Miramax Films | Release Date: September 16, 2005
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
17
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
LuntS.Sep 25, 2005
The people who made this movie have clearly not done a math problem in their entire lives. Terrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Oct 8, 2005
Entertaining film. Worth seeng but does not deserve a 10 rating. No film deserves a ten rating or a zero at that. A tad depressing and frustrating but madness will do that to folks. Timeline at times a little confusing but overall well acted Entertaining film. Worth seeng but does not deserve a 10 rating. No film deserves a ten rating or a zero at that. A tad depressing and frustrating but madness will do that to folks. Timeline at times a little confusing but overall well acted and directed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HeatherWDec 6, 2005
This is one of those movies that makes me wish I'd waited for DVD. It wasn't "bad," but it wasn't "good" either. It was safe and tepid and predictable. Competent and not-bad acting, but nothing exciting or relevatory. I think This is one of those movies that makes me wish I'd waited for DVD. It wasn't "bad," but it wasn't "good" either. It was safe and tepid and predictable. Competent and not-bad acting, but nothing exciting or relevatory. I think I've decided that Paltrow really isn't that great an actor, although she's neither bad nor annoying. But that's hardly glowing praise. Anyway. Not an exceptional movie. Perhaps the play was better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PennyE.Sep 18, 2005
I thought it was a most intelligent film and Paltrow was brilliantly directed by Madden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AdamH.Sep 27, 2005
Paltrow is good, Hope Davis is outstanding, but the movie is fairly mediocre. I would have preferred less of Hopkins as the father (who seemed too well-groomed for a mad genius) and more of the very believable sister dynamic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardSOct 2, 2005
Absolutely one of the best movies of the year, and a tremendous performance by Paltrow. I was astounded at how well the play translated onto the screen with minimal changes, but without feeing stagy. Hopkins was also very good at what Absolutely one of the best movies of the year, and a tremendous performance by Paltrow. I was astounded at how well the play translated onto the screen with minimal changes, but without feeing stagy. Hopkins was also very good at what portraying someone with an undetermined madness (probably *not* schizophrenia); his physical presence gave the performance just the right touch. The only "complaint" my wife gave was that you came away not hating Hope Davis's character quite enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankS.Oct 23, 2005
I thought Gwyneth did a sensational job of showng the fringe between genius and sanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanM.Oct 28, 2005
This is one of the nest movies I have seen in such a long time. Gwyneth is once again AMAZING! And Anthony Hopkins is brilliant as well. A really impressive conversion of stage show to movie. I was so engrossed in the story that I This is one of the nest movies I have seen in such a long time. Gwyneth is once again AMAZING! And Anthony Hopkins is brilliant as well. A really impressive conversion of stage show to movie. I was so engrossed in the story that I didn't want it to end. John Madden is a very talented director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobB.Sep 17, 2005
Simply fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisK.Sep 25, 2005
Paltrow as a math hidden math genius? Come on. Also, some of the scenes require a suspension of belief that is just unbelivable. Prefer a few others.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeB.Sep 8, 2005
Best film of the year! Gwyneth's performance deserves an oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenMar 31, 2006
Generally well acted and directed, but kind of dull. Paltrow's a little over the top in parts and not terribly believable as a math genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Apr 5, 2006
This is a very intelligently written film that will unfortunately appeal mainly to a specific and rather small audience. It is well acted by Anthony Hopkins and by Jake Gylenhall, who is not miscast as some of the critics insist. The real This is a very intelligently written film that will unfortunately appeal mainly to a specific and rather small audience. It is well acted by Anthony Hopkins and by Jake Gylenhall, who is not miscast as some of the critics insist. The real acting honors, however, go to Gynneth Paltrow and Hope Davis, who, especially when they are in the same scenes, are just about perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffM.Jul 27, 2006
The movie, while well acted, suffers from an insurmountable problem: Gwyneth Paltrow's character is unbelievably annoying. I could not buy that Gyllenhaal was that interested in her, since I really looked forward to scenes without her The movie, while well acted, suffers from an insurmountable problem: Gwyneth Paltrow's character is unbelievably annoying. I could not buy that Gyllenhaal was that interested in her, since I really looked forward to scenes without her in it, which are few and far between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
2RoadsJun 3, 2007
A must see story for those living in the metaphorical house of quandary while caretaking a loved one. "How many days have I lost?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EllenS.Sep 23, 2005
I really enjoyed this film. Gwyneth Paltrow -- for once not made up to be the perfect American blonde beauty -- gives a great performance as the sad but ultimately determined heroine. Jake Gyllenhaal is very entertaining as an incredibly I really enjoyed this film. Gwyneth Paltrow -- for once not made up to be the perfect American blonde beauty -- gives a great performance as the sad but ultimately determined heroine. Jake Gyllenhaal is very entertaining as an incredibly good looking math geek (that could happen, right?) and Hope Davis was so convincing as the ambitious, ultra organized and controlling big sister that I nearly reached through the screen to punch her out. It was an interesting and often surprisng story, well worth a trip to the theater but it will play well in the home theater down the line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Sep 25, 2005
Gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JennyE.Feb 16, 2006
I enjoyed this film more than most films I watch. Paltrow and Davis shine in a very real sister relationship. There is enough mystery to keep you interested, and emotionally involved right to the end. The ending, while not totally I enjoyed this film more than most films I watch. Paltrow and Davis shine in a very real sister relationship. There is enough mystery to keep you interested, and emotionally involved right to the end. The ending, while not totally satisfying, was realistic. I didn't want the story to end. Very well done by all invoved ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SharonB.Jun 18, 2006
Great job by Gwyneth Paltrow. Would like to know more about this complicated family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Great actors in a movie out of standard due to its excellent script, where Mathematics is the relation that binds the peculiar characters of the plot. Although I am suspect to say because Mathematics is my least exact science! I recommend itGreat actors in a movie out of standard due to its excellent script, where Mathematics is the relation that binds the peculiar characters of the plot. Although I am suspect to say because Mathematics is my least exact science! I recommend it though! The main three characters did a spectacular job with the script which has been given to them. "The future of cold is infinite. The future of heat is the future of cold". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SebastianRRDec 30, 2013
Una pelicula brillante, enigmatica y muy bien planeada para mantener al espectador pendiente de lo que iva a suceder. Muy buenas actuacion esteleres en especial de Gwyneth Paltrow y Anthony Hopkins
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DawdlingPoetNov 28, 2021
This movie starts out quite promising with Catherine looking back on her past with her dad as she tries to come to terms with his passing... its a little confusing at times as the movie cuts between flashbacks depicting times Catherine spentThis movie starts out quite promising with Catherine looking back on her past with her dad as she tries to come to terms with his passing... its a little confusing at times as the movie cuts between flashbacks depicting times Catherine spent with her rather madcap, loner father and her sorting out his things and preparing for the funeral - the overlap didn't always seem so clear to me.
I felt that Catherine was someone who seems somehow quite relatable and indeed Gwyneth Paltrow gives a decent performance as her, portraying her quite solidly as both a rather sad and also angry person, angry that perhaps more wasn't done for her dad, more specifically towards her sister who arrives, as she says, some years too late - where were you before?! etc. as well as suspicious and untrusting of her fathers ex-student Harold, although its not just other people that she becomes suspicious of but obviously herself as well, as the movie progresses, though its also true that she mostly keeps this to herself.
I felt that the story took a while to build up, as far as her questioning what she sees written in her fathers many books, with the pivotal scene just (I think) a couple of days prior to the funeral when Harold is about to leave and Catherine stops him from leaving the house and demands that he empty his bag and prove that he hasn't taken any of his fathers belongings, which he denies. As the story builds, the idea that Catherine believes she wrote the pivotal pieces of writing that Harold is so keen to publish in her fathers name is an interesting one, at first she denies that there's anything of any interest to him or to the scientific community at large and then when confronted with said notes, she turns it around and states that he didn't write it, she did but he challenges that the writing seems identical to her fathers writing present in many tens of other notebooks filled with nonsensical, eccentric scribbles (as Harold says, he had some lucid moments where he wrote and those are the key notes that could be of high value to the scienftific community), indeed Harold is so keen to find these initially that he says he's happy to read through every one of the almost hundreds of notebooks just to find them. I'll try not to reveal too much of the plot as I wouldn't want to ruin the story for others but I'm not sure that there is much that can be said without giving away some aspects of it, to be honest.
I didn't feel that this movie was entirely dramatic, although something about the story I did find to be intriguing, the fact that Catherine was secretly doubting herself or her sanity in such a basic way and the fact that she was portrayed quite convincingly - her facial expressions depicting anger and rage as well as confusion, frustration and so on is probably what kept me watching. Hopkins was a good choice to portray Catherines father as he plays a softer role (as it were) as her rather eccentric yet soft/endearing late father, showing that spark of momentary genius at times during the flashback scenes. Yes her father was mentally disturbed but he still comes across as quite human, the use of terms such as mentally disturbed probably still conjur up some extreme ideas and he certainly doesn't come across as someone who would scare little kids or anything like that, he seems quite a nice, quiet man who in one scene challenges Catherines perception of him. There is quite an endearing and somewhat sad scene that shows how perhaps deluded he was involving him sitting outside on a cold day but I won't go into anymore details so as again not to spoil the movie too much (like I say its hard to go into many details without giving away little bits here and there).
Yes I don't feel that this is really an outright drama movie as such in terms of that the story is quite slow to build up I feel and there is/was a point where I wondered where its going, it seemed a little bland, sterile even and so won't be enjoyed by some people, as such I started to lose interest but something about Catherines character ultimately interested me enough to keep me watching. There is a romance sub-plot (as it were) present which I felt was a little bit cheesy and fomulaic, predictable - I think there is a good story behind it but it wasn't really developed well enough somehow, it has some potential and is basically alright but not as good as it maybe could have been.

I felt there was something intriguing/interesting about this movie but somehow it ended up a bit too bland for me. There is something there that is interesting and the movie thankfully didn't fall into the all too common pitfall of lasting way over the two hour mark and becoming way too unecessarily drawn out, even though it did sort of meander a bit, if that makes any sense?.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews