New Line Cinema | Release Date: April 24, 1983
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 270 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
28
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TuneisonAug 26, 2018
The Evil Dead us one of cheesiest and, stupidest horror films ever made. However it comes from a place of heart, so to speak, The heart of Sam Raimi. This is an absolutely amazing piece of cinema that is good but, not great. I can't reallyThe Evil Dead us one of cheesiest and, stupidest horror films ever made. However it comes from a place of heart, so to speak, The heart of Sam Raimi. This is an absolutely amazing piece of cinema that is good but, not great. I can't really describe it to you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MANIAinifinetMar 19, 2013
All right let me get this straight, The Evil Dead is not a good movie. However like most old horror movies it is incredibly entertaining to watch and look back at what was actually scary for the time and laugh about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Sep 17, 2020
Cheesy, wacky, excessive and unique, "The Evil Dead" may be a movie that I ultimately value more for starting the career of Sam Raimi than for its merits as a piece of entertainment, but that doesn't mean my watching this for the first timeCheesy, wacky, excessive and unique, "The Evil Dead" may be a movie that I ultimately value more for starting the career of Sam Raimi than for its merits as a piece of entertainment, but that doesn't mean my watching this for the first time was anything short of enjoyable. Dated in all the ways you'd think it'd feel more modern and modern in all the ways you'd think it'd feel more dated, "The Evil Dead" is a complicated movie to digest in the year of our Lord 2020. You find yourself impressed with the makeup and effects, yet disappointed with the performances and music. You appreciate the film's contributions to the genre and its totally unorthodox feel, yet lament the existence and question the purpose of the infamous "tree rape" scene. To compartmentalize such things is always suboptimal, and the experience overall was definitely wild and weird, but not one I'll forget so soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LaGuertaMay 7, 2013
Less easily impressed audience members will find themselves wanting to beat this film relentlessly until the maniacal laughing stops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeJul 1, 2016
The movie was interesting and entertaining for the most part.The acting was not that bad and the practical effects were well made.Even though it is highly overrated and I didn't find the movie very funny, it's not a bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BeatrixKiddoSep 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A cult classic horror movie you either love or hate. Personally, I am not sure yet if l loved it or not. Maybe it was too gory for me, l wanted to vomit all the time. The night after l saw it, l couldn't sleep, lol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ahmedaiman1999Jun 20, 2020
I finally get why people consider Evil Dead II as one of the best and superior film sequels. For as much as I found this one truly innovative in terms of its stylish direction, some ideas, amazing camerawork and fantastic stop-motionI finally get why people consider Evil Dead II as one of the best and superior film sequels. For as much as I found this one truly innovative in terms of its stylish direction, some ideas, amazing camerawork and fantastic stop-motion animation, claymation and practical effects in general, it's in grave need of more self-awareness to compensate for its great lacking in substance and justify its unbelievably dumb characters. It's still good fun, though.

(6/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
I_loveJan 4, 2019
Cheesy even for a horror comedy, it's really overrated, and the stuff in here is just kinda dumb, but it was realy funy, and kinda good at times
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GNantesJul 8, 2020
First time, that's three years ago, I enjoyed this movie due to its crude make-up and its handy violence. Surely, in the middle and up to the end, the gore pays the bill but, beyond that, I had the impression this movie loses the spark ofFirst time, that's three years ago, I enjoyed this movie due to its crude make-up and its handy violence. Surely, in the middle and up to the end, the gore pays the bill but, beyond that, I had the impression this movie loses the spark of some "true evil" going on within. Second time, last night, I found it really cheap, and I'm not talking about budget. Horror must be subtle, specially, so it can hit throw your soul. Anyway, this movie is neither great, nor boring, regular in its best, like a bulldozer doing the job against the impassiveness of a wall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
akshatmahajanOct 24, 2020
Sam Raimi's debut "The Evil Dead" is a good horror movie. Maybe it is due to small budget of $375,000 that the quality was bad and effects looked fake by today's standards. It could have been much much better. The actors were alsoSam Raimi's debut "The Evil Dead" is a good horror movie. Maybe it is due to small budget of $375,000 that the quality was bad and effects looked fake by today's standards. It could have been much much better. The actors were also inexperienced. None of them did good acting. It all looked fake. Only the story was strong and different. The pace was good and running time was also enough.

Overall, the movie was great for that time (1981) but if you are willing to watch it today (2020) you may not enjoy it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews