Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 1997
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 65 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
25
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
R.DalviMar 25, 2006
Entertaining as well as excellent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JP32Dec 7, 2021
One might be tempted to review it with bumpers; because it’s for kids, give it a break. But George of the Jungle is better than that. It’s a smart, witty family comedy, bursting with charm and good cheer. It may be silly, but it’s a realOne might be tempted to review it with bumpers; because it’s for kids, give it a break. But George of the Jungle is better than that. It’s a smart, witty family comedy, bursting with charm and good cheer. It may be silly, but it’s a real film, with real filmmaking qualities, and a real heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Thomas347Feb 5, 2021
Top quality film. Oscar worthy. Shunned by all award ceremonies. Brilliant performance from Brendan Fraser, great animatronic ape. Anyone who claims this film is poor, doesn't have taste.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
kyle20ellisMar 31, 2022
What can I say? An entertaining and fun movie. It is however a little too overlong, Thomas Haden Church is underused and some of the story leans towards the predictable side of things. However, it is very nice to look at, the scenery isWhat can I say? An entertaining and fun movie. It is however a little too overlong, Thomas Haden Church is underused and some of the story leans towards the predictable side of things. However, it is very nice to look at, the scenery is colourful and the sets are splendid. Even the cinematography is very good. The music is fun and catchy, it is probably just me but after seeing this film I have had the main title song stuck in my head for days. The script is witty and quotable and the jokes are funny. And then the performances really do add to the sense of fun. Brendan Fraser gives a very likable lead performance, and Leslie Mann is appealing as Ursula. As the intellectual ape "Ape", John Cleese is fitfully amusing. But the star of the show is the sardonic and hilarious narration from Keith Scott. Overall, a fun and entertaining movie, not perfect, but I recommend it. 7/10 Bethany Cox Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeMar 21, 2016
As one part of the lyrics on the entire song said, "WATCH OUT FOR THAT TREE!" Well, I wanted to use that line to say this: This George of the Jungle did not watch out for that tree.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JustinKJul 27, 2007
This movie is so conscious of the fact that it's supposed to be a bad movie that, through hilarious fourth-wall references et al., it becomes a great movie. Charming, hilarious, and most importantly, fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayCubS.Sep 24, 2005
This is absolutely my favorite movie. It's stayed in my heart since my childhood, for it is a perfect children's movie....for children. And me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FilipeNetoApr 4, 2018
This is a film that marked the generation that had 10 to 16 when it opened in theaters. Unquestionably fun from beginning to end, is one of the best family films that Disney did at the end of the century, out of the animation field. This isThis is a film that marked the generation that had 10 to 16 when it opened in theaters. Unquestionably fun from beginning to end, is one of the best family films that Disney did at the end of the century, out of the animation field. This is obviously a film partially spent in a jungle with a man, George, who is literally clumsy version of Tarzan. Made to play and laugh a lot, the film is full of funny moments and even the bad guy, Lyle Van de Groot (played by Thomas Haden Church) is the most humorous I've seen, even in films of this kind.

The involvement of actors is very good, but the spotlight go to Brendan Fraser, who played the main character in an absolutely brilliantly. Leslie Mann gave life to the little girl, Ursula, whom George predictably falls. She also had an inspired interpretation, and even his shrill voice gave a hand in the creation of the character, which is a rich and spoiled girl. John Cleese, one of the greats of the current mood, excellent as was voiced Ape, a monkey gifted with a very human intelligence. Thomas Haden Church also did not disappoint the audience, eager to laugh.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LindsertortMay 5, 2020
It's a goofy movie. That being said, there's some funny jokes that only as an adult you would understand. It's overall a cute movie. Brendan Frasier comes off sweet, sincere and just a good guy. Ursula is sweet and cute and an excellentIt's a goofy movie. That being said, there's some funny jokes that only as an adult you would understand. It's overall a cute movie. Brendan Frasier comes off sweet, sincere and just a good guy. Ursula is sweet and cute and an excellent supporting actress in this movie. The parents are funny, I love Ape's accent and his lines are hysterical. Is it a brilliant movie? No, but it's funny and it leaves you with a good feeling and some laughs :) it's nice to have movies that don't take themselves too seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Toasty87Jul 10, 2020
Typical 90s live action comedy very funny in parts very slow in others mild the rest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Momentum78Mar 10, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant performances from Brendan Fraser & Leslie Mann highlight this disney comedy, it is hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews