Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: April 5, 2007
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 109 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
17
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TheQuietGamerOct 20, 2017
What starts off as a promising bit of faith-based horror quickly loses it's way. After an a pretty exciting and creepy foray into a mysterious river of blood, we are left to wade through a confusing middle chapter that's a bit of a slog onlyWhat starts off as a promising bit of faith-based horror quickly loses it's way. After an a pretty exciting and creepy foray into a mysterious river of blood, we are left to wade through a confusing middle chapter that's a bit of a slog only to come to arrive at a final act that feels half-baked. The results are ultimately unsatisfying, but the strange combination of ideas is still compelling.

The film's visual style is reminiscent of the dark fairy tale imagery one would find in Guillermo del Toro's more celebrated and original works. This movie ultimately doesn't reach the same heights as a del Toro movie as it ends up diving too much into gothic melodrama. At least it's a very pretty film that looks different than the vast majority of horror movies out there. It does have a strange made-for-TV vibe going for it though. It's shot in a weird soap opera style and the performances are a little basic with the exception of Idris Elba who is the highlight of the film. This all does make sure the movie is certainly original and interesting because of that, but it does little on the quality front.

By far the most disappointing aspect of the movie outside of it's lack of narrative focus is that it really doesn't have anything to say about religious faith. You'll see characters who are Christian, and these are definitely Biblical plagues going on, but outside of that first plague that kicks things off, the movie sort of leaves God in the backseat until the end as a way of giving some sort of explanation for all the weirdness happening in this small town. The rest of the plagues are just there to try and give you the heebie-jeebies by being strange. In the end this is both a watchable and sometimes fascinating movie, but one that sadly isn't executed as well as it could have been and left me wanting more.

6.5/10
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
I'm not really sure why I didn't like this movie. The acting was solid and the story flowed very well. There was just something about this movie that rubbed me the wrong way. I think that was the fact I figured out the twist ending very earlyI'm not really sure why I didn't like this movie. The acting was solid and the story flowed very well. There was just something about this movie that rubbed me the wrong way. I think that was the fact I figured out the twist ending very early in the movie. Overall this movie is probably worth a watch if nothing else then just to say you watched it, but I don't think it's going to stick with you very long after that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
There are times when the movie is boring but other times very surprising.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90Nov 4, 2017
Starts with promise but loses its way by the time it ends. Hillary Swank, Idris Elba are good and have good characters but what starts off as a faith based horror thriller eventually finds itself losing its narrative and focus when if it hadStarts with promise but loses its way by the time it ends. Hillary Swank, Idris Elba are good and have good characters but what starts off as a faith based horror thriller eventually finds itself losing its narrative and focus when if it had committed to what it was originally had in mind it would have been more enjoyable. With that being said, its watchable and does provide some food for thought. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
AllmightyVoiceApr 4, 2007
Swank does her best with material that would've barely made it as an episode of "The X Files". She's a scientist bent on debunking claims of religious miracles, who finds herself and her partner summoned to a Louisiana backwoods Swank does her best with material that would've barely made it as an episode of "The X Files". She's a scientist bent on debunking claims of religious miracles, who finds herself and her partner summoned to a Louisiana backwoods backwater to investigate incidents that suggest the Old Testatment Biblical plaques have returned. More supernatural than straight-up horror, there's nothing new here for fans of either genre. For die-hard Swank fans only. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlexR.Jun 27, 2007
Very disappointing. I thought that they could have done way more with the material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BecaH.Apr 28, 2007
This movie wasn't the worst by far. It had it's parts where they just made you jump. I really enjoyed the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamF.Apr 9, 2007
I actually Liked this movie, but can see why it got a low rating. It takes you on an apocalyptic joyride counting down the 10 plagues hitting a town called Haven. As the movie centers on a young girl who the townspeople are bent on blaming. I actually Liked this movie, but can see why it got a low rating. It takes you on an apocalyptic joyride counting down the 10 plagues hitting a town called Haven. As the movie centers on a young girl who the townspeople are bent on blaming. The movie has its scary moments, and does not really give you time to get bored. The last half hour is really where it picks up and without any spoilers//I'll say its a very surprise ending. Not the greatest movie ever but certainly not the worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Apr 15, 2007
"It's holy blood," insists a baying true believer in Alejandro Jodorowsky's "Santa Sangre", but the indoor pool of red water that belongs to a pagan cult, is in actuality, paint. The church probably smells like a hardware store, "It's holy blood," insists a baying true believer in Alejandro Jodorowsky's "Santa Sangre", but the indoor pool of red water that belongs to a pagan cult, is in actuality, paint. The church probably smells like a hardware store, but the cultists have been brainwashed from the ability to bestow objectivity towards the empirical fact that their noses, in all likelihood, detect a whiff of iron. In "The Reaping", Katherine(Hilary Swank) and Ben(Idris Elba) must've been holding their breath while they collected water samples from the river. Katherine actually looks surprised when the lab results turn up blood, undiluted(not traces of) human blood. If this was an episode of "The X-Files"(which "The Reaping" bears more than a passing resemblance to), Mulder(Ben is his evangelical equivalent) would argue with barely-restrained exasperation, "But Scully(Katherine, the skeptic and atheist), can't you smell it?" The scientist would argue, "So where are the flies?" Good question. "The Reaping" forgot the flies, but it surely didn't forget the locusts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnF.Jul 31, 2007
Very good movie and the ending was very good and not what I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful