Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 28, 2006
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1252 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
728
Mixed:
222
Negative:
302
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JCJul 1, 2006
Loved it... i hear it's a serious event in imax, can't wait to see it again! spacey nailed it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JOEG.Jul 1, 2006
A complete masterpiece. it was emotional and moving and filled with plenty of action for my taste. i was glued to the screen from beginning to end. best superhero movie since spidey 2.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EikoOct 7, 2006
For me, I think this is the best Superman movie ever and a VERY entertaining movie, and also the movie is carefully done. I think Singer did a job well done. Spacey's Lex was wonderfully done and I think Routh's acting was pretty much ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanhH.Jun 30, 2006
As good as they are, the heart of the movie isn't the special effects, it's the love story which for comic book characters is remarkably touching. And, for once in current movies, everyone acts like a decent person (except, of As good as they are, the heart of the movie isn't the special effects, it's the love story which for comic book characters is remarkably touching. And, for once in current movies, everyone acts like a decent person (except, of course, the villain). To put it another way, unlike most such movies, they act like adults. And everyone ends up doing the right thing. As one reviewer remarked, it's the most truly adult superhero movie ever. And not in the sense of being unpleasant and dark like the over-rated Batman Begins. Rather, it's both moving and life affirming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OtisburgJul 2, 2006
this was amazing, i been waiting for this for years and it was worth the wait. I am a huge fan of the first two films and this was just sensational, from spaceys portrail of lex luthor to rouths almost identical manor of chris reeve AMAZING.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 3, 2006
Superman Returns is a great summer movie and a great movie PERIOD!!! The cast was excellent, F/X amazing and the movie made you believe once again that a man can fly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeborahS.Jul 6, 2006
I guess I really need a hero: rescuing myself or my world looks like cleaning the Augean Stables these days. This movie is just what I needed to set my spirit soaring out of the doldrums. Now, occasionally, an image comes flying out of my I guess I really need a hero: rescuing myself or my world looks like cleaning the Augean Stables these days. This movie is just what I needed to set my spirit soaring out of the doldrums. Now, occasionally, an image comes flying out of my subconcious where I am standing in a pair of red boots and blue leggings on a golden cloud and feeling capable of anything. Most of the time, I just take pleasure in the idea that someone truly wonderful is there to help clean the stable. I loved the old Superman movies, and I love this one even more. Thank you Bryan Singer: please, please make those sequels soon and keep all of the actors on board--I thought they were great. Just wish you hadn't killed Kal Penn off, and I don't see how you can resurrect him now that he is crushed under a crystal and floating in outer space...maybe Superman could turn back time again? Probably not. Oh well. As you can see, I am very busy concocting scenarios for the next movie already, and I hope you, Michael Dougherty and Dan Harris are very busy doing the same thing. Good luck--I can hardly wait to see my hero again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesS.Aug 3, 2006
It may have been a long time to wait for a new one, but what a spectacular return for Superman. I think Brandon Routh is a better Superman than Christopher Reeve.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaL.Nov 30, 2006
I really loved this movie! It was like feeling that superman wass real. It was of my favorites movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuciaM.Dec 6, 2006
Like someone else said: "SUPERB...!!!" Many get the chance to make movies with "body", but very few acomplish the almost impossible task to enliven them with a "soul". And like the song Superman's sweet son plays on the piano all the Like someone else said: "SUPERB...!!!" Many get the chance to make movies with "body", but very few acomplish the almost impossible task to enliven them with a "soul". And like the song Superman's sweet son plays on the piano all the film, "Superman Returns" IS "Heart and Soul." Period. Thanks Bryan!!! A lot!!! Can't wait for the sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffJun 27, 2006
Breathtaking is the best way to describe it. The visuals are stunning - some of the most riveting action sequences ever filmed - and the performances are spot-on. I could truly imagine the panels of one of my collected comics or graphic Breathtaking is the best way to describe it. The visuals are stunning - some of the most riveting action sequences ever filmed - and the performances are spot-on. I could truly imagine the panels of one of my collected comics or graphic novels jumping from the page and coming to life on screen. The emotion found at the root of the story appropriately tugs at the heart-strings, while reminding the viewing audience why Superman should be an inspiration to us all. Singer has truly outdone himself, as this is easily rhe best all-around comic-to-film adaptation since the original Donner film. Where that film was the original "superhero" film, this one succeeds just as well in its technical proficiency and mastery of the subject matter throughout. I will be seeing this one repeatedly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeJun 28, 2006
Wow. It was really really superb. I haven't seen the originals though. After seeing this movie, I think I might have to see them. The acting was terrific, action was cool, everything was awesome. Check this movie out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StrokE.Jun 28, 2006
Absolutely the BEST movie this year! Everything you love about a really great movie is here -- Bryan Singer is sure to have audiences across America wearing red capes and blue tights and saying, "X-Who?" Consider me one of them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.G.Jun 29, 2006
Anyone who goes into this movie to conpare the old old cast with the new cast is narrowed minded and should not go. As a movie this new age superman is just as entertaining as the original two movies. The cast plays there roles well and do aAnyone who goes into this movie to conpare the old old cast with the new cast is narrowed minded and should not go. As a movie this new age superman is just as entertaining as the original two movies. The cast plays there roles well and do a great job of not just trying to imitate the original cast. christopher reeves has passed on, margot kidder no longer acts, and gene hackman is in the twighlight of his career.....get over it haters! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieJun 30, 2006
Great summer movie! Brandon Routh does an excellent job playing Superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LenH.Jul 10, 2006
After seeing the film, I would have rated it a 7, but after thinking about it, the more I love what this movie stood for. It was a pleasant blending of old and new. The casting was incredible and the mix of action, romance and fun was brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyM.Jul 2, 2006
Great Movie!! I was glued!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillW.Jul 5, 2006
The perfect return to superman. It reminded me of why I was such a fan of the earlier movies as a boy. Gave me everything I was looking for from it. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesOtisJul 7, 2006
Easily the best movie I've seen in a long time. It had thrills, humor, drama, emotion, a maniacaly villain, and a true hero as well as a strong woman who could still show some vulnerbility. Brandon portrayed a strong humble true hero as Easily the best movie I've seen in a long time. It had thrills, humor, drama, emotion, a maniacaly villain, and a true hero as well as a strong woman who could still show some vulnerbility. Brandon portrayed a strong humble true hero as Superman, and a balanced performance of a country boy in the big city as Clark Kent. In other words, some comical moments without being a doofus. He carried the role forward and at the same time showed respect for the past legacy. I did not expect to like the kid and the other artistic differences from the comic book hero we know but they were so well portrayed I didn't mind them, in face I even ended up really liking them. I think Lois and Clark should have a kid in the comics now. I've seen the movie three times so far and I think I'll go see it again this weekend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisG.Aug 4, 2006
Director Bryan Singer gives superman a heart and for it i love this film... a bi to long but still exact on many levels i was not born until the mid 80s but i did see the first two films thanx to netflix although ancient in comparisons to Director Bryan Singer gives superman a heart and for it i love this film... a bi to long but still exact on many levels i was not born until the mid 80s but i did see the first two films thanx to netflix although ancient in comparisons to fxs now but they both had grace and stood firm... superman returns is continuancy of such although with cliches but then its not singers nor supermans fault we have been marveled by other things spider man, x-men and other super hero like films the have stolen some momentum but the real man is SUPERMAN !!! ... i welcome it and those to come.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurOct 22, 2006
A fun summer movie with a little bit of something for everybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidE.Jun 27, 2006
fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleG.Jun 27, 2006
Superman has definitely returned. The REAL Superman. A very well shot movie with great effects shots. A must see summer flick and one that will be added to the library when it hits the DVD. I still have goosebumps.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanJun 28, 2006
Awesome! It's definetely the best movie this summer. I recommend seeing it in at the Imax theater for the full experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.CouncilJun 28, 2006
It has to be the best Superman movie I have ever watched! It was just awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshG.Jun 28, 2006
This is without a doubt the best Superhero movie ever made. The audience loved the film so much that there was screaming when the projector stop near the end of the film and needed to be fixed. Felt sorry for the theater workers because some This is without a doubt the best Superhero movie ever made. The audience loved the film so much that there was screaming when the projector stop near the end of the film and needed to be fixed. Felt sorry for the theater workers because some were threatening them LOL. If you don't like this movie, you're either not a fan of Superman or you are a fan of the new generation Superman and not a purist in any sense of the word. There is so much grandness and heart to this film. Those than know the orgins of Superman will eat this up. Unfortunately, creativity and heart and goes along with Superman does not exist anymore, instead replaced by X-Men. Go see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyA.Jun 28, 2006
Absolutely loved it! I grew up with the original Superman films, and I didn't think there was any way Superman Returns could be any where near as great as the original Superman film, but after seeing it I think it might actually be Absolutely loved it! I grew up with the original Superman films, and I didn't think there was any way Superman Returns could be any where near as great as the original Superman film, but after seeing it I think it might actually be better. It was just so much fun, had great action sequences and a great story. There was a lot of emotion in this one that the other films didn't have. Overall just a really great film, hopefully we won't have to wait long for the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamB.Jun 28, 2006
No cheesy comedy. Good acting. A near replica of the first two, maybe better. Exactly what Superman is supposed to do, make you feel like a kid. Oh, and with no Richard Pryor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
G.AccardoJun 28, 2006
Excellent movie, made with heart and mind. A great tribute to the first two superman movie with an eye to the future ! The 2 hours and an half flied by faster then a bullet. Not to see C. Reeve wearing the red cape was awkward. Brandon makes Excellent movie, made with heart and mind. A great tribute to the first two superman movie with an eye to the future ! The 2 hours and an half flied by faster then a bullet. Not to see C. Reeve wearing the red cape was awkward. Brandon makes a discrete job in mimic Reeve's Clark and a good job when 'S' .... Mr. Spacey did an excellent job in Lutor's role. The special effect are top notch (but I wouldn't have expected less then that). Thanks Mr. Singer for bringing us back this new Superman, more human and always supes ! The only weak spot of the movie is Lutor's "big plan" ( would have expected something different) and the half backed flashback on Supes yought. But oh well !! Looking forward for more Supes movies to come ! I really enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleC.Jun 28, 2006
My score is actually a 9.5, but that of course isn't an option. I really enjoyed this Superman. I was pleasantly surprised with newcomer Routh and LOVED Spacey as Lex. This movie blends romance and emotion into the action scenes and My score is actually a 9.5, but that of course isn't an option. I really enjoyed this Superman. I was pleasantly surprised with newcomer Routh and LOVED Spacey as Lex. This movie blends romance and emotion into the action scenes and plays at the heart. Special effects were great, but the greatest effect in the whole movie is the new and improved Superman costume complete with rubber cape!!! I for one was glad Superman returned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekC.Jun 28, 2006
I loved The Movie, It was Beter than i thought It was going to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.Z.Jun 29, 2006
Brandon Routh was, dare I say it, just as good as Superman (and Clark Kent for that matter) as Chris Reeve was. This movie was infinitely entertaining. I went into the movie having read your stupid reviews and thinking this movie would Brandon Routh was, dare I say it, just as good as Superman (and Clark Kent for that matter) as Chris Reeve was. This movie was infinitely entertaining. I went into the movie having read your stupid reviews and thinking this movie would suck...but it was incredible! One of the best movies I've seen in a while. Heck, Roger Ebert didn't like it...that right there's a good indicator that it's a good flick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRJun 29, 2006
I got to give this a ten. This was more than what I expected. I'm very torn about the ending, PISSED actually. I was hoping for another ending, but I understand why the ending was what it was...Brandon Routh -- no, SUPERMAN -- did a I got to give this a ten. This was more than what I expected. I'm very torn about the ending, PISSED actually. I was hoping for another ending, but I understand why the ending was what it was...Brandon Routh -- no, SUPERMAN -- did a fantastic job. He is SUPERMAN and he honored my Superman, the late Superman. I have to see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.Jun 29, 2006
Everything Superman should be and more. Despite some poor reviews, Singer has developed a jigsaw piece that fits wonderfully with the rest of the pop culture Superman Puzzle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BernardN.Jun 29, 2006
Let me first say that I am NOT a fan of Superman. Frankly I think his entire story is ridiculous ( the wonders a pair of glasses can do to hide one's true identity), but I must say that this movie is excellent. Bryan Singer is a PUNK Let me first say that I am NOT a fan of Superman. Frankly I think his entire story is ridiculous ( the wonders a pair of glasses can do to hide one's true identity), but I must say that this movie is excellent. Bryan Singer is a PUNK for leaving the X-Men franchise (my true love, besides Batman), but you have to give it to the guy...He really can make a good film. Great story, casting, Effects are unbelievable, and I highly recommend watching the movie in IMAX. Note to future comic book movies: Hire good directors above all else (i.e. not Brett Ratner!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewB.Jun 30, 2006
Absolutely essential. A stunning acheivment in cinema, and my personal new favorite film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPJul 11, 2006
Superman Returns gives closure to the first 2 movies that Superman 3 failed to do. By answering the lingering questions left from the 1 and 2 Superman Returns now allows the Franchise to move forward to bigger and better things. Brandon was Superman Returns gives closure to the first 2 movies that Superman 3 failed to do. By answering the lingering questions left from the 1 and 2 Superman Returns now allows the Franchise to move forward to bigger and better things. Brandon was great, Spacey great, Effects were spectacular. This movie was everything that made 1 & 2 so great and everything to make the future of this franchise look great. Superman Returns was a different superhero movie than the rest. It's not your typical action flick. Superman Returns better than ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeR.Jul 1, 2006
The critics are full of it, naysaying for naysaying's sake. this is a great, fun, exciting movie-absolutely worth seeing in the theatres...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlMJul 1, 2006
Fantastic emotional depth, acting, and cinematagraphy. could be a bit shorter but i definitely got my ticket's worth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieJul 1, 2006
This movie surpassed my expectations. It grabbed me from the opening shot to the last. I was a bit nervous about Brandon Routh. But I was proven wrong. He is Superman. And Kevin Spacey did a teriffic job PLaying Lex Luthor. They both did This movie surpassed my expectations. It grabbed me from the opening shot to the last. I was a bit nervous about Brandon Routh. But I was proven wrong. He is Superman. And Kevin Spacey did a teriffic job PLaying Lex Luthor. They both did their own thing to make their roles their own and at the same time making you think back of both Christopher Reeve and Gene Hackman in the originals.(1 and 2) This movie not only does it give homages to the originals but it is literally a continuation of them. This is what Superman 3 should have been. I have read a lot of negative reviews. both professional and here in this website and they all have their own valid opinions. Some are very interesting and other are just plain mean. But there is one review I found very disturbing and it is that of a little Fat man who likes to throw his thumps up and down constantly. Read and listen to his review if you like but let me remind you that this is the same little fat man who two weeks ago recommended Garfield 2!! This movie was exciting and touching at the same time. Brian Synger did one hell of a job bringing this film to our eyes. It is my second Favorite Superhero. Taking the place that Batman Begins was holding for a year now. My first favorite being ...of course.. Superman: The Movie. Good Job Synger.. Good Job indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanJul 16, 2006
Best film i have seen in ages!! action packed all the way. worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MICHAELS.Jul 17, 2006
To me the movie was great. Finally the computer era has caught up with what our dreams look like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kazJul 19, 2006
I found this movie was thoroughly entertaining. I was at the edge of my seat half the time. When I walked out of the theatre this afternoon I was on a high. The movie, in my eyes, was absolutely amazing and I expected that its reviews would I found this movie was thoroughly entertaining. I was at the edge of my seat half the time. When I walked out of the theatre this afternoon I was on a high. The movie, in my eyes, was absolutely amazing and I expected that its reviews would reflect that. I think people like Mark B. should quit searching for flaws in the movie that just aren't there and enjoy one of the greatest movies of the year ehich promises a great future for the Superman franchise. The only people who have trouble liking this film are hardcore Superman bums who won't let go of the good 'ol days of where the franchise used to be. They should quit whining about the movie being less action-packed and more melancholy and accept that Superman is headed into its golden age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheGoatJul 21, 2006
Bryan Singer has acheived what I and no doubt countless other hardcore superman fans thought would be impossible!! Well done to all involved. From the the opening sequence to the very last scene, I felt like a kid again. I thought Bryan Singer has acheived what I and no doubt countless other hardcore superman fans thought would be impossible!! Well done to all involved. From the the opening sequence to the very last scene, I felt like a kid again. I thought Christopher Reeve embodied everything we have come to think of Superman as being, and I am still saddened by the tradgedy that befell him. However without taking anything away from the original 1st two films, Bryan did everything right, and casting Routh as the new Man of Steel was utterly brilliant. There were times during the film that I almost thought Christopher Reeve was back, whilst Brandon still managed to make the role his own with respect and taste. There is only one thing I would like to see incorporated into the next film,( Bryan if you're reading this ) a few Chris Reeve style take off and landings, at an angle not just straight up and down. That's not a criticism, just a thought. I had doubts as to what the cgi flying sequences would be like, but like with the rest of the film they were fantastic!! The only downer I have is that I can't wait for a follow up!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuperseanJul 2, 2006
Fully realized. Edge of your seat. Such tension and climactic scenes are created. Top notch acting, and amazing visuals. Aside from some out of character lines (Lex). nearly Perfect. On par with the originals. Even an identical theme and Fully realized. Edge of your seat. Such tension and climactic scenes are created. Top notch acting, and amazing visuals. Aside from some out of character lines (Lex). nearly Perfect. On par with the originals. Even an identical theme and ending, Fricking Cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshD.Jul 6, 2006
Being a true fan of the whole concept of Superman, I truly enjoyed this movie. Brandon Routh had big shoes to fill in this film as the great hero Superman, and I feel did a absolute wonderful job. I was truely pleased with this movie and Being a true fan of the whole concept of Superman, I truly enjoyed this movie. Brandon Routh had big shoes to fill in this film as the great hero Superman, and I feel did a absolute wonderful job. I was truely pleased with this movie and look forward to hopefully seeing a second one with all the same actors and actresses in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jul 8, 2006
Not too over the top, and a great time for an old Superman fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeO.Jul 8, 2006
This movie brought nobility to the mythos, excitement to the effects and a sense of alienation and being "other" for an alien from another planet that I had not experienced before. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimM>Jul 9, 2006
The best movie of the Summer, far better than that horrible Pirates sequel! I'm a big fan of Christoher Reeves and the first two Superman movies (it should have stopped there), but this Superman more than measures up to the oritinal two The best movie of the Summer, far better than that horrible Pirates sequel! I'm a big fan of Christoher Reeves and the first two Superman movies (it should have stopped there), but this Superman more than measures up to the oritinal two movies. Brandon Routh makes a great superman, he has the looks and a pretty good actor. Listen to the critics on this one, not the stupid amateur reviews. This movie has great special effects, but it is not a "special effects" fiasco like Pirates of the Carribean Dead Man's Chest. This movie has a good story and plot, and it has a real heart and soul. I was choked up a few times, because this "superhero" shows the complexity off a character who the world needs, but has real vulnerabilities of his own which turns the tables and shows that he also needs humanity. Its up there with Spiderman as one of the best "superhero" movies. (You stupid people who don't get it.. go waste your money on Pirates agagin..) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewC.Jul 9, 2006
Awesome Movie, No doubt about it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanA.Aug 5, 2006
This is the best Superman movie ever and it is just as good as Batman Begins which means both are my favorite superhero movies ever! This movie is great from begining to end. Great plot, great effects, great music score, great characters, This is the best Superman movie ever and it is just as good as Batman Begins which means both are my favorite superhero movies ever! This movie is great from begining to end. Great plot, great effects, great music score, great characters, great everything. I can't wait for the sequel! Plus I loved how Lex was more villianous instead of campy like in the first two films that Superman Returns follows and ignores 3 and 4. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonL.Aug 8, 2006
As in the words of Time reviewer Richard Corliss: "It's Beyond Super. It's Superb." This is, by far, the best superhero film of the decade. Better then the rest of the summer blockbusters. Take the ride, Superman has it all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyRSep 11, 2006
Saw this movie with my boyfriend, though he wasn't my boyfriend at the time... He loves Superman and I kinda wanted to see it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 1, 2007
As a man who has been a huge Superman fan for as long as I can remember, I was thrilled with the final result of this film. Who knew anyone could fill Christopher Reeve's shoes so well? Brandon Routh does an absolutely incredible job. As a man who has been a huge Superman fan for as long as I can remember, I was thrilled with the final result of this film. Who knew anyone could fill Christopher Reeve's shoes so well? Brandon Routh does an absolutely incredible job. And, what can I say about Kate Bosworth? Hubba Hubba. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StacieMOct 2, 2008
Superman with such passion, vigor, and release of infinite power, he graciously fly's and fights his emotions through obstacles.He is a man who holds the world and knows what he should do to help the ones he loves and others then Superman with such passion, vigor, and release of infinite power, he graciously fly's and fights his emotions through obstacles.He is a man who holds the world and knows what he should do to help the ones he loves and others then himself. Awesome film. Anyone who has not seen the power of this film should experience it.. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful
10
RajG.Oct 16, 2006
Brilliant, gripping story, fresh and Reeve-ish decor of new comer Brian Routh and of course the delectable Parker Posey....needless to say..it had it all... 10 .. hands down
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaW.Dec 8, 2006
This is an amazing movie that surpassed my expectations. When my dad told me we were going to see 'Superman Returns,' I was a little skeptical to say the least. But about 10 minutes in, it just got better and better. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Jun 27, 2006
great movie. awesome effects throughout and strong acting and story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenJun 27, 2006
Excellent ... not perfect, but as good as one could hope
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Jun 27, 2006
This was the Superman movie I was waiting for! it was thrilling, joyful and even a bit melancholy. The acting is pitch perfect, particularly Spacy and Routh. This could arguably be the best of all the Superman movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyJun 28, 2006
Bryan Singer directed Superman the way Alex Ross draws Superman. It's majestic, stirring, and human at the same time. Routh was great as Superman/Clark, and I liked Kate Bosworth's Lois Lane. She wasn't as goofy in this movie, Bryan Singer directed Superman the way Alex Ross draws Superman. It's majestic, stirring, and human at the same time. Routh was great as Superman/Clark, and I liked Kate Bosworth's Lois Lane. She wasn't as goofy in this movie, but she shouldn't have been, given the scenario of the film. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshaT.Jun 28, 2006
This is the Superman we need for the next generation. It's about time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaD.Jun 29, 2006
I thought this was an amazing movie. The special effects were fantastic, the cinematography gorgeous, the casting perfect, and the dialogue refreshingly uncliched (well, there was one overly sappy line ... but that was just one line ...). I thought this was an amazing movie. The special effects were fantastic, the cinematography gorgeous, the casting perfect, and the dialogue refreshingly uncliched (well, there was one overly sappy line ... but that was just one line ...). Brandon Routh is great, both as the dorky Clark Kent, and the confident Man of Steel, and all of the other characters were exactly the way I would imagine them. I'm not a devoted fan of the old movies or the comic book series, so I'm not particularly picky about whether or not this movie sticks to all the nitty-gritty details of the Superman canon, but even if it does deviate from the canon, I think it does so in all the right ways. This movie has an emotional resonance that transcends your average superhero story, daring to go where I never thought it would, and it completely revitalizes the franchise. Superman Returns has it all--I have no idea how they'll ever follow it up, but of course, I desperately want them to. I didn't want it to end, and when it did, I was already dying for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.Jun 29, 2006
A great cast, superb effects, and a compelling story. My only complaint is the length.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickB.Jul 11, 2006
Although I have a hard time deciding if this or Pirates will be my favorite for the Summer, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how well-done and thoughtful Superman was. A treat for fans of the originals (to which it is a direct Although I have a hard time deciding if this or Pirates will be my favorite for the Summer, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how well-done and thoughtful Superman was. A treat for fans of the originals (to which it is a direct sequel) and an inventive, "realistic" take on the character that adds some unique twists to the Superman mythology. A great adventure/romance Summer flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChantelleK.Jul 19, 2006
Absolutely fantastic film, as soon as i saw it i wanted to see it all over again. Brandon Routh is fantastic as superman! Brilliant performance. A**
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesH.Jul 21, 2006
Seen the film and thought it was brilliant. Brandon Routh gave a brilliant performance as the man of steele, can see why he was chosen. He would have been Chris Reeves first choice. The film plot was great, showing a more emotional side to Seen the film and thought it was brilliant. Brandon Routh gave a brilliant performance as the man of steele, can see why he was chosen. He would have been Chris Reeves first choice. The film plot was great, showing a more emotional side to Superman. Had great action sequences with great CGI , you can now beleive a man can most definately fly! All the acting was good, and wot a great Lex Luthor Kevin Spacey made. The film had action, humor,sadness, happyness. I recommend the film to all. Baah humbug to all the negative reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlaS.Aug 15, 2006
i loved the movie for the actin of the leading man (Routh) and for the effects. We have to realize that this movie has sequels and lots of answers are still to come. a new and good Super man has bosn for this generation!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayR.Aug 15, 2006
A great film! Superman Returns is an intelligent, passionate, quirky, and most of all heartfelt open-letter to all the real life heroes in the world, and the ones we wish would pay us a visit from a distant planet to keep peace on Earth =). A great film! Superman Returns is an intelligent, passionate, quirky, and most of all heartfelt open-letter to all the real life heroes in the world, and the ones we wish would pay us a visit from a distant planet to keep peace on Earth =). I must disagree with many of the negative peer reviewers on this page. (since respectfully he did give the most complete dissenting opinion of Superman). [***SPOILERS***] Superman does indeed pay a visit to Lois Lane's new home-- but only to find out if she still loves him. C'mon.. who amongst us with a brokenheart hasn't kept tabs on our old flames to see if there was any hope left of rekindling a romance? I personally felt that the gesture opened Kal-el up to a more brokenhearted and therefore human performance. Also, he does not "interject" himself to a family.. Lois isn't married yet and the boy is Kal-el's only son! Despite all that, Superman's only action is to visit the young boy, his biological son, and speak to him in his sleep, echoing his father's sentiments ("Sometimes you'll feel like an outcast.. but you'll never be alone.. you will make my strentgh your own.") Much like Jor-el must speak to his own son from beyond the grave, Kal-el must also make contact to his own son in the same manner of isolation due to the burden he bears as Earth's defender. Superman, first and lasly, is a film about the purity of spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
talhaSep 19, 2006
Masterpiece, inside the mind of Superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyP.Jul 4, 2006
A true classic. This is what movies used to be like before they were all about special fx and explosions. It's a movie that unravels gradually and pulls you in, instead of the loud "in your face" variety that we're plagued withA true classic. This is what movies used to be like before they were all about special fx and explosions. It's a movie that unravels gradually and pulls you in, instead of the loud "in your face" variety that we're plagued with nowadays. it reminds me of the old school speilberg flicks that cared as much about character and drama as they did thrills and action. We need more like this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HectorL.Jul 1, 2006
[***SPOILER***] Well done, beautiful to see, and Routh as Superman was convincing, if still a bit too young looking (as was Lois Lane) for the part of SuperMAN. The basic plot is a little to reminiscent of the original Superman in which [***SPOILER***] Well done, beautiful to see, and Routh as Superman was convincing, if still a bit too young looking (as was Lois Lane) for the part of SuperMAN. The basic plot is a little to reminiscent of the original Superman in which Luthor is still obsessed with the idea of creating land for himself to sell to others. It was a sort of midway between the modern comic book Luthor who is a billionaire megalomaniac and the original movie Luthor who was a bit of a goof ball and insane. Spacey, however, is great as Luthor. One thing that bugged me, and this is a bit of a spoiler, is Clark's apparent disregard for his mother, who is seen waiting for news in the crowd as the world waits to see if Superman has survived, yet he runs off to see Lois after he recovers rather than paying a visit to his mother, who so obviously worries about him even though he is practically a God. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobJul 5, 2006
Excellent - the action scenes were imaginative and appropriately "super", and the relationship between Superman and Lois was complex and believable. Yeah, the plot was over the top, but I think the movie pulled it off. Routh was the perfect Excellent - the action scenes were imaginative and appropriately "super", and the relationship between Superman and Lois was complex and believable. Yeah, the plot was over the top, but I think the movie pulled it off. Routh was the perfect mix of sensitive boyscout meets man of steel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeanH.Jul 6, 2006
Wow. A long movie that I was sorry to see end. It was a bit like the first LOTRs movie in that it was mostly (re)introducing the world. It pulls off the amazing feat of being a perfect sequel to a film made over twenty years ago. The story Wow. A long movie that I was sorry to see end. It was a bit like the first LOTRs movie in that it was mostly (re)introducing the world. It pulls off the amazing feat of being a perfect sequel to a film made over twenty years ago. The story is subtle enough to bear re-watching. Just a really, really good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalH.Dec 2, 2006
A truely great return for the man of steel. Routh puts in one of the best peformances of the year as clark kent/superman and would steal the show were it not for the perfectly cast spacey as Lex Luthor, the greatest criminal mind of our A truely great return for the man of steel. Routh puts in one of the best peformances of the year as clark kent/superman and would steal the show were it not for the perfectly cast spacey as Lex Luthor, the greatest criminal mind of our time. The end twist you will either love or hate, at first i thought it was a poor way to end but on a second sitting I found it gives the film more of a sense of what the world is like as superman! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AsruganJun 28, 2006
This is what Superman 3 should have been. It makes you want to use just the edge of your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlL.Jun 28, 2006
End was a bit too long but overall, a great movie. really liked the father to son theme, the romance drama, the action, the score, and the fact that it concentrated on superman rather than just superman vs. lex. can't wait to see whatEnd was a bit too long but overall, a great movie. really liked the father to son theme, the romance drama, the action, the score, and the fact that it concentrated on superman rather than just superman vs. lex. can't wait to see what singer has in store for a sequel if there is one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HowCanYouNotGetItJun 30, 2006
I'm not a comic book fan (Sandman excepted). I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. A number of the things observant viewers have noted (at least one dialogue hitch, at least one plot hole, etc.) occurred to me as I watched it, but I was too I'm not a comic book fan (Sandman excepted). I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. A number of the things observant viewers have noted (at least one dialogue hitch, at least one plot hole, etc.) occurred to me as I watched it, but I was too caught up in its positive aspects to notice - and that's RARE for me, so plenty of things seem to have been done right here. I liked everything that was explored in the story and found that pretty much every element "worked." I *enjoyed* the (relatively) slow pace. As a friend of mine observed, Singer is achieving "moments" and themes in his work (from "The Usual Suspects" to "Superman Returns") that are on par with early Spielberg genius -- say, some of the scenes in "Jaws." [*****SPOILERS BELOW****] I've read some intelligent naysaying about the film (in mainstream publications) and then I've read some naysaying from people here who amaze me with their density. Lois' article being evidence that she doesn't love Superman? How much more obvious a symbol of her hurt abandonment do you need? Superman not having family values because he slept with Lois out of wedlock back in II? He thought they were going to stay together, and if you have a problem with the before-the-ceremony thing, take it up with Richard Lester, not Singer. "Lex Luthor as a real estate agent isn't villainous?" Did you even SEE the first movie -- Luthor's "affinity for beachfront property," control of land, and genocidal schemes to get it? "When is this movie supposed to take place?" After II - apparently, all the media explaining that to expectant Superman fans missed your house. "Lois shouldn't live with a guy or sleep with him?" Yes, I suppose the fact that this film is in sync with modern times would offend certain people, even though the entire point of her refusal to marry the guy is to illustrate the torch she's carrying for Superman. Disliking the movie is one thing, but a handful of people here seem to have astoundingly backwards reasons for doing so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielleT.Jul 15, 2006
Not your comic fan's superman. I love the Christopher Reeve movies but they are quite dated. Nice to see a realistic Superman. Great visuals and acting. Lot's of emotion and intelligence. Doesn't insult the viewer's intelligence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunC.Jul 1, 2006
Fantastic special effects, slow in places, but a grand beginning for greater things.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TamaraJ.Jul 2, 2006
This movie was great. I felt it showed a different side to superman, which I wasn't expecting. I agree with some critics that explanations of what happened, where he went, etc. should of stayed in the movie. I took several young girls This movie was great. I felt it showed a different side to superman, which I wasn't expecting. I agree with some critics that explanations of what happened, where he went, etc. should of stayed in the movie. I took several young girls with me to see it, the lasted generation, have no clue about the orginal story line, etc. None the less, it was a terrific movie, I must go see it again!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErinD.Jul 23, 2006
Wonderful! brings the magic back. no christover reeve, but routh was a smart move.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveS.Jul 27, 2006
Critics complain about this movie because it's not "Super" enough. Well, folks, "super" is more than just special effects - witness X-3, arguably the worst of the lot. And the reason... Singer brings humanity to super heroes. He makes Critics complain about this movie because it's not "Super" enough. Well, folks, "super" is more than just special effects - witness X-3, arguably the worst of the lot. And the reason... Singer brings humanity to super heroes. He makes them one of us. And, he does the same thing with Superman. Despite all his godlike powers, despite all the super heroics, this movie shines because of his human frailties. As far as Routh is concerned, I'll admit I started out as a double nay-sayer. First, Chris Reeve was untouchable. Second, if he was touchable, they already had a super cast in "Smallville." Singer was all wrong. But he wasn't. Not at all. I can't wait until the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MiguelL.Jul 6, 2006
I really need a rating of 8.5 here... i can understand the common critics about te movie being slow and a little too long on some scenes, but I dont agree in that the acting is bad, or the plot sucks... in fact, even without comparing it to I really need a rating of 8.5 here... i can understand the common critics about te movie being slow and a little too long on some scenes, but I dont agree in that the acting is bad, or the plot sucks... in fact, even without comparing it to the firs movies, this was quite good, far above my expectations! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaP.Sep 11, 2006
I loved the movie because of its length (I love long movies) and because of Routh's acting, which really conveyed the passions and concerns of the Man of Steel
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristinaH.Sep 1, 2006
This was a great one. It wasnt just another sequel. It was new and fresh. Can't wait for another one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisSDec 2, 2006
I love this movie. i'm not sure what it is, but it's like magic to me. i've always liked a little bit of chick flick stuff in a movie and i thought it was great here. sure i'd like more action, but that'll be for the sequal
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoelW.Dec 2, 2006
I think the film was great. More than that. Fantastic. Singer did a wonderful job. I cant wait for the Sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyG.Dec 25, 2006
Great movie. Had some flaws in it, wasn't worth extreme excitement, but kept me entertained the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeS.Jun 29, 2006
As a huge die-hard Superman fan since birth, I was not excited about the casting of Brandon, and was too protective of a lot of the subtleties surrounding his history. But lets face it, ALL stories evolve over time (note to so-called As a huge die-hard Superman fan since birth, I was not excited about the casting of Brandon, and was too protective of a lot of the subtleties surrounding his history. But lets face it, ALL stories evolve over time (note to so-called tradionalists: what, you want to go back to how superman only 'lept' over tall buildings?), and hoping that lighting strikes twice with casting for the most iconic figure in the history of American pop culture is absurd. From start to end, this movie was great! Never too slow, always a visual feast, a great story with a lot of heart (granted, I still don't like the kid subplot, but I understand why it was done), and the whole cast, although none of them left me speechless, none of them took away from the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LanceE.Jun 29, 2006
[***WARNING SPOILERS***]: I think some of the fan reviews are unfair, but then again, this is all a matter of opinion. I think the movie was great, and for many reasons. Routh is a perfect fit for the role of both Clark Kent as well as[***WARNING SPOILERS***]: I think some of the fan reviews are unfair, but then again, this is all a matter of opinion. I think the movie was great, and for many reasons. Routh is a perfect fit for the role of both Clark Kent as well as Superman. He has the geekiness to pull of mild-mannered, clumsy Clark Kent, and yet has the form to pull of being the Man of Steel. Kevin Spacey was wonderful as Lex Luthor, and I don't see how anyone can complain of his acting. I did have problems with who played Lois Lane, but my complaint isn't that big. -As for the story and people complaining that it was "too slow" at the beginning, well, I don't agree with that. They needed to get a story in there, and stories don't all start with a bang. This movie isn't action-packed, but more character-driven. -In a sense, this movie is a sequel to the other Superman movies, yet is also a new beginning. When we meet Clark Kent again after his return from Krypton, we meet a new Superman, and there is a mystery surrounding him. He seems more powerful than ever, more introverted, and we are also wondering exactly what he found on his home planet. The reason the movie is "slow" at the beginning is that we are getting to know Superman all over again. -It is also well-plotted for all those who are complaining of this. The writers set up a mystery, then present an action-sequence or plot event, then revert to revealing more of the mystery. For example, when Lex Luthor puts the crystal in the water and we want to know what will happen, the movie cuts to Superman saving the plane (which, by the way, is such a thrill to watch), and just when the scene ends and Superman rescues the plane, we cut back to Lex Luthor and see the fruition of his plans, even though our minds were completely distracted by the action sequence. It's through tight-plotting like this that the movie doesn't let up. -I also really liked the fact that unlike other superhero movies where the heroes are always alienated (Ex: X-Men, Spiderman, etc), Superman is already a legend and a hero on Earth, and people love him; the sequence at the end when he is injured is a pleasure to see, and we realize how much humans care for him, and it does show that the world needs a saviour. -Oh, and the fact that the main theme from the older movies is still there (thank you John Williams) makes this movie feel at once both a continuation and new beginning for the series. -As much as I loved the older movies, they were a bit cheesy (I don't mean the special effects), but rather the plot and dialogue (ex. When Superman saves the plane in the first movie and the pilot says to the other pilot, "Don't look, just fly. Trust me..." etc), and this movie isn't cheesy. -To end on a lame note: I highly reccomend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Matthieur.Jul 1, 2006
Much like the first 2 x-men and the last Batman, this is a film that tries to humanize Superman, eschewing a good deal of the cliched sequences (like the supes v. luthor showdown that another reviewer got all flustered about) that one might Much like the first 2 x-men and the last Batman, this is a film that tries to humanize Superman, eschewing a good deal of the cliched sequences (like the supes v. luthor showdown that another reviewer got all flustered about) that one might expect. Sure, there are some corny moments, but this is a great rebirth for a franchise that had drowned in campiness with superman 3-4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MixmismoJul 13, 2006
Top notch movie..ive always been a fan of superman. i think that brian singer is the ultimate comics-based director. i love the way he uses metaphors to reflect current events. brandon routh gives a convincing performance as clark kent.Top notch movie..ive always been a fan of superman. i think that brian singer is the ultimate comics-based director. i love the way he uses metaphors to reflect current events. brandon routh gives a convincing performance as clark kent. although i think they miscasted lois lane..i think action seekers were disappointed to see few action scenes but die hard fans know that superman isnt about bashing bad guys but rescuing people. great movie and i hope they make another one...preferebly with singer still at the helm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Bostondog567Jul 17, 2006
Awesome, a truly inspiring take on the superman genre. Great for kids and adults alike. Special effects are some of the best ever put to film. Routh is exceptional, and portrays a true man of steal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LaurieV.Jul 17, 2006
This isn't the same Clark, Lois and Superman from 1 and 2 -- this are the *real* characters, the way I always imagined them, set in a beautiful movie. Singer is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoseQ.Jul 2, 2006
Absolutely excellent!!! I had been looking forward to x-men 3 all year, and not really that excited about superman, but i know that superman is the best superhero movie i have seen this year, and it is most definitely worth the ticket price. Absolutely excellent!!! I had been looking forward to x-men 3 all year, and not really that excited about superman, but i know that superman is the best superhero movie i have seen this year, and it is most definitely worth the ticket price. It has accomplished what i thought no other superhero movie would do this year, and has placed x-men in second place as the best superhero movie i have seen this year. If it weren't for a few logical and hard to fix details that don't even affect the story at all(spoiler: what is superman's suit made of that it doesn't burn upon entering the earth's atmosphere, and if it is specially made, why is he naked at the begining of the movie when he comes back from space?), the movie would be a perfect ten. Highly recommend this movie for the whole family!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColR.Jul 24, 2006
An excellent follow up to the first two movies - retains the style and magnificence of the original Donner movies, resisting the temptation to break the fiction by adding too many contemporary references. Bryan Singer should be proud of what An excellent follow up to the first two movies - retains the style and magnificence of the original Donner movies, resisting the temptation to break the fiction by adding too many contemporary references. Bryan Singer should be proud of what he has achieved here - it's a rare feat to be able to replicate something from a past era without making it seem cheesy and contrived. Don't go expecting the gritty "believability" of Singer's X-Men - go expecting to see the follow-up to Richard Donner's totally entertaining Christopher Reeve's Superman movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Jul 5, 2006
As a citizen of Norwalk, Iowa and knowing Brandon Routh, I was hoping Bryan Singer would make Superman Returns a good movie. I got my wish. Superman Returns is an intense ride that matches up to such legends as Batman Begins and Spiderman 2. As a citizen of Norwalk, Iowa and knowing Brandon Routh, I was hoping Bryan Singer would make Superman Returns a good movie. I got my wish. Superman Returns is an intense ride that matches up to such legends as Batman Begins and Spiderman 2. The mix of romance,action and plot twists hit you with a tide of fun that will put a smile on your face as you walk out of the theater. Norwalk's proud of ya BJ!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Jul 8, 2006
The movie is a terrific homage to the Donner original, and still advances the storyline on its own. Be warned; if you didin't like Superman the Movie or Superman 2, you might not be as familiar with some of the plot. Regardless of The movie is a terrific homage to the Donner original, and still advances the storyline on its own. Be warned; if you didin't like Superman the Movie or Superman 2, you might not be as familiar with some of the plot. Regardless of story, the movie wouldn't make it if Singer had cast the wrong actor as Clark/Superman, and it's great to see that he made the right choice. Routh embodies Superman with more emotion than Reeve ever did... and that's coming from someone who always liked Reeve's Superman. And his Clark is pretty good, too, although Clark doesn't have a lot to do in this movie. Spacey is a darker, harder Luthor, but manages to have fun with the role nonetheless. Marsden and Langella also stand out, and you have to give props to the script for not making Richard a cardboard character, but somebody rather real. As for negatives, the only thing I'd recommend is to ignore the IMAX version... the 3D is really quite lousy compared to most other IMAX 3D efforts, and the putting on and taking off of the glasses is a little cumbersome. After seeing both the IMAX and standard versions, I'd certainly recommend the standard version... the effects are easier to appreciate, and with such fantastic effects work, you should be able to see all of 'em. All in all a fantastic reboot/continuation of the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidS.Dec 14, 2006
Quite frankly, this is among the finest popular entertainment I've seen. Under Brian Singer's direction, we truly have a "man of steel" with a "sensitive core". A hero with soul. There's a real likeability about this film too Quite frankly, this is among the finest popular entertainment I've seen. Under Brian Singer's direction, we truly have a "man of steel" with a "sensitive core". A hero with soul. There's a real likeability about this film too -- it's a wholesome, uplifting ride. It captures the "essence of Superman" -- decent, awesomely powerful, modest and just plain good. There's some true "shout out loud" moments in there that really lift the spirit. This is Hollywood storytelling at its very best. Those who think this is "boring" should find solace in rubbish like "XXX" and "Bad Boys". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful