Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2018
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 250 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
166
Mixed:
66
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
StrangeruDec 4, 2018
A lot of miss opportunity. It's a nazi zombie movie... and it takes itself so seriously... No impressive shots, only horror is a bunch of very predictable jump scares, the main character has no character, the actual main protagonist thatA lot of miss opportunity. It's a nazi zombie movie... and it takes itself so seriously... No impressive shots, only horror is a bunch of very predictable jump scares, the main character has no character, the actual main protagonist that actually has a story arc and personality has little to no screen time, and... it's a very mediocre movie. Quite a shame. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
ItzClockWorkNov 23, 2018
Very disappointed. First half was okay. The second half, not so much. The antagonists were poorly developed, the protagonists development wasn't forced enough, and this experimentation with the item in the movie is completely absurd. 3/10Very disappointed. First half was okay. The second half, not so much. The antagonists were poorly developed, the protagonists development wasn't forced enough, and this experimentation with the item in the movie is completely absurd. 3/10 would not watch again. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
paulraisedFeb 9, 2019
Like everything involving Abrams this is mediocre at best. The pace is way too slow, movie is too long. Characters are not interesting. Zombies should be fun but they managed to make it boring. Not worth your time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
hyrosenNov 11, 2018
Terrible movie. Anachronistic integrated and unracist army. Plot by poor decision making. Tropes, not characters. Boring and predictable.
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
0
OldCrappyCouchFeb 22, 2019
I purchased the Blu-ray based on the positive reviews I've seen and the really cool looking trailers. I went in expecting an over the top action horror flick, what I got was a hot mess of disappointment. How can you take this concept andI purchased the Blu-ray based on the positive reviews I've seen and the really cool looking trailers. I went in expecting an over the top action horror flick, what I got was a hot mess of disappointment. How can you take this concept and manage to make it boring?! This flick pushes your willing suspension of disbelief beyond the point of insulting your intelligence and comes back for seconds. I won't provide spoilers because I often go for "bad" films just for giggles, but buyer beware. Overlord was so shockingly boring, predictable and just straight up annoyingly stupid that I stopped and gave up right around 1:12:00, which is the final run up to the "climax." I urge you to wait for Overlord to pop up on the instant queue or Prime video.

Pros:
Solid plot
Nice visuals

Cons:
Awful writing
No character development
Slow, boring pace
Painfully stupid characters
Surprising lack of action
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobJun 25, 2019
The acting by the cast is the only highlight of this movie. It's very slow paced, The plot isn't all that interesting and they don't dive deep enough into the sci-fi element to really make it worthwhile. They might as well have made this aThe acting by the cast is the only highlight of this movie. It's very slow paced, The plot isn't all that interesting and they don't dive deep enough into the sci-fi element to really make it worthwhile. They might as well have made this a flat out WW2 movie. And those special effects involving the mutations leaves a lot more to be desired, Some of them look downright awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rpklebanNov 4, 2019
One can suspend disbelief as far as zombie Nazi soldiers are concerned but it's harder to suspend disbelief to the effect that not only are black soldiers in combat with white soldiers on D-Day (I believe they were relegated to non-combatOne can suspend disbelief as far as zombie Nazi soldiers are concerned but it's harder to suspend disbelief to the effect that not only are black soldiers in combat with white soldiers on D-Day (I believe they were relegated to non-combat labor roles) but that white soldiers are under a Black NCO! Um, also didn't the airborne troops go in at night before the beach landings? Sloppy, contempt for the intelligence of the audience, more or less bs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews