IFC Films | Release Date: March 9, 2018
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
21
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Big1Mar 9, 2018
This was quite a surprise for me! I ended up watching this movie without any knowledge of what it's about. I had a smile on my face all the way through. It's the kind of movie you can recommend to anyone.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
ProtosAngelusMar 9, 2018
From the moment it starts and until the credits roll, you are gripped in a satiric representation of the early months of post-Stalin era as a result of the Stalin's love for terror and execution. The plot is superb, the characters wellFrom the moment it starts and until the credits roll, you are gripped in a satiric representation of the early months of post-Stalin era as a result of the Stalin's love for terror and execution. The plot is superb, the characters well written and the pace is right. It does not lag or hurry.... it's just my tempo. Acting is brilliant, from Tambor's weakness to Buscemi's charisma, everyone knows their role and plays it effectively.
Are there some negative sides? Of course, but none that would even be worth mentioning.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Mar 24, 2018
A pretty straightforward yet amusing and often times humorous political satire. The ensemble cast, with the likes of Steve Buscemi, Jeffrey Tambor, Jason Issacs, etc. all delivered great and humorous moments throughout. Overall, I wouldn'tA pretty straightforward yet amusing and often times humorous political satire. The ensemble cast, with the likes of Steve Buscemi, Jeffrey Tambor, Jason Issacs, etc. all delivered great and humorous moments throughout. Overall, I wouldn't call it hilarious by any means, but it was funny enough throughout and had plenty of dry humorous moments to keep it interesting and entertaining enough. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Jess_HillMar 12, 2018
Who would have thought that the addition of British and American accents coupled with lighting fast pacing and dialogue could transform perhaps one of the bleakest backdrops in history into a riveting comedy? Iannucci has produced aWho would have thought that the addition of British and American accents coupled with lighting fast pacing and dialogue could transform perhaps one of the bleakest backdrops in history into a riveting comedy? Iannucci has produced a delightfully buoyant account of the mad grab for power in the days following Stalin's death that captures the absurdity and hubris of those closest to him which, without shielding the atrocities from the viewer, sets a tone that allows the audience to laugh along at the sheer Machiavellian complexities on display. With excellent performances from the ensemble cast, and beautiful set design providing a sumptuous backdrop to the riveting storyline, this is a funny and irreverent experience that is thoroughly enjoyable. 8.78/10 Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Rebecca31Mar 9, 2018
Stalin dies and chaos ensues. A horrific moment in history told in a way I never expected. Stalin’s committee struggled to maintain control and create a more positive change in the Soviet Union. From the opening scene I was sold. It flipsStalin dies and chaos ensues. A horrific moment in history told in a way I never expected. Stalin’s committee struggled to maintain control and create a more positive change in the Soviet Union. From the opening scene I was sold. It flips from dark and grim to witty and hilarious in a matter of seconds. Honestly not everyone is going to enjoy The Death of Stalin but it’s a gem.

A truly brilliant script and wonderfully directed by Armando Iannucci. An excellent cast all round, particularly from Steve Buscemi and Jason Isaacs. They really can do no wrong. A word of warning, the laughs are not as frequent as the trailer may have portrayed but if you’re in any way into war comedy then do not miss this. Highly recommended and hello to Jason Isaacs.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
The3AcademySinsMar 24, 2018
The Death of Stalin is an incredibly timely, blackly comic farce about the dangers of political narrative. Every single acting performance was really top-notch and satirical. It was also nice to see Michael Palin doing work again! Every shotThe Death of Stalin is an incredibly timely, blackly comic farce about the dangers of political narrative. Every single acting performance was really top-notch and satirical. It was also nice to see Michael Palin doing work again! Every shot is meticulously crafted, as if you are watching a historical epic, but the profane humor gives this an excellent contrast. It's very easy to see the parallels between a post-Stalin Russia and the current Trump America. Fans of dark comedies, farces, history, and political thrillers are really going to enjoy this one. It's definitely a pleasant surprise of a film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantMar 17, 2018
A devilishly funny dark comedy that skewers the lunacy of bureaucracy and the buffoonish behavior of the power hungry, set in the wake of the demise of Soviet dictator Josef Stalin in 1953. The film's stellar ensemble cast, combined with aA devilishly funny dark comedy that skewers the lunacy of bureaucracy and the buffoonish behavior of the power hungry, set in the wake of the demise of Soviet dictator Josef Stalin in 1953. The film's stellar ensemble cast, combined with a wickedly funny script and endless touches of high camp, make for uproariously funny viewing. Not all of the jokes work, and sometimes the film gets a little too political, but, these shortcomings aside, "The Death of Stalin" serves up loads of big laughs. Enjoy, comrade. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
DubeauMar 9, 2018
I love that satire. The actors are amazing in this movie. Sometimes funny, sometimes dark funny. But there is also a very tragic side since this is also history. Good pacing and extremely well timed editing. It is very much an adult themeI love that satire. The actors are amazing in this movie. Sometimes funny, sometimes dark funny. But there is also a very tragic side since this is also history. Good pacing and extremely well timed editing. It is very much an adult theme movie, since the brutality of the regime is well depicted. I give it a 80%. Just for the actors performances is worth the price alone. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
dragionnatsu66Mar 9, 2018
This films is Obviously based on true events in history ,so this film had to walk on thin ice to balance Comedy, Seriousness and Satire..And in my opinion it does so Brilliantly. I knew little about the rule of stalin and it's ongoings beforeThis films is Obviously based on true events in history ,so this film had to walk on thin ice to balance Comedy, Seriousness and Satire..And in my opinion it does so Brilliantly. I knew little about the rule of stalin and it's ongoings before and after his death , in that way this film was riveting and informing ( Obviously some of it's exaggerated for dramatic effect ). At times I thought it was a Tarantno script with it's smart humour and boldness . Also technically it has Good direction and Set design - Great Script, All the actors do a fantastic job . Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes a black-comedy and biting satire 9/10 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TchaikovskyMar 15, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've seen this movie yesterday, in my opinion its a great comedy and parody of one of the worsts dictatorial and cirminal regime in the history of the XX century full of crime, genocide and political repression. The film contains a lot of sarcasm, and good english actors who plays as many main personalities of this historical period of Russia like Zukhov, Kaganovich, Beria, Molotov and others. Its in after all very funny film and intelligent humour. My conclusion a notable film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JGNYCMar 18, 2018
Pitch-black humor that's incredibly funny. If, let's say, the darker Rick and Morty episodes aren't too dark for you, and you have just a drop of knowledge and/or interest in Russian history (and I mean just the tiny drop that's probably - IPitch-black humor that's incredibly funny. If, let's say, the darker Rick and Morty episodes aren't too dark for you, and you have just a drop of knowledge and/or interest in Russian history (and I mean just the tiny drop that's probably - I hope! - common knowledge), you should really enjoy it. Fantastic cast with perfect performances in every case. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
AugustKellerJun 4, 2018
Some may be disturbed by its dark humor but the brutal honesty that The Death of Stalin is able to get across while poking fun at the absurdities of the situation is a feat to behold. Never too cheeky and just cruel enough, this film balancesSome may be disturbed by its dark humor but the brutal honesty that The Death of Stalin is able to get across while poking fun at the absurdities of the situation is a feat to behold. Never too cheeky and just cruel enough, this film balances its tone through its brilliant acting and clever writing. From the mind of Armando Iannucci and given to the experienced cast of Steve Buscemi, Jeffery Tambor and Simon Beale; this is a movie that oozes with craft. Mixing gags with horrific moments, The Death of Stalin‘s ambition is only matched by its wit as it takes its viewers through the wild ride of top political power movement and shows off the mixed motivations of its devious characters.

As many comedies do, The Death of Stalin sometimes lacks mind-blowing effects or a surplus of artful camerawork but that is more than made up for with razor-sharp humor. This film’s way of pointing out the extremes people will go to for power, manipulation or fear (in a word: politics) is impossible to ignore. This movie achieves every goal that a charged, political comedy wants to achieve because it gets honorable laughs and also leaves viewers with poignant food for thought. Simply put, The Death of Stalin is political satire done right.


Writing: 9/10
Direction: 8/10
Cinematography: 7/10
Acting: 9/10
Editing: 9/10
Sound: 7/10
Score/Soundtrack: 9/10
Production Design: 8/10
Casting: 9/10
Effects: 9/10

Overall Score: 8.2/10

Original Article: https://thefilmguys.blog/reviews/augusts-reviews/the-death-of-stalin-2018/
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryApr 5, 2018
The titular event takes place early in the story, which leaves the remaining government officials in a frantic struggle for power. While there are moments of the evil that pervaded the USSR at that time, most of the narrative gets its thrustThe titular event takes place early in the story, which leaves the remaining government officials in a frantic struggle for power. While there are moments of the evil that pervaded the USSR at that time, most of the narrative gets its thrust from the mean-spirited dark humor that writer/director Armando Iannucci does so well (he created VEEP). The cast has a great time conniving and conspiring against each other, while fighting to secure their place in the new regeime. The spirited satire provides intellectual laffs, even though the comic momentum slows before it's over. Still, it's witty and entertaining in an art house way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ScraperJul 15, 2018
A unique picture with great comedic writing and acting. There is finally no waiting for scenes to set up. Each character that hits the screen adds a new, original voice and different humorous lines.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MeritCobaMar 9, 2018
I have not been much interested in Stalin, even though he is an pivotal figure in history, but for his death. The events surrounding his death (and the struggle for power that ensues) made me think of the death of Tiberius, the Roman emperorI have not been much interested in Stalin, even though he is an pivotal figure in history, but for his death. The events surrounding his death (and the struggle for power that ensues) made me think of the death of Tiberius, the Roman emperor who succeeded Augustus and was succeeded in turn by Caligula. There are similarities there, even though Tiberius struck me as the more sympathetic ruler of the two. One moment especially made the connection, Tiberius lies on his deathbed, but he suddenly seems to come back to life. Caligula, who has taken the signet ring from the emperor's hand, cringes, pleads and begs his excuses. The emperor falls back on to the bed and is finally definitely dead. Another version has the head of the guard choke the emperor to death. Almost a similar moment can be found in this movie when Stalin seems momentarily to recover, making Beria, head of the security services, cringe and terrified as well. He was already setting in motion the takeover of power. Something the dictator might not see in a favorable light.

The movie is a terrible movie, for it shows what shocking terror the people in the Soviet Union had to live with under this most abject of rulers. And even though it might look over the top, reading up on sources will show you that it was like that. There is a danger to compare him to Hitler, that other abject ruler but let's not go into that. The terror can be felt in every scene and one of the shocking moments sees the entire house of Stalin being emptied by security forces and most of the staff and guards get shot by other guards. Beria's orders do not even spare his own men. Nobody is safe. The scene ends with a truck driving off with the guard ordering it to drive away getting shot in the head by another guard.

The movie is positioned as a comedy and a drama, and even though there is a certain comedy, mostly very dark, at no point is this cheap or over the top. Point in case is the opening scene. We witness the end of concert which is broadcast by a radio station. The phone rings: it is Stalin. He instructs the man to ring him back in 17 minutes. Terrified the man calls back and is then instructed to deliver a recording of the concert to dictator. But they did not record the event. And panic ensues as they redo the concert as to record it and, of course, everything goes wrong. It is funny in a way, but the underlying terror and dread is palpable. You might think this is all not real, but we know from history that Stalin actually did this. The acting is superb and I cannot actually say who takes the cake here, Buscemi is excellent as Khrushchev, Beale matches his with his portrayal of Beria. But also Tambor makes a marvelous role as weak Malenkov and Palin does a nice job as sycophant Molotov. My opinion is that one should invent an oscar for the best group of actors in a movie. My vote would be for this movie.

If there is a crucial moment in the movie then it is the moment that Beria, losing grip on the situation, threatens the other members of the Central Committee. You could feel that it would backfire. And we see how Khrushchev makes use of the moment in a marvelous but, for him no doubt, nerve-wracking manner.

The movie is an incredible well done teamwork and I love it is done by people like Buscemi, Tambor and Beale. Give actors a good script and they pull it off. This is how movies should be. It is why I often blame the badness of movies not on the actors, but on the director and the script. I would almost give this one a ten. The reason I don't give it a 10 is because the movie takes shortcuts with history. A cursory glance says that some of the events did not happen that way. Just read up on Beria's death.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKMar 26, 2018
A very funny comedy, but it helps if you know the history and the personalities very well. I would only downgrade it slightly for its fast pace, which makes it really difficult to make all the right connections at lightning speed. BeautifullyA very funny comedy, but it helps if you know the history and the personalities very well. I would only downgrade it slightly for its fast pace, which makes it really difficult to make all the right connections at lightning speed. Beautifully acted and, in its crazy world, totally believable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CrunchyGranolaMar 31, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would never have thought of doing a comedy based on this topic. But in a deep way only satire can truly portray the abominable core of Stalin, Beria, the purges, and the creatures that occupied Stalin's inner circle. One can only humanize them by holding them up for ridicule. All of the acting is excellent. Much of the humor is quite understated (but not all of it). The portrayals of Central Committee by comedians is inspired. Weak men all of them, but Steve Buscemi's Khruschev - despite being the buffoon of the group - is the strongest and most resourceful of the lot, who realizes that the monstrous Beria is taking control and that it would be the end of all of them, sooner or later. There is a wonderful moment late in the movie when Stalin's daughter Svetlana (wonderfully played by Andrea Riseborough who looks uncannily like the real Svetlana Alliluyeva), looks at Khruschev as the plot moves forward and says simply "I didn't think it would be you". Nobody did.

There is more than enough slapstick and farce for anyone, in addition to the more subtle satire.

The biggest laugh out loud moment is the entry of Marshall Zhukov (Jason Isaacs) enters, and sheds his coat, boldly shaking his hair and chest full of medals in slo-mo.

The movie has a serious foundation though, which is skillfully united with the comedic treatment of the fools, knaves, and monsters in the Kremlin. We see terrified people being hauled away to their certain murder. We hear those murders as shot after shot is fired off camera, we see the terrified conductor being rounded up (as he later learns) to conduct a surprise concerto for Stalin's benefit tell his wife "say whatever you must" as he leaves, never expecting to see her again. We see the frightened teenager that Beria has had taken to an impromptu cell (ghoulishly garnished with flowers, as if it were a romantic encounter) before he begins raping her.

The capriciousness of the violence is also well portrayed. Disagreements among the Central Committee about whether the trains should be allowed to being in mourners for Stalin's funeral leads to thousands being massacred in the streets. The only concern among the leaders is the public relations aspects of the SNAFU.

I do not expect to see a funnier movie this year, or a more serious one.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HealingToolboxJul 20, 2018
A keystone Cops of boyhood friends, gangsters, murderers, are thrown into chaos when their leader dies suddenly without any obvious successor. In 20 years, they have collectively murdered all teh smart people of their country. Only sheepleA keystone Cops of boyhood friends, gangsters, murderers, are thrown into chaos when their leader dies suddenly without any obvious successor. In 20 years, they have collectively murdered all teh smart people of their country. Only sheeple are left. Their number slated to replace Stalin is the chief sheeple (Jeffrey Tambor) and can't be tolerated. The most ambitious is too dangerous to replace Stalin. Keystone Kops mayhem ensues. Only one manages to assert himself unobtrusively as the nominal adult in the room. A cast to die for. This material is so strong, it could easily be made into a stage play. The energy of a live audience would allow this material to take off even higher, as was done with Steven Spielberg's executive producing of Noises Off. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
section20mi6Mar 13, 2018
A comical look at parts of the history with occasional laughter and unbelievable darkness.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheFilmFanaticApr 20, 2018
The Death of Stalin is a witty, smartly-written political satire that takes a fascinating look at the inner workings of a past Russian government. The hilarious performances, strong historical themes and Iannucci’s direction help elevate thisThe Death of Stalin is a witty, smartly-written political satire that takes a fascinating look at the inner workings of a past Russian government. The hilarious performances, strong historical themes and Iannucci’s direction help elevate this story past satire into being both an outrageous comedy and dissection of Russian politics. This film should not have worked given the topic and yet Iannucci found a way to make something hysterical and memorable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DefinitelyMaybMay 25, 2018
Who would have thought a movie about the death of Stalin and the subsequent power grab turns out being one of the best and most funniest film of recent years. This is great political commentary drowned with black humor. This film should beWho would have thought a movie about the death of Stalin and the subsequent power grab turns out being one of the best and most funniest film of recent years. This is great political commentary drowned with black humor. This film should be taught at school because it contains great truth value of how most bureaucracy and organizations work. Forget about what your political leanings are, this is a great film about human nature at its core. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FolderMathMay 28, 2018
Drags a bit at the end, but it's still a good laugh throughout. I especially loved the presentation of the movie, with the scene fading to black some times and lines from the Soviet constitution appearing, and the slow-mo to introduceDrags a bit at the end, but it's still a good laugh throughout. I especially loved the presentation of the movie, with the scene fading to black some times and lines from the Soviet constitution appearing, and the slow-mo to introduce characters. It lightened the mood, which was necessary to balance the more dark aspects of the movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
OlivierPielMar 9, 2018
witty dialogue, excellent pacing and editing. Great entertainment and great satire of a regime that has inspired fear and awe. This should make for required watching for all students coming from Russia or China for that matter.
As for as the
witty dialogue, excellent pacing and editing. Great entertainment and great satire of a regime that has inspired fear and awe. This should make for required watching for all students coming from Russia or China for that matter.
As for as the historical value goes, well, this is not it. But the form was always more important the content.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixApr 12, 2018
'The Death of Stalin' is the kind of film that makes you want to climb inside the head of the writer/director--in this case Armando Iannucci--and probe all the little dials and sprockets and gears to see what makes him tick.

Iannucci somehow
'The Death of Stalin' is the kind of film that makes you want to climb inside the head of the writer/director--in this case Armando Iannucci--and probe all the little dials and sprockets and gears to see what makes him tick.

Iannucci somehow manages to create a wholly original and surreal work of power-mongering satire steeped in dark humor and absurdism while perfectly blending together the largely true events surrounding Stalin's death.

Add to that a powerhouse cast of dry comedy and improvisation, including Jeffrey Tambor, Steve Buscemi, and Michael Palin, combined with magnificent settings, and 'The Death of Stalin' immediately becomes this year's hidden gem of the season.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman9999Apr 15, 2018
A very-good first act + An OK second act + A great third act = A decent political satire movie
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
EvilClownApr 14, 2018
Very funny movie, if a little niche in its appeal. The energy level stays high but sometimes veers out of control leaving the viewer trying to decipher what is being said in scenes of chaotic shouting. Steve Buscemi is always compelling andVery funny movie, if a little niche in its appeal. The energy level stays high but sometimes veers out of control leaving the viewer trying to decipher what is being said in scenes of chaotic shouting. Steve Buscemi is always compelling and scene-stealing on screen. Jeffrey Tambor and Michael Palin are both hilarious. Worth seeing if you’re interested in the subject matter but it does occasionally get down in the Soviet history weeds with some of the jokes and asides. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
imdoingmypartJun 6, 2018
I love a dumb comedy from time to time. Sometimes it's nice to completely leave behind any sort of critical analysis of a film and just laugh at some crude jokes for an hour and a half. The magic wears off, however, when seemingly every newI love a dumb comedy from time to time. Sometimes it's nice to completely leave behind any sort of critical analysis of a film and just laugh at some crude jokes for an hour and a half. The magic wears off, however, when seemingly every new comedy is of this ilk. In times of "dumb comedy overload," I have to sit back and reminisce about the first time I experienced the magic of films like Dr. Strangelove and The Naked Gun. Of course, Strangelove and nearly all of Leslie Nielsen's comedy films have plenty of dumb jokes that clearly required little thought. What separates these classic comedy films from the countless forgotten lazy, dumb, crude efforts that have fallen into the abyss of forgettable comedies is the fact that Strangelove and Naked Gun make the effort to exercise all of its writers' comedic chops. Some dumb jokes make it into the final cut, sure, but such humor is thrown into a comedic gumbo with all sorts of visual gags, clever dialogue, memorable one-liners, and a slew of characters ranging from the zaniest ex-Nazi scientists to dead-pan detectives. The mix of elements is what makes such films timeless; The Death of Stalin is one of those films.

The subject matter is simple: Stalin has died, and his underlings now must compete in a political king of the hill in order to claim power. Anyone with an elementary background in European history will know who ultimately succeeds, but it sure is a trip watching these historic figures bumble their way through necessary proceedings to get what they want. There is no one stand out performance as each cast member brings his or her own brand of humor to the table. Everyone gets a turn, and everyone delivers. Not every joke is a gut-wrencher; in fact, I chuckled more than I roared laughing. I doubt I even caught all of the jokes, as I was often too busy chuckling at a previous gag. For once, I enjoyed a barrage of comedy that did not build up to one big payoff but rather made the effort to keep me smiling and thoroughly entertained.

I do not want to spoil any jokes, as I myself was able to appreciate a spoiler-free experience and am grateful for such an experience, so I will make this review brief. Surprisingly accurate historical accounts and a mixed bag of gags, one-liners, and situational comedy make The Death of Stalin a refreshingly intelligent and hard-working 2018 comedy that gives its audience glimpses of influence from some of the greatest comedies in film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Tony19Jun 28, 2018
Darkly funny take on the crisis in Stalinist Russia after the death of the main man. Decades of political terror have made even the highest officials to frightened to voice dissenting thoughts, sometimes even in their own minds. Real eventsDarkly funny take on the crisis in Stalinist Russia after the death of the main man. Decades of political terror have made even the highest officials to frightened to voice dissenting thoughts, sometimes even in their own minds. Real events are very simplified - it should be read as symbolic rather than a literal. For example secret police chief Beria is used to symbolise all manner of evil things that he was not literally responsible for. But that is just artistic licence and works well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mr_KeinJun 21, 2018
This film is great. I know this story about death of greatest leader - Joseph Vissarionovich Stalin. If you want watch this film to teach something new about USSR, then this won't be great source for taking some lessons of history USSR.

But
This film is great. I know this story about death of greatest leader - Joseph Vissarionovich Stalin. If you want watch this film to teach something new about USSR, then this won't be great source for taking some lessons of history USSR.

But this film does not historical, this film is satire and comedy. This film good in both. In film are many jokes which can understand everybody , even people who don't know what is USSR. The best political satire film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesMay 6, 2018
It starts out great, the energy and quick banter you’d expect from the creator of VEEP, but runs out steam once the third act hits. Still a pretty interesting and fun watch, with a solid cast.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinMar 23, 2018
“The Laughs come in jolts and waves with savage one-liners.”

Manohla Dargis New York Times “Often Hilarious” Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune “A unique and hilarious British comedy.” Mike LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle “Source of
“The Laughs come in jolts and waves with savage one-liners.”

Manohla Dargis New York Times

“Often Hilarious” Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

“A unique and hilarious British comedy.”

Mike LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

“Source of hilarity and it is hilarious.”

Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic “A complete bore! Did the above critics see the same movie I saw?”

GreatMartin

“The Death of Stalin” is set in the 1950s and the fight for power in Russia after the dictator’s death. Are you laughing yet? It supposedly is satire which implies irony or sarcasm and the director/writer, Armando Iannucci, tries everything from the Marx Brothers and the Three Stooges slapstick to insult comedy, chaos, no attempt at Russian accents having various accents ranging from Brooklyn to London but getting very few reactions from the audience.

Iannucci is the writer of the much awarded HBO series “Veep” known for its comedy, irony, and sarcasm which it delivers with belly laughs, smiles, smirks, and humor while here he enlists 2 additional writers and the only smile/laugh I can remember is a crack about Grace Kelly!

The cast consisting of Steve Buscemi, Michael Palin, Simon Russell Beale, Adrian McLoughlin, Jeffrey Tambor, Olga Kurylenko, Rupert Friend, Jason Issacs, Paddy Considine among others deliver the expected performances with a little scenery chewing now and then.

Enjoy seeing people shot in the head, brains taken out of a head after the scalp is cut back and ‘fun’ things like that? Can you go another day without knowing that most good doctors in Russia were killed and that Stalin had lists of people to be killed?

Those answering ‘yes’ to any of the questions asked should probably go and see “The Death of Stalin”.

The only questions I am asking myself is have I lost my sense of humor as I’ve grown older or is funny and/or satire not what it was defined years ago?
Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
5
emkadvApr 10, 2018
I was disappointed in this film. Given the outstanding reviews, I expected something exceptional. The film could not decide whether it was satire, thriller, slapstick, or historical fiction. It swung back and forth from one to the other, noneI was disappointed in this film. Given the outstanding reviews, I expected something exceptional. The film could not decide whether it was satire, thriller, slapstick, or historical fiction. It swung back and forth from one to the other, none of them quite good enough to carry the film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
RalfbergsJul 17, 2018
THis movie is about the time when Stalin died and the other people who had the power were ''fighting'' to get the ''throne''. It is a decent movie, but I sort of expected something a bit funnier. I mean I have read about how it all actuallyTHis movie is about the time when Stalin died and the other people who had the power were ''fighting'' to get the ''throne''. It is a decent movie, but I sort of expected something a bit funnier. I mean I have read about how it all actually went down and some things are added here for comedic effect of course and some just added to make the story much shorter. I had highher expectations from this I guess. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
qJun 29, 2018
I tried to watch this movie all the way to the end, but I got sick of hearing the f-word while waiting in vain for something to be funny. I finally hit stop and eject and set it aside to be returned to Redbox the following morning. The factI tried to watch this movie all the way to the end, but I got sick of hearing the f-word while waiting in vain for something to be funny. I finally hit stop and eject and set it aside to be returned to Redbox the following morning. The fact that the critics seem to think this piece of garbage is worthy of anyone's time proves once again that they have little in common with normal people. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
5
HotelCentralSep 15, 2018
I give this film a 5 because I had no reaction to it. I didn't laugh, I didn't cry. I didn't find it droll. I wouldn't say it was a waste of time, but neither would I say it was time well spent. I think perhaps I was hypnotized by theI give this film a 5 because I had no reaction to it. I didn't laugh, I didn't cry. I didn't find it droll. I wouldn't say it was a waste of time, but neither would I say it was time well spent. I think perhaps I was hypnotized by the impression that something might be about to happen, but nothing ever did. It just went on and on for a while and then it ended and what exactly it was, or meant to be, I really couldn't say. Was it comedy? Was it satire? I really just don't know.

In the end, I think it was a nice idea that strove to be something, but failed to achieve.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PeterAlexanderAug 23, 2018
The Death of Stalin is ridiculous and entirely satirical, yet somewhat believable. It is a movie that doesn't hold back from what it tries to be and is all the more better for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AproxxAug 19, 2018
But MY GOD That first hour!

MY GOD THAT FIRST HOUR! Its not funny in the least. Its DUMB. Like absurdism done badly. And I would love to see how high of a score a boring movie like this one, and as absurd, but in the context of 1776 USA,
But MY GOD That first hour!

MY GOD THAT FIRST HOUR!

Its not funny in the least. Its DUMB. Like absurdism done badly.

And I would love to see how high of a score a boring movie like this one, and as absurd, but in the context of 1776 USA, or the Civil War, or or or

Im guessing not as high
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TomasMannAug 15, 2018
Watched this on boxxy software last night and I was pleasantly surprised. Very enjoyable. One of the best movies of the year. I really enjoyed this - and if you like whitty dialogue, good acting and an intelligently unfolded plot - you will too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vudumindscienceOct 19, 2018
A hilarious and witty old-school comedy. It's quite a feat to make comedy out of a topic so grim but at the same time, I don't think it trivializes it either, which comedies like this have a danger of doing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews