Alamode Film | Release Date: December 6, 2019
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 303 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
270
Mixed:
19
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
keanexFeb 26, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I felt that the story of this movie was very expected, but the trajectory, emotion, and choice of words separated this from being a good movie, to a great one. It's a slow film of forbidden love, two women who know each other briefly for a period of time, but become floored by each other with an intense connection that they both will carry with them forever. Until the ending sequence I felt the movie was a 7.5, pushing an 8, but the last 15-30 minutes pushed it to an easy 9 for me. Very emotional and very very very well acted. The cinematography also needs to be praised, absolutely phenomenal. This was quite a movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
fiftywordreviewFeb 13, 2020
Beautifully acted and technically sharp, Portrait of a Lady on Fire presents a tragic love story that feels familiar yet wholly original. The length can feel excessive, but by the time the credits roll you will be hard-pressed to find aBeautifully acted and technically sharp, Portrait of a Lady on Fire presents a tragic love story that feels familiar yet wholly original. The length can feel excessive, but by the time the credits roll you will be hard-pressed to find a single moment that felt wasted. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GinaKFeb 21, 2020
A quiet, intense film that is subtle but never boring, which required wonderful acting to hold the audience’s attention, which it definitely did.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
zmgalen2000Mar 30, 2020
"Portrait of a Lady on Fire" is nothing new or revolutionary. The story has graced our lives more than enough times. However, where "Portrait of a Lady on Fire" excels in its sheer sentiment, stunning cinematography, and superb writing."Portrait of a Lady on Fire" is nothing new or revolutionary. The story has graced our lives more than enough times. However, where "Portrait of a Lady on Fire" excels in its sheer sentiment, stunning cinematography, and superb writing. Though off to a bit of a slow start, the film slowly, yet abruptly, catapults its viewers into a whimsical euphoria of cinematic glory towards its final act. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
andrex3Mar 19, 2021
it's the definition of a masterpiece, something you'll remember forever. there isn't a single thing I would change, it's bold, yet sublime. a must see for sure
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantJul 11, 2020
While terms like "masterpiece" have been freely bandied about concerning this French period piece drama about forbidden romance, this beautifully filmed, exquisitely staged and well-acted offering nevertheless gets weighed down by sluggishWhile terms like "masterpiece" have been freely bandied about concerning this French period piece drama about forbidden romance, this beautifully filmed, exquisitely staged and well-acted offering nevertheless gets weighed down by sluggish pacing, an anticlimactic and often-predictable script, extraneous story threads, and an occasional lacking in gut-level believeability. Director Celine Sciamma's latest may be a joy to look at, and its content may indeed constitute an earnest, heartfelt feminine manifesto, but it often comes across as somewhat tentative and restrained in going all-out for what it really wants to say (especially with a title that includes the words "on fire" in it). To be sure, this is a fine piece of filmmaking in many regards, but rising to the level of "masterpiece" sincerely requires more than what's served up here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MayfieldjaMar 18, 2020
Arguably the greatest romance film of the last 20 years. It's elegant, insanely intelligent, and expertly dives into themes that seem just as real today as they might have in the late 1800s. 9 out of 10

-SM
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RGIVJun 12, 2020
After seeing Parasite and The Irishman, I did not expect any film to eclipse them in the year but then Celine Sciamma came along with Portrait of a Lady on Fire. It’s a bold, tender and beautiful film about female relationships and femaleAfter seeing Parasite and The Irishman, I did not expect any film to eclipse them in the year but then Celine Sciamma came along with Portrait of a Lady on Fire. It’s a bold, tender and beautiful film about female relationships and female artistry. The best of the year and one of the best of the decade. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusSep 25, 2020
What an incredible movie.
Full of emotion that's subtle, yet powerful.
The cinematography is gorgeous. The colors are soft and the composition is like that of an old painting. The sound of this movie is equally perfect. The scratching of a
What an incredible movie.
Full of emotion that's subtle, yet powerful.

The cinematography is gorgeous.
The colors are soft and the composition is like that of an old painting.

The sound of this movie is equally perfect.

The scratching of a pencil on paper.
The sound of the brush against the canvas.
The breathing of two lovers.
The cracking of a fire.
It creates a very intimate atmosphere.

It's all just wonderful.

I think this movie would make for a great double-feature with "Call Me by Your Name".
They both have similar visual styles, a similar tone and many similar scenes, and both are just beautiful.

I don't think I would watch both back to back though. My heart is not strong enough.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
matheusatdsMar 27, 2020
This is so beautiful aesthetically, the cinematography is sensational, it seems like a living painting. The screenplay is delicate, real, painful and poetic. The cast is just phenomenal!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AmirKalantarMar 29, 2020
It's hard to find good feminine movies in recent years.but this movie is on of the great one's, It can clearly say what it want to say in an artistic way. colors, music and shots are wonderful and of course meaningful. ARMANDE BOULANGER
could
It's hard to find good feminine movies in recent years.but this movie is on of the great one's, It can clearly say what it want to say in an artistic way. colors, music and shots are wonderful and of course meaningful. ARMANDE BOULANGER
could have better acting especially in the last scene.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
xiaolumetaMar 29, 2020
Celine Sciamma's screenplay for Portrait of a Lady on Fire is stunning. Bringing the audience's eyes towards the eyes, noses, and other facial features of Heloise and Marianna, the texture is a very present part of the film. The costumeCeline Sciamma's screenplay for Portrait of a Lady on Fire is stunning. Bringing the audience's eyes towards the eyes, noses, and other facial features of Heloise and Marianna, the texture is a very present part of the film. The costume design, the acting, the cinematography, the direction, the score, and most of all, the Art direction were through the roof. With matching images to Bergman's Persona, stellar direction for an even more stellar screenplay, I can't praise this film enough.

The use of score reminds me of Miyazaki's embedding of Hisahashi's music into his films. Not gonna write much more on the themes of the film as I just wrote this blob of text to fill in a rating.

96/100

(first metacritic/letterboxd review so am unsure of the direction of my reviews for these types of sites atm.)
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dibyadasApr 3, 2020
Stunningly capturing the tension germinating between the two women, this movie is not only emotionally fulfilling, it is breathtakingly beautiful as well. Definitely a must see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
UmiLasminaMar 30, 2020
the the best experience of watching beautiful movie ever. the picture the are rihc and memorable, h and favouulous
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
vincentedwardApr 12, 2020
Brilliant and moving. The use of diegetic sound throughout is skillful, music playing an important role in tying the narrative together and highlighting the film's most striking moments. This film will stay with me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IAmaMovieGeekMay 13, 2020
Outstanding film, with incredible performances and excellent cinematography. The Academy Awards should be ashamed of themselves for not nominating this masterpiece. This beautiful film gets a 10/10!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TashdejApr 20, 2020
I don't think I have seen a film recently that has felt so full and cohesive. Every bit of this story has a purpose and the final scenes bring so much of that together, absolutely beautiful film making. This is a much watch for anyone whoI don't think I have seen a film recently that has felt so full and cohesive. Every bit of this story has a purpose and the final scenes bring so much of that together, absolutely beautiful film making. This is a much watch for anyone who enjoys this genre, I would even go as far to say it is a much watch for almost everyone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarySmithApr 24, 2020
Absolutely brilliant script, acting, and cinematography showcasing an absolutely beautiful yet pragmatic love story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JordanLaytonApr 27, 2020
Portrait of a Lady on Fire is a quiet, powerful French film about an artist hired to secretly paint a portrait of a high class woman for her betrothed. It is easily my favorite film of 2020 to date. (yes I'm counting it as a 2020 release evenPortrait of a Lady on Fire is a quiet, powerful French film about an artist hired to secretly paint a portrait of a high class woman for her betrothed. It is easily my favorite film of 2020 to date. (yes I'm counting it as a 2020 release even though it had a tiny release in December 2019 okay wow) This is a film that showcases the raw might and devastation embodied by forbidden love. I don't think I have been so moved by a romance in film since 2018's Call Me By Your Name. I feel that the amount of emotion this film is able to evoke results from fully drawn characters, patient, exacting performances, gorgeous lighting, and purposeful cinematography.


The way this script reveals its characters' personalities and histories is through the brief and extremely femininely coded interactions between each of them. So much is accomplished by the writing and performances in so little dialogue that both the characters and the audience are given quite an allowance of time to fully soak in the weight of each and every line. Shots will linger on each of the main characters as they act and react to each other in a way that achieves significant tension and suspense, especially for a film in the romance genre. That suspense is only heightened by how this film is lit and shot. Between the beautiful French cliff-side beach and the surprisingly warm castle home, the main locations this film takes place in provide ample opportunities for visually stunning shots, all of which were seized and all of which directly aligned with the script. Honestly, I was gushing for most of the movie over just how effectively the language of the camera was being used. It felt similar to Parasite in that way. With that review and comparison, I don't think my rating here should come as any shock. PoaLoF is on Hulu right now and it is definitely worth a watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
clintuJun 7, 2020
[2:46 am, 08/06/2020] Uttam: Portrait of a Lady on Fire(2019)

A French movie, it's a slow movie, art - subtle drama. Each moment in the movie builds up to the next moment of the movie. Half way through, there's one particular scene that
[2:46 am, 08/06/2020] Uttam: Portrait of a Lady on Fire(2019)

A French movie, it's a slow movie, art - subtle drama. Each moment in the movie builds up to the next moment of the movie. Half way through, there's one particular scene that makes audience feel totally worth it and goosebumps during the scene and also builds anticipation for further narrative. Silences and nuances convey deep emotions without even putting anything out there outright. Although the intention and the story of the movie is debatable varying person to person, this movie will be a textbook reference for every film making aspect. I could write a never ending essay on it.

ps:
People who only like fast paced, spoon fed action/dramas, don't even try, you can't sit through even 10mins of the movie
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
anotherbookJul 2, 2020
Masterpiece. The ending will make you cry if you have a speck of a soul inside your meat wagon.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pijgogoJul 6, 2020
Be prepared. Watch it when you are done with the dishes and have two hours to be entranced. Also watch it on the largest screen possible due to the landscapes on screen. The look and feel is like Gothic meets Bronte sisters. This is an artBe prepared. Watch it when you are done with the dishes and have two hours to be entranced. Also watch it on the largest screen possible due to the landscapes on screen. The look and feel is like Gothic meets Bronte sisters. This is an art film and masterpiece for one of the slowest burning, hottest sizzles of a relationship in film history. If you don’t feel on fire afterwards, please speak with some women! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
idkwhatimdoinAug 16, 2020
probably the best movie i've ever seen! the magnificent cinematography and the amazing actresses make you feel like you're part of this beautiful love story. i'd definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for something which for onceprobably the best movie i've ever seen! the magnificent cinematography and the amazing actresses make you feel like you're part of this beautiful love story. i'd definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for something which for once isn't the typical heterosexual love story that you can find everywhere. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CherryBoomBoomJul 25, 2020
Beautiful. Sciamma rarely disappoints: she was at her best for Portrait and Haenel and Merlant are breathtaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Ellie2306Aug 4, 2020
It's a masterpiece. I have nothing to say about it. It's like a pure picture with full of emotion. Perfect!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarcDoyleFeb 15, 2020
Outstanding. The fact that this didn't garner a single Oscar nomination means that the Academy doesn't get out much to the theaters - or they don't play the screeners. A beautifully shot film, and the acting performances are so rich, they'reOutstanding. The fact that this didn't garner a single Oscar nomination means that the Academy doesn't get out much to the theaters - or they don't play the screeners. A beautifully shot film, and the acting performances are so rich, they're unforgettable. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxFeb 21, 2020
Portrait of a lady on fire is tender, beautiful, human and visually artistic
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
luizabdcJan 11, 2020
Beautifully directed and with a great love story, it's a definitely must watch.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
JLuis_001Jan 18, 2020
If I were to be angry about the Oscar nominations (Which I'm not, because awards don't dictate the quality of a film) I would be incredibly upset by the enormous disdain the Academy shown to Céline Sciamma and her wonderful film and not byIf I were to be angry about the Oscar nominations (Which I'm not, because awards don't dictate the quality of a film) I would be incredibly upset by the enormous disdain the Academy shown to Céline Sciamma and her wonderful film and not by Greta Gerwig and her right but conventional adaptation of Little Women. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
moni81Jan 1, 2020
Portrait of A Lady On Fire is truly beautiful. Barely any dialogue and from there exist a masterclass on unspoken silent bond that can happen almost immediately when two people met. Stolen glances with sexual tension sprinkled the scenes withPortrait of A Lady On Fire is truly beautiful. Barely any dialogue and from there exist a masterclass on unspoken silent bond that can happen almost immediately when two people met. Stolen glances with sexual tension sprinkled the scenes with beauty.
A true masterpiece by Céline Sciamma and a mesmerizing performances by Adèle Haenel and Noémie Merlant.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
GuganSBDec 28, 2019
This movie itself a MOVING PAINTING!!!
You won't regret watching it. A True Classic. It deserves this praises.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
Kafka0622Mar 6, 2020
This is a moving and gorgeous film with a heart wrenching finale scene that stays with you for.... well, I don't know how long it stays with you. I saw it a few months ago and I still think of it every day. In any year that didn't includeThis is a moving and gorgeous film with a heart wrenching finale scene that stays with you for.... well, I don't know how long it stays with you. I saw it a few months ago and I still think of it every day. In any year that didn't include Parasite it would have been my film of the year. It's beautiful and perfect. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
roinujrinoFeb 21, 2020
Sensitive, beautiful and a masterclass on cinema and art. This is a true masterpiece.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
KeithDowMar 18, 2020
Nearly every scene in Céline Sciamma’s ‘Portrait of a Lady on Fire’ can be frozen in time, mounted on canvas, and hung on a wall for display. There’s a deep, rich luxuriousness to the film, from the cinematography to the acting to the storyNearly every scene in Céline Sciamma’s ‘Portrait of a Lady on Fire’ can be frozen in time, mounted on canvas, and hung on a wall for display. There’s a deep, rich luxuriousness to the film, from the cinematography to the acting to the story itself, making it ever so deserving of winning the Queer Palm and Best Screenplay award at the 2019 Cannes Film Festival.

The ethereal, hovering camera work evokes the essence of a Terrance Malick film. Considering Sciamma both wrote and directed ‘Portrait,’ her budding career shows no less promise.

Noémie Merlant plays protagonist Marianne, an artist tasked with painting the wedding portrait of Héloïse, played by Adèle Haenel. Héloïse mustn’t know Marianne’s true intentions as the bride-to-be is emotionally fraught, having suffered through the recent suicide of her sister along with a stint in a convent. The notion of being married off to some Milanese nobleman in a sudden and emotionless marriage may simply be too much to bear.

As the cat-and-mouse interplay unfolds, Marianne and Héloïse bond, creating an emotional connection flecked with romantic leanings. It’s within this raw passionate atmosphere that the story lingers, offering the audience a meditative mood piece that draws our own emotions into a deep, sensory-rich trance.

Though the pacing of ‘Portrait of a Lady on Fire’ is slow, it is necessary to achieve the hypnotic nature of the film. In capturing this deliberate rhythm, which is essential to the period and plot, Sciamma is able to fully realize the lingering memory of lovers long past into something vibrantly and excitingly new.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
cinelezMar 7, 2020
A true masterpiece. Months after having seen it, i am still discovering symbolisms, hidden meanings and connotations. It's been decades that i'd watched a film multiple times. I think last time was mulholland drive or something. It breaks allA true masterpiece. Months after having seen it, i am still discovering symbolisms, hidden meanings and connotations. It's been decades that i'd watched a film multiple times. I think last time was mulholland drive or something. It breaks all conventions of modern cinematography. I highly recommend it! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
uglyworldwideDec 7, 2019
this is nothing but pure art. every scene feels like they just cut from a novel.
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
10
vpolevoidDec 8, 2019
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
The18thBrumaireDec 30, 2019
Exquisite filmmaking from one of the best up and coming French directors of the decade. Beautiful, captivating and engrossing, capped off with some of the best individual performances of the year.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
DjigabonApr 3, 2020
This is one of the most delicate and sublime stories I've ever seen. The movie has marvelous cinematography, the characters are real, the acting is great and the ending... oh boy, you will never forget the ending of this movie
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Paper_KayMar 26, 2020
Truly well done. I just thought the ending was a little by-the-numbers, a little bit of an unnecessary, predictable cliche.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Sierra-117Mar 6, 2020
Portrait of a lady on fire is a French romance/historical drama from the capable hands of Céline Sciamma, who crafts this meticulous, tantalizing tale of an artist who falls in love with the woman she is assigned to paint. Unlike the typicalPortrait of a lady on fire is a French romance/historical drama from the capable hands of Céline Sciamma, who crafts this meticulous, tantalizing tale of an artist who falls in love with the woman she is assigned to paint. Unlike the typical romance, the film takes a more gradual approach to building a dynamic between each of the characters, which ultimately makes the events that follow all the more meaningful. In Some ways you could say it’s the polar opposite to a romance like James Cameron’s Titanic, which I’ll have you know I’m not especially fond of. This is because in my opinion it (Titanic) rushes the development of the protagonists’ relationship in order to create an illusion of ‘Star crosses lovers’ . In some instances I don’t mind this, such as when used in Romcoms, but in the case of a serious film like Titanic I believe it is extremely out of place. This is one of the reasons why I enjoyed Portrait of a Lady on Fire so much. Rather than rush into the romantic elements, it demands your patience, which in turn is rewarded to a satisfactory extent. One of the ways that Sciamma builds tension between Noémie Merlant’s ‘Marianne’ and Adèle Haenel’s ‘Héloïse’, is that during moments of interest she tends to linger on each of their faces, long enough for the average viewer to decipher their emotions and watch how they alter after certain changes. Of course this does almost entirely depend on the cast’s ability to display said emotions, and fortunately each actress plays their part beautifully. The cinematography is also incredible, with some absolutely stunning shots of vastly different scenery, and although music is used sparingly, when it’s utilized it perfectly contributes to the atmosphere. My one small gripe with this film is that often there is a meaningful scene that feels hastily cut off in order to continue with the plot. Although many people won’t mind this I would’ve personally preferred if they had lasted a tad longer.
In conclusion, Portrait of a Lady on Fire is a phenomenal film that echoes the directors passion, and due to a stellar cast, brilliant writing and amazing cinematography I give it a 9/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryFeb 24, 2020
A female painter in 1760's France is commissioned to create a portrait of a young woman who doesn't want her portrait painted. This quietly-paced drama has lots of long silences and longing looks. Sparse in dialogue and emotion. For those whoA female painter in 1760's France is commissioned to create a portrait of a young woman who doesn't want her portrait painted. This quietly-paced drama has lots of long silences and longing looks. Sparse in dialogue and emotion. For those who appreciate French films at their most genteel, serious and stylistically subdued, this sensitive love story will likely appeal. Although I could appreciate its approach and story, I found the film dry and slow. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
KukurioFeb 21, 2020
"The director probably had kids and was married when she realized she was a lesbian and was like... Oh, I must make this film!" - My GF.

This movie is 5/5 if you enjoy movies with minimal story and long shots of peoples faces. The close-up
"The director probably had kids and was married when she realized she was a lesbian and was like... Oh, I must make this film!" - My GF.

This movie is 5/5 if you enjoy movies with minimal story and long shots of peoples faces. The close-up shots of her painting were nice but did get a bit much for me at times.

Some very beautiful shots & imagery in this movie. I loved the opening on the boat, gave a sense of raw realism. There were some moments I enjoyed for sure... but they were too far and few between.

Hearing the audience giggle at certain points showed the company I was in.

I'm glad everyone is enjoying this movie... but it didn't click hard with me. Not enough substance for the art. Lots of long shots with no music or dialogue. I felt relaxed during the movie ... but shots of her walking around an empty dark building slowly with a candle can only hold my attention for so long.

"Oh my God, like...Being gay back then for women must have been SOoooo Harrrrrd. I get it. I UNDERSTAND THE STRUGGLE." - What people think after watching this imagined by my gf.. lol
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
9
OlivierPielJan 27, 2020
I am a Christian, conservative, anti-feminist and anti-LBGT **** But this film is a clever, poignant, beautiful piece of art. Best movie of 2019. Very clever take on film vs photography vs painting analysis. Well done Mrs Sciamma. ChapeauxI am a Christian, conservative, anti-feminist and anti-LBGT **** But this film is a clever, poignant, beautiful piece of art. Best movie of 2019. Very clever take on film vs photography vs painting analysis. Well done Mrs Sciamma. Chapeaux bas! Kenavo Expand
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
6
swingFeb 18, 2020
A period piece in French with subtitles. Beautifully acted. Beautifully shot on location off the north coast of France I think. There is little or no action. The dialogue is there, but it's minimal and subdued. The story is solely about theA period piece in French with subtitles. Beautifully acted. Beautifully shot on location off the north coast of France I think. There is little or no action. The dialogue is there, but it's minimal and subdued. The story is solely about the attraction of two young women, one who is commissioned to paint the portrait of the other. There is no music to set the mood, except at the very end. The tension is soley by the looks of the two women and their minimal dialogue. It was beautiful, but it didn't move me or create emotion in me. Maybe I couldn't fully appreciate it as a male, but that's how I felt. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
rossmaloFeb 28, 2020
I find it dubious that there exist very few negative reviews for this film, as I would with any film. My concern has grown since going to watch it. I'm glad the masses found it enjoyable. I, unfortunately, find myself to be one of few (atI find it dubious that there exist very few negative reviews for this film, as I would with any film. My concern has grown since going to watch it. I'm glad the masses found it enjoyable. I, unfortunately, find myself to be one of few (at least vocal) cinemagoers who did not like the film. Leaving the cinema, I was offended. I felt gypped, cheated, mislead, though, happy to see the back of it. To evoke the saying "throw me a bone", this movie showed me its bones, one by one, placed them clumsily into its various pockets and tripped into the sea. I waited for this movie to give me anything, something I could leave with, something to shock me, something I haven't seen before. It gave me the latter, perhaps the most tedious, plodding, most unenjoyable cinema experience in recent memory. I found myself counting the seconds between each line of dialogue delivered. It was comical. I was grasping for threads to follow, themes of substance, anything, I was starving. Maybe that was the point, a realist approach, showing it as it were, I had surmised. I tossed and turned in this manner until I had no longer cared as to construe purpose in the film. Resorting to taking in the pretty pictures, I landed at the conclusion that this was what the film was, and just that. Just as I relaxed uncomfortably, a thought of Barry Lyndon came to my head. Perhaps this film excels at nothing.

As I do with any art related enterprise, I give props to the filmmakers for making art, participating in the craft, and for throwing in their two cents. Offended as I was by the lack of substance within the picture, they provided me with something to get passionate about, even if that may be the distaste for the picture itself. I see this picture called "The perfect film", to that I must conclude this is your first time, there's much more in store for you.
Expand
3 of 22 users found this helpful319
All this user's reviews
0
BradFeetMay 22, 2020
It's boring. Depressing. Just skip to the nude scenes and love scenes. it's not worth your almost 2 hours.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
2
gracjanskiAug 18, 2020
What a boring feminist, today political correct movie, that means propaganda. If it only had a lot of story or deep story to tell, then I could enjoy it. Or if it had great dialogue or something else...nothing. Such a boring movie, a movieWhat a boring feminist, today political correct movie, that means propaganda. If it only had a lot of story or deep story to tell, then I could enjoy it. Or if it had great dialogue or something else...nothing. Such a boring movie, a movie for political correct people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bestshowsApr 3, 2021
The cinematography and performances are simply outstanding. Not a new idea, but a terrific portrayal of what four women do to cope with the limitations that society sets on their freedom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Mar 7, 2021
With a 100% feminine cast and with a tiny but diaphanous atmosphere, it makes references to important issues for women such as: art, marriage and pregnancy, including without any fear lesbian love. A film that we almost lost sight of due toWith a 100% feminine cast and with a tiny but diaphanous atmosphere, it makes references to important issues for women such as: art, marriage and pregnancy, including without any fear lesbian love. A film that we almost lost sight of due to the pandemic. To see without exception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tarqsApr 21, 2020
A pure piece of art. Best movie of the year! Every aspect of this film was articulate and well - thought out. Left me speechless!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PhamhoaiJun 29, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Chắc mình tôi viết tiếng việt ở đây hehe =)))
Đơn giản là tôi yêu nó rất nhiều. Nó là một tác phẩm hay. Tuy nhiên nó hoàn toàn là cách suy nghĩ của thế kỉ trước, chưa thực sự có sự bứt phá. Đôi khi tôi muốn bất ngờ =))
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Miriam_GrammoNov 3, 2020
I've never liked french movies that represent same-sex relationships, they just felt all so false and depicted tragic for no good reason. But this movie, this is beautifully tragic and full of genuine love and power, it certainly deserved an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ItsmayaJan 8, 2021
The film takes his time to develop and in order for you to get attached to the characters in it, and when its happens you can't take your eyes off the screen.
You care about the characters, and you want them to be happy because they feel so
The film takes his time to develop and in order for you to get attached to the characters in it, and when its happens you can't take your eyes off the screen.
You care about the characters, and you want them to be happy because they feel so real, and they just feel like real people, and it makes you worry about them even more.
Bottom line I would definitely recommend watching this movie, I think it is well written and directed, and the actresses are simply phenomenal!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PD-LeFeb 20, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A masterpiece! This is the best tenderness romantic movie which I saw in my life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews