Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 4, 2000
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 352 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
126
Mixed:
68
Negative:
158
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JimmyH.Dec 6, 2003
Great action, too many talking scens! but in the end i love the movie! i especally like the guy who plays carter!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarkFloresAug 14, 2019
Paul Verhoevan's Hollow Man is a take on HG Wells's Invisible Man but with much gore, nudity and evil. Hehe, that's the Dutch filmmaker for you- All of Verhoevan's films have been gory and courted controversy and Hollow Man is similar inPaul Verhoevan's Hollow Man is a take on HG Wells's Invisible Man but with much gore, nudity and evil. Hehe, that's the Dutch filmmaker for you- All of Verhoevan's films have been gory and courted controversy and Hollow Man is similar in every way. Kevin Bacon plays the titular character- a rogue but a charming one and Bacon is probably the finest actors to walk the line between good and rotten evil. Elizabeth Shue, Josh Brolin and a few others play the good conscientious guys, but it isn't long before you start siding with Bacon's character. The special effects are very good, and the invisible scenes were an absolute highlight. There is a scene with a gorilla which is spooky and exhilarating and will probably stay with you long after the film is over. If you are one of those who doesn’t care if the main lead is an antihero, who doesn’t follow the usual tropes of cinema than Paul Verhoevan's Hollow Man would be an interesting film to watch.(Verhoevan's take on The Invisible Man). Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobOct 16, 2020
I really am surprised at the negative reviews because this is one of my favourites growing up and still is. Kevin Bacon leads a very solid cast with a great twist on the invisible man story. I loved it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CachenadnazarJul 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great actings and ambiance.Kevin Bacon's performance is brilliant for me.My childhood movie.Love this! Expand
5 of 39 users found this helpful534
All this user's reviews
8
BroyaxJan 16, 2019
Quand Paul Verhoeven s'attaque au mythe de l'homme invisible, un sujet ressassé depuis des lustres dans bien des livres, films ou séries, c'est pour mieux le revisiter de l'intérieur et lui donner une densité inattendue faite de noirceur, deQuand Paul Verhoeven s'attaque au mythe de l'homme invisible, un sujet ressassé depuis des lustres dans bien des livres, films ou séries, c'est pour mieux le revisiter de l'intérieur et lui donner une densité inattendue faite de noirceur, de voyeurisme et de dérapages plus ou moins brutaux... et incontrôlés... et incontrôlables !

C'est l'occasion de mettre à jour de très vilains et mauvais penchants, surtout lorsque le cobaye déjà mégalomane est prédisposé à quelque tendance psychopathique... Très bien incarné (ou désincarné) par un Kevin Bacon étonnamment à l'aise dans cet odieux personnage, on suit l'évolution ou plutôt l'involution de l'humain qui se découvre un pouvoir inédit qui va tout bouleverser... Volontiers violent mais aussi fripon, le réalisateur se laisse aller à quelques situations vicelardes pour ne pas dire sensiblement lubriques, sacré Paul, on te reconnaît bien là !

En contrepoint et en ex-compagne, on a la très belle Elisabeth Shue qui se révèle la femme forte et intelligente du groupe face à l'adversité inattendue... Josh Brolin reste en retrait, costaud mais trop cave pour réellement briller, comme le reste de l'équipe, une bande de geeks aux blagues faciles, simple et pure chair à canon à dire vrai !

Très bien consruit, le film ne souffre d'aucun temps mort et bénéficie d'effets spéciaux excellents ; et comme toujours avec Verhoeven, la mise en scène n'est jamais prise en défaut : c'est du beau boulot, propre, net et sans bavure. Cela étant dit, dans sa partie finale lorsque tout commence à partir en vrille (forcément), le film s'égare dans le grand guignol hollywwodien de base, sacrifiant toute sa crédibilité au profit du pur spectacle...

Une fin pas très sérieuse donc mais globalement le film demeure solide, gentiment pervers et diablement efficace. Avec le recul et le poids des ans (quand même) il n'a d'ailleurs pas vieilli d'un iota : il reste incisif, bien ficelé... et avec ce petit côté sardonique, la fameuse Verhoeven touch !
Expand
0 of 31 users found this helpful031
All this user's reviews
7
JamesH.sMar 29, 2010
I am not quite sure why I liked this film so much and so few others did. I found it to be a very tense and exciting sci-fi thriller.It is wonderfully imaginative, has good performances, especially Kevin Bacon, one of his best roles. The I am not quite sure why I liked this film so much and so few others did. I found it to be a very tense and exciting sci-fi thriller.It is wonderfully imaginative, has good performances, especially Kevin Bacon, one of his best roles. The special effects are excellent. The plot is a great one, I never lost interest. Great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
R.LopezMar 12, 2009
This movie got a seven from me for what is and what it means to me as a science geek. This is not a great movie, don't get me wrong; but is a exceptionally well executed one at that. Hollow man follows the story of Dr. Sebastian Cane, This movie got a seven from me for what is and what it means to me as a science geek. This is not a great movie, don't get me wrong; but is a exceptionally well executed one at that. Hollow man follows the story of Dr. Sebastian Cane, an egotistical and arrogant scientist working on a way to make living matter invisible. He has already succeeded on animal trials and is ready to go to the next step, human testing, Cane volunteers to be the first human subject. The experiment seems like a major success, until something goes terrible goes wrong. Now Sebastian is becoming increasingly paranoid and out of control, doomed to be without flesh for all his life. Now his team wants to shut the project down and bring in the government to catch Sebastian, But Sebastian traps them in the lab with him. With time running out can the team really out smart a maniac invisible man? Hollow man is not a great movie in the sense of what it is, it is a great achievement in visual effects and putting a whole new story to the invisible man tale. It also makes you wonder if that feeling you get when your alone is really just a feeling, or if it's just your imagination playing tricks on you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KPAug 18, 2009
NO way does this movie deserve a sub 30's rating. Again NO way! I reserve a rating that low for things that are unwatchable. Not that this movie was all that great. It was mediocre pretty much all across the board, but done well enough. NO way does this movie deserve a sub 30's rating. Again NO way! I reserve a rating that low for things that are unwatchable. Not that this movie was all that great. It was mediocre pretty much all across the board, but done well enough. I'd normally give it a 5 out of 10, but the ratings are so skewed towards the low end, I bumped mine up in a small effort to balance things out. Definitely a watchable flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DizzleFizzleDec 11, 2007
The funniest comedy of the year, if not the decade. Everything including the story, acting, and sheer genius by the director just makes me want to pee my pants. Obviously this movie was not meant to be serious, and most of the critics did The funniest comedy of the year, if not the decade. Everything including the story, acting, and sheer genius by the director just makes me want to pee my pants. Obviously this movie was not meant to be serious, and most of the critics did not realize this. There is no way that anyone could be stupid enough to make a movie like this and have it actually be a suspenseful thriller. That's just crazy. Keep up the good work Paul Verhoeven, I look forward to other comedies coming out directed by you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful