Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 28, 2006
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 299 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
139
Mixed:
58
Negative:
102
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
LevelsAndGearNov 26, 2011
Other than the names and setting, the movie incarnation of Miami Vice seems to have very little in common with the show that inspired it, which I imagine will disappoint anyone who checked it out hoping for some retro reminiscing. The actingOther than the names and setting, the movie incarnation of Miami Vice seems to have very little in common with the show that inspired it, which I imagine will disappoint anyone who checked it out hoping for some retro reminiscing. The acting was extremely stiff, the plot was uninteresting and extremely cliched, and the setting was far too modern. While there was a couple decent action scenes and some may like the "romances" - but you'd be better off watching some re-runs of the original series or better made action movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
SamM.Aug 7, 2006
This was a horrid waste of time. My girlfriend practically fell asleep the movie was so slow and uninspired. The acting did not at all pull me into the emotion of the caste. The 'shaky' camera effects are old and headache inducing. This was a horrid waste of time. My girlfriend practically fell asleep the movie was so slow and uninspired. The acting did not at all pull me into the emotion of the caste. The 'shaky' camera effects are old and headache inducing. Why can't I just sit anymore and see a scene with 2 people holding a conversation without having the camera shake? Either hire a new camera man or get a better tripod. It's not live it's not cops it's not smart or cute anymore. The 'smart parts' weren't that smart and 90% of the movie was utterly pointless leaving us saying "why are they doing this again?" and not because the easily predicatible plot was anything hard to understand, but because what they were doing was flat out a waste of time and energy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkusG.Oct 10, 2006
Whatever happened to the Michael Mann I know and love? Satan, leave his body! This was the most meandering, pointless, self-congratulatory and unnecessarily long movie I've seen all year. They could
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesAug 2, 2006
It was bad. I have seen bad movies before but this one tops the list as one of the worst movies ive ever seen. The movie kept dragging on, and pretty much from the beginning to the end i was confused to what was going on in the story. The It was bad. I have seen bad movies before but this one tops the list as one of the worst movies ive ever seen. The movie kept dragging on, and pretty much from the beginning to the end i was confused to what was going on in the story. The rare action scenes were nice but they were considerably short compared to there 3 or 4 crappy sex scenes. The acting was BAD. They hired like 3 or 4 well known actors and basically got all these unknowns (which I don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NancyHAug 5, 2006
It's disappointing when the creator of Miami Vice can't save this on the big screen--script wise, it was silly. Visually, it was very good. There is no on-screen chemistry between Colin Farrell and Gong Li. If we are to believe It's disappointing when the creator of Miami Vice can't save this on the big screen--script wise, it was silly. Visually, it was very good. There is no on-screen chemistry between Colin Farrell and Gong Li. If we are to believe that Farrell would stretch the limits of the law for his love, then the chemistry should have been as palatable as Pitt and Jolie in Mr/Mrs Smith. Plus Farrell really looks bad--bad hair dye job, bad physical condition--really bloated and obvious lack of skin shown to the audience (vis-a-vis Jamie Foxx and his hot bod), and did I say bad hair? Don't waste your money to see this, wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesS.Aug 9, 2006
Terrible! Walked out. Zero chemistry between love interests. Uninteresting dialogue, boring action, worst movie i've seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobFeb 22, 2007
I hated this movie. I fell asleep 3 times during it, because there is nothing exciting in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobertxxxOct 9, 2006
Did anyone ever give Jamie Foxx a script...was there a script?? Agonizingly rehashed
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnL.Jul 28, 2006
Simply one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is a terrible sex scene. I nearly vomited all over my popcorn... Incomprehensible and unbelievable plot. Cliches strewn everywhere like a field of cow dung. Loved getting out of the theatre!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShawnR.Jul 29, 2006
I truly cannot remember the last time I had a more excrutiating movie-going experience. The acting was so over the top and self-absorbed and the dialogue was so melodramatic and overcooked I thought I was looking at a terrible opera about I truly cannot remember the last time I had a more excrutiating movie-going experience. The acting was so over the top and self-absorbed and the dialogue was so melodramatic and overcooked I thought I was looking at a terrible opera about the dangers of the drug trade. Sprinkled with gratuitous and pointless shower sex scenes, of course. I will credit the cinematography and action choreography however. They were very well done and definitely the highlights of the movie. It really makes you wish that the majority of the film revolved around these action scenes since a) they are very well shot, gritty and exciting and b) the actors aren't talking. It's those talking times when the movie really begins to derail and unfortunately it takes up a majority of the 2.5 hours you're stuck in the theater, uncomfortably shifting waiting for the train wreck to end. Perhaps I'm being overly critical, but this is what I sincerely felt throughout the entire movie and all but one of the 5 friends I saw the movie with felt the same way. I really believe my 2 is generous. In any case I still respect Michael Mann as a director and would recommend any of his other films, but if you haven't seen Miami Vice already, spare yourself the pain and wasted time and see The Insider, Heat or Collateral. Any of those films is time far better spent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KimK.Jul 30, 2006
One star for Naomie Harris, who had the guts to demand a body double for her preposterously unnecessary nude scenes; another star for one brief second in a nightclub when Ms. Harris's character Trudy Joplin and Elizabeth One star for Naomie Harris, who had the guts to demand a body double for her preposterously unnecessary nude scenes; another star for one brief second in a nightclub when Ms. Harris's character Trudy Joplin and Elizabeth Rodriguez's Gina Calabrese exchange the sort of knowing, connected, smart glance that the guys try-- and fail-- to exchange for the entire film. Not that it's easy to see expressions on anyone's faces in this sea of mud. When you're shooting a post-apocalyptic zombie flick like "28 Days Later" on a zero budget, digital video is fine. It is not fine when your budget, oh Mr. Michael Mann, is supposedly $150 million. "Miami Vice" is the worst kind of movie: it has absolutely nothing engaging about it. It's as though they took a film-- any film-- and squeezed all the life and humor and intrigue and excitement out of it. There's nothing here but a cold, bitter, muddily shot shell of a film. Colin Farrell and Jamie Fox have nothing in the way of chemistry; they have nothing but amazingly bad haircuts. The highly touted (how can you spot the boy review writers in this picture?) sex scenes are pointless and perfunctory. Intelligible, intelligent dialogue-- anywhere?-- nope. Characters we can give a rat's patootie about? Are you kidding? Mr. Farrell and Miss Harris in life-or-death rasslin' matches with their adopted accents. Ooh, yeah-- and it ain't pretty. Come to think of it, none of "Miami Vice" is pretty. Except for the clouds. And I can see those for free. A bitter, bad-spirited, unrewarding, and unentertaining film. Stay home and watch "Heat" instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jul 30, 2006
This was the biggest movie disappointment I have ever seen. Not enough action, they must have been trying to save money. No car chases, no boat chases, no tension or suspense. No funny dialog. In fact most of the dialog was practically This was the biggest movie disappointment I have ever seen. Not enough action, they must have been trying to save money. No car chases, no boat chases, no tension or suspense. No funny dialog. In fact most of the dialog was practically impossible to understand. The movie is full of sex scenes (2 shower scenes, michael mann must have a thing about sex in the shower) that are neither sexy nor bring any emotion to this movie. The plot is so full of holes from the improbable to the unfinished story lines. Don't waste your money.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DerekG.Aug 1, 2006
One of the worst films I have seen in a long time. Completely and utterly unoriginal. There is nothing in this movie that hasn't been done a thousand times, and better. Tries to be a more serious "Bad Boys" and fails miserably. Michael One of the worst films I have seen in a long time. Completely and utterly unoriginal. There is nothing in this movie that hasn't been done a thousand times, and better. Tries to be a more serious "Bad Boys" and fails miserably. Michael Mann's camera work, while used to great effect in "Collateral," only serves to emphasize the horrible overacting and banal dialogue. Farrell's and Foxx's charisma are nowhere to be found in this film. Avoid it like the plague. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JenniferS.Aug 18, 2006
Huge fan of Michael Mann. This movie was incredibly disappointing and BORING! We walked out. What a waste of money. How irresponsible - think of all the children in third world countries this terrible movie could have fed! Make a donation to Huge fan of Michael Mann. This movie was incredibly disappointing and BORING! We walked out. What a waste of money. How irresponsible - think of all the children in third world countries this terrible movie could have fed! Make a donation to something worthwhile instead. It will definitely be more enjoyable! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichE.Aug 1, 2006
I admit I'm not the brightest bulb in the Cristmas tree, but I found the plot terribly difficult to follow. To me, an intriguing story is the core of a good movie. In this movie, I had the hardest time figuring out who was who, what was I admit I'm not the brightest bulb in the Cristmas tree, but I found the plot terribly difficult to follow. To me, an intriguing story is the core of a good movie. In this movie, I had the hardest time figuring out who was who, what was what, and what people's motivations were. Ya, I guess it was about two undercover cops infiltrating a drug gang because all the agents at all the federal agencies were known by the drug lords. But beyond that, what really happened? And the dialogue? "There's undercover, then there's which way is up." Way too cool for me. If you like Michael Mann and Jamie Foxx, see "Collateral", a movie with a lot more edge. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianAug 2, 2006
Worst Michael Mann movie - EVER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BartR.Aug 3, 2006
I walked out. Need I say more?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnS.Aug 6, 2006
This was the worst movie I have seen in my life. The movie looked like it was made using a home camera. Most was the shots were so zoomed in that it ws hard to understand what was going on. It definately did not expect this from Mann. Do not This was the worst movie I have seen in my life. The movie looked like it was made using a home camera. Most was the shots were so zoomed in that it ws hard to understand what was going on. It definately did not expect this from Mann. Do not waste your money on either the theater or the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
H.S.Aug 9, 2006
The worst film I have seen in a very long time. Had I not been sitting with friends i would have left after about 30 mins. They clearly wanted to make the film quite gritty and to do this meant, a granually picture and wobbly camera. It was The worst film I have seen in a very long time. Had I not been sitting with friends i would have left after about 30 mins. They clearly wanted to make the film quite gritty and to do this meant, a granually picture and wobbly camera. It was pathetic, I should have gone and seen cars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SlingbladeOct 1, 2007
Agree with all critics from TV Guide (63) down. Totally agree with Jon B. I wanted to hear "In the Air Tonite" - had to wait 146 minutes for a cheezy cover. Colin is a weanie, DJ was the real man. I'm just glad Farrell wasn't Agree with all critics from TV Guide (63) down. Totally agree with Jon B. I wanted to hear "In the Air Tonite" - had to wait 146 minutes for a cheezy cover. Colin is a weanie, DJ was the real man. I'm just glad Farrell wasn't allowed to smoke cigs in the movie. Perhaps he suffered as much as us viewers not getting his fix. Boo-ring. Oh yeah, I kept wanting to turn the closed captioning on because the dialog is flubberish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NateFeb 6, 2007
Good scenery, about the only thing going for this movie. At first, it seemed slick. There were way too many sex scenes, and those scenes were honestly hard to watch. Terrible acting, and very predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GeorgeE.Dec 8, 2006
Brutally boring movie. Didn't care about any of the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DominiqueL.Jul 27, 2006
My father got a free pass to see the advance screening of Miami Vice for last night and he invited me along. What possessed me to say yes is a question that will haunt me for the rest of my days. Before I tear this movie apart, I will admit My father got a free pass to see the advance screening of Miami Vice for last night and he invited me along. What possessed me to say yes is a question that will haunt me for the rest of my days. Before I tear this movie apart, I will admit there are a few good things about it: Miami Vice looks good (in a very Collateral, but nonetheless effective way) and the fighting sequences often prove to be very effective. That's about it. Honest to God, I have never been more bored in a movie theatre in my entire life. Colin Farrell proves once again that he can't act his way out of a paper bag. Jamie Foxx proves once again that all he can do is imitate Ray Charles. Gong Li and Naomie Harris prove once again they are wasted talent. None of the leads have any chemistry, not Farrell and Li, not Foxx and Harris, and, most of all, not Farrell and Foxx. None of the characters are engaging or fun to watch (with the possible exception of the villains), and when Harris's character is in mortal peril, no one cared less than me, except for Foxx as Rico Tubbs. He hardly shows any emotion in the entire flick, though maybe the screen writers or editors are to blame, we might never know. What's for sure is that Farrell (as Crockett) and Foxx show about as much depth as a Jessica Simpson video. I know that the TV series (which I never watched) was basically a play on the MTV generation and that the episodes were, in a way, music videos, but Mann does not exploit the film that way. Instead of being cheeky and superficial, Tubbs and Crockett have no personality and Mann only emphasizes that fact by trying to give them personal issues to work with. Pick a side!! The plot is incomprehensible for the most part. Farrell, in what appears to be a constant hangover, cannot enunciate to save his life (Foxx looks just as confused as I did) and the writing fails to build up the story effectively. The dialogue is also laughable. After a date, Li (as Isabella) tells Crockett about a fortune cookie. He pauses, and moves on by asking her about insurance. Are you kidding me???? Most of the movie's dialogue, however, is specific to Tubbs and Crockett's job, though it is never clarified to enlighten the viewer. I tried to decipher it all, but gave up after a few minutes, for I seriously did not really care. The geography is also confusing, as the characters are constantly flying/boating/driving in and out of various locales. The occasional title hardly helps the audience. Which brings me to another question: where the hell is Miami in 'Miami' Vice??? 'Central American' Vice might've been a better title... In the end, what I'm trying to say is I know that as a twenty year old girl, I am not the target audience, but does that mean I had to be bored to tears the entire time? The best thing about the film were the trailers for Children of Men and The Black Dahlia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JustinB.Jul 28, 2006
Ok, seriously? That was one of the worst movies I've ever sat through. I'll be honest, I'm 18, I've never seen the original series. I feel like that really hurt my experience
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
OmarK.Jul 29, 2006
Absolute garbage... The realism within gun battles was refreshing and intense, but every other part of the movie was a mockery. The BS connection between Farrell and the Asian woman ruined half of the movie. 3 thumbs down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ThomasJul 29, 2006
Wow, I can't believe the metascore for this is 64... I usually disagree when critics go the *other* way, which is more common. It just dragged on and on from the first min. to the last. They can't possibly expect people to sit Wow, I can't believe the metascore for this is 64... I usually disagree when critics go the *other* way, which is more common. It just dragged on and on from the first min. to the last. They can't possibly expect people to sit through this for over two hrs. I enjoyed watching the series as a kid, but this was nothing like the show. The plot was completely convoluted, the dialog was impossible to understand, esp. Farrell & Li (I just gave up on all their scenes together), and the shootout camerawork made me want to puke. I wish directors would stop trying to be 'edgy' by filming vomit-inducing scenes. The violence was way too over the top, w/ blood spurts on the lens and ppl's gray matter flying all over the place. I guess this is what studios think ppl want to see near the end of summer. I should've just watched POTC:DMC again, instead of wasting a ticket on this junk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrandonD.Jul 29, 2006
Luckily I went for free. Numerous plot flaws, choppy and dark camera work(is that stylish?), drawn out shower sex scenes(one for Colin and one for Jamie), predictable twists, terrible soundtrack. Every member of the force is buff and Luckily I went for free. Numerous plot flaws, choppy and dark camera work(is that stylish?), drawn out shower sex scenes(one for Colin and one for Jamie), predictable twists, terrible soundtrack. Every member of the force is buff and attractive??I had a hard time sitting through this crap fest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WilliamB.Jul 29, 2006
This could quite possibly be the worst movie I have ever seen. If you are going to call the movie, 'Miami Vice,' you need to at least make some cursory nod to the original TV show. The only connection here is that there are two This could quite possibly be the worst movie I have ever seen. If you are going to call the movie, 'Miami Vice,' you need to at least make some cursory nod to the original TV show. The only connection here is that there are two character who happen to be named Crockett and Tubbs. Typical scene: characters talk, characters give intense stare, characters talk some more, characters stare. Then there's an obligatory gun battle at the end. Avoid this 'movie' at all costs! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregM.Jul 31, 2006
Disappointing, boring, overlong-- as are most action movies these days. Colin Farrell sounds like he's gargling mojito-mouthwash and looks like Tim Daly. Gong Li should stick to Spanish. "Hola, Chico!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CeeE.Jul 31, 2006
Very disappointing! The "look" is too grainy and out of focus and looks crappy -- if this is on purpose, I fail to see the point of it. The plot is hard to follow, and what pass for action scenes are BORING. We were looking forward to this Very disappointing! The "look" is too grainy and out of focus and looks crappy -- if this is on purpose, I fail to see the point of it. The plot is hard to follow, and what pass for action scenes are BORING. We were looking forward to this all summer, but my husband fell asleep and I yawned my head off. Too bad, because the acting was decent. Oh well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveTJul 31, 2006
Very Disappointed with Michael Mann this time. I was expecting his ususal work, but not this time. I guess everyone directs a stinker at least once. The problem I have is the script was terrible. There was really no sense that Crocket and Very Disappointed with Michael Mann this time. I was expecting his ususal work, but not this time. I guess everyone directs a stinker at least once. The problem I have is the script was terrible. There was really no sense that Crocket and Tubbs were a team. Sure they are both vice cops, but they really didn't work together. Durring the movie they are both off doing different things the whole time. Another thing is lighting is terrible in the movie. You can't see what's going on half the time. The worst is the big gun battle. You have no idea who is who. Sure the muzzle flash looks cool and night fire is scary, but it doesn't work well in the movie. I'll give Mann another chance, but not this movie. It stinks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatR.Jul 30, 2006
Michael Mann fan but this was so boring that after an hour I walked out. Gong Li was the only watchable part of the movie. Can you say DUD!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesP.Jul 30, 2006
A bad remake of the TV show. no real plot, very slow moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RyencokeAug 1, 2006
Really bad. The movie was so boring, and I was a huge fan of Michael Mann's other movies, but this was stupid. Broing as hell, no action. Just bad, totally avoid this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NathanP.Aug 1, 2006
I left the theater after a hour of this convoluted, confused, poor excuse of a mediocre 80's TV show. On the bright side I got to level 12 in Galga for just 50 cents while I waited for the rest of my friends to give up. (They joined me I left the theater after a hour of this convoluted, confused, poor excuse of a mediocre 80's TV show. On the bright side I got to level 12 in Galga for just 50 cents while I waited for the rest of my friends to give up. (They joined me fifteen minutes later.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TrickedintoSeeingAug 3, 2006
I'd read the good review in the globe so went to see; in the first five minutes, i was like "the acting is horrible!". i wasn't the only one, cuz throughout the movie the audience was laughing at farrell's badly delivered &I'd read the good review in the globe so went to see; in the first five minutes, i was like "the acting is horrible!". i wasn't the only one, cuz throughout the movie the audience was laughing at farrell's badly delivered & cheesy lines. if the actor or mann had been in the theatre, they would've burst into flames. in addtion to bad acting, there were huge problems w/the plot--why does he involve himself with the drug dealer's chick? this is a highly experienced cop... no way would he jeopradise his undercover role... etc etc. last point: in the movie farrel looks like a cowboy hustler in a low-budget porn-- which basically somes up the level of his acting. especially the extra-husky goofly low voice he uses... what's that all about? destined to parodied by SNL, etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CiaranG.Jan 4, 2007
This was such an awful film. I could barely make sense of the plot. It was such a drag and was so boring and so stupid. There were a few cool or interesting bits but there were so many annoyances about this film - for example why were many This was such an awful film. I could barely make sense of the plot. It was such a drag and was so boring and so stupid. There were a few cool or interesting bits but there were so many annoyances about this film - for example why were many of the scenes shot by shaky amateur cameramen?? Was the film shot by 12 year olds using camcorders? And the gun fights were terrible. It seemed like the characters in the film had unlimited ammo, and that they weren't aiming for the enemies. Gunfight scenes had characters shooting in random directions without stopping. They pointed their guns at each other and shot, but nothing happened. This was like a video game where the 'boss' had lots of 'life'. Intense action? No, just crappines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaleW.Jan 4, 2007
Way too long to tell such a short story. In a word, boring. No match for the TV series, with regard to acting or the songs. Piece of crap!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeB.Apr 8, 2007
If the "Confucius inspired" screenplay doesn't make you want to shoot yourself, the narcoleptic snails pace of the majority of scenes in this movie ought to do the trick. Upon completion, I couldn't help but feel mugged of the 146 If the "Confucius inspired" screenplay doesn't make you want to shoot yourself, the narcoleptic snails pace of the majority of scenes in this movie ought to do the trick. Upon completion, I couldn't help but feel mugged of the 146 minutes of my life that were taken from me by this pretentious piece of crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnF.Jun 27, 2008
This is one of the most ass movies ive ever seen. I left 45 minutes into the movie after falling asleep 15 minutes into it. The plot is so confusing and bad, I havent seen anything this bad since The Hulk. Dont watch this movie ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SimoneG.Dec 12, 2006
I think the movie was boring and the love scenes were weak and could have been taken out. The movie was long and drawn ou.t
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JesseJ.Dec 18, 2006
I bought this movie without even seeing it. I am a huge fan of the original series. This Directors cut to me fell far short of the mark. First and foremost (The music) Does anyone remember the cool music during the action and love sceen I bought this movie without even seeing it. I am a huge fan of the original series. This Directors cut to me fell far short of the mark. First and foremost (The music) Does anyone remember the cool music during the action and love sceen sequences in the original series. In this movie I could barely hear any music. Did someone turn down the volume?????????? My god, the end credits there was no music at all. Every movie has music at the end, NOT THIS ONE!! Was Michael Mann afraid of critics calling it "Un original" the same as the 80's?? Was he tring so hard not to repeat the formula?? I think he succeeded. I think I got ripped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JayS,Dec 19, 2006
Very dissappointing! Poor casting and acting was at times awful. Never heard lines delivered so poorly. Love scenes have absolutely zero chemistry and painful to watch. It was lifeless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewF.Jul 28, 2006
Poor acting, weak and unrealized story, and plenty of fluff makes Miami Vice a painful movie viewing experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NateW.Jul 31, 2006
The action scenes were good and the movie would have been at least entertaining if there were more of them but it seems as if there was some confusion what the aim of the movie was supposed to be. It's difficult to be moved by the The action scenes were good and the movie would have been at least entertaining if there were more of them but it seems as if there was some confusion what the aim of the movie was supposed to be. It's difficult to be moved by the tragedies of a character I haven't been given a reason to care about him or her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShamilB.Aug 17, 2006
not worth the ticket. wait for it to come on DVD. Rent it if you have nothing better to do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeD.Dec 2, 2007
It was a boring piece of dump. plain and simple. i felt completely unconnected to the characters at all. I could care less if the goods guys came out on top or not because they had no personality what so ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
Are you kidding me? You remake Miami Vice and play it totally straight??? There's not a single moment of wink-at-the-camera humor, no recognizable references to the TV show (besides their names), no cameos... nothing! All you end up withAre you kidding me? You remake Miami Vice and play it totally straight??? There's not a single moment of wink-at-the-camera humor, no recognizable references to the TV show (besides their names), no cameos... nothing! All you end up with is a listless, uninspired snooze-fest featuring some of the grainiest picture quality I've seen since the last time I watched an extended-play VHS tape. Atrocious handheld work makes the frame shake violently even during slow dialogue scenes, which is about 95% of this film. Michael Mann has always taken as much time as he wants to tell his stories, but at 134 minutes, Miami Vice is a bloated, boring, sleep-inducing nightmare that is nothing like Miami Vice I love... or the Michael Mann I love for that matter. Good grief!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
sitebenderMar 26, 2019
I don't know what to rate a movie that I can't even stand watching. Miami Vice was just dull, darkly lit with a lot going on without explanation. Maybe that's how the show was, but this was a struggle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews