Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 26, 2017
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 776 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
402
Mixed:
245
Negative:
129
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
dangersMay 26, 2017
Dead Men Tell No Tales is easily the best "Pirates" sequel yet. It might be the fifth film in the franchise but it just feels so fresh. It brings back everything we love about the series and also some new faces and characters that I wouldDead Men Tell No Tales is easily the best "Pirates" sequel yet. It might be the fifth film in the franchise but it just feels so fresh. It brings back everything we love about the series and also some new faces and characters that I would love to see more of, if they decide to make a sixth film. Expand
31 of 52 users found this helpful3121
All this user's reviews
6
mrmonsterJun 20, 2017
Not the franchise's best, best definitely not the worst. Even at it's worst, it was better than At World's End, and it was miles above On Stranger Tides. But still, not as good as Curse of the Black Pearl or Dead Man's Chest.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gzayas91Jul 21, 2018
Good as Stranger's Tides. It was funny when Paul McCartney made a cameo. Very entertaining, fun and mindless. Looking forward to see another one.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FadeBlackJun 6, 2017
Super fun, high seas adventure with one of the, if not the greatest cinematic pirate of all time, the eternal Captain Jack Sparrow. Admittedly, at this point the films are highly formulaic, and largely predictable, which at the end does dragSuper fun, high seas adventure with one of the, if not the greatest cinematic pirate of all time, the eternal Captain Jack Sparrow. Admittedly, at this point the films are highly formulaic, and largely predictable, which at the end does drag them down a bit, as little to nothing new is offered. But if you're going to follow a formula, make sure you follow an awesome one, and Pirates certainly delivers on this front. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticOct 7, 2017
The fifth in the franchise is actually one of the better ones. While it is a little overstuffed, you find yourself at least caring about the story. An enjoyable time. B
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SEROJJun 3, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. High expectations = high disappointment. I am sorry but Barbosa's death was not emotional to me! That "tatoo" on his hand is USELESS and pathetic since it appears SECONDS before his death. Also - where the f was Will? He could've helped. And its pity that they never met with Jack. However i liked "Salazar" as a villian but still - if they could escape from the triangle whenever Jack betrays his compass, he did it many times before so... and by the way Paul's scene was such a marketing move. At least, he deserved a better joke than that. The "witch girl" should've been Davy Jones' daughter... makes more sense. Whatever. A decent movie. Such a shame. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JNOTROct 30, 2017
Entertaining, funny, full of action and adventure, emotional, this delivery is a roller coaster. Sandberg and Rønning manage to take this film forward with a very good narrative that never gets boring. The CGI is impressive, although thisEntertaining, funny, full of action and adventure, emotional, this delivery is a roller coaster. Sandberg and Rønning manage to take this film forward with a very good narrative that never gets boring. The CGI is impressive, although this does not reach the height of At the End of the World (which in 2007 was nominated for the Oscar for Best Visual Effects). The return of Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley is excellent and they achieve, in my opinion, the best moment of the saga. The only thing that I did not like was Jack Sparrow who here is totally silly, while in the previous installments he managed to have moments of seriousness that he never gets to have here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DarknesShadeAug 30, 2017
Really? i expected people to dislike this (because its fun to do so) but this, for me, was the second best "Pirates of the Caribbean" movie so far, its just funny and enjoyable
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
PeterAlexanderJul 15, 2017
The fifth instalment of the swashbuckling franchise has its moments, but nothing more. Dead Men Tell No Tales, in a good way on many occasions, is more of a conglomeration of nostalgia infused scenes than a fully fledged movie. Whilst it isThe fifth instalment of the swashbuckling franchise has its moments, but nothing more. Dead Men Tell No Tales, in a good way on many occasions, is more of a conglomeration of nostalgia infused scenes than a fully fledged movie. Whilst it is great to have the original characters back and on form, the new additions drag the film back from start to finish. The magic of the series has truly faded. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
DiwyeshJul 6, 2018
So I just watched this movie and boy I m so disappointed with this part *the first problem here is the past of the compass as how jack got it is totally different from part 2 of the series which shows writer doesn't know anything about thisSo I just watched this movie and boy I m so disappointed with this part *the first problem here is the past of the compass as how jack got it is totally different from part 2 of the series which shows writer doesn't know anything about this movie and he just writes any **** he comes up with to keep milking money from peoples in the name of pirates of Caribbeans franchise *the 2nd problem is jack sparrow himself, oh my my he is the most useless person after monkey in this part he is just running around getting captured and after that someone helps him and cycle repeats not even a single fight scene where I can say yeah that's why I love this series *the 3rd problem is Plotholes:- man I dont have any words on just how far this franshise falls, and 4th problem is I just can't connect with plots here, Haha and the most useless, selfish crew I ever saw in this series and this part contains more problems but I cant state them without spoiling you, Also I just don't understand how this part got 6.2 user score well I guess some fans are brainless as well as blind, just dont support this kind of **** movies just because it got your beloved series name, thx. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ChowdahMay 28, 2017
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead man tells no tales is an extremely corny movie that is clearly meant for a very young audience. If you can move past that, the movie itself does keep you mildly entertained with a weak plot that keeps moving thePirates of the Caribbean: Dead man tells no tales is an extremely corny movie that is clearly meant for a very young audience. If you can move past that, the movie itself does keep you mildly entertained with a weak plot that keeps moving the story forward with no real dead spots. Your typical "find the special item that solves all the problems" with some minor emotional stuff thrown in at the end. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
8
saturday_youthMay 26, 2017
This is easily the best sequel of Pirates and now that they're on the right track i hope for another movie which i would not have said after watching the second, third or fourth movie.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
chrisvbJun 4, 2017
I didn't like it. It wasn't funny, it wasn't exciting. It was cliched so much more than anything I've ever seen. I don't think they actually had a writer, rather I think they just filmed random garbage and slung it together. Unless you'reI didn't like it. It wasn't funny, it wasn't exciting. It was cliched so much more than anything I've ever seen. I don't think they actually had a writer, rather I think they just filmed random garbage and slung it together. Unless you're obsessed with Depp (is anyone these days?) then I'd avoid this like the plague. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
Captain_ChaosJun 7, 2017
I love pirate films, so seeing yet another Pirates of the Caribbean was a no-brainer. Dead Men marks the fifth entry in the series, already past the point at which any series that's lasted that long often begins to come apart at the seams,I love pirate films, so seeing yet another Pirates of the Caribbean was a no-brainer. Dead Men marks the fifth entry in the series, already past the point at which any series that's lasted that long often begins to come apart at the seams, though that isn't the case here. The franchise zombie was Stranger Tides- Dead Men is a better movie overall, injecting fresh blood in the form of new leading characters. Javier Bardem delights with his talent for portraying genuinely creepy villains, and the visual effects and orchestral score once again impress in a series known for such. The series trademark mixture of swashbuckling and the supernatural is in full force here, though I think they could have done a lot more with Salazar and his ghost crew, especially when you compare them to Davy Jones and his sea-draugr. The artifact of the day also gets very little screen time and, considering who it belongs to, a token appearance by its owner would have been pretty amazing. Geoffrey Rush once again portrays the conflicted and extra sea-salty Hector Barbossa, who finally gets his moment in the sun. The weakest link in this film is actually Johnny Depp- I don't know if it's him or how they wrote Jack, but he might as well not have been in the film at all. He spends most of it in a drunken stupor and were it not for Salazar's single-minded vengeance against him, many of the characters might well have avoided hassle of the undead variety. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
romanontherunMay 26, 2017
No, it's not the 4/10. It's honest 7/10.
It's not even near the first movie. And even not on the par of the second one.
But it's fun enjoyable and lighthearted, it perfectly watchable if you don't expect much from it. My biggest issue with
No, it's not the 4/10. It's honest 7/10.
It's not even near the first movie. And even not on the par of the second one.
But it's fun enjoyable and lighthearted, it perfectly watchable if you don't expect much from it.
My biggest issue with this movie is Jack Sparrow. He always was goofy and strange but still witty and smart and wins in the end _by design_.
Here he's just goofy and wins by pure luck. His wit is gone with the huge part of the charm.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
YakusokuNoJiMay 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fantastic and entertaining action comedy worth being a part of the Pirates of the Carribean franchise. And given the movie's post-credits scene I have no doubt that a sequel or sequels is/are coming. The movie has some interesting takes that are new to the franchise such as background story expansion in a way that we have not seen before, bringing in a new breeze of air with characters that are now more relevant for major characters and not just with this but also with other parts of the plot takes elements and writes something new with them. The problem is though, this movie has several continuity errors and yes, they are continuity errors. You can "somewhat" explain them away as they are not 100% impossible but that would really just be a fan explanation as no actual explanation is given in the story as well as is it not implied or hinted or anything. The lack of details here just shows that several parts of the story just clash with already established lore because there was not given absolute focus to be non-contradictory (such as: Jack got his compass from Calypso as stated in PotC2 but here they show he got it from the former captain; Blackbeard's sword is shown to have its powers as it can free the Pearl but Barbossa for some reason unexplained cannot control Salazar's ship even though the sword can control all ships which was the reason why Blackbeard was able to turn the ships against their captains in the first place, kill the crew and get those ships, continuity errors about the trident and it is very very unlikely that Barbossa has a daughter that seemingly is about 20 years old - even unlikely if she would be about 30 years old - as the plot establishes that Jack knew her mother which would hint that it happened over 30 years ago as Barbossa was cursed 10 years before PoTC1 before he betrayed Jack -> as said, all of it can be somewhat explained, there are no full impossibilities such as Barbossa just returning to that woman after PoTC3 or "Blackbeard's sword cannot control supernatural ships" and "well, the captain got the compass from Calypso and Jack got it from him as well as is Calypso the Goddess of Sea/Sea itself so he still sorta got it from her", but you just notice that there are no actual explanations or hints for them given; it just ends up being non-canonical fan explanation). It is no game breaker as the movie is fantastic nonetheless but it is there.

Overall it is one of my more favourite movies of the franchise and brings some goods twists that I liked a lot.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryMay 30, 2017
These LIVE filmmakers didn't tell a very good tale either (see the title). The plot involves the son of Orlando Bloom's character as he searches for the Trident of Poseidon, which will reverse all nautical curses. Toss in a villain with anThese LIVE filmmakers didn't tell a very good tale either (see the title). The plot involves the son of Orlando Bloom's character as he searches for the Trident of Poseidon, which will reverse all nautical curses. Toss in a villain with an underwater special effects visage (Javier Bardem) and the star (Johnny Depp) reviving the eccentric role that's simply gone stale. There's way too much plot discussion, while most of the fights and chases are uninspired. Despite some cool visuals, there's none of the inventiveness of the original. As for comedy, it's completely drowned out by noisy nothing. Lots of activity and bluster, that seldom excites or even entertains. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for a sequel teaser. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
moviestalkerMay 31, 2017
It starts off rather interesting, but sadly falls apart only after a few minutes. Items appear without explanation when "the plot requires it", the villain constantly keeps killing random extras to make him look even more "evil" ... now addIt starts off rather interesting, but sadly falls apart only after a few minutes. Items appear without explanation when "the plot requires it", the villain constantly keeps killing random extras to make him look even more "evil" ... now add boring characters and lots of "getting rescued at the last second" moments: That's the whole movie for you. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
badgerryan19May 31, 2017
Well the movie wasn't a huge disappointment, but not a good one. Honestly it was a bit boring until the hour mark. But then it did pick up. It seems like Johnny is now just playing a character of a character. The best part of the filmWell the movie wasn't a huge disappointment, but not a good one. Honestly it was a bit boring until the hour mark. But then it did pick up. It seems like Johnny is now just playing a character of a character. The best part of the film character wise was Javier's character Captain Salazar who wasn't a utter travesty like Blackbeard in the last one. The action was fine except for that opening bank robbery scene which was so ridiculous and dialogue was okay but the whole witch thing did get annoying after a while.It does tie up some loose ends and answer some questions which I was happy with. But the final 25 minutes ultimately saves the movie from being a snooze fest. This us suppose to be the ending of the whole series, but I can definitely see them continuing this to milk more money. If you seen the others I guess watch it, but if you haven't don't bother. Watch the first one and be done with it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
RobbyPJun 1, 2017
A truly terrible film from beginning to end with so many plot-holes and contradictions to the franchise's history that it'll make you wonder if the writer's had seen any of the previous film beforehand. Johnny Depp has finally lost theA truly terrible film from beginning to end with so many plot-holes and contradictions to the franchise's history that it'll make you wonder if the writer's had seen any of the previous film beforehand. Johnny Depp has finally lost the character of Jack Sparrow, overdoing him at every turn and lending nothing to the story except poorly done comedic relief. Never has Jack Sparrow been so useless, so overly drunk and devoid of any cleverness. The humor picks at all the extremely low-hanging fruit. Even the atmosphere throughout is off, the inability to create tension as obvious as Carina's contrite lineage.

At one point, a shark literally jumps over a boat (an inversion of "jumping the shark" geddit? har har) as if the filmmakers were winking at the moviegoers. They were saying "we know how bad of a movie we've made, but we've still got your money."

Unfortunately, this is true. And I paid full price.
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
2
MattyiceMay 26, 2017
With the "final chapter" marketing and absolute mediocrity of this film, the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise seemingly has come to an end, although not a very fitting one. Fanboys of the Pirates franchise will find some enjoyment out ofWith the "final chapter" marketing and absolute mediocrity of this film, the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise seemingly has come to an end, although not a very fitting one. Fanboys of the Pirates franchise will find some enjoyment out of this film, but for the rest of us, it's almost a complete mess. First off, the plot is wildly redundant to the predecessors in a lame attempt to recapture the glory of the earlier films. It features Jack alongside a young girl and guy (not to be confused with Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann) on a mission while being hunted by the undead (again). While the acting by the recurring actors and new ones is solid, the characters are not. It was quite sad seeing Jack Sparrow devolve into a drunken idiot from a cunning funny pirate in the first three films, while the new characters were forgettable. The producers and directors seemed to have lost touch with what makes Jack great. Secondly, the action is not nearly as engaging, with a lot of the set pieces seemingly pulled from other non-pirates movies. Lastly, the film is far too long and not fun enough. Although it has a few nice moments, Dead Men Tell No Tales is a tale that should not have been told. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
JoeyMertens29May 26, 2017
The Pirates of the Caribbean franchise has been one of my favorite movie franchises since I was a kid and I am glad to say that I enjoyed this one just as much as the others.If you are a fan you will more than likely enjoy this movie as well.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
BommelunderMay 26, 2017
Its not the best movie from the series, but only the fact that he is far better than the fourth movie ill give 9 out of 10.
And because of the short but satisfying scene with Elizabeth Turner.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
8
Tony1984May 29, 2017
A big improvement on number 4 and definitely a return to form. The pluses are as expected - Captain Jack, the comedy and the huge range of amazing special effects and CGI. The minuses ,and what I think accounts for the critics low scores,A big improvement on number 4 and definitely a return to form. The pluses are as expected - Captain Jack, the comedy and the huge range of amazing special effects and CGI. The minuses ,and what I think accounts for the critics low scores, were the new characters..The two new additions and Javier Bradem's baddie were not super captivating for me..but still OK. All in all a typical fun Pirate movie.
If possible see this movie in 3D for the special effects.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
EpsilonSigmaMuMay 29, 2017
Pirates 5 overstays its welcome with boring, vapid new characters, removes charm from the old ones, a spoonfeeding screenplay and annoyingly repetitive music. Everything still looks pretty cool, though.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
lalorocksJun 6, 2017
It's more of the same, it's not funny anymore, and very boring in some scenes, I just was waiting to finish the movie and get out the from the cinema.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
EdelasosMay 26, 2017
The Most Reviews are a Jock! The 5th Pirates Movie is so Much better than Number 4. + Very Good Actors
+ Captain Jack *Hicks* Sparrow
+ A interesting Story
+ The Return of Bloom and Knightley (Son)

I think the Movie is as good as Pirates 3.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeMay 26, 2017
If there was ever a point of time where this franchise would permanently end, Dead Men Tell No Tales should have as of right now been one of those installments since this franchise has been going mediocre since Dead Man's Chest and it's noIf there was ever a point of time where this franchise would permanently end, Dead Men Tell No Tales should have as of right now been one of those installments since this franchise has been going mediocre since Dead Man's Chest and it's no secret that after On Stranger Tides, we knew we were going to end up having another mediocre installment but what we didn't knew is that this one is a huge improvement on its predecessor even though that isn't saying much whatsoever. Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
10
ITSLUKEEEEYMay 26, 2017
This is a major improvement over the last one i enjoyed every minute of it , the set pieces are amazing the action and CGI are at its best and that killer post credits scene wow. Dont listen to the critics they have all been hatin since deadsThis is a major improvement over the last one i enjoyed every minute of it , the set pieces are amazing the action and CGI are at its best and that killer post credits scene wow. Dont listen to the critics they have all been hatin since deads mans chest just go watch you'll love it 10/10 Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
10
MMBoschMay 26, 2017
A fitting end to the saga, Dead Men Tell no Tales is a delightful adventure, with great action set pieces, beautiful locations, good new characters and witty dialogue. It's quite emotional and far superior to it's predecesor.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
3
LoveeLandMay 27, 2017
Yes it is entertaining. It has humor, it has the classic ridiculous Jack Sparrow action scenes. Aside from that, it is horrible. The story is incredibly sloppy, unimaginative, and ridiculous (there is a scene reminiscent of the last actionYes it is entertaining. It has humor, it has the classic ridiculous Jack Sparrow action scenes. Aside from that, it is horrible. The story is incredibly sloppy, unimaginative, and ridiculous (there is a scene reminiscent of the last action scene from Fast Five, only replace the cars with a carriage, and the vault with a large house). The whole idea of the enemy crew being dead is a bit overplayed at this point, as I'm pretty sure they've been that way in every Pirates movie. This crew is forgettable to say the least. I think the movie overall was poorly made, and doesn't deserve the favorable user reviews it is getting. If a funny, over the top action film with a terrible story, mediocre acting, and sloppy writing is your thing, then this movie is for you. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
joyalMay 27, 2017
this one is fun & action packed entertainment provided by Captain Jack Sparrow.I really can't find any reason not to love this movie, it is not the best in the series, still it is worth a watch. For me seeing my favorite pirate sailing oncethis one is fun & action packed entertainment provided by Captain Jack Sparrow.I really can't find any reason not to love this movie, it is not the best in the series, still it is worth a watch. For me seeing my favorite pirate sailing once again is the greatest pleasure.This film is visually stunning n action scenes are good with mix of comedy,cinematography is good and Like all other pirate of Caribbean series,this one also filled with cool music n awesome background score; I loved it. And always Johnny Depp is excellent as mighty Jack Sparrow. If you are a fan of Jack Sparrow n pirates ,u will like this ,for others also this one is a enjoyable fun sailing. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
deansargeMay 28, 2017
A lot better than expected. not sure what movie the pro critics were watching? but their marks dont do the film justice. took 4 kids ages 8-11 and they all thought it was great marking it 9-10, give it a try.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
geo2209May 28, 2017
Easily the 2nd best Pirates movie out the franchise. Javier Bardem killed it as Captain Salazar and the new girl is beautiful and funny and whipsmart. Depp was his usual Jack Sparrow although it wasn't his best performance.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
PiratePat89502May 26, 2017
This movie is awesome! All the laughs of the 2nd, all the action of the 1st. Best Pirates yet!! It's the most straightforward plot, great music, and a laugh a minute. Definitely the best Pirates. When can we get #6?!!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
ThuzzwoobMay 27, 2017
Very funny jokes, good Characters and good, interesting and funny story. Not perfect, but the best Pirates of the Caribbean movie so far. My new favorite movie of that franchise.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Rix397May 27, 2017
"Pirates of the Caribbean" is back with a whole new adventure, as Johnny Depp returns with another great performance as Jack Sparrow. A good villain in Javier Bardem, fresh new faces and returning characters such as Hector Barbossa and Will"Pirates of the Caribbean" is back with a whole new adventure, as Johnny Depp returns with another great performance as Jack Sparrow. A good villain in Javier Bardem, fresh new faces and returning characters such as Hector Barbossa and Will Turner, "Dead Men Tell No Tales" is a lot of fun with great visuals, funny dialogues and cool action. Though there are some cliches and a bit of an underwhelming moment towards the end of the movie, they can't keep this movie from telling us a new, adventurous tale. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
66jdMay 30, 2017
This is easily as good as all the other sequels. Obviously the first film was the standout as it was the original that introduced these characters, settings, stories, soundtrack for the first time in a wholly original and ground-breaking way.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
AstroBoyMay 28, 2017
The previous part of the movie was created by accountants. This time they had hired some professionals. Of course do not expect high level drama and masterpiece characters. It is a typical family movie bringing some fun and entertainment bothThe previous part of the movie was created by accountants. This time they had hired some professionals. Of course do not expect high level drama and masterpiece characters. It is a typical family movie bringing some fun and entertainment both for 15 and 55 years old. But I had a good time watching the movie and were neither bored nor irritated. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
PirateloverMay 28, 2017
This was a good movie! A fun movie to watch! Our entire family liked it! No POC movie will be as good as first two but this one wrapped up the story lines. It was comedic and Depp played his usual Pirate self! Please! There are so many movieThis was a good movie! A fun movie to watch! Our entire family liked it! No POC movie will be as good as first two but this one wrapped up the story lines. It was comedic and Depp played his usual Pirate self! Please! There are so many movie series that should come to an end but this is not one of them! Captain Jack's nemesis, Captain Salazar, was creepy and the half dead crew looked pretty good! It's not up for an Academy award but it's good clean comedic fun filmed in another beautiful location! I enjoyed it! I hope there's another sequel that was eluded to in clip after the credits! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
Berni_92Jun 6, 2017
Its not the best movie from the series, but only the fact that he is far better than the fourth movie ill give 7 out of 10.

But its on the right way.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaJun 1, 2017
It seems I liked this installment of the Pirates of the Carribean series more than the critics. It's a return to form to the franchise: great fun, some impressive set pieces, and a strong set of casts. Yet the question is are we experiencingIt seems I liked this installment of the Pirates of the Carribean series more than the critics. It's a return to form to the franchise: great fun, some impressive set pieces, and a strong set of casts. Yet the question is are we experiencing a bit of a franchise fatigue? A good idea stretched too thin over 5 films? This particular weakness may be the reason that it is not as successful as its previous installment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kiwijinxterJun 4, 2017
Once again, the "professional critics" show they are ignorant and know nothing about a darned good story! Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales is a true return to form. The feeling I got when I first watched this was the sameOnce again, the "professional critics" show they are ignorant and know nothing about a darned good story! Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales is a true return to form. The feeling I got when I first watched this was the same feeling I got when I watched Star Wars: The Force Awakens. It reminded me of the excitement of the early movies, the intrigue, and the sense of wonder, all captured in the first movie. After the so-so Pirates 3 and Pirates 4 (which I feel was the worst of the series), this is the Pirates' return to form. It has everything. It's got action like Fast & Furious, it's got familiarity like Star Wars, it's got heart and jokes like, well, the first Pirates of the Caribbean. And of course, FANTASTIC CGI - I couldn't stop staring at that "floating hair" of Captain Salazar! This is a movie beautifully made for those who longed for the excitement of the first one. The characters are all fleshed out well - Henry Turner, Carina Smyth (hint: I won't throw spoilers here about her name), Captain Barbossa and of course, aye, silly old Jack Sparrow. You'd be missing out big time if you listened to the useless professional critics. Watch it, and decide for yourself. Thankfully, I always ignore pro critics - they're the most unreliable bunch when it comes to movies. Ultra highly recommended if you liked the first Pirates. This installment has truly redeemed the series. Go Pirates! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Jim222001Jun 15, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quite entertaining despite all the bad reviews. Critics are just tired of Jack Sparrow I think. They are not tired of Fast and Furious movies though ? The movie is fun and better than the 4th one. Kaya Scodelario makes a good addition as Carina Smyth. Who gets either confused as a witch or...a whore because she's a horologist lol. There's plenty of humor like that throughout that makes this one of the better Pirates movies.
While Javier Bardem once again makes a great villain as Captain Salazar. Who from the trailers you probably figured out, is a spirit wants vengeance on Jack Sparrow.
Otherwise stuff, like the search for Poseidon's Trident is as silly as the search for the fountain of youth in the last film. Also don't expect too much Orlando Bloom but it's nice to see him back nevertheless.
If this is the last one I wouldn't complain since it's a fitting ending.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
russiangamerMay 31, 2017
Всё это мы уже видели.
Для человека, который смотрел не одну сотню фильмов, тут найдётся очень много предсказуемых моментов, настолько предсказуемых, что за 40 минут до конца понятно, что этого персонажа убьют, именно это событие произойдёт и
Всё это мы уже видели.
Для человека, который смотрел не одну сотню фильмов, тут найдётся очень много предсказуемых моментов, настолько предсказуемых, что за 40 минут до конца понятно, что этого персонажа убьют, именно это событие произойдёт и т.п. Я бы прощал эту предсказуемость, если бы видел что-нибудь новое, стоящее, но нет, всё уже обыгрывалось в прошлых частях. Тут и Джек, у которого всё те же манеры, речь, движения, сам образ уже изжил себя. Тут опять злодей, который, о боги, (спойлер) проиграет, слава хэппи эндам. Тут заменили харизматичных и интересных персонажей из прошлых частей какими-то не имеющими толковой истории куклами. Тут и размах прошлых частей куда-то пропал,а ведь в них творилось настолько масштабное действо, что картина до сих пор перед глазами стоит, но в этой части всё как-то камерно. Мне представляется всё это так: эта часть - это маленький склад на окраине города, в котором вроде и происходит какая-то движуха, аля бешеные псы, но что меняется в самом городе, если разнесут этот склад? Любая прошлая часть из трилогии (4-ую не включаем) - это огромная высотка в центре города, в которой происходит множество операций, которые так или иначе влияют на город. Короче говоря, Мертвецы не рассказывают сказки - капля в море, а любая иная часть, кроме 4-ой - и есть море.
Посредственный фильм, смотрите трилогию, получайте удовольствие, а мимо этого фильма можете проходить.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
nahtan1244Jun 9, 2017
Ok. I have been a pirates fan as I think these movies are great fun and one of the better examples of good popcorn entertainment. that being said pirates of the Caribbean dead man tell no tales does a great job trying to capture the spirit ofOk. I have been a pirates fan as I think these movies are great fun and one of the better examples of good popcorn entertainment. that being said pirates of the Caribbean dead man tell no tales does a great job trying to capture the spirit of the original and does a good job in some places and falls in others. I liked how this was more of a fun straigtforward pirate romp that did not put captain jack as one of the leads but as a side character to our two main heroes. Geffory rush as barbosa was a joy to watch and much of the action while played for laughs was intense and exciting to watch. much of the cinematography was beautifully done. Jack was funnier than he was in 4 and 3. As for our two new comes i thought they did an alright job. I never felt that they reached the heights in terms of acting to kira knightly and orlando bloom but ever there romance got cringy as the movies went on. That being said many things fall flat. While javier bardem was good as the villain i did not find him particularly menacing or interesting unlike davy jones. His introduction was great but his character soon fell flat. As for the rest of the cast the acting was either really good from the likes of johnny depp and geffory rush or very serviceable. In conclusion it was a lot better than I was expecting but the director tried his best to capture the magic of the original and succeeded in some ways but failed in others. I will not be doing a review for the other films so here is how i rank them 1,2,5,3,4 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
SirEpicPigeonMay 31, 2017
I don't get all the complaints. Did I even watch the same movie as the critics? If you love the Pirates movies then you are going to enjoy this one aswell. The way they involved Will Turner was clever, the story was great and Jack was stillI don't get all the complaints. Did I even watch the same movie as the critics? If you love the Pirates movies then you are going to enjoy this one aswell. The way they involved Will Turner was clever, the story was great and Jack was still funny. This movie is a great ending to the series. It gave closure Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ArianLightJun 4, 2017
This movie is good. It is better than the movie before and dare I say the best of the series. When is number 6 coming out? Story is good. Acting is Great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Mac2311Jun 20, 2017
This is actually the first Pirates movie that really grabbed me and held me throughout the film. Though I enjoyed the others the plots always seemed to get a little too unhinged. This one stuck to more of a linear storyline which I liked moreThis is actually the first Pirates movie that really grabbed me and held me throughout the film. Though I enjoyed the others the plots always seemed to get a little too unhinged. This one stuck to more of a linear storyline which I liked more since it helped me to get more invested in it.

Great performances and set pieces all around. Capt Jack as usual is a delight to watch on screen.

This movie really ties up all the plot lines. If this is the send off for the series it is a good one. Hopefully the don't try to pull this out from the grave since it now has a fitting end.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
dunnyoneMay 29, 2017
I am 100% convinced that the positive reviews are written by robots. Those who actually saw this garbage will know that there is not a single redeeming factor in this drek that, bizarrely, copies its big action scenes from other films, likeI am 100% convinced that the positive reviews are written by robots. Those who actually saw this garbage will know that there is not a single redeeming factor in this drek that, bizarrely, copies its big action scenes from other films, like Fast and Furious! I mean, did the directors not see another action film in the past decade? It's all the same stuff, with a terrible script, piss-poor acting and a meandering story. Please, ignore the positive reviews - you'll notice that the writing is a little off, that's because the studios hire foreign (mostly Asian) writers to crack out positive reviews to offset the mostly negative ones done by the critics. This time, the critics are spot on. AVOID THIS TURD! I loved the first three, but the fifth Pirates is actually worse then the fourth one - a feat I thought was impossible. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
8
ZeagMay 30, 2017
As someone who thought the third and fourth movies were insufferable bore-fests, I went into this opus (in a nearly empty IMAX cinema, I might add) fully prepared for deception.

By the end I cam out very pleasantly surprised. Javier Bardem
As someone who thought the third and fourth movies were insufferable bore-fests, I went into this opus (in a nearly empty IMAX cinema, I might add) fully prepared for deception.

By the end I cam out very pleasantly surprised. Javier Bardem is nowhere near as cringe-inducing as I thought he'd be and there's enough returning cast to not make this feel like some sort of B-Roll direct-to-dvd sequel.

Action sequences are entertaining and well spread along the film, unlike At World's End and Jack Sparrow's wackiness has been toned down to more tolerable levels compared to Stranger Tides.

The most satisfying moment is probably the ending though. Without spoiling anything, by the end of the movie it totally feels like all loose ends in the series have been tied and it could be put to sleep or go on with a new cast of characters.

All in all if you're fans of the series, do yourself a favor and go make your own judgement, you might be pleasantly surprised.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
The_T-10May 27, 2017
Expectations is everything with these movies. While the previous Pirates of the Caribbean (PotC) movie feels more like a spin-off than a direct sequel to the original trilogy, "Dead Men Tell No Tales/Salazar's Revenge" continues the lore ofExpectations is everything with these movies. While the previous Pirates of the Caribbean (PotC) movie feels more like a spin-off than a direct sequel to the original trilogy, "Dead Men Tell No Tales/Salazar's Revenge" continues the lore of the first 3 movies. While continuity errors are somewhat blatant, you can't say this movie is the worst of the 5 PotC movies. The actions are more grounded than the previous movies, and they managed to salvage themselves after the less-than-mediocre "On Stranger Tides". The humor's there, and just enough. The amount of screen time of Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley probably means that there'll be more of these movies in the future. There's also a familiar feels to the first movie in this one. Perhaps this familiarity is what makes critics hate it. But seriously, if you despised "On Stranger Tides", this one you'll probably like. I'd say this is the best PotC movie since the first one back in early 2000's.

Oh, and Javier Bardem, as always, is menacing as the latest baddie "Capitan Salazar".
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
TheGamerKnightMay 28, 2017
You know, I've liked the past few Pirates movies (didn't really like the first one though). This one was pretty great, though it felt kind of lacking. The humor was more reliant on sexual innuendos than anything else, and that was kind ofYou know, I've liked the past few Pirates movies (didn't really like the first one though). This one was pretty great, though it felt kind of lacking. The humor was more reliant on sexual innuendos than anything else, and that was kind of disappointing. Other than that, this is a really fun movie.

By the way, this is NOT the last Pirates movie. This is only the beginning of the final chapter.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
RetroMgroupMay 27, 2017
this film may has some problems but when you watch it you will enjoy for what you are watching and that is enough to give this film 10 because we are watching films to feel both better and enjoy that is why films created . to show dreams andthis film may has some problems but when you watch it you will enjoy for what you are watching and that is enough to give this film 10 because we are watching films to feel both better and enjoy that is why films created . to show dreams and fiction . M.E THE LEADER OF RetroM group Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Moviereviewer15May 29, 2017
All I'll say is that this movie brings the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise back to it's glory and delivers a strong final note for this franchise, if this is indeed the last movie, unless the post credits scene gets fans and generalAll I'll say is that this movie brings the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise back to it's glory and delivers a strong final note for this franchise, if this is indeed the last movie, unless the post credits scene gets fans and general audiences to want to see another one. In closing, you should see this movie, Savvy. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobMay 28, 2017
Starting the pros before the cons - Johnny Depp still owns it. I liked seeing the back story of Jack Sparrow and his history with Salazar. Brenton Thwaites shows a lot of promise as a future lead of the series.

The cons - Orlando Bloom, in
Starting the pros before the cons - Johnny Depp still owns it. I liked seeing the back story of Jack Sparrow and his history with Salazar. Brenton Thwaites shows a lot of promise as a future lead of the series.

The cons - Orlando Bloom, in his short bit through out the film, was just awful. The special effects were not as good as previous films and looked quite awful in some bits. The entire plot was predictable from start to finish. Bardem was a huge disappointment as Salazar, His constant breaking of his accent threw me off the whole film and he just wasn't that good of a villain (I mostly blame the writers because Bardem is a fantastic actor and a personal favorite). The entire was very anti-climactic and did not justice sitting through the nearly two and a half hour run time. Also what is up with Barbossa's sacrifice? It was so freaking needless, They could have set up a better send off for such a good character. I am not sold on Kaya Scodelario as a future lead, She just fits such a type cast role and doesn't really bring anything new to the table.

Overall, It just doesn't live up to other films in the series. I like it slightly more than At Worlds End, which I thought was the worst film of the series, but that's it.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90May 31, 2017
So-so movie, it brings alot of good things to the table for the franchise and it does some bad to it at the same time. Starting off, Javier Bardem and Johnny Depp are the highlights of this movie. Whenever they're on screen, you know theSo-so movie, it brings alot of good things to the table for the franchise and it does some bad to it at the same time. Starting off, Javier Bardem and Johnny Depp are the highlights of this movie. Whenever they're on screen, you know the movie is going to get better and it does get better. I thought Brenton Thwaites was also a good casting as Will Turner's son even though his character is a bit forgettable (hence I can't remember his name). This movie is sloppy in terms of execution, pacing is all over the place, editing is also choppy and could have been done better. I also found it sad that they took away Jack Sparrow's wit that made him such a great character in the first one and kinda turned him into a drunken buffoon, who while is still fun to watch on screen there just isn't this aura that he is always two steps ahead of you. In the end, this movie is pretty up-and-down but its entertaining nonetheless and should please fans of the franchise. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
harmybMay 30, 2017
GOOD.

The fifth installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean series is a GOOD movie, not VERY GOOD. It was entertaining, kept the funnier elements from the previous movies, and wrapped the series up well. There are a few issues, such as how
GOOD.

The fifth installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean series is a GOOD movie, not VERY GOOD.

It was entertaining, kept the funnier elements from the previous movies, and wrapped the series up well.

There are a few issues, such as how the end of the a character was handled. This, to me, seemed a little brushed over, and feel s/he should have had a better send off. And some of the CGI was a little distracting.

Nonetheless, if you are a fan of the series, as I am. I'm sure you will enjoy this movie.

6/10 - GOOD.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Jorge213May 30, 2017
Don't let the critics fool you! This movie is fantastic. This time around, it is more darker, more action packed, and the plot is very engaging. All the attention to detail and cinematography is gorgeous. One minor complaint is that they justDon't let the critics fool you! This movie is fantastic. This time around, it is more darker, more action packed, and the plot is very engaging. All the attention to detail and cinematography is gorgeous. One minor complaint is that they just went along with Will Turner becoming the captain of the Flying Dutchmen, I wished they elaborated more and were more careful about linking the movies together. The antagonist "Captain Salazar" was ever more creepy and couldn't do a better job filling the role. Overall am very happy and know that there will be another sequel! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
gameballJun 4, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved it! Yes, it is made for the family audiences but it really kept me going for two hours! It is an action filled adventure on the high seas from the times when Britannia ruled the waves. It has it all! Action, pirates, sailors, ghosts and what not, but it really is entertaining! You have no other option but to take your kids to this one, you will not be sorry. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
zidan16Jun 5, 2017
i dont know why people go into these films with high expectations that it will be serious, these movies are made to be funny and ridicoulus why cant people see that. i had a really fun time watching this movie and its my second favorite pretes movie
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24May 31, 2017
While this is easily the best installment in Disney's lucrative swashbuckling franchise since "The Curse Of The Black Pearl," considering how sparsely entertaining the middle three installments separating these two films were for me, it's notWhile this is easily the best installment in Disney's lucrative swashbuckling franchise since "The Curse Of The Black Pearl," considering how sparsely entertaining the middle three installments separating these two films were for me, it's not necessarily saying a whole lot. And with "Dead Men Tell No Tales" not exactly defying the "Pirates Of The Caribbean" formula here (supernaturally charged villain, mystical McGuffin/plot device, physics-defying set pieces, confusing finale, etc.) I can't exactly get away with recommending this one to you. However, if you're a big fan of the previous installments and/or you go into this one expecting what it is -- an inane, yet harmless cgi-fest featuring a couple engaging action sequences and an always watchable performance from Johnny Depp -- you might be a bit more entertained than you thought you'd be. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
veelaMay 30, 2017
Wonderful, funny and through and through entertaining. Sure not the best of the franchise but a great movie nonetheless. Especially Geoffrey Rush and Javier Bardem stand out and are worth the money for a ticket alone.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
NagoyablueJul 9, 2017
Just terrible. Plot is.....thin. Characters are......thin. Even 2 of the main stars have had enough and managed to escape with just a cameo. Unfortunately, this film attempts to usher in a new generation of pirates, to keep the cash cowJust terrible. Plot is.....thin. Characters are......thin. Even 2 of the main stars have had enough and managed to escape with just a cameo. Unfortunately, this film attempts to usher in a new generation of pirates, to keep the cash cow ready for another milking. There are literally no redeeming features for this film. It's utterly, utterly, terrible. Just do yourself a favor, and don't watch it. I only went 'cos my kids made me take them. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
HirdannenMay 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, there are still Pirates out there. I didn't like the 4th installment, with Blackbear[d] (pun intended), I can't even remember correctly the story, other than "It was pointless". I went to see the 5th because frankly I like Javier Bardem and I knew I was going to enjoy seeing him on the screen, even if the movie is worthless.

Well, I expected worse. This is still an over-the-top movie with Johnny Depp in it, Cameo appearances from Orlando/Keira and a young couple which tries to be the real stars of the show. Henry (the boy/ son of Orlando Bloom) is pretty much well... uninteresting. He has a clear motivation, but nothing much than that. Carina (the girl/ daughter of Barbossa [which we understand only at the end]) was more interesting (is that because I'm a guy ?). She's the only character taking herself seriously and is involved with the emotional stuff ("I found my lost father, only to lose him a few seconds later"), which you may or may not like. I think it's more the actress that stands out more than the role, since what's stuck in my memory is her widely open blue eyes. So I'm not sure if the character itself is so interesting... Everything is over-the-top in PotC, even the serious issues. That's to be expected.

Costumes and design are wonderful imo. It does add to the over-the-top.

Javier Bardem does his job as the Boogeyman and has more screen-time than anybody else, even leading to some insights about Jack Sparrow's past and nickname. However I expected a more frightening presence from the "Dead" members of his crew. They just looked like half the invisible man and half Edward Scissorhands for the most part. I liked the character only because it was one of my favorite actors in the role, not because of the character itself.

Also I had one jump-scare, completely unexpected (as did everyone else in the theater).

Is this movie good ? Well no, but it's not worse than the last one. It's a little improvement, but maybe it would be time to put to rest the franchise, no ?

Yeah I know, this is not really a helpful critic. But at least you know now there is nothing unexpected in this movie (except one specific moment).
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
cecevasquezMay 27, 2017
This is the first review ive ever written on a movie. WOW! WOW! WOW! WOOW!! This movie was so flawlessly directed from beginning to end. So much action, so much to laugh at, so much excitement, and some tears as well. Their were no cornyThis is the first review ive ever written on a movie. WOW! WOW! WOW! WOOW!! This movie was so flawlessly directed from beginning to end. So much action, so much to laugh at, so much excitement, and some tears as well. Their were no corny jokes, and every cast member was able to shine! Just an awesome film. I am so excited for the next one to come out! (whenever that is) The directors seem like they took years to make this film as it was so well put together! Please go see this film! you will not be let down. You need to watch it in extreme definition to really get all the cool sound effects vibrating through your skin! Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
0
funnystuffmateJun 6, 2017
Dead men tell no tales is fenomenal to look at, but insufferable to watch. The former stars like Sparrow and Barbossa completely lost their charm and charisma due to an unbearably bad written script. Jack Sparrow used to be a smart and funDead men tell no tales is fenomenal to look at, but insufferable to watch. The former stars like Sparrow and Barbossa completely lost their charm and charisma due to an unbearably bad written script. Jack Sparrow used to be a smart and fun character that eventually would amaze his surroundings. But instead in this 5th sequel he turned into an expired pirate who only communicates via short one-liners with no comedic content. This was by far the worst movie I've seen since many years back and it was a complete disappointment. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerNov 22, 2017
Easily the best of the Pirates sequels. Yet it still fails to recapture the magic of the original. It's ability to return a sense of fun into the series comes at the expense of the plot. The story-telling is half-heated and it's cool newEasily the best of the Pirates sequels. Yet it still fails to recapture the magic of the original. It's ability to return a sense of fun into the series comes at the expense of the plot. The story-telling is half-heated and it's cool new villain is ultimately rendered forgettable despite an excellent performance from Javier Bardem. Yes, this one is all about the jokes and some over-the-top action sequences. Ultimately I can live with that. It's a big improvement over the blandness of the last three Pirates films.

Johnny Depp is once again able to remind us why his character was so likable the first time around. Here though his buffoonery and eccentric mannerisms are heightened to the point of being cartoonish. It ensures that there are more laughs in the film than ever before, but it makes it hard to actually take any of this seriously. A shame as the first Pirates managed to both make us laugh and get invested in it's characters and plot. The whole cast is largely on point. Particularly the returning faces such as the always excellent Geoffrey Rush and Kevin McNally. Newcomers Brenton Thwaites and Kaya Scodelario are basically just there to inject some new pretty faces into the mix, but they manage to fit in with the rest of the cast quite well. Fans will get a kick out of seeing the long-awaited return of Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann, even if only briefly. When all is said and done this latest Pirates flick gets more right than it does wrong. Especially when in comparison to those truly dreadful sequels that came before it. It makes Pirates fun again. The problem is that it's just lacking in any sort of depth. It's all about the jokes and flashy action, both of which it has in spades. Neither of those make for a great movie when the writing is weak and the villain is so sadly squandered, but at least it's entertaining. I still don't think Pirates should have ever gone past the first movie, but at least this latest outing seems to point towards what could eventually be a decent follow up to the original.

6.5/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96May 26, 2017
I didn't go in expecting much from this, which is definitely good, because it was just a fun, yet flat-out ridiculous time at the theater! It really doesn't do anything new or bring anything too interesting to the table, but like I said, itI didn't go in expecting much from this, which is definitely good, because it was just a fun, yet flat-out ridiculous time at the theater! It really doesn't do anything new or bring anything too interesting to the table, but like I said, it does have its moments of ridiculous, over-the-top fun that this franchise has become best known for, for better or for worse. Overall, I really don't have much else to say about this one other than it's more of the same and is what most audiences who are all too familiar with the franchise thus far can come to expect, which is a mindless, albeit somewhat entertaining ride with Captain Jack Sparrow! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingJun 16, 2017
A hefty budget of $230 million breathes new life into the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise in terms of special effects and action spectacle. However, the investment doesn't show in the bloated script, predictable MacGuffin plot, as well asA hefty budget of $230 million breathes new life into the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise in terms of special effects and action spectacle. However, the investment doesn't show in the bloated script, predictable MacGuffin plot, as well as the uninspired acting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kivayugimotoJun 3, 2017
Better than expected; new characters also added to the storyline; Jack Sparrow is still funny & entertaining; worth seeing in a theater. There is one post-credit scene hinting at another sequel at the end of the movie scroll.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AcaciaMay 29, 2017
Okay, so we know when we buy our ticket what to expect, right? And that is exactly what you are getting. There are some new characters this time around. Henry and Carina. Both are looking for the magic trident that can reverse the cursesOkay, so we know when we buy our ticket what to expect, right? And that is exactly what you are getting. There are some new characters this time around. Henry and Carina. Both are looking for the magic trident that can reverse the curses that have been put upon those at sea. Remember the living dead pirates who come back to harass the living? Henry's father is among them. And Carina is looking to fulfill a wish of her own set in motion by her absent father. Presumably deceased. Johnny Depp does make appearances, of course, but he is not the main character in this version. My feeling is that we have seen it all before. There is mothing really new or different in this sequel. For my money, you could watch any of the previous Pirates and get your Pirates fix. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
yezoJun 3, 2017
I think the movie is alright, the main plot going with the current trend of feminism which does not surprise me at all. The story is a bit slow that I would have liked, but it was nice to see some old characters, "ship" back. Also, it is niceI think the movie is alright, the main plot going with the current trend of feminism which does not surprise me at all. The story is a bit slow that I would have liked, but it was nice to see some old characters, "ship" back. Also, it is nice to see some cameos in the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pratikgorasiaMay 31, 2017
awesome movie, very good Hollywood movie seen recently
superb acting by all actors
I think critics are fools who downvoted this movie and I think critics only love boring movie its must watch. critics please stop rating movies,go learn which
awesome movie, very good Hollywood movie seen recently
superb acting by all actors
I think critics are fools who downvoted this movie
and I think critics only love boring movie
its must watch.
critics please stop rating movies,go learn which movie to like
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KayVen17Jun 10, 2017
Deutsche Review - Kritik Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt dasDeutsche Review - Kritik Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden? Dann sind hier meine Punkte. Mein persönlicher Score = 78/100 Mein User Score = 8/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
miccaelJun 2, 2017
First of all I need to mention that I am A HUGE, HUUUUGE fan of the series, and the letdown of the 4th had much more negative effect on me than to non-fans. I came from cinema few hours ago and have fresh, thoughtful idea of this movie. IFirst of all I need to mention that I am A HUGE, HUUUUGE fan of the series, and the letdown of the 4th had much more negative effect on me than to non-fans. I came from cinema few hours ago and have fresh, thoughtful idea of this movie. I COMPLETELY disagree with "top" critics.
Let's start from good! I was not expecting it to be this good, this is WAY better than 4th, I think all can agree with this. Acting of supporting cast is great, story is pretty good and the cinematography is just perfect. The "young Jack" scene was good enough but still the CGI was noticeable. Now a bit of sad news: I did not like the "young couple" actors much and the ending was too cheesy, too Disney-ified.
Johnny Depp definitely feels tired here, tired of acting. I see less action and thrill when he is on screen.
First act with Depp was fun but silly, too silly, even for Pirates.
The idea of Salazar was very good and the connection with previous movies and movie logic made me "huuuh...I see...that's how it works I guess"...
But the jokes are dragged a lot, missing sometimes and Jack's comebacks are not funny. Plot very conveniently helps Barbosa, and for some reason has no connection with previous characters from 1,2,3 and 4 movies that much.
We see a very little of other known characters but some are never mentioned.
Also I noticed some continuity errors. And finally, the ending...
it makes sense but at the same time does not...I keep asking so many questions like why would that character do that and not what we expect? And of course why would the end of one character's story be in a such a dumb way...?
I really did not like how the handled Barbosa character in particular.
So...after all, I enjoyed the movie! It had its moments and freshness and oldness as well. 3.5/5 just because it kinda revived itself from disaster of 4th but also because this is the last movie....kinda... because there IS AN AFTER CREDITS SCENE...yeah....have a look
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MasterRileyMay 28, 2017
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales is the fifth instalment in the blockbuster franchise. Like you would expect it is filled with lots of fun action, comedy, and characters that make it a thoroughly entertaining movie. Where thePirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales is the fifth instalment in the blockbuster franchise. Like you would expect it is filled with lots of fun action, comedy, and characters that make it a thoroughly entertaining movie. Where the movie falls flat is in its depth of writing and character development. But as long as you are just looking for a fun time you can still find a lot of enjoyment out of this instalment. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
Creeper3455May 28, 2017
Sometimes,when it comes to Big Hollywood franchises,5th Installmesnts always tend to fail (remember Ice Age Collision Course? What about MI5 Rogue Nation?). Dead Men Tell No Tales,aside from being a major improvement over On Starnger Tides,Sometimes,when it comes to Big Hollywood franchises,5th Installmesnts always tend to fail (remember Ice Age Collision Course? What about MI5 Rogue Nation?). Dead Men Tell No Tales,aside from being a major improvement over On Starnger Tides, is one of them,but it's not really that bad. There are some good things,but the majority of the movie was filled with flaws. The pros are the Visual Effects and Javier Bardem,which was a good villain. I didn't enjoy Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow that much,except for that one scene that i can't tell because Spoilers. The other performances were fine. The major flaw i have with the movie is the 2nd act,where most of the parts are nonsensical and you don't understand what's happening with all that Shaky Cam rumbling your head. The action sequences were decent enough to entertain me,while most of the scenes were monotone,even though i wanted them to be funny...But in the end,Dead Men Tell No Tales was a decent 5th chapter,with some decent acting,brilliant visual effects and a weak story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SassyQuatchJun 2, 2017
I'm not sure if my complete and utter boredom with this film is a result of a bad mood I was in upon seeing it or a result of the film itself. Somehwere along the way however I was just done with this movie. It landed in the no-go area of notI'm not sure if my complete and utter boredom with this film is a result of a bad mood I was in upon seeing it or a result of the film itself. Somehwere along the way however I was just done with this movie. It landed in the no-go area of not being anything too good or too bad. It wasn't memorable. In fact, I forgot most of what happened in the movie when I left the theatre. The pacing is ridiculously off. The first half or so of the film feels like exposition. The unlikely trio only set off on their quest in the last hour or so. When they finally get going, it feels like nothing happens besides cliche and completely unbelievable dramatic dialogues wherein the characters spell out for you some plot point in clunky wordage (or in oddly placed and overstayed memory sequences). Every bloated and overly explicit dramatic dialogue piece (matched only by the odd shift to blue humor dialogue) dragged on in what felt like an eternity. It felt like watching a formula: dramatic dialogue + action sequence + dramatic dialogue+ action sequence... ad infinitum. For all its movement it didn't feel like it was going anywhere. The action felt inconsequential since you know the way it will turn out (Captain Jack will pull some wacky trick out of his hat). The movie didn't make us care about the characters in new ways. It just shamelessly plugged the tired, old formula (and in less style than its predecessors). Lastly, you could really tell that Johnny Depp was not fully invested in this role. His acting seems slightly 'off' (who can blame him) and the writing for his character has him revel as a drunkard for most of the film, never hashing out what could have been a meaningful character arc for the familiar character, electing instead to never show the audience the significance of the story to Jack. It astounded me how little Jack seemed to care about being there; he was not the only one. I really wasn't expecting much from this movie. Unfortunately, it did nothing to change my mood going into it. In fact, it did the worst thing a movie can do: it met all my expectations. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
Thrust into an all-new adventure, a down-on-his-luck Capt. Jack Sparrow feels the winds of ill-fortune blowing even more strongly when deadly ghost sailors led by his old nemesis, the evil Capt. Salazar, escape from the Devil's Triangle.Thrust into an all-new adventure, a down-on-his-luck Capt. Jack Sparrow feels the winds of ill-fortune blowing even more strongly when deadly ghost sailors led by his old nemesis, the evil Capt. Salazar, escape from the Devil's Triangle. Jack's only hope of survival lies in seeking out the legendary Trident of Poseidon, but to find it, he must forge an uneasy alliance with a brilliant and beautiful astronomer and a headstrong young man in the British navy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Crazy_CrackerMay 30, 2017
Ignore critics & stupid people. This movie is Awesome

Hi, Just watched today. Trust me this movie is awesome. All people and critics have habits of comparing new installment with old one and finding faults. Im very big fan of this series.
Ignore critics & stupid people. This movie is Awesome

Hi, Just watched today. Trust me this movie is awesome. All people and critics have habits of comparing new installment with old one and finding faults.

Im very big fan of this series. and for me stranger tides was pointless part in this series. but this one made my day. This part is full of fun, a lot of jokes, nice story, nice CGI, nice ending, very good cameos.

Yes, it is not perfect movie like first three parts and story is not that much good. (Those part was directed by Gore Verbinski so no doubt if he is not director, movie won't be like first three) but its much better than stranger tides and is very good movie. Full enjoyable from start to end.

Just Go for it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
jakemagroMay 30, 2017
This movie had pretty good action and the movie looked stunning. The story in this movie was pretty good the only issue is some of the movies conflict now for a reason I will state later on. I really like the new villain and his motive toThis movie had pretty good action and the movie looked stunning. The story in this movie was pretty good the only issue is some of the movies conflict now for a reason I will state later on. I really like the new villain and his motive to kill Jack and I also like how everything comes together in the end and also how they brought the black pearl back I thought that it was very interesting. The only issues I have with the movie is that it changed where Jack got his compass and that even thought William turner played a pretty big part I would have liked to see him and his ship more. But all in all the only movie in the series that I think was better then this one was the first one and that is why I give it a 9 out of 10. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
WizakizMay 30, 2017
Fun and reboot franchise ......................................................................................................................................
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
NicfreyMay 31, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the best movie of all time but a good entertainment. There are a lot of unique scene where the fx is perfect like the bankjob and Salazar. Some actors play bad but it isn't disturbing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SUperCritic55Jun 6, 2017
Super Movie and script, all characters on the right places, new character are fine and interesting. I'm glad to see that Disney start something new and don't make another single movie about Jack Sparrow (like it was be in Pirates 4) GoodSuper Movie and script, all characters on the right places, new character are fine and interesting. I'm glad to see that Disney start something new and don't make another single movie about Jack Sparrow (like it was be in Pirates 4) Good script, good visuals effects, good actors and non anxiety narrative, but sometimes in this movie there were stupid & dirty jokes. But this movie "Pirrates 5"eventually is AWESOME!.I'd recommend to view this. 910 i'd glad to seen this. end. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GamexpertMay 26, 2017
Is this the real life?
How can anyone really vote this movie with 0/100 as a "professional" Reviewer?
This movie is far away from being bad. Yes, it is not perfect, but still great a great Popcorn Movie, great scenes and even if you dont like
Is this the real life?
How can anyone really vote this movie with 0/100 as a "professional" Reviewer?
This movie is far away from being bad.
Yes, it is not perfect, but still great a great Popcorn Movie, great scenes and even if you dont like Depp, thise role just fits him perfectley.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JDSCigano666Jun 11, 2017
Dead Men Tell no Tales - Dead franchises tell tales no one is interested in. The last Pirates movie actually benefited from adapting to a well-known story, this one is a messy affair which is further hindered by dreadful performances, mostDead Men Tell no Tales - Dead franchises tell tales no one is interested in. The last Pirates movie actually benefited from adapting to a well-known story, this one is a messy affair which is further hindered by dreadful performances, most troubling of all being that of Johnny Depp. There comes a time when a beloved character needs to be put out to pasture but because this series is such a money-spinner, the over-saturation may well continue for decades to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianApr 12, 2019
They're not getting any better but the Pirates films continue to entertain with spectacle and self-aware stupidity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGal2016Jun 3, 2017
This movie is a disappointment. The final act is an improvement over the first two acts so I think that's influencing the ratings. However, taken as a whole, IMHO, this movie is bad. The first act is actually pretty terrible. The plot isThis movie is a disappointment. The final act is an improvement over the first two acts so I think that's influencing the ratings. However, taken as a whole, IMHO, this movie is bad. The first act is actually pretty terrible. The plot is dumb and the humor is over-the-top slapstick type humor. No one in our movie theater even laughed and it was a packed theater. Not good. The plot gets better as the movie goes on. However, you have to sit through a lot of nonsense to get to that portion of the movie. The movie feels very long. This one's a dud; don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SherlocksJul 3, 2017
Well worth a look if you like the series, its has it all in a nice package. All the old gang is back together again all don't look like they have aged a day. Would have loved a more grounded story rather than all the super natural stuff.Well worth a look if you like the series, its has it all in a nice package. All the old gang is back together again all don't look like they have aged a day. Would have loved a more grounded story rather than all the super natural stuff. Maybe the 6th could have an actual human captain behind it so I'm hopeful they do a few more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
chess123mateJun 6, 2017
Note: I really like the first four movies.

This movie is missing what made the previous ones great: somewhat complex plots where different characters interact, each with a different motivation. Jack usually interweaves between these
Note: I really like the first four movies.

This movie is missing what made the previous ones great: somewhat complex plots where different characters interact, each with a different motivation. Jack usually interweaves between these motivations with cleverness, negotiation, and some planning. However, In this movie there was no complex plot, the plot didn't make much sense (and contradicted some of the things implied or stated in previous movies), and everyone except the evil antagonist ended up wanting the same object (and to use that object in exactly the same way, making them all allies against the antagonist). Jack has always had scenes where he cleverly plans an escape or series of actions (often surprising bystanders with his ingenuity), but there were no such scenes in this one. Jack sometimes did things that were inexplicable, but these actions were never proven to be particularly intelligent. (Possibly it was meant to be humourous?) Jack spent almost the entire movie imprisoned, tied up, or being chased - unlike other movies, Jack spent almost no time leading anyone anywhere (whether directly as Captain or indirectly as adviser/selective informer).


I found the antagonist to be distasteful. He seemed to be on a murderous rampage, not caring who got in his way. The story suggests he got a really powerful ship (before being cursed), but it didn't make sense to me. Several ships attacking his all at once should have left a dent, but didn't. The antagonist and his ship, crew, and animals that just happened to be in the area are all cursed for entering an area - but whenever anyone else enters that same area, no curse is applied. After the curse, his ship had strange abilities that make you wonder why these "curses" are always such blessings if you want to be the perfect murdering machines (their abilities were more powerful and varied even than Davy Jones's!) Whereas Blackbeard valued little life other than his own, this captain seems to be thrilled at the idea of killing anyone he deems his enemy (with what I perceive to be inconsistent morals).


There were no significant twists in the plot - it told you almost everything that was going to happen near the beginning; the rest just followed through. The plot revisited William Turner, and showed a number of things about his condition that don't add up with what the previous movies implied. What happened to Will's father? Didn't William have a job to do, that - if he fulfilled it - he wouldn't have any fish-corrosion on him (as Davy Jones did)? In the beginning, isn't William in command of the Dutchman - so why did he act like the crew was going to do some evil thing to William's son (who was visiting)?

Minor notes:
-I saw it in 3D, but found that the 3D didn't add anything to it.
-The music was fine; they managed to keep the same type of music while varying it enough from previous movies to be pleasant to listen to.
-A lot of the characters from the previous movies didn't show up in this one (and Angelica was implied to be involved in future movies based on the ending of the 4th, but wasn't).
-I didn't care for most of the ending (too much death for my liking).

Overall, the scenes didn't make much sense and very little of it was enjoyable. The beginning few scenes were fun, but they failed to introduce the elements needed to make it a good movie. As one who very much enjoyed the previous four films, I do not recommend watching this one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Danielhero1998Jun 9, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pirates Of The Caribbean is one of my favorite movie franchises of all time. I loved the first 3 movies, and enjoyed parts of 4. Going into Dead Men Tell No Tales, I was really excited. It had great Norwegian directors behind it (Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg), the trailers were great and I was expecting a great fun ride. I left the movie really satisfied. This is the best Pirates movie since The Curse Of The Black Pearl (2003).

Plot: Johnny Depp returns to the big screen as the iconic, swashbuckling anti-hero Jack Sparrow in the all-new Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales. The rip-roaring adventure finds down-on-his-luck Captain Jack feeling the winds of ill-fortune blowing strongly his way when deadly ghost sailors, led by the terrifying Captain Salazar (Javier Bardem), escape from the Devil's Triangle bent on killing every pirate at sea—notably Jack. Jack's only hope of survival lies in the legendary Trident of Poseidon, but to find it he must forge an uneasy alliance with Carina Smyth (Kaya Scodelario), a brilliant and beautiful astronomer, and Henry (Brenton Thwaites), a headstrong young sailor in the Royal Navy. At the helm of the Dying Gull, his pitifully small and shabby ship, Captain Jack seeks not only to reverse his recent spate of ill fortune, but to save his very life from the most formidable and malicious foe he has ever faced.

It was full of great action, effects, humor, music, acting, it was a lot of fun, and it has a good, but complicated story. The beginning of the movie with young Henry meeting his father Will on board the Dutchman was toughing and sets up the motivation for Henry wanting the Trident perfectly. Carina's motivations for getting the Trident, while not as great as Henry's, was still good.

Jack Sparrow is the same Jack Sparrow we all know and love, and Johhny Deep is once again great as the character, Salazar was a great villain with a great motivation for wanting revenge against Jack, Henry and Carina were great new additions to the franchise, but not on the same level as Will and Elizabeth, but way better then the priest (or whatever he was) and the mermaid in On Stranger Tides. The best character in the movie was Barbossa. Geoffrey Rush is fantastic as he has been in all of the movies, and the fact that Carina is revealed to be Barbossa's daughter is fantastic, and his sacrifice at the end was great and sad.

The ending with Henry reuniting with his father (Will), and Will reuniting with Elizabeth, and Jack setting course for a new adventure was amazing and would a great ending to the Pirates Of The Caribbean franchise, but there is an after credits scene, which maybe teases a potential sixth Pirates movie with the return of fan- favorite villain Davy Jones.

Problems I have with the movie are one subplot that wasn't needed and led to nothing and an underwhelming climax compared with the other movies' climaxes.

Overall, Dead Men Tell No Tales is a great fun ride that I was never bored with. I think the critics are being way way to hard on this movie. If you love the Pirates movies, even if you weren't a fan of the 4th one, you will enjoy this movie. If you didn't like the Pirates sequels (or the Pirates movies), then this one will not change your mind. If you require movie to be serious or make sense logically, then this isn't the movie for you.

Final verdict: 8,5/10 or 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
iCronicAug 7, 2017
The last movie was one of the worst movies I've seen in that year, so I'm glad this one is much better. I really like the scenes with Salazars crew and the film actually gets better as it progresses. Still has a lot of flaws like the veryThe last movie was one of the worst movies I've seen in that year, so I'm glad this one is much better. I really like the scenes with Salazars crew and the film actually gets better as it progresses. Still has a lot of flaws like the very cheap humor attempts and dragging out the ending to a sleep inducing degree. Overall it's a nice & fitting ending to the franchise, or let's say it should be Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LinttaFlamingoJun 14, 2018
You can do better than this, f*cktards.

This film does a couple needed things and f*cks them up immediately. For example Jack Sparrow is more of a supporting character this time like in the first movie which is a good call. The problem is
You can do better than this, f*cktards.

This film does a couple needed things and f*cks them up immediately. For example Jack Sparrow is more of a supporting character this time like in the first movie which is a good call. The problem is that he's a dumbass in this film. Not only is Johnny Depp's portrayal of him pretty much a parody of a parody in this movie, but the character is just a drunken retard. He's no more interesting or charismatic, he's just a random comedic relief for the most part with terrible forced comedy. Although he still looks cool. The makeup, the clothes and the hair are always going to look good on him.

Most of the characters here are pretty bland. The main actors Kaya Scodelario and Brenton Thwaites give alright performances, but unfortunately they don't have that much chemistry together and their motivations aren't that interesting. I never really felt invested in their characters or the story. The only truly interesting character in the film is the antagonist Armando Salazar, portrayed by Javier Bardem. He was excellent except when the film forced some stupid humor on his dialogue.

Speaking of the humor, it's dogsh*t. The humor ruins everything. It's just randomly forced in to the scenes for no reason. In the other films, especially the first one, the humor blended well in to the events of the scene and a lot of times the actors were able to make a scene funny even without it being the main point. But in this film all these lame unfunny things are just forced in to the scene in the most awkward way possible where they're literally rubbing it to your goddamn face and screaming "LAUGH YOU F*CKING C*NT". It's so bad that it just ruins any investment that you might've had for the scene earlier.

It's a shame really. There's definitely potential for this to be good. The antagonist is good, the main characters Henry Turner and Carina Smyth are decent and the movie looks really nice and has some alright action. But it's all absolutely ruined by the lack of an interesting story that's worth to tell and the tosh cum humor that's forced in so obviously that I was just angry with it instead of, you know, f*cking laughing like humor is supposed to have you do.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CameraBounceGodJun 23, 2017
i dislike attractive women getting hired for big new movies all the time..ifeel like the inequality that emma watson talks about in her industry is really just because she cant see that the problem is that women are so readily associated w/i dislike attractive women getting hired for big new movies all the time..ifeel like the inequality that emma watson talks about in her industry is really just because she cant see that the problem is that women are so readily associated w/ sex and there are so many attractive women (who arnt hired or something and that bothers her... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MattBrady99Sep 10, 2017
"Dead Men Tell No Tales" is the fifth installment in this exhausted franchise that should have sunk 10 years ago.

Remember how grand and epic these movies were, but with the unfinished effects, predicable scenes, and over rushed storyline,
"Dead Men Tell No Tales" is the fifth installment in this exhausted franchise that should have sunk 10 years ago.

Remember how grand and epic these movies were, but with the unfinished effects, predicable scenes, and over rushed storyline, it looses the magic. You just wish that Javier Bardem character would just impale Captain Jar Jar Binks with his sword and be down with it. I was rooting for the villain through the whole thing.

**** Jack Sparrow!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
UrbanlistenerJul 2, 2017
Fun adventure film in the POC series, Johnny Depp is good, the action sequences are sometimes unnecessary, but well made and enjoyable, the effects are great and the music is still very good. The plot itself is not very good. Some charactersFun adventure film in the POC series, Johnny Depp is good, the action sequences are sometimes unnecessary, but well made and enjoyable, the effects are great and the music is still very good. The plot itself is not very good. Some characters are boring and bland, its convoluted and discombobulated and some things are skipped over while being crucial to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RalfbergsSep 29, 2017
It was a fun movie, but that's it, other than that it felt just like a remake of the old ones - it brought nothing new to it and it was worse than previous ones, so yeah, not what I hoped for, but what can you do
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
andre27Oct 17, 2017
Pirata das caraibas 5 tenta nos trazer um otimo enredo mas peca na construção da história, no já muito usado jack e em demasiada fantasia. O vilão é fraco, e o melhor do filme é mesmo a morte de barbosa. Não sendo tão mau como o pintam nãoPirata das caraibas 5 tenta nos trazer um otimo enredo mas peca na construção da história, no já muito usado jack e em demasiada fantasia. O vilão é fraco, e o melhor do filme é mesmo a morte de barbosa. Não sendo tão mau como o pintam não consegue atingir a glória de outros tempos e está na hora de Sparrow descansar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tyger44Jun 26, 2017
Dead Men Tell No Tales feels like a fresh new start for Pirates of the Caribbean. After the conclusion of the original trilogy felt aimless and lacking both direction and the spirit of the first film. However, after watching DMTNT, I wasDead Men Tell No Tales feels like a fresh new start for Pirates of the Caribbean. After the conclusion of the original trilogy felt aimless and lacking both direction and the spirit of the first film. However, after watching DMTNT, I was reminded why loved the first movie so much. Pirates is the right mix of old and new, with favorites like Jack Sparrow and Barbossa (who are both given great material to work with) returning as well as new faces like Will and Elizabeth's son, Henry, as well as Carina Smyth, whom I don't want to spoil the revelation involving her. And their adventure to find the newest treasure of the Caribbean is easily the most fun I've had with a Pirates film since the first film. This is largely because, the script for the movie has so much heart and it avoids becoming overly complicated, a problem that plagued early films. The action is high-octane, the one-liners are hilarious, and when the film gets serious, the big pay-offs are surprisingly touching. Really the only two problems I have, are the "been there, done that" design of the villains, and the fact that I felt the movie wasn't the most welcoming to casual fans. I felt like my experience was greatly improved because I was familiar with the events of past films. However, I imagine that without that knowledge, people coming into the franchise for the first time might not understand the finer details or the weight some of the big climatic moments the movie has. Nonetheless, the film is just a fun adventure with a satisfying conclusion. I watched it with a smile on my face almost the entire time. I don't know whether or not the series will continue or not. If not, the series will end on a high note. If so, I'm excited to see what comes next. A Pirate's life for me. Yoho. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews