New Line Cinema | Release Date: September 6, 2019
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 391 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
245
Mixed:
88
Negative:
58
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
pmdgvSep 5, 2019
Como adaptação pode não ser aquilo que os fãs esperavam, mas como um filme mais independente, ele faz um trabalho excelente em fechar a história título original. O primeiro é melhor, mas o segundo não deixa de ser obrigatório para serComo adaptação pode não ser aquilo que os fãs esperavam, mas como um filme mais independente, ele faz um trabalho excelente em fechar a história título original. O primeiro é melhor, mas o segundo não deixa de ser obrigatório para ser assistido. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
10
JakeT1000Sep 6, 2019
IT : Chapter One and now IT : Chapter Two are both better movies than the 1990 made for TV miniseries/movie. People really are hating on this movie. Most people I've seen in comments on Instagram, Facebook, Youtube, and such or in reviewsIT : Chapter One and now IT : Chapter Two are both better movies than the 1990 made for TV miniseries/movie. People really are hating on this movie. Most people I've seen in comments on Instagram, Facebook, Youtube, and such or in reviews even on Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB either love IT : Chapter Two or at least think it's good/good enough. It's a damn good film. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
Argente17Sep 11, 2019
Brilliant follow up to part one, the acting was superb and I loved the fact there were lots of scenes with the kids.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
my_pal_satanSep 6, 2019
I had a lot of fun. I Laughed a lot, squirmed a little, but I was rarely scared at all.

I loved all the actors' performances and the visuals were all beautiful. Many of the creative decisions seemed inappropriate for the horror genre and it
I had a lot of fun. I Laughed a lot, squirmed a little, but I was rarely scared at all.

I loved all the actors' performances and the visuals were all beautiful.

Many of the creative decisions seemed inappropriate for the horror genre and it dampens a lot the horror elements. The movie is also very long, and it doesn't have the right pacing to mask this length.

If you care more about being entertained and empathizing with characters as opposed to feeling scared, You'll probably have a great time. Also skip the soda if you don't like getting up to pee - not kidding it's a really long movie :)
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
LucasfurtadoSep 6, 2019
Filme exelente maior continuacao de filme de terror não perdeu a essência do primeiro filme é ficou excelente
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
JortigoSep 5, 2019
It is solid from beginning to end. it's much better than the first part. The cast is simply PERFECT!!! It is incredibly BRIGHT
13 of 21 users found this helpful138
All this user's reviews
10
Moviecritic75Sep 5, 2019
Fantastic Film! 2019 must watch! The actors did a phenomenal job and even though this film was a little more jump scare heavy than the last one there was still some very genuinely creepy parts (plus the jumpscares were very well done)
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
kariyerrimSep 6, 2019
izlememek için ne sebebin var. adam 27 yıl beklemiş. sen izlememekten bahsediyon.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
GamingVeteranSep 6, 2019
It chapter two feels as if it tries too hard to maintain its formula, which stunned audiences in the first chapter. It chapter two just falls flat, it contains an excellent cast, which allows the plot to carry through. Most of all Bill HaderIt chapter two feels as if it tries too hard to maintain its formula, which stunned audiences in the first chapter. It chapter two just falls flat, it contains an excellent cast, which allows the plot to carry through. Most of all Bill Hader betrayal of Richie stands out in comparison to the other casting. The conclusion lets us down once again. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Jeromeleon96Sep 7, 2019
Such an great movie! Better than the first one.
I can’t understand, how this film could be bad.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
AcT1234567890Sep 5, 2019
Really good movie. Great character development, great dialogue and writing, not completely faithful to the book but faithful enough, great acting, scary moments, funny moments, intense moments, sad moments, horror, a bit of sci fi, improvedReally good movie. Great character development, great dialogue and writing, not completely faithful to the book but faithful enough, great acting, scary moments, funny moments, intense moments, sad moments, horror, a bit of sci fi, improved CGI, entertaining, fun, and goes perfect with Chapter 1 as one big movie/story. A job well done by everyone involved. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
JbwAllenSep 6, 2019
10. Really great film. I highly recommend it. Bill Nader is great and the standout but every is great in this film.
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
10
HamzahazizSep 6, 2019
Better than the first the performance of the cast is spot on ! Scarier than the first one and goes deeper . PS don't listen to the critics !
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
Elroysmith8888Sep 5, 2019
Is this movie perfect ? No, but it's still great or at least really good and really entertaining and fun time with great acting and such. I have no clue why critics on here, Rotten Tomatoes, and IMDB are hating on this film like they are withIs this movie perfect ? No, but it's still great or at least really good and really entertaining and fun time with great acting and such. I have no clue why critics on here, Rotten Tomatoes, and IMDB are hating on this film like they are with such low scores. Pathetic critics. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
JimmyJ7000Sep 6, 2019
An enthusiastic 2 thumbs up ! 5 star rating. 10/10. Awesome film. Too much ill timed comedy at times but that's just nitpicking. I loved all 2 hours and 49 minutes of this movie.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
RichietozierSep 6, 2019
Great movie great characters that’s it glorious movie they did the characters well and the movie well hope this movie gets a good box office
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
JakewaskeySep 6, 2019
Oscar worthy, not just a horror movie. This movie is an all around great movie with multiple emotions. 100% recommended.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
DragonMan85Sep 6, 2019
A new take on the old film. It recreates moments whilst not stepping on the old movies toes. It is good to see horror trying to make new moments rather than rehatching old tricks.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
Jonzy246Sep 6, 2019
Chapter 2 will be much enjoyable for people who have read the book. There is much more origin and storytelling in this one. I read a bad review which criticized one of the opening scenes as being irrelevant and too violent. There wasChapter 2 will be much enjoyable for people who have read the book. There is much more origin and storytelling in this one. I read a bad review which criticized one of the opening scenes as being irrelevant and too violent. There was nothing irrelevant about it. The scene showed IT waking up hungry and the mental influence that IT has over the people of Derry, especially the low bread hateful people. I liked it even better than the first. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
GreatballsSep 6, 2019
Fantastic horror movie! It is easily one of the best horror-movies alongside US and Scary Stories to tell in the dark this year.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsSep 8, 2019
IT: Chapter Two was one of my most anticipated films of the year. The 2017 IT is one of my favorite movies I have seen in the past decade. It's a masterpiece of horror that has so much to say about friendship and overcoming life's challenges,IT: Chapter Two was one of my most anticipated films of the year. The 2017 IT is one of my favorite movies I have seen in the past decade. It's a masterpiece of horror that has so much to say about friendship and overcoming life's challenges, and it's scary! Does the second installment that takes place 27 years in the future deliver on the promise the end of the first movie made?

No. Not quite.

IT: Chapter Two shines when it comes to it's acting performances. Bill Skarsgard remains an iconic Pennywise. The adult Losers are really good as well. James McAvoy and Jessica Chastain are amazing, but the real standout star is Bill Hader. Bill Hader brings so much sass and vulnerability to the adult Richie Tozier, and he is hands down the best part of the movie.

Where does Chapter 2 fall short?

The biggest and most notable problem this sequel has is that it is way too reliant on jumpscares, to the point where they became predictable and boring by the end of the film. On that note, the script is way too long and goes in circles, and this movie's three hour runtime could easily have been cut to an hour and a half. Another glaring problem is that the CGI in this sequel just doesn't look good, and a lot of the scares are so reliant on CGI that they aren't even scary. In fact, in a general aesthetic cinematography sense, the movie itself doesn't look as good as the first one, and it was really disappointing to see.

However, all that being said, I still found myself enjoying IT: Chapter Two. While the first movie is a philosophical portrait of young adulthood, this sequel is a carnival rollercoaster. IT: Chapter Two is tacky, but it's a hell of a ride.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Trineo99Sep 6, 2019
First of all, the adult cast was outstanding playing the older versions of the kids. Yes, some of them may not look like them physically but they still knocked their parts out of the water. For me there wasn’t a weak actor in this film butFirst of all, the adult cast was outstanding playing the older versions of the kids. Yes, some of them may not look like them physically but they still knocked their parts out of the water. For me there wasn’t a weak actor in this film but the two that stood out the most out to me was Bill Hader, who plays adult Richie, and James Ransone, who plays adult Eddie, because these two characters already were standouts in the first movie and they helped cement that status with what they did with their characters in this film. Bill Skarsgard once again was great as Pennywise and still doesn’t help with mine or anybody's fear of clowns. Now, this film is two-hours and forty-nine-minutes long with credits and two-hours and forty-five-minutes without credits and I’m going, to be honest with you at certain points you start to feel that time. There were some scenes that went on far too long that I think they could have cut down and also certain scenes that could have just been left out entirely. Apparently, this film was originally four-hours long and you can kind of see where they had to cut certain things out. But I will say that there are points in this film where you feel like a fly on the wall in this film and the time just flies by. I think that in this film they used more CGI compared to the first one and honestly it doesn’t look that great. This isn’t a spoiler cause the kid actors have said this in interviews but they had to de-age the kids in this film so they matched what they looked like during the first film and you don’t really notice it. Although I will say that in one scene a character doesn’t sound the same and it’s pretty obvious. But for the rest of the CGI, it just wasn’t the greatest. In the end, this film is a good follow-up to the first film with stellar performances and a great story. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
RyanElliottSep 12, 2019
i loved this movie! i would say chapter 1 was better but other then that, i loved it!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
KyleChohanSep 6, 2019
This movie was written extremely well and contains many complex layers of concepts from the novel to grasp.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ChrisshreyalSep 7, 2019
It's a great movie loved it . Great storyline , really great . A must watch movie
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
DTB9Sep 8, 2019
The sequel definitely exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed how they concluded the story while being visually disturbing for 2 and half hours
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Sep 7, 2019
Much like the protagonistic forces at work within the actual film, director Andy Muschietti returns to the eerie streets of Derry, Maine for "It: Chapter Two," an admittedly beefy and audacious attempt at what's left in the Stephen King tome;Much like the protagonistic forces at work within the actual film, director Andy Muschietti returns to the eerie streets of Derry, Maine for "It: Chapter Two," an admittedly beefy and audacious attempt at what's left in the Stephen King tome; one that's been received rather tepidly by critics and fans alike. And I don't know what's wrong me, man, but this is yet another 2019 movie that I'm a lot higher on than everybody else. I think what really pushed me towards loving this a bit more than the first one -- honestly -- was the fact that this is such a big swing. So many recent films have played things close to the vest in terms of stylistics that I honestly gave up hope for seeing something truly "out there." Man, is this movie WEIRD, and in the best way. So many trippy ideas executed in jaw-dropping fashion. So many narrative decisions that rail against the norms of modern storytelling. So much steering into the skid of cheese and oddity. "We tilt up to the stars, pushing in to reveal that they're not stars at all, but holes for puzzle pieces, with our view looking up from the table that an unfinished puzzle rests on." How in the hell did you come up with that shot? How can you not admire the attempt -- nay -- many attempts at making this undoubtedly imperfect narrative pop as a piece of cinematic storytelling? No, it isn't perfect. Some elements don't quite coalesce with the whole. But in a very wabi-sabi sort of way, "It: Chapter Two" absolutely did its job for me. And I'll gladly take home some Bill Hader as Richie Tozier. Put that in a doggie bag for me, thank you very much. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ZparklySep 9, 2019
This movie doesn't know if it wants to be scary, funny or romantic. It ends up with becoming none of them.

If I would watch this movie without knowing its a sequel I would've guessed its a parody on the first movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Mr_NobodyVSep 8, 2019
This was my first time going to the cinema to watch a movie in my life and I am glad I picked to watch IT2 of all other. Its better than the first movie, it does everything what IT did but alot more, with humor and Pennywise magic with it.This was my first time going to the cinema to watch a movie in my life and I am glad I picked to watch IT2 of all other. Its better than the first movie, it does everything what IT did but alot more, with humor and Pennywise magic with it. New actor and child actors returning - its is a joy watching them interact with each other and with the monster. Most likely it only problem I had with the movie is its runtime - its too damn long, with some parts of it could have been cut in the cutting room floor with no problem, but I see what the movie makers were trying to achieve, so its forgivable. If you liked the first it - then you will love this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
manningn15Sep 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It Chapter Two is my favorite horror movie of 2019, one of my favorite horror movies of all time, one of my favorite movies of 2019, and one of my favorite movies of all time. The writing and story were outstanding and really emotionally touching and heartbreaking. The acting was phenomenal especially from Bill Skarsgård, Bill Hader, James McAvoy, James Ransone, Jessica Chastain, Jay Ryan, Joan Gregson, Finn Wolfhard, Jack Dylan Grazer, Sophie Lillis, Teach Grant, Isaiah Mustafa, Jeremy Ray Taylor, and Jaeden Martell. The visual effects were excellent, creepy, and scary. The makeup effects were stupendous on Bill Skarsgård as Pennywise. The costumes were superb especially on Bill Skarsgård. The hairstyling was terrific especially on Bill Skarsgård, James McAvoy, Jessica Chastain, Bill Hader, Sophie Lillis, Jaeden Martell, Finn Wolfhard, and James Ransone. The musical score was fantastic and super creepy. The only thing I really didn't like was the scene where the to guys are being beaten up because they were gay. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MmartinezSep 7, 2019
Very nice and good work. I like this movie because is so diferent than the other movies. And we dont have any basic **** on this movie. It has a very good edition and the film is well directed.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Facu26Sep 8, 2019
Hay cierto publico al que le cuesta entender que esta no es una secuela, es una continuación. La misma historia. A mi parecer creo que está bien lograda, vemos a un Pennywise más preparado, a un elenco con mucha conexión, una pelicula másHay cierto publico al que le cuesta entender que esta no es una secuela, es una continuación. La misma historia. A mi parecer creo que está bien lograda, vemos a un Pennywise más preparado, a un elenco con mucha conexión, una pelicula más cruda y oscura. Andy Muschietti logra volver a capturar la escencia de la primera con grandes actuaciones, flashbacks de el joven elenco y una banda sonora increible. Hay una gran mejoría en la producción y eso puede verse, no solo en el CGI, sino también en la calidad.
Apreciación personal, la duración de la pelicula me pareció justa, en ningun momento la sentí pesada. Lo unico que al principio tiene un ritmo lento y despues va acelerando.
Satisfecho, contento. Orgulloso de nuestro querido director.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Thekingof45Sep 7, 2019
Awesome ..... The history it's totally good A good final for a good chapter
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Nordic6lackSep 7, 2019
Movie ties the story well and a fitting ending. Pennywise is as ever scary.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Guerjes2155Sep 7, 2019
By far one of the best movies of 2019. It: Chapter Two was what I expected and it met my expectations.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Y-0-l-0Sep 7, 2019
The movie starts good and end good although sad but anyone who read the novel or saw the old IT movies will know. The movie is not like the conjuring or any like other horror movies its not ghost based or even jump scares its sociologicalThe movie starts good and end good although sad but anyone who read the novel or saw the old IT movies will know. The movie is not like the conjuring or any like other horror movies its not ghost based or even jump scares its sociological some needs to understand that. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DenzGVSep 8, 2019
esta buena pelicula me gusto mucho trata de eso de vuelta y los perdedores grandes
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
JodilinesSep 9, 2019
This film took way too many turns, the plot points that had no conclusion and were not relevant to the story made you forget what the film was supposed to be about. Not to mention the flashbacks to events that were contradictory to the ITThis film took way too many turns, the plot points that had no conclusion and were not relevant to the story made you forget what the film was supposed to be about. Not to mention the flashbacks to events that were contradictory to the IT Chapter One film. If it wasn’t for the incredible CGI the movie was wasn’t worth seeing until the end Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
KelseggSep 9, 2019
I get how people would say that the comedy and the romance parts are out of place. However, I kind of disagree! I get why they added humour. It's a story about friends after all. Seeing how they joked with each other gave me the old losersI get how people would say that the comedy and the romance parts are out of place. However, I kind of disagree! I get why they added humour. It's a story about friends after all. Seeing how they joked with each other gave me the old losers club vibes. It felt authentic. Moreover, about the romantic scenes: they were not out of place. If you read/watched the 1st movie, you'd see how bev felt after reading the poem. Up until now! I don't think it's cheap romance, I think it's character development. Overall, I loved everything about this movie. It felt like I was in it. It's that good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
bnoland8549Sep 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, the "Destroyer of Worlds" was defeated by....being ridiculed? REALLY!!! This was one of the biggest movie let downs ever. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ladygreeneyesSep 11, 2019
I love this movie!!! There are differences from the book, however I think that the changes were perfectly placed so that even knowing the story I still jumped out of my seat a few times. My husband is not big on scary movies so the touch ofI love this movie!!! There are differences from the book, however I think that the changes were perfectly placed so that even knowing the story I still jumped out of my seat a few times. My husband is not big on scary movies so the touch of comedy was also great. He enjoyed a movie that he normally would not have gone to. we laughed, we cried, and saw some things that came out of our nightmares as well as giving us some new ones. All around great movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
swegwaySep 11, 2019
After watching It: Chapter Two yesterday, I can say that I really enjoyed it. Even though the movie was almost 3h long it kept a good pacing and I was never bored. I know people say the movie was too long, but as a reader of the original bookAfter watching It: Chapter Two yesterday, I can say that I really enjoyed it. Even though the movie was almost 3h long it kept a good pacing and I was never bored. I know people say the movie was too long, but as a reader of the original book , I can confidently say that it’s not. It is a challenge in itself to summarize a 1200 page book in less than 5,5h of total movie time. In my opinion some important parts of the book were left out, like Henry almost killing Mike thus Mike has to go to a hospital and deal with Zombies from Pennywise . Then the rest of the Loosers Club building an engery-circle to give Mike power to defeat those Zombies. But all in all it was a great movie.
8.4/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
NebinSep 13, 2019
It Chapter 2 is an overly long, dull sequel to its fantastic predecessor. It Chapter 2 has structural, pacing and CGI problems. However the main issue for me with this movie is the final Act; after almost 4 and half hours of build up (ItIt Chapter 2 is an overly long, dull sequel to its fantastic predecessor. It Chapter 2 has structural, pacing and CGI problems. However the main issue for me with this movie is the final Act; after almost 4 and half hours of build up (It Chapter 1& 2) it ends in an underwhelming, predictable note. The only reason this movie was watchable was because of Bill Hader's stellar performance which, in the end fell prey to bad execution and poor adaptation of source material. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
usharaSep 6, 2019
terrible movie. No proper storyline with so many things that are not explained properly . Story has lot of holes in the plot.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
8
adamlisSep 6, 2019
In my opinion, IT 2 was a very good movie. I enjoyed the horrors scenes. Sometimes you could predict what was going to happen, so it became funny. I laughed a bunch of times during the movie. Other times you did not know what was going, soIn my opinion, IT 2 was a very good movie. I enjoyed the horrors scenes. Sometimes you could predict what was going to happen, so it became funny. I laughed a bunch of times during the movie. Other times you did not know what was going, so it was scary. The movie had a great mix of horror and comedy. Going into the movie, I thought that it would be terrifying, but after watching it, I saw that it was not a top-notch horror film like, The Shining. There was maybe a bit too many special effects used, but the effects were done and incorporated very well. I really enjoyed how throughout the movie, the characters were gaining there memories of them as kids during the first IT movie. There is an outstanding transition in the movie between the characters having flashbacks and the characters being in the present. Overall, IT Chapter 2 was done very well and if you are willing to sit for a 2 hour and 45 minute movie, are a big horror fan and do not want to see an insanely scary horror movie, or if you do, I highly recommend going to see this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
MetaSidiusSep 6, 2019
Unnecessary and banal social messages. Mediocre and overextended in length. It had nice moments but the cgi just killed them. The actors were really great, especially Pennywise. It could have been a lot better.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Sep 7, 2019
I wasn't at all a fan of the first 'It' film from 2 years ago. I found most of the child actors rather annoying, not to mention they made it feel like a wannabe Spielberg movie more often than not, and the scare attempts felt far too forcedI wasn't at all a fan of the first 'It' film from 2 years ago. I found most of the child actors rather annoying, not to mention they made it feel like a wannabe Spielberg movie more often than not, and the scare attempts felt far too forced and in-your-face for my liking. So I proceeded with caution going into this film with my fingers crossed that the adult cast could help bring something new and fun to it, and while the likes of Jessica Chastain, James McAvoy, Bill Hader, etc. all give great performances and are definitely much more bearable than the kids, unfortunately the same scare tactics are in place in this film as well. Jump scares you can see coming from a mile away are plentiful in this, and I almost always felt like I knew what was going to happen next. Furthermore, that hit or miss de-aging technology was used for the kid actors during many flashback scenes, and it looked quite spotty to me often times. And while it didn't necessarily feel long, it definitely was long, pushing the 3-hour mark. Overall, if you enjoyed the first 'It', there should be plenty to admire about this one, such as the spooky atmosphere and great performances from the cast, but if you're like me and you weren't won over by the first film's style and scare attempts, this one likely won't quite win you over, although I will say that it does wrap things up pretty nicely, and I'm about to state a seemingly unpopular opinion when I say that I did like this one slightly more than the first, but not by much. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
4
SecretS1xSep 7, 2019
Production Company: "IT: Chapter One did great at the box office! How can we make more money?!"
Lazy Writers:"....um, the exact same movie but with adults (who have forgotten then events from the first movie and takes away the thrills as
Production Company: "IT: Chapter One did great at the box office! How can we make more money?!"
Lazy Writers:"....um, the exact same movie but with adults (who have forgotten then events from the first movie and takes away the thrills as adults should he able to handle themselves better than children), a boring fetch quest to drag out the time and we'll even re-use footage from the previous movie..."
Production Company:"....we LOVE it!!"

Review: Wait for IT (lol) to arrive on Netflix. Not worth your money and 3.0hrs of your time to see it at the cinema.
Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
6
beachildSep 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had great expectations, but I think this movie is a huge missed opportunity. I wished I could have a "IT" horror movie, but I only got a "IT" funny movie. I wanted to be scared, to go back home and feel frightened, but I only felt disappointed. The best part is in the development of the relationship between characters, but this should not be the best thing in a horror movie!

Two big "whys", among the others:

Why did Eddie react in that funny way when stabbed in the mouth? I mean, it's not a Ben Stiller movie, it's IT!

Why do we need humor in every scene, even in the most intense ones? Someone wrote it's the "Marvel Syndrome" and I agree: this was meant to be a horror movie based on an amazing novel!

By the way, in this movie not even jump scares managed to scare me...
Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
5
GreggabSep 6, 2019
It's average, a little bit stupid and boring some times, with lots of bad cgi and poorly placed comedy.
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
6
flametail23Sep 7, 2019
Yes this movie is over long and very silly at points but, with that being said it is a mostly enjoyable movie with a fantastic cast that all have their moment to shine. My main complaint comes from the fact that there is a lack of PennywiseYes this movie is over long and very silly at points but, with that being said it is a mostly enjoyable movie with a fantastic cast that all have their moment to shine. My main complaint comes from the fact that there is a lack of Pennywise throughout this film and an over abundance of cheap looking CGI creatures. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
sourmilokoSep 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is a total cheese fest. The horror relies far too much on CGI that looks absolutely ridiculous. the entire movie feels like a comedy with joke interludes at almost every 5 minutes to the point where the audience in the theater was laughing at the movie instead of with the movie. Also the film seems to give pennywise a physical body that he can interact with the physical world where as in the book, pennywise is merely a figment of their imagination, and then flicks fear through visions and hallucinations. This is where I get into my homophobic rant...The whole fact that Richie is gay is totally subtext... And it's strange that there is never any mention of it besides pennywise stating he knows his secret. But even pennywise won't say the word gay... Which should be the most terrifying word... It's like the movie didn't want the character to come out, and it's a really **** ending to Richie's story Arch, especially for a 2019 remake. The arcade part came from nowhere... Asking a friend to play games with you for longer is now somehow gay, every straight kid in the 80's would have acted the same... And the gay bashing had nothing, I mean absolutely nothing to do with the plot... It's meant to act as an inciting indecent, but what would have been more relevant is a missing child again 27 years later, then calling the friends back. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
Stallonefan80xSep 7, 2019
Dumb,long,extremely bad acted,doesnt know whether it wants to be a comedy or horror movie.Way overlong couldnt wait for it to be over.Worst movie ive seen in years maybe ever!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
MetaflixSep 7, 2019
'It: Chapter Two' is a classic sophomore slump. Not only does the film fail to fully differentiate itself from the first installment, but it is overly long with a bloated three hour runtime. And as Alfred Hitchcock once said: "The length'It: Chapter Two' is a classic sophomore slump. Not only does the film fail to fully differentiate itself from the first installment, but it is overly long with a bloated three hour runtime. And as Alfred Hitchcock once said: "The length of a film should be directly related to endurance of the human bladder." Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
HorrorseekerSep 8, 2019
It chapter two sinks with it's creative cast and crew as long with the director this is a poor adaption with more laughs then scares plus the movie is not scary at all the film has uneven plot characters have no chemistry theirs no characterIt chapter two sinks with it's creative cast and crew as long with the director this is a poor adaption with more laughs then scares plus the movie is not scary at all the film has uneven plot characters have no chemistry theirs no character development it chapter two is unfaithful to the voice of king and the finale was a huge let down if you think the 1990 mini series is terrible watch chapter one and two the miniseries is looking very good right now Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
HamfamspamsSep 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It: Chapter Two is bad.

As a fan of the book and first film, there were a few scenes I enjoyed and though there are one or two performances that hit right, they dropped the ball hard with this one.

Starting with where the bad of this film begins, the writing is awful. It tried and failed to capture the parts of the book and Chapter One that intrigued so many people.

Then, there’s the acting. I expected so much more from such huge names, who I’m an active fan of because of their talent, and I think the biggest disappointment for me was Jessica Chastain’s Beverly. Being the powerhouse of an actress she is, I expected her usual quality of performance but something was lacking. It could have to do with the writing, but I can’t pinpoint it. Bill Hader and James Ransone have satisfactory performances. Isaiah didn’t feel like Mike, though he is a good actor. Jay Ryan was alright, I guess? And while his performance as Bill was good, James McAvoy’s American accent took me out of the story a lot and he, like everyone else, didn’t feel like his character to me. To flip to a positive take though, the two actors I do think had the best performances are Andy Bean and Jaeden Martell. Andy Bean was the only adult Loser who felt like their character and delivered in his portrayal (though James Ransone also came super close) of his younger counterpart despite only being in a few minutes of the movie. He perfectly captured Stan better than any of the other adults did with their characters. And, then, Jaeden Martell gave such a quality performance as young Bill with only so little time, even stealing the screen from James McAvoy for a few moments. You can tell they both understand their characters deeply and it shines through in the end, with their performances being so natural that they seamlessly slip into the roles of their characters without fault.

It was not a scary film, which is where it fails as a horror movie, and the only scary part was the hate crime that opened the film. (Or if you’re like me, you’d agree that the changing of Eddie’s last words was a horribly scary part)

When it comes down to it, it’s a rushed attempt to recreate the magic they had in the book and while making It: Chapter One and it did not deliver. Just reinforcing how wonderful the book and first film are, Chapter Two is not scary, lacks the charm and charisma of the first film, and lacked good writing at its core. Rushed, low quality, and corny can all be used to describe this, as sad as it is to say. With only a few good performances and scenes, It: Chapter Two gets 2/10 for me.

I’m incredibly disappointed in the movie that was put out and down to the core, it starts with how badly it was written and the ripple effects of that couldn’t be outrun. A horrible movie, through and through. Forced jokes, bad writing, and overacting killed this film for me.

While entertaining at surface value, it lacked everything that made you love the original story and Chapter One. And, more importantly, it didn’t feel like It.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
dustinthewind2Sep 8, 2019
I enjoyed every minute of It. I'm a fan of the book and didn't mind the changes. The casting was great, again, Pennywise was great, again, and it felt like a natural conclusion to the first.

My only problem with it was the lame way they
I enjoyed every minute of It. I'm a fan of the book and didn't mind the changes. The casting was great, again, Pennywise was great, again, and it felt like a natural conclusion to the first.

My only problem with it was the lame way they decided to split up to find their tokens (though necessary to tell the story the writers wanted) when they all know the most important thing to stay safe is to stay together. But that can be explained away as It swaying the Losers into an opportunity for It to try to scare them one by one once again.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileySep 8, 2019
It: Chapter Two is a great continuation of the first chapter and a great conclusion to the It story as a whole. It takes place 27 years later, the kids have grown up and split apart as friends. When Pennywise returns, they band back togetherIt: Chapter Two is a great continuation of the first chapter and a great conclusion to the It story as a whole. It takes place 27 years later, the kids have grown up and split apart as friends. When Pennywise returns, they band back together to defeat him once and for all. The new actors playing the roles of the grown up kids do a fantastic job. Not only do they look similar, they act the part and really feel like a natural grown up version of each kid. There are flashbacks throughout the movie of the kids from the first movie, including new scenes that were really nice to see and help tie together both movies. Each character gets a good amount of focus, the movie takes time to explore each characters backstory from when they were kids to where they ended up as an adult. Pennywise of course is great in the movie as well, along with all the scares. This movie definitely feels more mature than the first (as they are all adults now) but it still has a lot of humour. It is also definitely scarier than the first movie as well. Overall it was great, if you liked the first movie this one lives up to the same quality. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
heltondrewSep 6, 2019
Really great flick! The adult themes in the book are much more nuanced and this does a wonderful job re-connecting us with these characters in their current state. Not even to mention the task of putting a creature that can't even beReally great flick! The adult themes in the book are much more nuanced and this does a wonderful job re-connecting us with these characters in their current state. Not even to mention the task of putting a creature that can't even be explained in the book on screen. The cast is fantastically up to the task and the movie only dragged at around the 1-hour mark. Before that and after it flew and I was on the edge of my seat. Truthful to the text, funny, deep, smart, and scary in different ways. Ch. 1 was DEFINITELY a "horror" flick. This one was more of an adventure story with some scares and eerie things mixed in. They are adults, they're harder to scare. Makes sense to me. Great adaption of a great book. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
d0vla11Sep 6, 2019
A satisfying end. The actors did an amazing job, perfect cast for the older fellas. At some points the movie feels longer than it should have been, but it still holds the attention.

I find the first chapter to be the better, but i got to
A satisfying end. The actors did an amazing job, perfect cast for the older fellas. At some points the movie feels longer than it should have been, but it still holds the attention.

I find the first chapter to be the better, but i got to still recommend this one! :)
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Hugi09Sep 7, 2019
Meilleur que le premier !!! A couper le souffle !!! D’un jamais vu!!! Génial !!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
JoesSep 6, 2019
Excelente película mi única queja es que dura demasiado pero del resto está bien lo mejor es el elenco que elijieron para el grupo sin duda la mejor peli de terror de este año
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
GoodNBadReviewsSep 6, 2019
The movie delivers what it promised, it is an amazing comedy thriller on the same page as great movies such as jurassic world and lives up to the reputation of the first, its best to go into this movie knowing that it isn't a horror as thatThe movie delivers what it promised, it is an amazing comedy thriller on the same page as great movies such as jurassic world and lives up to the reputation of the first, its best to go into this movie knowing that it isn't a horror as that will definately dampen your experience. The de aging and voice changers for thd children where extremely bad however which brings down the overall aesthetic of the movie.
Bill skarsgard is not as good in this movie either but the story and adult cast are amazing. 8 out of 10 balloons
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
NachinSep 9, 2019
Sadly, "It" suffers of an identity crisis. It doesn't know what it is. I thought I was about to see an horror movie, it ended up being a comedy. The abundance of CGI and the childish jokes just broke any credibility of the movie. Almost everySadly, "It" suffers of an identity crisis. It doesn't know what it is. I thought I was about to see an horror movie, it ended up being a comedy. The abundance of CGI and the childish jokes just broke any credibility of the movie. Almost every scary scene ended up by being cringy moments, very cheap scares! A great cast was wasted by a lacking script. To avoid at all cost ! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
onlineaddictSep 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's so good, it doesn't feel like 3 hours at all! Comparing to Avengers where i and other friends of mine always sleep watching all of them, i find that NO ONE in our theatre even went to the toilet while it runs. Everyone seems like enjoying it. The humor, the scare (yep jumpscare included), the drama, and Losers Club chemistry were perfect. Feel like they're really bestfriends even though adult Losers looked like don't have strong bond as when they're kids. It's much better then the what 1990 miniseries actors show back then. They didnt feel like close at all. And i lovee the way they show Chud ritual, and use bullying as how to defeat Pennywise (since they knew how little they felt when being bullied). Some cameos are exhilarating! I try my best to not screaming or clapping inside Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
ganoncrotchSep 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is an absolute mess, there is the potential for it to have been great with some of the special effects and acting being passable or great in places, but the editing destroyed it completely, it either dwells too long on the same thing to the point where there is no suspense or it simply drops plot points without ever showing you their conclusion.

For example the opening scene which people are talking about, There's a gay couple, they get into a fight, punched to the point of near death and chucked in a river, IT reaches for one of them but not the other and .... that's that, the people who were attacked are never mentioned again in the film also the group of murderous teens that killed one of them are never mentioned again and never face reprucussions or anything for their act, they also presumably completely get away with murder (literally) so they are going about Derry being evil after the movie is concluded (?)

The little boy who now lives in Professor X's childhood house... was he killed in the hall of mirrors? was that an illusion made to make the Prof. fearful? his parents never look for him, they never find the body of him, they do not investigate by returning to the childhood house to see was the kid ever really there or was it like the saggy tit monster, just an illusion to give yet another jump scare.

The little girl under the bleachers is the same, she's there, she's killed presumably... nothing happens, also IT doesn't remotely try to scare her before eating her face so I'm guessing her meat tastes like **** to him, dunno why he would have been drooling to eat her at that point in the film, she hasn't been scared and it's shown that IT has eaten since he woke up ... so.... he's drooling because he did it in the first movie and people said it looked cool (?) who knows.

But like I said, this movie's editing kills it, you get scene after scene of the exact same thing just with different characters. Mike Calls person 1, that person is scared and shocked, they stumble about.... okay... Mike calls person 2, that person is scared, they stumble about, Okay... any audience member could now understand he will ca.... MIKE CALLS PERSON 3, THEY ARE SCARED, STUMBLE AROUND... OKAY MOVIE, WE GET IT MIKE IS GONNA... MIKE CALLS PERSON 4, Guess what happens? did you guess A.They are scared, stumble around and nothing else happens or B. They are scared, stumble around and nothing happens or C. They are scared, stumble around then kill themselves because of fear. or D. They are scared stumble around and nothing happens. Ding ding... all of the above happen, scene for scene it's all the exact same except one guy cuts his wrists in a bath, in all honesty by that point in the movie I was thinking he was the lucky one and considered joining him.

But the group get together in Derry, they have a chat, there is a literally laughable scare scene in their meeting meal and then they go their separate ways because they don't wanna fight IT again. Then each one of the characters goes their own way.... meets IT and gets scared each scene goes on for about 10-15 minutes and there is 7 (?) of them back to back, it's a case of Character goes somewhere, IT scares them, Character runs off X7 it is actually torture to sit through, there is no fear of any of the characters getting killed, it's just a boring mess.

As for the ending, the things they spent the last 2 and a half hours collecting do nothing, so they call IT a stupid clown who then turns into a baby and they collectively reach into it's chest and pull out IT's heart... then ... for no reason at all they crush it in front of him, I mean... I'm going to take a wild guess that if you remove the heart from a creature that creature is then dead because it doesn't have a heart, but I guess the crushing of the heart made for a cool visual, if you like to see a pointless scene of desecrating the heart of a dead thing.

This movie was as badly put together as suicide squad it felt insulting and by the end of the movie in my theatre an entire row of people left the cinema with 30 mins to go and one person got up and clapped after it ended, when people were shocked at him clapping he laughed and said "I was clapping because the **** thing ended" and pretty much the whole cinema just burst into laughter, there was laughing during all the scenes with some of the creatures and all of Bill Haders comedy which worked but destroyed this mess even further.

Left laughing at how terrible this was and insulted at how it cost money and time which I'll never get back.

Don't go see this ****
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
5
duckhostSep 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being honest, It was a surprise for me back in 2017. It was an honest and simple straight to the point adaptation of King's material, the casting really worked and the movie felt heartwarming and sweet and sadly this doesn't apply here. Chapter two is a movie that doesn't understand the purpose of mistery. What I loved about it is that the new cast of the now adults loser club have chemistry and some of them have been in other movies together so that was a great decision by Warner Bros but thats it. The story is what suffers the most, explaining what Pennywise is made of kills any lack of substance that the story had, the story feels very disjointed especially with the flashbacks and this movie retcons the first It for some reason and now the kids had, even more encounters with the dancing clown after the second act of the first movie which they never mention at all. Also, there are some characters that don't have a purpose in the story Bowers is a great example, he is just an annoyance through the entire movie. Also the script inst very good, especially the dialogue. Imprompt jokes are made, bad dialogue is delivered. In a nutshell Chapter One was a great surprise but Chapter Two can't set the bar higher than the first movie did, the best part was the cast but sometimes you shouldn't give the answer to your audience because life is better with a little bit of mistery. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
4
LamontRaymondSep 5, 2019
The maker of this film clearly is a fan of the Nightmare on Elm Street series, and that's too bad. The final third is absolutely interminable, and even when it's "over", it won't end! The adult parts are just not good enough. The onlyThe maker of this film clearly is a fan of the Nightmare on Elm Street series, and that's too bad. The final third is absolutely interminable, and even when it's "over", it won't end! The adult parts are just not good enough. The only genuinely good parts are those that are most clear - brutally killing the most innocent. And the hate crimes are super shocking - but gratuitous. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
5
CrimsonFlushSep 5, 2019
Just an average horror movie this time around, not as scary. To do justice to the books it would have been better as a TV series where you could flesh out the 2nd half of the book better without seeming rushed. The first movie was able to getJust an average horror movie this time around, not as scary. To do justice to the books it would have been better as a TV series where you could flesh out the 2nd half of the book better without seeming rushed. The first movie was able to get away with this, but this suffers from it. Even saying that, it was a very long movie and dragged at times. The CGI effect to de-age the kids and change pitch of their voices was distracting. Just not the same level of horror with the grown-ups unfortunately. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
3
Noname_Sep 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To repetitive, very predictable, the faces of not just pennywise but also the “zombie/monsters” weren’t even scary I only jumped once.
And I was falling asleep due to how boring this movie was.
Pennywise isn’t creepy as the first was.

The jump scares in the first one was WAY better but soon did become predictable.
This movie was dragged out WAY too long than need be, and there was way too much going on with all the extra things added into it.
It’s a waste of money at that price I would say sell tickets for $10 a piece because that’s what it’s worth is.
The new pennywise is the **** though,
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
3
AragonDriftSep 6, 2019
So very disappointing. Episodic and repetitive, the filmmakers start out throwing everything at the audience and find themselves no where to go with no way to increase the tension. You cant accelerate to ten if you start there. MostSo very disappointing. Episodic and repetitive, the filmmakers start out throwing everything at the audience and find themselves no where to go with no way to increase the tension. You cant accelerate to ten if you start there. Most disappointing though was the way in which the movie exploits racist and homophobic violence as a shorthand for their narrative and scene setting. Not only that but the tired stereotypes of Native Americans shows the exploitative attitudes of the film makers. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
0
nognowSep 5, 2019
CGI-heavy, jump Scare **** fest.
What's good, comes from the source material.
4 of 20 users found this helpful416
All this user's reviews
1
DavefraySep 5, 2019
Ending was bad. Too long. Child actors are better that the adults. People left during the movie in my theater.
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
3
Jduardom91Sep 8, 2019
IT 2 o El arte de meter relleno.

Es una película que podría haberse terminado en hora y media, y que han estirado como un chicle para sacarse de la chistera un film de casi tres horas con muchísimo relleno, con paja sobrante y que en mi
IT 2 o El arte de meter relleno.

Es una película que podría haberse terminado en hora y media, y que han estirado como un chicle para sacarse de la chistera un film de casi tres horas con muchísimo relleno, con paja sobrante y que en mi caso llega a molestar. El concepto que tienen los responsables de esta película de un buen guión es ''meter cosas que no salían en la primera parte'' (por ejemplo, el refugio en el bosque o los ataques de Pennywise a cada niño por independiente cuando se pelean), y ''flasbacks para definir a personajes que ya fueron definidos antaño''. No hay gore, y cuando lo hay pasan a otra cosa rápidamente, apenas sí hay sustos, y con un CGI de la época de la playstation 2. En definitiva, se trata de una producción aburrida hecha con muy poca pasión, con escenas que no tienen ningún sentido dentro de la trama, personajes terribles y con un enfrentamiento final en el que el todopoderoso payaso es derrotado por el poder del bullying. Para mí ha supuesto una broma de mal gusto, sobretodo después de estar dos años esperando la segunda parte. HUYAN!
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
PauloReviewsSep 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "It: Chapter 2" is finally in theaters and people can now watch it... brave people. Not just brave because of the silly jumpscares in this movie, but also because of the movie's runtime, which is... yep, it's long, repetitive and quite unnecessary in many parts.

If I were to choose a scene from this movie that I felt was completely redundant to the overall plot of the film and remove it... we would get a 90-minute movie. That illustrates how the sequel of the remake "IT" felt to me.

Look at the character of Bowers, for example. I thought he died in the last movie. Why is he in this movie? To create more jumpscares? Usually, with characters like him, he would be what we call "plot device". He was a... what, scare device?

The scene with the little girl being eaten? Scary, but what's the point of that scene? Pennywise likes to eat children? We already knew that from the first film!

The cast is pretty good (with Bill Hader being outstanding) and Bill Skarsgård does a brilliant job, once again, as Pennywise. The cinematography is passable, not as good as in the first movie.

There are some entertaining scenes, but I felt as though in the second half of the movie they couldn't help themselves but to throw jumpscares in every scene, which made it more predictable as the film went along.

The charm from the first chapter is mostly gone. The sequence of events throughout this movie is very haphazard - especially in the beginning. The momentum loses its way towards the end and quite honestly, I wasn't expecting the exposition in some scenes.

The standoff is very disappointing, but the performances are solid enough to overcome it.

Did "IT: Chapter 2" float?

Yes... slowly.

5/10
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
VitorCarvalhoSep 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Even though there are satisfying moments, the overall experience was awful. Pretty disorganized storyline, there isn't suspense or character development, therefore the majority of deaths are ones I didn't care about. They should have focused on Pennywise Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
JaboZzSep 5, 2019
Garbage like chapter one.... Muschietti is the worst director! 90's tv series was better than this piece of ****
2 of 20 users found this helpful218
All this user's reviews
4
tropicAcesSep 5, 2019
Overlong, inconsistent and possibly homophobic, this is just of big disappointing waste of time.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
DavidTovar29Sep 6, 2019
i was wondering bout this movie, the last one bored me a lot, HOPE THIS TIME AINT LIKE 2017.
ya veo cómo le llega su Hard White a IT 2
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
7
ArkonBladeSep 7, 2019
Loved the first one and the second one is good. The acting is very good, It has some good scares, The story is decent, and Bill Skarsgård is fantastic as Pennywise. Issues I had is its too long of a movie. 3 hours is pretty nuts for a horrorLoved the first one and the second one is good. The acting is very good, It has some good scares, The story is decent, and Bill Skarsgård is fantastic as Pennywise. Issues I had is its too long of a movie. 3 hours is pretty nuts for a horror movie. I wish they spent some of that time explaining more what IT is. I've read the book so I know but I went and seen this with a bunch of people and the question they kept asking when we left is whats is IT?? where did it come from? It would have been nice if they explored IT more. Way to much comedy. Even though the jokes landed and weren't bad they just had way to many of them and I felt it hurt the atmosphere of the movie. Some of the jokes were really badly timed and put in right after I good scare which killed the mood. Overall good movie. I would say the first one was a bit better though but its a worthy sequel to the first. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
thegraveSep 9, 2019
I liked this movie a lot. I’m a big Stephen King fan and I like the new Pennywise. I think they did a good job with the script to make it make sense for having to be so condensed. I agree with the cuts and alterations they made as well.I liked this movie a lot. I’m a big Stephen King fan and I like the new Pennywise. I think they did a good job with the script to make it make sense for having to be so condensed. I agree with the cuts and alterations they made as well. Also I thought the adult casting and Bill Hader were great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksSep 7, 2019
It: Chapter 2 is better than most of the critics are saying. It is a bit long in parts and there is so much character development it can get tedious, however the jump scares are there and the heart is there. My only complaint is that theIt: Chapter 2 is better than most of the critics are saying. It is a bit long in parts and there is so much character development it can get tedious, however the jump scares are there and the heart is there. My only complaint is that the adults argue more than the kids did in the first film and after a while you think, 'guys, maybe if you listened to each other this film wouldn't be three hours long'. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Sep 9, 2019
solid sequel. The cast is great but it lacks the ingredients that made the first one great. Still would recommend checking it out though, its a fun film nevertheless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Creeper3455Sep 8, 2019
Bill Hader having an Oscar win is more believable than everyone whining and crying about Robert Downey Jr. having an Oscar just because “OOH,HE HAD A GREAT ARC IN THE MCU!”....Uhhh,ok?

For the whole time,IT Chapter 2 seemed like a sleeper
Bill Hader having an Oscar win is more believable than everyone whining and crying about Robert Downey Jr. having an Oscar just because “OOH,HE HAD A GREAT ARC IN THE MCU!”....Uhhh,ok?

For the whole time,IT Chapter 2 seemed like a sleeper excitement movie for me,even if that meant I liked Chapter One fine enough. But color me shocked,there was a lot to enjoy about this one. This was a pleasant surprise from start to finish. And a lot of that is devoted to Pennywise,who's basically Thanos in reverse. From the guy who appears just for cool lines and terror to the guy who appears just for plain Terror. Yeah,there’s the same “I CONQUER WORLDS” motivation from *insert villain here*,but hey,it’s still shocking that they find newer ways to mix that up. It's also thanks to him that this movie was a beautiful symphony of Horror segments,with the last fight being fun,albeit thrilling. As the story is easily the weakest part of it,I can't fault it at the same time for the beauty of the technical side. It also makes space for the perfect ensemble in action,from James McAvoy to Jessica Chastain to Bill Hader and Isaiah Mustafa. As well as Bill Skarsgard,who slaps the role of Pennywise. The technical side just sprawls of imagination,from a zombie-looking aunt with multiple mouths throughout her body to a head with crawling spider legs,the imagination never stops here,all accompanied by Benjamin Wallfisch’s now interesting score. And hey,cool cameos from Andy Muschietti and Stephen King (certainly better than the last movie that had random cameos). Bu all of that doesn’t mean IT’s perfect.

Again,the movie is 2h50’,so beware of your patience in the theater,unless you’re shocked by the horror scenes. Sometimes,it feels like a Marvel movie,since there may as well be a moment that makes you feel any emotion that gets instantly interrupted by a joke. Because we’re not overly serious and dark,y’know? And maybe it was better to not add the Deleted Scenes from IT Chapter One,since they’re just there to amp up the runtime. Cute flashbacks,but still pretty unnecessary. And the sequence I was most looking forward to (the Circus Mirror sequence) lasted just as much as a random commercial. A real shame,since the trailers made me super stoked to see how that’d play out. And a slight warning,there are some sequences with flashing lights that may annoy somebody,and the beginning may piss off someone,based on gender. But overall still,what a surprising experience! I was expecting a pleasing finale,but what I had was a big thinkamajig of scares,thrills and Dancing Clowns. I had a blast at IT Chapter Two,and I’m pretty sure you’ll have a blast too. They all have a blast down here...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
fachrulfebrianSep 6, 2019
Chapter one is better than chapter two. Fortunately its still dark and little creepy. I think its good
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
samsterSep 7, 2019
I agree that the plot was not as good as the first movie. And they did overuse CGI a bit. But overall I think it was way more epic and had some very good jump scares! Also the cast was phenomenal and overall it made for a fun scary movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
OMGItsaG4merSep 7, 2019
Lesser than Chapter One but more than worthy. More humour and gore violence, although having less of a horror movie feeling. Outstanding cast choices and good performances. Satisfying ending with a good closure feeling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JayCriticSep 8, 2019
I was really pleased with the overall movie, as it followed some parts of the book perfectly. Bill Hader gives the best performance with witty humor, but can also delve into serious and dramatic sense. The cinematography is great with itsI was really pleased with the overall movie, as it followed some parts of the book perfectly. Bill Hader gives the best performance with witty humor, but can also delve into serious and dramatic sense. The cinematography is great with its flashbacks and cuts. The movie has a very dark tone that fits well with facing the past. However, it's not perfect. The pacing feels a little rushed in the first half of the movie and sometimes the scares could be predictable, due to some being in the trailers. Overall, I would definitely recommend seeing the film, but I think the first is better. But this is still a very good film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Aether25Sep 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It: Chapter 2 was a slightly disappointing follow up to the first one. While it stays true to it's source material, which is one of the good things, is suffers from poor pacing and some minor writing flaws. There is such a thing as too much humor, especially in horror, while the first excelled at placing humor in the right places, but more importantly, keeping it out of places it shouldn't.
This is partly where "IT 2" fails. In my opinion, when you see the villain at his weakest point, you really shouldn't be going for a laugh. The audience in my theater was laughing, which I'm sure want the goal of the director, but the humor that got forced in Durning the climax really affected the third act as a whole.
There were also a few scenes that had absolutely no point if being in the movie other than to pad out the runtime (Which is 2.5 hours). I can distinctly remember one scene that dragged on for at least 3 minutes longer than it had to be.
Unfortunately, the 2nd installment couldn't live up to the first, not only in the things listed above, but also the true horror factor of the movie. It's not really that frightening of a movie, sure there are a few jump scares here and there, but jumpscares add nothing to the scariness if there isn't some true horror behind it.

6/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DevilBr0Sep 7, 2019
7 is the best rate can i give this movie. This product is not scary ( i don't understand why movie have this genre in title ), story is not bad, in places even catches. Actor play have Mcavoy, Hader, Ransone and Chastane sometimes. Mustapha7 is the best rate can i give this movie. This product is not scary ( i don't understand why movie have this genre in title ), story is not bad, in places even catches. Actor play have Mcavoy, Hader, Ransone and Chastane sometimes. Mustapha is trying but something is missing. Ryan no comments Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BenbendtsenSep 8, 2019
For a three hour movie I was thoroughly entertained basically the whole time. Very gory and action-packed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HeinySep 7, 2019
Really just enjoyed myself (even more than with chapter one), but the difference in style is suspension breaking. Part One was way more serious, where in Chapter Two you get a lot of jokes in there where it takes away the horror element.

So
Really just enjoyed myself (even more than with chapter one), but the difference in style is suspension breaking. Part One was way more serious, where in Chapter Two you get a lot of jokes in there where it takes away the horror element.

So it does not really fit well with chapter one.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
exequielborghiSep 9, 2019
The only thing i have to say: It´s not a horror movie. I seems to be an adventure movie with a fantastic and very creepy anthagonist!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
theredskySep 8, 2019
It: Chapter 2 is one of if not the most entertaining film I have seen this year. There are so many laugh out loud moments in this film and that’s both good and bad. Compared to the 2017 film, Chapter 2 is not great on a technical level butIt: Chapter 2 is one of if not the most entertaining film I have seen this year. There are so many laugh out loud moments in this film and that’s both good and bad. Compared to the 2017 film, Chapter 2 is not great on a technical level but it’s far superior on an entertainment level. Here are the negatives. The film does overstay its welcome. The runtime is 2 hours and 45 minutes long and you definitely start to feel that.There are certain elements that could have been removed from the film and it would have been better. The ending of the film is not that good either. It does a rapid tone shift after the climax which just feels off putting to what we just encountered. The visual effects are pretty bad. There are many different forms of It shown through the film and they all look pretty fake. It gets distracting when the form of It in the climax looks fake which causes that scene to lose any tension that was built up. My final issue is that the film once again decides to rely much more heavily on jump scares than actual concepts. The 2017 film had scary moments that were built up and didn’t come off as jumpscares but every attempt at being scary in this film was a jumpscare. Here are the positives. I feel that this film is an example of perfect casting. Each adult actor mirrors their child counterpart almost perfectly. Their acting is really good also. Bill Skarsgard, James McAvoy, and especially Bill Hader are standouts from the film. Bill Hader steals every scene he is in. He’s incredibly funny and is the best part of this film. The film is incredibly funny. There are many jokes or sequences in the film that are just drop dead hilarious. I feel that some of the funny scenes were intentional while others were not but I will give director Andy Muschietti props for making this film semi self aware. There a bunch of really cool and unique transition shots and the cinematography was pretty good. Overall, It: Chapter 2 may not be as scary as the 2017 film but it’s vastly more entertaining thanks to a likeable cast and hilarious sequences. I give It: Chapter 2 a 7/10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
RufusVonDufusSep 8, 2019
Meh. Lots of audio-amplified CGI jumpscares, but with the exception of Bill Skarsgard as "IT", the various actors are easily interchangeable with the various characters: no one stands out. There's no plausible chemistry and the humor isMeh. Lots of audio-amplified CGI jumpscares, but with the exception of Bill Skarsgard as "IT", the various actors are easily interchangeable with the various characters: no one stands out. There's no plausible chemistry and the humor is often awkward and ill-timed. Frankly, it was slow and boring. Not scary, or even creepy-good.

I am amused by the SQUEE! reviews here, rating it a "10" but then saying, "It's not perfect..." Okay, that's coherent (not).
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Ghazman2019Sep 7, 2019
I love IT Chapter Two!! I understand what some people are saying is wrong with this movie and I too have some problems with the movie, but this movie is still amazing. The casting choice is the best I’ve ever seen, especially with Bill HaderI love IT Chapter Two!! I understand what some people are saying is wrong with this movie and I too have some problems with the movie, but this movie is still amazing. The casting choice is the best I’ve ever seen, especially with Bill Hader as Richie, Finn Wolfhard in the first movie was the highlight for Chapter One and this time Bill Hader is the highlight for Chapter Two. The final confrontation is amazing, I was not disappointed with it at all, the giant spider from the original TV miniseries as a huge disappointment but the monster for this film is AMAZING. Going to be honest, I am interested to see if there will ever be an IT Chapter Three movie, if there ever will be one, I hope is an origin movie for Pennywise and maybe we can get a scene with the Turtle fighting IT. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
TuvixSep 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Whilst it wows with its special effects and dazzling cinematography, it leaves much to be desired with its thin plot and thinner moral tone. The movie seeks to be more inclusive by stating what is possibly the first gay kiss in such a popular franchise. It then proceeds to brutally beat them into the ground and kill one of them. The movie is so scared of presenting a positive image of sexuality the most people leave the cinema not even understanding the point of the violence. In fact, instead of violence for the sake of violence, the movie tries to be profound and relevant but just comes across as demeaning and insensitive. Also, just **** kill them for Christ sake, you are a magical space deity and you can’t kill a bunch of kids/adults. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
AmoghaSep 8, 2019
The horror scenes are expected but still scare you. Great direction. Bill Hader scenes are very comedic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
shalev18030Sep 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ggfggfcggfggjjbvvvv have a great day and I will be in the sun is shining and I will Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
clatkinsxdSep 6, 2019
I went into this film with mixed expectations and came out satisfied enough. Great cinematography, amazing casting, characters and humour, but the pacing particularly around scare sequences was a bit out of touch, with scary scenes being putI went into this film with mixed expectations and came out satisfied enough. Great cinematography, amazing casting, characters and humour, but the pacing particularly around scare sequences was a bit out of touch, with scary scenes being put right next to comic relief, but the comedy landed most of the time. I think this film was just wrongly advertised. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews