Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 23, 2022
2.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 123 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
11
Negative:
87
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
Qtb4meNov 24, 2022
Hidden message, poor storyline, boring, not captivating for ages 2-13.

We bought tickets for this movie for our entire family - expensive and not an easy feat. I watched multiple trailers and read a couple of reviews, but clearly I should
Hidden message, poor storyline, boring, not captivating for ages 2-13.

We bought tickets for this movie for our entire family - expensive and not an easy feat. I watched multiple trailers and read a couple of reviews, but clearly I should have read more. If this is a movie where being gay plays a central part of the movie - it should have shown this in the trailer, or in the description. That's not fair. We were totally shocked about that part and it's completely unfair to jump us like that. Overall, the movie ANYWAY was pretty terrible. Dumb theme, boring and a very basic storyline that kind of stretched out unnecessarily. The graphics were good. Other than that, it was not captivating for any of my children - ages 2-13. I Do not recommend this movie
Expand
17 of 25 users found this helpful178
All this user's reviews
0
BillCooper2049Nov 23, 2022
This might possibly be the worst animated movie I have ever watched. Disney really went downhill in recent years.
19 of 28 users found this helpful199
All this user's reviews
0
utah49erNov 23, 2022
Propaganda disguised as entertainment. Every left wing agenda presented. I think they are trying to educate and influence a younger generation. It didn’t work. My grandkids thought is was stupid and all the ridiculous planet saving, treePropaganda disguised as entertainment. Every left wing agenda presented. I think they are trying to educate and influence a younger generation. It didn’t work. My grandkids thought is was stupid and all the ridiculous planet saving, tree hugging propaganda went right over the kids heads. Stupid movie iat all levels. No entertainment value at all. Expand
21 of 32 users found this helpful2111
All this user's reviews
0
DogboyzzzNov 24, 2022
Since Luca all movies in Disney have a lack of imagination... Worst than Lightyear, all woke propaganda over the place.
17 of 29 users found this helpful1712
All this user's reviews
0
MobileumNov 30, 2022
Yet another lgbt propaganda movie. Disney has this literally as its core value now, so expect to see more and more depraved stuffs.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
Juggernaut69Nov 29, 2022
Miss me with that GAY Sh*t! that is the only thing you can say about this woke forced down the throat BS of a movie
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
gamer_bunnyNov 29, 2022
bad story and ending. It doesn't look like it was produced by Disney. You disappointed me! disney and mickey mouse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
NorixisNov 28, 2022
This movie is just bad. On every level. I took my niece and nephew (7 and 12) to see the movie, and they asked to leave about 20 mins in. They didn't want to watch it. It's just a really bad rip off of "Lost in Space" and pushes things thatThis movie is just bad. On every level. I took my niece and nephew (7 and 12) to see the movie, and they asked to leave about 20 mins in. They didn't want to watch it. It's just a really bad rip off of "Lost in Space" and pushes things that are 100% irrelevant for children, so much so that they want to leave and not watch it. Save your money. Stop giving it to companies like Disney, that publicly say they hate you. Expand
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
0
watchoutch02Nov 27, 2022
Looks like metacritic is deleting reviews for no reason. The movie is bombing at the box office and it all makes sense
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
ThwompNov 29, 2022
Disney is absolutely obsessed with liberal woke agenda and I'm so glad this movie flopped harder than my flacid wang. Apparently this trash is worse than Lightyear, and that movie had disgusting woke filth as well. A black, pregnant lesbianDisney is absolutely obsessed with liberal woke agenda and I'm so glad this movie flopped harder than my flacid wang. Apparently this trash is worse than Lightyear, and that movie had disgusting woke filth as well. A black, pregnant lesbian in space? Come on Disney, you can do better. Get off your woke agenda and go back to your origins. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
APenNameAndThatNov 29, 2022
Hideous. Hurt my eyeballs. Incoherent. Confused. Worst Disney Ever. Disturbing without being thrilling.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
dobson980Nov 28, 2022
Another awful Disney production. 0/10 would not recommend to anyone. Maybe Mr Igor can turn it back around!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
Trey333Nov 26, 2022
I love pulp adventure and crazy sci fi stuff. Despite that this movie still fell so flat.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
6
Turambar501Nov 23, 2022
Although filled with big potential, Strange World falls flat, pretentious and predictable.

The world has some charm, but again isn't very engaging. However, the film doesn't seem to take itself too seriously, whether that's for the better or
Although filled with big potential, Strange World falls flat, pretentious and predictable.

The world has some charm, but again isn't very engaging. However, the film doesn't seem to take itself too seriously, whether that's for the better or not. And the cast is not good, both in personality and design.

That said, the film isn't BAD. It works enough, can be fun at times and ends with a good feeling of completeness.
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
2
LotousNov 25, 2022
My kids didn't engage with the movie at all. It was pretty visually but very boring. No depth disappointing for a Disney movie.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
1
Gibbo5885Nov 29, 2022
Hahahahahahahaha keep this up disney will be broke in a year. Go work go broke.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
FartdoucheNov 29, 2022
Yet another terrible movie from Disney. They are really on a roll when it comes to churning out **** films left and right. I hope Disney's new owners go bankrupt.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
3
VaildezNov 27, 2022
It's just not a very good movie... It has nothing to do with the constant reminders of the gay character it's just a bad movie.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
jesusguerrsk23Nov 29, 2022
We no longer want movies geared towards this ideology, can't Disney see that we've had enough, please no more movies like this, they have ruined the childhood industry for many by turning it into a container of failures, all thanks to theirWe no longer want movies geared towards this ideology, can't Disney see that we've had enough, please no more movies like this, they have ruined the childhood industry for many by turning it into a container of failures, all thanks to their absurd inclusion.
We no longer want movies geared towards this ideology, can't Disney see that we've had enough, please no more movies like this, they have ruined the childhood industry for many by turning it into a container of failures, all thanks to their absurd inclusion.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
rowan3838Nov 26, 2022
Very poorly done movie. The design choices for the characters were bad. The way the story unfolded was uninspiring. I also think that they should have made it clear that there was going to be gay-ness in the movie from the trailer. ItVery poorly done movie. The design choices for the characters were bad. The way the story unfolded was uninspiring. I also think that they should have made it clear that there was going to be gay-ness in the movie from the trailer. It shouldn't be something parents get shocked by and have to explain to their kids. There's a reason this movie is going to fail. Everyone is tired of this agenda they are forcing on us. I miss movies like Finding Nemo and The Little Mermaid. Good stuff. These new movies are garbage. Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
1
cruel_framesNov 28, 2022
Boring World.
One of the worst animations Disney had ever done. Diversity for diversity sake is meaningless if you don't have a story.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
0
Tivicks14Nov 23, 2022
Average at best but since it is disney movie the expectation was sky high so unfortunate
12 of 18 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
0
FGPTNov 28, 2022
This is a terrible movie and not appropriate for children. Disney is a horrible soulless corporation. Avoid at all cost
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
0
charleston69Nov 26, 2022
We all went into this with high expectations. Unfortunately this movie is one of the worst we've ever seen. Even my children hated this movie, and they like just about everything.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
0
Tom11thNov 28, 2022
Disney no longer exists. It is just a brand, the magic is gone, replaced by mentally deranged people.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
1
juangarcia799Nov 27, 2022
Disappointing. Common Disney you’re better than this. Super mediocre and not worth the money we paid.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
WallncuzNov 29, 2022
Saw this opening night without ever seeing a single trailer for it, it looked awesome.. we walked out just under the 30min mark. I can't believe they had gay children in a children's movie, Disney is sick. I have a feeling they'll be teamingSaw this opening night without ever seeing a single trailer for it, it looked awesome.. we walked out just under the 30min mark. I can't believe they had gay children in a children's movie, Disney is sick. I have a feeling they'll be teaming up with Balenciaga soon.. the anti str8 anti white agenda is not gonna fly Disney sorry.. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
BaedokNov 26, 2022
For shame Disney. Your forbears look down in disgust at where you are headed.
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
1
ivanshvedkoNov 28, 2022
Why the production company keeps pushing their stuff into the brains of our kids? Why? What is their goal? Such producers shall be kept away from creating ambiguous content to our children. The whole purpose of this product is clear:Why the production company keeps pushing their stuff into the brains of our kids? Why? What is their goal? Such producers shall be kept away from creating ambiguous content to our children. The whole purpose of this product is clear: normalize things that are questionable. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
ARBO2k9Nov 27, 2022
Sad to see every Disney movie go this route nowadays. Do yourself a favor and just skip it.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
jessekharrisonNov 24, 2022
This movie stunk. It was a propaganda movie for young children. It was also boring and predictable. Waste of time and money.
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
0
swizzysway01Nov 25, 2022
Disney should be ashamed of themselves. please don't take your kids to watch this filth.
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
1
DementorxNov 25, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only reason I am giving it a 1 is because the movie is visually appealing. But what came to a surprise is the fact that the parents are an interracial couple and the son is homosexual and has a crush on another boy. It’s great that the parents approve it and I have no problem with this whatsoever, but the fact that it is getting promoted and injected into our kid’s minds as ok is not right. Especially from a company like Disney. I am not racist or a stereotype. But when your 4 year old kid starts asking you why does the boy like another boy, that’s where it becomes a problem and acts as proof that they are injecting the idea into our children. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
5
HammerHandNov 27, 2022
Literally the most forgettable Disney movie since Bolt. The animation is really good, some concepts are cool, some characters are fun, but it just left nothing on me
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
LukkopNov 23, 2022
Every parent must be aware, that the movie is highly inappropriate for the kids! Another Disney's failure.
14 of 30 users found this helpful1416
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryNov 27, 2022
Celebrating 100 years with a new castle animation, Disney has launched this latest animated adventure. It revolves around a family of explorers who must venture on a quest to save their insular civilization. This takes them to a new worldCelebrating 100 years with a new castle animation, Disney has launched this latest animated adventure. It revolves around a family of explorers who must venture on a quest to save their insular civilization. This takes them to a new world where the creatures are all fancifully designed. Their exploits serve as a subtle message of environmental responsibility, while also harping on the meaning of family (which includes a gay son who's easily accepted). When they're in the fantasy world, the action and design are fun, but there are periods where the dialogue drags down the energy. Still, it's a beautifully animated, sweet story. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
sleepygeneNov 23, 2022
I thought it was really boring. They should just release this on Disney + (I would recommend watching on D+ and not going to the theater). Characters were uninteresting and not charming at all. Story was flat and predictable. Design of theI thought it was really boring. They should just release this on Disney + (I would recommend watching on D+ and not going to the theater). Characters were uninteresting and not charming at all. Story was flat and predictable. Design of the world and creatures was kind of dull. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
Sensei6Nov 27, 2022
A truly wholesome movie! We loved the setting, humor, and relatable characters!
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
5
CarlElmoreNov 28, 2022
It's sweet and the representation is great but the actual story and characters aren't that interesting.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
LoriosoNov 25, 2022
Great movie, a step in the right direction on many aspects. It tells a great story and its overall well animated.
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
8
wrigleyirishNov 23, 2022
Alan Tudyk is one of the finest voice actors working today. Gorgeous movie, not quite Pixar-level but definitely check it out!
6 of 22 users found this helpful616
All this user's reviews
10
EyesBlueNov 23, 2022
Honestly, I loved it!
8 of 32 users found this helpful824
All this user's reviews
7
DavidBestNov 23, 2022
Strange World is good but it can't keep up with other productions from the mouse company, oh by the way, most of the reviews are negative They are only why there was inclusion of a gay character, don't worry, the movie is not bad, it couldStrange World is good but it can't keep up with other productions from the mouse company, oh by the way, most of the reviews are negative They are only why there was inclusion of a gay character, don't worry, the movie is not bad, it could only be better Expand
6 of 25 users found this helpful619
All this user's reviews
9
Lu190Nov 25, 2022
Beautiful scenery, and interesting creatures! This movie is an alright kids movie, but seems like it is best targeted at an older audience (see toy story 4) as the main character is a parent The reason this seems to have so many poor reviewsBeautiful scenery, and interesting creatures! This movie is an alright kids movie, but seems like it is best targeted at an older audience (see toy story 4) as the main character is a parent The reason this seems to have so many poor reviews is 1. The son is gay (this is mentioned 3-4 times and gets approximately 10 minutes of screen time)
2. The parents have an interracial marriage (
Expand
4 of 17 users found this helpful413
All this user's reviews
10
gerrygonzNov 26, 2022
It's a good movie overrall, is sad that there is so many trolls in this section that obviously just give it bad reviews for the existance of a gay person in a movie.
6 of 26 users found this helpful620
All this user's reviews
7
yventusNov 24, 2022
Enjoyable despite some pacing problems and overly expository dialogue. There could have been more setup in the first act as the second dragged on a bit. The action was fun and well animated. Definitely better than lightyear which was overly serious
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
10
MamaAndreaNov 27, 2022
Lovely movie with wonderful messages. Entertaining, heartfelt, family-focuses. Highly recommended!
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
8
denverwolfNov 25, 2022
Interesting colorful storyline. Carries on the new attempts by Disney to be more inclusive and add natural diversity by matter-of-factly including a gay teen lead. Way to go Disney. I completely support this new, more realistic representationInteresting colorful storyline. Carries on the new attempts by Disney to be more inclusive and add natural diversity by matter-of-factly including a gay teen lead. Way to go Disney. I completely support this new, more realistic representation of the world. The problem is that the main story of the "strange world" is partially a recycled story from a 60's sci-fi movie (too spoiler-y to reveal here) and this connection causes the "big twist" at the end to be immediately obvious about 10 minutes in. If you haven't seen that 60's movie, you'll probably think the big twist was brilliant, but for me it was a big disappointment to see the "truth" about the world much too early. Great voice casting and animation. Good side-story about parents learning to let kids be whoever they are. Expand
4 of 21 users found this helpful417
All this user's reviews
10
Lunar-DoeNov 24, 2022
This was a really wonderful movie that was enjoyable and heartwarming throughout!! It was lovely to see such an inclusive movie that will surely help many LGBTQ+ kids feel represented in movies. The film was very visually appealing with aThis was a really wonderful movie that was enjoyable and heartwarming throughout!! It was lovely to see such an inclusive movie that will surely help many LGBTQ+ kids feel represented in movies. The film was very visually appealing with a great story line that had an important message. A really fun fantasy adventure!! Expand
4 of 24 users found this helpful420
All this user's reviews
10
BostonceltzNov 27, 2022
One of Disney’s best and most exciting films in recent memory with a fun set of characters and amazing visuals. Somewhat similar to Lightyear but better.
3 of 18 users found this helpful315
All this user's reviews
5
GLADIADORNov 27, 2022
Generico e esquecivel. Mundo estranho é um filme bonito, mas sem graça. O alivio comico não funcionou em nenhum momento comigo, ele é so um passa tempo
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
DasjjhNov 29, 2022
Es ist ein fantastischer und philosophischer Film und sieht gut aus. Der Hate ist unfair.
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
2
SnowShad0382Nov 29, 2022
decepcionante sus mensajes, una gran necesidad de influir en las mentes de los menores de edad con sus agendas politicas de las que ya sabemos. Tambien cancele mi suscripcion a Disney debido a sus practicas forzadas y querer influir en lasdecepcionante sus mensajes, una gran necesidad de influir en las mentes de los menores de edad con sus agendas politicas de las que ya sabemos. Tambien cancele mi suscripcion a Disney debido a sus practicas forzadas y querer influir en las mentes de nuestros hijos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews