Well Go USA Entertainment | Release Date: April 6, 2018
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
15
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
hypeatiaJun 30, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great film, one about sibling relationships (pretty accurately rendered) and a fun take on time loops that also loops into another Justin Benson film, Resolution. Clever, and full of characters to root for. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
AugustKellerJun 4, 2018
The Endless is a film that is easy to get pulled into due to the variety of its techniques and the intention of its direction. A daunting atmosphere is created almost instantly with ominous scoring and dramatic transitions from scene toThe Endless is a film that is easy to get pulled into due to the variety of its techniques and the intention of its direction. A daunting atmosphere is created almost instantly with ominous scoring and dramatic transitions from scene to scene. Tensions rise as the plot carefully creeps along and the cast is given room to hit notes as diverse as comedic and horrifying. However, while the craft of this movie may be clear, the drawbacks are clear as well.

Some jokes fall flat, some characters feel incomplete, and some effects look weak. The Endless gives so many gifts but, unfortunately, it delivers some misses as well. Lightly peppered throughout the existential themes and sprawling imagery are cheesy lines and forced plot points, which leaves the whole thing feeling like a slightly missed opportunity. Superb sound, pacing and direction make The Endless a fascinating film from the drop but it all comes with enough miscalculations that the tonal integrity may be questioned by some. The result is a film that has potential to form a niche following but receive some mixed reviews from the general public.


Writing: 7/10
Direction: 8/10
Cinematography: 8/10
Acting: 5/10
Editing: 8/10
Sound: 9/10
Score/Soundtrack: 7/10
Production Design: 5/10
Casting: 5/10
Effects: 7/10

Overall Score: 7.1/10

Original Article: https://thefilmguys.blog/reviews/augusts-reviews/the-endless-2018/
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TryASummersaultJun 24, 2018
8.4/10 Once again the incredibly talented and innovative duo of Moorhead/Benson make a very captivating and perplexing spectacle full of ominous imagery and flabbergasting mind boggling conclusions. When I saw their first great film;8.4/10 Once again the incredibly talented and innovative duo of Moorhead/Benson make a very captivating and perplexing spectacle full of ominous imagery and flabbergasting mind boggling conclusions. When I saw their first great film; "Resolution" a few years back, I was absolutely blown away by its unique and foreboding nature, and I was constantly wondering about the ambiguous yet fantastic ending it left us with. I had a feeling from the first trailer this was going to somehow connect, and thankfully this film ties Resolution in flawlessly and honestly I consider this a sequel that answers some massive questions. Its imagination and creative unraveling of a insanely brilliant and mysterious tale is incredibly intriguing. The visuals and set pieces are astoundingly well done and set such a clever tone that's doused in suspense and wonder throughout. It's abundantly clear these guys can make amazing films on lower humble budgets and it speaks volumes about their talent as writers/filmmakers. While it does leave us with another ending that could go either way, I'm holding out hope for another entry into this highly entertaining and thrilling universe. While I wouldn't classify these films as horror's, I would call them more existential sci/fi/thrillers that get you thinking and pondering. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantApr 22, 2018
An intriguing sci-fi/horror offering that starts out great and finishes strong but sags somewhat in the middle. It's one thing to entice viewers with cryptic and metaphorical dialogue and actions, but it's something else to keep doing so toAn intriguing sci-fi/horror offering that starts out great and finishes strong but sags somewhat in the middle. It's one thing to entice viewers with cryptic and metaphorical dialogue and actions, but it's something else to keep doing so to the point where it becomes tiresome, as happens in this release's second act. The visuals are impressive, and the script has a good deal of humor carefully mixed in. If you can make it through the picture's midsection, you'll be rewarded, but don't be surprised if your patience gets tried a bit along the way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Jun 30, 2018
An interesting and intelligent puzzle that will make you think and that's always a good thing in films, however I feel the execution wasn´t successful. The film is well constructed but it feels very anticlimactic and the mystery itself is notAn interesting and intelligent puzzle that will make you think and that's always a good thing in films, however I feel the execution wasn´t successful. The film is well constructed but it feels very anticlimactic and the mystery itself is not really spectacular.

This film left me with a good impression, I cannot deny that. The film is entertaining and enjoyable but as I said it's also anticlimactic, however I recommend it because it's an attractive and well-made proposal outside the mainstream that will give you a nice talk post-film and most importantly this guys, the filmmakers, they're on a good path and I believe they're on the verge of their big breakthrough.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Bizzylorenzo70Aug 3, 2018
Type of low budget sci-fi flick that some will love and others will be asking "what did I just watch"? I found it intriguing, and yet quite frustrating at times, with a fascinating realism about it. It gains momentum and starts explainingType of low budget sci-fi flick that some will love and others will be asking "what did I just watch"? I found it intriguing, and yet quite frustrating at times, with a fascinating realism about it. It gains momentum and starts explaining more as it progresses to its rather shocking conclusion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FIghtDucksFIghtJul 3, 2018
I hate to be the guy that says this..but I swear I NEVER write reviews. The Endless is simply genius. Moorhead and Benson are brilliant at writing and acting. I can't recommend watching Resolution prior to this enough (although notI hate to be the guy that says this..but I swear I NEVER write reviews. The Endless is simply genius. Moorhead and Benson are brilliant at writing and acting. I can't recommend watching Resolution prior to this enough (although not mandatory to enjoy it thoroughly). Spring is almost as amazing at riding some seven genre fence of genius. It's poignant, horrific, romantic, surprising and has not been praised enough. But with the endless, this two guys have really reached a new high that I have no doubt is still just the beginning of their excellent careers. TEN. Requiem 10. One Flew Over... 10 Black Swan 10 Fight Club 8.5 The Endless: TEN Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
NewageLightbulbJul 20, 2018
What a pile of garbage. From the very beginning there is no attempt to establish a believable relationship between the brothers or deal seriously with the 'cult'. The two escapees actually refer to it as 'the cult', which is something peopleWhat a pile of garbage. From the very beginning there is no attempt to establish a believable relationship between the brothers or deal seriously with the 'cult'. The two escapees actually refer to it as 'the cult', which is something people dealing with such a situation wouldn't do. Then they engage in painful faux-hilarious banter, stumble across their mom's graveyard which is mysteriously along the side of the road to the cult, and other stuff that just feels forced and BS and millenial. This is a 100% millenial movie: written by someone who hasn't had any experiences, grew up on a trust fund, and tries to write characters he doesn't understand. Pointless garbage. Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
6
NikolayGJul 2, 2018
Two brothers go to visit the cult (or commune) they left 10 years earlier. Then weird stuff starts happening, but it's never really explained in any way. That's fine if there's a strong metaphorical element, but there was not. The writer mayTwo brothers go to visit the cult (or commune) they left 10 years earlier. Then weird stuff starts happening, but it's never really explained in any way. That's fine if there's a strong metaphorical element, but there was not. The writer may have had something deeply metaphorical in mind - I suspect that's why Polaroid photos and old Super 8 videos were found all over the place - but the writer never adequately conveys what the metaphor is. The best I could get out of it was something one of the brothers said as his reason for why he is considering staying, considering rejoining the commune/cult. But that wasn't really enough and it didn't explain most of the weird happenings, such as the Polaroids all over the place. That said, the performances were earnest and persuasive and the suspense was well handled. There is a lot of skill in the filmmaking but the screenplay was underdeveloped. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
metoooOct 12, 2018
No Spoilers-- I'm a film buff and I love complex, intelligently scripted cinema. This is not that. It's an interesting concept, but one that will likely fall flat with most viewers. The concept is intriguing, but not very fleshed out. TheNo Spoilers-- I'm a film buff and I love complex, intelligently scripted cinema. This is not that. It's an interesting concept, but one that will likely fall flat with most viewers. The concept is intriguing, but not very fleshed out. The character development is quite thin, and most of the scenes are boring. It's very similar in execution to Looper, in that it thinks it's a smarter movie than it really is. I really do not recommend the time to watch this, unless if you're watching it by yourself and curious (it's on Netflix), or you were a fan of Looper. I imagine all the top reviews are from people who enjoyed that film, but, and I stress, this is a very nice group of viewers that you are probably not a part of.

A great alternative: Annihilation with Natalie Portman. Also on Netflix! Or if you want something "genre defying", try Upgrade. Both are cerebral and very entertaining, neither of which are qualities I would give The Endless.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
movieaterNov 3, 2018
Totally a waste of time. Roughly made, a meaningless mysterious story. Kind of cult.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
movieducationDec 4, 2018
For a science fiction trying to avoid clear answer of the "unknown" and creating provoking loops in our heads, THE ENDLESS is brimming over with too much explanations of its worldbuilding while never deeply indulges in conflict of the meaningFor a science fiction trying to avoid clear answer of the "unknown" and creating provoking loops in our heads, THE ENDLESS is brimming over with too much explanations of its worldbuilding while never deeply indulges in conflict of the meaning of its repeating existences. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
wollam11Oct 15, 2018
One of those movies that you love that you are pretty sure you will never watch again. Wouldn't want to get caught in a loop. Aaron Moorhead and Justin Benson would make a cute couple, even if they are brothers. Just can't help rooting forOne of those movies that you love that you are pretty sure you will never watch again. Wouldn't want to get caught in a loop. Aaron Moorhead and Justin Benson would make a cute couple, even if they are brothers. Just can't help rooting for them both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
justwibiOct 16, 2018
the idea of this film is really good! they don't have a lot of money but success made this sci-fi/horror looks so natural and creepy! that's why you don't have to had lot of money for making a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeepboopbopSep 19, 2018
Incredible! I think the less you know going in the more you will enjoy this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Jan 9, 2019
Given a bigger budget, I think that The Endless could have been one of the biggest sci-fi films of this year. However, the smaller budget does show at times, as some of the effects are a little too ambitious for what they had to work with.Given a bigger budget, I think that The Endless could have been one of the biggest sci-fi films of this year. However, the smaller budget does show at times, as some of the effects are a little too ambitious for what they had to work with. The story is fantastic for about 80% of the runtime, and the mystery is enthralling from the start. Unfortunately, the ending jumped the shark for me. It's not a terrible ending, but it cheapened the rest of the film for me. If the ending had connected better with the rest of the film, I think this would be one of my favorite films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Slovenly_MuseJan 12, 2019
Regardless of the occasional rough patches and loose threads, this is a very enjoyable, fascinating film that makes excellent use of a small budget and delivers on its unsettling story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CosiMOLOGOSep 10, 2018
La emoción más antigua y más intensa de la humanidad es el miedo, y el más antiguo y más intenso de los miedos es el miedo a lo desconocido. Con esta frase de H. P. Lovecraft, escritor que cimentó las bases del terror cósmico, comienza estaLa emoción más antigua y más intensa de la humanidad es el miedo, y el más antiguo y más intenso de los miedos es el miedo a lo desconocido. Con esta frase de H. P. Lovecraft, escritor que cimentó las bases del terror cósmico, comienza esta película que guarda mucha similitud con los libros del mencionado autor. Narra la historia de dos hermanos, que después de recibir una cinta de vídeo, vuelven a una secta de la que escaparon hace años. Lo característico en las obras de Lovecraft es el miedo a algo o alguien, un ser omnipresente y con un poder absoluto. Como "En las montañas de la locura", historia que inspiró a "La cosa", una magnifica película de terror. Ahora con una historia muy compleja y un presupuesto muy bajo, el cineasta Justin Benson, logró plasmar de una manera magistral la esencia de la obra de Lovecraft en una película con un gran logro artístico, que se ve acompañado con excelentes actuaciones y efectos respetables para una producción independiente.

A diferencia de las mayoría de películas de terror, El infinito, sale de los parámetros de las películas de terror y muestra de una manera magnifica que este género aún puede dar buenos resultados. Como lo hizo "Huye", el año pasado o "La bruja".

Una de las mejores películas de terror y ciencia ficción del año
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
greenisgoodDec 9, 2018
An absolute gem of a slow burn, IMHO. The minimal Cgi usage keeps the pacing intriguing as well as the intelligent usage of said minimal effects nudge the weirdness just enough to stay ominous.
The director duo work well as actors more so as
An absolute gem of a slow burn, IMHO. The minimal Cgi usage keeps the pacing intriguing as well as the intelligent usage of said minimal effects nudge the weirdness just enough to stay ominous.
The director duo work well as actors more so as two passive aggressive brothers that are learning to respect each other. The supporting cast though mostly passive did well enough to hold up the central sibling relationship which was the focus.
I loved every camera shot and movement that was showcased in this film and adore the organic flow of the exposition dealt out to us. Up until the end and even after the climax I would say we as viewers are not given any resolute definitions about what is actually happening and I respect such movies that allow my own mind to make up what could be. This is especially a better way to write your screenplay and story and I would prefer this style over any dumb cgi creation coupled with loud jump scares which seems to plague modern horror movies.
Watch this movie Support the Directing Duo I hope to see them flourish and see more of their future work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
qbaseSep 20, 2019
Το The Endless αποτελεί τυπικά sequel/spin-off του Resolution, ή τέλος πάντως διαδραματίζονται στο ίδιο σύμπαν, χωρίς όμως να είναι απαραίτητο να έχετε δει τη προηγούμενη ταινία, μιας και η ιστορίες είναι ανεξάρτητες, παρά τους κάποιουςΤο The Endless αποτελεί τυπικά sequel/spin-off του Resolution, ή τέλος πάντως διαδραματίζονται στο ίδιο σύμπαν, χωρίς όμως να είναι απαραίτητο να έχετε δει τη προηγούμενη ταινία, μιας και η ιστορίες είναι ανεξάρτητες, παρά τους κάποιους κοινούς χαρακτήρες. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews