BIM Distribuzione | Release Date: December 17, 2021
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 135 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
22
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
LucmidesJan 31, 2022
Horrible movie. Pretends to be intellectual but it's as ordinary as it can be. If I was watching this at a movie theatre I would not hesitate and leave the room.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
asdfgtvyJan 5, 2022
self-indulgent, lazy, and full of intellectual masturbation -- "look how hard motherhood is when I am trying to read Dante," "oh my god the unbearable weight of my domestic responsibilities even though I am translating Yeats," "I speakself-indulgent, lazy, and full of intellectual masturbation -- "look how hard motherhood is when I am trying to read Dante," "oh my god the unbearable weight of my domestic responsibilities even though I am translating Yeats," "I speak Italian, which is spoken by millions of people, but that makes me so incredibly uptight and snobby," "oh look at all my traumas: my mom didn't finish college and my daughter has the audacity of wanting to spend time with me." Olivia is great as always, but Maggie needs to get her head out of academia's ass -- the conference scene is laughable and nothing close to an academic gathering, which Maggie would know if she actually had a non-fetishistic relationship with intellectual life. Ironically, the linguistic hospitality of Elena's writing is lost to Maggie, who thinks she is smart but simply isn't. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
CLAYTAYLOR21Jan 1, 2022
It appears that lots of people are loving The Lost Daughter, but unfortunately it just didn't work for me. I found myself uninterested for large portions of the first two acts, and once I became invested I didn't have anyone to root forIt appears that lots of people are loving The Lost Daughter, but unfortunately it just didn't work for me. I found myself uninterested for large portions of the first two acts, and once I became invested I didn't have anyone to root for because all of the characters in this film are despicable. I also felt that there was an overuse of symbolism which took me out of the movie further because I wasn't able to figure out what the symbols were meaning to stand for(this is probably more of a me problem than the film's problem). Additionally, I didn't feel that any of the themes were relatable to me personally, so I didn't feel much payoff from the emotional moments. The only thing I really liked about this film was the performances. I loved Dakota Johnson particularly, while Olivia Colman was great as always. Ed Harris and Jessie Buckley were very good as well. The Lost Daughter takes plenty of risks with an intriguing storytelling technique, but it never all came together for me. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
HipsterDufusJan 5, 2022
I fell asleep during this one. How on earth did this get made into a film? I kept expecting a twist or something to happen that would warrant sitting through this snorefest. My wife and I watched it mainly because Olivia and Ed, both areI fell asleep during this one. How on earth did this get made into a film? I kept expecting a twist or something to happen that would warrant sitting through this snorefest. My wife and I watched it mainly because Olivia and Ed, both are amazing actors and did great jobs, though I think it was difficult for Ed to determine what his character was. Olivia can just turn on the waterworks and is so convincing of her character and emotions, but this story just falls flat. Nothing interesting, nothing riveting, just very slow and boring and leads literally nowhere with a disappointing ending. Don't waste 2 hours watching it unless you really like Olivia. She was the standout on this with her dramatic ability, but director Maggie didn't make the story interesting at all. Also, please stop casting Dakota Johnson for parts. When you hear her deliver her lines its aparantly obvious she lacks true acting skills, emotionless, dry and on caliber with high school drama. Dakota needs some serious acting classes or at least should go through some master class sessions. I can act better than her and I'm not an actor. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
nhayanoJan 29, 2022
the acting is good, but the film can be uninteresting, insignificant, ignoble, unnecessary, futile and tasteless sometimes
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
KrandJan 5, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So a young women isn’t interested in being a mother, and isn’t there for her kids decides to leave them in the hands of their father for 3 years. She does the right thing for them and her self yet rattled with guilt and steals a doll decade later. Apparently the author would only allow the film to be made if Maggie directed. I watch this film for 10 mins. Then I did house work. Then I muted it. Then I skipped to the end. Then I looked at reviews trying to figure out what the hype was about. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
SilverscreenerJan 8, 2022
Terrible in every imaginable way. Whole movie can be told by two sentences.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
RatedRexJan 3, 2022
I usually like movies that take their time, provided there is a payoff at the end. "The Lost Daughter" had no payoff. Which means it was a waste of time. The closeups were too close. The scenes didn't always make sense. And there were NOI usually like movies that take their time, provided there is a payoff at the end. "The Lost Daughter" had no payoff. Which means it was a waste of time. The closeups were too close. The scenes didn't always make sense. And there were NO likable characters in the movie. Plus, you could see the actors acting. I completely disliked the experience. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
MisogymoshJan 1, 2022
Points for the always wonderful actress Olivia! Minus minus points for the godawful boring hard to follow ridiculous plot and horrendous script. Minus minus points for the pretty but overrated and frankly horribly bland actress Dakota, pointsPoints for the always wonderful actress Olivia! Minus minus points for the godawful boring hard to follow ridiculous plot and horrendous script. Minus minus points for the pretty but overrated and frankly horribly bland actress Dakota, points for the beautiful cinematography and score, and minus minus points for the ho hum completely stupid denouement ( I wasted all that time watching this, for that???) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
NobackhandJan 2, 2022
Absolute torture. Slow, dull and uninteresting…and I have liked Colman for years. Once again..a substantial difference between critics and “ the public”.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Jan 2, 2022
The always reliably brilliant Olivia Colman stars as a middle-aged mother on vacation in Greece who is troubled by haunting memories of her past incidents of motherhood with her own two daughters after meeting another young mother (DakotaThe always reliably brilliant Olivia Colman stars as a middle-aged mother on vacation in Greece who is troubled by haunting memories of her past incidents of motherhood with her own two daughters after meeting another young mother (Dakota Johnson) at the beach. Marking the writing/directorial debut for Maggie Gyllenhaal, this is a slow-burn film, albeit a not particularly exciting or compelling one unfortunately. Fine performances are given from all involved, not least by Colman, who never disappoints. Supporting players such as Johnson, Jessie Buckley, and Ed Harris also give worthwhile turns here, but they can't quite compensate for a general lack of spark or guidance in plot or direction. The film does something that's more often than not been a pet peeve of mine, which is it jumps back and forth between past and present through many flashback scenes. The film also simply kind of ends without really resolving or telling us much of anything other than being a parent is hard I guess. Overall, brilliant performances but a rather straightforward and wandering storyline Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
HerickDienerJan 6, 2022
"The Lost Daughter" tem bons ensinamentos sobre a maternidade, que poucas mães tem coragem de sequer pronunciar. Mas serve mesmo é para evidenciar, mais uma vez, que Olivia Colman é uma das maiores atrizes que já pisaram por aqui. Até um"The Lost Daughter" tem bons ensinamentos sobre a maternidade, que poucas mães tem coragem de sequer pronunciar. Mas serve mesmo é para evidenciar, mais uma vez, que Olivia Colman é uma das maiores atrizes que já pisaram por aqui. Até um bocejo que ela solta ao acordar está acima do que fazem os seus outros colegas de profissão. Vale por ela! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
AcidCasualJan 1, 2022
I’m sorry. Nothing happens, the storytelling babbles on, to an enormous nothing.

Critics need not blow the horn of Hollywood A listers for the sake of it, just because it’s a directorial debut. For a first film, you have to set your
I’m sorry. Nothing happens, the storytelling babbles on, to an enormous nothing.

Critics need not blow the horn of Hollywood A listers for the sake of it, just because it’s a directorial debut.

For a first film, you have to set your president of what you’re capable of. At least intellectually. This film wasn’t clever, it was simply personal.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
crankyoldguyDec 31, 2021
As a father of five daughters…I know that being a parent is complicated. This film is brave in opening the discussion of what a “good mother,” really is. We are blessed with close relationships with almost all of our daughters. The “almost”As a father of five daughters…I know that being a parent is complicated. This film is brave in opening the discussion of what a “good mother,” really is. We are blessed with close relationships with almost all of our daughters. The “almost” being the fluid part of working at it harder with one than the others. Gyllenhaal is going to have a long career as a director if this is her first attempt. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
MetacriticOnurJan 2, 2022
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
Kirby101Dec 26, 2021
Colman does a good job with a weak story line and auxiliary characters that really make for a creepy movie. Try to figure out why they are necessary to tell this boring story. We just didn’t find it compelling. It leaves you wanting a biggerColman does a good job with a weak story line and auxiliary characters that really make for a creepy movie. Try to figure out why they are necessary to tell this boring story. We just didn’t find it compelling. It leaves you wanting a bigger story. 3 yawns… Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
BablidookJan 1, 2022
Bait and switch movie that masquerades as a thriller with no payoff. Empty and meaningless.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
Ascended333Dec 17, 2021
It’s really bad and i just hate it so much. it’s so overrated and boring and ridiculous
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
toddandersonDec 17, 2021
Maggie is fantastic. Watched the film with my 2 other friends and we are all stunned by the film.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
3
jake-bJan 1, 2022
Has a few moments of interest, but if a guy had made this movie he'd be vilified as a woman-hating troll who regards motherhood as a source of life-long ill-humor, doll-pilfering and suicidal slumbering at water's edge. This may be theHas a few moments of interest, but if a guy had made this movie he'd be vilified as a woman-hating troll who regards motherhood as a source of life-long ill-humor, doll-pilfering and suicidal slumbering at water's edge. This may be the Aegean, but folks still drown in it.

The pregnant mafiosa from Queens might have made for an interesting 2 hours, if the filmmaker was prepared to forgo W.B. Yeats and the life of the mind in favor of something vulgar, entertaining, and fast-moving. You know, like a movie? I mean, like, what if it really isn't the case that movie-stars know more than the rest of us?
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
2
jmil24Jan 1, 2022
This movie is abysmal. Pretentious, overlong and pointless, with so many threads that could have been interesting (especially on motherhood) but went nowhere. Great actors, but otherwise can’t believe this movie even got made. Awful.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Dec 31, 2021
I don't mind non-linear narratives, but I have to admit that initially, The Lost Daughter caught me a little off guard.

Its content makes sense of course, but initially it's impossible not to feel a little lost and confused, because this
I don't mind non-linear narratives, but I have to admit that initially, The Lost Daughter caught me a little off guard.

Its content makes sense of course, but initially it's impossible not to feel a little lost and confused, because this film starts with its ending, and finding out what happens to Leda (Olivia Colman) is not easy at first.

Needless to say the mystery begins to unfold, and I'll tell you up front that it's not about anything sinister or anything like that. In fact it's a tragic story, but I applaud first-time director Maggie Gyllenhaal who never seeks to make it easy or explain what's going on in a rushed way. No, Gyllenhaal withholds the mystery, not to drive her drama and keep you interested in knowing the outcome, but because it's necessary for the pieces to fall into place properly and for you as the viewer to be really involved with it.

The crux of the matter lies in the past and youth of Leda's character, which in those sequences is played by Jessie Buckley. And it's that point in the story that gives full meaning to the odyssey that the present day Leda is experiencing.

The Lost Daughter is more about context than about exposition or catharsis. In fact to my interpretation there's none, and its ending though ambiguous, hints at a conclusion that may be equally tragic and bittersweet, yet it may also signify rest and liberation for its main character.

This was a very good film. One of the best Netflix released in 2021. Precisely on the last day of the year.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
kevinCHONJan 1, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty weak. There is false tension that keeps you watching, but in the end I would call them loopholes.

The greek family seems so suspicious and ill-intent towards the main character for no apparent reason. The film makes you think her daughter disappeared but it's never brought up or explored.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
Brent_MarchantDec 19, 2021
Despite fine performances by Olivia Colman and Jessie Buckley, writer-director Maggie Gyllenhaal's debut feature is all sizzle and no steak (and not much bona fide sizzle at that). In telling a suspense thriller, the key is the creation andDespite fine performances by Olivia Colman and Jessie Buckley, writer-director Maggie Gyllenhaal's debut feature is all sizzle and no steak (and not much bona fide sizzle at that). In telling a suspense thriller, the key is the creation and maintenance of "suspense," and there's precious little of that here. Instead, viewers are presented with a long-winded narrative that's boring, meandering and often obvious, with a payoff that offers little captivation, surprise or impact. Many reviewers have praised the work as an ambitious and noteworthy attempt at translating complex source material into a finished cinematic product, but that's like saying "Nice job at almost getting it right" or "Hearty congratulations on finishing seventh." It's become truly frustrating and disappointing this year to see yet another underwhelming new movie offering being lauded with piles of undeserved accolades, but, like so many other offerings before it, this is more proof of what a truly lousy year in cinema 2021 has been. If you really want to see this one, don't waste your money on a theater ticket -- just wait until you can stream it as part of your Netflix subscription and then do your best to try and stay awake. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
rajeevfromcaJan 1, 2022
Terrible movie and a total waste of time. I love Colman and had high hopes. She acts very well but this seems like yet another vanity project. Gyllenhal shows her directorial immaturity by always zooming the camera in for shaky close ups forTerrible movie and a total waste of time. I love Colman and had high hopes. She acts very well but this seems like yet another vanity project. Gyllenhal shows her directorial immaturity by always zooming the camera in for shaky close ups for no reason, stirring up sinister intent that goes nowhere, and cutting back and forth for no reason. The story makes little sense, especially the doll-napping. Maybe it is based on some author’s real-life experiences but that does not make the characters any less despicable so there is no connection with the audience. It could’ve been an interesting story about the challenges of motherhood and ambition, but it ends lamely with “I’m a horrible and unnatural mother.” What?? Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Treasure188Dec 17, 2021
Loved every single second of it. Maggie Gyllenhaal is a fantastic director. The performances are great, especially Olivia Colman's. I have been having a good week in terms of watching films.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
IlisDec 19, 2021
Boring movie, just one of the worst movie I've watched this year, no storyline, Boring and I almost fell asleep watching it.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
ThatprettysoulDec 31, 2021
Such an amazing, beautiful movie! Brilliant cast! Maggie really did a great job here!
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
gwtgrtrghrthDec 17, 2021
My two friends spoke for me. This is amazing. Hoping that this will be well received by other people as it deserves to be.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
DanielLGJan 1, 2022
Olivia colman es maravillosa como siempre, la hija perdida es maravillosamente exquisita
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
lwtosDec 25, 2021
Great moovie with excellent perfomances! The gem here is the original music where Monika really serves.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
mikerayDec 31, 2021
All children are annoying. They're not worth it. I want to thank this movie for giving me the courage to finally leave my kids for three (at least) years before actually building a relationship with them. Irresponsible you say? I am. But IAll children are annoying. They're not worth it. I want to thank this movie for giving me the courage to finally leave my kids for three (at least) years before actually building a relationship with them. Irresponsible you say? I am. But I deserve it. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
SamiIsidorioDec 30, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oliviaaaaaaa, galera é a maior que nós temos, futura best actress, que adaptação bem feita, a Gyllenhal debutou bem como diretora. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
bertobellamyJan 2, 2022
Maggie Gyllenhaal's directorial debut is remarkable.

This story, about a woman who begins to recall her early memories as a mother after interacting with a younger one and her daughter, asks a question society tries to evade almost all the
Maggie Gyllenhaal's directorial debut is remarkable.

This story, about a woman who begins to recall her early memories as a mother after interacting with a younger one and her daughter, asks a question society tries to evade almost all the time: is it wrong to give up as a mother?

'The Lost Daughter,' based on the novel of the same name — which now I'm very interested in reading —, presents us a mature woman in conflict with herself. Did she do wrong when she tried to look for herself when raising her children? Society, in general, expects women to feel bad about it, so I'm glad this film has a main character that deconstructs what a mother means now.

Apart from that, the acting in it is very good. Olivia Colman is amazing as always but, for me, Jesse Buckley is the real star. The way she represents the joy and the frustration of being a young mother more focused on her career and her personal affairs is on point. And the other characters have a good development arc too. Almost everyone expresses their tribulations to Leda (Colman), making the movie more interesting.

Hope this film gets more love during awards season.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeJan 1, 2022
A beguiling debut film brilliantly directed by Maggie Gyllenhaal and another Oscar worthy performance by Olivia Coleman. Tough subject will not make this a film for everyone. The world is filled with lost daughters.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
joaogabriJan 4, 2022
MVP: Olivia Colman

"Pobres criaturas que saíram da minha barriga. As partes que acho mais bonitas nelas, são as partes alheias a mim." De férias numa praia grega, a professora Leda (Colman) tem seu espaço invadido por uma família barulhenta
MVP: Olivia Colman

"Pobres criaturas que saíram da minha barriga. As partes que acho mais bonitas nelas, são as partes alheias a mim."

De férias numa praia grega, a professora Leda (Colman) tem seu espaço invadido por uma família barulhenta e grosseira, que chega a praia aos montes e começa a se apoderar desta. Em meio aos intrusos está Nina (Dakota Johnson), uma jovem mãe que chama a atenção de Leda, que passa a ver a si mesma, quando mais jovem, na outra.

Um retrato cruel sobre a maternidade e suas mazelas, inclusive culpa. Uma adaptação impecável do livro de mesmo nome, escrito por Elena Ferrante, transformado em longa por uma Maggie Gyllenhaal que parece ter nascido para escrever e dirigir. Em sua estreia por trás das câmeras, ela escolheu um livro dificílimo, de tema delicado, mas encontrou num elenco espetacular um meio de contar essa história. Aqui, a trama está nos detalhes, nos olhos, na tensão tão palpável que dá para cortar com faca.

Infelizmente não é um filme "para qualquer um", pelo ritmo bem lento da obra, que vai crescendo até o seu clímax onde, para alguns, pode parecer que "nada acontece". Mas o filme, assim como o livro, faz várias reflexões sobre a maternidade de vários ângulos diferentes. A protagonista, Leda, é uma mãe cansada, que já criou as filhas; Nina é uma mãe jovem, com uma filha pequena e muito carente, que não desgruda dela; Callie (Dagmara Dominczyk) é cunhada de Nina e está grávida de seu primeiro filho, barriguda, e tem o ar de quem entende tudo sobre crianças, e que sabe melhor que Nina como cuidar da filha pequena dela - "essa é a sua experiência?", pergunta Leda a Callie numa cena, debochada.

E, muito distante daquela praia, nós somos apresentados a uma Leda quando mais jovem, vivida por Jessie Buckley (cuja interpretação está sobrenaturalmente conectada à Colman). Conforme acompanha Nina e sua filha na busca por uma boneca perdida (a "filha" do título, diria eu), a protagonista revisita suas lembranças de quando as próprias filhas, Bianca e Martha, eram ainda meninas, necessitadas, exigentes, o tempo todo ao lado da mãe.

Daí, entre belíssimas cenas na praia e flashbacks, "A Filha Perdida" discorre a experiência de uma mãe "desnaturada" (nas falas da própria Leda), que não conseguia se conectar realmente com as filhas e com o dever de mãe. Muito da verborragia da autora da obra original é espalhada aqui e ali entre conversas da protagonista com outros personagens, onde ela sempre se estende demais falando das filhas, falando com certa amargura, embora com elegância, sobre o rancor que as filhas têm dela e elas tem das filhas.

Existe também um tom de erotismo no filme. Leda é uma mulher beirando os 50 anos, como a própria Olivia Colman, mas que se sente bonita. Nas cenas da praia, os grandes seios da protagonista ganham algum destaque, e o corpo delicado e esculpido da Nina, vez e outra em foco, molhado, parecem pintura em determinadas cenas. As falas uma para a outra, compartilhando alguns segredos, longos olhares de compreensão... Os encontros da protagonista com os homens que trabalham na praia e na pousada (Paul Mescal e Ed Harris), os flertes aqui e ali. Sem falar dos flashbacks, quando a Leda está com seu amante, e eles exalam vontade de devorar um ao outro. Tudo isso contribui para o clima tão "úmido" que o filme tem, quase pastoso, realmente palpável do início ao fim.

E é claro que o principal "instrumento" que Gyllenhaal tem aqui, é o poder de atuação da Olivia Colman, uma das melhores - se não a melhor - atriz em atividade nos últimos anos, quando pensa nos projetos que participa e no PODER que tem em cena. Leda é sua personagem mais difícil e, não surpreendentemente, sua melhor atuação. Alguns dos pensamentos da personagem no livro, que não estão presentes no filme por falta de narração, ficam impressos no corpo da Olivia, que tem tanta habilidade para demonstrar emoções apenas com um simples olhar, que poderia interpretar uma mesinha de centro, e mesmo assim ser a mesinha de centro com mais profundidade na história do cinema.

Instigante, malicioso, voraz. "A Filha Perdida" é uma obra incrível, que faz jus ao material base. A cena final, quando a protagonista acorda de seu colapso e atende o celular, para falar com a filha com quem menos tem afinidade, e ainda assim desaba num turbilhão de alívio, é perfeita. Que cineasta é Maggie Gyllenhaal! Que atrizes são Olivia Colman e Jessie Buckley! Que filme!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MoviesWithHartJan 1, 2022
MOTHERHOOD can weigh heavily on those unprepared for such an immense responsibility, and while the reward is more than worth the risk, what happens to the parents who realise they've begun parenting before they've finished growing up?

Based
MOTHERHOOD can weigh heavily on those unprepared for such an immense responsibility, and while the reward is more than worth the risk, what happens to the parents who realise they've begun parenting before they've finished growing up?


Based on the novel by Elena Ferrante, The Lost Daughter follows a woman named Leda (Olivia Colman/Jessie Buckley) as her past life comes back to haunt her in the form of Nina (Dakota Johnson), a young, depressed mother vacationing on the same island with her. Mysteries begin to unfold as similarities between herself and Nina make themselves known in unforeseen ways, making Leda question herself and her decisions as a person and mother.


There are a number of underlining messages evident in Maggie Gyllenhaal's directorial debut, most of which revolve around postpartum depression, but since I'm unable to experience the miracle of childbirth, these themes left little impact on myself following the credits. However, I can still judge The Lost Daughter for what it is - a solid movie with terrific performances and perceptive character building.


Olivia Colman, Jessie Buckley and Dakota Johnson all deliver wonderful performances, presenting themselves as caring mothers shrouded in mystery for majority of the runtime as the audience is left to uncover the secrets that lie underneath both character's past and present. Despite being featured less prominently then I would've like, Jessie Buckley was the standout actress in the film, playing the role of a younger Leda to perfection; entertaining and heartfelt, while also being calculated and empathetic. But unfortunately, the lack of focus given towards her during the first act made for an unsatisfying experience by the final act came around. Her performance, while phenomenal, could've been so much more if not for the fact much of the focus was given to meandering plot elements which were built up to be an impactful crescendo, only for them to be as silent as a pin drop during the film's closing moments.


The sheer intimacy Gyllenhaal devotes towards her fellow cast members is one to be applauded; expectations are foreseeable, yet well-deserved, in a project that serves more as a character study rather than an overarching story, resulting in much of the runtime being devoted to one-on-one conversations and protracted shots of the Greek landscape that gives The Lost Daughter some semblance of verisimilitude. It's definitely not a movie for everyone; its themes will fail to relate to many viewers, but for what it is, The Lost Daughter is a promising directorial debut for Gyllenhaal that will keep you well-engaged from start to end - even if the road getting there is a long-winded one.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
FilmolJan 5, 2022
WTF! I sat in silence for 10 minutes afterwards. I cannot get this film out my head and had to watch immediately the next day. The 2nd time was even better, it’s not an easy film or subject matter and requires some patience. I liked beingWTF! I sat in silence for 10 minutes afterwards. I cannot get this film out my head and had to watch immediately the next day. The 2nd time was even better, it’s not an easy film or subject matter and requires some patience. I liked being challenged to think and feel outside my comfort zone. What I also love is the ambiguity, I believe each person will come away from the film with a different reaction depending on their life experiences. But my biggest question of all is how is Olivia Colman so real and expressive? I have never witnessed a human being capable of conveying as many emotions on the screen. She is just on another level. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ReeltruthJan 3, 2022
Loved this taunt thriller. It is messy, just like life and motherhood. The complex characters are well written and acted. Gyllenhaal’s direction is sublime and Coleman is superb as always. The critics got it right but for some reason thisLoved this taunt thriller. It is messy, just like life and motherhood. The complex characters are well written and acted. Gyllenhaal’s direction is sublime and Coleman is superb as always. The critics got it right but for some reason this layered, engaging film is lost on many of the users and their negative reviews. Perhaps they would prefer a Marvel film. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
HabibiehakimJan 2, 2022
Maggie Gyllenhaal directorial debut was stunning, beautiful, deep, and superb, add with Olivia Colman, Dakota Johnson, and Jessie Buckley in one of if not they're best performance yet, The Lost Daughter is full of hate, sadness, lonely, andMaggie Gyllenhaal directorial debut was stunning, beautiful, deep, and superb, add with Olivia Colman, Dakota Johnson, and Jessie Buckley in one of if not they're best performance yet, The Lost Daughter is full of hate, sadness, lonely, and anger that really combined carefully and it all works incredibly well, The Lost Daughter is a perfect movie to end 2021. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ChanekeCholoJan 4, 2022
The Lost Daughter is an unnatural film, move the molds about what it means the motherhood to exposes us the other side of the coin, the dark side. Maggie Gyllenhaal adapts the book of the same name in a masterly way, maybe not making usThe Lost Daughter is an unnatural film, move the molds about what it means the motherhood to exposes us the other side of the coin, the dark side. Maggie Gyllenhaal adapts the book of the same name in a masterly way, maybe not making us understand, but making us feel what she wants to convey.
I love Olivia Colman performances, but I'm gonna say that this performance is the best of her career, also for Jessie Buckley and Dakota Johnson. They are so sincere and natural to manifest such an unnatural thought to make us think that it should be a natural thought and this will be rejected for some people.
The story is slow and tries to play with the surreal at times, on a first impression, this causes a mess to get more involved in the story. It's a film which we have to take another look at.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GabbyMinouJan 3, 2022
Insightful like a poem that hurts but it’s beautiful for the feelings it creates.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Ro94Jan 6, 2022
Olivia Colman is everything. Love all the references and how Maggie adapted the book, which is difficult.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MyrydoaneJan 7, 2022
I’m genuinely shocked at how many people didn’t like this movie. Stunning, raw, honest, beautiful, **** up. A must watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Jan 15, 2022
Making your debut as a film director is not easy; not be a mother either. Following the plot closely, there will be no shortage of those who feel identified with the characters, played by an unrepeatable cast. It is one of those films thatMaking your debut as a film director is not easy; not be a mother either. Following the plot closely, there will be no shortage of those who feel identified with the characters, played by an unrepeatable cast. It is one of those films that remain in the memory or the heart. Or both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JPenguinEsqJan 22, 2022
It's two hours long but feels like 11 hours. I still have 15 minutes to go, I'm struggling to make it to the end. I love Olivia Colman but jesus, there is zero plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
UncleWillardFeb 20, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I adore Olivia Coleman, and though I did not like this movie, her performance was strong. I just take issue with this very feminist idea that it's okay for women to abandon their children, but all men who do are not afforded the same sympathy, though more often than not they are forced away from their kids by the mother. That's the vibe I got when she was asked by Dakota Johnson's character what it was like to abandon her children, "amazing." As a single dad whose ex just walked (and never came back), I'm probably too close to the story, but I have no sympathy whatsoever for anyone who abandons their children. The rest was just a mess. The menacing family lead nowhere. Ed Harris lead nowhere. Just a competently shot vacation movie that lacks all charm. I guess it's a solid nomination for Coleman, but I'm betting Stewart will walk away with the Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gomesXJan 11, 2022
It requires a little patience.

It's slow to start and can test your patience. The story doesn't really move until at least half an hour into the movie. Still, it's slow to increase, but it gets better. Olivia Colman, Jessie Buckley and
It requires a little patience.

It's slow to start and can test your patience. The story doesn't really move until at least half an hour into the movie. Still, it's slow to increase, but it gets better. Olivia Colman, Jessie Buckley and Dakota Johnson are phenomenal actresses. I have Dickon Hinchliffe's songs, Leda & Mina (title track) recorded in my head. I had to look for the soundtrack to this movie. very captivating

Either way, this movie won't please everyone. It's about motherhood, lack of maternal instincts, depression and children. But I liked the cinematic style.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Sono_MomoFeb 4, 2022
The film first stimulates the skin and the outermost layer of the body. It then enters the bloodstream and travels through the arteries to the heart, the centre of emotion. It touches the heart a little and suddenly breaks it. Olivia ColmanThe film first stimulates the skin and the outermost layer of the body. It then enters the bloodstream and travels through the arteries to the heart, the centre of emotion. It touches the heart a little and suddenly breaks it. Olivia Colman shone as beautiful as ever, and Maggie Gyllenhaal established herself as one of the most capable directors of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
mdh222Feb 13, 2022
I really disliked this movie...couldn't wait for it to end. It is pretentious and typical of the detached, self-absorbed crap coming more and more out of Hollywood these days. What is with all of the deep emotional stares throughout theI really disliked this movie...couldn't wait for it to end. It is pretentious and typical of the detached, self-absorbed crap coming more and more out of Hollywood these days. What is with all of the deep emotional stares throughout the movie with no point. Every long look into each other's eyes seems to have deep romantic content even though unintended. There is so much overacting that it does not feel like real life in any way. Bottom Line? What's the point of the movie? Can anyone answer that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Richard552Aug 11, 2022
We are blessed with close relationships with almost all of our daughters. $1 to buy a Netflix account, Google search: vtvshare
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews