GEM Entertainment | Release Date: April 12, 2019
Summary: Stockholm is based on the absurd but true story of a 1973 bank heist and hostage crisis documented in the 1974 New Yorker article “The Bank Drama” by Daniel Lang. The film follows Lars Nystrom, (Ethan Hawke) who dons a disguise to raid a central Stockholm bank. He then takes hostages in order to spring his pal Gunnar (Mark Strong) from prison. One of the hostages includes Bianca (Noomi Rapace), a wife and mother of two. Negotiations with detectives hits a wall when (at the request of the Prime Minister) the police refuse to let Lars leave in a getaway car with the hostages. As hours turn into days, Lars alternates between threatening the hostages and making them feel comfortable and secure. The hostages develop an uneasy relationship with their captor, which is particularly complex for Bianca, who develops a strong bond with Lars as she witnesses his caring nature. This connection gave rise to the psychological phenomenon known as “Stockholm syndrome”.
Watch Now


Runtime: 92 min
Rating: Rated R for language and brief violence
Production: Blumhouse Productions
Genres: Biography, Drama, History, Comedy, Crime
Countries: US, CA
Language: English
Director Credit
Robert Budreau Director
Writer Credit
Robert Budreau Writer
Principal Cast Credit
Bea Santos Klara Mardh
Christopher Heyerdahl Chief Mattsson
Christopher Wagelin Vincent
Ethan Hawke Kaj Hansson/Lars Nystrom
Gustaf Hammarsten Stockholm Taxi Driver
Hanneke Talbot Vincent's Assistant
Ian Matthews Detective Vinter
John Ralston Detective Jackobsson
Mark Rendall Elov Eriksson
Mark Strong Gunnar Sorensson
Noomi Rapace Bianca Lind
Shanti Roney Olof Palme
Thorbjørn Harr Christopher Lind
Cast Credit
Anders Yates Fjorn
Christopher Wagelin Vincent (Reporter)
Gustaf Hammarsten Taxi Driver
Ian Matthews Detective Vinter
Jonelle Gunderson Olof Palme's Secretary
Linzee Barclay Injured Bank Customer
Nonnie Griffin Old Lady In Bank
Shanti Roney Olof Palme
Thorbjørn Harr Christopher Lind
Vladimir Jon Cubrt Davin
Producer Credit
Adam Moryto Executive Producer
Andrew Chang-Sang Executive Producer
Clarissa Mitchell Associate Producer
Fredrik Zander Producer
Harry Cherniak Associate Producer
Jason Blum Executive Producer
John Hills Executive Producer
Jonathan Bronfman Producer
Lisa Widén Co-Producer
Lowell Cauffiel Executive Producer
Marek Posival Co-Producer
Nicholas Tabarrok Producer
Paul Barkin Co-Producer
Robert Budreau Producer
Ryan Reaney Associate Producer
Scott Aversano Executive Producer
Will Russell-Shapiro Executive Producer
William Santor Executive Producer