Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: January 12, 2007
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 41 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
5
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AndyFeb 9, 2007
My friend convinced me to see this movie, and I agreed, thinking it was gonna be this supernatural/hell-spawn slasher guy or something of that nature. I was expecting something along the lines of serial killer. But, nooooo. They give me a My friend convinced me to see this movie, and I agreed, thinking it was gonna be this supernatural/hell-spawn slasher guy or something of that nature. I was expecting something along the lines of serial killer. But, nooooo. They give me a honkin' pile of stinkin' krap with a kapital K. [***SPOILER****] It'a about a giant man-eating croc? Oh, nice. It's like the producers just decided to change the whole thing from slasher to monster flick overnight. Even as a monster movie it sucks. An episode of the "croc hunter" is more exciting than this, and at least the the Crocodile Hunter the annoying characters eventually die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Mar 5, 2007
"Primeval" plays like a tribute to John Sayles. The war between the Rwandians and Hutus acknowledges Sayles' social consciousness he applies to his own films, while the giant crocodile addresses the auteur's Hollywood sidejob as a "Primeval" plays like a tribute to John Sayles. The war between the Rwandians and Hutus acknowledges Sayles' social consciousness he applies to his own films, while the giant crocodile addresses the auteur's Hollywood sidejob as a screenwriter of b-flicks like "Battle Beyond the Stars" and "Alligator". Based on what "Primeval" has to offer, this is a dialectic(thank you, "Half Nelson") that doesn't translate into a successful entertainment. Since innocent Africans are being slaughtered in a civil war, the filmmakers were forced to make an earnest film about..., and this is the problem, a big-ass crocodile. To position the massacre that took place in Rwanda as an afterthought is tasteless. To see Rwandians being killed execution-style juxtaposed against a merrier brand of violence, being eaten alive by a reptilian anomaly, is indescribably off-putting and borderline amoral. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveS.Jan 12, 2007
One of the 15 or 20 worst movies I've ever seen. It could have worked as camp had the filmmakers not taken themselves so seriously, attempting to interject serious social commentary about the plight of Africa into a ridiculous film One of the 15 or 20 worst movies I've ever seen. It could have worked as camp had the filmmakers not taken themselves so seriously, attempting to interject serious social commentary about the plight of Africa into a ridiculous film centered around a gigantic, man-eating ....... created with extremely low-end computer models. And to have Orlando Jones say slavery was a good idea to get people out of Africa because it's such a horrible place (who cares if it's a joke) is in the worst taste imaginable. See this movie at your own peril. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillG.Jan 23, 2007
Maybe I shouldn't vote on this movie. After all, I did walk out 20 minutes early. But that's saying something. I never leave early, no matter how horrible a movie may be. I demanded my money back, and I got it. Do not see; avoid at Maybe I shouldn't vote on this movie. After all, I did walk out 20 minutes early. But that's saying something. I never leave early, no matter how horrible a movie may be. I demanded my money back, and I got it. Do not see; avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrettJan 13, 2007
What part of this movie is based on a true story? I'd really like to know. I bet it's the part where an ...... can sprint 50km/h across an open field for minutes at a time. A very bad movie that thinks it has something important to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KevinM.Jan 15, 2007
If I could give this movie a negative 10, I'd do it. This movie OWES ME four stars. Awful. Absolutely effing terrible. What else can I say? This goes down in history as the WORST movie I have ever seen. What happened to the serial If I could give this movie a negative 10, I'd do it. This movie OWES ME four stars. Awful. Absolutely effing terrible. What else can I say? This goes down in history as the WORST movie I have ever seen. What happened to the serial killer?? I thought a crocodile was a hungry animal... not a mass murderer, as Warner Bros. previews would have you believe. Absolute crap. Terrible, half-assed, ADD-style plot, terrible acting, awful (& racist) writing, bad visual effects, just plain the biggest waste of money of my life. If you spend money on this movie, you will spend the rest of your life wishing to get it back. I feel so cheated. A score of 36 is WAY too high. A zero doesn't even begin to cover it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SachiDec 14, 2011
Primeval is a very poor film that is a complete waste of time, I don't know what was going on in this film because it was so darn convoluted. The plot doesn't make any sense at all, I never realized it was about an alligator but I don't carePrimeval is a very poor film that is a complete waste of time, I don't know what was going on in this film because it was so darn convoluted. The plot doesn't make any sense at all, I never realized it was about an alligator but I don't care either, the acting is bad and so is the dialogue. The whole film is a mess of a horror movie although you won't understand anything in this movie and whatever message it has is drowned out by all this dumb movie plot. Don't watch this B-movie or should I say F-movie flick. Breakdown for "Primeval": Presentation: 2, Plot: 1, Acting: 2.7, Script: 2.4, Lasting Appeal: 1, Verdict: 2.2 out of 10 "Terrible" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews