Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 8, 1984
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 493 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
425
Mixed:
37
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JacobJul 9, 2016
Ghostbusters is surprising in how well it works. From embracing the bizarre premise of guys capturing ghosts, to creating a menace that’s both threatening and laughable at the same time, and most importantly creating a team to care about.Ghostbusters is surprising in how well it works. From embracing the bizarre premise of guys capturing ghosts, to creating a menace that’s both threatening and laughable at the same time, and most importantly creating a team to care about. Varrick, Egon, and Ray only capture one ghosts and beat another the rest is montaging but the time spent with them makes it easily to over. The result is a fun summer blockbuster that for some emotionally connects burns with nostalgia resulting in a film that his highly recommended. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJul 15, 2016
[ Written on April 3rd, 2016 ] Back in 1984, this movie was the huge success of fame and money. It also showed us how great it were to see 4 great men bustin' some ghosts. A lot of fun (yes, a lot of that fun) will instantly come to you[ Written on April 3rd, 2016 ] Back in 1984, this movie was the huge success of fame and money. It also showed us how great it were to see 4 great men bustin' some ghosts. A lot of fun (yes, a lot of that fun) will instantly come to you making you imagining that you're on the adventure. Who isn't afraid of any ghost? Me. Who are you going to call? Me... for these reviews. If you still have a copy of this home, go watch it all day instead. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
BeastprogamerJun 7, 2015
This is a great movie! If you hate Ghostsbusters, you're silly as JB. The storyline is good. The ghosts look okay. The intro song is what I like. Ghostsbusters is a great movie and I recommend you watch it. Haven't seen it in AGES though...
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
CooperReviews44Dec 3, 2018
This films best moments are in the witty interactions and dialogue between the cast. Its a comedy action film which is a perfect tone for the films story. The story is certainly sloppy and mostly forgettable but the writing and humor and funThis films best moments are in the witty interactions and dialogue between the cast. Its a comedy action film which is a perfect tone for the films story. The story is certainly sloppy and mostly forgettable but the writing and humor and fun action moments and entertaining set-pieces are really what made this film a classic. Highly Recommended. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonDec 24, 2020
When Dr. Venkman , Dr. Stanz, and Dr. Egon lose a research grant they decide to go into business for themselves and open ‘Ghostbusters,' a ghost removal service. With Bill Murray at his very best, Ghostbusters is rightly considered a comedyWhen Dr. Venkman , Dr. Stanz, and Dr. Egon lose a research grant they decide to go into business for themselves and open ‘Ghostbusters,' a ghost removal service. With Bill Murray at his very best, Ghostbusters is rightly considered a comedy classic and it remains as funny and entertaining today as it was upon release over thirty years ago. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gracjanskiFeb 4, 2021
Entertaining movie with some funny scenes, especially Bill Murray is stealing the viewer attention with his jokes. The story is nicely built and gives a perfect platform for some visual effects, that are outdated of course.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksApr 4, 2016
Probably one of the best films of its generation. The original Ghostbusters is a classic that is still fully original and fun and has stood the test of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingJan 24, 2016
Ghostbusters is highly entertaining, well acted, deftly directed and funny. The visual effects hold up till today. The film has a timeless feel and is definitely worth watching.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
muldjordJun 28, 2020
I can watch this movie again and again and again. It's one of those movies where you can feel that everyone involved enjoyed being part of it. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about it. It's a masterpiece on all fronts.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Apr 26, 2021
A cult classic enhanced for me by nostalgia and childhood memories. A movie like that would probably not be greenlighted today. The strengths are the awesome cast which has fun playing the roles, the director, humor and the mixture of comedy,A cult classic enhanced for me by nostalgia and childhood memories. A movie like that would probably not be greenlighted today. The strengths are the awesome cast which has fun playing the roles, the director, humor and the mixture of comedy, fantasy with some science fiction elements. It creates a world that is fully believable and entertaining. Also it gets the mixture of seriousness and humor right in a way that non harms the other. It is the story of the 3 parapsychology scientist Peter Venkman, Ray Stantz and Egon Spengler (later joined by Winston Zeddemore) who investigate paranormal activities. Because this field of science is not taken serious and seen as fraud they are thrown out of their jobs at the university and are discredited. Because of this they start a business called Ghostbusters. They use their knowledge and technical skills to develop tools / equipment to locate, capture and contain ghost. Of cause there is more to it as paranormal activities are on the rise. I stop with the set up here. The story might sound a bit silly but works fully. Maybe the start is a bit to slow for my taste but it introduces the characters well. The rest is a great story with an epic climax. It is one of the most well know movies of the time. The humor is awesome and is carried by the cast and script. The actors have a great chemistry together and so it is natural that the demands for a new movie and the franchise are still strong. They created something that is a timeless classic. Lets continue with the strong cast. We have Bill Murray as Peter Venkman. Must I even praise him? He made so many wonderful performances in his career and this is one of the best of them. He is a charming trickster and master of persuasion. Then we have Dan Aykroyd as Ray Stantz. He is the noble scientist with a hearth of gold. Harold Ramis as Egon Spengler is the smartest scientist of the group. He has also some dry humor. Ernie Hudson as Winston Zeddemore has less screentime in this movie but fills it with a really good performance (They say that the role was for Eddie Murphy and was cut down when he was not available but other say this was just a rumor). These 4 Ghostbusters are pop culture icons and legends. This performance laid the foundation for the franchise. It ends not here as we got even more great actors / actresses. There is Sigourney Weaver as Dana Barrett with a great performance. She is a legend in the industry and one of my favorite actresses. Then we got Rick Morranis another one of my favorites. He has also so many good performances including this. Sidenote: I wondered why he made no movies after becoming a big star. His wife died and he quit his career to raise their kids. He is such a great man. There is Annie Potts as Janine Melnitz who is often forgotten, has a smaller role but fully delivers. Finally I want to mention Ernie Hudson as Walter Peck. He has a memorable scene and says he was mocked by / for the nickname he was given in this movie;-). A truly remarkable cast. All characters work well and I consider it a true strength. I praise also the clever written script by Dan Aykroyd and Harold Ramis and of cause the director Ivan Reitman. Without these it could also not be a cult classic. The special effects were amazing for its time but aged a bit badly. Still has some scary scenes. Then there is the humor which is another strength. There are a lot of good jokes, memorable quotes and scenes. I must also praise the music. The Ghostbusters song by Ray Parker Jr. has also become a classic and is still sometimes played today in the radio. Heard it so many times but still enjoyed it. Overall this is a childhood favorite I still enjoy as adult. A cult classic that earned its place in movie history. Even after all the years it has so many fans. One of the easiest recommendations I can make for movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ARmy251084Jan 14, 2022
Outstanding comedy blockbuster with amazing and charming cast. Jokes always lands and brings solid laugh from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KellyGaudreauFeb 13, 2015
Who are you going to call? F&@# the rest of them, I'm only calling Bill
Murray. His deadpan humour makes this film. Now, don't get me wrong,
Ackyrod and Ramis are great, as well. However, Murray is like a god. Another highlight of the
Who are you going to call? F&@# the rest of them, I'm only calling Bill
Murray. His deadpan humour makes this film. Now, don't get me wrong,
Ackyrod and Ramis are great, as well. However, Murray is like a god.
Another highlight of the movie is Rick Moranis. Originally, John Candy
was to play the role as a conservative business type. I think that
would have bombed. Moranis's version of Tully was perfect. A low point
in the movie was Sigourney Weaver. She is much better at fighting
aliens.
This movie definately brings me back to my childhood. I never could figure out the Slimer charactor. When I see him I say, "Hey, Look it's a ghost." No, I'm more likely to say, "Hey, Look it's the kind of S#%t I have up my nose."
Bring on the third installment!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
StreebyStationJun 29, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ah yes, Ghostbusters. One of the classics that came from the 1980’s, I’m sure it was a time considered by many to be a great decade. This movie has been seen by audiences and plenty of critics alike as one of the greatest comedies ever made. And, seeing as there is a new Ghostbusters movie coming out soon I feel it would be fitting if I looked at the two films that came before. Does it meet the expectations I hoped for, or am I going to have the unpopular bad opinion? Well, let’s go into detail.

The film centers around scientists of various degrees of credibility, Ray Stanz (Dan Akroyd) the person who is always energetic about what he does, Egon Spengler (Harold Ramis) the logical one who doesn’t have much emotion and has his eyes always focused on science, and Peter Venkman (Bill Murray) the sarcastic one who’s not afraid to say what he thinks. All of them, after being kicked out of teaching in university decide to start a business centering around catching the paranormal and see what makes them tick. At least, that’s what I assume why they keep all of them in a secured container.

You also have Sigourney Weaver as Dana Barrett who requests the Ghostbusters help to discover the strange occurrences happening in the apartment building that she lives in. Little does anyone know about what events are about to unfold.

First thing I like to say is that the soundtrack is nice, the various songs that play throughout the entire movie I’m sure it hasn’t left the mind of some people currently reading this. It really is a thing of beauty to listen to. The special effects too, especially for the time look very good. It has aged quite a bit though, especially with the party scene with the monster what wrecks everything. I rarely had a feeling that he was actually there chasing Louis Tulley (Rick Moranis) at all.

Oh yeah! The characters, let’s talk about that part. The chemistry between our trio of scientists is pretty funny, Murray, Akroyd and Ramis certainly know how to work off each other and be able to provide comedy that made me chuckle when it happened. Not surprising, since both Akroyd and Ramis were also writers of the script as well. If I remember from research, Akroyd too worked on Saturday Night Live at the same time that Murray was in the cast. So I had no doubt that they could make a concept like this work very well. When Winston Zeddmore (Ernie Hudson) arrives on the scene later on, they waste no time in giving him time to develop and work with the other cast. Every character in this story, main and supporting alike, manage to make a story about capturing ghosts possible.

Even with all this, there are a few things holding me back from giving the film a very high score. For starters, some of the science in this thing isn’t exactly logical. I’m not talking about that ghosts can never happen; I have no issue. It’s things like how can something like a proton pack actually scientifically work? I don’t think protons work like that! There are also a few minor scientific licenses they used. 300cc of what again? That would kill someone, not put them to sleep! I guess Dana's right, Venkman's not a scientist!

This is going to sound odd, but I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t laugh as often as I should have. They clearly written a lot of stuff that should have made me visibly laugh, but all I did was chuckle every now and then at most of them. I only laughed out loud once, and that was when they used the packs for the first time on a maid’s cleaning cart. Her reaction after the blasts stopped was golden! I wished I could have laughed more often, but I suppose that’s my problem, not the film in that regard.

I really don’t want to upset anyone who thinks of the film as a masterpiece, but it’s really a good film. I promise that! I just think that it isn’t perfect. That is all.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
kyle20ellisMar 13, 2022
I honestly wasn't expecting Ghostbusters to be as good as it was. I thought it was funny, imaginative and entertaining, and I do completely agree it is underrated. I really liked the soundtrack, and the special effects were truly excellent,I honestly wasn't expecting Ghostbusters to be as good as it was. I thought it was funny, imaginative and entertaining, and I do completely agree it is underrated. I really liked the soundtrack, and the special effects were truly excellent, considering it was made in the 1980s. The direction was slick and self-assured, and there are a lot of truly funny lines in the script like "Ray, if someone asks you if you are a god, you say yes". I can't count the number of times I was laughing when I watched this film. The performances were brilliant. Bill Murray, who is excellent when he is given a great script, see him in Lost in Translation for evidence, steals every scene he's in, and Dan Aykroyd and Harold Ramis both gave spirited performances. Also fun to watch were Annie Potts and Rick Moranis, and Sigourney Weaver was her usual charming self here. I will confess when I first saw this I was frightened by the dog like creatures Zuul and Vinz Clortho. I also felt that scenes like the Marshmallow Man (or whatever it was) bit got a bit too silly, but hey, it's all part of the fun. Overall, a hugely entertaining and enjoyable film, which I will award a 8.5/10 Bethany Cox. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NasosMar 4, 2016
Bill Murray is unforgettable and makes this 80s flick truly masterpiece for all family. There is no another Ghostbusters interpretation like this and i really will be missing this movie when Sony will release their such called feministic remake
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorSep 3, 2016
Impressive, blessed by an unexpectedly cool vissual-effects and a powerful blend of terrific intepretations (specially from Bill Murray), Ghostbusters has enough for leave the audience satisfied.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PRITAM22Oct 20, 2018
If there's somethin' strange in your neighborhood Who ya gonna call ?? Huh Ans- GHOSTBUSTERS !!! This movie is all about entertainment. Story is about 3 paranormal professors venkman, Ray & egon . movie begins with venkman running someIf there's somethin' strange in your neighborhood Who ya gonna call ?? Huh Ans- GHOSTBUSTERS !!! This movie is all about entertainment. Story is about 3 paranormal professors venkman, Ray & egon . movie begins with venkman running some unethical experiment on students . After being kicked out from university , they stared a new kinda business & named themselves Ghostbusters. Their adventures begins from a hotel , there they successfully captured a ghost using their machines. Their business got boost up & they re now saviour of New yorkers from ghosts. Dana experiences paranormal incidents & went to them . An ancient sumerian monster trying to enter this world , Dana's building is the gateway . can Team Ghostbuster be able to save Dana & whole city ? for this reason u have watch the movie .Nothing more to say ... This is another wonderful gift from 80's Hollywood. Special effects, cinematography really good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
UselessThingOct 8, 2016
Ghostbusters and Star Wars are less movies and more the religious texts of the autistic dorks who built the digital age. A true classic and cultural icon.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DualyApr 29, 2016
This movie is an absolute classic. Ghostbusters has to be one of my all time favorite movies. The acting is amazing, the script is funny and very well written, the characters are very interesting and have very good character development andThis movie is an absolute classic. Ghostbusters has to be one of my all time favorite movies. The acting is amazing, the script is funny and very well written, the characters are very interesting and have very good character development and overall it's a fantastic comedy. Too bad they've pretty ruined it with the upcoming remake/reboot, oh well, at least we still have this masterpiece.
Final Score-10/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Muskrat147Jul 15, 2016
Exceptionally funny, witty, charming, and action-packed, Ghostbusters is a wonderful Sci-Fi adventure that hooks audiences with its one-of-a-kind special effects and amazing chemistry between its leads.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyJul 22, 2016
The original Ghostbusters is a really fun movie to watch. Its got a great cast of characters that travel on an entertaining journey to capture ghosts. I can be cheesy at times but luckily its a movie that doesn't take itself too seriously.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Oct 12, 2019
The story of an unusual bunch of heroes who came for save New York and the wide world of a ancient demon has enough mixed elements of horror and comedy for make it a classic of 80s by own right. For a weekend evening.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Cameronius_113Jan 15, 2017
Ghostbusters was released in 1984 and was directed by Ivan Reitman. It is about a group of scientists who are failing at their current job and decide to open up a business for catching ghosts after many ghost sightings have been heard aboutGhostbusters was released in 1984 and was directed by Ivan Reitman. It is about a group of scientists who are failing at their current job and decide to open up a business for catching ghosts after many ghost sightings have been heard about in New York.
The main reason this movie stands out is the characters, most notably the Ghostbusters themselves. They feel like real people and the reason for that I believe is because most of their lines were made up by the actors as they went along and in real life people make up what they say as they go along which adds a sense of realism. Bill Murrary absolutely steals the show; he's funny, his character is likeable and feels real. All of the characters have great portrayals and all tell good jokes but Murray is the stand-out of the lot.
The movie may seem like it's aimed at kids with all of the ghosts and whatnot but it actually has lots of adult jokes and is actually aimed more at older viewers.
There's something about nearly all movies made around this time which makes them so special- many of them are so simple yet so effective. Many of the outstanding movies nowadays are those which contain complex storylines but are very good (like The Dark Knight) but it's great to see how great these older movies can be by having such a basic premise.
I also need to note that the pacing in this movie is great- everything progresses quickly and never comes to a halt.
I couldn't really find many issues with the movie but I do have a few. They aren't major but they are minor things I would like to point out.
Winston, even though I like his character, feels like he's just 'there' and doesn't really add anything. This is probably because he is introduced later on so he kind of feels slapped in and isn't really necessary.
Even though I like the final act (the fight against the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man), it feels a bit short and only lasts a couple of minutes. I'd like to have seen it cause more chaos.
Also, it might just be me but it kind of ends rather abruptly. Usually in a movie, the final act goes down and then there's a final scene clearing everything up. In this it's like the credits are playing over that final scene. Imagine at the end of Star Wars (spoilers for the first Star Wars even thought you probably already know the ending), imagine the credits start rolling as soon as the Death Star has been destroyed and they are playing over the award ceremony scene. I mean, it's not like anything needs clearing up at the end of this movie but it's a bit different to other movies.
Overall, this is a great movie with great characters, great dialogue and humour and also very good pacing. I would highly recommend this.
8/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJun 14, 2019
Comedy Gold
Ghostbusters has an absolutely perfect cast, great special effects for the time that live up great today, and a hilarious story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
YFA30Jun 18, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A damn near perfect movie! There's only a few effects that don't hold up, but other than that there's probably nothing else I can say that hasn't already been said. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KelvinSelimorOct 29, 2020
Ghostbusters. Rather call. It's a cool fantastic comedy that even after almost 40 years. Of course, Bill Murray deserves special praise.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CoreGamer1408Mar 27, 2019
A film about a bunch of university losers and misfits and one normal working class guy. Who end up tasked to save the city. One of the ultimate funny underdog stories. The humour can be a bit crude on the nose, but it works considering whoA film about a bunch of university losers and misfits and one normal working class guy. Who end up tasked to save the city. One of the ultimate funny underdog stories. The humour can be a bit crude on the nose, but it works considering who the characters are. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Jul 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite movie in the Ghostbusters franchise and one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects were terrific especially Slimer, the library ghost, and the terror dogs. The acting was outstanding and hilarious especially from Bill Murray, Sigourney Weaver, Harold Ramis, Rick Moranis, Dan Aykroyd and Annie Potts. The soundtrack is fantastic especially the song Ghostbusters. The writing is excellent. Ghostbusters is an A+ movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LoletinAlexisJul 25, 2020
Ghostbusters suffers from the same problem that Man in Black has: an inordinate amount of fame for the film that it finally is. It's a good film, but I don't think its fame is so deserved after seeing it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FilipeNetoFeb 17, 2018
In this film, the protagonists are four paranormal fanatics who decide to join forces and create a company specialized in removing ghosts of New Yorker's houses. The boss is Dr. Peter Venkman (played by Bill Murray), an parapsychologistIn this film, the protagonists are four paranormal fanatics who decide to join forces and create a company specialized in removing ghosts of New Yorker's houses. The boss is Dr. Peter Venkman (played by Bill Murray), an parapsychologist little crazy and deeply sarcastic. He's assisted by Dr. Egon Spengler (embodied by Harold Ramis), the intellectual genius of the quartet, Dr. Raymond Stantz (Dan Aykroyd) and Winston Zeddmore (played by Ernie Hudson). In this film, they have to win Gozer, a demonic entity that will try to use Dana (Sigourney Weaver), a girl who Venkman tried to conquer, to achieve it's dark aim of destroying the world.

We're facing, probably, one of the most iconic comedies of the eighties. Bill Murray, who could already consider himself an experienced comedy actor, reached an exceptional level, dominating this movie and toasting the audience with deeply ironic and irresistible laughing moments. The result was Murray's launch to stardom, as one of the best comedians of the eighties cinema. Another actor that was highlighted was Rick Moranis, who plays Mr. Tully, one of the funniest characters in this film thanks to Moranis enormous talent. The film has a number of very good special effects, probably the best of his time, a time when special effects knew how to be in a movie without dominating it. The soundtrack is also a very positive aspect of this movie, with the "Ghostbuster's" song topping the Billboard Hot 100. This song is still known to the general public presently.

This film should be one of the comedies that more money earned over during the eighties. And it's not difficult to understand why: it's a movie for everyone and appeals to children the same way as the elderly. It's very curious that a film whose many critics said so bad manages to keeps it's popularity today, thirty years after being released.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
notorioustshAug 30, 2018
Solid overall movie. Funny, Bill murray at apex mountain, i believe. 10/10 would reccomend
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DarkWolf523Jun 12, 2019
I love the ghostbusters, best super hero team of all time. I fell in love with them in the beginning of my youth, and I loved them, the action they get into is the most engaging story telling ever and how professional in the movie of how toI love the ghostbusters, best super hero team of all time. I fell in love with them in the beginning of my youth, and I loved them, the action they get into is the most engaging story telling ever and how professional in the movie of how to bust ghosts is entertaining. Its very sad that egon is dead though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
sebastianaliSep 8, 2019
Ghostbusters es una película que combina muy bien la historia con el humor. El villano principal me gusto bastante. Es algo corta pero bueno... Recomendada.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gozer027May 2, 2019
Single greatest film of all time! Absolutely fantastic in its plot, character development, cast and acting, special effects, emotive tone, and cinematography. Everything a horror/comedy should be and delivered to perfection.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
wwefanJul 5, 2019
Still one of best movies of all Time even in Today age check it out if you have not Ghostbusters is a classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DiptanshuApr 30, 2020
Good and entertaining movie!Amazing music and story the screenplay was good and engaging visuals were way too bad and creatures look awful.acting was amazing punchlines were great.the comedy was amazing the flirts and the apartment neighbourGood and entertaining movie!Amazing music and story the screenplay was good and engaging visuals were way too bad and creatures look awful.acting was amazing punchlines were great.the comedy was amazing the flirts and the apartment neighbour whenever she passes he shows it was hilarious the theme song was amazing and cringy ending was amazing whole movie felt fast paced and entertaining but it felt little overrated! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
EvandromohrDec 9, 2019
Magnífico,trilha sonora muito boa, dublagem brasileira está ótima, é a história é muito boa é engraçada.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Tyrant719Jun 6, 2021
Another one of the Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Action movies that came out in the 80s and benefits from being released around the same time modern movie criticism was also burgeoning, so they’ve all had a few decades to go over the script that explainsAnother one of the Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Action movies that came out in the 80s and benefits from being released around the same time modern movie criticism was also burgeoning, so they’ve all had a few decades to go over the script that explains why their favorite movies are the best movies of all time; unquestionably. Well, I’m sorry to tell you guys, but your favorite movies are no less repetitive and self-indulgent than the modern ones you seem to hate. Yes, some movies were good in the past. A lot of them also CREATED the same tropes you complain about in modern movies. You just grandfathered them in because they were the ones YOU liked. This movie is filled with horrible motivations for characters (the same people who are “appalled” by the behavior of men in Hollywood seem to love ALL of Bill Murray’s roles that play that exact archetype) and characters that talk a lot and really manage to say nothing of importance. Egon at one point proceeds to explain how, if their current amount of ghosts were a Twinkie, his “ new data” (never explained) shows that they would have a 35 foot long, 600 pound Twinkie on their hands...so in a round about way he said they have a lot more ghosts to worry about...but he said it with a metaphor that had science words so it sounded like he said something smart...seriously, this movie is just made by a bunch of coke head actors, yet you all treat it like some “scientific” take on ghosts. Saying things that you heard in your high school science class doesn’t mean you know what you’re talking about...or that you’re saying anything that correlates to actual fact. If you like a movie, GREAT, enjoy it! Don’t pass yourself off as an objective critic, though, because you **** keep convincing me to watch these overrated 80s movies simply because you were all in elementary when they came out. Or that’s when you first saw them, at least. 7/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RobwinzJul 31, 2020
Yes, it's true. This man has no dick
The movie's got a great cast which work very well together throughout this movie, the dialogue is pretty good and most of it can be pretty funny, the plot is pretty decent, the ghosts and the creatures
Yes, it's true. This man has no dick
The movie's got a great cast which work very well together throughout this movie, the dialogue is pretty good and most of it can be pretty funny, the plot is pretty decent, the ghosts and the creatures throughout this movie are great. Also, the movie's got the classic song from Ray Parker Jr. which I'd honestly say is class. Overall, the movie is great, it's always a fun one to come back to and the characters are always memorable with their funny lines of dialogue or if they do something throughout this masterpiece of a movie. It's honestly worth the watch and I'd honestly recommend this one to anyone.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TsukibluemoonMar 28, 2020
Graciosa, divertida y entretenida. Son los Cazafantasmas, ¿a quién pueden no gustarle?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SamirhusejnovicMar 29, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ein wirklich guter und witziger Film, ein Meisterwerk, eines der besten Filme aller Zeiten Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IAmaMovieGeekMay 30, 2020
Fantastic ghost movie staring Bill Murray. Definitely recommend this film. A+
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheMorbidCriticOct 12, 2020
Ghostbusters (1984) is a great and clever film. It’s got good acting, great ideas, and is all around a superb idea for a film. It's been my favorite film since I was 3 years old, and it will definitely stay that way.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FantaOrangeJul 12, 2021
easily Dan aykroyd's best film (at least from what i've seen anyway, the characters are likeable, the acting is good for the most part and the practical affects and costumes are pretty great and still hold up to this day. I miss when bigeasily Dan aykroyd's best film (at least from what i've seen anyway, the characters are likeable, the acting is good for the most part and the practical affects and costumes are pretty great and still hold up to this day. I miss when big budget hollywood comedies actually tried :( Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
plushcollectorJan 27, 2022
Hahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MaRcOpUz0Feb 14, 2022
Best damn movie i've ever watched. Other movies are also great, but nothing beats the original!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JackcriticJul 9, 2022
It was a more fantastic idea about ghosts scaring people but with paranormal investigators catching ghosts to hold them. These Ghostbusters share great chemistry of comedy and being serious around it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Le__XenomorphDec 30, 2014
A hilariously funny comedy with many classic and laugh out loud moments. Especially those coming from Bill Murray who gave a legendary comedic performance. I would recommend this movie to all comedy lovers. 10/10 (Legendary)
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
HectorInTheMornJul 11, 2016
This is one of the funniest, scariest horror comedy ever! I love the characters, the special effects still hold up great, a really fast moving plot, It was glorious!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
MariofanJun 7, 2015
This movie was awesome. I just watched it and enjoyed it. The storyline was good. Bill Murray did a great job acting in it. The special effects were cool. The characters were good. Ghostbusters is one of the best films of the 1980s and it isThis movie was awesome. I just watched it and enjoyed it. The storyline was good. Bill Murray did a great job acting in it. The special effects were cool. The characters were good. Ghostbusters is one of the best films of the 1980s and it is definitely worth watching. P.S. Ghostbusters >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Justin Bieber. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
flatblack13Jul 2, 2016
Please don't change this creative, fun, funny cinematic masterpiece. Has there ever beena greater comedy cast assembled? Will there ever be? I think not. Leave it alone.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
gunnx663Sep 30, 2014
There are just a hand full of movies I revisit on a yearly basis and Ghostbusters are right at the top there is a reason why this movie keeps on living in the hearts of millions while 99% of all other movies lose their steam within a year ofThere are just a hand full of movies I revisit on a yearly basis and Ghostbusters are right at the top there is a reason why this movie keeps on living in the hearts of millions while 99% of all other movies lose their steam within a year of their release. For the 30th Anniversary I give this movie a 10 out of 10 score Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Aug 17, 2015
I have never had the fortune of watching Ghostbuster all the way through until now. I have probably seen the film entirely in bits and pieces but it is so much more remarkable all together. This film may be the best blockbuster film of allI have never had the fortune of watching Ghostbuster all the way through until now. I have probably seen the film entirely in bits and pieces but it is so much more remarkable all together. This film may be the best blockbuster film of all time and it holds up pretty well after 30 years and it can still be enjoyed by the next generation of film watchers. Ghostbusters is original and it is one of the few sci-fi comedies that ever worked. There are lots of good gags here and the characters are so loveable. Bill Murray was at the peak of his sarcastic powers for this movie and the same goes for Dan Aykroyd. The film is a great visual and there are so many blockbusters out there that try to be Ghostbusters and fail. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
COOLQUINN17Jul 11, 2016
Since the reboot is coming soon, i decided to review the movie that started this franchise, the original 1984 Ghostbusters. This is one of the best comedy movies that has ever been made. The cast is funny, the plot is brilliant and theSince the reboot is coming soon, i decided to review the movie that started this franchise, the original 1984 Ghostbusters. This is one of the best comedy movies that has ever been made. The cast is funny, the plot is brilliant and the effects for it's time is amazing to look at and it still holds up today. Bill Murray stole the show of this movie cause of his funny sarcasm lines. He's one of the best comedians out there and without him, Ghostbusters wouldn't be as good. It had memorable moments and had a very catchy song. Ghostbusters may be 32 years old but man it's still a funny movie and will always be a timeless classic.

In Memory of Harold Ramis
R.I.P
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawSep 9, 2014
My belated visit to the 80s classic ultra-popular American supernatural comedy directed by Ivan Reitman, indisputably his most successful directorial work to date, the Hollywood veteran is now in the inevitable course of being eclipsed by hisMy belated visit to the 80s classic ultra-popular American supernatural comedy directed by Ivan Reitman, indisputably his most successful directorial work to date, the Hollywood veteran is now in the inevitable course of being eclipsed by his son Jason Reitman, who is already a two-times Oscar-nominated director (JUNO 2007, 8/10 and UP IN THE AIR 2009, 7/10).
continue reading my review on my blog: google cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
HypeFreeJul 23, 2016
Very pleased with how it turned out. McKinnon surprised everyone with her performance, the best in the film easily (channelling a little Aubrey Plaza maybe ;) ). Solid story, pacing, jokes, and effects, and performances by all. Good CGI too.Very pleased with how it turned out. McKinnon surprised everyone with her performance, the best in the film easily (channelling a little Aubrey Plaza maybe ;) ). Solid story, pacing, jokes, and effects, and performances by all. Good CGI too. Antagonist was a bit flat and uninteresting, but I think that's what they were going for ;) Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
CanisrahJul 15, 2016
A classic film with magic and humor. Right cast, right script, right setting and right narrative. Subsequent efforts to 'remake' it have not even come close.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 27, 2016
It isn't QUITE as great as people say (please don't kill me), but Ghostbusters is a fun supernatural comedy that benefits highly from the talents of its cast - especially Bill Murray, who pretty much steals the film with his deadpan deliveryIt isn't QUITE as great as people say (please don't kill me), but Ghostbusters is a fun supernatural comedy that benefits highly from the talents of its cast - especially Bill Murray, who pretty much steals the film with his deadpan delivery and charisma. However, the main flaw for me is that the plot takes a while to really start, which is a little annoying. Nonetheless, if pure entertainment is what you seek, I would probably direct you to this. For all its flaws, it's still a fun flick with plenty of good laughs. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
FionanMurphyAug 14, 2022
A timeless classic comedy that is still funny to this very day with an engaging plot
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
maskedrider29Oct 24, 2022
How much more perfect do you need to get? Ghostbusters is one of the greatest comedies you will ever find, and one of the greatest films of the 1980s you will ever find. Check it out!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews