IFC Midnight | Release Date: April 20, 2018
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 80 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
29
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JLuis_001Jul 10, 2018
The truth is that I started to think about and I find it hard to catalog this film in this way but I feel that Ghost Stories is a film directed mostly to nostalgic audiences.

I don't deny that in that way it seems that I'm reducing its
The truth is that I started to think about and I find it hard to catalog this film in this way but I feel that Ghost Stories is a film directed mostly to nostalgic audiences.

I don't deny that in that way it seems that I'm reducing its audience, reducing its reach but the truth is that it feels that way.
Because if you ever saw a show like Goosebumps, Are You Afraid of The Dark? or more importantly Tales from the Crypt, this film will remind you of them, maybe a bit, but it will or maybe it's just me, I don't know

Ghost Stories is not a great horror film but the truth is that it has more suspense and a much more genuine style of suspense than many other horror films that fall into cheap scare and blood to gallons.

It's not a great film at all but if you're like me and you like more substance instead of a empty show, I believe rhis films deserves your attention.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
deltagilbertJul 17, 2018
Starts off really well with an interesting premise of a psychic/paranormal debunker's skills being put to the test. The anthology stories are all excellent up to the point you find they have no ending at all which makes them completelyStarts off really well with an interesting premise of a psychic/paranormal debunker's skills being put to the test. The anthology stories are all excellent up to the point you find they have no ending at all which makes them completely pointless. The final act of the film takes a stupid turn which, for me, utterly derailed and ruined the whole thing. The writers should have stuck with initial premise. The film ended with me totally disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tiparAug 11, 2018
Confronted feelings; I like some aspects of it, for instance, the second story, I like the beginning, everything that happens in the house but then the story itself not that good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
WhiskeyStoriesOct 27, 2018
The themes Ghost Stories explores are quite intriguing, but I felt that their execution was kind of spotty. On a technical side it's a very well made film that has some real inventive scares and a nice chilling tone. Unfortunately the pacingThe themes Ghost Stories explores are quite intriguing, but I felt that their execution was kind of spotty. On a technical side it's a very well made film that has some real inventive scares and a nice chilling tone. Unfortunately the pacing drags so much that I had trouble enjoying it all. Would recommend it though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tyrant719Aug 31, 2021
I think Christians should stay out of media that was intended to offend them and stop trying to assimilate it into their cult like the Borg. This is clearly a movie made by dogmatic people who needed a fictional tale to reinforce theirI think Christians should stay out of media that was intended to offend them and stop trying to assimilate it into their cult like the Borg. This is clearly a movie made by dogmatic people who needed a fictional tale to reinforce their righteousness. Only 13-year-olds would be afraid of the Goosebumps-like imagery and ham fisted messages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Loverton1May 27, 2020
Ending worked for me but the 3 short stories lacked anything new and exciting. Typical building to a loud sound and a jump scare. Overall, it was a fairly enjoyable movie but would never watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
geewahJan 5, 2021
Not a bad movie but not great one either. The three stories do play along to the usual tropes of this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews