Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 14, 2008
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 574 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
375
Mixed:
105
Negative:
94
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Bruce722Aug 18, 2013
Jumper is a very underrated movie with an interesting plot. The nerd community hates on Hayden Christensen so, with this movie being more in the sci-fi/fantasy genre, it really didn't stand a chance. However, he's a capable actor and theJumper is a very underrated movie with an interesting plot. The nerd community hates on Hayden Christensen so, with this movie being more in the sci-fi/fantasy genre, it really didn't stand a chance. However, he's a capable actor and the support of Samuel Jackson, Rachel Bilson, Jamie Bell, and other cameos gave this movie a solid cast. As I said, the plot was pretty interesting and original as well. The only real problem I had with the film is that it was only 88 minutes, which didn't really give it time to fully develop the concept of "jumping" and the relationship because them and the Paladins, an organization that hunts down jumpers. With more development I think this would've been a great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 19, 2014
Jumper is a good sci-fi/action movie.I agreed the acting is not that good and the scenario is bad but the CGI effects are good and there is a good cast (Hayden Christensen,Jamie Bell,Samuel L. Jackson).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jelenabiebs31Jan 18, 2016
Decent movie, kept my attention but somehow I felt like it could have been better.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-426-Jumper-online-free
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeFeb 19, 2016
Jumper jumps to victory at the beginning to end up being blindfolded in the middle of nowhere. In short conclusion, Jumper jumps to get early start when you should know early starts make movies look bad.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
TheQuietGamerFeb 19, 2011
Jumper is by far one of the worst movies i've ever seen, the story is crap, and the characters are unlikable (but what did you expect when the main character is the guy who ruined Star Wars), it's ultimately a really unenjoyable movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 25, 2013
Jumper is the first film from a trilogy of books by Steven Gould, and while I loved this film, most critics panned it. The story centers around a young Davey (Hayden Christensen), who during a life-threatening event, come to realize he hasJumper is the first film from a trilogy of books by Steven Gould, and while I loved this film, most critics panned it. The story centers around a young Davey (Hayden Christensen), who during a life-threatening event, come to realize he has the power to teleport wherever he wants. Unbeknownst to Davey, he is a member of a group of genetically superior humans known as Jumpers, who are currently at war with a religious organization, that believes their power is evil. What starts out as a simple kid having fun and trying to impress, becomes a fight for survival in this amazing action thriller. You can always tell when a story is adapted from a book, rather than an original screenplay, because the story tends to be more thought out. Not to say screenplays are bad, but when a story isn't made simply to be a movie, it tends to be much more focused on the story, where as screenplays have to worry about the story as well as the aesthetics. Nevertheless, Jumper isn't just another shoot 'em story, it's the perfect mix of action and drama with some outstanding performances. I love Hayden Christensen, who I think is made for roles like this, he has this cool demeanor to him, that's more clever than arrogant. Jamie Bell is also terrific as Griffin, a fellow jumper Davey meets along the way, and he provides some much needed comic relief. ...and then there's Samuel L. Jackson. What is there to say about Jackson that hasn't already been said? The man is a legend. This film is interesting, unique, fast-paced, and even funny. I loved every minute of Jumper and if Sci-Fi is your thing, you will too! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
JalumbiApr 27, 2015
''Jumper'' sets a very interesting premise and gives interest to public with its somewhat original story, but all this is spoiled by its extremely tiny script and cheesy acting by all of its cast (unfortunately, Samuel L. Jackson too).
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
NazguleroMay 19, 2011
I think the movie was quite enjoyable. What I sometimes do not understand are the casting choices. There was a chick he picked up in a bar in London, she should have played the main female character. A hundred times more attractive and hotI think the movie was quite enjoyable. What I sometimes do not understand are the casting choices. There was a chick he picked up in a bar in London, she should have played the main female character. A hundred times more attractive and hot than that small ugly chick they finally selected. Special effects were great, I did not feel the need to zap away or take a nap once, and that says a lot ! Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
6
ThegodfathersonMay 22, 2013
Jumper is a average night out movie. Teleporting skills, chicks and a sissy character who plays the lead. There cannot be worse movies out their like Jumper which is a fast entertainer that is at least- understandable and enjoyable. I got myJumper is a average night out movie. Teleporting skills, chicks and a sissy character who plays the lead. There cannot be worse movies out their like Jumper which is a fast entertainer that is at least- understandable and enjoyable. I got my copy on Bluray, it looked cool from the cover so, I bought it for 4.99 and watched it. I was surprised why critics didn't pan The Sixth Sense because its a hell of a confusing film. Jumper, on the other hand was a exciting thriller and I did like it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Dec 23, 2016
Finally got a chance to watch this film, despite what the reviews may say Jumper is actually quite enjoyable. The story is very simple and to the point, the main character is an ass who uses his super powers to help himself live a life ofFinally got a chance to watch this film, despite what the reviews may say Jumper is actually quite enjoyable. The story is very simple and to the point, the main character is an ass who uses his super powers to help himself live a life of leisure and travel, he then reconnects with the girl he liked as a child, takes her to Rome, discovers there is more people like him and people trying to kill people like him. Without giving too much away, this film ultimately sets out to do what its supposed to do with solid performances from "captain stoneface" Hayden Christensen, Rachel Bilson and Jamie Bell to carry it the rest of the way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
One of the reasons superhero comics so often get held in contempt is because the shallowest (and commonest) ones are wish-fulfillment fantasies for adolescent boys, and adolescent boys tend to be pretty unnuanced, id-driven critters. ForOne of the reasons superhero comics so often get held in contempt is because the shallowest (and commonest) ones are wish-fulfillment fantasies for adolescent boys, and adolescent boys tend to be pretty unnuanced, id-driven critters. For instance, they should be pretty pleased with Jumper, a naked power fantasy in which an ordinary kid abruptly gains a super-ability, quickly followed by wealth, ultimate freedom, no-strings sex, and the panting admiration of his hot dream-girl. What did he do to earn any of this? He was so very, very special and different from everybody else that he gets to do whatever he wants, and still get framed as the film's shining hero.

First seen standing atop the Sphinx in Egypt and boasting to the audience about how he used to be "a normal person, a chump, just like you," Hayden Christensen plays a mildly dorky kid who discovers he can teleport. So he runs away from home and starts robbing banks. Eight years later, he's a smug **** living in a swank high-rise full of stolen cash and shiny toys, and he's using his power for trivial things like approaching a random bar hottie a little faster, or getting the TV remote without having to lean forward. But then Samuel L. Jackson appears and opens up a case of Mace Windu-style whoop-ass on him. Shortly thereafter, Christensen learns that there are other teleporters—or at least one, played with rakish charm by Chumscrubber star Jamie Bell—and that they're being hunted by fanatics called paladins. Why? The paladins' supposed philosophical underpinnings come out in one tossed-off line about how only God should be everywhere at once, but basically, they're around as an excuse for a lot of big, explosive fight scenes, which director Doug Liman (The Bourne Identity) seems to have imported directly from an X-Men movie.

Those scenes are easily the best part of Jumper: They're unlimited by logic or physics, which makes them dynamic and unpredictable, and Liman brings them off well, with a lot of literal flash and bang. But no exciting action can cover the film's profound shallowness and repulsive attitude toward everyone but Christensen. It isn't bad enough that he's a swaggering bastard who uses his powers exclusively to break laws and get whatever he wants—one scene even pointedly shows him ignoring a situation where he could save otherwise unsaveable lives. Another has him using a moving car as a weapon by jumping it to Chechnya, then leaving the startled driver to be crushed by a tank. And a good chunk of the film is devoted to him easily impressing his high-school crush object Rachel Bilson, who's less a character than a bright-eyed mirror for his awesomeness. Come to think of it, maybe adolescent boys won't like Jumper after all; its irritating protagonist is more school bully than underdog hero.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 18, 2017
Handicap lourd au démarrage, Jumper est réalisé par ce crevard de Doug Liman, ce crétin qui surdécoupe chaque scène d'action en très petites lamelles d'un tiers de seconde comme dans une réclame publicitaire pour ados : mal de crâne assuré.Handicap lourd au démarrage, Jumper est réalisé par ce crevard de Doug Liman, ce crétin qui surdécoupe chaque scène d'action en très petites lamelles d'un tiers de seconde comme dans une réclame publicitaire pour ados : mal de crâne assuré. Autre souci très sévère également : la présence permanente d'Hayden Christensen, le branlo de la prélogie Starre Warzes, jeune acteur complètement naze qui devrait se limiter aux pubs pour gel coiffant.

On ne sait pas trop ce que vient faire Samuel L. Jackson dans cette galère mais un vieux, faut que ça mange. Les cheveux teints en blanc pour faire bien méchant, il joue par conséquent un méchaaant empêcheur de se téléporter en rond. Et ce n'est pas tout : une petite pétasse fait la petite amie du branquignole, une brune aussi écervelée qu'une blonde avec la vulgarité en plus (cadeau bonus).

Comme si cela ne suffisait pas, le scénario gribouillé sur les restes d'un rouleau de pet-cul a raison un peu trop vite de notre patience et tolérance à la stupidité galopante de cette imbécillité qui cumule à la fois le grotesque et le ridicule.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AerostatApr 6, 2017
Jumper is an enjoyable popcorn action/sci-fi by the numbers but what it delivers, it does with aplomb. I had hoped for a sequel by now but I guess it bombed thanks to the lousy and poorly justified critic review average.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JillDMar 18, 2008
I liked this movie and plan on buying it when it comes out on DVD. Rachel Bilson is great. I like the action and romance. Plus the ending was nice. The story is left open for a second movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamM.Mar 30, 2008
Completely awful... treats it's viewers as if they would enjoy the special effects enough to where nothing else would matter. Characters do things no person would, say things no person would say, things happen that never would, and even Completely awful... treats it's viewers as if they would enjoy the special effects enough to where nothing else would matter. Characters do things no person would, say things no person would say, things happen that never would, and even if they asked you to sustain disbelief, there is nothing worth watching. I went into this movie expecting something bad, as I had heard it was, and they STILL managed to disappoint. Everyone would let this movie be made should be fired, and the screenplay writer should be SHOT. No kidding, it really is that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MitchA.Oct 23, 2008
Though I must admit it is valuable as a thrill ride, Jumper doesn't even feel like a complete movie. Nothing is horribly wrong, but the combination of frustrating acting and a story that plodded along to an 'end' before any Though I must admit it is valuable as a thrill ride, Jumper doesn't even feel like a complete movie. Nothing is horribly wrong, but the combination of frustrating acting and a story that plodded along to an 'end' before any development could happen restricts this film from being worth the short time it takes to watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChristieC.Feb 20, 2008
I couldn't sympathize with any of the characters. The protagonist was a horrible person. How am I supposed to care what happens to him? There were so many other things wrong with this, but I don't even know where to start. It was I couldn't sympathize with any of the characters. The protagonist was a horrible person. How am I supposed to care what happens to him? There were so many other things wrong with this, but I don't even know where to start. It was just awful. I left feeling terrible and not the slightest bit entertained, other than simply commenting that the effects were cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JustinS.Mar 30, 2008
Anyone who rated this movie higher than a 5 is a fricken idiot. You are the kind of people who allow big budget, special effects dependent movies that have no good acting or plot continue to be made. I sincerely would like to gang beat the Anyone who rated this movie higher than a 5 is a fricken idiot. You are the kind of people who allow big budget, special effects dependent movies that have no good acting or plot continue to be made. I sincerely would like to gang beat the people who thought it deserved awards. The special effects were cool, sure, but without a back story, without any good writing, it is pure trash. It saddened me to read the reviews of a couple people who could actually speak intelligently, yet posted a review of a 10 for this garbage. So you mean to tell me this is as good as all the best movies out there??? Keep giving hollywood your money people, and agree with them that americans are dumb sheep and only need "shiny things" in front of our eyes to be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EthanD.Apr 8, 2008
I liked this movie. It's a popcorn film, great as an escape. The movie starts out kind of slow, but the story takes off when Rice (Christensen) meets up with a fellow Jumper in Rome. Christenson's acting was very good IMHO; he is I liked this movie. It's a popcorn film, great as an escape. The movie starts out kind of slow, but the story takes off when Rice (Christensen) meets up with a fellow Jumper in Rome. Christenson's acting was very good IMHO; he is believable and convincingly portrays his character's emotions/situation. Hope there's a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamB.Jun 24, 2008
WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE! Just finished watching this movie and I shake my head, honestly, trying to figure out what people giving Jumper under 5 are talking about. This was a decent movie! To give a sampling of my tastes, Juno 9, No WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE! Just finished watching this movie and I shake my head, honestly, trying to figure out what people giving Jumper under 5 are talking about. This was a decent movie! To give a sampling of my tastes, Juno 9, No country 1, There Will Be...6 (knocked down 2 JUST because of the "are you kidding me?") ending. This was an unpretentious movie with a great premise that, even tho it may have moved well past the original discovery phase, managed to push the limits of the concept. WHO CARES if the action scenes were a little confusing! These are people that have powers that we don't understand fully! Hayden, although still brooding, was under way better direction than the ALWAYS has-been George Lucus. He redeemed himself in this movie as far as I'm concerned, but I'm just a knowledgable movie-goer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SamAug 2, 2008
I hate the fact that a majority of my friends liked this movie. Just the worst piece of crap ever. The jumping looked neat, but that is the only passable part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinM.Mar 7, 2009
True this movie was lacking in quite a few things, including character development and an ending, but at least this was more fun than Push (oh god!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SparkusNov 25, 2008
Hayden Christensen is still an awful actor, but the effects and other actors make up for it. Pure thought-abandoning entertainment. I expected worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DevonC.Oct 3, 2008
It's a movie to like and enjoy with it's extraordinary design and brain-free fun. But it still falls real short on being a pathetically dumb movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IanCFeb 15, 2008
Awful awful awful awful. I WAS completely awestruck by Jumper, at how on earth this kind of junk gets made any more. The special-effects-only era is over, isn't it? We're in the dawn of a new era of a return to plot, character Awful awful awful awful. I WAS completely awestruck by Jumper, at how on earth this kind of junk gets made any more. The special-effects-only era is over, isn't it? We're in the dawn of a new era of a return to plot, character development, story as a basic requirement, aren't we? Hayden C has got to be one of the least charismatic actors around, he doesn't even LOOK the part. it's like he can't be bothered to even try acting half the time. This crud isn't worth the substance you excrete to coat your eyeballs so they don't dry out as you stare at this unbelievable heap of dreadfulness. As for the comments Oscars, irony surely? Hopefully? PLEASE? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArthurC.Feb 15, 2008
So, you got a decent, pretty solid if you will idea of a science fiction tale. What to do with it? What to do? I know. Suck all the energy and life out of it by casting bland leads, throw in some ludicrous special effects to cover up plot So, you got a decent, pretty solid if you will idea of a science fiction tale. What to do with it? What to do? I know. Suck all the energy and life out of it by casting bland leads, throw in some ludicrous special effects to cover up plot holes, and create the most emotionally false movie in the history of cinema. Viola, you got Jumper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeeK.Feb 16, 2008
Good show. Camera wasn't the best but pretty cool. However, storyline wasn't very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 16, 2008
Its not that bad enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JaspreetS.Feb 16, 2008
Starts off good but kinda drags and too many loop holes left in the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheSwamiFeb 19, 2008
This movie was horrible. Nothing was explained in the background to the two sides...Rachel Bilson magically just ignored the guy being gone for years and fell in love with the older version with no background in seconds...no idea why the This movie was horrible. Nothing was explained in the background to the two sides...Rachel Bilson magically just ignored the guy being gone for years and fell in love with the older version with no background in seconds...no idea why the other Jumper Griffin was so antagonistic to meeting/working with one of his kind...overall an abomination. I want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Feb 22, 2008
Ambition people, this film is probably the most ambitious origin story to a superhero you have never heard of in film history. This is part 1 of a proposed trilogy, and the kind of cahones it takes to create a property with this kind of Ambition people, this film is probably the most ambitious origin story to a superhero you have never heard of in film history. This is part 1 of a proposed trilogy, and the kind of cahones it takes to create a property with this kind of scope is huge. While I don't think it is a perfect 10, I'm giving it one to counteract all the closeminded reviews so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielVladuFeb 23, 2008
this movie had no plot, terrible acting, incredibly boring dialogue, and just cruddy cinematography. However, I give it a one because of Samuel L. Jackson's "This shit I don't need" look in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveKFeb 20, 2008
Very mediocre action flick. Disjointed, but entertaining enough IF you go in with very modest expectations. Lotta potential here for a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MurrayMar 1, 2008
What a snoozer! Never before did I think I could fall asleep in a movie, but this one was just terrible! The effects, I must concede, were good, but it really didn't help the atrocious plot. Nothing was explained. How did he get the What a snoozer! Never before did I think I could fall asleep in a movie, but this one was just terrible! The effects, I must concede, were good, but it really didn't help the atrocious plot. Nothing was explained. How did he get the powers? Like, did they just appear? It made zero sense. Stay away Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeV.Mar 28, 2008
Christensen is just a horrible actor, I don't know why he is still chosen to star in movies. He disapointed many with his Starwars performance. He just seems like he has no personality, lifeless, and probably limp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SkytimesMar 8, 2008
The movie seemed rushed and hayden needs to have at least a speck of emotion in his acting. the movie was lame aside from its great action scenes (the only thing that kept me from giving this a 0).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DecepticonPomMar 8, 2008
Not as awful as the reviews lead me to believe. Apart from a fizzler ending, it does exactly what it says on the tin. And bonus point for including the brilliant "Blackenned Blue Eyes" by The Charlatans over the end credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobFMar 9, 2008
Predictable movie and confirmation that Hayden Christianson cannot act. Don't waste your time. I hate to see the category of sci-fi associated with crap like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RadzEMay 3, 2008
Probably the worst movie I have ever seen. The acting was crap, the main character actually showed no emotion, the fight scenes were crap, even with the good CG. I gave it a 2 cause Rachel Bilson is hot, maybe I would have stretched it to a Probably the worst movie I have ever seen. The acting was crap, the main character actually showed no emotion, the fight scenes were crap, even with the good CG. I gave it a 2 cause Rachel Bilson is hot, maybe I would have stretched it to a 3 if she showed more skin. Dont watch this just make popcorn and stare at a blank tv screen, you'll be better off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TommyF.May 6, 2008
Damn! Who would want to watch this movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimK.Jun 11, 2008
In spite of the low reviews, I've found this movie really enjoyable. Instead of an adolescent with super powers saving the world (oh hum), he went out to have some fun. In so doing, he finds out that there are predators higher up on the In spite of the low reviews, I've found this movie really enjoyable. Instead of an adolescent with super powers saving the world (oh hum), he went out to have some fun. In so doing, he finds out that there are predators higher up on the food chain. For me the acting is good when I'm not thinking that he's acting, which never occurred to me in this movie. For me the special effects are good when I'm not thinking it's a special effect. Again, the jumping seemed natural to my way of thinking jumping would be. I wished more information bits were dropped about the war between the paladins and the jumpers, but it got me interested in the sequel! I am looking forward to Jumper 2! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarisaTJun 20, 2008
The movie was a letdown for me. The trailers made the movie look very exciting. I'm a chick, and I do like these kinds of sci-fi/action flicks...especially when there will be some eye candy (Hayden Christensen and Jamie Bell). Yes, the The movie was a letdown for me. The trailers made the movie look very exciting. I'm a chick, and I do like these kinds of sci-fi/action flicks...especially when there will be some eye candy (Hayden Christensen and Jamie Bell). Yes, the visuals and effects were undeniably appealing. I can't say the same thing about the plot and acting. The story keeps...sorry for the pun...jumping around and doesn't lead to anywhere. The antagonists never mentioned HOW the jumpers are harmful. They only state that it's because the jumpers will abuse their power. Finally, I would give the acting a D. Rachel Bilson, no matter how adorable she is, should probably stick to sitcoms. It was irritating to see her ask "what?!" in every scene she appeared. Hayden and Jamie did seem to enjoy their roles. Perhaps that did keep the movie somewhat alive. If you're all for action, you may enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KevinC.Jul 14, 2008
Initial concept was good. At first I thought this could be a good foundation for a sequel then I finished the movie. Nothing else needed to be said. Disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LevS.Jul 14, 2008
I've watched it. I cannot unwatch it. What a shame. I wonder if Liman got the job by saying, "The locations are all over the world. I've filmed all over the world (Bourne Identity). Give me the gig." What a hack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DeadlockJul 15, 2008
It was a show full of an actual interesting concept and lots of eye candy. Could use some story building, but was always fascinating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulS.Jul 4, 2008
The concept was good. Unfortunately, that's the only good thing going for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristianP.Jul 4, 2008
This movie is a letdown, the trailer tricked me to see this movie. I though this movie is suppose to be a superhero like movie but instead we got a supervillian movie. The storyline is very weak and the character designs are boring. This movie is a letdown, the trailer tricked me to see this movie. I though this movie is suppose to be a superhero like movie but instead we got a supervillian movie. The storyline is very weak and the character designs are boring. It's worth watching it only once but not twice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EricG.Sep 8, 2008
It was like, the movie where everything makes sense but you still expect more thinking/reasoning from the characters. Everything in it spelled out the word shallow: Characters, plot, development, even the twist at the end wasn't needed It was like, the movie where everything makes sense but you still expect more thinking/reasoning from the characters. Everything in it spelled out the word shallow: Characters, plot, development, even the twist at the end wasn't needed (the one during the last like, 2 minutes). Good concept, terrible way of flowing with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Feb 11, 2008
Well, I'm not guarding this film, first of all I don't know what the reviews might even say. I just have my own opinion, I thought this movie rocked, it is so hard core. In 2007, the Fall season brought us many masterpieces, which Well, I'm not guarding this film, first of all I don't know what the reviews might even say. I just have my own opinion, I thought this movie rocked, it is so hard core. In 2007, the Fall season brought us many masterpieces, which gave the Academy a harder way to choose. There was American Gangster, No Country For Old Men, There Will Be Blood, Atonement, and of course AVP 2, just kidding. Anyway, this certainly does go up in comparison with those films. I was fairly shocked with this film. Expecting a smart Doug Liman film. And truly, it was much more than that, it retained to the concept, it was intense, its just so awesome. I loved this movie, definitely up for 2009's Oscars. Definitely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamonC.Feb 11, 2008
The scenery's are stunningly looked at, and the action is way intense. A fast-paced heavily entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanDFeb 11, 2008
Total sweetness, I loved it. It couldn't have been better, and especially smarter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DuxaC.Feb 14, 2008
The previews for this movie looked good, I couldnt wait for it to come out. On the release date rolled by metacritic... and seeing 39/100 was very disappointing. I was rather shocked. Then I looked at user comments and 10/10 scores from The previews for this movie looked good, I couldnt wait for it to come out. On the release date rolled by metacritic... and seeing 39/100 was very disappointing. I was rather shocked. Then I looked at user comments and 10/10 scores from users, while critics were giving it 30-40 scores seemed really fishy. So I went and saw the movie anyways. I must say I totally disagree with the critics. The movie was very enjoyable, and the character development was just deep enough to not feel forced. Action is great, and the whole idea is very original. I really enjoyed the movie. The end has a lot of loose ends, so I wouldnt be surprized if there is a sequel. I give it 8/10 and recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Feb 14, 2008
Very much enjoyed the action. I hope there will be a 2nd one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMFeb 15, 2008
What are the Critics talkin' about - No Offense. But seriously, some times I only care about my own opinion and thats what I'm going for. This Movie was absolutely Incredible, Nice Effects and good acting, overall all out great and What are the Critics talkin' about - No Offense. But seriously, some times I only care about my own opinion and thats what I'm going for. This Movie was absolutely Incredible, Nice Effects and good acting, overall all out great and amazing movie. Highly recommend to people who rate movies well... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
Star80Feb 15, 2008
Oscar-worthy?? er, what category,,,actor best resembling a tree? It might win a technical award for special effects, but the critics panned this movie with good reason. A promising premise is wasted with inane dialogue and an absurd, Oscar-worthy?? er, what category,,,actor best resembling a tree? It might win a technical award for special effects, but the critics panned this movie with good reason. A promising premise is wasted with inane dialogue and an absurd, illogical plot. To the film's credit, the effects are thrilling. The cast, however, is not. Christenen, as our hero David Rice, must have dug deep into the vault to muster yet another astoundingly dull, stiff performance. Bilson, who seems out of place on the big-screen, appears perpetually bewildered as Christensen's love interest. Samuel L. Jackson, in what sadly has become a familiar schtick, trades character for caricature. Jumper is not for the discerning film go-er. In fact, if you don't fit into its targeted audience demographic, you should avoid it altogether. Naturally, the guys I went with all loved it, as did the mostly male audience. Most of us women walked out believing we'd been robbed of a few brain cells. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipVFeb 15, 2008
I went expecting a terrifically bad movie, and it did not disappoint. I am still haunted by the epic string of poor decisions in writing, casting, and acting in this film. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesGFeb 19, 2008
To start with, I must make it pretty clear that...well...it isn't very good (in my opinion). However, and this is a big however, I did enjoy it nonetheless. If you're just after an excuse to go to the cinema, munch on some popcorn To start with, I must make it pretty clear that...well...it isn't very good (in my opinion). However, and this is a big however, I did enjoy it nonetheless. If you're just after an excuse to go to the cinema, munch on some popcorn and watch some action, then sure it's worth seeing. Just don't expect some deep sci-fi movie with a good plot or anything interesting to tell us; it's just another run-off-the-mill action movie in my eyes. Sure, I won't be buying this on DVD or anything, but I don't feel like it exactly wasted my time either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HaydenCFeb 20, 2008
Worst movie I've seen in years. No dialogue or set story line. Every person involved with this film seemed to just "go through the motions." Not even fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DrewFFeb 20, 2008
Ok-scifi action flick that suffers from a horridly written romance that gets shoehorned into the story. The action is solid, and Jamie Bell steals the show as the guy the movie SHOULD have been about. Not sure if there will ever be a sequel, Ok-scifi action flick that suffers from a horridly written romance that gets shoehorned into the story. The action is solid, and Jamie Bell steals the show as the guy the movie SHOULD have been about. Not sure if there will ever be a sequel, but this DOES introduce a world with a lot of potential for future stories... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimCFeb 23, 2008
Suspensful and good. I really liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MadelineLFeb 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't the greatest plot, but it was engaging enough. The acting was pretty artificial - except for Jamie Bell. He stole the show completely. I think I would graded the movie at least two points if it I really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't the greatest plot, but it was engaging enough. The acting was pretty artificial - except for Jamie Bell. He stole the show completely. I think I would graded the movie at least two points if it hadn't been for him. His character was fervent and interesting (should have been the lead). And the action was incredible - the fight scenes (Griffin/Roland, and David/Griffin) were incredible. I mean the bus?! Whoa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronMFeb 25, 2008
I actually enjoyed this movie, and it seems fitting to be established as the next Bourne Identity series if given the chance. It definitely felt like its goal was to establish the characters and entertain, and that shows a lot of promise for I actually enjoyed this movie, and it seems fitting to be established as the next Bourne Identity series if given the chance. It definitely felt like its goal was to establish the characters and entertain, and that shows a lot of promise for the future. As a solo flick it will fall short of expectations, but I think in the very end, we'll all be happy it started somewhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnieS.Feb 26, 2008
I loved this movie. I can't wait for the next one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NilayS.Feb 28, 2008
Great fast-paced movie with gorgeous location shots around the world in the style of the Bourne Identity movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RianM.Feb 29, 2008
Try as I may, I just cannot think of anything bad to say about Jumper. Science fiction and action have been rather strange bedfellows in way too many films in the past, but here they fit seamlessly together to form a smart, original, Try as I may, I just cannot think of anything bad to say about Jumper. Science fiction and action have been rather strange bedfellows in way too many films in the past, but here they fit seamlessly together to form a smart, original, intriguing, and overall enjoyable movie-going experience. A superhero movie without any real "heroes" to speak of, Jumper bends multiple genres into a new aesthetically pleasing shape that was as welcome and refreshing to me among the sea of recent sub-par-to-horrible sci-fi action films as a bottle of water surely is to a man lost in the desert. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TonyR-SMar 1, 2008
A premise with lots of (wasted) potential.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartyW.Mar 2, 2008
Rachel Bilson si soooo hot in the movie. Hayden Christianson also plays a good role. all the main characters(kids) from Catch That Kid are in the movie which gives it a little twist. Enjoy the movie. It is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
O.MMar 2, 2008
I went into it knowing that it wouldn't be 'just like the book', but I expected it to hold onto the same general story line for at least 2 minutes before turning into something that felt completely disconnected, and unrelated I went into it knowing that it wouldn't be 'just like the book', but I expected it to hold onto the same general story line for at least 2 minutes before turning into something that felt completely disconnected, and unrelated even to itself. Yes, the jump fights were kind of cool, but it didn't make up for the fact that it barely managed to grab my attention before losing it in a major way. It had great potential, but didn't even make it out of the gates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
kayleighmsMar 28, 2008
Jamie Bell is highly entertaining as the veteran jumper who unwillingly befriends our hero, and Max Thieriot and AnnaSophia Robb are wonderful as young versions of our main characters (though we hope AnnaSophia doesn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TheSpiritchaseRMar 28, 2008
First off... Very nice action scenes. U could enjoy it just for that. Pretty nice romance - Rachel Bilson is a attractive woman. Cant say the acting was bad either. But god the story... it feels very disconnected, leaving far to many First off... Very nice action scenes. U could enjoy it just for that. Pretty nice romance - Rachel Bilson is a attractive woman. Cant say the acting was bad either. But god the story... it feels very disconnected, leaving far to many questions unanswered. If u didnt read the book, like me, ull prolly have a hard time understanding it. It does make sense, but it lacks depth. U can watch it for the action tho. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasD.Mar 7, 2008
I love this movie, I think it probably helps if you like sci-fi and or fantasy,but I can't wait for the sequel (assuming there will be one) to come out. Looking forward to the DVD release, go see the flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ColinC.Jun 15, 2008
I enjoyed this movie, although I see where a lot of the crits are coming from. You don't really end up caring about any of the characters and the dialogue, while workable, doesn't have any of the snap of say, Iron Man. But the I enjoyed this movie, although I see where a lot of the crits are coming from. You don't really end up caring about any of the characters and the dialogue, while workable, doesn't have any of the snap of say, Iron Man. But the action sequences are still fun, and the premise is cool. Definitely would love to see them take another shot at this franchise, since the potential is there for a really cool story, one with much better character development. At the end of the day, I enjoyed the movie, then pretty much forgot about it 10 minutes after watching it. (Except for writing this review.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FabianK.Jun 19, 2008
A simple and straigh action film, but a fun ride nonethless!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Jun 4, 2008
Well I thought it was a fun movie, it's not outstanding but it always held my interest and I enjoyed some of the creativity involved. The performance were fine, particularly Diane Lane. Empty, but fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamPJul 5, 2008
I don't know what the critics were thinking. I loved this movie. Very entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyC.Feb 11, 2008
Supremely amazing, the effects are astounding, it is fun to watch, and thrilling entertainment, resulting the best film of 2008 since There Will Be Blood. Hayden Christensen at his best, with a witty Samuel L. Jackson. This like nothing like Supremely amazing, the effects are astounding, it is fun to watch, and thrilling entertainment, resulting the best film of 2008 since There Will Be Blood. Hayden Christensen at his best, with a witty Samuel L. Jackson. This like nothing like ever before. It is an Oscarwinning success. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PaulK.Feb 14, 2008
I don't expect movie adaptations to be super strict, but the screenwriters completely bastardized theoriginal book. A shame really, because the writers could have done a great job fusing a "Bourne" type style into the plot, especially I don't expect movie adaptations to be super strict, but the screenwriters completely bastardized theoriginal book. A shame really, because the writers could have done a great job fusing a "Bourne" type style into the plot, especially since the book's end plot revolved around davy hunting down the terrorist, who killed his mother. Instead, we get new characters (Bell/Jackson) who aren't compelling because we're given absolutely no character development and old characters with completely different backgrounds (Lane). And what about this ongoing war between jumpers and Jackson and his crew? Completely undeveloped, and absurd. What were the writers thinking? What does Steven Gould think about this adaptation?! I found it a major disappointment to say the least. If you're a fan of Sci Fi and/or fantasy and are on the fence with this one, skip it or wait for video. Better yet, read the books which are infinitely superior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Feb 14, 2008
While channel-surfing, David(Hayden Christensen) stumbles across a live feed of flood victims trying to stay dry while river water rushes past them. For a split second, we think the "Jumper" will rescue them. He doesn't. David's While channel-surfing, David(Hayden Christensen) stumbles across a live feed of flood victims trying to stay dry while river water rushes past them. For a split second, we think the "Jumper" will rescue them. He doesn't. David's indifference to human suffering is a thematic motif that "Jumper" should have cultivated. Instead of changing the world, David uses his superpowers to troll for women in English pubs. He'd rather be The Humper than Superman. He also chooses the worst possible time to look up an unrequited love from his high school; when Roland(Samuel L. Jackson), a Paladin, is hot on his trail. Also, there's the mystery as to why David didn't learn about his "jumping" ability at the same tender age like Griffin(Jamie Bell) did. This isn't epileptic fits we're talking about(like Jessie in Marsha Norman's " 'night mother"); this is every Star Trek dweeb's wet dream, the ability to teleport. Nevertheless, "Jumper" is good, shallow fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EnderW.Feb 14, 2008
The trailers made this movie look amazing, but unfortunately the movie was anything but. At less than an hour and a half, there was very little room for plot development, story, or interesting dialogue. Rachel Bilson looked hot, and the The trailers made this movie look amazing, but unfortunately the movie was anything but. At less than an hour and a half, there was very little room for plot development, story, or interesting dialogue. Rachel Bilson looked hot, and the special-effects themselves were well done, but these things alone can't make a movie. There was essentially no explanation on the mechanics Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArmandoD.Feb 14, 2008
Special effects were not enough to engrose you in this dull story. I agree that you never knew who to cheer for. This could have been better shown on an episode of "Heroes" than a movie theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HollyR.Feb 15, 2008
Way lame movie. I was looking forward to this, being a sci-fi fan but this was terrible. The acting was very poor, the story very scant, they didn't really do anything cool with their special power of teleportation and the tell-tale Way lame movie. I was looking forward to this, being a sci-fi fan but this was terrible. The acting was very poor, the story very scant, they didn't really do anything cool with their special power of teleportation and the tell-tale sign: you didn't care about any of the characters, good or bad. Just a really crappy movie with good trailers to suck us sci-fi suckers in. It watched like a bad Stargate Atlantis episode. Ho-hum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnS.Feb 15, 2008
This movie was terrible. It sucks a lot. I give it a 1. It should go have sex with itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattEFeb 19, 2008
Not bad character development could use a bit more.....development but otherwise entertaining to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonT.Feb 19, 2008
Why does Christensen keep getting work? He's talentless and the vaccuum of charisma and void of talent he throws on the screen can't be off-set by slick CGI. If Lucas can't hide his inadequate acting with loud noises and big Why does Christensen keep getting work? He's talentless and the vaccuum of charisma and void of talent he throws on the screen can't be off-set by slick CGI. If Lucas can't hide his inadequate acting with loud noises and big flashes, no one can. What kind of pictures he must have to keep getting roles..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ThatGuyFeb 21, 2008
Needed a lot more backstory and exposition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorHFeb 21, 2008
This movie was hilarious. I mean I went stoned, but from what I remember, this movie should win an Oscar for best comedy of the year. I love most how it had no ending, it just sort of stopped. I almost pissed myself from how funny that was. This movie was hilarious. I mean I went stoned, but from what I remember, this movie should win an Oscar for best comedy of the year. I love most how it had no ending, it just sort of stopped. I almost pissed myself from how funny that was. I recommend seeing this movie, not just for the horrible plot, but also for the horrific acting, it was a riot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KyleFeb 24, 2008
An abomination of film-making. Even if this was intended to be a trilogy, how about actually showing a film worth viewing as the opener! This was more like part 1 of a 3 part TV episode rather than an actual movie. The ending was abrupt, the An abomination of film-making. Even if this was intended to be a trilogy, how about actually showing a film worth viewing as the opener! This was more like part 1 of a 3 part TV episode rather than an actual movie. The ending was abrupt, the beginning was never fully explained, and the middle didn't really do much of anything. The sad thing is this movie premise DID have potential to be something different than standard formulaic Hollywood fare. Not sure whether the directing or acting (or even the casting people) are to blame here, frankly I'd just spread the blame all around for creating this mess in the first place. Avoid at all costs! Might be worth a token look for Netflix, definitely not worth seeing in theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarinC.Feb 28, 2008
Never saw it, but gave it a 0 to counter James B's 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillD.Apr 28, 2008
A light hearted cimic book style movie that while destined to be ingrained into your memory provides an enjoyable shot of action, fantasy & romance in what is essentially a chase movie. Airs a little bit on the short side with character A light hearted cimic book style movie that while destined to be ingrained into your memory provides an enjoyable shot of action, fantasy & romance in what is essentially a chase movie. Airs a little bit on the short side with character development suffering in pursuit special effects eye candy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertJun 11, 2008
Great movie. I'm surprised to see all the negative reviews by the commercial reviewers, but I guess I shouldn't be. They all have their "artistic" views on things which can hamper a realistic view on what people might actually Great movie. I'm surprised to see all the negative reviews by the commercial reviewers, but I guess I shouldn't be. They all have their "artistic" views on things which can hamper a realistic view on what people might actually enjoy watching. I thought Jumper was both entertaining and well written. You should definitely give it a try (and I HATED Hayden's performance in both Star Wars movies). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZekeB.Jun 11, 2008
90 minutes of my life i will never get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobM.Jun 19, 2008
Just an OK movie. Not really worth watching
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MortenR.Jun 23, 2008
Loved it! Jumping is similar to Jaunting in "Tiger, Tiger" (which I loved), so this was a prefect fit for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DariusC.Jun 28, 2008
For all the critics and people who say that the movie was awful have you ever directed, acted in, produced, wrote anything that Hollywood or anyone else for that matter would watch? It irritates me when critics get paid to say a movie was For all the critics and people who say that the movie was awful have you ever directed, acted in, produced, wrote anything that Hollywood or anyone else for that matter would watch? It irritates me when critics get paid to say a movie was good or bad when they themselves have never written or directed anything. I ENJOYED THE MOVIE FOR WHAT IT WAS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MauricioL.Jun 28, 2008
This movie was horrible and I really hated it, it had a lot of wholes and the acting waws bad , I thought it was a waste of time and i really like si fi flicks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FilmFanJun 29, 2008
I really wanted to like this film. Unfortunately the only thing going for it are the special affects. However the film is afflicted with the following. Least then apt writing including poor pacing (which makes parts drag out and yawn I really wanted to like this film. Unfortunately the only thing going for it are the special affects. However the film is afflicted with the following. Least then apt writing including poor pacing (which makes parts drag out and yawn inducing) and characterisations were unrealistic. The main protagonist is annoying and has no redeeming features you'd root for in a hero. While the story has potential it falls flat with little substance. I really only recommend this if you have nothing better to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DearGod...Jul 11, 2008
I really wish I could have "jumped" out of the theater. It was terrible. I could make better movies in my sleep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
gm101Apr 7, 2011
Let me just say that I actually didn't mind Hayden Christensen in Star Wars at all. In fact, I kinda liked him in Episodes 2 and 3. Here however, he became a big annoyance. Other than him, the plot was very weak, and the ending was horribleLet me just say that I actually didn't mind Hayden Christensen in Star Wars at all. In fact, I kinda liked him in Episodes 2 and 3. Here however, he became a big annoyance. Other than him, the plot was very weak, and the ending was horrible and unsatisfying. Thumbs down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
796712Jan 6, 2011
i totally agree with what the critics gave it 35 is what i thought it should get '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
roddersj04Jan 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The premise is more interesting than the actual film. Not a good sign The trailer made this film look so good, but overall, the films quite dissapointing. The film moves quite fast, but its too fast. Plot developments and significant points just go straight past you, not looking back and you'll be left confused. The "origin story" with main character David discovering his powers, escaping his alcoholic father and leaving behind his love, took place in barely 5 minutes. We didn't have enough time to care for the characters David's leaving behind (well, maybe for his love interest, but Annasophia Robb plays the part well) A wider world and a wider mythology is hinted at for both the Jumpers and The Paladins, but nothing comes from it. It's just mentioned then forgotten about It's not all bad, though Samuel L Jackson does what he can do best, be a motherf*@/ing badass, hunting after Hayden Christensen. Whats with the silver hair, though? It's just out of place Jamie Bell is the best thing about this movie. Griffin is just such an awesome character, killing Paladins, jumping a car through Tokyo to avoid traffic. The fight scene between Griffin and SLJ's character, Roland (don't laugh or SLJ will hunt you down) is pretty epic. Griffins multiple jumps towards Roland into one super punch and jumping a double decker bus is immense. The second fight though, with Griffin VS David, felt quite forced. Like the writers were trying to make us believe in their characters developing from a team up into that. And then one final fight, David VS Roland. Roland attacked his dad, maybe killed him, David's learning with his powers, should be the best fight. What do we get? Nothing. David just jumps Griffin away, remarking he's different. Dissapointing! All in all, I expected more from this film. Quite dissapointing, no significant character development. Watch it if you just want something thats just mindless fun. Otherwise, don't bother Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews