Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2015
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 426 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
348
Mixed:
38
Negative:
40
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
moviemitch96Sep 1, 2015
I must admit that I was pretty surprised by how well this film turned out to be, because it's without a doubt one of the best music-based biopics I've seen! The whole cast gave strong performances and the story had the perfect blend of drama,I must admit that I was pretty surprised by how well this film turned out to be, because it's without a doubt one of the best music-based biopics I've seen! The whole cast gave strong performances and the story had the perfect blend of drama, emotion, etc. I don't even really consider myself a fan of NWA or rap in general for that matter, which is why I'm all the more surprised by how much I enjoyed this film! Overall, definitely check it out if you're a fan of NWA, but even if you're not that familiar with them or their music, their compelling story portrayed in the film is all the reason to see it! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JboogieReviewsSep 7, 2015
Easily one of the best movies I've seen all year. The story was great. The actors did a fantastic job convincing the audience that they were the young members of the group. The soundtrack for this movie is fantastic. Even if you're not a fanEasily one of the best movies I've seen all year. The story was great. The actors did a fantastic job convincing the audience that they were the young members of the group. The soundtrack for this movie is fantastic. Even if you're not a fan of the music genre or don't really know anything about the group, I still highly recommend this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
irmdogAug 30, 2015
Best movie of the year so far, experienced every emotion from laughter to grief. Very well made with good story pacing, 2 hours 30 minutes but was never boring. Great music throughout, shame this group left so much good music on the table toBest movie of the year so far, experienced every emotion from laughter to grief. Very well made with good story pacing, 2 hours 30 minutes but was never boring. Great music throughout, shame this group left so much good music on the table to pursue solo careers, if only Ice Cube signed that contract! Dammit! Ironic that 2 of my favorite movies this year both starred Paul Giamatti as an evil music agent, Love d Mercy and this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticJan 24, 2016
I don't like rap never have that being said this is a very good film. The main reason I enjoyed the film is because it wasn't just about the music it is also about the industry itself and the culture it was created in. A-
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
thebombSep 1, 2015
You won't be surprised by this movie if you have any knowledge about the history of NWA. It is most of the time predictable. Despite that, Straight Outta Compton is still a perfectly recommendable experience. It's well paced, visuallyYou won't be surprised by this movie if you have any knowledge about the history of NWA. It is most of the time predictable. Despite that, Straight Outta Compton is still a perfectly recommendable experience. It's well paced, visually impressive and offers great music performances as well as good acting. Dope. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FarhanFirozOct 2, 2015
This is one of the best movies of this year and it is the best music biopic since 8Mile.The Movie is great in every way.The actors looks exactly like NWA in the 1980's and the acting was absolutely great. The movie tells a lot about theirThis is one of the best movies of this year and it is the best music biopic since 8Mile.The Movie is great in every way.The actors looks exactly like NWA in the 1980's and the acting was absolutely great. The movie tells a lot about their lives and its kinda insane too . The concert scenes looked realistic and entertaining. The movie is not just doing crazy stuff it even has heart in it. There were 2 great cameos which was surprising. The soundtracks were great . The only problem I had with the movie is the pacing issue.

In the end Straight Outta Compton is a great biopic. You will have a great time with the movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
atadpolishSep 23, 2015
When I went into the cinema to see Straight Outta Compton I was expecting a film which glamorised the gangsta rap lifestyle with lavish parties which featured excessive violence, sex and drug use. What I got was a well executed biopic whichWhen I went into the cinema to see Straight Outta Compton I was expecting a film which glamorised the gangsta rap lifestyle with lavish parties which featured excessive violence, sex and drug use. What I got was a well executed biopic which looks at the rise and fall of one of most influential rap groups in American history.

The film is more than an standard biopic, it deals with themes that are bigger than N.W.A. Police brutality/racism is a common theme throughout the film. One scene where the group are harassed by police for simply standing outside there recording studio highlights how tough it was to be a young African American at the time. Sadly it reminds the audience how nothing has really changed in the last 25 years for this portion of the American demographic. The other theme's the film delves into are greed, gang violence and betrayal.

The cast is headed by three very talented young actor's, O'Shea Jackson Jr, Corey Hawkins and Jason Mitchell play Ice Cube, Dr Dre & Eazy E with ease and style, Paul Giamatti as Jerry Heller is excellently cast and proves why he s one of the best actor's of his generation.

The film isn't perfect as it struggles from pacing issue's throughout but overall director F. Gary Gray achieves a decent film which is made better by the performances of it's actors. This is a large improvement for F.Gary Gray as some of previous films such as The Italian Job remake and Be Cool will not be remembered as fondly as Straight Outta Compton.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
shanay16Oct 31, 2015
Great movie, I have always loved NWA ever since I first listened to their music. This movie has everything, from funky beats, hardcore lyrics, racism, riots to greed, violence and heartbreak. The reason I gave this movie 8/10 is because itGreat movie, I have always loved NWA ever since I first listened to their music. This movie has everything, from funky beats, hardcore lyrics, racism, riots to greed, violence and heartbreak. The reason I gave this movie 8/10 is because it does not show certain parts of NWA. For example, in the movie MC Ren's and DJ Yella's contributions to the group are shown to be a minimum. The homophobia, misogynist controversies created by NWA have not been shown. Good movie overall though. RIP Eazy Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
You won't be surprised by this movie if you have any knowledge about the history of NWA. It is most of the time predictable. Despite that, Straight Outta Compton is still a perfectly recommendable experience. It's well paced, visuallyYou won't be surprised by this movie if you have any knowledge about the history of NWA. It is most of the time predictable. Despite that, Straight Outta Compton is still a perfectly recommendable experience. It's well paced, visually impressive and offers great music performances as well as good acting. Dope. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RatedRexFeb 20, 2016
Straight Outta Compton is a horror story. It shows a culture that is in a perpetual confrontational frame of mind. Disrespect is rampant. Respect isn't earned, it is snatched through intimidation. The bigger the man, or the bigger the gun,Straight Outta Compton is a horror story. It shows a culture that is in a perpetual confrontational frame of mind. Disrespect is rampant. Respect isn't earned, it is snatched through intimidation. The bigger the man, or the bigger the gun, the more respect is garnered. The community talks of brotherhood, but in reality, it is just the opposite. It is amazing how the people of the community know that their lifestyle is self-destructive, but they adopt the lifestyle anyway. I guess many of them believe that they almost have no choice. One of these days someone will have the nerve to make a movie explaining the real reasons why things are so bad in the hood. Until then we will have movies like "Straight Outta Compton" doing their best to give us a peek inside America's haunted house and the people who live there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BobJenkinsJan 24, 2016
This film was very good and entertaining for the first part, but it falls flat on its face when it comes to accuracy. This movie makes Eazy-E look like a whiny, angry, annoying **** who fell down after Dr. Dre and Ice Cube left RuthlessThis film was very good and entertaining for the first part, but it falls flat on its face when it comes to accuracy. This movie makes Eazy-E look like a whiny, angry, annoying **** who fell down after Dr. Dre and Ice Cube left Ruthless Records when that was never the case. What I've got to say is that this movie goes out of its way to glorify Ice Cube and Dr. Dre while making Eazy-E look like a failure. This is likely due to the fact that Ice Cube and Dr. Dre produced this movie. Nonetheless, it's still an entertaining movie and I would recommend it as a movie, not as an accurate depiction of what did happen with N.W.A from 1986-1995. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsMar 7, 2018
Straight Outta Compton is one of my top ten favorite movies. This legacy film about the NWA is everything a great biopic should be. The performances are incredible across the entire cast. Every shot is masterful. The inclusion of the musicStraight Outta Compton is one of my top ten favorite movies. This legacy film about the NWA is everything a great biopic should be. The performances are incredible across the entire cast. Every shot is masterful. The inclusion of the music elevates the story. Every single line of dialogue drives the story forward. The best part about Straight Outta Compton is that you become so invested in the characters and the story that you forget you're watching a movie. You are really transported to this period in rap history. Eazy-E, Ice Cube, and Dr. Dre got an amazing send up by this film, and this film will keep the ultimately human story of the NWA real for years to come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DanksoftJun 21, 2018
Its the best movie r.i.p easy e rest in peace I really like there album straight outta compton
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
tjman09Aug 20, 2015
Straight Outta Compton is a terrific journey through the music, and culture of the 80's and 90's despite it's stereotypes. This movie is fun to watch, for multiple reasons, but the biggest is the music. While you watch and jam out to theStraight Outta Compton is a terrific journey through the music, and culture of the 80's and 90's despite it's stereotypes. This movie is fun to watch, for multiple reasons, but the biggest is the music. While you watch and jam out to the awesome music, you also get to see the culture and society of the 80's and 90's. Besides the music, the acting is also surprisingly good, as all of the actors are given moments to shine. My biggest complaint is the portrayal of police in the film, I understand that a large majority of police in Los Angeles were corrupt, but not every cop was a racist pig, I think the racist cops would have been even more resonating if we saw a normal cop every once and a while, not just a bunch of growling, racist, asses. In essence Straight Outta Compton is a funny, well acted, engrossing, music jam fest, that chronicles one of the more important rap groups of all time, but could have layed off of the stereotypes. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
wadisplaceAug 14, 2015
I saw it at a Thursday Night Preview. This is going to be one of those instant classics. Five boyz from the hood, who knew they wanted to be successful, who were experimenting with music, and created something that was never heard before.I saw it at a Thursday Night Preview. This is going to be one of those instant classics. Five boyz from the hood, who knew they wanted to be successful, who were experimenting with music, and created something that was never heard before. Something that took off like wildfire, and they had no control over it's success. They went from a friends basement to the world stage in a few short years. And how instant success can also be a downfall. This is a MUST SEE MOVIE. Expand
14 of 24 users found this helpful1410
All this user's reviews
7
FilmPhonicSep 3, 2015
It may be hard to believe but “hardcore” Rap wasn’t always all about all the Bling-Bling or the size of your girl’s rear-end. When NWA broke into the scene unapologetically spitting rhymes about the brutality of the streets they lived on,It may be hard to believe but “hardcore” Rap wasn’t always all about all the Bling-Bling or the size of your girl’s rear-end. When NWA broke into the scene unapologetically spitting rhymes about the brutality of the streets they lived on, “Gangsta Rap” was effectively born, which then gave birth to a string of early 90s gritty “ghetto” dramas like ‘Boyz n the Hood’ and ‘Menace II Society,‘ with their unglamorized depictions of young black Americans growing up in the most deprived areas in the USA.

With ‘Straight Outta Compton’, director F. Gary Gray (Friday, Law Abiding Citizen) manages to effectively combine the harsh nature of these early 90s “Hood” dramas with the core elements of a dramatized contemporary-culture biopic, to build what is essentially a modern “American Dream” human drama, after all NWA members Ice Cube and Dr. Dre went from struggling poor teenagers in gang-dominated South Central L.A. to global music superstars and eventually multi-millionaire media-moguls.

The story in ‘Straight Outta Compton’ is more extraordinary than fiction despite being “dramatized”, but the performances are the stars of the show, particular praise must be given to Ice Cube’s own son O’Shea Jackson Jr. who very convincingly plays his old man and Jason Mitchell for effectively capturing the essence of the late Eazy-E.

Despite the novelty of being a Rap and urban-drama real story, ‘Straight Outta Compton’ walks a very similar and well-trodden path that most music Biopics seem to follow, complete with strategically placed moments of pathos and grief, perhaps the most disappointing element is the depiction of the group members as heroes of the piece taking little responsibility for their actions and those of the “villains” around them, not surprising since the movie is produced and effectively helmed by Ice Cube and Dr. Dre themselves.

For its shortcomings, ‘Straight Outta Compton’ is a compelling watch and as good as any recent music biopic, albeit in a sub-genre that is often disappointing, the most striking theme of the film is that of police brutality and the systemic oppression of ethnic minorities in the USA… and although it should not be an excuse for callous and subversive behaviour, it does highlight an issue which remains as prevalent today as in the early days of NWA.

The Bottom Line…
While it’s confined by the predictable limitations of the music biopic genre, ‘Straight Outta Compton’ is an effectively crafted “ghetto” drama based on a true-story more extraordinary than fiction which manages to retain its social relevance.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
chugheadAug 29, 2015
░▒▓█▀▄▀▄▀▄█▓▒░ NWA was the Civil Rights Movement for the hood! This film translates into the story about how cops draw conclusions about every black young male in the hood is a thug and how they aggressively deal with this stereotype░▒▓█▀▄▀▄▀▄█▓▒░ NWA was the Civil Rights Movement for the hood! This film translates into the story about how cops draw conclusions about every black young male in the hood is a thug and how they aggressively deal with this stereotype prejudice. But these young men fight back with justice through their creative street sounds to tell America of the abuse and struggles of surviving in the hood. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
DCEdmondsAug 20, 2015
"Straight Outta Compton" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Great) ...

The Good: Despite being filled with unknowns, the film is well acted and full of great performances. You can tell that the leads were fans of the source material. O'Shea Jackson Jr,
"Straight Outta Compton" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Great) ...

The Good: Despite being filled with unknowns, the film is well acted and full of great performances. You can tell that the leads were fans of the source material. O'Shea Jackson Jr, playing his real life father Ice Cube in the film, was especially good and stood out from the rest. The film itself is fascinating and at times far more humorous than I expected it to be. Some will go into the film assuming it is dark and violent and while it certainly doesn't pull any punches, it has more heart and at times has a lighter tone than you'd think. The soundtrack is obviously top notch and well crafted. It didn't simply play N.W.A.'s greatest hits, but also timed them well and showcased a lot of solo material throughout the movie. A great love letter to the group and something that fans of N.W.A.'s music will be proud of.

The Bad: If you're not a fan of N.W.A., then you won't like it nearly as much. You'll still be entertained to an extent, but it won't grab you like it would someone who grew up with the music. Some moments of their career was glossed over somewhat and I would have liked to seen more of their rise than is shown. MC Ren, a founding member of the group, is completely under-represented and fades into the background even more so as the film chugs along. I understand that Dre, Ice Cube, and Eazy had titanic solo careers, but Ren was one of the driving forces behind the group and the chief rapper on a lot of their tracks. It's a shame that he didn't quite get the credit he deserves.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
heatfan90Aug 17, 2015
Dope movie! Definitely a classic! I would recommend watching the NWA Documentary if you have never heard about NWA. There were people in the movie who acted as if it was a fictional biopic lol. I would see it again! Ice Cube's son did greatDope movie! Definitely a classic! I would recommend watching the NWA Documentary if you have never heard about NWA. There were people in the movie who acted as if it was a fictional biopic lol. I would see it again! Ice Cube's son did great as well as Jason Mitchell (Eazy-E) and Paul Giamatti. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
Jivey236Aug 26, 2015
If you are going into "Straight Outta Compton" not expecting to hear so many curse words and poor treatment to women, then you clearly do not know what you are walking into.

I was going to start with everything bad, but I can't think of
If you are going into "Straight Outta Compton" not expecting to hear so many curse words and poor treatment to women, then you clearly do not know what you are walking into.

I was going to start with everything bad, but I can't think of anything. This is literal perfection for a biopic, Gary Gray chose an all-star cast that did an excellent portrayal of their characters, at some points, I thought Ice Cube's son was actually Ice Cube! It shows the harsh world that they grew up in and the mistreatment by the police, and in return, N.W.A. 's I-dont-care attitude. I would say it needed all the language, have you heard any N.W.A. song? If you're going to make a movie about artists, the least you could do is preserve their artistic intentions, which were to show a harsh reality through harsh language and lyrics. The women, drugs, violence, all of that just melds together with the emotionally gripping story and the end product is pure cinema gold. I must say, it is an intense movie and is not for the light- hearted. A major step up from the movie "Notorious", which it is commonly compared with.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
dammanAug 14, 2015
Great movie and story-line. this movie was well written and acted. You will walk out of the theater satisfied trust me. I will not give any spoilers but the time line and life of each member was well written. I love Bio Picks and this oneGreat movie and story-line. this movie was well written and acted. You will walk out of the theater satisfied trust me. I will not give any spoilers but the time line and life of each member was well written. I love Bio Picks and this one fall in that category. 10/10 Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
roosevelt323Aug 17, 2015
HOW COULD I NOT RATE THIS MOVIE A 10? ITS EVERYTHING I HOPED FOR. BEING AN NWA FAN DURING THEIR HEYDAY AND INTO THE PRESENT.. I WAS SKEPTICAL THAT ANY HOLLYWOOD DEPICTION OF A GROUP OF REAL PIONEERS LIKE NWA WOULD BE HOLLOW AND TAILORED FORHOW COULD I NOT RATE THIS MOVIE A 10? ITS EVERYTHING I HOPED FOR. BEING AN NWA FAN DURING THEIR HEYDAY AND INTO THE PRESENT.. I WAS SKEPTICAL THAT ANY HOLLYWOOD DEPICTION OF A GROUP OF REAL PIONEERS LIKE NWA WOULD BE HOLLOW AND TAILORED FOR THE GENERAL POPULATION AT LARGE. FANS AND NON-FANS ALIKE... BUT AFTER SEEING THIS MOVIE... I STAND CORRECTED. PROPS TO THE DIRECTOR.. UNIVERSAL.... AND THE LIVING MEMBERS OF NWA FOR GIVING US FANS A GLIMPSE INTO THE REAL LIFE AND STRUGGLES OF NWA AND HOW THEY WERE RECEIVED AND REJECTED ALIKE DURING THEIR RISE. GOOD 2 HOURS SPENT IN AN A/C COOLED THEATER... GO SEE IT Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
SeanGamerDaysAug 21, 2015
this is a good movie, We now can learned the true history of the N***az With Attitude (NWA). We also learn why people are so scared of Black People, cuz they're goddamn color, **** please! They ain't a threat! They just people, 'kay?! This isthis is a good movie, We now can learned the true history of the N***az With Attitude (NWA). We also learn why people are so scared of Black People, cuz they're goddamn color, **** please! They ain't a threat! They just people, 'kay?! This is my favorite movies of all time, and this is what people got something to say, in their own life, about tha police! So if a cop assaulted you, Play "F**k tha Police", So you know your right! The drama's work very well, & it's good! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
BB_CriticAug 23, 2015
Straight Outta Compton is definitely the best biopic of the decade. This is because of it's great script, great acting, and great chemistry between its stars. The performance I was most impressed with was by Ice Cube's son, who played IceStraight Outta Compton is definitely the best biopic of the decade. This is because of it's great script, great acting, and great chemistry between its stars. The performance I was most impressed with was by Ice Cube's son, who played Ice Cube. Paul Giamatti was also good in the film. This movie will definitely (well, I hope) a good amount of Oscars for its great direction Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
metalupyourassAug 24, 2015
great movie, shows the rise and fall of nwa perfect acting and emotional drama, far successful at giving the life of a gang banger in compton than boyz n da hood, (even though there is a 22 year difference). i thought it was gunna focus allgreat movie, shows the rise and fall of nwa perfect acting and emotional drama, far successful at giving the life of a gang banger in compton than boyz n da hood, (even though there is a 22 year difference). i thought it was gunna focus all on them being badass **** it showwed the emotional side that i didn't believe they were gunna actually put in the movie, i'm a huge metal head but i **** love the nwa! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
Ventura94Aug 21, 2015
One of the best movies in 2015 ! You won't regret seeing this ! Definetely deserves an Oscar or a nomination.... If you go watch this you won't be dissapointed
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
tobinISawesomeAug 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a really really really good movie! i had a ton of concerns mainly because i was not sure if the acting was going to work i was not sure how cover songs would work but it never was a disappointment. the acting was superb! these guys were crying yelling and were pissed off and i was sometimes forgetting that it was a movie um this movie is not for everyone ok its very sad its brutal and its going to make you fee really uncomfortable sometimes especially with the Rodney king part of the movie its not fun to watch but thats how it was intended and im glad this stuff was brought up they push it to the max here so they can explain what happened and how they became a non violent weapon against all of this crap that was going on in the city of Compton! now i have only one very small complaint being that this movie can only go on for so long meaning this huge story was crammed into 2 and a half hours one minute there broke dudes trying to make a point and half hour later there huge stars its way too fast. but this movie is so good it could be as much of a classic as the album straight outta compton and its worth every single cent. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
m_rahimiAug 29, 2015
sdada
asd
asd
asd
as
da
sd
asd
as
das
d
asdsadasdasdasdmndsfbdsmnbfmsndbfmnsbdfmnsbmnfbsmbfm msnbf mn bmnb mns bmnsb fmns bmns bfnms bmns bfmnsbnmsb msbm nbsm b
sdfsjkdfls
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryAug 28, 2015
This is a biopic of N.W.A., the seminal gangster rappers who rose from the violent streets of Compton, California in the mid-80s. The first hour lays out their hood's brutal culture and their rise to national success. The next 90 minutesThis is a biopic of N.W.A., the seminal gangster rappers who rose from the violent streets of Compton, California in the mid-80s. The first hour lays out their hood's brutal culture and their rise to national success. The next 90 minutes (yes, it's 147 minutes long) watches as the 3 major members (Easy-E, Dr. Dre and Ice Cube) go their separate ways and struggle with their own success. Director F Gary Gray has succeeded in crafting an environment that effectively reflects their aggressive, intense world, while managing to create sensitive portraits of the main characters. It's noisy, brutal and decadent, yet informative, empathetic and affecting. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
3ebfan511Sep 5, 2015
Probably one of the best movies about this era, right up with Boyz In The Hood (one of my favorite films of all time.) The only negative I can think of is maybe since Dr. Dre was a producer some of his negative incidents were not included,Probably one of the best movies about this era, right up with Boyz In The Hood (one of my favorite films of all time.) The only negative I can think of is maybe since Dr. Dre was a producer some of his negative incidents were not included, while Suge killed someone because of his negative portrayal. (Which were some of the best parts of the film.) Adds to the craziness of it. Probably an instant classic in its genre, and a very good movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonAug 15, 2015
F. Gary Gray's tribute to the rap gods, N.W.A is not only hard hitting and brutal, but extremely knowlagble and executed with almost no flaw. Straight Outta Compton hits every note, every line, every heartbeat and every rhythm. It is truly aF. Gary Gray's tribute to the rap gods, N.W.A is not only hard hitting and brutal, but extremely knowlagble and executed with almost no flaw. Straight Outta Compton hits every note, every line, every heartbeat and every rhythm. It is truly a masterpiece and a golden piece of cinema for ages to come. SOC tells the story of 3 guys out of a racist and judgemental, also incredibly violent neighbourhood, which is putting people under the influence of drugs and crime. Easily put, this is not a very pleasant place. But, they don't give up their hopes, and overcome tough situations to become rap stars with music that many found vulgar and obscene at the time. We are talking about the superstars, Ice Cube, the late Eazy E, and Dr. Dre. You might not believe it, but this is a true story, these acts of random violence, the cruel neighbourhood, the drug dealing, the every insult that they had to endure, happened. Personally, I thought Gary Gray's take on the Watts riots was deep and thoughtful. Another thing that I loved was putting younger version of hip hop artists that we know today, it really is a blast from the past. Compton was recreated so realistic at the time than ever. Suge Knight was well represented as well. Jason Mitchell and O'Shea Jackson Jr were brilliant. And Paul Gimmati as Jerry Heller didn't damn disappoint. Don't worry, there are sprinkles of black comedy here that are available for your taste. It's not fully serious, it likes to laugh a bit as well. Another thing that people should know is that this was not a easy film to make, Gary Gray and his team ran into some trouble while filming in Compton, California and presenting a film like this may get some backlash. But the risk was worth it, Straight Outta Compton is one of the best biopics of this century, it stands between a message of brutal racism and a life story of true artists. Oh! Did I forget about the music? Jaw dropping. Everyone had fun and were singing along, including myself. Well, there you have it, it may be hard finding another masterpiece in 2015. Don't you damn miss it. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 29, 2015
A superb film really. Captures and invigorates the oppression that people in the USA had to deal with in the 80s with an original blend of parties, passion and music. I just wish that this film was a bit shorter as it has a great tendency toA superb film really. Captures and invigorates the oppression that people in the USA had to deal with in the 80s with an original blend of parties, passion and music. I just wish that this film was a bit shorter as it has a great tendency to drag in the third act. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Aug 20, 2015
The N.W.A. story hit theaters in a big way. "Straight Outta Compton" is an engaging biopic. First off, our three main leads give stellar performances. You don't see the performance rather you see Dr. Dre, Ice Cube and Eazy-E. They all pulledThe N.W.A. story hit theaters in a big way. "Straight Outta Compton" is an engaging biopic. First off, our three main leads give stellar performances. You don't see the performance rather you see Dr. Dre, Ice Cube and Eazy-E. They all pulled off fantastic performances but Jason Mitchell (Eazy-E) is the real standout. Not only is he the first character introduced into the movie, but he's the one you care about the most. Mitchell brought a lot of emotional depth to the role, and made it a performance for the ages. But that's not the only standout. Director F. Gary Gray really showed his talents for making not just an entertaining movie, but an emotional journey through the eyes of these legendary rappers. Before then Gray really only knew how to make moderately entertaining movies. Here, you could tell that this was a passion project for him. And he pulled it off with spades. It was a great history lesson without feeling like a history lesson. You could tell that in the movie, there were things that they did not hold back; which make for a much more entertaining experience. The last act of the movie may not be as strong as the first two, but there are still terrific scenes in there. There were some cameos. Some good, one in particular (for me) was ridiculous and I personally didn't buy it. Also, there was one character introduced about halfway through the movie who was nothing more than a clear antagonist. His performance was fine but he came off as one-dimensional. But overall, this was a fun, emotional and crazy biopic. If you haven't seen it and want to learn more about N.W.A. Go see it. I give it an A-! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "LittleMovieBoy" for more reviews. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Mraka79Aug 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall entertaining movie if you were/are a fan of NWA. A few inaccurate facts, like Eazy E wearing a SOX hat in 1986. Those were not released until 1990, no way that hat was available in 86. I also think they avoided the Eazy E, Dr Dre beef for some reason. At times the movie feels rushed, and other times moves a bit slow, giving it a bit of a jumbled feel.
Still, if you are a fan, it is a good watch. Anyone who hates this type of music is going to hate it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
LatinCritic13Jun 16, 2017
Based on how N.W.A was formed, the whole movie itself perfectly blends together! The cast and crew of Straight Outta Compton was great, the terminology of how N.W.A was formed worked flawlessly, the tone and message of this movie isBased on how N.W.A was formed, the whole movie itself perfectly blends together! The cast and crew of Straight Outta Compton was great, the terminology of how N.W.A was formed worked flawlessly, the tone and message of this movie is thought-provoking, and the overall writing of this film was extremely coherent to follow along and even rap alongside with. Without a doubt, this one of the best biopic films that I have ever seen in my life. Overall, I loved this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FilmGobAug 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Emerging from Compton, Los Angeles in the mid-1980s, NWA revolutionised rap culture with their music and tales about life on the streets. This biopic, directed by F. Gary Gray, is more relevant today than ever. Black artists expressing themselves in a time of police brutality, harassment, media spin, social unrest, it's scary how it all mirrors recent events. It's not all a sociopolitical commentary though, it's about the art of young men who dreamt of bigger things, the early days of laying down beats in the bedroom, the first gig, the recording sessions. And then the fame and fortune, the sex and drugs, the threats and violence.

A lot of ground is covered in the 2 hours and 27 minutes runtime: Eazy-E meeting Dr Dre and Ice Cube, the recording of Straight Outta Compton, the touring and FBI threats, the breakup of NWA, Cube's solo success, Dre signing with Suge Knight's Death Row records and the fallout, working with Snoop Dogg and Tupac, Eazy's death from AIDs. The film picks up in speed and left me asking for a slower pace, mainly in the second half. It's annoying that melodrama is favoured instead of real incidents swept to the side: Dre's violent encounter with a woman journalist, Eazy E's diss track about Dre, Cube's and Dre's music that was influenced by the LA Riots (although the Rodney King trial and riots are played out in the background). Even if all that was included, there would still be those complaints of "Ah but what about the misogyny! And the homophobic lyrics!?" etc. It's a tough and complex task, but what's here is what matters the most: the relationships and the music.

The performances of Ice Cube (played by his son O'Shea Jackson Jr), Dr Dre (Corey Hawkins), MC Ren (Aldis Hodge), Eazy-E (Jason Mitchell) and DJ Yella (Neil Brown Jr) cannot be faulted. Each one dishes out pulsating rage and energy throughout, from the desperate hard times to the excessive good times. These young men have come out of nowhere to carry this film with their chemistry and it's impressive, especially Corey Hawkins who is (only slightly) the standout. Paul Giamatti plays their shady manager Jerry Heller, who is at the core of the conflict and mistrust that engulfs the band later on.

The soundtrack, mostly NWA material and tracks from Dr Dre's new release 'Compton', keeps the action and drama together at all times. Live performances of their classic anthems like Straight Outta Compton or the studio session for **** The Police as the band hits their groove, it's all seamless and entertaining. This is obviously coming from a fan of the music, how non rap fans will react is for someone else to review!

Although not perfect and history being tweaked to appeal to a larger audience, barring sequels and franchise blockbusters, Straight Outta Compton is one of the best films of the year so far.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Sep 4, 2015
Straight outta compton is a fantastic biopic with well rounded character development topped with a story worth investing in the film also has some oscar nom predictions im thinking best actor for any main role in this film and best directorStraight outta compton is a fantastic biopic with well rounded character development topped with a story worth investing in the film also has some oscar nom predictions im thinking best actor for any main role in this film and best director for F Gary Gary Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RalfbergsAug 27, 2016
Amazing movie! One of the best from 2015 - it depicts whole NWA story really well and it is interesting to watch not only for rap fans like me but also for people who aren't interested in rap that much. Definitely suggest it to everyone!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheKavehJAug 15, 2015
STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON is an amazing film with an amazing story, plot, acting, directing, and of course, music. One of the best and most powerful films of the year.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
On-QAug 15, 2015
I'm not going to over analyze this movie. If you're looking up a review you already know what NWA is.

The movie was released at the best possible time with all the current police brutality. Hip-Hop Heads will also appreciate the casting of
I'm not going to over analyze this movie. If you're looking up a review you already know what NWA is.

The movie was released at the best possible time with all the current police brutality. Hip-Hop Heads will also appreciate the casting of the movie, Dr.Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, DJ Yella, MC Ren, Snoop Dogg 2pac, and even Eminem all show up in the movie. Like seriously the people they got for all of the NWA members were great. Aside from production they manage to tell their story very well with the very clear and obvious limitations and time constraints you have to a movie. The movie is a bit long though, I can't say exact time but I think probably 3 hours. The movie sends alot of mixed emotions, sometimes its sad, funny, serious, intense, etc.

I'm not a paid reviewer i'm just a hip hop fan but If you love old school rap you will love the movie. Hell I went to go see this movie with friends of mine that don't even listen to rap and they said they liked it. It was long due for this movie to come out as they said years ago there would be a movie. I'm not making this up either but when I went to see the movie I bought a soda and popcorn few hours later its the end of the movie and i forget i got a soda and popcorn.
In short go see the movie!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mos25Aug 29, 2015
Less someone be swayed to not see this movie based on the low scores, they need to be addressed. First, students who said "rap is for Blacks who can't really sing". Teach your students that singing is not the only form of artisticLess someone be swayed to not see this movie based on the low scores, they need to be addressed. First, students who said "rap is for Blacks who can't really sing". Teach your students that singing is not the only form of artistic expression, ask them can they write/recite poetry 'on a whim'?? Next, critic who was annoyed at police constantly shouting the F word, thinking they don't generally do this and if they do it's unprofessional. My response to this also addresses criticisms of the movie in general. Many just MISS THE POINT. It's "Biopic" so it's reflective of their environment (not yours probably) and their experiences with the police. What's commendable is that even those these guys were surrounded by gang bangers, poverty, the new Jim Crow, etc., (some might say By Design) they chose another path. Too bad for anyone who leaves the movie after 45 minutes as you again MISS THE POINT. Ironic that some thought it was too long, others felt it was short - missing a lot. It did leave out a lot, but I wouldn't want everything I did at age 21 on a wide screen either. After seeing a Dr. Dre documentary, I believe his apology (at age 51) to women. Since there are so many stories that could be told of this era, maybe we'll be blessed with a Straight Outta Compton 2 !!! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
PeterayMay 20, 2016
10...!!! EXTRAORDINARY MOVIE...!!! Undoubtedly, the best movie I have seen in at least five years. I love movies about musicians and rate this in the same league as WALK THE LINE and RAY. Phenomenal acting, excellent plot, and witty10...!!! EXTRAORDINARY MOVIE...!!! Undoubtedly, the best movie I have seen in at least five years. I love movies about musicians and rate this in the same league as WALK THE LINE and RAY. Phenomenal acting, excellent plot, and witty hard-hitting dialogue.

Performances were all spectacular, heartfelt, and multi-dimensional. Each portrayal truly brought the character to life and made them a real, breathing, believable human being full of unique traits. This movie was long, and I was glad, because I didn't want it to end! I wanted it to keep going, and going!

Whether you like NWA, or rap at all, this is GREAT AMERICAN CINEMA.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ehsan_202064Feb 7, 2016
This is the best movie you will be see about rap.it shows where the rap in the world comes.
The nwa group is the first rap music in the world.
I love this movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
StevieGJDSep 3, 2015
If you don't like NWA's music then you probably won't like this film. In exchange for getting the music and access to Dre and Cube the film makers chose not to tell the truth about what happened. But that doesn't make it bad. I love theIf you don't like NWA's music then you probably won't like this film. In exchange for getting the music and access to Dre and Cube the film makers chose not to tell the truth about what happened. But that doesn't make it bad. I love the music and I really liked the film. The young actors playing E, Cube and Dre are great. The idolization of Cube and Dre and the demonization of E and their manager felt phony and immature. If the movie was billed as the Ice Cube version of NWA, then there would be no complaint., This is a nostalgic journey into 1988-95 rap. I bought Straight Outta Compton when I was in college and NWA was getting flack from the government and the media. Their voice was meaningful for at least a generation of urban youths. Too much of it is sadly still true, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Mar 9, 2016
"Straight Outta Compton" is a engaging and thrilling biopic of the notorious NWA, more specifically towards rapper Eazy E, as director F. Gary Gray, with his signature murky visuals and deep understanding of the racism, injustice, and"Straight Outta Compton" is a engaging and thrilling biopic of the notorious NWA, more specifically towards rapper Eazy E, as director F. Gary Gray, with his signature murky visuals and deep understanding of the racism, injustice, and corruption present during the 80s and 90s of both in the streets of compton and in the music industry, illustrates a great picture of the trials and tribulations of a couple of young african american men trying to achieve their dreams through the one thing they love - music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
delfraSep 5, 2015
SOC is a truly great film, a strong story, excellent directing and fantastic acting performances, especially by the three leads as Ice Cube, Eazy-E and Dr. Dre. It's a powerful and pretty emotional film and quite funny at times. And of courseSOC is a truly great film, a strong story, excellent directing and fantastic acting performances, especially by the three leads as Ice Cube, Eazy-E and Dr. Dre. It's a powerful and pretty emotional film and quite funny at times. And of course the great music and sensational concert performances goes without saying. A definite must see film if you haven't seen it yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleSep 11, 2015
As a huge rap fan, I was very eager to check this one out and I am ultimately very glad that I did. An authentic look at NWA and the hype surrounding them, the film works as both a biopic and as a drama. The acting, from a relatively unknownAs a huge rap fan, I was very eager to check this one out and I am ultimately very glad that I did. An authentic look at NWA and the hype surrounding them, the film works as both a biopic and as a drama. The acting, from a relatively unknown cast, is great. O'Shea Jackson Jr, Corey Hawkins, Jason Mitchell, R. Marcos Taylor, and Keith Stanfield, all stood out in particular. Though very negative towards the police, the film does a very good job presenting the film from the viewpoint of our, admittedly, biased narrators. That is not to say I doubt the authenticity of the film at all though, because cops can certainly be racist, especially in Los Angeles. Overall, Straight Outta Compton is an expertly made film by director F. Gary Gray and presents Hollywood with a number of very talented black actors to now start casting in future films hopefully. Entertaining, well directed, well written, and well acted, Straight Outta Compton is never great, but certainly met my expectations. Oh and the music is awesome, of course. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NickLikesMoviesOct 7, 2015
Fantastic performances, excellent directing and writing leads to a huge surprise hit for me. I absolutely loved it start to finish even if it gets a little sloppy near the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeOct 4, 2016
The rise of the Rap music!

There were lots of debate over this film's snub from the Oscars, but I'm not here to talk about that. As a film, it was awesome and as a biographical film, even more awesome, but not an inspiring film that I was
The rise of the Rap music!

There were lots of debate over this film's snub from the Oscars, but I'm not here to talk about that. As a film, it was awesome and as a biographical film, even more awesome, but not an inspiring film that I was expecting. There were many bad things in it, like the language and character portrayals. Though hats off to the filmmakers for rendering the it with the bold contents. I don't know if it being true to the actual events, but anybody can feel how those circumstances would have been for those involved in the real.

One thing is for sure, the film is not for the families. The first half was the reason which was very negatively appealed, particularly the racism and police abuse preoccupied rather than telling the actual story. But the next half was much better. I liked it because of that part which crafted so brilliantly. That's where the real journey begins. Well played characters, everybody who repressed those real ones were done incredible job.

This film revealed something I did know. Like how the Rap music got so popular. I quite belong to the same generation where this thing got its revolution. It was like another 'Lords of Dogtown' where the young guys made skateboards popular, but here it was the Rap songs. It was a two and half hour long film, longer than an average film length, but the pace was good. Except the strong contents, the narration never looked dull. I totally enjoyed watching it, a good film for adults, particularly those who love Rap music must not think of missing it.

7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AndremaxOct 22, 2018
Movie's structurally is impeccable, showing the essential and necessary points in NWA's carrer, although having a unconsistent and unatural parts, principally begginning that simply vomit as everything has began, which starts to get betterMovie's structurally is impeccable, showing the essential and necessary points in NWA's carrer, although having a unconsistent and unatural parts, principally begginning that simply vomit as everything has began, which starts to get better from middle to end's movie. And movie is totally partial, showing only group's side, how thew were unjustly reprimanded, but the same thime convincing you to understand their points of view and a certain form humanizing which society used to call gangster. Even with its fails, Straight Outta Compton can be interesting even for who doesn't like Hip-Hop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwOct 10, 2015
Surprisingly, this turned out to be a good movie. The acting was very good, better than other movies I've seen this year, including Mad Max: Fury Road. The story was very well written (not as good as Mad Max: Fury Road's story but still verySurprisingly, this turned out to be a good movie. The acting was very good, better than other movies I've seen this year, including Mad Max: Fury Road. The story was very well written (not as good as Mad Max: Fury Road's story but still very good. Whatever one movie doesn't have out of these two, the other movie does have). There's never a dull moment either, and this is worth mentioning considering most recent movies with a time of over 140 minutes are boring (The Judge, Boyhood, etc.). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MatchesPevSep 18, 2015
That was dope, E! That sh*t was DOPE, man!

This movie is an utter masterpiece. Incredible dramatic intensity, exceptional acting, fantastic use of music and overall an amazing movie that you have to see first chance you get.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Jan 1, 2016
Straight Outta Compton is a great music biopic and I was kind of shock how much I enjoyed it. This film was a bit of a gamble where most of the main cast were fairly unknown actors. The film brings us a great story of the upbringing and theStraight Outta Compton is a great music biopic and I was kind of shock how much I enjoyed it. This film was a bit of a gamble where most of the main cast were fairly unknown actors. The film brings us a great story of the upbringing and the fall of NWA, one of the most influential rap groups of all time. The acting is great O'Shea Jackson will certainly be a star in the next few years I have no doubt. Corey Hawkins and Jason Mitchell are great as Dr Dre and Easy E respectively. Paul Giamatti also brings another great performance as a corrupt manager as he already impressed me in Love & Mercy. F. Gary Gray tells an interesting tale and I was never bored over the course of the 2 and a half hour runtime. One of the few things that bothered me was the bias that is fairly obvious if you are familiar with NWA before you watch the movie. The feud with Dr Dre and Easy E is fairly faint and ignored. I think that this movie would be an even better film without Ice Cube and Dre producing because they were trying too hard to display themselves in a good light. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThatPCGamerMay 1, 2017
With an amazing cast list and great directing, Straight Outta Compton is a must see for any rap lover. Where it stumbles is its length, just overstays its welcome by a little too much. Gotta give props to all the actors and crew membersWith an amazing cast list and great directing, Straight Outta Compton is a must see for any rap lover. Where it stumbles is its length, just overstays its welcome by a little too much. Gotta give props to all the actors and crew members though, beautiful and realistic movie with that sucks you in fro the opening shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NerdConsultantSep 4, 2015
I’m certain there are some negatives to Straight Outa Compton, but I am really struggling to find them, it’s a really very good movie. The story makes for a fantastic ensemble piece. Even if like me, you are not really into rap music, youI’m certain there are some negatives to Straight Outa Compton, but I am really struggling to find them, it’s a really very good movie. The story makes for a fantastic ensemble piece. Even if like me, you are not really into rap music, you will go along with these people. I would urge anyone who enjoys listening to music in any sort of capacity to go along and see the film. Its cast is brilliant and its production values are excellent and really add to the authenticity of the film and it’s time period. I would rather call this a perfect film, but I saw this on the same day that I saw Hitman Agent 47 and to come out of a film that poorly and lazily made, to come out and see this, I would call a massive breath of fresh air. I really would urge anyone even remotely curious to go and check this film out. Although it’s way too soon to comment on it, I wouldn’t actually mind seeing this film nominated for best film at the Oscars in 2016. This really has been one of the hi-lights of the films that I have seen this year and I think people will be very surprised by how emotional the plot really is and how much they get out of this true story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hotfromcauldronAug 30, 2015
Straight Outta Compton makes ghetto starz into star wars. NWA makes poetry of poverty and prejudice. Music bio pic makes more by focusing on supreme break-up rather than the usual rise to fame detoured by drugs. Jason Mitchell makes Eazy E aStraight Outta Compton makes ghetto starz into star wars. NWA makes poetry of poverty and prejudice. Music bio pic makes more by focusing on supreme break-up rather than the usual rise to fame detoured by drugs. Jason Mitchell makes Eazy E a shoo-in for an oscar nom. Paul Giamatti makes mince meat of the manager/mentor again, first with the Beach Boys and now, with the boys of the hood. This movie makes the family tree of rap biz - as powerful and intriguing as the mafia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DavidV293Jan 23, 2016
The movie is beautiful filled with such a great soundtrack. 'Straight Outta Compton' just gives everything a movie based on real people is. We get the outstanding performances, including the guy that played Eazy-E. Just the movie itself isThe movie is beautiful filled with such a great soundtrack. 'Straight Outta Compton' just gives everything a movie based on real people is. We get the outstanding performances, including the guy that played Eazy-E. Just the movie itself is perfect and it sure is that type of film you'll watch over and over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ripper89Sep 18, 2015
A very interesting and entertaining movie that is very enjoyable and tells a gripping story! A must watch! I don't watch many movies but when i saw this i was thoroughly happy after it finished
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nanancayNov 6, 2015
AMAZING, the actors were perfectly picked (looked SO SIMILAR to NWA way back then), and I feel bad that I wasn't a fan (or even alive) back then to truly be their fans. To be honest I have no idea how accurate this is because I never knew theAMAZING, the actors were perfectly picked (looked SO SIMILAR to NWA way back then), and I feel bad that I wasn't a fan (or even alive) back then to truly be their fans. To be honest I have no idea how accurate this is because I never knew the story, but I HOPE it was accurate. The acting was great in my opinion, I felt the tension when it was supposed to be felt. It was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
acaiberryNov 8, 2015
"YO, That *HIT was dope!"

Im a big fan of history of rap and hip-hop most of my life so this movie was special to me in figuring out more about what happened to nWA. Although I do not know if it is 100% accurate, I do trust Ice Cube and Dr
"YO, That *HIT was dope!"

Im a big fan of history of rap and hip-hop most of my life so this movie was special to me in figuring out more about what happened to nWA. Although I do not know if it is 100% accurate, I do trust Ice Cube and Dr Dre with their oversight of the movie.

Im glad this movie came out because rap was more about the materialistic outside things but more a reflection of the harsh lifestyle of many people, not just African-Americans. I think when watching this movie, a lot of different ethnicities could connect with the struggles of the African American male in some way. And I hope that the storytelling and the lessons in this movie could inspire people to be better people and not just view rap the way it is commonly perceived today.

other than that, fk Suge Knight.
Worth watching but watch with a teachable heart and not a prejudiced one. You aint judge Judy and not all stereotypes are 100% true.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UrbanlistenerJan 15, 2016
As a devoted fan of N.W.A, this movie took me by surprise and completely swept me away. It is an incredible film, seeing my favorite rappers well-portrayed on the big screen was awesome. The movie itself is emotionally rich and resonant, theAs a devoted fan of N.W.A, this movie took me by surprise and completely swept me away. It is an incredible film, seeing my favorite rappers well-portrayed on the big screen was awesome. The movie itself is emotionally rich and resonant, the performances are top-notch, the camera work and the editing is perfect and the story is complete, cohesive, highly entertaining and interesting. As a fan of the group, I thought this movie was perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Th3GreenHorne7Feb 14, 2016
Straight Outta Compton is Bio Pic about the Iconic and Dangerous rap group called the N.W.A in which the film starts from when they were starting out in the group to it's fall. Now, this film is amazing, I was happy to watch a film with a lotStraight Outta Compton is Bio Pic about the Iconic and Dangerous rap group called the N.W.A in which the film starts from when they were starting out in the group to it's fall. Now, this film is amazing, I was happy to watch a film with a lot of emotion and a lot realistic theme of the life of their day by day as the film shows you what they went through to get to where they got to when they rose in popularity. The Casting for the film was perfect, you really couldn't ask for anything better, Ice Cube played by his own son O'Shea Jackson Jr., Dr. Dre played by Corey Hawkins, Easy-E played Jason Mitchell, DJ Yella played Neil Brown Jr., and MC Ren played by Aldis Hodge, with the addition of Paul Giamatti as the band's manager Jerry Heller. They nailed the soundtrack as they used original audio by the real members and re-recordings by the actors throughout their performances. The story of the film was was written by Ice Cube and Dr. Dre themselves, which they did a great job, but the film had a problem with the the fact that the 1st half of the film was very fast-paced and intense, but when it got to the 2nd half of the film, the story got more serious, and started to really slow down, and it was good, but it just slowed down too quick. Overall, Straight Outta Compton is a almost perfect and amazing film that will be praised for decades to come for raw emotion and for it's intense and unbelievable story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mcadzowSep 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite having all the makings of a classic, Straight Outta Compton doesn’t quite deliver on the promise of its subject matter. The rags-to-riches narrative surrounding the self-proclaimed “world’s most dangerous group” plays out less like a gritty historical account and more of a Hollywood glorification of real events.

The film is bolstered by nostalgic performances from its actors. Each of the group's members are well cast, most notably Ice Cube (played by O'Shea Jackson Jr.), who bears a striking resemblance to the veteran rapper in his day. The best acting arguably comes from Jason Mitchell (as Eazy-E) and Paul Giamatti (as Jerry Heller), both of whom show good range and presence. The characters of MC Ren and DJ Yella are left to the background, which was to be expected and is justified from a directorial and writing standpoint.

It’s also worth mentioning the opening sequence, in which Eazy-E confronts a group of drug dealers who are indebted to him. Things gradually escalate, culminating in a raid by the L.A.P.D. which Eazy narrowly escapes. This perfectly sets the tone of the movie and makes for thrilling viewing.

Unfortunately, many events are either glossed over or misrepresented. The solo careers of Dr. Dre and Ice Cube are both included in the plot, yet Eazy-E’s is sorely missing - his diss track aimed towards Dr. Dre and Death Row Records, Real Muthaphukkin G’s, was a milestone for Eazy, as it revealed his individual abilities as a writer, and a landmark of the era. Instead, we are only shown the bitter end to Eazy’s relationship with Heller. Although this works in the scheme of the film, it also undermines its authenticity, and considering the high regard in which Eazy is held today, many will see this as a cop out.

One scene depicts Dr. Dre - apparently having lost his temper at Suge Knight - get into a high speed chase with police. This is based on an incident that happened in 1994, however Dre was actually arrested for drunk driving. Following Dre’s departure from the group, Eazy-E is shown tearfully admiring a billboard for Dre’s album The Chronic, when in fact the album featured many tracks that dissed Eazy, and the two were in a well-publicized feud at the time. While the film’s writers are allowed some artistic license, these unnecessary alterations give a distorted impression of real events and a disingenuous portrayal of the characters.

The movie is further weighed down by uneven writing. When Ice Cube is introduced, his school bus is held up by gun-toting Crenshaw Mafia gang members. The leader tells the kids to “gangbang them books” and avoid getting caught up in the gang lifestyle, which comes off as preachy and ridiculous. Another scene where Dr. Dre learns of his younger brother’s death while on tour with the group is also rather melodramatic and doesn’t serve any real purpose in the plot.

It’s entertaining for the most part, but Straight Outta Compton lacks the authenticity and scope of a great biopic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dt1man13Sep 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I believe this movie was a great documentary on what like was like during the 90's in L.A. It was interesting to see what struggles the rappers went through while trying to make in the tough music industry. I think it was very accurate to the time period of the way police treated the African American community in L.A. The insight it gave us into the hard rap industry with the following of N.W.A was amazing. overall this movie was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ShakavibesSep 28, 2015
A good movie, the characters were portrayed perfectly. Shows the struggles and will power of notable super stars rise to fame and fortune and demise of a great icon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smiyamotFeb 21, 2016
Rags to riches story, but this time it's 5 black guys from the hood. They see killings, drugs, police brutality, the whole injustice of their lives in the poor part of town and turn it into lyrics. Their way out is music, rap, at the outsetRags to riches story, but this time it's 5 black guys from the hood. They see killings, drugs, police brutality, the whole injustice of their lives in the poor part of town and turn it into lyrics. Their way out is music, rap, at the outset of rap. I'm too old to like rap so it was interesting to see it's roots and how it started, and how the infighting among rap managers and producers took the violence from the streets and into the studios. I wanted to see more of their individual stories, what made them who they are, but maybe that would have made a 6 hour movie. The movie covered too much ground and made the characters too shallow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlmostearlyNov 19, 2015
Love the way how it included all the characters in all scenes and how interesting it was to see these rappers who are now legend grow to be the biggest artists money can buy. The movie is perfectly made, the music is perfect to follow alongLove the way how it included all the characters in all scenes and how interesting it was to see these rappers who are now legend grow to be the biggest artists money can buy. The movie is perfectly made, the music is perfect to follow along with the beat in your head, and how it got way too interesting through the whole movie. Straight Outta Compton is definitely going straight to my top favorites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FlamingBearNov 27, 2015
Straight outta Compton, I will just say the music was great the movie even better, because I liked how it was started, I liked the drama, I liked ice cubes son being ice cube in the movie, It to me was a blast, but there was just one thingStraight outta Compton, I will just say the music was great the movie even better, because I liked how it was started, I liked the drama, I liked ice cubes son being ice cube in the movie, It to me was a blast, but there was just one thing the language, i looked up the how many f words, if I can remember 367 f--ks. But the rest was great and entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TinoTrivinoDec 25, 2015
THIS WAS AWESOME.. THANKS GOD that they made a film like that.
Here we go:
- This Movie based on the Hip Hop Origins, and without spoiling it, about a lot of rappers&hip Hoppers like Ice Cube, Dr dree, etc... - It has, since the start, a
THIS WAS AWESOME.. THANKS GOD that they made a film like that.
Here we go:
- This Movie based on the Hip Hop Origins, and without spoiling it, about a lot of rappers&hip Hoppers like Ice Cube, Dr dree, etc...
- It has, since the start, a lot of difficulties to shoot, a lot of complain from hollywood industry claiming this Movie could encourage South Central Los Angeles Subburbs to revolt again and find "FALSE IDENTITES AND ROLE MODELS". What A HUGE OF BS...
- After four years of pre-production, finally F. Gary Gray managed to get the green light.
And here it goes, despite the Spike Lees Movies, we missed a lot of REAL Rapper Movies, since Menace2Society we didnt have real Movies based on Rap Music with Criminal Issues, etc, although i - love 8 miles, it wasnt real **** (forgett house party series, and other ****ty wannabe movies).
This movie is awesome. For some people is like a documentary made as a Film, fine with me, i love it.
Sorry for my english
Tino Trivino from Toledo, Spain, former Hip Hopper
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 6, 2016
Straight Outta Compton has one of the best soundtracks out of those R rated movies I can possibly think of. Other than that, it's history when you see this movie alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rahuliamFeb 7, 2016
this guys are really great..i really enjoyed this movie....for a moment i thought those things happened in front of my eyes....i don't know how director find those guys,who are looked so close to N.W.A guys....supporting casts are reallythis guys are really great..i really enjoyed this movie....for a moment i thought those things happened in front of my eyes....i don't know how director find those guys,who are looked so close to N.W.A guys....supporting casts are really good....straight outta compton just blown my mind...one of the best movie of 2015....a must watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JingerJakeFeb 22, 2016
Damn, that **** was dope! What an incredible surprise. I'll be honest, after seeing the trailer and simply the subject matter I would not have expected to leave the theater so shocked. Even after the critical success I didn't expect to beDamn, that **** was dope! What an incredible surprise. I'll be honest, after seeing the trailer and simply the subject matter I would not have expected to leave the theater so shocked. Even after the critical success I didn't expect to be this satisfied, but that's exactly what I am. This is a gripping and intense biopic that tells the full story (to surprisingly impressive accuracy) of the rise and fall of N.W.A. I didn't even know the full story as many don't and thanks to such a successful film I now know the whole jist through an entertaining and incredible film. O'Shea Jackson Jr. performs incredibly filling his father's shoes with ease and opening up a bright future. Every role delivers as well with all around outstanding performances. The script is powerful and the direction is solid. If you read into the production of the film you'll understand why the movie's done so well. It's a carefully and expertly crafted work of film and it's one of the best this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nestinallbaniApr 14, 2016
Straight Outta Compton is a very good movie, about the revolutionary and controversial rap group N.W.A. And, let me say, I got introduced to N.W.A from this movie, and I really think that the history of the group is pretty fascinating. ThatStraight Outta Compton is a very good movie, about the revolutionary and controversial rap group N.W.A. And, let me say, I got introduced to N.W.A from this movie, and I really think that the history of the group is pretty fascinating. That doesn't mean that I didn't already know who Dr. Dre and Ice Cube are, I just never knew that there was a group that included these famous rappers, and it was a real surprise when I saw that Dr Dre and Ice Cube were in the same group. Now that I know the history of N.W.A, it really makes rap music for me more interesting than it did before. The movie is well directed and it has humor and drama at the appropriate times. And the ending was really a surprise to me, because I really didn't have a clue about these rappers' histories, I just knew them by their name. There are some fantastic scenes in this movie that are so unforgettable. However, I have heard that some of these characters are sometimes inaccurately represented in this movie and the movie left out some events, but still I really liked this movie a lot. And the acting is spot on. So, I recommend this movie, especially to rap fans, but even people who have no information about rap whatsoever and people who dislike rap can enjoy this fantastic movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AdagidrNov 24, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In this film perfectly shows the life of the rap group N. W. A:
Problems with the law, personal problems, progress in music.
I am truly happy for their successes and chewed when they argued.
In the end, when the members of the group reconciled and Eazy E kicks in, the movie hit on emotions. Only a large part of the story was not invented and texts from a variety of sources moved to the screens, that is, it is a semi biographical movie. I wish there was more artistry in the story.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RewswissNov 14, 2016
"Polizei, FBI, Eltern - alle hassten uns" so fast Ice Cube die Zeit bei N.W.A. zusammen. Doch was der Film uns zeigt ist nicht etwa eine hasserfüllte Geschichte rund ums amerikanische Ghettoleben. Vielmehr bekommen wir die authentische,"Polizei, FBI, Eltern - alle hassten uns" so fast Ice Cube die Zeit bei N.W.A. zusammen. Doch was der Film uns zeigt ist nicht etwa eine hasserfüllte Geschichte rund ums amerikanische Ghettoleben. Vielmehr bekommen wir die authentische, mitreißende und vorallem wahre Story der Rapper Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, Eazy-E, DJ Yella und MC Ren präsentiert. Diese Story ist Musikgeschichte und nicht nur für Fans der verschrienen Gangster Rap Schiene interessant. Zu jedem Zeitpunkt stark gespielt und einfach jedem Filmfan zu empfehlen. Der "Normal" Nerd Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bleboy28Nov 26, 2017
now this biopic on SOC is amazing Eazy-E Ice Cube and Dr.Dre are one of if not the best rappers of all time. and we have a movie on them that to me makes this **** dope as ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews