Columbia Pictures | Release Date: May 4, 2007
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1668 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
962
Mixed:
447
Negative:
259
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gm101Oct 7, 2010
To be honest, I didn't what was so bad about this movie! I've heard complaints about Venom, too many villains, etc. Well, whatever! I don't care for any of that! As long as I'm entertained, that's all that matters for me!
35 of 49 users found this helpful3514
All this user's reviews
7
HaroonAwanMay 19, 2007
Amazing looking scenes, visual effects are first class and funny. However, there was too much going on. And, what was the story-line again? Fight his best friend; Harry Osborn? Nope, that only happened for 5 minutes... Get rid of the BlackAmazing looking scenes, visual effects are first class and funny. However, there was too much going on. And, what was the story-line again? Fight his best friend; Harry Osborn? Nope, that only happened for 5 minutes... Get rid of the Black Suit? No, that only happened for about an hour... Fight Venom? Still no; that was for around 15 minutes... (Next time we should see more of the uber villain) And what in tarnation did Maguire do to his hair half way through? Back to basics with the next one (if there will be) please. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful
6
KveldaV.May 22, 2007
I agree with what someone of this board said... this kind of movie should be done for he broad masses or for the fan base... sadly, i feel it doesn't satisfy any of them. As a movielover, i dont need corny and cheesy dialogues, or forI agree with what someone of this board said... this kind of movie should be done for he broad masses or for the fan base... sadly, i feel it doesn't satisfy any of them. As a movielover, i dont need corny and cheesy dialogues, or for the fx to overlap the stoyrline, or predictable plots (i really hate that the Sandman was the "killer" of Ben), or an overthrown of supervillains one after the another, I appreciate and I'm thankful (as a movielover) for the popcorn kind of movie -as it allows me (is it all the profits come from the tickets or also from the snacks for a movie that lasts over two hours)-, i appreciate the sometimes well executed comedy (honestly, the scene of the dancin' is, as a lack of a better word, amusing), and some action. As a fan, I hated (as much as I like Haden and Grace) the casting for the villains... why don't you make a movie about spidey and venom, the brock's approach to aunt may and the battle in the beach? Venom is really really deep and funny and cinic (please, can anyone hire Todd Mc Farlane as a writer for the next film?)why don't you make a movie about the Harry's obsesion to tell the world who's Spidey, introducing Liz, Raxton and even, Norman jr.? the hatred, the complexity... Is it me or in the movie left a piece of the alien symbiote in Connor's lab? Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
3
SteveK.May 6, 2007
[***SPOILERS***] This movie is bad. It is not good. I repeat, it is bad. However, I must add that I am 29 years old. I saw this movie with a group of 26 people, ranging from 9-35. Everyone over the age of 18 hated it. And most of the people[***SPOILERS***] This movie is bad. It is not good. I repeat, it is bad. However, I must add that I am 29 years old. I saw this movie with a group of 26 people, ranging from 9-35. Everyone over the age of 18 hated it. And most of the people under the age of 18 liked it. So where do we begin? First off, as many have noted, there are too many villains. They all contriibute to the themes of the movie but none are fully fleshed out. And I am sick of movies using predictable coincedences to move the plot along. [**SPOILERS***] Seriously, the one guy who happens to fall into a pit where scientists are changing the molecular properties of sand just happens to be the guy who killed Peter's uncle? And the one person on earth that happens to stumble upon the alien symbiote just happens to be Spider-Man? When Peter and MJ are fighting, Gwen Stacy just happens to be eating in the same restaurant? When Spider-Man gets the alien suit off, Eddie Brock just happens to be in the same church? You can not be serious! Most movies rely on one or two coincidences to move the plot along, but this is just absurd. The fights just seem to drag on as does this movie. Peter's dark side is portrayed so comically, it's laughable. Sand Man's power is so ill-defined that it is not clear at all what this guy can do. Overall, this movie is the biggest movie disappointment since Matrix Revolutions. It gets an A for special effects, and Venom is nicely done (for the whole 10 minutes he appears in this movie), but the movie is a mess. And did I mention how bad this film is? I know you're going to watch it anyways. But you were warned. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ZilcellMay 11, 2012
With this Spider-Man you have a story that is different from its predecessors. Now there are multiple villains. It may seem like a lot to handle in one film, but somehow the action and story work out in the end. This is the most tragicWith this Spider-Man you have a story that is different from its predecessors. Now there are multiple villains. It may seem like a lot to handle in one film, but somehow the action and story work out in the end. This is the most tragic Spider-Man of them all. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
UltimatEFeb 29, 2012
Spider-man 3 sure has it's faults and flaws. The final cheapter in the spider triogy wraps up the francise greatly and the CGI is dazzling as anything. Sadley though spider-man 3 is so desprate to out-live the amazing spider-man 2 that itSpider-man 3 sure has it's faults and flaws. The final cheapter in the spider triogy wraps up the francise greatly and the CGI is dazzling as anything. Sadley though spider-man 3 is so desprate to out-live the amazing spider-man 2 that it works too hard with way too many villans. First of all, if your gonna go ahead with spidey 3 then keep in mind that,ll you either be blown away or damn right disappointed. Mixed reviews are everywhere on the internet so watch with an open mind. First of all the fight scenes are amazing! oh and there's action! Real action with mind blowing CGI. However though, the film spins a messy plot going to the next character and then to the next one. It's also to note that once spidey goes bad, the film even try's to be funny showing a dance scene with peter ( no! you read that right!) a dance scene! You may just be mad with laughter or myble you,ll come across the WTF factor. Either way though despite the films flaws, spider-man 3 has a darker tone and message then the other two films and also has the beatiful message of forgiveness and choices in the film which to me, was what i found to be the best part of the film. The film wraps the triogly up greatly and by doing so changes the wall clawers orgin story. A riskly move i know and some people thought wrong of this but i for one thought that it payed off as it makes peter grow up more with forgiveness in his heart rather then revenage. Something that are own hearts lack and need to be taught with as well. We always have a choice to do the right thing and its why that this film has the best theme in all of three spider-man films. Spider-man 3 may not live up to spider-man 2 which is a true fact but bear in mind though that it has more heart then spider-man 2 and message. that even the best of us need to learn. Venom was myble a pointless figure in the film but to be honest i just think that venom was a relection of what peter could of become and also what we could become if we live with revenage in our own hearts forever. Don't expect venom to great in the film, let alone be that much in the film either but Raimi didn't even want this guy in the film but instead used him to tell the next story of peter parker. Oh and there's also a death in the film as well, two deaths actualy ( one a villian by no surprise since this a spider-man film) and one is just another message as well. A message that shows even if we can redeem are are selfs from bad choices, we,ll stay have to pay for what we chose to dofor making the wrong choice's in life. To sum it all up, spider-man 3, depsite it's faults, is the best spider-man film with a heart and message. Despite not reaching the level of spider-man 2, the final film has bearth taking CGI and finsh's off the triogy on level. Say what you what about this film, love it or hate it, people say only fans who read the comics only know how this is a bad film. Well guass what? This is coming from a big spider-man who loves the comics and also loves this film as well! There's troll's every where on the internet who rip this film to shreds but i don't care. There's more postive then negative reviews on this site, user's put a more postive reviews here which has out-weighed the bad ones so i know that there's other people who think the same as i do. It's not a bad film but a damn good fllm in it's own light. Besides, despite that spider-man 4 may be cancelled, spider-man 3 wrapped the franise up greatly and it did a damn fine job to end one of the most loved super-hero series ever to come. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
mrmonsterMay 31, 2012
Spider-man 3 was an epic superhero adventure. Everyone will love this movie. With intense violence, a great plot, and Marvel's coolest superhero, you can't help but like Spider-man 3.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
rajatshuklaMay 3, 2007
i am one of the biggest spidey fans...saw the premier show on 2 may ... but the movie was not upto my expectations... a lot of money has been spent on special effects(there r bout 7 to 8 fights as there are 3 villans) but its all hooj paoch..i am one of the biggest spidey fans...saw the premier show on 2 may ... but the movie was not upto my expectations... a lot of money has been spent on special effects(there r bout 7 to 8 fights as there are 3 villans) but its all hooj paoch.. story line is not as good as spidey 1 and 2... ending has been extended.. i think it could have been made much better if concentration was on only main characters like black spidey and sandman... toby could be seen without his spidey mask in action and hary osborn character is cool as green goblin!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanC.May 5, 2007
A very interesting movie. This movie kept me on my toes, was touching, and was hillarious. From a film critic's point of view, it was okay. But the fact that it kept me roaring, laughing throughout, as well as showing its gripping A very interesting movie. This movie kept me on my toes, was touching, and was hillarious. From a film critic's point of view, it was okay. But the fact that it kept me roaring, laughing throughout, as well as showing its gripping poignancy shows that it is a brilliant underrated film of the DECADE!!! Also, Tobey Maguire was brilliant when he started to go bad, because it shows that people should take on moral responsibility and shouldn't hold grudges. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EricCotterMay 10, 2007
Easily the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. Not fun at all, way too cheesy for a Spidey flick (seriously, the whole teaming up part at the end, and then the shamefully ridiculous dance scene). Bad guys don't seem like they Easily the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. Not fun at all, way too cheesy for a Spidey flick (seriously, the whole teaming up part at the end, and then the shamefully ridiculous dance scene). Bad guys don't seem like they should be bad. All the characters are emotionally distant. The fight scenes are all right, but nothing like those in the previous movies. Clearly wanted to take the Batman aproach and be more dark and sinister, but failed so bad. Sam Raimi can do better, but now he'll probably never get the chance to redeem himself with the series. There have been talks of going on without him, and now it's obvious why. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EncylopediaBrownMay 4, 2007
This is what it looks like when a franchise turns a gun on itself.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JackBApr 27, 2008
I enjoyed this film and the review ive given it is possibly skewed having just witnessed "The Condemned" which enters the top 10 worst films of all time. Spider-man takes a different approach from the first 2 films coming to blows with I enjoyed this film and the review ive given it is possibly skewed having just witnessed "The Condemned" which enters the top 10 worst films of all time. Spider-man takes a different approach from the first 2 films coming to blows with friends and loved ones from the start. His character is developing and more so in this film than the previous 2. I'm not a fan of the comics, so im not sure about the history etc and can understand some fans anger, however purely as someone new to the film/series, i enjoyed it overall. I enjoyed seeing something a bit different. What irritated me was the lack of explanation, what on earth was that evil black thing? SPOLIER - When Harry pinned Mary Jane up against the wall then she dumped Peter, what was actually said there? The film however does provide some answers. Combine a decent script with a mega budget, plenty of action and a good cast and you're set. A good film to watch on a Saturday night with the family or a few mates...or the girlfriend. Personally i watched it alone and that was fine too! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
A poor portrayal of Venom, a bland Sandman, and terrible relationship problems with Peter & MJ. Spider-Man 3 is overly stuffed and has a very sloppy story, but I think it's finally growing on me. It's so bad it's good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
YellowKirbySep 27, 2015
First of all, who cares if there are too many villains? That just makes it more awesome! And although it takes a while for Venom to finally show up, it's all worth it in the end just for his very appearance in the trilogy! It was fun andFirst of all, who cares if there are too many villains? That just makes it more awesome! And although it takes a while for Venom to finally show up, it's all worth it in the end just for his very appearance in the trilogy! It was fun and action-packed, which is what we want to see in super hero movies, right? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
BarneyOnMTJan 6, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: The plot has more layers than other Spider Man films, plus it shakes some of the cheesier aspects of the previous ones. The acumilation of everything at the end is great too.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: All the good work with chacters
WHAT I LIKED: The plot has more layers than other Spider Man films, plus it shakes some of the cheesier aspects of the previous ones. The acumilation of everything at the end is great too.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: All the good work with chacters and relationships in Spider Man 2 is undone, and Peter seems to have gone back to his old self. It also felt like 2 films were going on at once for the most part, and some of the elements of the plot are completely ridiculous. It's great that they explored Parker's inner demons, but the black Spider-Man thing isn't neccessary and feels comical, the damsel in distress ending seems familiar as well...
VERDICT: The Spider Man universe is starting to feel very samey in tone. Raimi's Spider Man 3 is an okay film, and arguably not as bad as it's generally made out to be, but it is a bit of a mess until the end.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DeepKamateApr 7, 2018
I understand that this film it's a mess. But, to be completely honest, the only really bad moment is a Venom here. All the rest looks quite appropriate, given that the director of this film is Sam Raimi. His trademark madness makes this movieI understand that this film it's a mess. But, to be completely honest, the only really bad moment is a Venom here. All the rest looks quite appropriate, given that the director of this film is Sam Raimi. His trademark madness makes this movie fun, colorful and individual... It only annoys that in our country its title was adapted for some reason as "Enemy in Reflection"... just... WHY? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
coolwaliJun 23, 2020
While the pacing is off, the film has a lot of heart and serves as the excellant conclusion to the Raimi trilogy even if it never was meant to be
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
zNeverSleepingApr 19, 2020
Uma conclusão que emociona fans do Tobey como Spider - muito pelos velhos tempos-, mas que cai na síndrome da trilogia.

Como os filmes antecessores, Homem Aranha 3 tenta desenvolver seus personagens assim presentes, mas falha com o excesso e
Uma conclusão que emociona fans do Tobey como Spider - muito pelos velhos tempos-, mas que cai na síndrome da trilogia.

Como os filmes antecessores, Homem Aranha 3 tenta desenvolver seus personagens assim presentes, mas falha com o excesso e falta de lógica. Claro que, ao se tratar de um universo cômico de super heróis, lógica não é o ponto a ser levado a sério, mas ao comparar com Spider-Man 1 e 2, percebemos que aqui há uma urgência muito maior, como se os sentimentos fossem muito mais exaltados. Peter nunca tomou decisões tão estúpidas, e quando questionado sobre elas, o mesmo nem sabe como explicá-las. Isso é subestimar a inteligência do público, que espera que o personagem não pareça meramente escrito. O seu relacionamento com Mary Jane é artificial, e isso fica claro quando mesmo ela sabendo que Peter é o Homem Aranha, tudo quanto a segunda vida dele se torna isolado. É como se ela não soubesse de nada, mesmo que ele mencionasse isso várias vezes. O roteiro foca muito na mudança de personalidade do Peter, mesmo antes da Simbiose. O problema é que me parece completamente forçado e nada progressivo.

Ademais, as cenas de luta são excelentes, e a batalha final é muito emocionante - talvez seja por uma questão de nostalgia. Na realidade, algumas imagens me remetem ao emocional por puro simbolismo.
Quando ele vai salvar Mary Jane e o povo o aplaude, nada ali faz muito sentido e nem tem um apelo muito grande. O população não estava contra ele até então e a proporção do perigo era pequena demais. Se o filme trabalhasse melhor com o Peter, a Simbiose e suas consequências, aquilo poderia ser muito mais marcante. A trilha sonora é, de longe, a melhor da trilogia - levando em conta a adaptação. Eu amei e sinto saudades de algo do tipo.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AnaxeroFeb 7, 2020
My favorite movie. Best of i see...........................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RobwinzApr 19, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'd say it's the most underrated Spider-Man movie, this movie gets a lot of hate but to me it doesn't really deserve it. The reasons on why the movie doesn't deserve the hate it gets is Sandman, sandman is one of the beautifully designed villains in the movie and I'd even say Eddie Brock aka Venom who's played by Topher Grace is an amazing villain when he is either of these characters. Also, the fight scenes in the movie are just amazing, the train fight scene with Black suited Spider-Man and Sandman is just great. I think another great scene in the movie is when Peter get's rid of the symbiote in the bell tower, the symbiote looks so well designed to look like this gooey, liquidy and vicious black goo. Almost forgot to mention, the emo dance scene is just perfect it just shows how Peter thinks that he's cool but in reality he is just still the goofy nerd that he has always been known for being. Finally, the ending to the movie is perfect when Peter and Harry forgive each other and return as best friends to fight the bad guys off. The only negatives I have towards the movie is the poor CGI and green screen effects when Harry and Peter have their first fight while he is going through the alleyway. Also, another negative I have on the movie is on how it relies on the CGI faces and it doesn't hold up quite well. Overall this movie is really underrated and it shouldn't get the hate it gets to this day. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
bryanbezterJun 6, 2020
A beautifully made movie about friendship, romance, revenge and choices. Although the villains, main conflict and message are not as strong as the previous movies, this is still a recommended Sam Raimi's Spider-man movie. There are so manyA beautifully made movie about friendship, romance, revenge and choices. Although the villains, main conflict and message are not as strong as the previous movies, this is still a recommended Sam Raimi's Spider-man movie. There are so many characters and plots in this movie. Love triangle with our best friend is hard, especially when both are our best friends. The presence and spirit of Uncle Ben is still emotionally preserved. The romance between Gwen Stacy and Eddie Brook is unnecessary.

The good: Visual effects, production design, music, villains, action scenes, costumes, property; character development, motivation and actions; casting and performances of Tobey Maguire as Peter Parker/Spider-Man, Kirsten Dunst as Mary Jane Watson, James Franco as Harry Osborn/New Goblin, Thomas Haden Church as Flint Marko/Sandman, Topher Grace as Eddie Brock/Venom, Rosemary Harris as May Parker, J. K. Simmons as J. Jonah Jameson and the other characters.

The bad: Some visual effects for Sandman.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Tranquilbez22Apr 7, 2012
As much as this movie was spectacular it had too much going, Too much Sandman, not enough new Goblin and Venom, The scene where Peter cries cause MJ boke up with him was so frustrating, he was basically being a sook. With the exception ofAs much as this movie was spectacular it had too much going, Too much Sandman, not enough new Goblin and Venom, The scene where Peter cries cause MJ boke up with him was so frustrating, he was basically being a sook. With the exception of Topher Grace, casting was spot on. It's a fun filled ride but it isn't as fun as the first two were. still it's a worthy addition to your movie collection, especially blu-ray. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
wasn't as good as the first two movies, but its visuals were still great
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Spider man 3" is very impressive and astounding; Sam Raimi manages to give the obvious fresh joy and humor from the previous sequels and even throws in more villains. The Result? Perfect.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
3
MaxMooneyMay 2, 2007
Definitely the weakest of the three (what is it with Marvel #3's? X-Men 3 reaked as well). The audience I was with seemed bored throughout and laughed only once. And that was the Jonah Jameson pill scene. Not a good sign. I sayDefinitely the weakest of the three (what is it with Marvel #3's? X-Men 3 reaked as well). The audience I was with seemed bored throughout and laughed only once. And that was the Jonah Jameson pill scene. Not a good sign. I say let's leave it alone at 3 and NOT suit up for any more. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]May 5, 2007
The goo also sticks to Peter, but scale back on your expectations for a dark side. If you want to see a truly malevolent Maguire grab the DVD of The Good German in which he forces Cate Blanchett into rough anal sex and then punches her out.The goo also sticks to Peter, but scale back on your expectations for a dark side. If you want to see a truly malevolent Maguire grab the DVD of The Good German in which he forces Cate Blanchett into rough anal sex and then punches her out. The worst the goo does to Peter is turn him into a finger-snapping hipster recalling the Buddy Love character in The Nutty Professor (both the Jerry Lewis and Eddie Murphy versions). But Raimi knows we'll never buy Peter as a dick. So he uses the scene for comic effect -- babes laugh at his cool act -- and in the process liberates Maguire from the goody-goody goo that Peter wears like a second skin. The worst thing Peter does is use Gwen to make MJ jealous. And in a typical Raimi touch, the director finds time to show Gwen apologize to MJ for letting herself be a pawn in a man's game.

Spider-Man 3 is full of Raimi nuances. But the attack dogs are out in force. They see the film's budget (a reported $250 million) and the huge box-office take of the first two installments ($1.6 billion) as evidence that the filmmakers are in it for the money. Now there's a shock. Internet wags point out that Raimi, from a conservative Michigan family of Polish Jews, contributed $900 to Dubya's reelection campaign in 2004. What's next? Did Raimi phone in votes for Sanjaya? The third chapter in the Spidey saga (a fourth is in the planning stages) is uneven, ungainly and frayed at the edges but there's lively mischief in it still. My guess is that when the summer blockbuster season finishes pummeling us with formula, Spider-Man 3 is going to look like one of the few that was touched by human hands.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
6
ZahidI.May 6, 2007
Along with the corny lines, Harry's $2 costume, the flurry [and rushing] of story lines, one thing disturbed me more than anything else: the depiction of supposedly Spiderman's most feared supervillain, VENOM. First of all, Venom Along with the corny lines, Harry's $2 costume, the flurry [and rushing] of story lines, one thing disturbed me more than anything else: the depiction of supposedly Spiderman's most feared supervillain, VENOM. First of all, Venom lasted about 15 MIN of the entire 140 min! They don't even refer to him once as "Venom" either! He says "I" instead of "We." And according to the 90s cartoon he's supposed to be large, muscular, intimidating. Topher Grace played him, and I guess the directors decided to stick to the Ultimate Spiderman idea. He did a decent job playing Brock. But they should've either dedicated the entire film to one of the villains like Venom, or saved Venom for a 4th Spiderman and introduce him at the end of 3. Venom is the true anti-Spiderman. All these villains and *plotlines* has the audience not caring about the gravity of evilness the villains possess. It makes them look like a joke to viewers. CGI and nice special effects won't save a movie. Once again, Venom's in and out in 15-20. A dude who's supposed to be a big bad bastard, the scariest supervillain. Sam Raimi/Avi Arad/the other directors missed key plotpoints and overlooked a ton of things. They should've thought this one through longer, they had 3 years to do it! Reminds me of how Jay-Z disappointed w/his new album since he didn't spend much time recording/perfecting it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
CallumHunterMay 19, 2007
i really liked this movie alot. i was hesitant at first when all my mates were saying it was awful but i was happy with what i saw. the action scenes were great, the strong work around all the characters was where the true brilliance in thei really liked this movie alot. i was hesitant at first when all my mates were saying it was awful but i was happy with what i saw. the action scenes were great, the strong work around all the characters was where the true brilliance in the film was. i think so many people thought less of it because they were expecting this uber gritty and dark film, but thats just not how the spiderman films have ever worked. sure it was a little cheesy but i loved every secong of it Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JohnWashingtonMay 3, 2007
This film is a masterpiece. Just ask the critics and the IMDB fans. This division is what creates nothing short of brilliance. If you want, you can disagree with it. But no one can argue that this movie certainly is entertaining, and thatThis film is a masterpiece. Just ask the critics and the IMDB fans. This division is what creates nothing short of brilliance. If you want, you can disagree with it. But no one can argue that this movie certainly is entertaining, and that it has a heart to it and is a gripping tale of bitter humanity. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
ChrisHerbstApr 27, 2007
Not as good as #2, more action, but just seemed that it was all forced to finish up the trilogy. Storyline good, but for the first time felt a few reaches to put things in order. Much scarier that previous movies. Would NOT take my youngestNot as good as #2, more action, but just seemed that it was all forced to finish up the trilogy. Storyline good, but for the first time felt a few reaches to put things in order. Much scarier that previous movies. Would NOT take my youngest to see this one. Venom and his screams would give him nightmares. Still the best, by far, superhero movies ever. This one is the 2nd best of the three. If I were to think about it a few more days, I may even move it up a bit more. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
MrHipsterZebraApr 18, 2012
I understand the complaints that many fans like myself have towards this movie, but I still enjoyed the movie nonetheless. The "Emo Peter" scenes were cheesy and comic bookish... but isn't that the point of a comic book movie? My only realI understand the complaints that many fans like myself have towards this movie, but I still enjoyed the movie nonetheless. The "Emo Peter" scenes were cheesy and comic bookish... but isn't that the point of a comic book movie? My only real problem w/ the movie is how little screen time Venom got. Raimi should have moved him to the 4th movie and kept the Sandman as the main villain. I feel the Venom saga deserves its own movie. In conclusion, this is a good movie with a few problems. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan11Aug 28, 2012
best one in the series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
TylerGreeneMay 7, 2007
I thought this movie was the best in the series. I loved every Spider Man movie and this one was my fave. I don't understand why everyone is downing it so much. I was just like the other Spider Man's. This movie had great action,I thought this movie was the best in the series. I loved every Spider Man movie and this one was my fave. I don't understand why everyone is downing it so much. I was just like the other Spider Man's. This movie had great action, great story, and great dialogue, i loved everything about this movie. It was funny but also serious. This movie pulled off everything. Easy 10. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
4
Nero97Jan 13, 2012
Compared to the other Spider Man movies, this is bad. The history isn't nice as the first movie's and it's way less enjoyable. The enemy: Venom, is the nicest thing of the movie...probably one of the only things nice in it.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
JohnSturdivantMay 4, 2007
this was a massive achivemant in spider-man history. it was a great film to say it was a piece of crap is a lie. now spider-man 2 was a peice of shit. now that movie was notebook + fantastic four. it is so shitty. i love this film. it was waythis was a massive achivemant in spider-man history. it was a great film to say it was a piece of crap is a lie. now spider-man 2 was a peice of shit. now that movie was notebook + fantastic four. it is so shitty. i love this film. it was way better than 2 and a little better than 1 not that much. but ff2: rise of the silver surfer will be better. i know it. so im done. i love the film and sm2 was shit. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ChrisVillegasMay 5, 2007
Best movie ever, idont know why people despyes so much this movie, the story is soo cool, and the fight scenes, why do they say that is exagerated? is spiderman, not batman, i mean, come on, its a super hero story, or did you wanted to seeBest movie ever, idont know why people despyes so much this movie, the story is soo cool, and the fight scenes, why do they say that is exagerated? is spiderman, not batman, i mean, come on, its a super hero story, or did you wanted to see another superman returns version? that really sucked!! give spidey a chance. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
ChrisboMay 6, 2007
, I'm a HUGE fan of Spiderman...Liked the first movie, LOVED the second flick and was dying to see the third one. And since I live in Korea, I was able to see the movie tonight (SM3 opened in Asia 3 days before it opens in North, I'm a HUGE fan of Spiderman...Liked the first movie, LOVED the second flick and was dying to see the third one. And since I live in Korea, I was able to see the movie tonight (SM3 opened in Asia 3 days before it opens in North America). I'm sad to say, I was let down by the third film.

The biggest issue by far is the fact that there are FAR too many story lines going on at once. The movie feels very bogged down and not nearly enough time is given for proper character development.

In this movie, there is Spiderman, Mary Jane, Gwen Stacey, "New" Goblin Venom and Sandman. Each character is given the bare amount of time for development.

I'm assuming that since most of the cast is non-committal to returning for a fourth movie, the filmmakers decided to throw as many stories into this movie in case it was the end. It really takes away from the movie as a whole.

The other big issue I have is the very forced sense of humor the movie tries to take. From a very lame riff on John Travolta's walk from "Saturday night fever" to watching Peter Parker dance to jazz music, a lot of the humor feels like it's was written for a SNL sketch.

There is a very poor ending involving Spiderman and Sandman that defies logic.

I sincerely hope this is NOT the last Spiderman film, because if it is, it's certainly not the best way for the series to end. None of the magic and originality of the second film are here. I hope that a decision is made to do a fourth film and I hope if a fourth film is made, the filmmakers decide to go back to what made the second film so special.

** out of *****
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
eeganracMay 8, 2007
the movie was terrible. to have to sit and watch two music numbers.........give me a f*ckin break! to have harry's butler come out of nowhere and talk sense in to harry, thats just piss poor lazy writing. venom is just an f*cking joke.the movie was terrible. to have to sit and watch two music numbers.........give me a f*ckin break! to have harry's butler come out of nowhere and talk sense in to harry, thats just piss poor lazy writing. venom is just an f*cking joke. the syboite (don't know how it is spelled) comes from a meteor, omfg this is 2007, not 1967! I liked the first spider-man, the second was just stolen from superman II. i would advise anyone to just wait until this movie is on dvd, cause it is an abomination! Nothing like at the end of the movie having sandman, and spider-man crying, wtf! please do not make another spider-man movie. if you go and see this movie than you are part of the problem. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
WaylandMcAwesomeMay 5, 2007
Spiderman, my good sirs, is a fighter, not a sissy weiner that spends most of the movie crying. I wanted to see him fight. I fought more than he did; I fought boredom. Once upon a time, as a kid, I had dreams that Spiderman could be turnedSpiderman, my good sirs, is a fighter, not a sissy weiner that spends most of the movie crying. I wanted to see him fight. I fought more than he did; I fought boredom. Once upon a time, as a kid, I had dreams that Spiderman could be turned into a great trilogy. My dreams were shattered tonight. Mr. Raimi, I hope you are happy, because you have killed the dreams of little Wayland. For your sake, I hope your next project is to invent a time machine, go back in time, and save little Wayland. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
YoriDMay 8, 2007
BLAAAAAH...went in expecting less after feedback from other people that saw it and it was still worse than i thought...too long...and too long for all the wrong reasons...WTF were those saturday night fever/gi joe/dirty dancing scenes doingBLAAAAAH...went in expecting less after feedback from other people that saw it and it was still worse than i thought...too long...and too long for all the wrong reasons...WTF were those saturday night fever/gi joe/dirty dancing scenes doing in this movie...there was some horrible acting as well...disappointed to say the least...are you sure it was the same director?...i would have seen it no matter what as i fell in love with everything in the previous ones...whoever edited this one should be slowly devoured by venom...or just forced to watch this over and over again til their sanity caves in... :(

ps fx and action scenes deserve some recognition..only reason i didnt give it a -5
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
Tall_But_ShortJul 20, 2012
What the hell was this crap? Sam Raimi, after your masterpiece superhero film, Spider-Man 2 I expected so much more from you. Sure, the movie was funny in some points but the story was downright terrible. Venom had like three minutes ofWhat the hell was this crap? Sam Raimi, after your masterpiece superhero film, Spider-Man 2 I expected so much more from you. Sure, the movie was funny in some points but the story was downright terrible. Venom had like three minutes of screen time and the Sandman was just lame. The dialogue was cheesy and there was nothing to go on. Spider-Man 3 was one of the biggest disappointments for movie-goers and Spidey fans, both. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
asoykeMay 5, 2007
This was not a good movie. Shame on you Sam Raimi. You should change your name to Shlong Raimi, because that's how bad this movie was. Please don't cry about it. I got enough of that out of every single scene in the movie. WayThis was not a good movie. Shame on you Sam Raimi. You should change your name to Shlong Raimi, because that's how bad this movie was. Please don't cry about it. I got enough of that out of every single scene in the movie. Way to mess up a trilogy. Next time someone wants to pay you to direct a movie, please have them give my balls a call, because they could make a better movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerMar 6, 2011
This is the worst Spider-Man movie yet, the stupid story and TERRIBLE plot twist with Sandman was RETARDED!!!! and they completely shafted Venom, even though it's so flawed I still got enjoyment out of this, this will sharply divide fans.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFAug 4, 2013
Seeing this for the first time in the cinema, I must admit I was impressed, but I also left the feeling with a problem that I couldn't quite put my finger on, and when I watched it again, an again, the problems threw themselves at me to theSeeing this for the first time in the cinema, I must admit I was impressed, but I also left the feeling with a problem that I couldn't quite put my finger on, and when I watched it again, an again, the problems threw themselves at me to the point where I felt so disappointed, I didn't hate Spider-Man 3, but after such a strong and excellent second outing for our hero, the third tried to go bigger and bigger to the point where they seemed to lose track of characters, plot lines and an overall sense of enjoyment.
A relatively unknown and unexplained symbiote crash lands on earth, and this makes for some very interesting changes in the personality of Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire), who continues to date the woman he loves, albeit with plenty of speed bumps along the way. Peter also has to deal with his estranged friend Harry, who now has a very ruthless side and his very own alter-ego, someone who causes problems for Spider-Man, but not alone. The film paves the way for not one, not two, but three villains. Just as can be imagined, it becomes messy and confusing with a bewildering and awkward love triangle, a very powerful villain who has a quick backstory and thats it, we have a villain in the form of Venom who could be touted as one of the most famous of foes, but the most underused and wrongly portrayed characters in film, rushed and overblown are a few choice words.
Its just difficult to heighten any sense of character in these new foes, with a weak script which doesn't explore them with enough depth or gratifying belief that they could even contend with Doc Ock of the second film. They seem more like plot devices to move the story along, and Venom seemed to be used as a oh no, we forgot we had Venom shown earlier, stick him into that scene" type scenario. With this comes the vastly different main characters, who now seem like the kids they should have portrayed in the first film but are coming up late, with the lack of humour definitely apparent.
But the action and visuals continue to come up top marks, with the birth of Sandman being a particularly impressive scene which one of the limited marvels of the film, some of the action sequences were excellent, many just seemed to help knock up the budget with no relevance at all to the story. There is certainly a different, darker and much more gritty attitude in the third and final instalment of the Sam Raimi/Tobey Maguire era, but it moves too fast and leaves too many characters out in the cold, adding up to a disappointing and ultimately messy affair.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Mar 14, 2013
Not bad, not good either. It has some really good scenes. It has some really bad scenes. Which genius thought it would be a great idea to cast Topher Grace as Eddie Brock? Eddie Brock/Venom is meant to be the opposite to Parker bothNot bad, not good either. It has some really good scenes. It has some really bad scenes. Which genius thought it would be a great idea to cast Topher Grace as Eddie Brock? Eddie Brock/Venom is meant to be the opposite to Parker both physically and mentally. Grace does do a good job at nailing Brock/Venom's mentality but he just does not look the part. Brock/Venom was meant to be much bigger. A body builder in comparison to Spider-Man. As to Emo-Peter I think pretty much everyone else has said what is need to be said about this. Thomas Haden Church on the other hand is perhaps the only saving grace of this movie. He was an excellent Sandman. In fact I could even go so far as to say his version is even superior to the one in the comics. Sandman was always just a side character, but Church really did give him some depth and reason. Overall: Spider-Man 3 as a whole isn't terrible but it has just got far, far too many ideas floating about that are just underdeveloped. As if Raimi was trying to please too many people at once. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
billrullerMar 3, 2011
When I saw the poster and trailer of this movie, I was excited to see this movie in theatres. But when I saw it, it wasn't what I expected. I think this was the goofiest Spiderman movie that I wish was fixed. My friends absolutly hated thisWhen I saw the poster and trailer of this movie, I was excited to see this movie in theatres. But when I saw it, it wasn't what I expected. I think this was the goofiest Spiderman movie that I wish was fixed. My friends absolutly hated this movie and called it "The Worst Spiderman Movie EVER", it was out of control. I only met one person that actually LOVED this movie, I don't know what type of drugs he was taking during the movie. To me, I didn't like it either. The first problem, is that it had too many villians in 1 film (Goblin Jr., Sandman, Venom, and Dark Spiderman). Second, Venom was only on film for about 10 minutes, I have know idea how they can put my favorite villian in the last minutes of the film. Third, Emo Peter, he was just so goofy when he had that black suit, it made Spiderman look like a joke than a badass. Forth, the dance scene, this shouldn't have ever been put in a Spiderman movie at all. I think this was more of a spoof comic book movie, like "Batman and Robin". But others say, "This should not be part of the trilogy, it should't be called Spiderman 3". And suprisingly, I agree to that. If people liked this movie, thats fine. I didn't like it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
LaGuertaFeb 27, 2013
You can only assume that Raimi intended to make a comedy but changed his mind at the last minute. Peter Parker dances away his credibility and the potential for a sequel.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
PixarloverOct 17, 2012
A clunky, uneven, too villain-filled, disappointing conclusion to The Spiderman Trilogy. That's a shame because the movie looked amazing from all the theatrical shorts and tv trailers. What we got was an over-the-top Tobey Magurie going allA clunky, uneven, too villain-filled, disappointing conclusion to The Spiderman Trilogy. That's a shame because the movie looked amazing from all the theatrical shorts and tv trailers. What we got was an over-the-top Tobey Magurie going all emo on us and performing a ridiculous dance scene in a bar later on in the movie. Does that sound like what you'd expect from a movie that has Venom in it?!?!?!

If it wasn't for the guy who played Eddie Brock, then the film would have been okay to watch. However, the "birth of The Sandman is just an amazing scene and the only memorable part of the movie for me.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
EddieB.May 5, 2007
The best comedic/action flick according to date, in the year of 2007. The theme of humanity and forgiveness is beautiful. Learn to love and stop hating from within.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChrisMay 12, 2007
This was a painful experience. They used every superhero cliche in the book. It was manipulative, ignorant, and just plain stupid. Every time I see a good review on here, I shudder, because it supports my belief that our culture is utterly This was a painful experience. They used every superhero cliche in the book. It was manipulative, ignorant, and just plain stupid. Every time I see a good review on here, I shudder, because it supports my belief that our culture is utterly brain dead. What a waste of film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IamnotacriticMay 4, 2007
I loved this movie more than any other spider-man movie or maybe even any other comic book movie or maybe even my children. kthx go see it i like spider-man.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JMay 11, 2007
This movie was... BAD. Atrocious dialogue. Good special effects. Terrible fight scenes in terms of scripted action - very mediocre. Blah.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PaulDaviesMay 15, 2007
i didnt rate this movie number one cause i think i would be cool to be like yea its number 1. i think that anyone who liked this movie should should be hit over the head with a very heavy object and shunned in society aka eddie. but i thinki didnt rate this movie number one cause i think i would be cool to be like yea its number 1. i think that anyone who liked this movie should should be hit over the head with a very heavy object and shunned in society aka eddie. but i think also that u might see some action if u ended up in the wrong movie but thats the only way. Ben ur right this movie sucked hard then paris hilton! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DaveMMay 15, 2007
I'm very disappointed, but at least I know why: too many villains (1 that finally isn't, he's just misunderstood.........), too many plot lines (useless was to involve Sandman in uncle Ben's death), not enough Venom, tooI'm very disappointed, but at least I know why: too many villains (1 that finally isn't, he's just misunderstood.........), too many plot lines (useless was to involve Sandman in uncle Ben's death), not enough Venom, too much attempted comedy. What saves this movie is the special effects (10/10 for Sandman) but that's not enough seing how good the 2nd Spidey was.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EnriqueMay 4, 2007
A big, resounding bomb!
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
giancarlobMay 18, 2007
this movie was a peace of shit i saw it online and im glad i did cuz i wouldnt have spent a dime to see hollywood take such a taribble story and make it into this movie ......... it was people that give it a 10 u guys r mentallythis movie was a peace of shit i saw it online and im glad i did cuz i wouldnt have spent a dime to see hollywood take such a taribble story and make it into this movie ......... it was people that give it a 10 u guys r mentally retarted.............. i thought that for being a sequel it sucked .......... if ur going to give spiderman the black suit the movie has to be dark............ really dark not just kinda dark with a nerd thinking hes cool for one scene........... i hated this movie so much i just wana say it like 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times !!!!!!!! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
phildoughertyMay 28, 2007
i feel bad for sam rammie and all of the actors.
this movie was rushed the whole time, just to have mindless action, with to many characters. also i love how the black spiderman outfit is every where in advertisments but only 2 seconds in
i feel bad for sam rammie and all of the actors.
this movie was rushed the whole time, just to have mindless action, with to many characters. also i love how the black spiderman outfit is every where in advertisments but only 2 seconds in the movie. oh and one more thing sam rammie didnt even want to put venium in the movie!!!!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ArkonBladeJan 29, 2011
i was so excited for this movie i liked the first 2 spider-man movies . i thought for sure sam rami would get it right in the 3rd especially when i heard venom was gonna finnaly be in it. let me say right off the bat im a HUGE Venom fan . hei was so excited for this movie i liked the first 2 spider-man movies . i thought for sure sam rami would get it right in the 3rd especially when i heard venom was gonna finnaly be in it. let me say right off the bat im a HUGE Venom fan . he is my favorite comic book hero/villian . even when i heard topher grace was gona be eddie brock i still stayed positive . not like i have any thing against topher i like him in that 70s show but really!? topher grace .... as eddie brock ... yeeaaaah... not the right choice on that casting call. they just destroyed him in this film and after hearing rami's excuse of venom was to much of a 1 demensional charicter and not intresting enough to star as the villian just proved that rami was not the spider-man fan he said he was and had no buisness in hell touching this film. there was to much going on and not enough devolpment on really any thing and yes the dance seen with parker was rancid dog ass. the action was great but thats the only thing in this movie that was great. the plot of this should have started out with spider-man fighting scorpion in the first half of the film and gettin the black suite and needing it to beat him then focused on venom second half . then having spidy beating Venom and NOT for the love of god killing him and then bringing in Venom and Carnage tag teaming spider man in the next movie. that would have been awsome and i would have praised sam rami as a freekin genous and true spider-man fan . i wana say he's a giant douchebag... but he still mad Army of darkness which is a freekin awsome movie .so ill just call him a dumb ass for now. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
AJackson729Feb 19, 2011
Such a disappointing film after the incredible Spider-Man 2. Way too many storylines and way too many villains. The Sandman's storyline was intriguing, and I enjoyed watching James Franco's transformation, but they were buried among a handfulSuch a disappointing film after the incredible Spider-Man 2. Way too many storylines and way too many villains. The Sandman's storyline was intriguing, and I enjoyed watching James Franco's transformation, but they were buried among a handful of other plots. After this film I guess there was little chance of Raimi saving this franchise making a re-boot necessary. It's a shame because I really enjoyed Tobey Maguire as Spider-Man and the first two films in the series were very promising. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
DralenApr 30, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely the worst of the bunch. The special effects and action scenes are absolutely fantastic in this movie, but that's about it's only redeeming feature. The love scenes throughout this movie just scream awkward and just had me wanting to skip over them. I really can't get over how wrong Kirsten Dunst was for the role of MJ, she doesn't even try to act like Mary Jane, she just gets thrown a couple of script lines that are what you might call Mary Jane Watson's catchphrases. Another problem with this movie, was that there were so many villains, that you didn't feel any emotional connection to any of them. I'll start with the Green Goblin (Harry Osborn), I think one word can describe the major screw-up here "snowboard" or "skateboard" what ever you think best describes his new glider. Seriously, what the hell were they thinking? He didn't even get given the awesome suit that the original Green Goblin had! Now Venom; probably my favourite Spider-man villain ever, he deserved so much more, he should have had a film dedicated to him and not had to share the movie with the Green Goblin AND the Sandman. I didn't have a problem with the actor playing Eddie Brock but his hatred toward's Spider-man just got brushed over and I felt like his hate towards him was irrational.
If you look at this film on paper it should have been fantastic, but I just feel like something went terribly wrong after the last movie. I think with everything that got put into this one, the movie and it's characters got stretched very thin and it lost what the last two had. Thankgod spider-man is getting a reboot, it definitely needs it after this one.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheOnlineGamerAug 22, 2013
Just like the reviews for M.J's play, this film is unbelievably underrated. The characters, story and themes all come full circle in this masterpiece. I love that the film combines all the goofy and emotional themes to conclude a fantasticJust like the reviews for M.J's play, this film is unbelievably underrated. The characters, story and themes all come full circle in this masterpiece. I love that the film combines all the goofy and emotional themes to conclude a fantastic story with much Oscar-worthy finesse (Sandman's creation, anyone?).

One of my favourite movies and I hope The Amazing Spider-Man 2 can live up to this amazing trilogy.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
MoviebuffreviewJul 9, 2013
Disappointingly, Spider-Man 3 puts the bad back into third films. While the film had some stunning visual effects and solid performances, the script was an absolute mess, the tone was confused, and the movie simply had too much going on toDisappointingly, Spider-Man 3 puts the bad back into third films. While the film had some stunning visual effects and solid performances, the script was an absolute mess, the tone was confused, and the movie simply had too much going on to focus its sights on one thing. Additionally, the unnecessary cheese and goofiness made the story difficult to take seriously, making for a film that equaled the death of a series. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
Animationking6Jan 27, 2011
Not the best Spider-man movie in the series, but the action scenes were probably the best n the series out of all the other Spider-man films. The only letdown for this film is the story I didn't particular like the story to this film, INot the best Spider-man movie in the series, but the action scenes were probably the best n the series out of all the other Spider-man films. The only letdown for this film is the story I didn't particular like the story to this film, I thought the story was all over the place and a bit rushed. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
ImUnavailableJul 1, 2011
Spider-Man 3's problems stem from its bloated and convoluted story. From multiple villains to love triangles to a symbiote-driven personality change, Spider-Man 3 tries to do in one movie what others would try to do in multiple. In choosingSpider-Man 3's problems stem from its bloated and convoluted story. From multiple villains to love triangles to a symbiote-driven personality change, Spider-Man 3 tries to do in one movie what others would try to do in multiple. In choosing to tackle so much, this movie was destined to come up short. Having three villains in any movie, let alone a superhero movie, was always going to result in at least one bad guy getting sidelined. This honor falls onto Venom, a character which Sam Raimi did not want to include and boy does it show. His screen time is short and he always has the air of being unnecessary and out of place. As for Sandman, though he is visually impressive, his entry into the back story feels shoehorned in and unnatural. Dialogue is hampered by occasionally poor acting and the stunting of character growth (Mary Jane is the biggest offender). There is a real lack of an emotional cor to this movie, with each actor appearing to be going through the motions. The exception is Tobey Maquire who seems to enjoy Peter's narcissistic and selfish persona. Action scenes are high quality, entertaining and well realized. The problem is that with a lack of a well-constructed story and genuine emotions, these scenes are often hollow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Gamer44Dec 5, 2012
oh my but this movie sucks 100 times more than spider-man 1 and 2.The acting is even worse,the story is the worst ever.and sorry tobey maguire but your acting still sucks it is so terrible I never want to see another Tobey Maguire movie in myoh my but this movie sucks 100 times more than spider-man 1 and 2.The acting is even worse,the story is the worst ever.and sorry tobey maguire but your acting still sucks it is so terrible I never want to see another Tobey Maguire movie in my lifetime.And it is all thanks to spider-man.Can't believe they decided to actually make a third instalment they should not have never made spider-man from the beginning they would have saved lots of money and would have saved us from utter bordem.Again this goes straight into the worst movies in history list. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
JawsPapi87Aug 25, 2011
A really big disappointment and a movie about half as good as Spider-Man 2. There are too many villains and the acting is a huge drop from the first two.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
spadenxDec 9, 2011
There is a reason they are rebooting the series, This film was absolute trash. Not only did the acting and the story suck but there was a musical during the film and that just wont do.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
OrangeknockoutApr 9, 2014
lol people are really divided on this movie lol I for one enjoyed it; this was actually my most favorite spider man movie; the action was great, the emotional parts tugged at my strings, and a bad spiderman was a fresh change of pace; I don'tlol people are really divided on this movie lol I for one enjoyed it; this was actually my most favorite spider man movie; the action was great, the emotional parts tugged at my strings, and a bad spiderman was a fresh change of pace; I don't know if its just me but the ending brought me to near tears; lol a great movie definantly; I would recommend anyone to just go in, watch the movie, and watch it on your own behalf; just because someone here said the movie was bad doesn't mean its bad; vice versa for good; lol

the only problem I had with this movie was that venom didn't get enough spotlight; sandman got more attention than venom and venom didn't get enough development; also the guy who played venom didn't really fit the persona of what I pictured venom to be; I always pictured venom to be this big buff guy that bullied peter parker but this actor failed to pull off that image lol still I suppose I he did a decent job of being venom lol he did get the cockiness of venom down pretty well lol

solid 8, great movie!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Depois do 2° se perdeu literalmente.Depois do 2° se perdeu literalmente. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
SwatiFeb 12, 2013
I wish I had never seen it. The plot was so contrived and the length longer without offering anything of worth. It's like they knew this was the last one in the series and they had to use all the villains. With nothing to offer, they evenI wish I had never seen it. The plot was so contrived and the length longer without offering anything of worth. It's like they knew this was the last one in the series and they had to use all the villains. With nothing to offer, they even tried to make us concerned that this might be the end of Spidey, but it looked so sappy I wanted him to die and be done with. There were a few good scenes when Spidey turns dark, but nothing can really redeem this piece of garbage. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jul 1, 2013
All three Spider-Man films are very good, but this is my least favourite of the three. Having said that it's still a very good movie and a lot of the lose ends were tied up, as well as learning more about things from the first film inAll three Spider-Man films are very good, but this is my least favourite of the three. Having said that it's still a very good movie and a lot of the lose ends were tied up, as well as learning more about things from the first film in particular. The whole 'Peter turns Emo' was a little odd, and I don't think the villains were as strong as the first two films villains, so thats the lows, but being a Spider-Man there is always going to be a lot of good and I still thoroughly enjoyed watching it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JmsbppJul 15, 2013
Se daño un poco la saga sin embargo tiene su encanto de Hombre araña que demuestra en la primera y segunda parte, De un modo Peter Parker saca su lado oscuro de una forma no muy chevere tal vez al ponerle mas accion se perdio el hombre arañaSe daño un poco la saga sin embargo tiene su encanto de Hombre araña que demuestra en la primera y segunda parte, De un modo Peter Parker saca su lado oscuro de una forma no muy chevere tal vez al ponerle mas accion se perdio el hombre araña que habia antes Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Pinglu50Jun 6, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie isn't as bad as it seems, according to most of the Spider Man spectators. There were many villains in it and the plot twists during the movie don't follow a specific story-line. Despite of it, the denouement was impressive and I really appreciated it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Sep 16, 2016
Look, we all get it. Spider-Man 3 is the worst of the Raime series, the movie has its faults but overall I enjoyed it. The action sequences and visual effects, including the final battle are on point and the performances of Tobey Maguire,Look, we all get it. Spider-Man 3 is the worst of the Raime series, the movie has its faults but overall I enjoyed it. The action sequences and visual effects, including the final battle are on point and the performances of Tobey Maguire, Kristen Dunst, James Franco, ect were also up to par with the first 2. The problem here is that there is just so much going on in this film, theres too many plot lines to match with too many villains. As much as this movie was had going for it, it had just as much bringing it down. First off, There was too much Too much Sandman and not enough Goblin and Venom(whose supposed to be the main villain). I know i'm in the minority here but I enjoyed Topher Grace's performance as Eddie Brock, I just felt that his adaption wasn't particularly treated fairly. I mean, we get that the character was forced onto the director by the studio but at the same time, why on earth would you so badly mistreat one of the most popular characters in Spider-Man lore? Not to mention give him maybe 5 minutes of total screen time. Overall to me, Venom felt really shoe horned into the film which was the result of Sony pushing Raimi to include him in the movie despite Raimi not wanting him to in the first place. That led to him not having enough screen time which resulted to there not being enough character depth to convincingly convey the reasons why he hated Peter/Spider-Man so much. Like i said, I didn't mind Topher's performance as Eddie Brock not being a huge muscular guy because I felt that properly represented a nemesis for Peter Parker, One that was simply like an 'evil' version of himself. Since Spider-Man 3 wrapped and Spider-Man 4 was cancelled, Spider-Man has been rebooted twice. The Amazing Spider-Man brought heart and potential with different and I thought more welcomed adaption to the character but unfortunately like Spider-Man 3, it fell victim to Sony's reach exceeding it's grasp. While time will tell if we ever get to see a proper adaption of Spider-Man, as it stands Spider-Man 3 did a fine just of wrapping up the Raimi series, Despite its faults. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
This is what happens when you have too many story lines, to many villains, and to many things to juggle. Spider-Man 3 sucks. Spider-Man 3 is a visually stunning movie and has a great score...that being said theres nothing else to it. TheThis is what happens when you have too many story lines, to many villains, and to many things to juggle. Spider-Man 3 sucks. Spider-Man 3 is a visually stunning movie and has a great score...that being said theres nothing else to it. The acting is clunky, the story is so tangled (no pun intended) and character motivations are constantly questions. things happen by coincidence...good call sony to get rid of Spidey 4 and bring in the new ones. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
HISHEhebJul 9, 2014
סרט הספיידרמן הכי גורע שראינו, לא כדאי לראות. סרט שהרס לא מעט דמויות מהקומיקס של ספיידרמן. יש כמה סצינות שממש פדיחה בכלל לראות אותם. סרט שכל המעריצים של ספיידרמן התאכזבו ממנו, בעיקר בגלל שבו נהרסה הדמות של ונוםסרט הספיידרמן הכי גורע שראינו, לא כדאי לראות. סרט שהרס לא מעט דמויות מהקומיקס של ספיידרמן. יש כמה סצינות שממש פדיחה בכלל לראות אותם. סרט שכל המעריצים של ספיידרמן התאכזבו ממנו, בעיקר בגלל שבו נהרסה הדמות של ונום
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
waronassermanMay 2, 2015
I dont hate this movie as much as most but it was a huge let down. It had so much potential to be one of the greatest movies! but its a shame it turned out how it did, still with having things to love
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Spider-Man movie action sequences have come a long way from the first installment, when one of the big moments had Tobey Maguire as Spider-Man dashing into a burning building like some pulp serial hero from the '30s. In Spider-Man 3, theSpider-Man movie action sequences have come a long way from the first installment, when one of the big moments had Tobey Maguire as Spider-Man dashing into a burning building like some pulp serial hero from the '30s. In Spider-Man 3, the webslinger tumbles and twirls in mid-air, bouncing off walls and fragments of debris as he fights off a trio of villains. There's New Goblin (played by James Franco), the bomb-throwing son of Spider-Man's dead nemesis The Green Goblin; Sandman (Thomas Haden Church), a dense ex-con whose molecules can shift and solidify like grains of sand; and Venom (embodied by Maguire and Topher Grace), an alien symbiote that bonds to an organic host and amplifies its strengths and weaknesses. A decade ago, the Batman series ran aground while trying to stuff too many bad guys into too little plot, but Spider-Man 3 works the villains into its story well, giving each at least one boffo fight scene before bringing everyone together for a final battle royale.
There's a point to the expanded rogue's gallery too. Just as Spider-Man 2 contemplated the perpetual tug between duty and desire, part three ponders what it means to be a hero. As the movie opens, Spider-Man is wildly popular, and Maguire is happily contemplating getting engaged to his girlfriend Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst), who's about to make her Broadway debut. Then the troubles start, each tied to—or reflective of—problems Maguire and Dunst have been ignoring. In various ways, they're confronted with fractured relationships, pressing family obligations, and a crippling addiction to danger. Characters that are just like them, only a degree or two different, force them to confront whether they can be the kind of people who deserve to be cheered.

So Spider-Man 3's action is superb and its theme fairly weighty. Then why does it feel a letdown from its predecessor? Nearly all the blame rests with director Sam Raimi, who's taken the success of some light slapstick moments in Spider-Man 2 as a cue to get even sillier. The result is a handful of sequences—most notably a "Dark Tobey" routine—that send the movie into a tailspin right in the middle. Even worse are any scenes in which Maguire's friends and relations try to have An Important Conversation, and immediately stop the movie cold. Throughout this whole series, Raimi has never handled quiet human moments as well as comic book punch-ups, and in Spider-Man 3—where the subtle distinctions between characters are the whole point of the movie—Raimi can't deliver. On the ground, Spider-Man 3 is dreary. But in the air, it swings.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
mrdr4gonDec 15, 2017
A grim misstep that ultimately amounts to being one ludicrous moment after the next. Sam Raimi loses the semblance of what made his previous films good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Kes4278Jul 31, 2017
This movie just ruined a great trilogy to be honest.They really messed up Venom.He was so bad in this movie.Why is he skinny? He should be buffed.Loved the black suit tho
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Dostoyevsky3May 27, 2020
Burdened by its overstuffed story and distasteful character decisions. Spider-Man 3 nonetheless would be able to overcome those obstacles with an excellent performance from Tobey Maguire who infects the audience with a pleasing amount ofBurdened by its overstuffed story and distasteful character decisions. Spider-Man 3 nonetheless would be able to overcome those obstacles with an excellent performance from Tobey Maguire who infects the audience with a pleasing amount of cringe. To be serious though, the mostly positive message is driven by an impressive amount of emotional weight that works very well as a final chapter to this classic spidey trilogy. Unfortunately, the typical damsel in distress has elevated to an insufferable level that dooms this film as an unbearable watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TheLexMay 4, 2007
Dissapointing. Bad dialogue. Bad Venom. Weak ending. What a waste of 280+ million.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanG.May 4, 2007
For one I just thought that the spider man movies were already garbage. The second one was full of cliches and I just couldn't imagine why they made a third... Karl I just want you to know that obviously you should not have gone to see For one I just thought that the spider man movies were already garbage. The second one was full of cliches and I just couldn't imagine why they made a third... Karl I just want you to know that obviously you should not have gone to see a movie that no one should like regardless and no I havent and will never waste my time going to see trash like this. Thanks for the warning maybe you should heed your own advice... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BillS.May 4, 2007
1 and 2 are much much better. half of it doesnt make sense logically. the special effects have already been done in 1 and 2. but in 3 its over done. and the movie feels like 100 things jammed into 2 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EthneeMay 4, 2007
TOTALLY NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!! I think the sneak peeks and trailors gave away the bulk of the movie, and left you wondering...but there was nothing left to wonder. You've seen the previews, you've seen the base of the show, minus TOTALLY NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!! I think the sneak peeks and trailors gave away the bulk of the movie, and left you wondering...but there was nothing left to wonder. You've seen the previews, you've seen the base of the show, minus the quiet and trite addition of "The Notebook" yes! It seems like they can never be satisfied. Spiderman 1&2 definately hit the spot, but 3...just makes you wish it would have ended at 2! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PabloE.May 5, 2007
Sandman was a brilliant and worthy character in the Spiderman movies, but all of the supervillains got shortchanged by being crammed in the allotted time slot. Still, all of them showed a human side that shows us that we as human beings can Sandman was a brilliant and worthy character in the Spiderman movies, but all of the supervillains got shortchanged by being crammed in the allotted time slot. Still, all of them showed a human side that shows us that we as human beings can choose to be good or evil, to repent, and to do good things in our daily lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PO.DMay 5, 2007
Just walk away Sam, just walk away, and take the cast with you. Or Spider-man will soon turn into the walking dead. And someone lobotomize Avi Arad and Sony executives concerned for press ganging Venom into the movie. 1 villain and plot line Just walk away Sam, just walk away, and take the cast with you. Or Spider-man will soon turn into the walking dead. And someone lobotomize Avi Arad and Sony executives concerned for press ganging Venom into the movie. 1 villain and plot line too many. And the film isn't even fun, not even with the set-pieces. Sad, real sad. My spider-sense is clearly tingling for the franchise now. Batman & Robin it ain't, but there's a faint whiff of X3 and further doom if this be the case. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveB.May 5, 2007
After the mansion fight scene between Peter and Harry I hoped it would be more like Burton's Batman instead of Schumacher's Batman. Regardless, it was a fair movie overall. I think that they had a chance to make it a better, After the mansion fight scene between Peter and Harry I hoped it would be more like Burton's Batman instead of Schumacher's Batman. Regardless, it was a fair movie overall. I think that they had a chance to make it a better, grittier film, but with $300 million and change at risk they took the safer route. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoanG.May 5, 2007
Dreadful. Characters, plotlines, and completely different tones are mashed together incoherently. My audience laughed at parts that were supposed to be heartfelt, and squirmed at what was supposed to be funny. And I loved the first two Dreadful. Characters, plotlines, and completely different tones are mashed together incoherently. My audience laughed at parts that were supposed to be heartfelt, and squirmed at what was supposed to be funny. And I loved the first two movies. How did Sam Rami go so wrong? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomK.May 6, 2007
The movie wasn't perfect or excellent, but it was very good. the action, the effects, the actors and the comedy were excellent. Black Spidey was cool, Sandman was amazing. Many people didn't liked this movie because it isn't The movie wasn't perfect or excellent, but it was very good. the action, the effects, the actors and the comedy were excellent. Black Spidey was cool, Sandman was amazing. Many people didn't liked this movie because it isn't explore the characters to the deep; but it's already done in the previous films, most of the characters are the same, so nothing would get you a new information about the characters. The end of the movie turned down to be the weakest part of the movie, but when you remember the other parts of the movie you see how it was an excellent way to end this trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LucasboydMay 6, 2007
First off, the only super-hero franchise to successfully pull off multiple heroes in one film (on the big screen) is X-Men. That said, I must admit I was not happy with this film; it's as if the writers realized something was "magical" First off, the only super-hero franchise to successfully pull off multiple heroes in one film (on the big screen) is X-Men. That said, I must admit I was not happy with this film; it's as if the writers realized something was "magical" in Spider-man 2 and decided to REALLY take it over the top. Corn-ball dialogue (even worse than Star Wars), confusing fight scenes, and even a "group hug" moment to emphasize "forgiveness" as the "central theme...gimme a break! I got all weepy-eyed at the end, not so much due to the overly dramatic and sappy final scenes, but because I paid over $60.00 bucks for my family and me to see this dreadfully mediocre film; I could have just opurchased a copy of "Command and Conquer" for the XBOX 360 and at least get some replay value, but I digress. This film is a rental! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattS.May 9, 2007
I enjoyed this film, but ultimately, I found it a disappointment. It is, however, my son's favorite movie of all time, a position previously held by "Night at the Museum".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KyleW.May 9, 2007
Not nearly enough action, dragged on too long with scenes full of dull sappy scenes. and the whole movie was ruined with the stupid display of peter parker trying to act cool and "badass".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuC.Jun 6, 2007
Had a great time at this flick! Favorite movie of the year, and my favorite Spiderman movie. The action and effects can't be beat, and much more enjoyable to me than Shrek 3 or POTC 3. This one furthers the character plotlines Had a great time at this flick! Favorite movie of the year, and my favorite Spiderman movie. The action and effects can't be beat, and much more enjoyable to me than Shrek 3 or POTC 3. This one furthers the character plotlines established in the previous 2. Great time at the movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JerkGuyOct 2, 2007
Spiderman is my favorite of Marvel comic hero
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirbyD.May 11, 2007
This movie was excellent on all counts: story, action, effects, development, and continuity with the other 2. These low scores are atrocious, people are being way to over critical. Sit back and enjoy 2.3 hour's of top notch entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EddieM.May 10, 2007
First of all, the action in this movie was breathtaking, and second of all they took the comedy too far yes, but it was supposed to be funny, Sam Raimi did a phenomanal job with this movie and it does deserve alot more credit than it First of all, the action in this movie was breathtaking, and second of all they took the comedy too far yes, but it was supposed to be funny, Sam Raimi did a phenomanal job with this movie and it does deserve alot more credit than it actually does. Ben Brown, im the sheriff in these parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JefframoneMay 10, 2007
WORST. SEQUEL. EVER. God this movie was long. Way too much going on. Tobey McGuire has got to be the worst actor since Ben Affleck to don a superhero costume. This was just a really pathetic attempt. I hope they don't make any more WORST. SEQUEL. EVER. God this movie was long. Way too much going on. Tobey McGuire has got to be the worst actor since Ben Affleck to don a superhero costume. This was just a really pathetic attempt. I hope they don't make any more because it's just embarassing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherW.May 22, 2007
I've got many of the same criticisms of many fans and critics. The film is excessively uneven in tone, too cluttered with villians, uncomfortably silly at times, and the pacing annoyingly moves in fits and starts. Even the hugely I've got many of the same criticisms of many fans and critics. The film is excessively uneven in tone, too cluttered with villians, uncomfortably silly at times, and the pacing annoyingly moves in fits and starts. Even the hugely expensive special effects seem uninvolving and lifeless. What's more, the script is weak and creates a rather unengaging and, at many times, downright boring 2hr. 20min. misfire. Oh, did I mention the film is overlong. Yikes! Sam Raimi clearly has burnout. Too bad! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieB.May 23, 2007
Hell Yeah!! Everything I want in a Spider-Man movie. Chock full of action, humor, and pathos. Is it a perfect film? Maybe not. But it is a perfect COMIC BOOK MOVIE. As Harry Osborne says to the waitress, "It's Sooo GOOOD!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful