Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2014
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 217 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
52
Negative:
130
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
goncalocoutoOct 20, 2018
"Sex Tape" é engraçado e mau ao mesmo tempo. Cameron Diaz não deu o seu melhor, no entanto, Jason Segel fez-me gostar um pouco mais do filme.
4/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJul 24, 2014
Cameron Diaz & Jason Segel play a married couple who decide to spice up their sex life by recording it. Needless to say, it gets out of their hands, which is supposed to cause a zany time. As a screen couple, Diaz provides the hot and SegelCameron Diaz & Jason Segel play a married couple who decide to spice up their sex life by recording it. Needless to say, it gets out of their hands, which is supposed to cause a zany time. As a screen couple, Diaz provides the hot and Segel handles the comedy. Unfortunately, the majority of the movie is spent with them in mediocre banter and their chemistry isn't special. The attempts at madcap situations are overblown and silly. Despite the efforts at outrageous humor and enuff F-bombs to make Tarantino blush, most of the gags fall flaccid (pun intended). The upbeat energy keeps it moving, but the genuine laffs are overclouded by everyone trying too hard (pun also intended). Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
Viper8787Jul 25, 2014
Not as bad as I thought it would be but still not good. Laughed a few times through the movie but not as much as you want from a comedy. A good cameo at the end that was funny and made the movie a bit better. Some funny moments but still notNot as bad as I thought it would be but still not good. Laughed a few times through the movie but not as much as you want from a comedy. A good cameo at the end that was funny and made the movie a bit better. Some funny moments but still not good at all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
HaithamBAug 11, 2014
It is enjoyable to see the chemistry between Jason Segel and Cameron Diaz evolve, in a not so great, cliched, raunchy sex comedy about a burned out relationship.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
sammurphy66Jul 18, 2014
Shamelessly crude and offensive, Sex Tape offers a few moments of genuine hilarity - but all in all, is a very forgettable comedy which is ill suited to its genuinely funny leads.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Jul 21, 2014
From the cast and crew that brought you Bad Teacher, comes Sex Tape, and on the surface it had all the makings of the next big comedic hit. Many people were saying that Sex Tape could be the next Hangover, as it is an original idea with anFrom the cast and crew that brought you Bad Teacher, comes Sex Tape, and on the surface it had all the makings of the next big comedic hit. Many people were saying that Sex Tape could be the next Hangover, as it is an original idea with an all-star cast, but sadly it falls well short of expectations. Annie & Jay's marriage has become a little stale, so one night they decide to spice things up by making a Sex Tape. Jay is a music producers and inexplicably neglects the fact that his laptop is connected to many other devices, and the tape finds its way to the cloud. Once again, Jason Segel and Cameron Diaz have absolutely no chemistry. They are too different types of actors that just don't compliment each other and they are even less believable as a married couple. If that were the only issue with this film, maybe I could have gotten passed it, but the real problem, as with Bad Teacher, is that the writers don't know their audience. This is an R rated film about a sex tape and in no way meant for children, yet the jokes are on a sixth grade level. As an adult going to see a raunchy comedy, I'm not interested in jokes about erections and diarrhea, it's in very poor taste and isn't something many adults will respond to. This film is supposed to be a laugh out loud comedy, but there was barely even a snicker in the movie theater, which basically tells you all you need to know about this film. Sex Tape is trying to get people to see it under the guise of being raunchy and featuring some pretty attractive stars, that fans hope they will get to see naked. The truth is that it is very amateurish, you really don't see all that much, and the jokes could be out of PG movie. All in all, Sex Tape is a big disappointment and a huge waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeNov 4, 2014
We all knew going into this one what we were likely to find. For the most part, we are unimpressed. Occasionally, however, there is slight magic between our two leads.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesAug 10, 2014
It's funny. I laughed. Not sure why people are loathing this film. There are wore comedies this year (Tammy), there are as funny comedies this year (Million Ways to Die) and there much funnier films (Jump Street). If you can overlook theIt's funny. I laughed. Not sure why people are loathing this film. There are wore comedies this year (Tammy), there are as funny comedies this year (Million Ways to Die) and there much funnier films (Jump Street). If you can overlook the structure flaws, it should be a good enough time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
lukechristianscMar 28, 2015
At times the film isn't entertaining, it's just so funny and bad at the same time. A talent actress like Cameron Diaz won't go far with her humor. However i did laugh a lot and Jason Segel is like a comedic sidekick. So i did enjoy it. Grade C+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MarickOct 19, 2014
At first, I was so bored that I wanted to stop him. Honestly not much liked, a little boring. From the Trailer looked interesting, but that's a... bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PyongyangMayorAug 17, 2014
This movie was mediocre, just like every movie that has come out this year. Save your money by not going to the theater. Go spend it on.... anything else. Go donate it to charity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ryann1900Aug 21, 2014
most of it is pretty good, but not great. The middle of the film, where they actually try to retrieve the tape is where the film sags like a flat tire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
nHeat87Oct 27, 2014
It was funny, just not funny enough to keep me entertained the whole 90+ minutes. Opening was cute, setup of plot was fun, but after that, it pretty much headed downhill and only had a few laughs in a couple of places. In places, it seemedIt was funny, just not funny enough to keep me entertained the whole 90+ minutes. Opening was cute, setup of plot was fun, but after that, it pretty much headed downhill and only had a few laughs in a couple of places. In places, it seemed as if they were trying to stretch the movie our as gags just kept going and going with no real progress on the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
hornysoulSep 23, 2018
Às vezes, o filme não é divertido. É engraçado e mau ao mesmo tempo. Cameron Diaz não deu o seu melhor neste filme (talvez por não ser a mais indicada para filme de comédia). No entanto, eu ri imenso e Jason Segel fez-me gostar um pouco maisÀs vezes, o filme não é divertido. É engraçado e mau ao mesmo tempo. Cameron Diaz não deu o seu melhor neste filme (talvez por não ser a mais indicada para filme de comédia). No entanto, eu ri imenso e Jason Segel fez-me gostar um pouco mais do filme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews