toys and Aniston with the face cream). overly repeated and not as revealing as the screenwriter seems to think they are. If you're going to take on the very tough issue of class, you hae to do a little more than this. Disappointing, on the whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MargeB.Apr 8, 2006
Sensitive exploration of women's friendships, lives, loves and hangups by Holofcener. The casting could not have been better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]May 14, 2006
An interesting, sobering study of emptiness and noncommunication in relationships -- and the difficulites of facing that the lives are "going nowhere." Intelligent wriiting and superb acting by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisaMay 3, 2006
I really loved this movie. Great characters, great actors, great script!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 14, 2006
Ultimately, what the filmmaker seemingly wants to say is that women are less shallow than men. Why is this maid travelling in the same social circle as these rich(or accomplished) women. If "Friends with Money" ran longer than 88 minutes, Ultimately, what the filmmaker seemingly wants to say is that women are less shallow than men. Why is this maid travelling in the same social circle as these rich(or accomplished) women. If "Friends with Money" ran longer than 88 minutes, maybe we'd find out. The filmmaker thinks we know these characters well enough so she can get away with compressing time with scenes that barely top a minute. Sometimes it works, but more often than not, "Friends with Money" feels awfully rushed. The truncated running time reminds me of John Sayles' "Casa de los Babys". Interestingly, the filmmaker seems to supply an explanation for her brevity. It has to do with the Catherine Keener character, and it comes late in the film. "Friends with Money" is a major letdown after the exquisite "Lovely and Amazing". This film is slight and plodding, but it's populated with actresses we admire who sound like adults. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StephenS.Sep 1, 2006
I feel as if people have marked this down slightly for the wrong kinds of reasons. It may be watched with perfect pleasure just as a large-brained chick-flick, but it is much more if you step inside the director
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VeronicaJ.Aug 14, 2009
I didn't get what the filmaker was trying to say. It didn't seem to go anywhere and the ending with Aniston's character seemed to be a tacked on so audiences would like the movie better. Why do a prolonged and subtle character I didn't get what the filmaker was trying to say. It didn't seem to go anywhere and the ending with Aniston's character seemed to be a tacked on so audiences would like the movie better. Why do a prolonged and subtle character study to ruin it with a completely unbelievable "happy" ending. Same goes with the ending for Jane and her husband, She washes and curls her hair and that's supposed to be satisfying as deeply symbolic? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NancyWOct 16, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] I liked the open ended ending best left to the viewer to figure out what they would do next. I had not very high expectations when renting this movie, except I love Keener and McDormand so was happy this wasn't the [***SPOILERS***] I liked the open ended ending best left to the viewer to figure out what they would do next. I had not very high expectations when renting this movie, except I love Keener and McDormand so was happy this wasn't the typical chick flick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianW.Apr 13, 2006
As an angry, disillusioned fashion designer who has lost her love for life, Frances McDormand gives one of her very best performances. Joan Cusack proves once against that she is one of our finest comediennes. Not as good as the As an angry, disillusioned fashion designer who has lost her love for life, Frances McDormand gives one of her very best performances. Joan Cusack proves once against that she is one of our finest comediennes. Not as good as the director's Lovely and Amazing, but still a fine comedy with an edge. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RJonesApr 14, 2006
Ah, the problems of rich people. Seriously, this was like a Hallmark movie with better production values. It was shot well, framed well, the acting's strong and the characters were likeable...but it was like a big piece of fluff. You Ah, the problems of rich people. Seriously, this was like a Hallmark movie with better production values. It was shot well, framed well, the acting's strong and the characters were likeable...but it was like a big piece of fluff. You call those problems? Hell, I'd trade places with ANY of those women, right now. BTW, Jennifer Aniston dating an overweight slob...a nice thought, but still phony. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BarryR.Apr 15, 2006
While trying to portray the lives of affluent friends in Los Angeles and attempting to humanize and give them depth, the film fails in that effort. Four different relationships and lifestyles are thrown together with no thread but, instead, While trying to portray the lives of affluent friends in Los Angeles and attempting to humanize and give them depth, the film fails in that effort. Four different relationships and lifestyles are thrown together with no thread but, instead, a patchwork, where the viewer is in the position of watching a ping-pong game of characters and plots. The film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcK.Apr 22, 2006
I usually like Catherine Keener, Frances McDormand, AND Jennifer Aniston, but the script was horrible, the idea was horrible, etc. Most of the characters were very unlikeable, as noted by someone below. But the most unrealistic character of I usually like Catherine Keener, Frances McDormand, AND Jennifer Aniston, but the script was horrible, the idea was horrible, etc. Most of the characters were very unlikeable, as noted by someone below. But the most unrealistic character of them all is Jennifer Aniston. Does anyone really think she would have problems in real life finding guys to date? Why many critics liked this film so much is completely beyond me. The user score (at least at this point) is far more accurate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArnoldP.Apr 24, 2006
I often value and take into account what the critics write but in the case of this film someone missed something. Wonderful ensemble acting, McDormand did create more than a one dimensional character while Aniston in a wildly challenging I often value and take into account what the critics write but in the case of this film someone missed something. Wonderful ensemble acting, McDormand did create more than a one dimensional character while Aniston in a wildly challenging role only seemed to re-enforce a dullard, poorly porteayed, who like most of the other characters, were too one dimensional. The portrayal of supposedly gay husbands was a joke with no insight or reality. What couples could be so unconscious? Why were these people even friends? One liners and some clever dialogue did not create what could have been a biting satire of manners and money. The question again, why so much praise for so little insight, so little reality. i guess we are hungry for intelligent cinema, which here was a veneer, hollow, empty, creating little empathy for the lives of these sad souls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasW.Jul 21, 2006
This movie is awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimG.Jul 21, 2006
More rich white peoples with problems. Finds some truth, but with characters only other rich white peoples could feel for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickANov 28, 2007
Writer and director Nicole Holofcener (of 2001
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TarkoBDec 19, 2007
Ychhhh. Like an episode of Grown Up 90210.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BinkiJul 7, 2011
Such a boring movie. I wouldn't say it was awful, there are some good moments, but generally, this movie is a waste of time. I still liked Jennifer Aniston by the way, she's cute and funny as always.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Certainly watchable and occasionally entertaining, Nicole Holofcener is able to create a slightly above-average ensemble of ladies. Stand-outs: Jennifer Aniston and Catherine Keener.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
tierachaunDec 13, 2013
This movie was shockingly awful. What a waste of a stellar cast. Ploddy, dull, lifeless dialogue. No wit, no insight, several unlikeable characters that did not engage whatsoever. I didn't care what happened to any of them. I didn'tThis movie was shockingly awful. What a waste of a stellar cast. Ploddy, dull, lifeless dialogue. No wit, no insight, several unlikeable characters that did not engage whatsoever. I didn't care what happened to any of them. I didn't laugh once. At one point one of the characters says "I feel like we're just waiting to die". I couldn't have agreed more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeMar 2, 2018
just let him finish..

Friends With Money A smart and more importantly a mature way to approach the episodes of lives of old ordinary friends that is shockingly gripping and funny for around 90 minutes. The writer-director Nicole Holofcener
just let him finish..

Friends With Money

A smart and more importantly a mature way to approach the episodes of lives of old ordinary friends that is shockingly gripping and funny for around 90 minutes. The writer-director Nicole Holofcener knows its strength i.e. unpredictable natured script, that thickens more and more as it ages on the screen and offers some of the most developed feature in this genre, if not the best. Sharing their screen time, all the leading ladies; Jennifer Aniston, Joan Cusack, Frances McDormand and Catherine Keener, are upto their mark and delivers the best in their limited span. Friends With Money is sharp, to the point and fast paced script that twists its way around the sub-plots holding them onto their seat and offers something new which is always rare.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
gt1967May 7, 2020
This film is torture to watch. The characters are so one dimensional and irritating that I could have gladly killed half of them. The script is lame Jennifer Anniston is awful and looks as though she was bored throughout the movie.This film is torture to watch. The characters are so one dimensional and irritating that I could have gladly killed half of them. The script is lame Jennifer Anniston is awful and looks as though she was bored throughout the movie. Considering the strength of the cast I was hoping for a lot more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews