Lionsgate | Release Date: April 12, 2019
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 211 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
87
Mixed:
51
Negative:
73
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PhilPtheGreatApr 12, 2019
Just because Del Toro isnt directing and Hellboy isnt Perlman doesnt mean this film should be getting slammed unfairly the way it is. it's a new vision and adaptation that actually works even better as far as following comic source material.Just because Del Toro isnt directing and Hellboy isnt Perlman doesnt mean this film should be getting slammed unfairly the way it is. it's a new vision and adaptation that actually works even better as far as following comic source material. The action and pacing is intense and the horror aspects are really well blended. People keep slandering the cgi and honestly its excellent cgi. The story blends many different particular comics together and it works. David Harbor gives a lot of great character to hellboy as well. Just see this and pay no mind to delusional biased critics and haters. It's a fun adaptation. Expand
24 of 67 users found this helpful2443
All this user's reviews
8
Faultlesselm16Apr 12, 2019
Its very different from the frist 2 hellboy movies but i liked it but very gory
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
8
Lucky_kenshinApr 15, 2019
Genial, no supera para nada a las de guillermo del toro, pero tampoco busca ser como esas, es su propia pelicula, con buenas actuaciones y mucha accion, hace uso de su clasificacion como no se veia desde deadpool, un slasher con mucha accionGenial, no supera para nada a las de guillermo del toro, pero tampoco busca ser como esas, es su propia pelicula, con buenas actuaciones y mucha accion, hace uso de su clasificacion como no se veia desde deadpool, un slasher con mucha accion y comedia propios de un director de peliculas de tipo B Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
citricubeApr 13, 2019
This movie was definitely very different than its predecessors.
There are a whole lot more grotesque scenes.
That's to be expected though seeing as the previous movie was PG-13 and this is R. For a movie with hell in the title though, I think
This movie was definitely very different than its predecessors.
There are a whole lot more grotesque scenes.
That's to be expected though seeing as the previous movie was PG-13 and this is R.
For a movie with hell in the title though, I think it's appropriate.
I don't follow the comics or remember much about Hellboy (2004) but I enjoyed this movie.
This is another movie that made me realize I can't trust critics (besides maybe Uproxx).
If you're looking for a good plot though, look elsewhere.
If you like exceedingly violent action movies with spontaneous comedy this might be the movie for you though.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Apr 13, 2019
This new Hellboy reboot movie has a lot of negative reviews, but I enjoyed myself.

There's a lot of humor and action scenes in this. Gorehounds will be pleased to know that the R-rating is well deserved. They really run with the
This new Hellboy reboot movie has a lot of negative reviews, but I enjoyed myself.

There's a lot of humor and action scenes in this. Gorehounds will be pleased to know that the R-rating is well deserved. They really run with the supernatural/fantasy elements and there's some pretty memorable visual moments.

I've heard a lot of complaints that there is too much going and the movie is choppy. I admit they crunch a lot of stuff in but in fairness, that's not too different than the Hellboy comics. Creator Mike Mignola often fits a lot of separate elements into a single story. (Let's be honest, he's more of an idea guy, than a planning guy.) Personally, I liked that this had a lot of things going on. Say what you will about this movie, but it never gets slow. Even though it's a kinda complex plot, I never got lost or confused about what was happening.

Rumor has it that there was a lot of behind-the-scenes conflict between director Neil Marshall (The Descent; Dog Soldiers) and the film's many producers. And, I can sort of see it. The beginning exposition feels like it was abridged and had a narration slapped on. It felt like in order to make things funnier, there was a lot of recorded dialogue added after filming which was a wee bit noticeable. (Though in fairness to the added dialogue, I may have been looking for it since I heard about the editing issues ahead of time. I'm also aware that now I've told you about it that you could probably be looking for it too and you may not have noticed otherwise. Sorry.) They finally manage to include a Hellboy character that a lot of fans of the comics will be happy about, but he or she is so wedged in that it doesn't feel quite natural.

I loved some of the creature designs in this. The movie includes some pretty creepy monsters. Unfortunately, this is a Millennium film and the budget isn't as big as a lot of the other comic book blockbusters out there. The computer graphics for the monsters are subpar. (A quick look at Hellboy is cut mercifully quick as it is so bad.) The quality just doesn't match the earlier Hellboy films, which are several years old.

David Harbour does a good job as the titular Hellboy. Admittedly, Ron Perlman does a better job of the human, emotional side of Hellboy, but Harbour is definitely funnier. Actually, the full cast is good. Comics fans will be disappointed that main players Abe Sapien and Liz Sherman aren't in this at all. But I credit the creators for trying to separate this from the original films. Hellboy's new partners in crime Alice Monaghan (Sasha Lane) and Major Ben Daimio (Daniel Dae KIm) are pretty likable. (Though I admit that Alice doesn't have much of a story arc and reason to hang around other than to repay a debt to Hellboy.) Ian McShane's Professor Broom, Hellboy's tough love foster father, is a real change of pace from the scholarly figure from the comics and other films, but it's fun to see the actor chew the scenery.

The best thing I can compare this to is the Constantine movie with Keanu Reeves. It's not a perfect product in the grand scheme, but there's enough fun individual parts that I was pleased. (FYI, be sure to stay through the credits.)
Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
firefae8Apr 14, 2019
This movie is getting rung through the wringer cause there's a lot of people jumping on the 'let's trash this' band wagon. This movie is NOT the del Toro version. It's not the Hellboy 3 most people wanted and are probably going to be angryThis movie is getting rung through the wringer cause there's a lot of people jumping on the 'let's trash this' band wagon. This movie is NOT the del Toro version. It's not the Hellboy 3 most people wanted and are probably going to be angry that it's not. It's more true to the comics and has lots of nods to the comics and what happens in them. There is some issue with the pacing and it would probably make a better mini series, given that there is SO much content they go through, but it is a movie and they have to work with a time constraint as well as a low budget, which I think they took full advantage of. This Hellboy, as I said, is more true to the comics. It isn't perfect, but because so many people are just ripping on it for not being del Toro's Hellboy, I'm giving it a 10. It's more like an 8 or 7. It's very enjoyable and definitely rated 9. The graphic novel content is not watered down to be palatable for children, so don't take your kids. It's very metal and full of action. The creatures are amazingly designed and it's very true to the comics. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
7
semicullenApr 13, 2019
I really enjoyed this movie. Was it exactly like the comic? No. Was it like the Del Toro movies? No. But it was fun, fast, and had some really good moments. Of course, if you're a longtime fan of the comics, I imagine, like me, you wereI really enjoyed this movie. Was it exactly like the comic? No. Was it like the Del Toro movies? No. But it was fun, fast, and had some really good moments. Of course, if you're a longtime fan of the comics, I imagine, like me, you were wondering why some of the changes were made, but that doesn't make the movie bad. The first three quarters were excellent. The final act was a bit hokey, but that's a problem with almost all comic book movies. The post credit sequences were fantastic, but it's a shame that the projected box office means were not likely to see the fruits of that final end credits sequence play out. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
NatagremApr 15, 2019
Giants. Faeries. Demons. Vampires. Changelings. Baba Yaga. Pro wrestling. Satanic titans demolishing a city. Dragons. Flaming swords. And an awesome metal/rock soundtrack. I wasn't bored once while watching Hellboy. This was, by far, one ofGiants. Faeries. Demons. Vampires. Changelings. Baba Yaga. Pro wrestling. Satanic titans demolishing a city. Dragons. Flaming swords. And an awesome metal/rock soundtrack. I wasn't bored once while watching Hellboy. This was, by far, one of the most enjoyable, epic, dark fantasy adventures brought to film that I've ever seen. Milla Jovovich was amazing. David Harbour was amazing. Daniel Dae Kim was amazing. Sasha Lane was amazing. You had a guy who transforms into a were-leopard and a girl who can punch the souls right outta the dead. There were elements of Evil Dead, Ghost Busters, and creature feature horror. This movie was so fun to watch that I will be buying it on blu ray. The story is a simple origin story, laying the groundwork for the ongoing plot surrounding Hellboy and his connection to the impending apocalypse. It also litters foreshadowing to events that will occur in a sequel while giving nods to events that have already happened in the comic. I hope it has a sequel in the future.

Critics have tanked this film's ratings out of misplaced camaraderie toward Perlman and del Toro. The actual quality of this film is very high. If del Toro's name was slapped on this production, I guarantee it would be given rave reviews.
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
KaboomkaApr 15, 2019
Did not expect anything good from the movie from the very beginning. But as pleasantly I was surprised having watched it. Yes there is couple of questions to authors of the movie, but these are trifles. Very pleasant feelings after viewing.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
jaguararxApr 16, 2019
Very different from first two films. But in the same time very cool. So brutal but beautiful, like Game of Thrones. I like it.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
GraymanApr 14, 2019
Gory and funny rollercoaster for true comics lovers. Alternative view of adaptations, not only Disney and WB.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
frostmornexApr 15, 2019
Это было невероятно.
Приходил в кинотеатр без ожиданий каких-либо и получил невероятное удовольствие.
Фильм не имеет аналогов и снят нереально круто, учитывая такой небольшой, для блокбастера, бюджет. Любителям жести и брутальных замесов с
Это было невероятно.
Приходил в кинотеатр без ожиданий каких-либо и получил невероятное удовольствие.
Фильм не имеет аналогов и снят нереально круто, учитывая такой небольшой, для блокбастера, бюджет. Любителям жести и брутальных замесов с красивой операторской работой и музыкальным сопровождением советую для просмотра
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
AntekMay 8, 2019
Expected nothing special, but was really supprised. The movie is spectacular from the beginning to the end. Solid urban fantasy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
troyman81Apr 12, 2019
I loved it. just a heads up some of the visual effects are not that good and some are amazing. i enjoyed the story they told and David Harbor was really good as Hellboy, also there is a stinger after the credits.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
VexxelApr 13, 2019
Awesome movie, enjoyed it very much. Gore was unexpected but in a good way, finally a movie that doesn't afraid.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
9
ngykApr 14, 2019
It's been a long years since that Hellboy have a reboot for eleven years when new reboot cames in with new reality of Hellboy with Hardcore style.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
VemApr 15, 2019
Gory,mature and humor packed reboot of one of greatest movie franchises. New Hellboy actor is doing a really good job playing his character almost as good as Ron Perlman. Plot is well written and keeps the viewer in suspense, we learn a lotGory,mature and humor packed reboot of one of greatest movie franchises. New Hellboy actor is doing a really good job playing his character almost as good as Ron Perlman. Plot is well written and keeps the viewer in suspense, we learn a lot of things about the characters present in the movie. Daniel Dae Kim is playing Ben Daimio a big badass that Daniel is used to playing. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
7
sandbornApr 16, 2019
Don't believe the hate, this is a good movie! I enjoyed just about everything but the story got a bit twisted or lost in certain points. David Harbour does an amazing job as Hellboy and the supporting cast is strong. There's a lot of goodDon't believe the hate, this is a good movie! I enjoyed just about everything but the story got a bit twisted or lost in certain points. David Harbour does an amazing job as Hellboy and the supporting cast is strong. There's a lot of good action scenes with awesome looking monsters. It was a satisfying viewing experience. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Brandon_Apr 12, 2019
Loved it! Harbour won me over as HB. Added his own unique take, which stands out in the modern echo chamber of comic book movies.

Story is a bit of HB medley that stays mostly true to the respected and rightly beloved source. Don't listen to
Loved it! Harbour won me over as HB. Added his own unique take, which stands out in the modern echo chamber of comic book movies.

Story is a bit of HB medley that stays mostly true to the respected and rightly beloved source. Don't listen to the haters. They're just a little scared and don't know what to make of a comic movie that has a few rough edges and doesn't come with mandatory hand sanitizer. They'll come around when they see it's cool to like the new Hellboy. We'll be waiting on them.

Just take a deep breath, try not to take yourself too seriously, and remember you're watching a Hellboy movie in first world 2019. Enjoy.
Expand
7 of 20 users found this helpful713
All this user's reviews
8
DyliebarApr 12, 2019
It's been a very long time since I enjoyed a movie this unapologetically violent, vulgar and insane! While it may not be quite as good as films such as Machete, Planet Terror, or anywhere near as good as the Guillermo Del Toro films, I stillIt's been a very long time since I enjoyed a movie this unapologetically violent, vulgar and insane! While it may not be quite as good as films such as Machete, Planet Terror, or anywhere near as good as the Guillermo Del Toro films, I still had a great time! I advise you to not compare this to the two previous films though, you will hate it! Expand
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
10
rucusApr 14, 2019
movie is amazing, with a lot of gore that I wasn't expecting. this movie is a lot better that the first two and I hope it gets a sequel since it defiantly earned it.
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
10
SkeptecApr 12, 2019
It's a decent movie. Not the greatest, but it's getting way too much hate just for not having Guillermo or Pearlman and that's not cool.
7 of 33 users found this helpful726
All this user's reviews
10
NightmareChanelApr 12, 2019
best Hellboy comic book movie ever. If you want to see it, then go and do not pull. Thinking of going again, there's a weird moment, need to reconsider
7 of 34 users found this helpful727
All this user's reviews
10
morigathApr 17, 2019
I really enjoyed the movie, especially all russian-related jokes. casting is perfect, humor is great, the story is logical and well-connected. overall feeling - 10/10
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
Skiner111Apr 18, 2019
Если не сравнивать нового Хелбоя с фильмами Гильермо дель Торо,то можно сказать что фильм получился довольно неплохим и необычным. Однозначно понравилось музыкальное сопровождение и то как акцентировали внимание на монстрах,что порой былоЕсли не сравнивать нового Хелбоя с фильмами Гильермо дель Торо,то можно сказать что фильм получился довольно неплохим и необычным. Однозначно понравилось музыкальное сопровождение и то как акцентировали внимание на монстрах,что порой было даже не комфортно смотреть на них,но к сожалению сюжет оказался местами не очень захватывающим. Рейтинг R хорошо что остался,придал фильму зрелищности. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
FerOrozcoApr 23, 2019
With anydoubt, this new verssion of hellboy bring us the real face of this character. The direction of this film was great, with a good performance of the cast. The levels of violence are great, this is how the comic is, the soundtrack isWith anydoubt, this new verssion of hellboy bring us the real face of this character. The direction of this film was great, with a good performance of the cast. The levels of violence are great, this is how the comic is, the soundtrack is algo a great hit on this film. And the special effects on the demons massacre. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
9
TryASummersaultApr 17, 2019
8.6/10 Already underrated beyond belief, Neil Marshall's Hellboy adaptation is a visual blast full of ballistic action, malevolent monsters, and exciting fun throughout. While I enjoyed Del Toro's excellent stylistic take on Hellboy, I have8.6/10 Already underrated beyond belief, Neil Marshall's Hellboy adaptation is a visual blast full of ballistic action, malevolent monsters, and exciting fun throughout. While I enjoyed Del Toro's excellent stylistic take on Hellboy, I have to say this is superior in following subject matter, and nails the many colorful tones of the Mignola comics better.

The story introduces us to the lovably insane Hellboy very well with an incredibly intense set of opening sequences, and immerses the viewers into his world very effectively. As things progress we get familiar with some fantastically executed origin stories that portray the comics perfectly, and it expands on so many different characters supremely. The overall story moves along well with some vibrantly brilliant creatures and ferocious fights. When everything unfolds it leads up to an epic finish full of excitement and bloodshed. Once again i have to say it followed the comics rather well and had some great personality and humor to it.

As far as the acting performances go I was thoroughly surprised by how awesome David Harbour was as Hellboy. He was absolutely hilarious and captured the character so well with a wide array of emotions shown. The makeup was also fantastic on him though I was skeptical from the trailers. Ian McShane as Trevor/Dad was excellent as well and contrary to delusional critics they had great chemistry with each other. Milla Jovovich was beautifully sinister as the blood queen and honestly I'd like to see her as the villain more.

The standout imo was the plethora of extremely detailed creatures/monsters throughout especially Baba Yaga. The sequence with her was horrifyingly marvelous. I didn't expect them to blend the paranormal/horror aspects so well but they definitely did. The gruesomeness and gore was prevalent and I thought it was fitting for the adaptation.

For a few minor nitpicks, there are some moments where the cgi is a bit shoddy but it was usually solid. You can tell when they're using practical effects and they are amazingly well done. Obviously you can't use practical effects for giant monsters so I can cut them some slack. Also the soundtrack is a bit spastic with some interesting choices that worked at times and sometimes didn't.

Overall it's a shame this was unfairly accosted which caused it to bomb massively. I would've loved to see where they went from here especially after what's teased at the end of this. Like I said,I believe this is going to go down as a very underrated film and might even develop a cult following hopefully. People don't know what they're missing out of stubbornness.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
electronicoffeeApr 17, 2019
THIS is what a Hellboy movie should have been. I loved the first two (moreso part 2, again, more accurate to the comics) but this was **** epic and if you didn't like it, you've got a stick up your ass and nostalgia glasses. Baba Yaga was theTHIS is what a Hellboy movie should have been. I loved the first two (moreso part 2, again, more accurate to the comics) but this was **** epic and if you didn't like it, you've got a stick up your ass and nostalgia glasses. Baba Yaga was the **** and the Eldrazi were AMAAAAAAAAZING. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
DukesvallerApr 18, 2019
Thoroughly enjoyed the film which is full of action.
Better than both of the other Hellboy films if you ask me.
Ending was not the best but what films are nowadays.
i recommend watching in cinema
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MoisesAvilaMay 15, 2019
Best superhero movie of all times. Full of gore, great action scenes, great character designs. We need a sequel right now
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Ney10May 23, 2019
Me gusta porque aunque tiene mensajes asquerosos pero de manera sana y saludable y la muscica es la leche y sobretodo el principio es energico que solo se puede entender de esa manera.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews