Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: November 6, 2015
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 884 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
784
Mixed:
52
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarcDoyleNov 6, 2015
An incredible film that generates the same momentum and excitement that All the Presidents Men did. Michael Keaton has never been better, and Mark Ruffalo is outstanding as usual. I'll also mention the always terrific Stanley Tucci - he'sAn incredible film that generates the same momentum and excitement that All the Presidents Men did. Michael Keaton has never been better, and Mark Ruffalo is outstanding as usual. I'll also mention the always terrific Stanley Tucci - he's brilliant here. It's an important story, and the filmmakers handle it with care. In a way, it restores your faith in what quality investigative journalism can produce. It's only November, but this is my movie of the year so far. Expand
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
8
namelessDec 7, 2015
Very well made. Kept your attention all the way through. The story is a bit thin so you have to admire the top notch acting, directing, writing, and editing. If you believe journalists are not this altruistic and more agenda driven this willVery well made. Kept your attention all the way through. The story is a bit thin so you have to admire the top notch acting, directing, writing, and editing. If you believe journalists are not this altruistic and more agenda driven this will be a bit difficult to swallow. A bit political in that it focused exclusively on the negative and ignored the 94% that are good though I get why they did this for the sake of the story. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
wcrosherNov 19, 2015
Incredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shownIncredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shown incredibly well, being both understanding to the victims while still being impartial. No one is a hero in this film, but Spotlight is a marvel to watch. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticNov 25, 2015
Spotlight is brilliant, devastating, and my favorite film of the year so far. I can't say enough about the performances, each one is magnificent and Oscar caliber. This film is a masterpiece mainly because it didn't get bogged down inSpotlight is brilliant, devastating, and my favorite film of the year so far. I can't say enough about the performances, each one is magnificent and Oscar caliber. This film is a masterpiece mainly because it didn't get bogged down in thriller type elements. There was no threatening letters, or people stalking them. This stuck to the investigation and the continued links that are uncovered. I can't recommend this film higher. A+ Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
timlostinNov 6, 2015
Often compared to All the Presidents Men, I would go so far as to say it is better. A thrilling movie that does not seek to make heroes out of the people it depicts but rather explores their faults as well. This movie is the perfect exampleOften compared to All the Presidents Men, I would go so far as to say it is better. A thrilling movie that does not seek to make heroes out of the people it depicts but rather explores their faults as well. This movie is the perfect example of the danger posed by unchecked power for any institution. This movie is not only my favorite movie of the year, but possibly my favorite of the decade. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
JohnDruceNov 10, 2015
Great job of telling how the cold, cowardly Catholic church used the "power of God" to protect & move known pedo-priests, & they knew exactly what they were doing. This is an organized crime movie, with the most gutless gangsters.

It is
Great job of telling how the cold, cowardly Catholic church used the "power of God" to protect & move known pedo-priests, & they knew exactly what they were doing. This is an organized crime movie, with the most gutless gangsters.

It is chilling to hear the interview with Fr Pacquin, who readily admits to the Globe that he molested a bunch of children, as if it was no big deal because all the other priests were doing it, too.

The movie shows how hard it was to get the truth out of the Catholic church, which intentionally protected these pedophiles, moving them to new locations where their evil wouldn't be known, never warning the new community, and sometimes not even warning their own Catholic leaders.

This pedophile protection came from the top, from Cardinal Law, (and undoubtedly the pope) and was passed throughout the hierarchy, which worked like the Nazis, just doing what they were told, despite Jesus in Matt 18:6-14.

You can feel the awesome power of the Catholic church, which they use at every opportunity to get away with evil, and never to help children. The characters in the movie are sickened by the truth, and the intention of the organization to protect every child rapist, with no regard for the victims.

This is an organized crime movie, without the honor of the mafia.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
MattyiceNov 11, 2015
With a fantastic cast, coupled with a fantastic and powerful story, Spotlight proves to be the Best Picture Oscar frontrunner right now. Very entertaining and fast (for what sounds like a slow story). It is a fantastic film that is definitelyWith a fantastic cast, coupled with a fantastic and powerful story, Spotlight proves to be the Best Picture Oscar frontrunner right now. Very entertaining and fast (for what sounds like a slow story). It is a fantastic film that is definitely worth seeing when it hits wide release. One of 2015's best so far. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 25, 2015
The second best journalism-based film ever made after All the President's Men, Spotlight is a brilliant work that brings tension, drama, and true hardcore emotion, to a very sensitive topic that it handles gracefully. Director Tom McCarthyThe second best journalism-based film ever made after All the President's Men, Spotlight is a brilliant work that brings tension, drama, and true hardcore emotion, to a very sensitive topic that it handles gracefully. Director Tom McCarthy does not shy away from the hard-hitting and tough to listen to facts that surround this case. The acting here is phenomenal. Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Billy Crudup, Stanley Tucci, Brian d'Arcy James, Neal Huff, Paul Guilfoyle, Len Cariou, and the list goes on. Everybody who had any single line in this film was great. This film is built around the powerful performances delivered by these talented people and the passion their real life counterparts brought to their job, which really shines through. This film has power in spades and as the onion is peeled back, you are left stunned at this true story. A film that makes you overwhelmed and needing a long bath to try and cleanse all the grime of the world off of you, Spotlight is a great work that deserves all of its forthcoming accolades. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
smaherNov 12, 2015
Amazing film, told with such nuance and complexity. As much as it engages and thrills the viewer, it observes systemic human moral frailty in ways that leave none of us untouched. Mark Ruffalo has never been better.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BinxBollingNov 23, 2015
This movie is one of the best films I have seen in a long time. It reminded me very much of "All the President's Men" with its steady, sometimes slow, yet inexorable march toward the truth: the Catholic Church's cover-up of sexual abuse ofThis movie is one of the best films I have seen in a long time. It reminded me very much of "All the President's Men" with its steady, sometimes slow, yet inexorable march toward the truth: the Catholic Church's cover-up of sexual abuse of children by pedophile priests. An editorial shake-up at the Boston Globe leads to the assignment of a team of ace reporters to investigate allegations that a few priests in the area may have abused children. The scope of the investigation widens as the reporters gather more information implicating dozens of priests and the Catholic Church in what turns out to be a massive cover-up. This movie deserves an Oscar nomination at the very least. I thought that Mark Ruffalo, in particular, did an excellent job. In fact, the whole cast was outstanding. There are several heroes in this movie--only they wield notepads, cellphones and laptops, rather than knifes, guns or bombs--or arrows. I highly recommend this film. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
jeremypNov 22, 2015
Up there with "All The President's Men" as a Journalistic tour de force. Never over or underplayed, incredibly intelligent script with a slew of great actors willing to share the screen almost anonymously. Like an unraveling detective storyUp there with "All The President's Men" as a Journalistic tour de force. Never over or underplayed, incredibly intelligent script with a slew of great actors willing to share the screen almost anonymously. Like an unraveling detective story about a subject we know too much about, and yet not enough. They walk among us still. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
trexJan 14, 2016
The only truly good and important feature film I've seen this year. Far from perfect, but solid writing and acting and a story that needs to be heard and paid attention to.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Dec 27, 2015
This movie really took me by surprise. I had tons of buzz about this movie and wondered what all the excitement was about. Well, now I know. This is an effective work of art that tells a shocking piece of history. I honestly don't know whereThis movie really took me by surprise. I had tons of buzz about this movie and wondered what all the excitement was about. Well, now I know. This is an effective work of art that tells a shocking piece of history. I honestly don't know where to begin. I guess I'll start with the performances. Every single performance is phenomenal! I'm surprised no one from this cast got nominated for the golden globes and I seriously hope they don't get overshadowed at the Oscars. This cast is what drives this story along. Aside from the cast, the story itself is incredibly intriguing yet hard to watch. Luckily, it never has a flinching moment. It tells its story with justice. It also shows the importance of journalism and how far they go to uncover every thing behind the scenes. This is an engaging and brilliant story that never loses focus and is always moving further into the thick of things. With fantastic direction, screenplay and arguably the best ensemble of the year, "Spotlight" is a strong contender for awards season and a movie that I believe won't be soon forgotten. I give it an A+! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SnoracksDec 1, 2015
A master's class in pace and storytelling. Stories about the media themselves can often feel too self-important, but this story about the special investigation team at the Boston Globe (Spotlight) really feels the way a story aboutA master's class in pace and storytelling. Stories about the media themselves can often feel too self-important, but this story about the special investigation team at the Boston Globe (Spotlight) really feels the way a story about storytellers aught to. While I think the actors all deliver incredible performances (particularly Ruffalo, who will likely earn a nomination for Best Supporting Actor), it is most notable that they do not steal any of the drama of the story itself. I thought the film would be too dry for friends of mine that only really like action movies, but the subject matter is just so gripping that even they liked it. This will be a contender for Best Picture, for sure. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ProsmoothJan 18, 2016
One of the best movies about real journalism since All the President's Men. Breaking the story about the Catholic church's carousel of pedophile priests in Boston is the story told here--but even more frightening is that this was going on inOne of the best movies about real journalism since All the President's Men. Breaking the story about the Catholic church's carousel of pedophile priests in Boston is the story told here--but even more frightening is that this was going on in every city, town, village, and hamlet on planet earth. A sobering reminder of what power, money, religion can cover up--and how long it can be covered up. This had been going on for hundreds and hundreds of years. Sobering and frightening film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
RvwFromUpHereJan 20, 2016
Who: Mark Ruffalo, Birdman, Roger Sterling, and the girl detective from the terrible season of True Detective as Sacha Pfeiffer
What: A much cooler movie than anything I watched in 8 years of Catholic school
Where: Boston, MA; 272 years
Who: Mark Ruffalo, Birdman, Roger Sterling, and the girl detective from the terrible season of True Detective as Sacha Pfeiffer
What: A much cooler movie than anything I watched in 8 years of Catholic school
Where: Boston, MA; 272 years before the events of Fallout 4
When (Can I watch again): When you want to annoyingly convince everyone all Catholics are evil, or when you want to annoyingly convince your parents why church "isn't for you"
Why: For better of the worse, this movie is gonna win best picture. You don't wanna be the person who goes to work the day after the Super Bowl not knowing who Left Shark is
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AlmostearlyNov 19, 2015
Lets just make predictions that this movie will definitely be nominated for an Academy Award for the most interesting plot I have ever seen. Enjoyed this film from beginning to end because it hits the spot where it gets you hooked in seconds.Lets just make predictions that this movie will definitely be nominated for an Academy Award for the most interesting plot I have ever seen. Enjoyed this film from beginning to end because it hits the spot where it gets you hooked in seconds. Every actor involved in this masterpiece did an amazing job. The intensity builds in even when nothing exciting is happening, but you still got that feeling and it's the goosebumps you get when something is up and you know who did it. Best Movie I have seen this year so far. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
ASimpleManNov 20, 2015
It's difficult today to grab an audience without special effects or a lot of action, however Spotlight succeeds. The pace of this movie was initially a bit slow and the audience was less than enthusiastic, but as the story enfolded theIt's difficult today to grab an audience without special effects or a lot of action, however Spotlight succeeds. The pace of this movie was initially a bit slow and the audience was less than enthusiastic, but as the story enfolded the audience grew less restless, eventually becoming riveted to the screen. The movie depicts the hunt for a story within its own story, but the significance of whether the struggle to hunt for the facts or whether the facts themselves are more important is not well enough defined. Had better attention been paid to the dilemma of reporting for the sake of truth versus for the sake of sales dollars this movie would have far more merit. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
PrimeProjectorsJan 17, 2016
Interesting tid bit, I was a young Catholic boy when these events were taking place (Kind of). Started to fade out a bit when this overarching, all-power, deity can't decide whether gay marriage is a burden on the sanctity of marriage or allInteresting tid bit, I was a young Catholic boy when these events were taking place (Kind of). Started to fade out a bit when this overarching, all-power, deity can't decide whether gay marriage is a burden on the sanctity of marriage or all his children get his love equally. Or if murdering people grants me 15 infinity years on fire, or if I can come to his party bus if I just wish upon a star. Enough about questioning the Catholic religion let's talk about Spotlight. Going in I heard that this movie treated both sides, Catholic and reporters, equally. Also that it doesn't actually make you question the logistics of religion. Either that person was deliberately lying so I'd have a bigger reaction, or he accidentally walked into Alvin and the Chipmunks: Road Chip, without noticing. This film knows how to set up the sensitive subject, it attempts to "fairly" represent the Church's side in the beginning. We start with one incident of sexual assault, or rather the aftermath. It's a short scene and it doesn't show a mother weeping over her victimized child praying for the blood of the Pope, while a priest twists his handle bar mustache. It's just one of the head whatevers, talking to the kids saying the priest will be moved and never seen again. This scene cleverly, and decietfully, shows this as a one-time incident that the church regrets happened. Then we arrive with our main reporters Mike Rezendes (Mark Ruffalo), Walter Robinson (Michael Keaton), Sacha Pfieffer (Rachel McAdams), and Matt Carroll (Brian d'Arcy James) they all work for a reporting group called Spotlight. They are known at covering large stories and getting to the bottom of them. This movie spends a lot of time with these characters, but it's really hard to remember their actual names. Honestly it wouldn't be that ill advised to say these characters mean very little, at least as their personalities are concerned. But that's kind of the point; as they get deeper in they find themselves being completely, and unintentionally surrounded by the disgusting reality of what the church is doing. They are simply representations of the actual spotlight crew that found the truth as been around every person. This films likes doing reveals, appropriately. There are several instances where camera and editing choices reveal the true damage or gravity of this situation. Sometimes a character will just blurt out commentary over the imagery either right away, or late. Spotlight members relationships with other people can also be spelled out too much. Specifically with someone's (trying not to spoil) blood relative.Also when a Cardinal does something dastardly, the film just kind of shrugs it off. Those things hurt the film in my opinion. But this film does certainly do a good job of not saying some things, for example the emotional state of the reporters is tracked very fluently. When a character feels panicked, rushed, angry, or scared you feel the weight because what the film is saying is dramatic, and you've been following the characters emotions the whole time. Those are all the things in the actual writing and directing I really liked, but there is another reason to watch this film. It's subject. Films like these are important things to watch, we can really take away a lot from it. This film could very well piss you off, if you are a devote follower of God. It tells you that the Church is corrupt, has too much power, and is blindly followed. Or at least at this time it was. It's hard to deny the credibility of the film when you see the final statistics on display in the film. It reminds me of two things. One, Spike Lee's Do the Right Thing. I don't think this movie quite utilizes it's full potential like Do the Right Thing, but they both say something that is tough to swallow. They choose to show the world the state it is certainly in. We aren't perfect but we can at least try to do something. The second thing I am reminded of is a quote from Stanley Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange. Alex is watching brutal violence, rape, and the Nazi regime and he says "its funny how the colors of the real world, only feel really real when you vivid them on a screen". I think he mean we can only learn from what is in front of us. Well that's it God Bless you. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JacobJan 17, 2016
Spotlight is a well made film. Nicely showing the struggle to expose the church combined with a great performance from Ruffalo. It doesn’t have the best cinematography and isn’t as riveting as All the President’s Men. Still that’s the thingSpotlight is a well made film. Nicely showing the struggle to expose the church combined with a great performance from Ruffalo. It doesn’t have the best cinematography and isn’t as riveting as All the President’s Men. Still that’s the thing with Oscar films they are well made but often not enjoyable. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
StevieGJDNov 9, 2015
Normally, the most one can hope for from a movie is that it is well made, entertaining and not stupid. I realize that's a low bar. But there are many stupid movies too. Spotlight is an intelligent, thoughtful and important movie. The castNormally, the most one can hope for from a movie is that it is well made, entertaining and not stupid. I realize that's a low bar. But there are many stupid movies too. Spotlight is an intelligent, thoughtful and important movie. The cast is great. Mark Ruffalo, who I usually do not like, was more of a distinct character than he has ever been in a film. There is tension and a great payoff. The only movie I have ever seen like this is All the President's Men. Granted, that had the whole government aspect, but the Catholic Church, especially in Boston, is a quasi government. Spotlight makes one sad that real investigative journalism is on the decline in this country, due to all of the corporate mergers of newspapers and their goals. But it highlights an important and unique role the media can, and truly should, play in our society. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 13, 2016
It's obviously award bait at the highest order...great cast, style reminiscent of '70's procedural and a heavy topic. It's a good film and an illuminating one to boot, highlighting the cover up that permeate the Catholic Church as of late.It's obviously award bait at the highest order...great cast, style reminiscent of '70's procedural and a heavy topic. It's a good film and an illuminating one to boot, highlighting the cover up that permeate the Catholic Church as of late. Will probably win a lot of awards, but will anybody see it in the cinemas? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinNov 26, 2015
“Spotlight” is a MUST SEE for many reasons first being that if you think you know everything, or just a lot, about the cover-up regarding the Catholic church and the pedophilia priests this film will show you that you don’t. This is the best,“Spotlight” is a MUST SEE for many reasons first being that if you think you know everything, or just a lot, about the cover-up regarding the Catholic church and the pedophilia priests this film will show you that you don’t. This is the best, if not better, newsroom movie since “All The President’s Men” and shows investigative reporting as it is done and what it accomplishes. The cast is an evenly matched crew of actors in their prime and though all should get an Oscar for best ensemble, there is a scene with Mark Ruffalo that will make you hold your breath not wanting to miss a word.

Ruffalo is one member of a team consisting of editor Michael Keaton who is the leader and Rachel McAdams along with Brian d’Arcy James who answer to managing editor John Slattery and they all have a new Jewish, single, editor-in-chief previously of New York and Miami Live Schreiber.

This is not a pounding on the desk, “STOP THE PRESSES” but an even moving film of reporters doing research, asking inquisitive, invasive questions. There are quiet but very effective scenes like that between Schreiber and Len Cariou as Cardinal Law or the reporters interviewing survivors such as Neil Huff , or Richard O’Rourke, a priest who molested children but saw nothing wrong with it and in both cases no histrionics. Whether it is lawyers like Jamey Sheridan and Stanley Tucci or members of the church like Paul Guulfoyle or supporting players such as Billy Crudup and Michael Cyril Creighton among others all deliver the goods.

Screenwriters Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, the latter also directed, make a mystery and create suspense tale of a fairly well known Pulitzer Prize winning story that will get you deeply involved.

“Spotlight” is definitely one of the best movies of the year!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJan 15, 2016
A journalistic fight against morality that, is more than a true & depressing story, its a need to know -- a story that’s well worthy of the Oscars. The realism & intensity of the plot is a stunning trace. It’s like a tense documentary withA journalistic fight against morality that, is more than a true & depressing story, its a need to know -- a story that’s well worthy of the Oscars. The realism & intensity of the plot is a stunning trace. It’s like a tense documentary with these diverse & well visualized characters that, tries to bring this incredible story to life, a story that will bring both suffering and horror to them. It’s a pure dialog-driven film that might be too plot-centric, and due to that fact are characters not given that much playground for any depth nor development. A fact-based drama like this flick isn't for everybody, but it is based on a true story -- just the realism, clever and flawless directing, might bring an Oscar to the ’Spotlight’.

Personal rating: 75/100
Critical rating: 96/100
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Nov 21, 2015
It certainly left me and everyone else in the theater with a strong feeling of uneasiness at the very end, however, that's what made it all the more powerful and notable for me! I was only somewhat familiar with the subject matter of the filmIt certainly left me and everyone else in the theater with a strong feeling of uneasiness at the very end, however, that's what made it all the more powerful and notable for me! I was only somewhat familiar with the subject matter of the film going in, but that made it all the more interesting and informative to me! The script was clearly very well thought out, as the dialogue was crisp and engaging! Among many of these great aspects of the film, the best was easily the film's ensemble! It served as a great showcase for everyone involved, most notably Michael Keaton and Mark Ruffalo who both deserve supporting actor nominations at the Academy awards this year! Overall, despite some slow moments, they're easily made up for through the film's intriguing screenplay and fantastic acting! Definitely the best fact-based drama I've seen all year! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TgExpressFeb 10, 2016
Wow what a movie, after the disappointment of the Revenant and the Hateful 8, this movie will redeem your faith in the industry. A powerful story told with incredible tension, I was so disappointed when it finished.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NerdConsultantJan 31, 2016
I thought Spotlight was a really good film. It takes a very difficult subject matter and handles it very well. I think it could have gone one step further with it, but by the end it does feel like a very good movie. To borrow a quote fromI thought Spotlight was a really good film. It takes a very difficult subject matter and handles it very well. I think it could have gone one step further with it, but by the end it does feel like a very good movie. To borrow a quote from Kyle Kallgren from Brows Held High, the bravery showing the film is not the reporters breaking the story, but it’s the holding on of the story until they have all the facts straight so that they can really make a difference and I don’t think I could sum it up better myself, hence my borrowing that quote. It’s very well acted and its a decently written film. It has a couple of issues, particularly with it’s early pacing and it does feel a bit too much like it’s deliberately aiming for an Oscar, but it’s a lot better than many other films that fit that category. It’s a really good drama, however I wouldn’t recommend rushing to the cinema to see this one, you might want to wait for this one to come out on DVD. It’s just good, that’s what I would say. I’m not sure I would give it the Oscar for best picture, which I don’t suspect it will win, the bookies are predicting The Revenant at this point and they are probably right, but I wouldn’t mind if this one stole it on the day. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
papeadojhonFeb 6, 2016
It may be too harsh and unclear for some, but Spotlight focuses more on its characters as people first before heroes and the result is a well-acted and written film, one of the best that 2015 has to offer.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
avan1976Feb 27, 2016
Well made and well acted movie about sexual abuse in the Catholic church in Boston. It is both informative and shocking. However, as a movie, it moves along at a single pace, slowly revealing the story of how the abuse was uncovered, which isWell made and well acted movie about sexual abuse in the Catholic church in Boston. It is both informative and shocking. However, as a movie, it moves along at a single pace, slowly revealing the story of how the abuse was uncovered, which is not such a big deal given this is how journalism work. However, the one knock on this film is that it lacks dramatic climaxes and anti-climaxes and a strong sense of urgency, especially towards the end. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
bds92Nov 21, 2015
When I first found out about this movie, I was probably reminded most of "Michael Clayton" or "A Few Good Men." Based on the strength of the actors, and the intense nature of the topic, I expected a thrill ride. Interestingly, you won't findWhen I first found out about this movie, I was probably reminded most of "Michael Clayton" or "A Few Good Men." Based on the strength of the actors, and the intense nature of the topic, I expected a thrill ride. Interestingly, you won't find that here. "Spotlight" is very subdued. It features a Mark Ruffalo performance on par with his work in Begin Again, proving just how versatile he is and how passionate he can be. Michael Keaton is tasteful, graceful, and maybe even a little boring, but in a good way; it's as if his acting career has been completely reinvented after Birdman. Besides those two things, this movie wasn't what I expected it to be. Upon exiting the theater, I remarked this exactly: "It feels like a great story about a great newspaper story about a terrible story." In other words, you might have felt much more suspense if you had read the Boston Globe article back in 2002. I assumed the point of this film was to tell the story that might have been drowned out by the attacks of 9/11, and I was right. With this, the underlying story feels more important than the film, but it is very well done and well acted. I would absolutely go to see it in the theater, but I would manage my expectations somewhat. If it's plot you're banking on, you'll be disappointed. However, if you love film for the aspects that make film great, you'll see a great film by choosing Spotlight. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoFeb 8, 2016
Spotlight is an engaging and thought-provoking film with amazing performances and an excellent script. The actors were all amazing- Mark Ruffalo was great, Michael Keaton was great, Stanley Tucci was great... The list goes on! The scenes withSpotlight is an engaging and thought-provoking film with amazing performances and an excellent script. The actors were all amazing- Mark Ruffalo was great, Michael Keaton was great, Stanley Tucci was great... The list goes on! The scenes with the victims telling their stories were horrifying. It really opens your eyes. Of course, the movie might be too disturbing for some (and too talky for others) but if you like movies such as "All the President's Men" then this is the movie for you. A remarkable film, and one of the best of the year. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Jan 31, 2016
A grippingly powerful and intense movie, that has no problem holding your attention and hitting nerves for the entire movie. Handles the delicate subject matter very well with a perfectly chosen cast, particularly Michael Keaton and LievA grippingly powerful and intense movie, that has no problem holding your attention and hitting nerves for the entire movie. Handles the delicate subject matter very well with a perfectly chosen cast, particularly Michael Keaton and Liev Schreiber. Recommended for a one time viewing. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CMCJan 6, 2016
Bravo. Really good in every way. Intelligent. Restores my faith in American movie making. A Ron Howard or Clint Eastwood would have "juiced it up" with silly manipulative plot turns, overdrawn characters or predictable conceits. All of theBravo. Really good in every way. Intelligent. Restores my faith in American movie making. A Ron Howard or Clint Eastwood would have "juiced it up" with silly manipulative plot turns, overdrawn characters or predictable conceits. All of the actors seemed like they were chosen for their potential contribution rather than box-office appeal, and they were very good. The depiction of Boston is spot-on, for anybody who has lived there and knows the place. I think it is better than All the President's men. How could it have been better? I think slightly more development of some characters where you felt a bit more personal investment in them, and where you believed even more that they were personally affected by the unfolding events. Possibly a touch more exposition of the actual victims- the one interviewed guy was very working class and accurately depicted, but there could have been more. Mark Ruffalo works the hardest and is the best. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
netflicDec 7, 2015
This movie is based on real events, it is about Boston Globe investigation of sexual abuses by Catholic priests, prying on young boys and girls, especially those from troubled families.

I remember the huge scandal that story caused in 2002
This movie is based on real events, it is about Boston Globe investigation of sexual abuses by Catholic priests, prying on young boys and girls, especially those from troubled families.

I remember the huge scandal that story caused in 2002 when made public. The story is incredible, and it is the strongest part of the movie. Performance is strong overall. Many critics especially praise Mark Raffalo while to me he looked a bit too much and out of his character. I like him as an actor but not particularly in this movie.

Cinematography, script, music are all quite decent. I completely agree with those who underscore the importance of this movie, since many young people do not know or remember events depicted there. Overall, it is a good movie but not a spectacular one as many critics claim. Nevertheless, I do expect to see this film in the Oscar’s list.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
owmynose9000Feb 5, 2016
Spotlight was a phenomenal film regarding the ongoing scandal surrounding the Catholic church and allegations of molestation committed by its priests around the world. Spotlight was about delivering a message and garnering attention towardsSpotlight was a phenomenal film regarding the ongoing scandal surrounding the Catholic church and allegations of molestation committed by its priests around the world. Spotlight was about delivering a message and garnering attention towards an issue that is in immediate need of it. There was no unnecessary drama, the movie focuses solely on the issue of the controversial story it tells so well. The emotional impact of this movie is so significant because of the reality that surrounds the actual cases that are portrayed. The film suffers from a few pacing issues during the first act but quickly recovers and doesn't slow down. The reality of the story being told is what makes this movie essential to watch. The importance of the the issues discussed throughout is never understated and every character plays their role to perfection in contributing to the unfolding of this unique and true series of events. Religion plays a role in this narrative as it naturally contrasts and opposes the scandalous nature of the cases highlighted in this movie. Religion and morality are constants throughout the film as they compliment the nuanced narrative and contrast the tragedy being focused on. Spotlight is an important film that deserves to be acknowledged for the role it plays in communicating the significance of a substantial and controversial story in need of attention and ongoing in the world even today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Feb 13, 2016
Spotlight treats one of the biggest dilemmas that our society had been involved in and we are talking about something that day by day is testing the faith of lots of people, the magnitude that reaches is due to the falling of one of the mostSpotlight treats one of the biggest dilemmas that our society had been involved in and we are talking about something that day by day is testing the faith of lots of people, the magnitude that reaches is due to the falling of one of the most ancient pillar of civilization, religion. The movie develop two big topics, the first one is about predator priests molesting children and the hierarchy of the church covering up their actions; the second one is about investigative journalism and how we has mankind depend on it in order to reveal conspiracy and abuse to ourselves. The mixture between both results on a thrilling plot, full with suspense and that certainly will make you question the church as an organization all the way up the pope. This incurable illness plus the ineptitude of church authorities left a mark of self-esteem problems, personality disorders, trust issues and even suicidal behavior on hundreds of people. It reaches a point when society looks at the topic as a failing to place children out of priests, and not backwards, it assumes that is impossible in the other way. With an amazing cast, highlighting Michael Keaton, Stanley Tucci and Mark Ruffalo, clever script, precise camera positioning and firm direction, this film hooks you till the end. PS. Thanks Spotlight of the Boston Globe for having the persistence and courage of revealing the reality of this manipulating institution as is the church today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeJan 23, 2016
It's no easy task to take on a controversial story such as the one told in SPOTLIGHT. Writers Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, along with the entire cast, respectfully and passionately honor the real-life heroes and the victims of thisIt's no easy task to take on a controversial story such as the one told in SPOTLIGHT. Writers Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, along with the entire cast, respectfully and passionately honor the real-life heroes and the victims of this disturbing time. SPOTLIGHT is a subtle, but detailed, adventure through investigative journalism with true dedication to share a story and passion worth telling. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Dec 27, 2015
Spotlight isn't some groundbreaking film by any means but it is a well paced, strongly acted film that is interesting. The best way to describe Spotlight is a Law and Order SVU episode from the view of journalism instead of law enforcement.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dinojay2Dec 29, 2015
This was an incredibly subtle movie in the way it made you really feel the moral and emotional dilemmas of the various characters without resorting to grand gestures or shocking revelations. While many movies on such a topic would rely on theThis was an incredibly subtle movie in the way it made you really feel the moral and emotional dilemmas of the various characters without resorting to grand gestures or shocking revelations. While many movies on such a topic would rely on the viewers disgust with these predators, Spotlight in fact all but ignores this side of the story, showing the viewers the respect of assuming they already know how terrible child abuse is. Instead they focus on the way the story came out, how it remained hidden for so long, and even manages to make you see it from the point of view of those who were part of the cover up - creating an understanding without the necessity of sympathy. Masterfully done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
dollarsignFeb 5, 2016
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 11, 2016
Must watch!! People, don't ignore this movie! This is not a movie against religion! It's a movie against the church! God is not a ginnie who makes your dreams come true! God is a way of life! God is not in heaven! God is in us! And going toMust watch!! People, don't ignore this movie! This is not a movie against religion! It's a movie against the church! God is not a ginnie who makes your dreams come true! God is a way of life! God is not in heaven! God is in us! And going to the church won't remove your sins and won't make you a better person! The priests are also humans! Or... are they? :D Just kid'n. Watch this movie! A true masterpiece with great message to all journalists, priests and to the system! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingJan 30, 2016
Spotlight handles its sensitive subject matter deftly, treating the victims well and not glorifying the heroes actions. The film itself is engrossing from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
21gramsJan 11, 2016
The material for the movie was great - a story worth telling, but it was so disappointing.. It felt almost like documentary movie in some sense, but it lacked facts and evidence material. Most actors were flat, Keaton seems back to his ownThe material for the movie was great - a story worth telling, but it was so disappointing.. It felt almost like documentary movie in some sense, but it lacked facts and evidence material. Most actors were flat, Keaton seems back to his own routine after good performance in Birdman last year, McAdams was like always the same and not convincing at all. Only Ruffalo put some good effort into his role. Overall very shallow and boring movie, it doesn't give any value to the viewer from cinematic perspective. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Dec 25, 2015
Spotlight is one of the most interesting films of 2015. Spotlight is a film that has gone somewhat under the radar so far but will surely gain some attention around Oscar time. This may even be a potential Best Picture film. The cast inSpotlight is one of the most interesting films of 2015. Spotlight is a film that has gone somewhat under the radar so far but will surely gain some attention around Oscar time. This may even be a potential Best Picture film. The cast in Spotlight will be what draws you in. With stars like Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton and Rachel McAdams involved its hard to ignore. Spotlight is the story of a Boston Globe crew who looks to uncover the cases of child abuse by the catholic priests. For a film that deals with such heavy subject matter it does very little to boast itself up. The crew of reporters are merely doing their job so they really do not get over dramatic or really appear to be telling a biased story.

Tom McCarthy has just made a complete 180 with this movie. It has only been a year since the Cobbler, one of my personal least favorite films of all time let alone the year. He redeems himself with this true treasure. I love a good comeback

Now the cast is excellent although there is really not any that truly stand out. The ensemble really works well for this story, but I'll be shocked if we see Oscar nominations for these actors because there is no one who really takes the lead. Mark Ruffalo has truly done everything this year. He's been comedic with Infinitely Polar Bear. He's been a box office draw with Avengers: Age of Ultron and he may be the only actor in the film that gets Oscar consideration. To me he was the stand out. Michael Keaton shows that his comeback role in Birdman was no fluke. Not only is Keaton back but he is better than ever. Then you have Rachel McAdams who shows some dramatic chops and it seems like she becomes more and more dependable as her career continues. Liev Schreiber plays the new editor for the Boston Globe and I thought he was excellent. I can only wish that he had a heavier involvement because I think that it was the best that I have ever seen from him.

Spotlight is a film that needed to be made and now the world just needs to realise that it needs to watch it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
tvnewsguidoJan 1, 2016
Methodical.

I don't know if this is a great movie. It has great acting and a good story but it was more like homework than entertainment. You literally get to watch as a group of reporters methodically (and tediously) put together one of
Methodical.

I don't know if this is a great movie. It has great acting and a good story but it was more like homework than entertainment. You literally get to watch as a group of reporters methodically (and tediously) put together one of the most important stories of the 21st century. I was fascinated throughout but it might read as dull to some less inclined to pick through the details.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
The__ShowmanJan 21, 2016
'Spotlight' A backstory in investigative point of view of the journalists aiming their weapons on the Boston clergy. This movie is highly appreciative for its written work. Kudos to Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer who provided a very interesting'Spotlight' A backstory in investigative point of view of the journalists aiming their weapons on the Boston clergy. This movie is highly appreciative for its written work. Kudos to Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer who provided a very interesting screenplay. Initially, it is slightly boring with random dialogues and same old uninteresting direction and camera work, but as the time passes one can get highly involved in the movie due to its arresting screenplay and top notch performance from all the actors namely Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery and Stanley Tucci. Music by Howard Shore is pleasant and also cinematography, editing and production design etc is up to the mark. Keeping all the controversies aside, it is one of the top three best movies of 2015. I predict this movie is going win Oscar for its original screenplay. So don't miss this... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
tjman09Nov 28, 2015
This is easily one of the best live action films of 2015. At the end of the year this movie will likely get a lot of Oscar attention, and it truly deserves it. Spotlight holds nothing back, features an ensemble of amazing performances, andThis is easily one of the best live action films of 2015. At the end of the year this movie will likely get a lot of Oscar attention, and it truly deserves it. Spotlight holds nothing back, features an ensemble of amazing performances, and tells a haunting true story. This story is recent enough that many people probably still remember, but old enough that many people will probably find it educational.
Perhaps the film’s greatest strength is it’s story, which is incredibly dense with information. Not to spoil the film, but to give context the film is about a large scandal involving the Boston Catholic Priests in 2001. The story is so dense that it would have been easy to hold back information or gloss over plot elements, but somehow the filmmakers behind this film were able to fit it all into the film, in just over 2 hours. The film is unapologetically real, despite the occasional moments of theatricality, which all films have.
The entire cast is magnificent in this film, lead by Mark Ruffalo and Michael Keaton. Both of which will probably receive Oscar nominations for back-to-back years. In a film that relies on a slow-burn approach, with a more emotional grip on the audience, the acting was paramount, and the entire cast delivered. It’s most impressive, because they are able to every moment and make it feel important through their portrayals. These performances also help to make the characters feel more real, and relatable.
The performances support one other major strength of the film, which is the haunting tone of the film. The film is scary in an very real way, as the film showcases that even in large hubs with millions of people, massive secrets can be hidden. At a time with drones, and widespread public mistrust it makes the film even scarier. It’s the haunting story and tone that helps elevate the acting, to form a truly great film.
In the end the film tells a relevant story that every american should know, without compromising its source material. Spotlight is a film so good that even the churches it condemned had to admit that it was great. The film will likely receive a lot of award recognition, and rightfully so, as it stands as one of the best movies of 2015. It’s a haunting film that tells a story so compelling and unbelievable it becomes a must see film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Jan 12, 2016
Spotlight is a tremendous piece of film making that will make you go completely speechless with some of the scenes in this movie. Michael Keaton, Brian d'Arcy James and Rachel McAdams all gave superb performances, as it was both convincingSpotlight is a tremendous piece of film making that will make you go completely speechless with some of the scenes in this movie. Michael Keaton, Brian d'Arcy James and Rachel McAdams all gave superb performances, as it was both convincing and realistic with their reactions. But Mark Ruffalo was absolutely phenomenal in this movie and he stole the show.

The director of this movie (Tom McCarthy) did the Adam Sandler film "The Cobbler". Now, let that sink in for a minute.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
moviecritic68Dec 2, 2015
Can't dispute the overall rating. Actually it is spot on. Probably more interesting to a Catholic audience of course. Well casted with Michael Keaton delivering his usual superb acting skills. Can't understand the 16 negative reviews. MyCan't dispute the overall rating. Actually it is spot on. Probably more interesting to a Catholic audience of course. Well casted with Michael Keaton delivering his usual superb acting skills. Can't understand the 16 negative reviews. My advice is ignore them. Well worth the price of a ticket Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheKavehJDec 11, 2015
Spotlight is one of the best films of the year. The film is filled with plot twists, has a stellar cast, and overall is a must-see movie that you do not want to miss.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
roadwarrior234Feb 8, 2016
Spotlight is shocking and engaging. The whole cast is bringing everything to the table here, especially Mark Ruffalo who had a great performance. This movie is sad and tragic but needed. Spotlight is a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
YellowKirbyMar 11, 2016
Spotlight is a powerful drama with brilliant performances from Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo and Rachel McAdams, a well-written script by Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, and a message that is still relevant today.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YorkManJan 2, 2016
Spotlight is a dramatisation of the Boston Globe newspaper's 'Spotlight' section who, in 2001, began an investigation into the systematic child abuse by Catholic priests in the Boston Diocese going back over a (known) period of 20 years.Spotlight is a dramatisation of the Boston Globe newspaper's 'Spotlight' section who, in 2001, began an investigation into the systematic child abuse by Catholic priests in the Boston Diocese going back over a (known) period of 20 years.
Unravelling the abuse also reveals a huge conspiracy by the Catholic Church (including the current Cardinal) to cover up said abuse by exercising their influence in both political and legal circles, buying off those who were abused and come forward, using gagging orders and confidentiality agreements to make sure the truth never comes to light.

It is a compelling story, well acted and executed, but it's not a flawless movie. It's a film that draws parallels with the 70's Classic, All The President's Men, which also dealt with a massive conspiracy, but this time governmental (leading right up to President Nixon).
This film, unfortunately, doesn't have that amount of punch to it, even if the subject matter is probably even more disturbing. This is mainly because the film pulls punches when dealing with the actual explanations of the abuse itself, and focuses too much on the exposition and not enough on the characters.

I came away wanting to know more, especially about the contents of a set of 'sealed files' which they are eventually able to get hold of a portion, but we're just offered a 45 second summary, and then the reaction that it creates in the Spotlight news office.

Also, the ending is very anticlimactic, especially during the final build-up to, and then the publication of the news story in 2002, finishing with a 'phones ringing off the hook' fade-out.....

I was hoping for much more of an epilogue, so we could see how the events after publication affected the people who we'd been following through the movie. Not just those working for the Globe, but the larger 'co-stars' in the film who had contributed to uncovering the conspiracy and cover up....

Still, it's well worth watching, just don't expect to find it revelatory in any way.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
latinodirectorJan 15, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is interesting that the public give less credit than the "Critics" to this movie. I agree with the public.

Although it is a good movie, once you compared it to "All President's Men" you can feel that something is missing. A movie is not based on the conglomerate of good actors and good settings and a good director. It is the amusing combination of all of them that enchants the receptor. In this case though, it is the topic, and not the movie, what guides the spectator until the end.The topic itself: the gruesome case about those abused victims by sick priests and how the institution -and the society- managed the crime, and how the journal brought it to the light. Was the intention here the film of a crusade? the connection between a strong faith based community and a cruel reality? Was the disapproval of the Catholic Church "as an institution"? I am not so clear. In any case, the silence presence of the victims guide the movie.

I feel that Spotlight fails in one essential point -because of the subjects developed there: missing the opportunity to go deeply into the question of faith and free will. It touched it somehow, yes, but as a small advertising that you could find in any printed newspaper. It does not go there. And faith is for example what drove Rezendes to stop going to Church -no clear explanation why; what Sacha's relatives feel touched -no further inquiry about it; and what it is in the heart of the Bostonian community -no particular discussion about that. Only big names and a big newspaper.

The church is something different than faith, I agree; but if you are going to treat this particular subject as just "the institution" the result is like filming nature without showing wilderness.

Even the history was not well re-scripted; it seems that the journalists are driven by assignment not by guts; and guts is what you need to explore with more anguish as well as impecable touch this case to be considered an excellent movie. Also, I could not detached myself the entire movie from recognizing director's influences rather than an creative opera, it was like watching "The Social Network" applied to this well deserved better construction.

A good movie, not an excellent film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BenTheBrownieDec 9, 2015
I personally didn't like this movie as much as everyone else. I'm not saying I absolutely hated the movie and I know some fan boys will see this and get extremely mad at my 7/10 rating because I guess all true “Oscar bait” stories are 10/10I personally didn't like this movie as much as everyone else. I'm not saying I absolutely hated the movie and I know some fan boys will see this and get extremely mad at my 7/10 rating because I guess all true “Oscar bait” stories are 10/10 flawless. But, I had flaws with this movie so why would I give it a 10/10? Maybe I'm just that one **** that hates every single movie to ever come out. Anyways, onto the review. First off, the performances of the main cast are phenomenal, they are absolutely phenomenal. Mark Ruffalo, (especially) Micheal Keaton and Racheal McAdams give exceptional performances that will leave you in awe. Those performances also mixed with the chemistry and at time exciting dialogue. I say “at times” because at times the pacing is slow and it seems that at that exact same time that the filler scenes/jokes come in. When I say jokes I legitimately mean jokes. They try to make such a dark tale a comedy to such an extreme extent to where you start to notice the pauses where people were supposed to laugh. In the end, what can I say? It was Oscar Bait but it was Oscar Bait done right. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moothemagiccowJan 21, 2016
Going in, I thought I knew what this movie was about. I had no idea. It is gripping. It's a revelation. I don't even care if Mark Ruffalo is pretending to be hispanic. It's that good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 29, 2016
Okay, I'm like forced to review a movie like this one here because I'm like running out of ideas on giving movies positive ratings in. Spotlight is an amazing work that you'll watch non-stop.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RatedRexJan 7, 2016
An outstanding, albeit somewhat clinical, look at the cover-up of sexual misconduct among some Catholic priests in the Catholic church. The acting, particularly Michael Keaton and Rachel McAdams, is top-notch. The ensemble shows you just howAn outstanding, albeit somewhat clinical, look at the cover-up of sexual misconduct among some Catholic priests in the Catholic church. The acting, particularly Michael Keaton and Rachel McAdams, is top-notch. The ensemble shows you just how good professional actors can be when they have great direction, and are given written material that allows them to showcase their acting skills. This is one of the top ten movies of 2015. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
honestmoviewatcJan 3, 2016
is anyone looking for the forest and the trees? this should not be about actors , critics. does anyone still believe that there are not many, many sexual preditors, out there feeling entitled to sexually molesting young boys and girls.is anyone looking for the forest and the trees? this should not be about actors , critics. does anyone still believe that there are not many, many sexual preditors, out there feeling entitled to sexually molesting young boys and girls. breaking God's and man's laws, when is rape acceptable in a
christian society? and u do not have to be a victim for the
catholic church to come after u. Are { God wills it } and { how do say no to God } ever acceptable in a Christian civilization. How many Hail Mary's should be said tomorrow?
The investigation into the first Boston priest convicted of molesting 150 young boys, should raise an outcry every where. But instead, it's just business as usual. How are the ratings, actors. and critics doing these days. How many Hail Mary's will be said tomorrow?
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ArpyJan 5, 2016
Spotlight, by movie definition, is a piece of art. This film presents a strong story, with actors who live the passion of being their character. It is a great movie; one of the best this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
herndonrulesJan 17, 2016
One of the best major films of the year. Many will be familiar with at least some aspects of the story, but that doesn't matter since the movie tells the tale in an engrossing manner. Very strong ensemble cast with every actor giving aOne of the best major films of the year. Many will be familiar with at least some aspects of the story, but that doesn't matter since the movie tells the tale in an engrossing manner. Very strong ensemble cast with every actor giving a laudable performance. Schreiber, Keaton and Ruffalo stand out. It has pacing of the standard investigative journalism film, which could frustrate some viewers, yet never seemed slow or boring to me. Instead, the viewer is quickly drawn into a "cover up" of voluminous proportions and the reporters attempt to unravel a conspiracy. Although my family and I were deeply moved, the only minor criticism is that the film leaves opportunities to affect viewer's emotions even further on the table. More focus on the victims and the indelible scars left on both they and their families would have made for an even more affecting film. That written, the movie succeeds tremendously on every level and should be a must see for those who enjoy a good story which is well told, well acted and well filmed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bmbeverageJan 10, 2016
This movie was fantastic. At first I just wanted to see it because I know (and indeed one of my first memories is of) one of the spotlight crew, but the movie was all around fantastic. The acting was great, the story progression was great,This movie was fantastic. At first I just wanted to see it because I know (and indeed one of my first memories is of) one of the spotlight crew, but the movie was all around fantastic. The acting was great, the story progression was great, and it told a powerful and, if I may say, important story. I really have nothing to say against the film, something fairly rare. Finally, in the words of Shakespeare, "It better bettered expectations than you can expect of me to tell you how." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kuzdiyenFeb 5, 2016
Spotlight was a truly important film. The subject matter this movie is about was one that needed guts to portray in a film and Tom McCarthy showed everyone that he had the guts and the cast to do the job. The story was told in a way thatSpotlight was a truly important film. The subject matter this movie is about was one that needed guts to portray in a film and Tom McCarthy showed everyone that he had the guts and the cast to do the job. The story was told in a way that never got boring but also never lost its seriousness. The movie also one of the few movies showed the journalists as the heroes they can be and really gave them the credit they deserve. The acting was perfect, with McAdams and Ruffalo possibly giving the best performances of their careers. There was just something so great about Spotlight and that's why I thought it was a perfect film that told a story that had to be told. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
rahuliamFeb 7, 2016
hey man you watched spotlight?
_ hell yeah!
you liked it? - why not,give me a reason. i heard this movie is boring and slow? - boring,absolutely not,but it's a little bit slow. i heard this movie nominated for six Academy Awards
hey man you watched spotlight?
_ hell yeah!

you liked it?
- why not,give me a reason.

i heard this movie is boring and slow?
- boring,absolutely not,but it's a little bit slow.

i heard this movie nominated for six Academy Awards including Best Film Editing, Best Supporting Actor: Mark Ruffalo, Best Supporting Actress: Rachel McAdams, Best Original Screenplay, Best Director, and Best Picture......your favorite choice?
- i don't know,maybe Mark Ruffalo...

what's your rating?
- 4.5 out of 5

this is probably one of the best newsroom drama i have ever seen...
must watch.....
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gigiuzFeb 10, 2016
Liev Schreiber is one of the most underrated actor of his generation. He's impersonating Martin Baron with great ability and intelligence, you believe he's an experienced journalist from the first scene until the last shot. The other actorsLiev Schreiber is one of the most underrated actor of his generation. He's impersonating Martin Baron with great ability and intelligence, you believe he's an experienced journalist from the first scene until the last shot. The other actors are great, especially Billy Cudrup, Brian D'Arcy, Jamey Sheridan...and Stanley Tucci is as good as an old Italian wine! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Thejudge21Mar 2, 2016
A decent film with a powerfull subject matter, but it should never have been given best film at the oscars. Its no "All the presidents men". So many film critics gave this 100/100.. 90/100. Why? Its got a higher score on here than schindlersA decent film with a powerfull subject matter, but it should never have been given best film at the oscars. Its no "All the presidents men". So many film critics gave this 100/100.. 90/100. Why? Its got a higher score on here than schindlers list, lord of the rings, and many other classic films. It goes to prove one thing. Most of the so called film critics today and the panel at the oscars aint got a clue. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMcQFeb 29, 2016
If there is an award for best investigative journalism film, it would have to go to this brilliant movie. Tom Mcarthy and Josh Singer execute this screenplay to such an incredible level it's quite special. The direction , acting and editingIf there is an award for best investigative journalism film, it would have to go to this brilliant movie. Tom Mcarthy and Josh Singer execute this screenplay to such an incredible level it's quite special. The direction , acting and editing are also worthy of much praise. This is the kind of film that may not get much attention at the box office but it one that will and should be remembered. The best film of the year, hands down! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PapawalesMar 13, 2016
As most movies go I tend to watch, ponder and then forget. This movie however is not in this category. I was angry, upset, crying and totally distraught after this film. I have children and it made love and cherish even more. No film I haveAs most movies go I tend to watch, ponder and then forget. This movie however is not in this category. I was angry, upset, crying and totally distraught after this film. I have children and it made love and cherish even more. No film I have ever seen has moved me like this and I congratulate all involved in this compelling and wonderful movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pureshoresMar 26, 2016
Reviews for this film are mixed, with some saying it wasn't hard-hitting enough. To me, it did what it was supposed to. It wasn't about asking people to get mad at the Catholic Church for all the atrocities it committed, somebody already didReviews for this film are mixed, with some saying it wasn't hard-hitting enough. To me, it did what it was supposed to. It wasn't about asking people to get mad at the Catholic Church for all the atrocities it committed, somebody already did that before. This one is about reminding everyone about what happened before, what we can learn from it and how we become better because of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheShrike222Jun 11, 2016
This is a fantastic movie. I've watched it multiple times and get something new out of it each time. Its hard to get a strong ensemble cast like this and they also got a lot of good character actors in the smaller parts. I love that theyThis is a fantastic movie. I've watched it multiple times and get something new out of it each time. Its hard to get a strong ensemble cast like this and they also got a lot of good character actors in the smaller parts. I love that they don't go for many dramatic film tricks, just let the material speak for itself. Some of the best moments are quiet where you get so absorbed that you almost forget to breathe. As a final note, it's wonderful to see Michael Keaton making a comeback. What a wonderful actor! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FIFNov 15, 2015
HOLY Spotlight Birdman! I can't say enough about this film. The story, acting, directing and lighting are all dialed in. I'm sure some a-hole will find something negative to say, but every one is a critic right?
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantNov 22, 2015
A generally effective though sometimes plodding chronicle of how Spotlight, the Boston Globe's investigative reporting unit, exposed the Catholic Church's coordinated coverup of the child abuse activities of priests around the world. After aA generally effective though sometimes plodding chronicle of how Spotlight, the Boston Globe's investigative reporting unit, exposed the Catholic Church's coordinated coverup of the child abuse activities of priests around the world. After a painfully slow opening 30 minutes, the film takes off, working best when the Spotlight reporters are out in the field, interviewing sources and uncovering leads. The picture's capable ensemble delivers with earnest, committed sincerity, despite a dearth of meaningful character development. Because of its powerful message, this is bound to be a strong awards season contender for sure. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
jsphxDec 19, 2015
This is Great film making. It is closely modeled on the Watergate Classic "All the President's Men". It eloquently demonstrates why a Free Press is an indispensable Pillar of democracy much less simple decency in the public arena. Taking onThis is Great film making. It is closely modeled on the Watergate Classic "All the President's Men". It eloquently demonstrates why a Free Press is an indispensable Pillar of democracy much less simple decency in the public arena. Taking on the Catholic Church Hierarchy in the most Catholic City and Urban Culture in America was a supreme act of courage and devotion to the TRUTH and powerless but still supremely important victims not powerful institutions and personages. Exposing the sordid culture of Priestly Child Abuse and High Level Church cover up took almost unheard of integrity and fiendishly Hard Work with no reward other than making Boston and the World a better place. This is the kind of art which inspires MORE acts of courage rather than getting along by going along mediocrity which seems universal and unbreakable UNTIL some ordinary people do EXTRAORDINARY things. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKNov 17, 2015
Every season there are a few films that remind me that interesting, well-acted, serious films still appear in megaplexes (occasionally). Spotlight is a kind of detective story with some very fine American acting. Liev Schrieber disappearsEvery season there are a few films that remind me that interesting, well-acted, serious films still appear in megaplexes (occasionally). Spotlight is a kind of detective story with some very fine American acting. Liev Schrieber disappears into his role almost completely (this is a compliment) and I am now convinced that Michael Keaton can indeed act and Birdman was no fluke. Also especially fine are Mark Ruffolo and Rachel McAdams. These are intelligent actors, but the director coaxes out of them a higher level of nuance, complexity, and humanity than they have achieved before. You believe them and forget they are actors you’ve seen many dozens of times. It’s a solid script (the quality of the ensemble writing reminded me of Margin Call), and most amazing of all you learn new things about a subject you’ve heard about many time – children abused by Catholic priests. You understand that there was a cockeyed logic behind it all – but, of course, understanding does not make it any less despicable. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
elitefourJan 10, 2016
Spotlight has a very attractive plot but it´s not a gripping portrayed of a controversial story. Many people say this film will be a classic,it´s not. The film doesn´t generate a sensation of fear or danger,there is not threat or a momentSpotlight has a very attractive plot but it´s not a gripping portrayed of a controversial story. Many people say this film will be a classic,it´s not. The film doesn´t generate a sensation of fear or danger,there is not threat or a moment when we can remember,there are no memorable dialogue or enough character development.
I think this film recieve too much praise because it´s simplicity of storytelling and controversial aspect. Tom Mccarthy was very brave,but he didn´t direct a memorable or enjoyable film. It´s very Dry and Joyless.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
misadventurerJan 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spotlight isn't as good as every seems to make it out to be. it's a feature length episode of Law & Order: SVU, what it does capture well, is the casual racism of Boston. If a character isn't Irish and Catholic by default at least one person per scene, in the case of Stanley Tucci, its himself, will mention the character's race or religion, for no other reason than to question why they care about why the Catholic Church does what it does, and it's a very "outsiders cause trouble" mentality. The performances are uneven, you get solid Keaton and Slattery, but there are no real characters for them, they're the straight men. Ruffalo's accent slips in and out of every scene, but he manages to keep it together for a big scene, standing up to Keaton, but you can't give an award for once scene when the rest of the performance is shoddy (unless its Anne Hathaway singing in a close up). I wanted to like Rachel McAdams more in this, she has a "Your Girl Friday" attitude, but its also because she's effectively the only female character in the entire film. The most interesting performance in the film is from Brian d'Arcy James, you know, that one guy in the movie you probably have no idea who is, with the eyebrows and the mustache, that's in more of the film than Liev Schreiber, who plays the new EIC of the Boston Globe who puts the Spotlight investigative team on the Catholic Molestation case in the first place. The film has a downer ending, and endings for Bio-Pics or based on true events films, are hard, because if you follow the news, generally you know how they're going to end, going in. With this, the article is front page of the Sunday Edition, and the film ends with post script cards telling how more than 1000 victims came forward after the article was written and then lists all the cities around the world where molestation involving the Catholic Church have taken place. The film was produced by Participant Media, which, their mission statement is to make films that matter, and most of their films are quite good, Spotlight came off as a hollow procedural and was almost more montage than narrative. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
j1trainNov 6, 2015
A powerful, straight forward drama with a propulsive style and great cast. The ending is overwhelming in its simplicity. It's hard to imagine a classier, more respectful take on this important story.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
DOUGKNov 28, 2015
Best movie of the year, great performances all around, great story and script, great photography. This is an important issue and we should be happy that film makers are willing to do this and make it clear that the church hierarchy wasBest movie of the year, great performances all around, great story and script, great photography. This is an important issue and we should be happy that film makers are willing to do this and make it clear that the church hierarchy was guilty. There has been a study showing that priests are no more likely than other men to be child molesters, however, they have far more access to children than most men have. Therefore, they are far more dangerous on average. The church failed miserably in protecting children, it probably is still failing and still trying to protect itself and its people rather than children. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
BHBarryNov 15, 2015
"Spotlight" was co-written by Josh Singer and Thomas McCarthy who also directed the film. It stars Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, John Slattery, Rachel McAdams and Leiv Schrieber (who looks like he should have taken 2 No-Doze pills before his"Spotlight" was co-written by Josh Singer and Thomas McCarthy who also directed the film. It stars Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, John Slattery, Rachel McAdams and Leiv Schrieber (who looks like he should have taken 2 No-Doze pills before his parts were shot).. The film tells the story of the investigative team of reporters on The Boston Globe (called "Spotlight") and how they uncovered the scandal in the Catholic Church involving the molestation and abuse of children by priests and the efforts made to cover up those transgressions by the Church hierarchy. The real "star" of the film is this most interesting story of how an institution so beloved and respected by its community could be made to be held accountable for these unconscionable acts engaged in by its representatives.. With all due respect to the performances of Messrs. Keaton and Ruffalo and Ms. McAdams,, the film takes too long to tell its story and is definitely a "look at my watch" experience. Nevertheless, the importance of the subject matter and the tenacity of those investigating and ultimately writing the story that won their paper a Pulitzer Prize makes it a film worth seeing. I give the film a 7.5 rating because, even after acknowledging its importance, it still remains an entertainment vehicle that should have left at least 20 minutes of it on the editing room floor. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JamesLNov 25, 2015
This is definitely one of the better movies of the year but I found it strangely cold and distant. It came across emotionless to me and I do not know why. Maybe it is because of my utter disgust for the Catholic Church and how they haveThis is definitely one of the better movies of the year but I found it strangely cold and distant. It came across emotionless to me and I do not know why. Maybe it is because of my utter disgust for the Catholic Church and how they have handled the child abuse issue. Still, the story is fascinating and informative. I think it is an important film about organized religion and the real priorities that they have. Mark Ruffalo and Michael Keaton were terrific. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 25, 2015
Spotlight is the Boston Globe's team of reporters that specializes in investigative reporting. Their most famous story was about child abuse by Catholic priests and the cover-up by the church. This team (led by Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo &Spotlight is the Boston Globe's team of reporters that specializes in investigative reporting. Their most famous story was about child abuse by Catholic priests and the cover-up by the church. This team (led by Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo & Rachel McAdams) tenaciously researches and interviews, as they gradually uncover the explosive truth. Even though this is basically a press procedural, the performances are earnest and the writing is rigorous. The tightly-paced drama is in their diligent efforts and intense concern. Director/co-writer Thomas McCarthy (along with Josh Singer) has resisted making the church into threatening villains and overloading the film with emotional confessions, which makes it more a fascinating academic exercise than a moving drama. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Dec 27, 2015
It is not surprising that critics are going gaga over a movie that 1) bashes the church and 2) is about how important journalists are. The movie is fine, but that is all it is. It is absurd to think that this forgettable, anticlimactic movieIt is not surprising that critics are going gaga over a movie that 1) bashes the church and 2) is about how important journalists are. The movie is fine, but that is all it is. It is absurd to think that this forgettable, anticlimactic movie is a masterpiece. Script, acting, and directing are nothing special. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
foxgroveFeb 10, 2016
Slow, surprisingly muted and almost overwhelmingly disappointing. This year’s Oscar front runner for best picture deals with The Boston Globe newspaper’s expose of the dirty dealings and hypocrisies of the Catholic Church. More specificallySlow, surprisingly muted and almost overwhelmingly disappointing. This year’s Oscar front runner for best picture deals with The Boston Globe newspaper’s expose of the dirty dealings and hypocrisies of the Catholic Church. More specifically it hones in on the sexual molestation of young boys by Catholic priests. However, despite this controversial hot potato of a subject the film seriously lacks any raw power or urgency. Instead it is content to have its leading investigators amble from meeting to meeting obtaining information rather too easily. Things aren’t helped by the lack of an emotional hook. The victims interviewed are all adults and come across as basic stock characters shouldering all the worst lines of dialogue like ‘Who can say no to god’. Lines like this are so phony that one winces with embarrassment. Anyone who has seen ‘All the President’s Men’ or Netflix’s current ‘Making a Murderer’ will know that films exposing evil or corruption can be nerve jinglingly tense and emotively powerful, but Mark Ruffalo’s annoying depiction of righteous anger just doesn’t cut it. Where the film does succeed is in keeping viewer interest in a subplot as to who in Spotlight’s department was responsible, and therefore complicit, in burying the story years earlier. Performance wise the Oscar nominated turns of both Ruffalo and Rachel McAdams seem quite conventional and uninteresting, whereas the actors in smaller parts; Liev Schreiber, Stanley Tucci, Billy Crudup and John Slattery all fare much better. The ‘Spotlight’, however, does shine on one person; Michael Keaton. For an actor who is often guilty of being way over the top he is here at his most understated. It is more than fair to say that he single handedly elevates ‘Spotlight’ to a level way above the mediocrity of the rest of the film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Dec 23, 2015
With brilliant performances led by the entire cast Spotlight hits it in all cylinders from story and emotional impact. Spotlight has it plots right out the gate but development is what stands out the most as films goes on the movie getsWith brilliant performances led by the entire cast Spotlight hits it in all cylinders from story and emotional impact. Spotlight has it plots right out the gate but development is what stands out the most as films goes on the movie gets better and more emotional. Overall, Spotlight deserves its praise and a view from people. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
GamingNinjaFeb 16, 2016
Overrated movie getting overrated ratings because of fragile subject..
The movie is well acted and told but to praise to this level is nonsense..
It's an above average movie with a lot of dialog and little heart. Worth watching.. Sure.
Overrated movie getting overrated ratings because of fragile subject..
The movie is well acted and told but to praise to this level is nonsense..
It's an above average movie with a lot of dialog and little heart.

Worth watching.. Sure. Worth praising..? No.

7.5/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
AquaMorphJan 21, 2016
I was skeptical of this movie at first because to me it looked like Oscar bait and while it might be that it is also a great film. The pacing of this film is nearly perfect minus a few awkward scenes. The story told is extremely interestingI was skeptical of this movie at first because to me it looked like Oscar bait and while it might be that it is also a great film. The pacing of this film is nearly perfect minus a few awkward scenes. The story told is extremely interesting and told in a gut wrenching manner which makes it unforgettable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MaryMaeDec 27, 2015
Spotlight while admirable, fell flat in nearly every department. It was painfully boring with no sense of direction. Not a very good follow up for Micheal Keaton. I expected more.
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTFeb 18, 2016
Straightforward no frills, well acted, investigative journalistic procedural based on true story; heavy on dialogue as you'd expect but short on vigor, suspense, emotional payoffs, and an overall sense of urgency. Sorry but a tough subjectStraightforward no frills, well acted, investigative journalistic procedural based on true story; heavy on dialogue as you'd expect but short on vigor, suspense, emotional payoffs, and an overall sense of urgency. Sorry but a tough subject alone does not grant a pass for great movie. The craftsmanship is solid, though no flair for moviemaking is evident in this only mildly involving story. This same movie aesthetically could have come out in 2001 or in 1970, whether that's a problem or not is not the issue, but the low key to the point of nearly emotionless arch is. It is there however subtle making it more realistic but also less satisfying as movie artifice. It does not deserve Best Picture and is a prime example of serious content alone trumping form. Ruffalo does not deserve the nom any more than every other member of the ensemble, that is besides Rachel McAdams who is a good actress but any of literally hundreds of others could easily play this part to the same effect.
The basic problem with this movie and what most of the worthless dopey critics next door ignore because of their bias and incompetence is it's underwhelming!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
hotfromcauldronNov 24, 2015
Spotlight soars as a docudrama with it’s compelling subject matter and strong cast. It is informative and infuriating and forces you to face some harsh truths as it unfolds. Using the cloth of God the troubled youth are preyed upon insteadSpotlight soars as a docudrama with it’s compelling subject matter and strong cast. It is informative and infuriating and forces you to face some harsh truths as it unfolds. Using the cloth of God the troubled youth are preyed upon instead of prayed for. A weakness of this genre to me is the lack of character development. But Mark Rufallo inhibits his role - hands nestled in his pockets- thumbs twitching- he is the heart, soul and drive of this film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
AxgrinderNov 28, 2015
Warning! Professional reviewers are gushing over Spotlight. This is often a “tell” that a movie isn’t very appealing to large swaths of the general movie-going public, and such is the case here. Despite a good cast, decent acting andWarning! Professional reviewers are gushing over Spotlight. This is often a “tell” that a movie isn’t very appealing to large swaths of the general movie-going public, and such is the case here. Despite a good cast, decent acting and intelligent dialogue, the movie is just plain boring.

Spotlight explains how a small team of investigative reporters at a “local” newspaper (The Boston Globe) uncovered, and eventually reported on, Catholic Priests molesting children in the Boston area. If you’ve read a newspaper in the last 10 years you already know the basic story: Church hierarchy was not only aware of the problem, but had been covering it up for decades. The breaking of the story led to subsequent revelations that the abuse inflicted by these Catholic priests on their parishioners wasn’t an isolated incident limited to the Boston area. It’s a world-wide plague.

It’s almost impossible to be oppugnant of a movie whose subject matter is so poignant. The problem is that Spotlight just isn’t that interesting, unless you are Catholic, a newspaper writer, or from the Boston area. Most of us would expect a movie about such atrocities to answer the basic question, who is responsible? We might also expect a movie in which Good ultimately triumphs over Evil, and the Bad are brought to justice. Spotlight painstakingly avoids the later and the typical Hollywood happy ending.

Instead, the movie is an introspection which attempts to focus on identifying how something so disgusting and so widespread could have gone on for so long. The movie answers this question in an unexpected manner that is the ultimate indictment of Catholic orthodoxy, which seeks to imbue the faithful with a belief that the church is both inherently good and infallible in its decision making (and thus is not to be questioned) and that man, who is born sinful, should feel guilty about everything that he does (or in this case, doesn’t do).

The only real tension in the movie comes when the audience learns that information about priests molesting children was previously sent to the newspaper many years ago, but the newspaper failed to act on it, and that someone may have deliberately buried it. We continually wait for this play out, only to discover in highly anticlimactic fashion that the inaction was probably inadvertent (or maybe subconsciously suppressed and ignored).

We are left with the idea that the catholic community of Boston (which is portrayed as a fiercely prideful and tightknit community) knew or should have known what was going on for all those years and thus, the community bears significant responsible for the decades of delay in stopping the abuse.

While I appreciate the irony that a Catholic community is made up of individuals who, as a result of church teachings, are permeated with a sense of guilt, and thus might blame themselves for not outing their own child molesting priests on a more-timely basis, I didn’t view this movie as involving some grand revelation, I saw it more as a movie about mental self-flagellation.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
6
jrodfilmsNov 18, 2015
the movie is good, but i think you can wait for HBO On Demand, since it has a 'movie of the week' feeling. Good performances, but i didnt think anything was groundbreaking.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
2
NickJewelJan 23, 2016
I was so disappointed by "Spotlight." I'm usually a HUGE admirer of Ruffalo's work but instead I found his performance one-note and off-putting. I was bored throughout much of the movie. It was formulaic -- absolutely nothing interestingI was so disappointed by "Spotlight." I'm usually a HUGE admirer of Ruffalo's work but instead I found his performance one-note and off-putting. I was bored throughout much of the movie. It was formulaic -- absolutely nothing interesting or engaging in the way it was made. So disappointing because I figured with the Oscar nominations it received, it would be a great film. The one thing that stood out for me was the score, which was (unfortunately) the only thing moving the emotional narrative forward at all. Otherwise, it's one of the most dry, boring films I've seen in ages. I don't recommend it. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
3
everlarkislifeDec 27, 2015
I saw this movie with my mom and we both agreed that is was bad. It did not grab my attention. I don't really understand why everyone loves this movie. Exposing the Catholic Church has never been so dull. One of the worst movies of the year.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
5
zaninifDec 4, 2015
A movie to watch at home if there's nothing else on. You are gonna need multiple breaks while watching it at home - it's kind of boring. The only thing going for this movie is the acting, which is good but unremarkable. Don't waste $13 on this.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Dec 27, 2015
I was really looking forward to this movie especially since many of my favorite actors are in this movie. It turned out to be terrible. So boring. Just wait until it is on TV to see it if you want to.
4 of 50 users found this helpful446
All this user's reviews
1
cronleeMar 4, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am giving this low score because this movie bored me to tears. 90% of the screen shots are people working in offices, drinking coffee, carrying laptops around from office to office to restaurant ... reminded me of my days working as an office temp. The subject-matter I think is what got it the Oscar - but the
filming was, in addition to being office-bound, was not distinctive; the score has already been satirized in Burn After Reading (among others); the actors had zero charismal; and the plot was totally cliched [SPOILER ALERT] - down to the shots of the newspaper finally rolling out copies with the truth, which has been around since the 1930s: and actuallly were not that relevant to the post-9/11 era - shots of computer screens downloading the news would have been more a propos. You could have made a much more interesting movie if there had been more screen time devoted to the criminals, the victims, how the victims later organized, the reactions of the Cardinal and the hierarchy to unfolding events -- this fillm won for its good intentions, period. It is basically an unimaginative, tedious, predictable, and cliched work.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SierpinaJan 24, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sus trailers prometen demasiado, la verdad es que la trama es buena pero pesada, a ratos la película es lenta y las actuaciones brillante no las vi en ningún lado. No debería ganar como mejor película. Discreta Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
NBNEMar 4, 2016
Important story, and think this only won Best Picture because of the subject matter. The acting was over the top - of course we are angry - but I felt never felt an emotional connection or outrage through the characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ScraperJun 26, 2016
Spotlight is water-tight in it's revelations about human nature during such a deep, affecting tragedy that leaves most speechless at first reveal. The emotional payoffs aren't dropped like an anvil, rather plainly told as each layer is peeledSpotlight is water-tight in it's revelations about human nature during such a deep, affecting tragedy that leaves most speechless at first reveal. The emotional payoffs aren't dropped like an anvil, rather plainly told as each layer is peeled away and have no less impact. This is great modern movie making. It lets the audience feel it's gravity as lies are told, secrets are revealed, and human nature, for better or worse, is acted out with undeniable clarity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DonMegaMar 21, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An average rating of 8 is about right. Although this definitely isn't a best picture in any standards it does deserve the win for one simple fact. Everyone should watch it. This is an issue that has bugged me for years about the church and not many people take it seriously, winning best picture will make this movie viewed by many more people than it would have without.
One thing that I didn't like in the movie was that they didn't really show the push back that the real life reporters and editors received when working on this story. Sure in the movie we see some threats but otherwise it's smooth sailing for them and nothing really makes any impact on them.
The child abuse is a major aspect but they should have shown the more dirty tactics the church tried playing to cover the story from happening.
This movie will bring a tears and make you extremely angry, but I recommend everyone to see it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews