DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: October 18, 2002
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 349 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
135
Mixed:
56
Negative:
158
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SamOct 20, 2005
A pretty good movie when it comes to plot and acting, but what about the scares? Or should I say, what scares? It's not scary whatsoever, it's just an entertaining, well done dissapointment, because I heard so many people say it A pretty good movie when it comes to plot and acting, but what about the scares? Or should I say, what scares? It's not scary whatsoever, it's just an entertaining, well done dissapointment, because I heard so many people say it was TERRIFYING or PEE-WORTHY and it's not even close to any. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ThegodfathersonApr 9, 2013
It's a real horror thrilling film with actual goosebumps raising on your arms. And it holds a perfectly gripping story- very horrific and violent though. The film is effective on the mind and is visually brilliant through horror and graphic.It's a real horror thrilling film with actual goosebumps raising on your arms. And it holds a perfectly gripping story- very horrific and violent though. The film is effective on the mind and is visually brilliant through horror and graphic. The tape is very scary as Gore Verbinski has made it. Very gripping and a masterpiece from start to Finish. Now, a normal sensitive person wouldn't watch this movie because its very very scary movie but if you look it by thriller it's very intense and gripping. The tape is very unusual and weird telling the horrific story of Samara Morgan the main focused part of the movie- the villain and the controller of the tape. You wouldn't get the climax and you would with Samara creaking out of the tv that the camera guy is watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JivkoNov 30, 2007
Excellent movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GordonM.Jul 24, 2006
This is the best movie of all time! I personally can't see what people are moaning about! I was so scared when Samara came out of the T.V. It is the perfect horror movie, and Naomi Watts played the part perfectly. My friends love it, I This is the best movie of all time! I personally can't see what people are moaning about! I was so scared when Samara came out of the T.V. It is the perfect horror movie, and Naomi Watts played the part perfectly. My friends love it, I love it, so it IS the best movie ever made! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
8
AaronMJan 30, 2009
I'd say it's more of a Mystery/suspense than a horror movie. It was interesting finding out what all of the weird stuff was about. Not particularly "scary" but the video is freaking creepy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GavinCJul 28, 2009
It will be difficult to find a modern horror movie quite as scary as this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AristonOct 22, 2005
One of the scariest movies of the last few years - if you've got some imagination, that is. The film delightfully misleads you at the beginning, making you think this will be just another generic teeny slasher flick. It becomes One of the scariest movies of the last few years - if you've got some imagination, that is. The film delightfully misleads you at the beginning, making you think this will be just another generic teeny slasher flick. It becomes something much darker (and better), an intelligent tale about trust, belief and guilt that rightfully centers on Naomi Watts, who delivers a fantastic performance. Gore Verbinski uses a surprisingly light touch and is very economical with his scare tactics. The film does what a good horror film should do: leave a good part of things to the imagination. There are one or two twists that are not quite believable, but on the whole, RING stays true to its formula, which is to provide an intelligent scare for people who truly value the genre. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
YoshinarutoJun 9, 2011
It is scary, it is suspenseful, and it has a great story. The acting was excellent, and you never know how its going to end. It was one of the scariest movies I have seen, although movies don't really scare me that much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
A haunting and hypnotic show fueled by a flawlessly determined performance from the extraordinarily talented Naomi Watts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
trevortalksNov 14, 2012
Scary as hell.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Sep 24, 2014
I consider "The Ring" to be a classic now. It's scary, suspenseful, and engaging. The twists and turns of the story keep you guessing even in the slower parts of the film. "The Ring" is really more of a mystery with some elements of horrorI consider "The Ring" to be a classic now. It's scary, suspenseful, and engaging. The twists and turns of the story keep you guessing even in the slower parts of the film. "The Ring" is really more of a mystery with some elements of horror than straight-up horror. There are definitely some very scary scenes such as the opening scene and when Samara comes out of the TV, but the film is really about trying to crack the curse. The fact that the main character, Rachel, only has seven days to break the curse adds an extra level of tension. "The Ring" also has great acting from the entire cast, and the cinematography is amazing. This really isn't the sort of movie that resorts to jump scares and excessive gore to scare the audience; it's all about tension and atmosphere. "The Ring" is definitely one of the better, if not, the best remake of an Asian horror film. It's really one of the best horror movies of the 2000's. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NathanAOct 27, 2008
Movie was freaking brilliant. Watched it at night with sound turned all the way up on my 32 inch T.V. Scared the living daylights outta me. Story was decent, Special effects was great, music brought the entire movie together nicely and it Movie was freaking brilliant. Watched it at night with sound turned all the way up on my 32 inch T.V. Scared the living daylights outta me. Story was decent, Special effects was great, music brought the entire movie together nicely and it was scary. It did a times become a bit cheesy and rather drawn out but, overall it was a good movie which entertained me a lot. Which in the end, is all that matters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Laurens.May 14, 2006
I had to sleep with my parents for three nights. very very terrifying. my friends and i are still scared of samara. compelling, and psychlogical. loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillJun 27, 2006
I was shocked and appauled when I saw that The Ring only scored a 57 on metacritic.com. Clearly the reviewers presented failed to see not only the cinematic brilliance of the film, but the intelligence of it's winding plotline. Some of I was shocked and appauled when I saw that The Ring only scored a 57 on metacritic.com. Clearly the reviewers presented failed to see not only the cinematic brilliance of the film, but the intelligence of it's winding plotline. Some of the shots in The Ring are simply breathtaking, and the cinematography alone makes it worth seeing. As well, the "evil" tape itself is very sophisticated, and many of the images presented are viewed by many psychologists as "death images" i.e the maggots, the empty chair, and the ladder to nowhere. As for the plot line; it twists and turns always keeps you guessing. Despite it's complexity, their are no loose ends left, and by the end of the movie everything fits together like clockwork. Like other artistic horror movies such as 28 Days Later, The Ring is horrifying in it's imagery and atmosphere, not through blood and guts. It may not be the scariest movie that you'll ever see, but I definitely had goosebumps throughout. I'm VERY dissapointed to see that so many of the above reviews have failed to see the intelligence that Verbinski applies to each and every camera angle. If you have half a brain about you, I recommend The Ring over any other horror movie in recent years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
tvbuffJan 12, 2011
Come on, what are people looking for? One of the scariest lines I've ever heard/seen. "Mom you weren't supposed to help her". I know it's a copied Americanized version but still unique to us. As scary to an adult as a movie can be in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperTakashiiMar 12, 2011
A compelling and interesting movie which has unfortunately been mislabelled as a horror movie. It would be more appropriately dubbed a supernatural mystery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AdurApr 11, 2011
First of all I am not a big fan of horror or shock movies, though I'll check one out now and then. I didn't know what to expect with this flick, but it ended up being the first film since the exorcist that had me feeling a steady chill ofFirst of all I am not a big fan of horror or shock movies, though I'll check one out now and then. I didn't know what to expect with this flick, but it ended up being the first film since the exorcist that had me feeling a steady chill of creepiness coursing through my body the whole time. There were a few "gotcha" shock moments, but they didn't hit that hard. The strength of the film is it's mood/aura. I have to knock a few points off though because of some minor plot holes and some things not being explained/fleshed out in a way that would have been proper and satisfying for this movie.

I also don't get what it was about the TV scene that stuck with so many people. The whole scene in the well is the one I'll never forget. Just gave me such an ultra creepy feeling.

Oh and one last note - I really want to impregnate Naomi Watts.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeJul 10, 2011
I had the chance to watch The Ring again over the weekend as I hadnt seen the movie for several years and had fond memories of it when it first came out. The movie holds up fairly well despite that the flickering creepy visuals which onI had the chance to watch The Ring again over the weekend as I hadnt seen the movie for several years and had fond memories of it when it first came out. The movie holds up fairly well despite that the flickering creepy visuals which on release seemed fresh and original are now very common place in film and television. The tone and the creepy atmosphere are still what the movie does well, its very relieving to watch a horror movie that doesnt rely on violence and gore to get its message out. The acting and characters do their job and the plot holes arent big enough to be too distracting. Overall I would still consider The Ring one of my favourite modern horror movies, still being creepy and intriguing, despite perhaps not standing out of the crowd as much as it once did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nick5414Oct 4, 2011
Naomi Watts is great and the movie is incredibly scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Feb 11, 2012
In my opinion The Ring is one of the better scary movies of all time. I saw this at age 11 and I remember having nightmares for weeks about it. I don't care who you are, this sh*t will creep you out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vini1904Aug 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great thriller with a great plot, and several scenes with alarms and can best be left to the final scene where Samara is finally seen coming out of television to make just another victim in his gaze. The film manages to leave you "stuck" until the final minutes and then you wonder what will happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
axelkochSep 21, 2012
Gore Verbinski made a highly thrilling movie, although there are almost none of the usual shock effects. It's no masterpiece and sometimes there stay gaps in the plot, but all in all, this is is a great psycho thriller with two really goodGore Verbinski made a highly thrilling movie, although there are almost none of the usual shock effects. It's no masterpiece and sometimes there stay gaps in the plot, but all in all, this is is a great psycho thriller with two really good child actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
youlouzJan 3, 2015
This is my favorite hour movie of all time, I have never seen such an impressive horror movie with jump scares, lost changes, sudden changes, and disturbing imagery. This movie truly leaves you with something to think about in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asmanrajOct 3, 2015
I guess this movie got mixed reviews from critics because it's a remake. I saw the American version before the Japanese one, like most Americans. I saw The Ring in theaters when I was 14, and it terrified me to to no end. I lost sleep. II guess this movie got mixed reviews from critics because it's a remake. I saw the American version before the Japanese one, like most Americans. I saw The Ring in theaters when I was 14, and it terrified me to to no end. I lost sleep. I watched it again and it still terrified me. This is the scariest movie I have ever seen. Movies are scarier the younger you are, and they're also scarier in theaters than at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleOct 25, 2015
There are far scarier films out there than The Ring, but that does not mean it did not scare me at times. There are some truly terrifying moments to be found in The Ring, but really, where it succeeds is a non-reliance on those scares.There are far scarier films out there than The Ring, but that does not mean it did not scare me at times. There are some truly terrifying moments to be found in The Ring, but really, where it succeeds is a non-reliance on those scares. Through a truly creepy atmosphere set by director Gore Verbinski and composer Hans Zimmer, The Ring keeps you on edge without having to terrify you. In this way, The Ring is far more thriller than horror film, rather it is a thriller with horror elements. The way it adds to this with a great mystery/detective component as they try to figure out the backstory to the tape is captivating and truly engaging. I know it is a remake, but it still felt very refreshing in that way. Naomi Watts is great in this one, as are David Dorfman and Brian Cox. There may be scarier horror-type films out there, but not many as well crafted and put together as The Ring. What it lacks in scares, it more than makes up for with great direction, music, acting, and a killer story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UrbanlistenerNov 24, 2015
Fairly decent adaptation of the original one. Well acted, well paced, interesting and convincing. Some truly disturbing scenes, lots of scary stuff, earned jumpscares, suspense, a good musical theme and an ongoing eerie sensation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
reviewfrom19842Aug 10, 2016
A pretty good horror movie better then The Grudge. It's scary, fighting and I wanted to see there this has going to go................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
teddywymanJun 10, 2017
I'm perplexed by all of the negative ratings this movie has received. First, the design of the movie is spot on. It's dreary and rainy and everything seems tinted blue, which gives the film an aura of dread and discomfort throughout. This isI'm perplexed by all of the negative ratings this movie has received. First, the design of the movie is spot on. It's dreary and rainy and everything seems tinted blue, which gives the film an aura of dread and discomfort throughout. This is good though, because it complements the story really well and so it puts you in the right mood for the film. Next, I found the story to actually be really interesting. It follows Naomi Watts as she does some investigating into the inexplicable deaths of some kids (one of whom she knows), and so you find out the twists and turns of the plot just as she does. While it obviously has supernatural elements, it operates in a realm that is plausible, where the characters make intelligent decisions, and where there aren't any cheap scares. You actually care about the main characters and you feel as curious as they do. I also like how, as opposed to the original, there isn't a lot of unexplained exposition. Rather, Watts actually has to SEARCH to put her story together, and added plot elements I think clear the story up and make it more compelling. In terms of scares, it doesn't have many, but that doesn't mean it isn't a scary movie. Again, the scares come from how the film is. It just feels creepy and chilling, and so instead of multiples scares with breaks of comic relief, it's just one long drawn-out scare. You still see Samara out of the corner of your eye when you're home alone at night, and you still jump when the phone rings. One of my favorite horror movies. Chilling, smart, entertaining, and well made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lucaugmatJun 27, 2017
'O Chamado'
É um filme bem diferente , muito inovador , uma fita que te mata em sete dias , achei isso bem interessante , a Samara é um ótimo personagem , os mistérios , as histórias o enredo , são todos muito bem elaborados , é um ótimo
'O Chamado'
É um filme bem diferente , muito inovador , uma fita que te mata em sete dias , achei isso bem interessante , a Samara é um ótimo personagem , os mistérios , as histórias o enredo , são todos muito bem elaborados , é um ótimo filme de terror psicológico , certamente recomendado.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilipeNetoFeb 12, 2018
This film tells the story of Rachel, one journalist and single mother who investigates the death of several teenagers who saw the same videotape. According to legend, the video tape kills those who watch it in seven days. During theThis film tells the story of Rachel, one journalist and single mother who investigates the death of several teenagers who saw the same videotape. According to legend, the video tape kills those who watch it in seven days. During the investigation, however, Rachel will eventually endanger herself and also the people she loves.

Directed by Gore Verbinski, this film is perhaps one of the most famous and interesting psychological horror films of the recent years. The cast is led by Naomi Whats, Martin Henderson and David Dorfman, in the role of Rachel, her ex-boyfriend Noah and their son Aidan, a child who has an intelligence higher than normal for his age. Naomi Whats deserves a certain prominence, having got here one of the most memorable performances of her career to date.

Adapting for the screen a novel by Koji Suzuki, this film has a very interesting soundtrack, which further deepens the suspense and expectation, that are just right for lovers of this refined kind of terror. A reference movie and worthy of congratulations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ErikTheCriticOct 8, 2018
With competent direction and a chilling atmosphere, "The Ring" gets right under your skin and terrifies the crap out of you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews