Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2019
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 453 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
340
Mixed:
56
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
dullurdDec 26, 2019
Over-the-top sappy, overwrought, and boring. I saw this with my girlfriend and her mom. The three of us have pretty different movie preferences, but an hour into this, we all looked at each other and decided to leave. Honestly perplexed whyOver-the-top sappy, overwrought, and boring. I saw this with my girlfriend and her mom. The three of us have pretty different movie preferences, but an hour into this, we all looked at each other and decided to leave. Honestly perplexed why no other reviewers appear to feel this way. Expand
16 of 30 users found this helpful1614
All this user's reviews
10
andritioMar 14, 2020
Little women 2020 full movie Online hd free
Play >>> http://t.co/0ndCcidwMM
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
charles19Jan 4, 2020
Wow. What is happening to the movie critics these days? This was an awful film, and they didnt even notice. Is this what is taken for art these days? Firstly, the writing was incredibly poor and the dialogue stilted and unnatural, likelyWow. What is happening to the movie critics these days? This was an awful film, and they didnt even notice. Is this what is taken for art these days? Firstly, the writing was incredibly poor and the dialogue stilted and unnatural, likely because it reflected the book too literally and was not adequately adapted to a movie screenplay. Secondly, the direction was very poor. There were major gaps in the plot making it seem incoherent at times. It left the viewer disoriented. Thirdly, the acting was only fair to midling. These are lightweight actors and they did nothing to anchor a poorly written screenplay. The only good parts were the costumes and cinematography. I love period piece dramas. But this was a waste of a couple of hours. Expand
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
10
forestationMar 26, 2020
Beautiful, exuberant and deeply moving retelling of a classic tale, with a uniform excellent cast delivering definitive performances
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
Brent_MarchantJan 4, 2020
A picture that prides itself on its fine performances and excellent period piece production design alone is not enough to elevate said release to cinematic greatness. So it is with director Greta Gerwig's new film adaptation of the classicA picture that prides itself on its fine performances and excellent period piece production design alone is not enough to elevate said release to cinematic greatness. So it is with director Greta Gerwig's new film adaptation of the classic novel "Little Women," a self-congratulatory offering that might look nice but rings inauthentic and tedious in many regards. This is particularly true for its almost-laughable screenplay, whose contemporary dialogue doesn't even begin to adequately suit the film's 19th Century setting. The nonlinear storytelling approach often doesn't work, either, given that there are few recognizable distinctions to separate different time frames from one another. And, while many of the portrayals are solid -- Florence Pugh, Laura Dern, Timothee Chalamet and Meryl Streep -- one can't help but cringe at the overwrought, award-baiting performance of Saoirse Ronan, whose mugging for the camera becomes tiresome quickly. For all its hype, "Little Women," unfortunately, leaves viewers with little to like. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
8
zmgalen2000Jan 1, 2020
Brilliantly directed/written/edited, and beautifully acted. 2019's Little Women is undoubtedly one that should not be missed. However, to fully relish in the film's beauty, one must watch it more than once (as I did) in order to fullyBrilliantly directed/written/edited, and beautifully acted. 2019's Little Women is undoubtedly one that should not be missed. However, to fully relish in the film's beauty, one must watch it more than once (as I did) in order to fully comprehend the story, which is told in a non-linear fashion. Yet it is the nonchronological fashion of the plot's progression that truly underlines the film's beauty. Starting from the future and past, the film slowly merges to form the present, which then guides the film back towards the future. Being able to stitch all the events together, however, can be a bit strenuous and frustrating when too much information is presented far too quickly. Despite that, the cinematography (in spite of some white flecks on the screen) and acting (among all castmembers) were both stellar. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
wadisplaceJan 2, 2020
What an outstanding movie. I love the way that they've developed all the characters. Also we they made the closeness of the family come out. It is a coming-of-age movie where the family, close as children, grow up, get married, and drift offWhat an outstanding movie. I love the way that they've developed all the characters. Also we they made the closeness of the family come out. It is a coming-of-age movie where the family, close as children, grow up, get married, and drift off into their own lives. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
MarkHReviewsJan 6, 2020
In her version of “Little Women,” Writer/Director Greta Gerwig may well have captured the essence of author Louisa May Alcott’s beliefs and sensibilities more effectively than Alcott’s original book.

The story, set in Massachusetts near the
In her version of “Little Women,” Writer/Director Greta Gerwig may well have captured the essence of author Louisa May Alcott’s beliefs and sensibilities more effectively than Alcott’s original book.

The story, set in Massachusetts near the end of the Civil War, centers on the lives of four sisters – Jo (a fiercely independent writer), Amy (an artist), Meg (whose main ambition is husband and family) and Beth (a pianist in delicate health). The home fires are managed by their mother, Marmee, who is frugal, ever-thoughtful and admirably altruistic, with occasional intrusion from wealthy elderly Aunt March. Laurie is a rich, indolent heartthrob-next-door in constant pursuit of Jo. Professor Bhaer is an academic Jo meets during a sojourn in New York City. Alcott’s text is often described as an “idealized autobiography” – the characters are based on friends and family members, but reconstructed with considerable literary license.

This novel has been the basis for many stage plays, musicals, radio shows, even a few operas. Inevitably, there have been several previous TV and movie productions, including a 1978 NBC mini-series sporting William Shatner as the professor with an amazing German accent, a 1949 movie with Elizabeth Taylor as Amy, a 1933 movie with Katherine Hepburn as Jo and a 1994 movie in which Winona Ryder was Oscar-nominated for her performance as Jo, with Christian Bale as Laurie. All of this is to suggest that if you’re going to address this chestnut again, it had better be well-roasted on that open fire. Fortunately, Gerwig’s trip down memory lane is well-done, in every respect.

One great strength of the current production is the balance of its cast. As Jo, Saoirse Ronan is reunited with Gerwig, who directed her in “Lady Bird” (Ronan received an Oscar nomination for Best Actress while Gerwig was nominated for both Best Director and Best Original Screenplay). Her intense independence drives the story at several key points. As Laurie, Timothee Chalamet (“Lady Bird,” “Call Me by Your Name”) causes regular swooning among the female population, onscreen and in the theater. Florence Pugh (“Little Drummer Girl”) as Amy and Emma Watson (Harry Potter series) as Meg also are compelling. There are additional strong performances by actresses playing against type – Lara Dern as Marmee is warm, empathic and grounded. Meryl Streep as the manipulative Aunt March draws well-earned hisses.

But it’s Gerwig’s screenplay that is the real star of this show. Gerwig masterfully crafts the film’s final act to update the original novel in ways that seem much more true to Alcott’s life and beliefs. She also weaves in other Alcott material to bolster her empowerment theme. In the third act, Gerwig borrows material from Alcott’s “Rose in Bloom” (1876) to capture the essence of Jo’s frustration with the world around her: “Women, they have minds and they have souls, as well as just hearts… I’m so sick of people saying that love is just all a woman is fit for.”

The film is made even more interesting if the moviegoer considers that, while Alcott has clearly modeled Jo after herself, perhaps Gerwig herself is equally entwined with the pair. The Act One scene of Jo and Laurie dancing maniacally outside on the porch seems to channel the goofy gracefulness or graceful goofiness of some of Gerwig’s previous acting roles, particularly “Frances Ha” and “Mistress America.” All this makes “Little Women” feel intimate, urgent and important, even for the males of the species.

“Little Women” may be an effective antidote to the mania of the Safdie Brothers’ “Uncut Gems,” which is another way of saying it drags in places. But it’s also uplifting, timely, observant and well worth your time.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
6
mjnagelJan 10, 2020
This movie was an okay time waster. It’s incredibly mediocre and not worthy of the praise it seems to be receiving. I went because of the high critic reviews. The only reason it has such good critic reviews is because of the politicalThis movie was an okay time waster. It’s incredibly mediocre and not worthy of the praise it seems to be receiving. I went because of the high critic reviews. The only reason it has such good critic reviews is because of the political messaging. The plot was boring. I should’ve known I not to trust critic reviews. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
5
BHBarryDec 28, 2019
“Little Women” was written and directed by Greta Gerwig and stars Saoirse Ronan, Laura Dern, Emma Watson and a very forgettable total of 5 minutes of Meryl Streep.
Based on Louisa Mae Alcott’s novel the film does an injustice to the audience
“Little Women” was written and directed by Greta Gerwig and stars Saoirse Ronan, Laura Dern, Emma Watson and a very forgettable total of 5 minutes of Meryl Streep.
Based on Louisa Mae Alcott’s novel the film does an injustice to the audience to which it is being exhibited. The large sums the producers spent on promoting the film would have been better utilized in the hiring of a strong editor and an additional writer for the movie is in dire need of a better script and better editing. The scenes depicting the characters and the years in which the events in their lives take place go back and forth so many times that the viewer has to rely upon the hairdos of the sisters in order to try to determine the proper chronology. Casting here is also subject to criticism since Bob Odenkirk (“Better Call Saul”) does not fit the image of the father of the girls nor does Chris Cooper (with enough makeup on to make a teenager look like Methusaleh) make a credible elderly neighbor. Both roles would have been better played by lesser known actors with no prominent identification problems.
I give the film a 5.0 rating with a special reward to the Public Relations person since he or she did a better job of hyping the film than did its writer-director in making it.
Expand
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
9
estonismJan 12, 2020
Beautiful movie, great performances. Please see this. Will read the book after seeing this movie.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MrLennyJan 13, 2020
Greta Gerwig’s little woman is a rare masterpiece. Her capabilities like a writer are impressive while her ability of directing songs genius. Lady Bird was the most strength film on relationship between mother and daughter. Gerwig was a greatGreta Gerwig’s little woman is a rare masterpiece. Her capabilities like a writer are impressive while her ability of directing songs genius. Lady Bird was the most strength film on relationship between mother and daughter. Gerwig was a great actress (Frances Ha is superlative) now she become the greater screenwriter in Hollywood. Her version of Little Women is the most successful compare with the great version of the past. Ronan shows incredible power on the screen, intensity and deepness. Little women is a masterpiece without time in cinema history. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
Harsh657Jan 16, 2020
A heartwarming, funny and an enjoyable crowd pleaser with such great cast and a very talented director behind them makes this film a must watch. The acting in this movie is just exceptional from every character especially from the 4 sistersA heartwarming, funny and an enjoyable crowd pleaser with such great cast and a very talented director behind them makes this film a must watch. The acting in this movie is just exceptional from every character especially from the 4 sisters and their mother played by Laura Dern.
Saoirse Ronan shines in this film by giving her best performance and also Pugh's outstanding performance makes this one hell of a movie from start to finish.
The film has some time jumps from present to past frequently which would have confused the audience but it didn't because of the filters used by Greta which makes you understand that part of the film easily. Also the chemistry between these characters is off the charts. Never seen anything in my life like this.
This is one of the best movies of the year and must-watch movie if you are a fan of the book.
Grade: A+
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
AndremaxFeb 17, 2020
Little Women is cute, charming, empathic, funny and slightly but deliciously caricatic, and, for sure, there's a story to tell, even a bit more than expected too, as film's third act.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
TerminalyStokeDec 26, 2019
Light and pleasant overall. The movie chooses to jump back and forth in time which isn't too difficult to keep track of, but makes the story feel disjointed. Performances were fine but the characters were uninspiring chaotic and over the topLight and pleasant overall. The movie chooses to jump back and forth in time which isn't too difficult to keep track of, but makes the story feel disjointed. Performances were fine but the characters were uninspiring chaotic and over the top at time. Marmie and Amy in my opinion we're the best played, whilst Emma Watson as Meg was forgettable and awkward. Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
3
DkneppDec 29, 2019
Confusing and disjointed. Can't hold a candle to the Winona Ryder version. The most interesting thing about the movie was the costumes. Acting was generally good, but Amy was just terrible!
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
1
EdeltraudJan 7, 2020
Here are all the reasons this movie is not very good, certainly not nearly as good as the Masterpiece Theatre adaptation. Commotion, screaming & frenetic scenes--this is what it takes to be modern & fresh? More like annoying & inauthentic. NoHere are all the reasons this movie is not very good, certainly not nearly as good as the Masterpiece Theatre adaptation. Commotion, screaming & frenetic scenes--this is what it takes to be modern & fresh? More like annoying & inauthentic. No drama to the dramatic parts-I blame the jumpy timeline, what did this device add?
Horrible overblown musical score that bludgeoned us with what our emotion should be. Emma Watson made me cringe with her wooden "acting" & Laurie was miscast. Dern wasn't much better.
I don't like dark, interior movies, this didn't need so much attic & candlelight. Also, bludgeoned us with feminist manifesto, we get it already! The death of subtlety right here. Poor grammar in a period piece about intellectuals? Twice used the wrong pronoun, "You'll be better than me (than I am.)" and "We don't play piano as well as her (as she did)." Worst of all is this obsession with remaking Little Women. The real Alcott family, especially the Dad, has a fascinating story to tell -- why don't filmmakers care about that? Amos reformed education, was an abolitionist & part of underground railroad movement. He was for women's rights, he was part of the transcendentalist movement & founded a "utopian" community ( it failed, but still), the family was vegetarian & wouldn't "enslave animals" - he was a true radical & American original. The family moved 22 times as he kept trying to bring his ideas forward & was often rejected. He palled around with Thoreau, Emerson & other luminaries.
One star for costumes.
Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
10
JumpCut_OnlineJan 1, 2020
As a film, Little Women should serve as a calling card for Greta Gerwig’s imaginative directing capabilities. The thoughtfulness on display here proves that “Lady Bird” was not a one-hit wonder, and she should be considered among the mostAs a film, Little Women should serve as a calling card for Greta Gerwig’s imaginative directing capabilities. The thoughtfulness on display here proves that “Lady Bird” was not a one-hit wonder, and she should be considered among the most promising young directors working in Hollywood today. The stylistic and narrative choices, the dialogue, and the incredible performances all contribute to a “Little Women” that is not just a new retelling of the familiar story, but a creative and ambitious reimagining. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
BlueMountainJan 1, 2020
Really enjoyable, emotional movie.
The acting was great and all the characters were lovable.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
cesarntcsJan 3, 2020
A different point of view from the other adaptations of the book, it really makes you love the story even more. Great remake wuth great actors and actresses, highly recommended.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
gscloonDec 28, 2019
Another remake of Little Women--and this one is spectacular. Instead of telling the story in a linear fashion, Gerwig begins in the present and then flashes back and flashes forward and back again, etc., unpeeling layers of meaning andAnother remake of Little Women--and this one is spectacular. Instead of telling the story in a linear fashion, Gerwig begins in the present and then flashes back and flashes forward and back again, etc., unpeeling layers of meaning and emotion in the process. The cast is superb--Saoirse Ronan is dazzling as is the camera work and musical score. Why would Gerwig choose to present the narrative complexly rather than in a straightforward manner? The latter approach has already been done ad nauseum, for one. Secondly, Gerwig has made Jo into Alcott's alter ego, and as Jo struggles to get published in New York, she reminisces about her adolescence and early adulthood in the March family. When one thinks, there are no time constraints--you can be anywhere, anytime you want and jump freely as your thoughts inspire you. As the audience for the film witnesses this random sequencing, we experience new anticipations, meanings, and insights not possible in a linear presentation. If the movie frustrated you, I urge you to watch it again with these ideas in mind at a bargain theater or certainly on cable--the experience will be rewarding. Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
10
pjgsDec 27, 2019
Incredible writing, performances, cinematography, and score. Felt like I was living in the world with all of the characters. Saoirse Ronan deserves to win Best Actress.
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
zacharyhasDec 26, 2019
Extremely charming, wonderful cast across the board, Ronan, Watson and Dern are standouts. Very soulful filmmaking.
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
10
win2020Dec 26, 2019
Absolutely loved it.Saoirse Ronan is a powerhouse performer.Jo's every emotion was brought to screen without utmost clarity and feeling.Greta Gerwig is a master story teller.Recommend it 100%
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
Sauja32Dec 27, 2019
My first Little Women experience. A beautiful, wonderfully acted, and perfectly written and balanced movie.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
DaPulseDec 28, 2019
Greta Gerwig proves herself as both a director and writer to be reckoned with through skillfully treading the line of reworking and remaining faithful to the little women source material. After seeing this film, it made me respect the work ofGreta Gerwig proves herself as both a director and writer to be reckoned with through skillfully treading the line of reworking and remaining faithful to the little women source material. After seeing this film, it made me respect the work of Louisa May Alcott so much more and all of the compromises she had to make in order to be a successful writer and provide for her family. It’s also beautifully acted and shot throughout! Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
TeraysaDec 28, 2019
If I did not go to the last showing of this movie yesterday, I would have watched it again. I cannot wait to buy this movie and watch it over and over.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryDec 30, 2019
Writer/director Greta Gerwig has reimagined the classic, skipping back and forth in a timeline that follows the 4 sisters from their teen years to adulthood. In addition to her spirited script, she's created a wonderful world ofWriter/director Greta Gerwig has reimagined the classic, skipping back and forth in a timeline that follows the 4 sisters from their teen years to adulthood. In addition to her spirited script, she's created a wonderful world of independent-thinking women and family support. The 4 actors playing the "women" are all winning, effectively capturing the dynamic between a quartet of teens, while later exploring their own struggles for happiness and worth. The performance standout (as the rich boy next door) is Timothée Chalamet, who's simply fetching, his most charming role to date. Even with the period setting, the film feels modern, fun and sweet. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
realjonarbuckleDec 30, 2019
This was definitely my favorite movie of the year. Even though the expectations were high and this story has been told so many times this version was so unique and powerful in comparison. Greta Gerwig did a phenomenal job along with theThis was definitely my favorite movie of the year. Even though the expectations were high and this story has been told so many times this version was so unique and powerful in comparison. Greta Gerwig did a phenomenal job along with the amazing cast. Saoirse Ronan as Jo March was destiny and Florence Pugh as Amy March was a real scene stealer. The acting performances and the directing truly make this movie Oscar worthy. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
soundmateDec 31, 2019
I hadn't read the novel before entering the cinema and, even though I didn't know much of the plot or what would happen, I still wondered what this title had to offer. I entered the room knowing that I would spend almost two and a half hoursI hadn't read the novel before entering the cinema and, even though I didn't know much of the plot or what would happen, I still wondered what this title had to offer. I entered the room knowing that I would spend almost two and a half hours watching the film. Is it worth it, then? Absolutely.
If the film is loyal to the 1868 novel, I will for sure read it. The caracters are very carismatic, intelligent and mind-blowing. The wardrove used for the film may be called shabby by some but, to me, it is amazing. It really feels like it has been filmed during the American Civil War. The cast has done an amazing work; you can see it has been selected with a lot of love and enthusiams, so as the movie is. The only thing I got confused with was with the flashbacks since, nowadays, most audiovisual projects use cold colors while talking about the past and warm for present or future times or viceversa. This element, however, doesn't matter since the storyline is huge, overwhelming, and really touching. It shows that you are always growing up, that aging doesn't stop in the twenties. It shows you how the world sees women and marriage and how love isn't always the main reason to engage to someone forever. The four sisters are very different showing you that, even though you are equal to them in terms of bloodline, that doesn't mean you have to be equal in intellect. I have been able to connect with "Little Women" being a male without siblings. That what I call power!
It is definitely one of the films I've enjoyed the most in my life thanks to it's amazing cast, perfect production and its emotional roller-coaster storyline. I am sure author Louisa May Alcott would have been very pleased with this must-see film for drama lovers.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
GeoaveneJan 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. É uma das melhores adaptações do livro. Mesmo com várias adaptações, greta consegue trazer um novo ar pro filme. Fora o elenco de peso e atuações impressionantes. Enfim esse é um dos melhores filmes desse ano Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
nmarlaineDec 31, 2019
The story is refreshing and bright! I appreciate how self-aware the movie is. There is great social commentary on marriage as an institution or a sole "economic proposition".
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
Bill_NyeJan 7, 2020
This movie expects you to have background knowledge the book’s story. No date for the period of time the film took place was shown and no “6 month’s later” either.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
SpiritvoxJan 12, 2020
Best move I’ve seen in a long time! I’m a guy and loved it. And the way they told the story was very fresh. See this film.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
CPNJan 30, 2020
Bland rendering of this novel. At times felt like an 80s TV movie. Sickly sweet even down to the production design. I would have loved to have seen a much bolder darker version from this director
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
anrodriguezJan 11, 2020
I fell in love with Saoirse Ronan, her acting was really emotional. The film is a soul caress.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
seel82Dec 26, 2019
Boring and overdone. Why does this movie need to be made every 15-20 years?

The 1800s has oversaturated western media for decades. Hopefully this trend fades.
11 of 23 users found this helpful1112
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 28, 2019
Opinions are opinions. Subjective or objective, but I find quite interesting the positive response the second feature film by Greta Gerwig has received, considering the so self-complacent film she created.
I personally believe that.
Do not
Opinions are opinions. Subjective or objective, but I find quite interesting the positive response the second feature film by Greta Gerwig has received, considering the so self-complacent film she created.
I personally believe that.

Do not confuse that feeling with me saying this is a misdone film. There's talent in her direction but Gerwig instead of looking for a challenge having the doors as open as she has them at the moment, she sat in the conformism and made a film that feels totally built as a ''For Your Consideration '' And be afraid if she's not considered.

I don't deny that Gerwig loves the novel, she shows it and certainly this version is her personal vision but despite the nice attempt, there's nothing new or fresh in her take.
I have to admit and emphasize that at this point it's completely stupid and naive to ask for a radical change in a story which has already been told a lot of times in film, however, it also cannot help feeling like a cheap mean of exploiting the story considering our current times, where feminism is now a driving force in the industry.
Like I said, she went for the safe bet.

And yet despite Gerwig's attempt to increase that specific plot weight, she also avoids going to issues that wouldn't work for the story she was trying to tell, because although they're not girls with money, they have the privilege of being protected from the civil war.

Jo is a young woman aware of herself and her mind, which in those times wasn't something positive but obviously the external world is not a concern for her, only her personal interests. And that's ok, we get to be that way, especially when we're young, but how do you try to make woke characters, if it's only in the things that suits them?
That's where the pertinent questions should be asked about what it was decided to take in order to make this new version work according to the director's perspective.

In the end, despite the production quality, Little Women is just a conventional and ordinary repetition of a literary classic that I personally think has already been too used.
But the proposal works both to be loved and to be hated and that depends a lot on the mentality you carry with you when you go to see it.
As always the rest depends on what you get from the film.
Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
paulamhmDec 27, 2019
Pelicula maravillosa, muy fiel a la historia pero a su vez completamente distinta por el toque de frescura y originalidad que se le da. Un reparto increible y una protagonista maravillosa. Muy recomendable
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
10
halfbloodDec 29, 2019
One of if not the best films of the year by far. Great supporting cast and the definitive version of Little Women, blows away all other adaptations, this is the version Louisa May Alcott would be proud of.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
refaslivaDec 30, 2019
One of the most beautiful movies I've seen. There is such warmth to the performances and it's impossible not to feel the love and care that clearly is in every aspect of this movie.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
TheSodomizerDec 25, 2019
Fantastic cast and fantastic sense of direction. Greta Gerwig is slowly becoming one of the best directors of this generation.
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
10
TripBugDec 25, 2019
A beautiful retelling of the novel, truly capturing the overall feeling of sisterhood and growth from the book and adding a few welcome additions along the way. Saoirse Ronan is incredible as always, Laura Dern and Emma Watson are great, andA beautiful retelling of the novel, truly capturing the overall feeling of sisterhood and growth from the book and adding a few welcome additions along the way. Saoirse Ronan is incredible as always, Laura Dern and Emma Watson are great, and Florence Pugh sells Amy as a character so hard that I think I might have to reread the book with this depiction in mind. It’s that good. Go see it. Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesDec 25, 2019
The whole film is light and charming but Florence Pugh is the real star; she is so charming and her presence lifts every scene. Probably 2019’s best supporting turn.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
3
netflicDec 29, 2019
Do not waste your time and money.
Fake, fake, fake. A huge waste of many good actors' talent as well.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
10
eitinoelleJan 7, 2020
la mejor adaptación del trabajo Louisa May Alcott. Saiorse Ronan se roba todos los focos por su gran talento y calidad para el drama y la comedia
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
hypeatiaApr 15, 2020
Badly made, terrible acting and a real disappointment after Frances Ha. The whole thing was a clumsy retelling of the story with little inventiveness.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
Rick-CastDec 28, 2019
The actors, soundtrack are pretty much the saving grace of this movie. However it falls flat that it is the same story being told so many times and provides nothing new.
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Dec 25, 2019
It's a timeless classic that most of us are at least fairly familiar with. Four young sisters come of age together in post-civil war New England, while also experiencing the ups and downs of marrying and falling in love. This story has beenIt's a timeless classic that most of us are at least fairly familiar with. Four young sisters come of age together in post-civil war New England, while also experiencing the ups and downs of marrying and falling in love. This story has been adapted countless times (the last most notable one being from 1994 which starred Winona Ryder, Christian Bale, and Susan Sarandon to name a few.) However, I have to say that this just might be the best and most complete one yet! It contains all the spirit, charm, and joy that I'd expect from this story, along with heartfelt performances from all involved! Saoirse Ronan is perfect as Jo, and Emma Watson, Florence Pugh, and Eliza Scanlen are also endearing as Meg, Amy, and Beth respectively. Rounding out the rest of the cast is Laura Dern as Marmee, the legendary Meryl Streep as Aunt March, and Timothee Chalamet as Laurie, all of whom deliver reliably great and charming performances. There's plenty of emotion to be found here as well, ranging from fun and joyful, to tearful and tender. As far as the story goes, it stays surprisingly close to the source material, even very close to the dialogue spoken in the novel. However, there were certain plot points I feel could've been developed a little more, most notably the relationship between Jo and Laurie, which seemed slightly forced and underdeveloped in this adaptation compared to other adaptations. Overall, this really does feel like the most complete and fully realized adaptation of this story yet, with the exception of some slightly underdeveloped storylines. Otherwise, it has great performances and is told in the charming, emotional, and endearing manner that I'd hoped it would be! Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
9
SandyCameronJan 4, 2020
Warm, gorgeous, funny, moving. This male was thoroughly enchanted by Little Women - and not just by the stars, though let's not pretend that cinema hasn't often been about the luminosity of beautiful actors on the silver screen. I had noWarm, gorgeous, funny, moving. This male was thoroughly enchanted by Little Women - and not just by the stars, though let's not pretend that cinema hasn't often been about the luminosity of beautiful actors on the silver screen. I had no difficulty following the 'back and forth' of the split times, and this helped maintain a more balanced tone throughout (instead of the potential for twee/saccharine early years moving to sober later years with consequent regret dominant) and an uplifting conclusion. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
1
SakinahJan 17, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Movie, that I absolutely refuse to call Little Women, is a slap in the face to anyone that has read the book, loved the classic story and has grown up with these characters ; Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy!

I am a fan of Greta Gerwig and of 'Lady Bird', which is why it was all the more unexpected that this movie turned out to be so disappointing and such a betrayal to me.
Especially as Greta herself has said that this story was first introduced to her as a child, so she knows what it means to grow up with these characters and this story.

Let's start first with how the story was unfolded. Starting in future and jumping back to the past then jumping to the future??? It ruins the whole emersive experience that the true Little Women story provides.

The reason that the story has attracted so many young girls is because that's when the story starts, when they are little girls and draws you in as they grow, learn and mature.

Next, the dreadful casting of characters that do not capture the true essence of the sisters! The terrible idea to have younger Amy and older Amy played by the same actress makes the younger Amy extremely unlikeable. And although I am a fan of Saoirse Ronan, her portrayal of Jo was completely inadequate, scatter-brained and weak.

The others so blended into the scenery they're not even worth critiquing with one exception. The one star was given for Meryl Streep.

Even if I could get behind the chaotic way in which the story was told and the drab choice of actors and actresses, I absolutely draw the line at Greta Gerwig's choice to merge the life of Louisa May Alcott and the character Jo March!
This is where the chunk of my feeling of betrayal comes from. If Greta wished to make that creative choice she has all right to do so but then Greta Gerwig cannot call this movie Little Women! Because it is not!!

Greta has 'adapted' the original story to the point where the story has shifted perspective from the central theme being family to it being about women's rights.

If this is the story Greta wanted to tell then she should have done a biographical movie about Louisa May Alcott without riding on the coat tails of Little Women!!!

Greta Gerwig's explanation that she used materials from letters and diaries of Louisa May Alcott is just insulting. It's all the more reason that it should have been a biographical movie of Alcott's life.

Critics and Reviewers are commenting on what a wonderful movie this is, and it may be in its own right, with important themes being represented, but it is not LITTLE WOMEN and should not be misrepresented as such!!!
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
ibbsteDec 26, 2019
Several auteurs this year have taken a stab at the power of time, memory, nostalgia and the sometimes painful adjustment to changing times; none, in my view, more powerfully than Greta Gerwig in her interpretation of this oft-adapted classic.Several auteurs this year have taken a stab at the power of time, memory, nostalgia and the sometimes painful adjustment to changing times; none, in my view, more powerfully than Greta Gerwig in her interpretation of this oft-adapted classic. In spite of the limitations of Civil War-era New England, especially with regard to the challenges, inequities and disadvantages of womanhood at the time, Gerwig and her mostly stellar cast manifest the early years of this story with a humility, grace, and playfulness that you want to luxuriate in and almost live in until cuts to the later years that punch you in the face with the reality of time passed and facing the ever forward-motion of life's path. The contrast of Yorick Le Saux's effective cinematography between the nostalgia of Winter sunlit rooms and the cozy warmth of the fireplace to the drab and cloudier present allows for a simultaneous romance and melancholy to the loss of time, life, and love in a way that feels miraculous and fresh no matter how many iterations of this story have been told before. Most can relate to many of these characters' lives in many ways, as has always been with this enduring story, but no other iteration has quite felt like such a warm embrace in its encouragement that life will contain multitudes of sadness, heartbreak, remorse, but also happiness, passion, and love, should you be open to receiving all. It made me want to run out of the theater and write. It made me want to remind all my loved ones that I'm here for them. It reminded me to want to keep living, to my fullest possibility, when the days can often feel depressingly static and the future frighteningly uncertain. I could have watched this movie all day. Expand
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
10
FasterFabioJan 13, 2020
Greta is a great director and writer, she knows the story she wanna tell and does it so well, the cinematography is amazing and the cast is perfectly choose, the dialogue is fluid and we have some nice monologues (from Florence Pugh andGreta is a great director and writer, she knows the story she wanna tell and does it so well, the cinematography is amazing and the cast is perfectly choose, the dialogue is fluid and we have some nice monologues (from Florence Pugh and Saoirse Ronan) about being a women and have a voice, a message so important nowadays Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
leoterraJan 14, 2020
Little women is a very difficult movie to make. It is a story that has been told many times in the cinema. The 2019 film is directed by Greta Gerwig, who had already done a very good job on Lady Bird. In this movie, she still has a veryLittle women is a very difficult movie to make. It is a story that has been told many times in the cinema. The 2019 film is directed by Greta Gerwig, who had already done a very good job on Lady Bird. In this movie, she still has a very simple and objective direction. The editing of the movie is very well done, it is an edition that holds the viewer in the story. Saoirse Ronan is amazing in this movie, it's a fantastic performance, a well deserved Oscar nomination. Florence Pugh is doing very well too. The other secondary performances are decent: Emma Watson, Eliza Scanley, Timothée Chalamet, Laura Dern, Maryl Streep, Bob Odenkirk. The only flaw of this movie is the first act, which is not bad, but it is a little too dragged, but nothing that spoils the experience. Little Women is a good movie, with decent direction and amazing acting. Deserved Oscar nomination. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jan 14, 2020
Sophomore slumps are a dime a dozen these days for writer/directors (i.e. "Us" & "Midsommar," in my opinion) but with her adaptation of "Little Women," Greta Gerwig looks to power through the mediocrity and -- most importantly -- keep theSophomore slumps are a dime a dozen these days for writer/directors (i.e. "Us" & "Midsommar," in my opinion) but with her adaptation of "Little Women," Greta Gerwig looks to power through the mediocrity and -- most importantly -- keep the audience on their proverbial toes with something quite different from what was offered an entry ago. This is a sumptuously designed, beautiful-looking saga of love, possibility and the yearning for what could have been, featuring some standout performances from nearly every cast member (though high praise goes to Saoirse Ronan, Florence Pugh and Timothee Chalamet, in particular) and a truly winsome screenplay and vision from Gerwig herself. Tender, yet pleasant, sad, but still joyous, and challenging and crowd-pleasing all at once, this is most definitely one of the best of the calendar year that was 2019, and yet another reason why Gerwig is one to look out for in terms of burgeoning filmic talents. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
popartJan 19, 2020
I loved the chemistry between the actors and the interesting take on a classic story. I loved the backdrop and the authenticity of where the story was meant to take place. The film needs editing of at least 30 minutes.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Katycat03Jan 19, 2020
Even though I’m not into this type of movie, I really enjoyed it! It’s artistically wonderful. Congrats to the writers, to the director and to the actors!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Jan 29, 2020
A good example that a literature classic never loses it's freshness. The cast fulfills it's mission in a story about feminism in the XIX century. The plot remains firm in **** 135 minutes without ups and downs, always charming. Perchance willA good example that a literature classic never loses it's freshness. The cast fulfills it's mission in a story about feminism in the XIX century. The plot remains firm in **** 135 minutes without ups and downs, always charming. Perchance will be a dark horse in upcoming Academy Awards. Go! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
AJGo85Feb 9, 2020
With Little Women, first published in 1868, Louisa May Alcott crafted a story so nearing perfection that not only has it become a classic, but it is difficult to mess up when retelling it. The fourth big screen adaptation Alcott’s novel,With Little Women, first published in 1868, Louisa May Alcott crafted a story so nearing perfection that not only has it become a classic, but it is difficult to mess up when retelling it. The fourth big screen adaptation Alcott’s novel, written and directed by Greta Gerwig, finds a fresh approach to the lives of the March sisters without making any major changes to the well-loved story. Gerwig uses a flashback structure, a steady and lively pace, equally lively performances, and a lovely score by Alexandre Desplat to make this period drama easily engaging to a modern audience. Gerwig begins her film near the end of Alcott’s story with Jo (Saoirse Ronan) living in New York trying to carve out a career as a fiction writer. Her sisters are scattered and wrapped up in their adult lives. Meg (Emma Watson) is raising a family and keeping a house while struggling with money. Amy (Florence Pugh) is learning painting in Europe. Only selfless and caring Beth (Eliza Scanlen) remains with their parents at the March family home in Massachusetts. Then the film flashes back to where to the novel and other film versions begin, with the sisters as adolescents living together under one roof with their mother, Marmie (Laura Dern, with infinite patience and warmness and wisdom). Their father is away serving with the Union army in the Civil War. It is seven years before we began with Jo living in New York.

There is real joy and emotion in the scenes of the March sisters together (that’s the appeal of watching any version of Little Women) but we get time with each of the sisters on their own. We get to know them as individuals and are privy to what is in their minds and hearts. Gerwig put together a fine ensemble but Saoirse Ronan and Florence Pugh have been singled out by the Academy with Oscar nominations in the Lead and Supporting categories, respectively. This is no surprise since Jo and Amy are the two showy roles.

Ronan brings just the right kind of energy to the rebellious, strong willed, sometimes abrasive, but always charming, Jo. She is full of life and personality without becoming a caricature. On the other hand, I found Florence Pugh’s performance as the youngest sister Amy (a child when the novel begins) so broad as to be distracting. Pugh plays Amy throughout the film, but the younger Amy’s behavior and actions have not been altered in any significant way. So, in the flashbacks we see an adult Florence Pugh speaking and acting like a child even though she looks like a teenager at the youngest (even with her Cindy Brady haircut). This unfortunately makes the younger Amy come off as odd and extra bratty.

Timothèe Chalamet is a perfect fit for the role of Laurie, the dreamy and charming boy next door destined to be intertwined with the March sisters. Chalamet brings a lively physicality to his performance, moving his long, slender body with a lilt that matches the energy of the movie. In smaller but no less entertaining roles are Meryl Streep and Tracy Letts. Streep plays the intimidating and acerbic Aunt March, who is rich enough to be able to speak her mind. She is full of 19th century quips and zingers that are delivered wonderfully. Letts plays a grumpy New York publisher that is willing buy Jo’s stories if they are spicy and if Jo’s female main characters get married at the end, or die. Jo’s conversations with him are entertaining but also come right up against being too meta for the movie's own good (if you weren’t sure about Jo being a stand-in for Alcott, these scenes leave no doubt).

I have to admit that as much the jumps back and forth in time work for the overall structure of the film some of the cuts are not immediately apparent and it takes a moment to figure out where you are in the timeline. Once you get into the rhythm of the pacing, however, you’ll find yourself caught up in the film’s enthusiasm and love for its characters. Right from the start this version of Little Women lets you know that it is not a pageant, not just another recreation of a familiar story, but a new perspective on a classic story that gets to the core of what makes this story timeless. The climax of Gerwig’s adaptation, is not whether or not Jo gets married and to whom, but how she is able to stay true to herself and her dreams and her family.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
qFeb 15, 2020
I tend to enjoy period pieces, and, although this one might be considered a chick flick, I enjoyed it. Ronan is arguably the finest young actress of our time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
DiptanshuFeb 23, 2020
How sweet!saoirse ronan Beauty with talent How great her performance is i couldn't believe she had not won oscar this time!literally from score,screenplay,story everything was affecting my emotions deeply as the end part where she imaginesHow sweet!saoirse ronan Beauty with talent How great her performance is i couldn't believe she had not won oscar this time!literally from score,screenplay,story everything was affecting my emotions deeply as the end part where she imagines her with small sister i almost hold my breathe and literally cry!Such chills and great emotional,thought provoking,humble cinema!Definitely a must watch! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksMar 8, 2020
A wonderful modern take on a classic. The family dynamic, acting and sets are divine, as is Greta Gerwig's direction. Florence Pugh really steals the show as Amy.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
JoeCoolMar 10, 2020
The costumes are nice. Some of the star performances are pretty forgettable, some are really good. Sometimes entertainingly humorous, though most of the time it's just depressingly boring. The editing is awkward at times. As a whole it's notThe costumes are nice. Some of the star performances are pretty forgettable, some are really good. Sometimes entertainingly humorous, though most of the time it's just depressingly boring. The editing is awkward at times. As a whole it's not awful, but it's nowhere near as good as the critcs would have you believe.
I guess the critcs value political correctness more than entertainment value.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
neal64May 4, 2020
This movie missed every note of the time period as well as the tone and overall message from the original book. Gerwig successfully took over a classic novel and twisted it to match her personal emotional agenda. Every choice made in thisThis movie missed every note of the time period as well as the tone and overall message from the original book. Gerwig successfully took over a classic novel and twisted it to match her personal emotional agenda. Every choice made in this movie from the costumes (a personal Oscar snub in my opinion) that dishonor the characters and the time period to even showcasing music that came out long after the book was published. The non-linear structure paired with the lack of time sensitive choices, made it almost impossible to follow along. Every character except Jo is miscast, yes even the 23 year old playing the 12 year old. Meg meant to be the oldest who is concerned with fitting into society and behaving properly, and who is constantly telling Jo in the book what is in and out of fashion, is played as a hippie child who lets her down and is never seen in a bonnet? Beth, who offers much more to the dynamic of the March family than she is even given time to breathe in this movie. Amy, who is much like Meg in openly caring about social status and being swept away by a prince charming is played as a careless, annoying child. She should be played later in life as a poised, smart young woman but is seen screeching and flailing in public, which would have been her worst nightmare in the book. Don't even get me started on Gerwig turning the lime scene where she is physically assaulted by the teacher into a comedic sketch where she is then rewarded for her vapid behavior by getting to meet Laurie. Lastly, Marmee is supposed to resemble Jo, even saying that as a young woman she was temperamental and wild and angry. We can see this throughout the course of the 1994 movie through Susan Sarandon's acting. But when Laura Dern out of nowhere in the 2019 version says "I'm angry all the time" I don't feel or buy it whatsoever. Dern portrays her as a chill, hippie mom who somehow dyes her hair blonde and wears her buns aggressively high for the time period. I could go on and on about everything this movie did wrong, but I would run out of space, so I'll end it here. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
KeithDowDec 27, 2019
‘Little Women’ is simply a story of its time … and a bit of a boring one at that. If Greta Gerwig can’t make it captivating, nobody can.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
MoiztDec 26, 2019
Outside of Emma Watson's acting and an odd casting choice in Bob Odenkirk this might be as close as you get to a perfect film.
4 of 16 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews
9
Sierra-117Jan 26, 2020
Little Women, based on the Novel by Louisa May Alcott, is a warm yet at times extremely moving tale about the lives of four sisters growing up in the years following the American civil war. Although from the outside it may appear as nothingLittle Women, based on the Novel by Louisa May Alcott, is a warm yet at times extremely moving tale about the lives of four sisters growing up in the years following the American civil war. Although from the outside it may appear as nothing more than a generic feel-good movie, there is actually a suprising amount of depth to it that distinguishes itself from other Historical dramas. Similar to J.B Priestly's 'An Inspector calls' Little Women sometimes subtly and other times very clearly aims to adress both modern and historic issues such as sexism, which is also one of the main themes of the film.
One thing that you'll immeditely notice when watching the movie is it's extensive collection of talented and famous actors. from rising stars Timothee Chalamet (the king) and Florence Pugh (midsommar) to even breaking bad's Bob Odenkirk, every member of the cast is exceptional in their own way, supporting and main alike. I'd say the standouts for me were Saisoree Ronan, Pugh and Chalamet, but it's so hard to choose from so many stellar performances. Like the acting, the story of this movie almost never falters. At several points the tone is shifted and each time it's always seemless and never uncalled for. However, as the film begins to near it's end a major event takes place which ultimately sets an extraodinarily sad, melancholy tone, but by the time the film was finished this event to me felt somewhat shrugged off, as if it hadn't happened. Although others will certaintly disagree in my opinion it is always better to end the film on a sad note rather than move on, as it leaves a more lasting impression on the viewer. Sometimes it feels kind of cheap to have a happy ending,and for me this was certaintly the case with Little Women. I can definitely forgive this though, as it is not the fault of the film but that of the Author.
Other than that I having absolutely nothing bad to say. Little women is a wonderful and emotional story that remains consstent throughout, and I wholeheartedly believe it deserves its nomination for best picture. Whether it deserves the award is another matter, but to be honest I doubt that it'll break out of the shadow of some of its fellow nominees.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
ArminAfsharFeb 2, 2020
Der Film hat praktisch keinen Konflikt. Bis die Hälfe vom Drehbuch geht nur um Charakter Beschreibung! Das Drehbuch ist Flasch und Dramlos. Nach 90 Minuten fängt man zu gähnen, weil es einfach nicht passiert und die Geschichte endlos weiterDer Film hat praktisch keinen Konflikt. Bis die Hälfe vom Drehbuch geht nur um Charakter Beschreibung! Das Drehbuch ist Flasch und Dramlos. Nach 90 Minuten fängt man zu gähnen, weil es einfach nicht passiert und die Geschichte endlos weiter geht. Falls man denkt, dass nach 110 Minuten etwas in der Geschichte schieflaufen kann, irret sich! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
HaleybApr 12, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was so boring all that happened was one sister died. Worst movie I’ve ever seen in my life. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
9
rubysemJan 4, 2020
The structure of this movie, remixing the order of the story to illustrate the events that made the women who they are, was excellent. All performances were lovely, but Emma Watson's American accent was not very convincing and she slippedThe structure of this movie, remixing the order of the story to illustrate the events that made the women who they are, was excellent. All performances were lovely, but Emma Watson's American accent was not very convincing and she slipped back to British a few times. The aesthetic and shots in this movie were so interesting and fun and I loved the way it turned out. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
6
GLADIADORJan 13, 2020
É um filme ok, nada de mais, acho que se eu fosse mulher eu iria gostar mais, ele é um pouco arrastado so uma vez que eu ri na maior parte não
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinJan 17, 2020
I walked into the Classic Gateway Movie Theatre almost with a defiant attitude of "Show me!" as I have seen 3 versions, and read the book, of "Little Women". No way could anyone be prettier than Elizabeth Taylor in the 1949 version orI walked into the Classic Gateway Movie Theatre almost with a defiant attitude of "Show me!" as I have seen 3 versions, and read the book, of "Little Women". No way could anyone be prettier than Elizabeth Taylor in the 1949 version or Katherine Hepburn's strong, steadfast as Jo in the 1933 version or the realistic Jo of Winona Ryder in the 1994 film. After twenty minutes I was confused because the women we are seeing aren't 'little women', they are grown women.

This is the only way that the director/screenwriter Greta Gerwig missteps in both categories because at times it becomes confusing at moments--important moments, otherwise she has kept everything under control from the perfect cast to keeping all important parts of the book.

Most people reading this are familiar with "Little Women" either from previous movie versions or actually reading the classic book and if you aren't I don't want to spoil any of the film so on to the cast.

Saoirse Ronan, as Jo, projects a strong women of yesteryear and today and has scored her 4th Oscar nomination. Emma Watson as Meg, Eliza Scanlen as Beth and Florence Pugh, who won a best Oscar supporting actress nomination interact as sisters do while Laura Dern as their mother is warm, stern and her own woman. Meryl Streep is playing Maggie Smith's role from "Downton Abbey"!

Most of the men, except Timothee Chalamet who plays Laurie, and is prettier than Elizabeth Taylor or anyone in this film, captures the audience in a heartbreaking scene with Jo. Louis Garrel as a language professor in a few short scenes shows he can stand up to whatever is thrown at him. Chris Cooper, as Laurie's, grandfather, opens himself gradually until we get to know this intensely private human scene and Tracy Letts as Jo's first publisher and James Norton as Meg's husband support the women. "Little Women" will take hold of you about 30 minutes into the film and hold on to you for the next 105 minutes.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
jackbailey02Jan 20, 2020
Loved this film. Ronan was excellent as always, Florence Pugh was also superb. The fact both are such outsiders in their oscar categories shows it matters less about performance and more about to whom you have schmoozed in the buildup. BothLoved this film. Ronan was excellent as always, Florence Pugh was also superb. The fact both are such outsiders in their oscar categories shows it matters less about performance and more about to whom you have schmoozed in the buildup. Both Gerwig's writing and direction made for an engrossing watch which will take you on a roller coaster of emotions. It doesn't matter if Gerwig is female or not, the fact she isn't nominated for direction is baffling when put alongside who has made the cut, this film is more impressively shot and comprised than at least two others on the list. Go and see this film, it's certainly one of the best, if not the best, in the cinemas this oscar season. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
DeanomiteJan 26, 2020
I am dubious of my ability to be entertained by super feminist movies, especially old victorian stuff. This is the third version of Little Women in 2 years, and is star studded, with the talented combination of Greta Gerwig and SaoriseI am dubious of my ability to be entertained by super feminist movies, especially old victorian stuff. This is the third version of Little Women in 2 years, and is star studded, with the talented combination of Greta Gerwig and Saorise Roanan who made Ladybird, and Emma Watson is always nice, so I want to try. The photography is pretty dark, looks like a BBC tv show. Costumes are very good, Saoirse is very good, the costumes are well done, the dialog is a little too contemporary. The lighting is very dim, the nagging starts at 20 minutes. this movie is not for me, made it 30 minutes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
BeatrixKiddoFeb 7, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, if you don't like this film, you are an idiot. It's emotional, romantic, beautiful.. definately, best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
BulgarianCriticFeb 9, 2020
I just wanna start off by saying im not that bigof a fan for dramas of this type.
The characters were played pretty well but the story for me was paced too slowly(makes sense though)and some of the choices that the characters made felt like
I just wanna start off by saying im not that bigof a fan for dramas of this type.
The characters were played pretty well but the story for me was paced too slowly(makes sense though)and some of the choices that the characters made felt like they were forced outta thin air and when the girls became hysterical made me kinda cringe and pissed off. +1 from my Mom she liked the movie
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SrPepeFeb 9, 2020
Muy buena película, con un increíble reparto, posiblemente el mejor de 2019 después de Parasite. La historia es muy linda y toda la producción también es increíble.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
KatanaVoidFeb 14, 2020
Little Women creates an interesting debate about the role of women of society in a beautiful, meaningful and melancholic movie.

The film has a lot of great acting, directing, astonishing photography and figurine design, but the movie has its
Little Women creates an interesting debate about the role of women of society in a beautiful, meaningful and melancholic movie.

The film has a lot of great acting, directing, astonishing photography and figurine design, but the movie has its problems. The first and half of the second act are very confusing, and a little dull, I must say. Many characters aren't well developed or simply aren't charismatic, which really makes a few moments of the film that should've been quite emotive and sad, not that strong.

But in the end, it's all worth it. "Little Women" is an adorable movie, with an incredible ending.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RubyDFeb 16, 2020
My favourite 2019 movie. Compelling adaptation by Greta Gerwig. Great ensemble of actors with strong chemistry (lots of Oscar winners & nominees too). Saoirse Ronan and Florence Pugh were standouts and worthy of their Oscar nominations.My favourite 2019 movie. Compelling adaptation by Greta Gerwig. Great ensemble of actors with strong chemistry (lots of Oscar winners & nominees too). Saoirse Ronan and Florence Pugh were standouts and worthy of their Oscar nominations. Timothee Chalamet was so charming as Laurie - perfect for the role. The costumes and musical score were brilliant. A feel good, smart, funny and warm-hearted movie which for me was just a pleasure to watch. I wish Greta was nominated for the directing part as she deserved it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
avndrexFeb 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amy, Jo, Beth y Meg son cuatro hermanas que atraviesan Massachussets con su madre durante la Guerra Civil, unas vacaciones que realizan sin su padre evangelista itinerante. Durante estas vacaciones las adolescentes descubren el amor y la importancia de los lazos familiares. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
livafonsoApr 15, 2020
I think Greta Gerwig did an outstanding job of creating a little women that stands out from all the others. The way she decided to do the film out of order from the book I feel made the movie more effective. The acting, costumes, andI think Greta Gerwig did an outstanding job of creating a little women that stands out from all the others. The way she decided to do the film out of order from the book I feel made the movie more effective. The acting, costumes, and cinematography is amazing. Stand outs would be Saoirse Ronan who really embodied the character Jo March, and in my opinion the MVP of the film Florence Pugh as a likeable Amy March. This movie was my favourite movie of this year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
LifeisbellablogApr 18, 2020
This was one of my most hyped movies of 2019. I love the story of Little Women, but something about this version didn't exactly do it for me. The all-star cast is perfect and it's disappointing that I don't love it as much as I wanted to.This was one of my most hyped movies of 2019. I love the story of Little Women, but something about this version didn't exactly do it for me. The all-star cast is perfect and it's disappointing that I don't love it as much as I wanted to. Don't get me wrong, it was still good, but something about it doesn't hold the same amount of charm as the previous versions do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
katezoeApr 25, 2020
Disappointed after reading rave reviews, Oscar nominations, Oscar winner, etc. Too long needed editing...scenes dragged.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
zklJun 20, 2020
really nice movie, traversing through the lives of the march family was a really lovely and entertaining ride. the performance from saoirse ronan was especially top notch. bob odenkirk's appearance was a bit jarring tho.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JordanLaytonApr 27, 2020
WOW. Greta Gerwig has done it again. And this cast is overwhelming. Loved it.

I was not familiar with this story and I've been told it's quite close to the book but I'm definitely intrigued enough to go back to the original work now, even
WOW. Greta Gerwig has done it again. And this cast is overwhelming. Loved it.

I was not familiar with this story and I've been told it's quite close to the book but I'm definitely intrigued enough to go back to the original work now, even knowing of the 700+ page count. It is such a great ensemble piece about the art and lives of these 4 sisters (although only 3 have real arcs imo). Regardless, I loved it and surprisingly saw myself in it quite a bit as well. Great casting has a lot to do with it, but it was an absolute joy seeing these 5 (including Timothee Chalamete) young talented actors in so many gripping scenes together. It was difficult at first to not see Lady Bird, the girl from Midsommar, the girl from Sharp Objects, the guy from Call Me By Your Name, and Hermione, but after about 10 minutes these young talents all fully fell into their roles for me and I was immersed. I did not like the casting of Bob Odenkirk for their father. He had so little to do in the story that I would have rather seen an unknown in that role to avoid Saul Goodman from Breaking Bad jarringly jumping into the movie at the 40 minute mark.

I also particularly loved the wide shots in this film. Cinematographers right now shy away from shooting in more fuzzy or painterly styles but doing so was perfectly on theme for this film about 4 young artists and it made the landscapes pop in a way I haven't seen before. The dancing in the film was shot with appropriate excitement as well.

The pacing dragged for me a little bit after a pivotal point in the film but otherwise I was fully invested throughout. Catch it before its gone!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Juliassis13Apr 30, 2020
Excelente adaptação. Este filme me proporcionou uma mistura tão linda e tocante de emoções... Li o livro há anos e não poderia estar mais satisfeita com o que foi feito da história
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dostoyevsky3May 5, 2020
The greatest film of 2019 more than deserving of the best picture oscar that it wasn't given. This undeniably sweet and charming update with relatable characters of Louisa May Alcott's thematically rich novel is once again brought to lifeThe greatest film of 2019 more than deserving of the best picture oscar that it wasn't given. This undeniably sweet and charming update with relatable characters of Louisa May Alcott's thematically rich novel is once again brought to life with excellent acting and cinematography that make this another remarkable remake to this timeless tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulMay 8, 2020
Desconozco la historia de origen, así como las adaptaciones de la misma, pero aquí el trabajo de Greta Gerwig como directora es bellísima y las actuaciones son muy armoniosas, se nota que todos le pusieron mucho amor y dedicación en laDesconozco la historia de origen, así como las adaptaciones de la misma, pero aquí el trabajo de Greta Gerwig como directora es bellísima y las actuaciones son muy armoniosas, se nota que todos le pusieron mucho amor y dedicación en la realización de esta película aunque la narrativa no me convenció demasiado porque ningún hecho esta narrado en orden cronológico y me costó un poco seguirle el hilo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sicklleMay 26, 2020
Soulless adaptation,miscasting,too modern dialog for the story.no one aged,the same hair cuts,the same faces,the story has no direction,it is not even try to pull you in any direction which is lazy.Emma Watsonm was weak,Laura Dern doesn'tSoulless adaptation,miscasting,too modern dialog for the story.no one aged,the same hair cuts,the same faces,the story has no direction,it is not even try to pull you in any direction which is lazy.Emma Watsonm was weak,Laura Dern doesn't fit& Timothée Chalamet was the cool kid from the neighborhood & what is up with the intense use of the music in the backround?too loud & generic.am giving it 4 for the effort the actors did to give their best,even if that wasn't enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Andre25May 29, 2020
One of the best movie I've ever saw. Greta Gerwig gave us a masterpiece. Saoirse, Emma, Florence and Eliza are wonderful. Their performances are spectacular. The entire cast is very good. I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DouglasspompeuJun 11, 2020
Little Women is well directed, beautifully shot and there is a plenty of decent performances, however it lacks a substantial tension to make it something glorious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KevinChau5Jul 28, 2020
Highly recommend this one! Heavy Praise for Performances of the Cast, Costume Design, Greta Gerwig did an awesome job Directing this film, her best film she directed since Lady Bird!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MaxwooSep 3, 2020
Gotta read the book after this, kinda interesting and rich plot, fantastic actors and actresses.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tansonOct 19, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Little Women 2019: Four Little Women Unraveled
Directed by Greta Gerwig, also the director of Lady Bird, Little women is another attempt on a popular classic American novel. There's also a former version of Little Women produced in 1994. However, the 2019 version is more modern yet more fragmental. Usually these kinds of adaptions on classic novels are favored by the Academy. And without surprises, Little Women 2019 got 6 Oscar Nominations including the Best Picture.
This novel was originally written by Louise Alcott, following "Little women", Louise has written sequels"Little Men" and "Jo's Boys". The novel addresses three major themes: "domesticity, work, and true love, all of them interdependent and each necessary to the achievement of its heroine's individual identity." Scholars clarify Little Women as an autobiographical or semi-autobiographical novel. In this movie, Gerwig doesn't follow the method of the former movie to tell a story chronically, instead it adopts a lot of flashback fashion. In that way, she made Jo March the story-teller, and move back and forth to tell Jo's family life - the frolics, the love, and the growth of the four dear sisters.

As a movie that focuses on group performance, Little Women 2019 spends a lot of time depicting different characteristics of the four girls - Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy.
Meg, as apparently presented in the movie by Emma Watson, is a gorgeous girl who has the gift of acting, and has been partnered with Jo throughout the years. Meg, from Jo's perspective, is a great actress who can become famous and independent from men, making a fortune by working with Jo. However, such a beautiful and self-sufficient woman chooses marriage over her career....
[link omitted per site rules]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
meydianarizki21Oct 30, 2020
Absolutely LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!! FAMILY FRIENDLY TREAT!

In an era with so much inappropriate and disgusting messages in the movie industry, this movie is an absolute treat for me and my family! Clean--no swearing. No blood or gory violence.No
Absolutely LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!! FAMILY FRIENDLY TREAT!

In an era with so much inappropriate and disgusting messages in the movie industry, this movie is an absolute treat for me and my family! Clean--no swearing. No blood or gory violence.No sex references or scenes on any gender. The sophistication and level of beauty of a well-written and well-acted movie is a wonderful change. I encourage those to watch it if you are tired of horrible messages in movies. The only thing is the flashbacks may be hard to keep up, just be aware of filters and other indications of the timeline of the movie to notice if it in the past or present. But found the timeline very necessary and suspenful. Lovely movie for me and my family and can't recommend it enough. :):)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
OlavLNov 7, 2020
Okay, Gerwig is now one of my favourite directors. Saoirse Ronan's performance was particularly amazing, although everyone did a great job. Timothy Chalamet was unusually interesting in this one, playing a character with charm, rather thanOkay, Gerwig is now one of my favourite directors. Saoirse Ronan's performance was particularly amazing, although everyone did a great job. Timothy Chalamet was unusually interesting in this one, playing a character with charm, rather than just another emo. I really hope he will bring this sort of charisma into his other roles.the direction is flawless, the time jumps are inspired, and the way the lighting is used just totally floored me. Fantastic film with a great cast, flawless music, and incredible direction. Could have gone without Emma Watson's sort of out of place performance, but beyond that, it is an amazing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Dan_BDec 27, 2020
(Español / English)
............................................................
Mujercitas aborda ciertos avatares en la vida de las cuatro hermanas March, sus padres, amigos y pretendientes a partir de la Guerra de Secesión. Una de ellas,
(Español / English)
............................................................

Mujercitas aborda ciertos avatares en la vida de las cuatro hermanas March, sus padres, amigos y pretendientes a partir de la Guerra de Secesión. Una de ellas, Jo, escribe y se propone ser una escritora independiente (Saoirse Ronan); Amy pinta (Florence Pugh); Meg actúa (Emma Watson) y Beth toca el piano (Eliza Scanlen). Por el momento su madre, Margaret (Laura Dern) se las arregla sola ya que el padre (Bob Odenkirk) se encuentra en el frente, lo que no le impide permanentes tareas solidarias. Hay una tía acomodada por parte de padre (Meryl Streep) y unos vecinos ricos: un abuelo y su nieto Laurie (Timothée Chalamet) que siempre anda orbitando a las hermanas.

Tanto en la novela original de Louisa May Alcott como en la película planea el tema de qué grado de independencia económica podía lograr una mujer en esa época y qué oportunidades tenían de canalizar sus vocaciones, siendo el matrimonio aparentemente el único destino posible (y no necesariamente salvador). Algo así como el universo de Jane Austin pero en EE.UU. y con las nuevas inquietudes de la época.

Con por lo menos dos versiones cinematográficas anteriores, en ésta, la directora Greta Gerwig realiza dos intervenciones fundamentales: una, en la manera de narrar, ya que alterna permanentemente la época de adolescencia de las hermanas con otra posterior a la Guerra, con las chicas más adultas. Este ir y venir crea en principio confusión, ya que toma al espectador por sorpresa. Por otro lado, en la primera parte de la película, las escenas son más bien corales, lo que sumado al permanente quiebre temporal atenta contra el crecimiento de los personajes y la empatía por ellos. En la segunda parte, en cambio, y ya costumbrados al mecanismo y con abordajes más focalizados, esta forma de relatar crea paralelismos interesantes y el relato se afianza. (Con una historia muy diferente, un planteo temporal similar funciona desde el comienzo en El jilguero, por ejemplo)

La otra intervención, enfatiza el carácter autobiográfico de la novela en la figura de la escritora Jo creando interesantes instancias metaficcionales.

Más allá de esas intervenciones, la realizadora respeta las convenciones del melodrama romántico, que es el que termina cobrando fuerza con sus desencuentros amorosos y rivalidades. De este modo este relato clásico pero intervenido termina funcionando.

Las actrices jóvenes se lucen en sus interpretaciones, Laura Dern luce expresiva y contenida, la tía de la infalible Meryl Streep es la voz del establishment y Chalamet aporta un encanto romántico esencial para su personaje.

La construcción de época es primorosa mientras que la música de Alexander Desplat es innecesariamente enfática.

..........................................................
In both the original novel by Louisa May Alcott and in the film, she plans the issue of what degree of economic independence a woman could achieve at that time and what opportunities they had to channel their vocations, marriage being apparently the only possible destination (and not necessarily savior). Something like the universe of Jane Austin but in the US and with the new concerns of the time.

With at least two previous film versions, in this one, the director Greta Gerwig makes two fundamental interventions: one, in the way of narrating, since it permanently alternates the time of adolescence of the sisters with another after the War, with the girls more adult. This coming and going creates confusion at first, as it takes the viewer by surprise. On the other hand, in the first part of the film, the scenes are rather choral, which, added to the permanent temporary break, threatens the growth of the characters and empathy for them. In the second part, on the other hand, and already accustomed to the mechanism and with more focused approaches, this way of telling creates interesting parallels and the story takes hold. The other intervention emphasizes the autobiographical character of the novel in the figure of the writer Jo, creating interesting metafictional instances.

Beyond these interventions, the director respects the conventions of romantic melodrama, which is the one that ends up gaining strength with her love affairs and rivalries. In this way this classic but intervened story ends up working.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HadzhipetkovaApr 4, 2021
So much worse than the 1996 version!
The cast looks nothing like the description in the book.
Jo does not act boyish enough as she is supposed to, and she does not look boyish either. Amy, who is the youngest sister, looks older than everyone
So much worse than the 1996 version!
The cast looks nothing like the description in the book.
Jo does not act boyish enough as she is supposed to, and she does not look boyish either.
Amy, who is the youngest sister, looks older than everyone else, including Teddy. They have 24-years-old access playing 12-year-old kid! Her voice is deeper than her oldest sister Meg.
Teddy is supposed to be Joe’s age, but he looks like teenager when already married.
The only person who looks and acts appropriate for their role is probably Beth.
The storyline is a complete mess, keeps jumping back and forward between the first and second part of the book, and thus makes everything very confusing even for someone who was read the book, especially because the characters do not age, apparently, or change in any way.
There are a lot of made up moments and dialogues throughout the movie, that do not appear in the book.
The whole first part of the book - the actual ‘Little women’ part it’s rushed through, and most of the important dialogues are cut off.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews