Focus World | Release Date: February 27, 2015
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
39
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
beingryanjudeMar 1, 2015
A highly entertaining, yet dark look at the Hollywood lifestyle and those involved and affected by it. Featuring a strong ensemble of unusual suspects, lead by Julianne Moore's fine performance.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeFeb 28, 2015
Pitch perfect movie about Hollywood and how incestous it is figuratively and literraly. Julianne Morre gives one of the bravest no holds barred performances for an A list actress I have ever seen. Screenplay amazing and this is one of DavidPitch perfect movie about Hollywood and how incestous it is figuratively and literraly. Julianne Morre gives one of the bravest no holds barred performances for an A list actress I have ever seen. Screenplay amazing and this is one of David Cronenberg's best film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
danippMar 13, 2015
Crazy, funny, scary, with an incredible Julianne Moore. It's clear why this movie didn't get a 2014 release and why the Academy preferred Moore in Still Alice, since it makes a huge critic to Hollywood, including mentions of names like DemiCrazy, funny, scary, with an incredible Julianne Moore. It's clear why this movie didn't get a 2014 release and why the Academy preferred Moore in Still Alice, since it makes a huge critic to Hollywood, including mentions of names like Demi Lovato, Garry Marshall and even Harvey Weinstein. But I liked how Cronenberg and Wagner explored the politics, fame and behavior of big stars. They're not lying, they're showing something real that many people don't wanna see. Besides the world of movies and celebrities, Maps to the Stars tells a bizarre story about a family and a star who has issues with her abusive dead mother. Mia Wasikowska is also amazing in this surpising movie. I recommend! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
avr50May 26, 2017
Maps to the stars is a unique movie. It has great actors delivering really good performances (Julianne Moore is the best) a first class director and a Cannes Film Festival Selection logo on the poster. This will be a movie for a ten, butMaps to the stars is a unique movie. It has great actors delivering really good performances (Julianne Moore is the best) a first class director and a Cannes Film Festival Selection logo on the poster. This will be a movie for a ten, but somethingĀ“s missing, a better script. The script has some fails that make the movie seem a little improvised, with scenes that are over the top and situations very predictable and a very dissapointing ending. However, this movie (at least until the end) delievers a really creepy version of Hollywood that is valid and unfortunately truth Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeSep 29, 2016
Not about the night stars, but the Hollywood's.

The title gives an impression of someone lost in somewhere and trying to find a way back home. I did not know what this film was about. I did not know who stars in it and when it released.
Not about the night stars, but the Hollywood's.

The title gives an impression of someone lost in somewhere and trying to find a way back home. I did not know what this film was about. I did not know who stars in it and when it released. But I decided to watch it at the last minute without checking out its synopsis and I ended up satisfied. Not fully pleased, but the refreshing story and its characters interested me.

This is an unusual drama that takes place in a district where the Hollywood people are dominated. Our tale opens with a young woman arriving there and soon gets an opportunity to become a famous artist's personal assistant. The film also focuses others tales, so it is a multi layered story. But all of them are somewhere connected; particularly at the end. Revealing everyone's agenda behind their act is what brings the conclusion to the tale.

Not neatly told story, yet different. I would say futuristic theme. I liked the performances. Robert Pattinson was not in a major role, but the other like Mia Wasikowska, Julianne Moore were good. Revolving around the bunch film celebrities means there's no real ones involved with the real names, just mentioned the names who were not in the film. Hard to predict the story, I was not sure until it revealed itself everything at the end. That part was a quite a shock, not I expected, but that's the real twist. Overall film was decent, slightly it missed to be a great. I feel it is worth a watch if you want something new in the story.

6.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticAug 22, 2015
While this film made me feel a bit dirty I got to admit I was strangely entertained. Everyone in this film are disturbed in ways that only Hollywood could produce. I really thought the hopeless whining of Julianne Moore would get reallyWhile this film made me feel a bit dirty I got to admit I was strangely entertained. Everyone in this film are disturbed in ways that only Hollywood could produce. I really thought the hopeless whining of Julianne Moore would get really annoying instead I was mesmerized by her performance. Cronenberg's last film Cosmopolis was a head scratcher with ridiculous dialogue. This one gets him back on track. A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
frankrog29May 2, 2015
David Cronenberg is one of the most original and fearless directors working today. Maps to the Stars is one of his more disturbing movies, but it is also uncannily beautiful at times. All of the characters are in the entertainment business.David Cronenberg is one of the most original and fearless directors working today. Maps to the Stars is one of his more disturbing movies, but it is also uncannily beautiful at times. All of the characters are in the entertainment business. The characters are trying to obtain spirituality but failing because of their superficial, materialistic environment. They seek solace in their family members, who are both their saviors and their worst enemies. This movie is ultimately about the love/hate relationships that family members often share. Mr. Cronenberg's movies are works of art that provoke the viewer, rather than placate him or her like many movies are content to do these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DeanomiteFeb 18, 2020
Anything by Cronenberg gets an inspection, this has Robert Pattinson between Twilight and Batman, he is good in this. Carrie Fisher plays herself, interesting. Photography is well done, palette has nice greens and lighting. Something aboutAnything by Cronenberg gets an inspection, this has Robert Pattinson between Twilight and Batman, he is good in this. Carrie Fisher plays herself, interesting. Photography is well done, palette has nice greens and lighting. Something about Julianne Moore, she is exhausting in everything I see her in. I gave up half way through, it just was not interesting. Narcissistic people are always so obsessed with themselves they are boring to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews